
Give your baby a chance.

Kelli’s Story
My name is Kelli and I found out I was 
pregnant when I was a freshman in high 
school. I was so scared that I hid my 
pregnancy from my family and friends. 
I worried that people would reject me 
or be angry with me if they found out 
I was pregnant. I was wrong.

I delivered my baby by myself. Because I 
was still too frightened to talk to anyone 
and ask for help, I made a terrible 
mistake that I can never take back. I left 
my newborn on a neighbor’s porch. My 
baby died there, and my life will never 
be the same. I don’t want the same 
thing to happen to you and your baby. 

Please, if you are pregnant, talk to a 
parent, a teacher, a parent of your friend 
or other adult that you trust. I know that 
talking about your pregnancy is diffi cult, 
but there are people who can help you.

If you are unable to keep your child,
please give him or her a chance to
grow up. The law in Illinois allows you 
to leave your unharmed newborn baby, 
up to 30 days old, at a staffed police 
or fi re station, hospital or emergency 
care facility. Your baby will be given a 
health exam and medical care, and then 
adopted by a loving family.
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For confi dential information or 
help, please contact:

1-888-510-2229 (Toll-free)

or visit the Save Abandoned 
Babies Foundation at:

www.SaveAbandonedBabies.org

For information about 
adoption, contact:

Illinois Adoption Registry
Toll-free • 1-877-323-5299 

www.idph.state.il.us/vital/iladoptreg.htm

How you can help
•  Do an awareness project for your school 

community service requirement.

•  Encourage your organization, school, or 
club to write a story about the law. 

•  Health classes are now required to 
 teach this law. See if your school is in 

compliance.

•  Check that your police, fi re and hospitals 
display the required Safe Haven sign. 

•  Have an idea to help? Want to volunteer? 
Contact info@SaveAbandonedBabies.org.

•  After you read this brochure, pass it on. 

Tell a friend. Talk about it. 
You might save a life.

SaveAbandonedBabies.org

No Shame. 
No Blame. 

No Names.

Illinois has a 
safe place for 
your newborn.



No one knew you were pregnant.
No one knows about your baby.
You can’t take care of your baby.

What are you going to do?

An unwanted pregnancy can be a 
traumatic experience.  You may have 
overwhelming feelings of isolation, 
fear, or shame that could lead to 
irrational thoughts or acts, such as 
unsafely abandoning your baby. 

Each year in Illinois, there are disturbing 
reports of newborn babies found in 
dumpsters and other unsafe places. 
Under the Illinois Abandoned Newborn 
Infant Protection Act, unharmed infants 
30 days old or younger can be handed 
to staff at a safe haven.  No questions 
asked. You don’t have to give your name. 
The police will not be called. Your baby 
will get medical care and be adopted.

The entire Act can be found at http://
www.state.il.us/dcfs/library/com_
communications_sumlicen_abinfant.shtml

Where are safe havens?

In Illinois, safe havens for newborns are:
•  Staffed fi re 
 stations 
•  Staffed police 
 stations 
•  Hospitals
• Emergency care  
 facilities

Look for this sign to identify safe havens 
in your community.

What does the law do?
The law is intended to provide an alterna-
tive to the parents of newborn infants to 
relinquish their unharmed infants to staff 
in safe havens while remaining anonymous 
and avoiding civil or criminal liability. It is 
recognized that establishing a traditional 
adoption plan through a private or public 
adoption agency or choosing to parent 
the child is a preferable parenting plan 
to abandonment or relinquishment of an 
infant. However, the purpose of this law is 
to reduce the risk of harm to a newborn by 
a parent who may be under undue stress. 

What happens at a safe haven?
Newborns can be handed to personnel at 
a hospital, emergency care facility, staffed 
police station or staffed fi re station. Staff 
members at emergency care facilities, 
fi re stations and police stations will make 
arrangements for transportation of the 
infant to the nearest hospital. 

Hospital personnel will conduct a physical 
examination of the newborn infant and 
provide any needed medical care. The 
hospital is deemed to have temporary 
protective custody of the newborn until 
the infant is discharged to an adoption 
agency. 

If you wish, you can fi ll out forms to 
provide medical information about 
your newborn that will help healthcare 
workers taking care of your baby. The 
forms may be fi lled out at the safe haven 

location, or you can take the forms with 
you and return them by mail. You can 
also download the forms from www.
saveabandonedbabies.org or www.state.
il.us/dcfs/library/com_communications_
sumlicen_abinfant.shtml. All of the 
information that you provide remains 
confi dential. You do not need to give 
your name.

Parental rights
There is a presumption that by relin-
quishing a newborn infant at a safe 
haven, the infant’s parent consents to 
the termination of his or her parental 
rights with respect to the infant.

Consider adoption

Every child deserves a safe, loving, 
permanent home. You can help provide 
this by making an adoption plan, even 
before giving birth. Several public and 
private agencies in Illinois provide 
services to those who choose to allow 
their child to be adopted.  Agency staff 
carefully interview and check the back-
grounds of prospective adoptive parents 
to make sure that they: 
•  Have no criminal or child abuse history 
•  Have room in their home for a child 
•  Can support the child fi nancially 
•  Can provide a loving, safe home

For information about adoption, please 
call the Illinois Adoption Registry: 1-877-
323-5299 (toll-free in Illinois) or www.
idph.state.il.us/vital/iladoptreg.htm.
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