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SOURCE:  Adopted and codified at 5 Ill. Reg. 11351, effective November 12, 1981; amended at 
7 Ill. Reg. 3428, effective April 4, 1983; amended at 11 Ill. Reg. 17511, effective October 15, 
1987; amended at 21 Ill. Reg. 4502, effective April 1, 1997; emergency amendment at 21 Ill. 
Reg. 9151, effective July 1, 1997, for a maximum of 150 days; emergency amendment modified 
in response to JCAR Objection at 21 Ill. Reg. 13929 and 14379; emergency expired on 
November 26, 1997; amended at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998; amended at 24 Ill. 
Reg. 9340, effective July 7, 2000; emergency amendment at 26 Ill. Reg. 6857, effective April 17, 
2002, for a maximum of 150 days; emergency expired September 13, 2002; amended at 27 Ill. 
Reg. 494, effective January 15, 2003; amended at 28 Ill. Reg. 10588, effective August 1, 2004; 
emergency amendment at 29 Ill. Reg. 15562, effective September 30, 2005, for a maximum of 
150 days; emergency expired February 26, 2006; amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 2699, effective 
February 27, 2006; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2157, effective January 30, 2012; amended at 37 Ill. 
Reg. 19115, effective November 30, 2013 
 

SUBPART A:  INTRODUCTION AND DEFINITIONS 
 
Section 401.30 Purpose 

 
a) The purpose of this Part is to prescribe the standards for licensure as a child 

welfare agency and to describe how to apply for a child welfare agency license. 
This Part also prescribes the duties of a child welfare agency to monitor and 
supervise child care facilities under its supervisory authority. 

 
b) The licensing standards set forth in this Part are applicable to child welfare 

agencies as defined in the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.08].  Granting 
a license to a child welfare agency does not guarantee a contract with the State of 
Illinois or the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services. 

 
(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 

 
Section 401.40 Definitions  
 

"Adequate assets" means the child welfare agency has sufficient liquid assets in 
reserve or has other sources of income and a line of credit independent of 
Department contracts which would allow it to provide continuous agency 
operations and provide services such as staff, taxes, rent, utilities, and supplies for 
a period of at least 30 days.  

 
"Administrative order of closure" means a severe administrative sanction, 
approved by the Director of the Department of Children and Family Services, to 
close immediately an unlicensed child care facility, a child care facility which is 
exempt from licensure, or a licensed child care facility prior to revocation of the 
facility's license.  An administrative order of closure is issued only when 
continued operation of the child care facility jeopardizes the health, safety, 
morals, or welfare of children served by the facility.  
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"Adoption services" includes any one or more of the following services performed 
for any type of compensation or thing of value, directly or indirectly: 
 

arranging for the placement of or placing out of a child, 
 

identifying a child for adoption, 
 

matching adoptive parents with biological parents, 
 

arranging or facilitating an adoption, 
 

taking or acknowledging consents or surrenders for termination of 
parental rights for purposes of adoption, as defined in the Adoption Act, 

 
performing background studies on a child or adoptive parents, 

 
making determinations of the best interests of a child and the 
appropriateness of adoptive placement for the child, or 

 
post-placement monitoring of a child prior to adoption. 

 
"Adoption services" does not include the following: 
 

the provision of legal services by a licensed attorney for which the 
attorney must be licensed as an attorney under Illinois law, 

 
adoption-related services performed by public governmental entities or 
entities or persons performing investigations by court appointment as 
described in subsection A of Section 6 of the Adoption Act, 

 
prospective adoptive parents operating on their own behalf, 

 
the provision of general education and training on adoption-related 
topics, or 

 
post-adoption services, including supportive services to families to 
promote the well-being of members of adoptive families or birth families. 
[225 ILCS 10/2.24] 

 
"Advertise" means communication by any public medium originating or 
distributed in this State, including, but not limited to, newspapers, periodicals, 
telephone book listings, outdoor advertising signs, radio, or television. [225 ILCS 
10/12] 
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"Age appropriate safety restraint" means, for a child under four years of age, a 
child restraint system (infant carrier, infant/toddler seat, or convertible safety seat) 
which meets the standards of the United States Department of Transportation 
designed to restrain, seat or position children.  For a child four years of age or 
older, an age-appropriate safety restraint means a child restraint system or seat 
belt (lap belt or lap-shoulder belt combination).  

 
"Authorized representative of the governing body" means the person authorized 
by formal action at a meeting of the Board of Directors to act on behalf of the 
child welfare agency and sign the license renewal application (but not the initial 
application for license), contracts, and other such documents, on behalf of the 
governing body.  Such authorization shall be in writing on agency letterhead, 
submitted to the Department licensing worker, and signed by the president or 
chairperson of the Board of Directors and the secretary of the Board of Directors.  

 
"Background check" means:  

 
a criminal history check via fingerprints of persons age 18 and over which 
are submitted to the Illinois State Police and the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI), for comparison to their criminal history records, as 
appropriate; and  

 
a check of the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 
(SACWIS) and other state child protection systems, as appropriate, to 
determine whether an individual is currently alleged or has been indicated 
as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect; and  

 
a check of the Illinois Sex Offender Registry.  

 
"Chief fiscal officer" means the staff position with primary responsibility for the 
receipt, distribution and accounting for all financial transactions of the agency.  

 
"Child" means any person under 18 years of age. (Section 2.01 of the Child Care 
Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.01])  

 
"Child care facility" means any person, group of persons, agency, association or 
organization, whether established for gain or otherwise, who or which receives or 
arranges for care or placement of one or more children, unrelated to the operator 
of the facility, apart from the parents, with or without the transfer of the right of 
custody, in any facility as defined in this Act, established and maintained for the 
care of children.  "Child care facility" includes a relative who is licensed as a 
foster family home under Section 4 of the Child Care Act of 1969.  [225 ILCS 
10/2.05]  

 
"Child welfare agency" means a public or private child care facility, receiving 
any child or children for the purpose of placing or arranging for the placement or 
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free care of the child or children in foster family homes, unlicensed pre-adoptive 
and adoptive homes, or other facilities for child care, apart from the custody of 
the child's or children's parents.  The term "child welfare agency" includes all 
agencies established and maintained by a municipality or other political 
subdivision of the State of Illinois to protect, guard, train or care for children 
outside their own homes and all agencies, persons, groups of persons, 
associations, organizations, corporations, institutions, centers, or groups 
providing adoption services, but does not include any circuit court or duly 
appointed juvenile probation officer or youth counselor of the court, who receives 
and places children under an order of the court. [225 ILCS 10/2.08]  

 
"Complaint", for purposes of this Part, means any oral or written report made to 
or by the Department or supervising agency or by the public alleging a violation 
of licensing standards, the Child Care Act of 1969 or relating to the conduct of an 
agency or its staff. 

 
"Conditional license" means a nonrenewable license for a period not to exceed six 
months which may be granted to a child care facility when the facility has agreed 
to a corrective plan to amend identified deficiencies and bring the facility into 
reasonable compliance with all licensing standards.  Conditional licenses may be 
issued with the approval of the Department only where no threat to the health, 
safety, morals or welfare of the children served exists.  Any other license held by 
the facility shall be revoked when the conditional license is issued.  

 
"Corporal punishment" means hitting, spanking, beating, shaking, pinching, 
excessive exercise, exposure to extreme temperatures, and other measures that 
produce physical pain.  (National Health and Safety Performance Standards, 
Guidelines for Out-Of-Home Child Care Programs, American Public Health 
Association and American Academy of Pediatrics, 2002). 

 
"Corrective plan" means a written plan approved by the Department's regional 
licensing administrator which identifies deficiencies in a child care facility's 
operations and which allows the facility a maximum of six months to correct the 
identified deficiencies and come into reasonable compliance with all applicable 
licensing standards.  
 
"Deemed compliant" means that an eligible agency, accredited by the Council on 
Accreditation for Children and Family Services (COA), is presumed to be in 
compliance with requirements of this Part, provided that the Department has 
determined that current Council on Accreditation for Children and Family 
Services (COA) standards are at least substantially equivalent to this Part 
requirements.  [225 ILCS 10/2.27] 

 
"Deemed status" means the Department has approved a child welfare agency as in 
compliance with the requirements of this Part because the agency:  
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has received full accreditation status from the Council on Accreditation for 
Children and Family Services (2001 Standards); and  

 
during the past four years, there have been no substantiated licensing 
violations that affect the health, safety, morals, or welfare of children 
served by the accredited agency.  

 
"Department" means the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services. 
[225 ILCS 10/2.02]  

 
"Eligible agency" means a licensed child welfare agency that is currently fully 
accredited by the Council on Accreditation for Children and Family Services 
(COA) for adoption services and has had no Department substantiated licensing 
violations or COA accrediting violations that affect the health, safety, morals, or 
welfare of children served by that agency for the 4 years immediately preceding a 
determination of eligibility.  [225 ILCS 10/2.26] 

 
"Excessive fees" means an amount that exceeds what is usual, reasonable and 
customary in the community for the delivery of adoption services in Illinois and 
shall take into account the full range and duration of services provided by the 
agency to birth parents and their children, and to adoptive parents, for expenses 
paid by the agency for medical costs and whether the agency providers a program 
of reduced-fee placements and services and places special needs children for 
adoption.  Adoption service fees must be based on the costs associated with 
service delivery and clients may be charged only for services provided. 

 
"Full license" means the agency is operating under a current child welfare agency 
license rather than a permit, a provisional license, a conditional license, or a 
license which has been revoked or which has expired after the agency failed to 
file a timely and sufficient application for license renewal.  

 
"Governing body" means all members of the board of directors of a corporation.  

 
"Guardian" means the guardian of the person of a minor. [225 ILCS 10/2.03]  

 
"Immediate family member" means a person's spouse, son, daughter, mother, 
father, sibling, brother- or sister-in-law, or other legal dependent.  

 
"Inadequate assets" means the child welfare agency has less than 30 days of 
operating expenses available to them in liquid assets as required by the definition 
of adequate assets in this Section.  

 
"Initial application for license" means the first application for licensure as a child 
welfare agency submitted by the individual, corporation, or other legal entity.  

 
"License" means a document issued by the Department of Children and Family 
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Services which authorizes child care facilities to operate in accordance with 
applicable standards and the provisions of the Child Care Act of 1969.  

 
"License applicant" means those individuals, corporations, or other legal entities 
who have applied for a license from the Department of Children and Family 
Services.  

 
"Licensee" means those individuals, corporations or other legal entities who hold 
a license or permit issued by the Department of Children and Family Services.  

 
"Licensing worker" means persons authorized by the Department under the Child 
Care Act of 1969 to examine facilities for licensure.  

 
"Minor traffic violation" means a traffic violation under the laws of the State of 
Illinois or any municipal authority therein or another state or municipal authority 
which is punishable solely as a petty offense.  (See Section 6-601 of the Illinois 
Driver Licensing Law [625 ILCS 5/6-601].)  

 
"New application for child welfare agency license" means a license is sought to 
operate a child welfare agency when:  

 
the applicant has applied previously for a child welfare agency license and 
withdrew the license application before a decision was made on the 
application for license; or  

 
the applicant had been licensed previously as a child welfare agency, but 
voluntarily surrendered the license; or  

 
the applicant had been licensed previously as a child welfare agency, but 
the Department revoked or refused to renew the license.  

 
"Permit" means a one-time only document issued by the Department of Children 
and Family Services to allow the license applicant to become eligible for an initial 
license.  Permits may be for a maximum six month period, except that permits 
granted to foster family homes and day care homes are limited to a maximum of 
two months.  

 
"Petty offense" means any offense for which a sentence to a fine only is provided. 
(Section 5-1-17 of the Unified Code of Corrections [730 ILCS 5/5-1-17])  

 
"Preferential treatment" means any action that allows board members, 
contributors, volunteers, employees, agents, consultants, or independent 
contractors, or their relatives, to receive consideration with respect to the 
placement of a child or any matter that relates to adoption services that are 
different or more favorable than any other similarly situated applicants. 
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"Provisional license" means a license issued for a period not to exceed two years 
to allow a licensed child welfare agency to demonstrate the ability to operate a 
business in compliance with applicable standards.  During the provisional license 
period, the Department may exercise more stringent oversight or place more 
stringent requirements on the child welfare agency.  

 
"Psychotropic medication" means medication whose use for antipsychotic, 
antidepressant, antimanic, antianxiety, behavioral modification or behavioral 
management purposes is listed in the AMA Drug Evaluations (Drug Evaluation 
Subscription, American Medical Association, Vols. I-III, Summer 1993) or 
Physician's Desk Reference (Medical Economics Data Production Company, 49th 
Edition, 1995) or which are administered for any of these purposes. (Section 1-
121.1 of the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code [405 ILCS 5/1-
121.1])  

 
"Reasonable living expenses" means expenses of the biological parents related to 
activities of daily living and meeting basic needs, including but not limited to: 
lodging, food and clothing. The term does not include expenses of lost wages, 
gifts, education or other similar expenses of the biological parent. 

 
"Refusal to issue license" means the formal decision of the Department to decline 
to issue a license to the holder of a permit.  

 
"Refusal to renew a license" means the formal decision of the Department to 
decline to issue a succeeding license, although the licensee has submitted a timely 
and sufficient application for license renewal, to the holder of a child care facility 
license or permit.  

 
"Replacement or supplemental staff" means any paid or unpaid individual who is 
used to perform essential staff duties as evidenced by being counted in the staff-
child ratio or being allowed to be alone with children receiving care in a licensed 
child care facility outside the visual or auditory supervision of facility staff.  

 
"Reputable character" means there is satisfactory evidence that the moral 
character of the applicant is trustworthy.  

 
"Responsible" means trustworthy performance of expected duties in accordance 
with established professional standards, State and federal law, and the rules of the 
Department of Children and Family Services.  

 
"Revocation" means the termination of a full license or provisional license to 
operate a child care facility by a formal action of the Department. License 
revocations shall be conducted in accordance with Section 8 or 8.1 of the Child 
Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/8 and 8.1].  
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"Risk management plan" means a document developed in accordance with 
Appendix D of this Part that outlines the process for identifying and analyzing 
loss exposures, examining alternative risk control methods, and making and 
carrying out decisions that will minimize the adverse effects of accidental losses.  

 
"SACWIS" means the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 
operated by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services that is 
replacing the Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking System (CANTS). 

 
"Surrender for adoption" means a voluntary final and irrevocable act, in writing, 
by a biological parent to relinquish all parental rights of a child to an agency for 
the purpose of placing the child for adoption.  

 
"Suspension of license" means an action imposed, in writing, by the authorized 
designee of the Department that requires cessation of all adoption related 
activities by the adoption agency. 

 
"Timely and sufficient application for license renewal" means the child welfare 
agency submitted the application for renewal of the license at least 90 days before 
the expiration date, the application was complete, dated, and signed by an 
authorized party, and the materials required by Section 401.140 were attached to 
the application for license renewal.  License renewal applications for foster family 
homes or day care homes under the supervision of the child welfare agency are 
considered timely if the application was returned to the agency within the time 
frames required by the respective licensing standards 89 Ill. Adm. Code 402 
(Licensing Standards for Foster Family Homes) or 89 Ill. Adm. Code 406 
(Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes).  

 
"Unlicensed pre-adoptive and adoptive home" means any home that is not 
licensed by the Department and that receives a child or children for the purpose 
of adopting the child or children. [225 ILCS 10/2.25] 

 
"Valid license" means a license which has not been revoked or expired, or which 
would have expired except that the child welfare agency submitted a timely and 
sufficient application for license renewal and the Department has not yet rendered 
a decision on the application, and the facility has not been issued an 
administrative order of closure.  

 
"Voluntary surrender of license" means that, in writing, the licensee has offered 
and the Department has accepted the licensee's offer to give up a valid license of 
his, her or its own free will.  The Department is not required to accept the offer of 
the license and, in the Department's sole discretion, may decline to accept the 
license.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 
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SUBPART B:  PERMITS AND LICENSES 
 
Section 401.100 Application for License  
 

a) The initial application for license as a child welfare agency shall be completed by 
the officers of the governing body of the child welfare agency on forms 
prescribed and furnished by the Department.  

 
b) For the initial application for a license to be complete, the following shall be 

attached to the application:  
 

1) Agencies not providing adoption services shall include the agency's 
articles of incorporation and by-laws, indicating that the agency's 
corporate status is in good standing with the Illinois Secretary of State 
and, if a not-for-profit corporation under Section 501 of the Internal 
Revenue Code (26 USCA 501), a copy of the Internal Revenue Service 
ruling on the agency's exemption status from Federal income tax and 
registration with the Charitable Trust Bureau of the Attorney General's 
office (if applicable);  

 
2) Agencies not providing adoption services shall include a list of owners, 

officers, board members, and principal shareholders owning more than 5% 
of the stock of the corporation and each person's attestation that he or she 
has not been convicted of a felony or indicated as a perpetrator of child 
abuse or child neglect, as defined in Appendix B of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 300 
(Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect).  This includes any or all of the 
above persons who reside outside the State of Illinois.  The board list shall 
include the board chair’s name, home address and telephone number that 
is in addition to the agency's telephone number, the officers of the board; 
names of the board members; and committees of the governing body; 

 
3) Agencies providing adoption services shall attach to the initial application: 

 
A) A current copy of the Internal Revenue Service's ruling showing 

that the agency is officially recognized by the United States 
Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt organization under 
section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (26 USC 
501); 

 
B) A current copy of registration with the Charitable Trust Bureau of 

the Illinois Attorney General's office; 
 

C) Copies of 990 reports filed with the Internal Revenue Service in 
the preceding 3 years (if applicable);  
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D) Articles of incorporation and by-laws, indicating that the agency's 
corporate status is in good standing with the Illinois Secretary of 
State; and 

 
E) A list of officers, board members, and each person's attestation 

that he or she has not been convicted of a felony or indicated as a 
perpetrator of child abuse or child neglect, as defined in Appendix 
B of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 300 (Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect).  
This includes any or all of the above persons who reside outside 
the State of Illinois.  The board list shall include: The board’s chair 
name, home address and telephone number that is in addition to 
the agency's telephone number and the remaining names of the 
officers of the board; names of the board members; and 
committees of the governing body. 

 
4) A mission statement or statement of purpose including services to be 

provided and the types of child care facilities to be operated and 
supervised by the agency, including a plan for recruiting foster family and 
adoptive homes, as required to fulfill the agency's mission or purpose;  

 
5) Proposed operating budget for the first two years of operation;  
 
6) Range of services to be provided within the first two years of operation; 

and  
 
7) A comprehensive staffing plan which includes job descriptions and the 

qualifications of the staff for all child welfare programs to be provided by 
the agency.  If the child welfare agency operates within a multi-service 
agency, those staff positions that perform no functions for the child 
welfare agency do not need to be included in the staffing plan.  If the child 
welfare agency intends to operate branch offices, the address, telephone 
number and staffing plan for each of the branch offices is to be included in 
the initial application (if known) or reported to the Department within 30 
days after the location for a branch office is secured.  

 
c) In addition, the license applicant shall have the following items available for 

review when the licensing worker visits the agency headquarters.  
 

1) A list of current employees of the child welfare agency, persons the 
agency has made a commitment to hire and:  

 
A) Certified transcripts of each employee's educational credentials (if 

obtained from a foreign school or university, the credentials must 
be translated into English and include a statement of equivalency 
in the United States educational system);  
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B) Verification of prior work history, when the work history is 
required to qualify for the current position;  

 
C) Copy of current professional license or registration, if required. 

(See Appendix G for a list of professionals commonly used by a 
licensed child welfare agency who must be licensed or registered.); 
and  

 
D) If the individual is subject to the background check requirements 

of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 (Background Checks) a copy of each 
employee's complete, signed authorization to conduct a 
background check.  

 
2) The agency's written personnel policies, including written compensation 

policies and salary levels.  
 
3) The agency's written service delivery policies.  
 
4) The agency's risk management plan developed in accordance with 

Appendix D of this Part.  
 
5) The agency's documentation of current public liability insurance as 

required by Section 401.220(g).  
 
6) The agency's code of ethics which has been adopted by the governing 

body which must be at least as stringent as the Code of Ethics for Child 
Welfare Professionals (published by the Office of Communications, 
Department of Children and Family Services, 406 East Monroe, Station 
#65, Springfield, Illinois 62701 (May 1996) or found on the Department's 
website at www.state.il.us/dcfs). 

 
7) The agency's financial management policies.  
 

d) If the corporate status or ownership of the child welfare agency changes, the new 
corporate entity must file an initial application for a child welfare agency license 
as the new corporation.  

 
e) A new application for a child welfare agency license shall be filed when:  
 

1) An application for license as a child welfare agency has been withdrawn 
before a decision was made on the application and the agency seeks to 
reapply; or  

 
2) The applicant had been licensed previously as a child welfare agency, but 

voluntarily surrendered the license, and any waiting period agreed to when 
the voluntary surrender was accepted has expired; or  
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3) The applicant had been licensed as a child welfare agency, but the 

Department revoked or refused to renew the license and the requirements 
of subsection (f) of this Section have been fulfilled.  

 
f) A new application may be submitted at any time when a license, permit or 

application has been voluntarily surrendered or withdrawn by the applicant unless 
the applicant has signed an agreement with the Department not to reapply for a 
license for a specified period of time.  Once an investigation of the facility has 
been commenced, the license may be voluntarily surrendered only with the 
signed, written agreement of the regional licensing administrator on the form 
prescribed in Appendix F.  

 
g) If the Department has revoked or refused to renew the license of a child welfare 

agency and the agency seeks to reapply for a license, it may do so if at least 12 
months have passed since the effective date of the revocation or refusal to renew.  
If a new license is granted to the applicant, the Department shall issue a 
provisional license to the applicant for a period not to exceed two years.  The 
denial of a reapplication for a license pursuant to this subsection must be 
supported by evidence that the prior revocation renders the applicant unqualified 
or incapable of satisfying the standards and rules promulgated by the Department 
pursuant to the Child Care Act of 1969, or maintaining a facility which adheres to 
such standards and rules. [225 ILCS 10/6(c)]  

 
h) The applicant shall submit an original and one copy of the application for license 

and all required documentation.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.110 Provisions Pertaining to Permits  
 

a) A permit shall be issued before a provisional license is granted, but shall not be 
issued prior to the following:  
 
1) Completion of the application for license and submission of the original 

and one copy of the application and all required supporting documentation 
to the Department;  

 
2) Employment of an executive director who has passed the background 

check requirements of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 (Background Checks) and 
who meets the requirements of Section 401.300;  

 
3) Development of a projected staffing plan indicating the time table by 

which qualified staff shall be hired;  
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4) Establishment of procedures and forms for required records and reports in 
Sections 401.260 and 401.270;  

 
5) Submission of a written plan that indicates how requirements for a license 

shall be met within the permit period;  
 
6) Submission of a projected budget for at least the next two years that has 

been approved by the governing body. Letters of commitment must be 
attached for any projected grant or contract;  

 
7) Submission of a risk management plan as outlined in Appendix D, 

Minimum Requirements for a Risk Management Plan, of this Part; and  
 
8) Documentation of current public liability insurance as required by Section 

401.220(g).  
 
b) A permit shall not be issued retroactively.  
 
c) The permit shall not be renewable.  
 
d) The permit shall not be transferred or transmitted to another legal entity.  
 
e) The permit shall not be valid for a name or address different from the name and 

address shown on the issued permit.  
 
f) The child welfare agency shall adhere to the provisions specified on the permit.  
 
g) A current permit shall be on display at the agency headquarters at all times while 

the agency is operating under a permit.  
 
h) A provisional license shall be issued any time within the six months period 

covered by the permit provided the child welfare agency achieves and maintains 
reasonable compliance with the Department's licensing standards.  

 
i) There shall be no fee or charge for the permit.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.120 Provisional Licenses 
 

a) The Department may restrict the operation of the child welfare agency by 
attaching provisions to the license, such as those identified in subsection (c) of 
this Section.  Provisional licenses shall be issued for the first two years to 
applicants for initial license as a child welfare agency when the applicant 
successfully completes the six-month permit period and has achieved and 
maintained reasonable compliance with the standards in this Part.  In addition, a 
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provisional license may be issued when a former license holder seeks to reapply 
after the license was voluntarily surrendered or after the Department revoked or 
refused to renew the former license. 

 
b) Good cause for issuing a provisional license to a former or current holder of a 

child welfare agency license is evidenced by, but not limited to: 
 

1) an excessive number of indicated child abuse or neglect reports involving 
agency staff in their professional duties or foster family, relative, day care, 
and group homes supervised by the child welfare agency; or 

 
2) lack of financial responsibility as evidenced by maintaining inadequate 

assets or by late payment (more than ten days after the scheduled payment 
date) of foster parents, tax obligations, or other evidence of financial 
instability; or 

 
3) inadequate or missing records or reports, as required by this Part; or 

 
4) failure to supervise foster family, relative, day care, and group homes, as 

required by Department of Children and Family Services rules, 89 Ill. 
Adm. Code 301 (Placement and Visitation Services), 89 Ill. Adm. Code 
402 (Licensing Standards for Foster Family Homes), 89 Ill. Adm. Code 
403 (Licensing Standards for Group Homes), 89 Ill. Adm. Code 406 
(Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes), and 89 Ill. Adm. Code 408  
(Licensing Standards for Group Day Care Homes), as applicable; 

 
5) failure to promptly process foster parent licensing applications, provide 

required training of foster parents and adoptive parents, provide 
information to foster parents regarding policy and procedures applicable to 
foster parents and foster children or adoptive parents and adoptable 
children, or to recruit foster family and adoptive homes to care for the 
children served; 

 
6) failure to recommend foster family and day care home licenses for 

renewal before the expiration date of the license when the licensee has 
made a timely and sufficient application for license renewal; 

 
7) failure to submit an annual implementation plan pursuant to the Foster 

Parent Law [20 ILCS 505/7.27] and to implement the plan as submitted; 
or 

 
8) other good cause when supported by adequate documentation that the 

agency is failing to operate in the interest of its clients or the general 
public. 
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c) The child welfare agency shall adhere to the provisions specified on the license 
which may include, but are not limited to: 

 
1) establishing specific supervisor/child welfare staff ratios that the child 

welfare agency must maintain; or 
 

2) requiring at least six bi-monthly meetings of the Board of Directors and 
greater involvement from the Board of Directors in agency operations; or 

 
3) requiring oversight by a certified public auditor who provides periodic 

reports to the Department; or 
 

4) requiring additional training of staff around specific deficiencies identified 
in a corrective plan; or 

 
5) requiring other supportive or corrective measures as deemed necessary in 

writing by the Department. 
 

(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
 
Section 401.130 Provisions Pertaining to Licenses  
 

a) A full child welfare agency license is valid for 4 years unless revoked by the 
Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee.  Provisional licenses are 
valid for 2 years.  

 
b) The Department shall revoke or refuse to renew the license of any child welfare 

agency providing adoption services, unless the agency: 
 

1) Is officially recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service as a 
tax-exempt organization described in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor provision of federal tax law); 
and  

 
2) Is in compliance with all of the standards necessary to maintain its status 

as an organization described in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986. [225 ILCS 10/4(e)] 

 
c) A license shall not be transferred or transmitted to another legal entity.  
 
d) A license shall not be valid for a name or address other than the name and address 

shown on the license.  
 
e) The current license shall be displayed at the agency headquarters at all times.  
 
f) The licensee shall adhere to any and all provisions of the license.  
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g) There shall be no fee or charge for the license.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.140 Application for Renewal of License  
 

a) License renewal application forms shall be mailed to the child welfare agency by 
the Department six months prior to the expiration date of the license.  For a 
renewal application to be considered complete, the following shall be attached to 
the application:  

 
1) A complete listing of the names and addresses of all licensed and license-

exempt child care facilities supervised by the child welfare agency and of 
any pending applications for licensure of a foster family or day care home 
which will be supervised by the child welfare agency;  

  
2) A current list of names, home addresses or Post Office Box, and contact 

telephone numbers, other than the agency's telephone number, of owners, 
officers, board members, and principal shareholders owning more than 5% 
of the stock of the corporation; 

 
3) A staff list, including name and job title, indicating those who are licensed 

under 89 Ill. Adm. Code 412.40 to practice as a direct child welfare 
service employee; 

 
4) Any pending investigations other than the Department investigations;  
 
5) The following documents if changes were made to them since the last 

application or renewal: 
 

A) statement of purpose; 
 

B) range of services; and 
 

C) code of ethics; and 
 

6) For an agency providing adoption services whose license expires on or 
after August 15, 2007, documentation from the Internal Revenue Service 
showing that the agency is in compliance with all of the standards 
necessary to maintain its status as an tax-exempt organization as described 
in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. In addition, the 
agency shall attach copies of any form 990 reports filed with the Internal 
Revenue Service in the preceding 3 years, if applicable. An agency 
providing adoption services whose license renewal is pending or whose 
license will expire prior to August 15, 2007, and that is unable to obtain 
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501(c)(3) status prior to August 15, 2007, may be granted, at the discretion 
of the Department, up to a one year extension. 

 
7) The extension may be granted by the Department when the adoption 

agency has demonstrated that it has made substantial progress in the 
process of becoming a tax-exempt organization as described in section 
501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 and there is a likelihood 
of complying with the requirements within the extended period. 

 
b) The original of the completed application, along with the listing of child care 

facilities supervised by the agency, and one copy of all materials shall be 
submitted to the Department no later than 90 days before the date of the 
expiration of the child welfare agency's license.  

 
c) When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for renewal of a 

license and the Department fails to render a decision on the application for 
renewal of the license prior to the expiration date of the license, the existing 
license shall continue in full force and effect for up to 30 days until the final 
Department decision has been made.  The Department may further extend the 
period in which such decision must be made in individual cases for up to 30 days, 
but such extensions shall be only upon good cause shown. [225 ILCS 10/5(d)]  

 
d) After receipt of the application for license renewal, the Department shall conduct 

a license study that shall consist of a comprehensive licensing compliance review.  
The study may include unannounced visits if conducted within normal business 
hours, in order to determine that the child welfare agency continues to meet 
licensing standards.  The licensing study shall include an examination of the 
premises and records of the child welfare agency to determine the degree of 
compliance with these standards and shall include:  

 
1) Random surveys of parents or legal guardians who are consumers of the 

child welfare agency's services to assess the quality of care given and to 
determine if the child welfare agency is in compliance with the Foster 
Parent Law [20 ILCS 520];  

 
2) A review of a representative sample of child care facilities supervised by 

the child welfare agency, which may include site visits to these facilities;  
 
3) A review of unusual incident reports, child abuse/neglect reports, financial 

and payment records, and other agency performance indicators to evaluate 
the quality of care provided through the agency;  

 
4) Interviews of child welfare agency employees, foster parents, biological 

parents, children receiving care through the licensed child welfare agency, 
and other clients that receive services from the child welfare agency; and  
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5) A review of the records, staffing, and operations of any branch offices 

operated by the child welfare agency.  
 

e) The licensing study shall be in writing and shall be reviewed and signed by the 
licensing supervisor and the licensing worker performing the study.  If the 
Department is satisfied that the facility continues to be in compliance with 
minimum standards which it prescribes and publishes, it shall renew the license 
to operate the facility.  [225 ILCS 10/6]  A copy of the licensing study will be 
made available to the license applicant upon payment of all copying costs.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.141 License Transfer for Agencies Providing Adoption Services Seeking 

501(c)(3) Status 
 

a) Licensed child welfare agencies providing adoption services shall  obtain tax-
exempt status from the Internal Revenue Service as described in section 501(c)(3) 
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.  

 
b) An existing child welfare agency may retain its current structure and be 

recognized as a 501(c)(3) organization as required by this Section or complete the 
process of application as an entity, if the creation of a new entity is required in 
order to comply with this Section, provided that:  

 
1) The agency provides to the Department a copy of the Internal Revenue 

Service ruling showing that the agency is officially recognized by the 
United States Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt organization 
under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986; 

 
2) The child welfare agency demonstrates that it continues to meet all other 

licensing requirements; and  
 

3) The principal officers and directors and programs of the converted child 
welfare agency or newly organized child welfare agency are substantially 
the same as the original.  

 
c) The Department, at its sole discretion, may grant a one year extension to a child 

welfare agency unable to obtain 501(c)(3) status prior to August 15, 2007, 
provided that the agency has demonstrated good faith effort to obtain a 501(c)(3) 
status with the Internal Revenue Service prior to August 15, 2007 and presents 
documentation of that status to the Department.   

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2157, effective January 30, 2012) 
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Section 401.145 Renewal Application Under Deemed Status 
 

a) A child welfare agency in deemed status doing business with the Department shall 
submit to the Department; 

 
1) Signed and completed renewal application on forms provided by the 

Department; 
 
2) Written description of any change in the agency’s corporate exempt status, 

charitable trust registration, and range of services provided; 
 

3) List of current employees, including the Executive Director; 
 
4) List of current board members including their names, home phone 

numbers, and addresses; 
 
5) List of all child care facilities supervised by the agency, including licensed 

and unlicensed foster family and day care homes, and all branch offices 
operated by the agency; 

 
6) Copy of any Corrective Plan currently in place; 

 
7) Copy of information submitted by the agency to the Council on 

Accreditation including: 
 

A) Results of/information about the agency's consumer surveys; 
 
B) Information regarding any “hold” on the agency’s intake placed by 

the Council on Accreditation for children and Family Services 
(Council on Accreditation) including; was the hold for any part of 
the current license sequence; was the agency on hold at the time of 
renewal; reason for the hold, and duration of the hold status; and 

 
C) Copy of the most recent Annual Maintenance of Accreditation 

Report the agency filed with the Council on Accreditation. 
 
8) Copy of letter the agency has from the Council on Accreditation showing 

that the agency is fully accredited. 
 

b) The Department shall obtain the following information from other sources about 
the agency in deemed status that is doing business with the Department  

 
1) Results of agency’s financial audit and any documented financial 

problems; 
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2) Number of indicated child abuse/neglect investigations and licensing 
complaint investigations involving homes and/or facilities supervised by 
agency; 

 
3) Council on Accreditation Confirmation that the agency is fully accredited 

and in good standing; and 
 
4) Confirm the hold information provided by agency with Agency 

Performance Team.  

c) Agencies not doing business with the Department shall submit to the 
Department:  

 
1) Signed and completed renewal application on a form provided by the 

Department; 
 
2) Written description of any change (if applicable) in the agency’s corporate 

exempt status, charitable trust status and range of services provided; 
 
3) List of current employees, including the Executive Director; 
 
4) List of current board members including their names, home phone number 

and addresses; 
 
5) List of all child care facilities supervised by the agency, including licensed 

and unlicensed foster family and day care homes; 
 
6) Copy of information the agency submitted to the Council on Accreditation 

regarding results of/information about the agency's consumer surveys; 
 
7) Copy of the last Annual Maintenance of Accreditation Report the agency 

filed with the Council on Accreditation; 
 
8) Copy of letter the agency has from the Council on Accreditation showing 

that the agency is fully accredited; and 
 
9) Copy of most recent audit. 

 
d) The Department shall obtain the following information from other sources about 

the agency in deemed status that is not doing business with the Department: 
 

1) Number of indicated child abuse/neglect investigations and licensing 
complaint investigations involving homes and/or facilities supervised by 
the agency 
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2) Confirm with the Council on Accreditation that the agency is fully 
accredited and in good standing 

 
(Source: Added at 27 Ill. Reg. 494, effective January 15, 2003) 

 
Section 401.150 Acceptance of Accreditation through Deemed Status  
 

a) When a child welfare agency is fully accredited by the Council on Accreditation 
for Children and Family Services (Council on Accreditation), Inc., 120 Wall 
Street, 11th Floor, New York, NY 10005 (2001 standards) and there have been no 
substantiated licensing violations that affect the health, safety, morals, or welfare 
of children served by that agency for the last four years, that child welfare agency 
is deemed to be in compliance with the program requirements of this Part.  

 
b) The Department shall verify in writing with the Council on Accreditation that the 

agency’s accreditation continues to be in good standing and shall conduct annual 
monitoring visits to verify the continued compliance of the child welfare agency 
with the requirements of this Part. 

 
c) If a licensing complaint is substantiated against an accredited child welfare 

agency, the Department licensing worker shall notify in writing the Council on 
Accreditation of the substantiated violations.  The child welfare agency shall 
receive a copy of this notice. 

 
d) If a substantiated licensing violation may affect the health, safety, morals, or 

welfare of the children served by the child welfare program, the agency shall be 
removed from “deemed status” and a full license study shall be conducted as part 
of the license renewal process. 

 
(Source: Amended at 27 Ill. Reg. 494, effective January 15, 2003) 
 

Section 401.155 Removal of Agency from Deemed Status 
 
The following shall occur before the Department is to remove and agency from Deemed Status: 
 

a) The Department shall have documentation of one or more substantiated violations 
that affect the health, safety, morals or welfare of children served by the agency’s 
program.  

 
b) After review and confirmation of the substantiated violation by the licensing 

supervisor and manager, the Central Office of Licensing shall submit a 
recommendation for removing the agency from deemed status to a 5-member 
panel comprised of representatives from the Divisions of Quality Assurance, 
Purchase of Service Monitoring, Program Operations, and the Offices of Child 
and Family Policy and Licensing. 
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c) The 5-member panel shall review the recommendation for removing the agency’s 
deemed status. 

 
1) If the panel concurs with the recommendation, the panel shall forward the 

recommendation to the Director for final approval. 
 

2) If the panel does not concur with the recommendation, the agency will 
maintain in deemed status. 

 
d) The Department shall notify the agency in writing of the Director’s decision to 

remove or maintain the agency in deemed status.   
 

(Source: Added at 27 Ill. Reg. 494, effective January 15, 2003) 
 

Section 401.160 Voluntary Surrender of License 
 

a) At any time, a licensee may offer to voluntarily surrender a valid license.  The 
licensee must verify whether: 
 
1) the Department is investigating the child welfare agency for any licensing 

complaint or report of suspected abuse or neglect involving the agency;  
 
2) litigation is pending between the child welfare agency and the 

Department; or 
 

3) the child welfare agency suspects that it or facilities supervised by it are 
under investigation by any state agency of any state, their respective 
inspectors general, or any local, State or federal law enforcement agency.  

 
b) The child welfare agency shall attach to the offer of voluntary surrender a 

complete listing of the names and addresses of all licensed child care facilities 
supervised by the agency, of any pending license applications which have not yet 
been determined by the agency, and of any license exempt day care homes, 
relative care homes, independent living facilities, or other programs operated by 
the child welfare agency. 

 
c) Before accepting a voluntary surrender of license, the regional licensing 

administrator shall review the listing of the names and addresses of the facilities 
and programs supervised by the child welfare agency to determine whether it is 
complete and correct. In addition, the regional licensing administrator shall 
determine whether: 

 
1) the Department is investigating the child welfare agency for any licensing 

complaint or report of suspected abuse or neglect involving the agency;  
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2) litigation is pending between the child welfare agency and the 
Department; and 

 
3) the Department has been notified by another state agency, their respective 

inspectors general, or any local, State or federal law enforcement agency 
that the child welfare agency is under investigation.  

 
d) The Department may discharge its obligation to determine whether an 

investigation is pending and whether the Department has received notice of an 
investigation by the DCFS-Office of the Inspector General or any local, State or 
federal law enforcement agency, by examining local licensing records, reviewing 
the voluntary offer of surrender signed by the child welfare agency, checking with 
the Central Office of Licensing, the State Central Register, the DCFS-Office of 
Inspector General, the Office of Legal Services, the Division of Purchase of 
Service Monitoring, and the Office of Internal Audits. 

 
e) If the licensee has verified and the Department has determined that the child 

welfare agency is not under investigation and not engaged in litigation with the 
Department, a licensing administrator may, but is not required to, accept the 
offered voluntary surrender of the license.  Such voluntary surrenders must be 
executed on the form prescribed in Appendix E of this Part. 

 
f) If the licensee has verified and the Department has determined that the child 

welfare agency is under investigation or is engaged in litigation against the 
Department, only a DCFS licensing administrator may, but is not required to, 
accept the offered voluntary surrender of the license.  Such voluntary surrenders 
must be executed on the form prescribed in Appendix F of this Part. 

 
g) If, at any time after the acceptance of a voluntary surrender of license, the 

Department discovers that the child welfare agency knew or should have known 
that it was under investigation at the time it offered to surrender its license and 
failed to disclose the information to the Department, the Department at its option 
may set aside its acceptance of the surrender and proceed to take appropriate 
action against the licensee and the license, including, but not limited to, the 
revocation of the license or refusal to renew the license. 

 
(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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SUBPART C:  ADMINISTRATION AND FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT 
 
Section 401.200 Agency Corporate Status  
 

a) Tax Exempt 
 

A child welfare agency providing adoption services after August 15, 2007 shall be 
officially recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service as a tax-
exempt organization described in section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code 
of 1986. 

 
b) Incorporation 
 

The child welfare agency shall be incorporated, either for profit or not for profit.  
The Board of Directors of the corporation shall consist of at least five members, at 
least one of whom shall be an Illinois resident.  A copy of the certificate and 
articles of incorporation shall be filed with the Department at the time of 
application.  A copy of any later amendment to the articles of incorporation or a 
copy of a certificate of dissolution shall be filed with the Department no later than 
30 days after the amendment or dissolution occurs.  If the child welfare agency 
which claims tax exemption under section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code is 
incorporated as a not-for-profit agency, the agency also must submit proof of the 
Internal Revenue Service ruling on its tax exempt status and proof whether it has 
registered as a charitable organization with the Illinois Attorney General. The 
child welfare agency shall notify the Department in writing of any change in its 
not-for-profit or charitable organization status within 30 days after notice from the 
Internal Revenue Service or Illinois Attorney General, respectively.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.210 Composition and Responsibilities of the Governing Body  
 

a) The governing body of a child welfare agency shall be all the members of the 
board of directors of the corporation.  

 
b) Each member of the governing body of the child welfare agency and principal 

shareholders (owning 5% or more of the corporate stock) shall be of reputable and 
responsible character who shall certify that they have never been convicted of a 
felony or indicated as a perpetrator in a child abuse or neglect report, as defined in 
Appendix B of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 300 (Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect).  

 
c) The governing body may create an executive committee or a child welfare 

committee that has been delegated limited decision making authority.  The 
executive committee may act on behalf of the governing body in emergency 
matters.  
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d) The governing body shall:  
 

1) Establish written by-laws that govern the major operations of the agency 
and that outline the duties of the officers of the board of directors and 
committees to be established by the board of directors;  

 
2) Set long range goals for the agency;  
 
3) If incorporated as a not-for-profit corporation, adopt a conflict of interest 

policy that requires, at a minimum:  
 

A) That no member of the board of directors may derive any personal 
profit, directly, by reason of his or her membership on the board of 
directors or because of services provided to the board (the 
restriction against deriving profit from a transaction does not apply 
as long as the goods or services provided to the agency are priced 
at or below market value and are documented in the agency's 
financial reports);  

 
B) That each board member must disclose to the board any personal 

interest that he or she or any member of his or her immediate 
family may have in any current or potential matter before the board 
and refrain from participating in any decision on those matters;  

 
C) That no member of the executive director's or the chief financial 

officer's immediate family shall serve on the board of directors for 
the child welfare agency and no member of any board member's 
immediate family may serve as executive director, the chief 
financial officer, or an independent contractor of the agency;  

 
D) That there shall be no familial relationship between the executive 

director and the chief financial officer;  
 

4) If incorporated as a for-profit corporation, adopt a code of conduct for the 
board;  

 
5) Insure that the child welfare agency operates at all times with a qualified, 

full-time executive director who, by official written notice, is made known 
to the Department.  The governing body shall:  

 
A) Approve a written job description for the agency executive director 

that delineates the executive director's responsibilities and 
authority and the governing body's expectations of the agency 
executive director;  
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B) Review and authorize all compensation for the agency executive 

director, including salary, allowances, memberships or other 
benefits;  

 
C) Evaluate the agency executive director in writing at least annually;  
 

6) Insure that an adequate process is in place for recruiting, hiring, and 
maintaining qualified child welfare supervisors and other staff required by 
this Part;  

 
7) Hold at least quarterly meetings, unless the agency holds a provisional 

license, thus requiring a minimum of bi-monthly meetings of the board of 
directors.  Unless specifically prohibited by the articles of incorporation 
or bylaws, directors or non-director committee members may participate 
in and act at any meeting of such board or committee through the use of a 
conference telephone or other communications equipment by means of 
which all persons participating in the meeting can communicate with each 
other.  Participation in such meeting shall constitute attendance and 
presence in person at the meeting of the person or persons so 
participating [805 ILCS 105/108.15];  

 
8) Keep written records or minutes of all board meetings reflecting official 

actions of the board that shall contain, at a minimum, the date of each 
board meeting, the persons who were in attendance, the issues discussed in 
the meeting, any committee reports made to the board, the decisions made 
and actions taken.  The minutes shall be available for review by the 
Department's licensing worker, upon request;  

 
9) Officially notify the Department in writing within 30 days after a change 

in the executive director or chief financial officer of the child welfare 
agency or of any major changes in the corporate structure, including, but 
not limited to:  

 
A) Changes in the articles of incorporation or by-laws;  
 
B) Changes in the not-for-profit status or tax exempt status as 

determined by the Internal Revenue Service (if applicable) or its 
charitable organization status as determined by the Illinois 
Attorney General;  

 
C) Addition of any principal shareholder owning at least 5% of the 

stock of the corporation; or  
 
D) Changes in the governing body or its officers;  
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10) Establish written policies of the child welfare agency that shall be made 
available to all board members, employees, and agency clientele, 
including services to be provided by the agency, admissions, care of 
children, and other policies as needed to direct the agency, such as family 
visitation and community contacts with children;  

 
11) Provide and maintain permanent offices accessible to the public and 

appropriate for the administrative program and supportive services.  These 
offices, including all branch offices, shall be staffed during the business 
hours established by the agency, shall be equipped with telephones, shall 
have a permanent mailing address, shall not be in a private residence and 
shall have space available for confidential meetings;  

 
12) Maintain and keep all records and documents required by this Part in the 

State of Illinois where they shall be readily available for review by 
authorized persons;  

 
13) Insure fidelity bonding of fiscally responsible officers and employees 

against breach of fiduciary duty or the loss of monies, securities, or other 
property the agency may sustain through any fraudulent or dishonest act 
committed by an officer or employee acting alone or in collusion with 
others.  These officers or employees must be bonded regardless of whether 
elected or appointed or whether compensated by salary;  

 
14) Insure that the child welfare agency maintains adequate assets, as defined 

in Section 401.40, for responsible fiscal operation of the agency; and  
 
15) Insure that all persons working directly with children are of reputable and 

responsible character, as verified by their employment history of at least 
the past three years, the status of any professional license they hold, and 
completion of the background checks required by 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 
(Background Checks).  

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2157, effective January 30, 2012) 

 
Section 401.220 Organization and Administration 
 

a) The members of the governing body are responsible for maintaining the standards 
set forth in this Part.  The governing body may delegate responsibility for day-to-
day compliance with these standards to the agency executive director. 

 
b) The Office of Legal Services, Department of Children and Family Services, 100 

W. Randolph, Chicago, Illinois 60601 shall be notified in writing within ten 
business days after receipt of any notice of legal action which may affect the child 
welfare operations of the agency.  The notice shall include a copy of all 
complaints, notices, demands, orders and other relevant materials received by the 
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agency.  The Office of Legal Services shall forward a copy of all materials to the 
Central Office of Licensing. 

 
c) A complete, current set of licensing standards for child welfare agencies and all 

types of child care facilities supervised by the child welfare agency shall be 
available at all times in an area that is accessible to agency employees. 

 
d) The executive director and child welfare supervisors and staff shall have a 

working knowledge of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10], the Abused and 
Neglected Child Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5], the Children and Family Services 
Act [20 ILCS 505], the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 [705 ILCS 405], the Adoption 
Act [750 ILCS 50], and the Foster Parent Law [20 ILCS 520]. 

 
e) Employees of a child welfare agency are mandated to report suspected child abuse 

or neglect directly to the State Central Register and are required to acknowledge 
their status as mandated reporters by signing a form prescribed by the Department 
when they begin their employment.  Such reports shall be made immediately to 
the State Central Register as required by the Abused and Neglected Child 
Reporting Act.  The telephone number for reporting is 800-252-2873. 

 
f) The child welfare agency shall develop a risk management plan, as described in 

Appendix D of this Part, that identifies potential financial and operational risks, 
specifies ways to reduce or eliminate the risks, and establishes procedures to be 
followed in an emergency or crisis. 

 
g) The child welfare agency shall carry public liability insurance in the single limit 

minimum amount of $300,000 per occurrence. 
 

(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
 

Section 401.230 Finances 
 

a) The agency shall maintain a degree of financial solvency that insures adequate 
care of the children for whom it has assumed responsibility. An agency is 
considered insolvent if its financial condition is such that the sum of its debts is 
greater than all of its property, at a fair valuation, exclusive of property 
transferred, concealed or removed with intent to hinder, delay or defraud its 
creditors.  (This definition of "insolvency" is based on the definition contained in 
the United States Bankruptcy Code of 1978, 11 USC 101 (26).) 

 
b) The agency shall designate a chief fiscal officer who is responsible for the 

management of financial operations and the development of an annual operating 
budget.  The board shall review and vote whether to accept, modify, or reject the 
proposed annual operating budget prior to the beginning of the agency’s fiscal 
year. A copy of the approved annual operating budget shall be appended to the 
minutes of the meeting during which the budget was approved.  



LICENSING STANDARDS FOR CHILD WELFARE AGENCIES 
December 12, 2013 – P.T. 2013.15 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Rules 401 – (32) 

 
c) At least once per quarter, a report shall be submitted to the Board of Directors 

comparing budgeted revenues and expenses with actual revenues and expenses to 
the board of directors for their review and acceptance, request for modification, or 
rejection as insufficient. 

 
d) The agency shall maintain fiscal records that shall include: 

 
1) current and projected operating budget; 

 
2) quarterly analysis of projected versus actual revenues and expenses; 

 
3) records of a corrective plan to reduce the agency's deficit, if any, and 

progress toward complying with that plan; and 
 

4) financial records annually audited and certified by public accountants not 
otherwise affiliated with the agency. 

 
e) The above records shall be maintained and kept in the State of Illinois where they 

shall be readily available for review by authorized representatives of the 
Department. If the agency contracts with an outside accounting service, the 
agency must include in its contract the required availability of fiscal records to the 
Department. 

 
f) A certified copy of the agency's annual audit as performed by an independent 

auditor shall be submitted to authorized Department staff upon request.   
 

g) The agency shall submit the management representations regarding agency 
financial condition and operations, as required by Appendix C of this Part, to the 
Department within 180 days after the end of the agency's fiscal year. 

 
(Source: Amended at 24 Ill. Reg. 9340, effective July 7, 2000) 
 

Section 401.240 Background Checks 
 
The agency shall have appropriate personnel procedures in place to insure that all persons subject 
to the background checks required by 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 (Background Checks) authorize 
such checks and submit to fingerprinting (when required).  The agency shall insure that only 
designated personnel review the background check information and make decisions about the 
suitability of the individual for licensure or employment.  All background check information 
shall be maintained separately in a confidential file, apart from the employee’s personnel 
records, which may be accessed only by authorized child welfare agency and Department staff.  
 

(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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Section 401.250 Required Reporting to the Department  
 

a) Staff, Volunteers and Adoption Contractors 
  

1) The child welfare agency shall maintain and submit reports on staff, 
volunteers and independent adoption contractors to the Department on 
forms prescribed by the Department:  

 
A) An individual report on each new employee or member of the 

governing body (including the owner, operator, principal 
shareholder owning at least 5% of the stock of the corporation or 
director) shall be filed with the Department within 30 days after 
the employment of the new employee or appointment of a new 
member of the governing body.  A copy of this report shall be kept 
at the agency.  

 
B) Copies of documentation of verification of educational 

achievement and documentation of prior work history (when 
required to qualify for the current position).  

 
2) Staff changes shall be reported monthly to the Department. 
 

b) License Status of Child Care Facilities Supervised by the Child Welfare Agency  
The child welfare agency shall report in writing to the Department licensing office 
when the license status changes for a foster family home or day care home 
supervised by the agency.  The reports shall be received within five days after the 
last day of each month for all license status changes in the month.  Reportable 
changes in license status may include, but are not limited to:  
 
1) failure or refusal to renew the license;  
 
2) revocation or voluntary surrender of the license;  
 
3) change in the status of licensees (death, divorce or separation of a husband 

and wife, change in not-for-profit status);  
 
4) change of address of the licensee;  
 
5) change in license capacity;  
 
6) transfer of license supervision to another supervising child welfare 

agency; or  
 
7) foster or adoptive family moves out-of-state.  
 

c) Semiannual Monitoring of Licensed Facilities Supervised by the Agency 
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The agency shall maintain and submit to the regional licensing office a list of the 
licensed facilities subject to monitoring, noting both the date that the agency has 
performed a semiannual monitoring visit at the facility and those facilities with 
violations or corrective plans, as documentation of compliance with Section 
401.420(c) requiring semiannual monitoring. 
 

d) Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect  
When there has been a report of child abuse or neglect in a foster family home or 
day care home that is supervised by the agency and a formal child abuse and 
neglect investigation begins, the agency shall send a complete copy of the 
licensing record and any other requested information to the Department's agency 
and institution licensing representative within 5 days after a request for the 
information.  

 
e) Licensing Complaint Investigation 

The agency shall send a copy of the licensing complaint investigation file to the 
Department's licensing unit within 5 days after the conclusion of the complaint 
investigation. 

 
f) Monthly Visits with Children in Placement 

The agency shall submit written quarterly reports to the regional licensing office 
listing the names of all children served by the agency, with the dates on which an 
agency child welfare worker visited each child, as documentation of compliance 
with Section 401.420(b) requiring monthly visits with foster parents and children 
in care. 
 

g) Unusual Incident Reports  
 The agency shall report to the Department unusual incidents as defined in 89 Ill. 

Adm. Code 331 (Unusual Incidents). 
 

1) Involving Children  
 The governing body or its designee shall orally report any unusual 

incidents involving children at the earliest reasonable time, but no later 
than the next business day after the incident, to the child's parent or 
guardian and the Department licensing worker.  If the agency is unable to 
contact the parent or guardian and the Department immediately, it shall 
document this fact in the child's record.  Unusual incidents include 
accident or injury requiring hospitalization, death, arrest, or other 
emergency situations.  Oral reports shall be confirmed in writing within 
two business days after the occurrence.  

 
2) Involving Employees, Foster Parents, or Relative Caregivers  

The governing body or its designee shall report to the Department 
licensing worker any work or service related unusual incident that results 
in the death, accident or injury resulting in hospitalization, or alleged 
commission of a felony involving any child welfare agency employee, 
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foster parent, day care provider, or relative caregiver.  A verbal report 
shall be made within 24 hours after the occurrence and shall be confirmed 
in writing within two business days after the occurrence.  
 

h) Complete Copy of the Licensing File 
Upon request, the agency shall provide the Department's licensing unit, within 5 
calendar days, a complete copy of the licensing file for a foster home or day care 
home that is supervised by the agency. 
 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 19115, effective November 30, 2013) 
 
Section 401.260 Required Record Keeping  
 

a) The child welfare agency shall maintain current records that shall be available for 
inspection by authorized persons from the Department and that shall include:  
 
1) records of board membership and minutes of board meetings, as required 

by Section 401.210;  
 
2) financial records, as required by Section 401.230;  
 
3) personnel records, as required by Section 401.380;  
 
4) children's case records, as required by Section 401.420; and  
 
5) licensing records for foster family and day care homes supervised by the 

agency, as required by Section 401.460.  
 
b) Records shall be kept in safe, locked places within the State of Illinois. Access to 

records shall be limited to authorized persons only.  
 
c) Department licensing workers shall have access to all records and reports 

pertaining to day care, foster care, relative care, adoption, independent living and 
residential care programs for minors operated by or supervised by the child 
welfare agency, even if the Department is not legally responsible for the children 
involved in those programs.  All persons who have access to the records and 
reports shall respect their confidential nature.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2157, effective January 30, 2012) 
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Section 401.270 Records Retention  
 

a) General and financial records required of the child welfare agency shall be 
maintained for at least 5 years.  

 
b) Personnel records shall be retained for at least 5 years after termination of the 

person's employment.  
 
c) Licensing Records 
 

1) The child welfare agency shall maintain in its office the licensing records 
of the foster family or day care home license for 4 years after any one of 
the following occurrences:  

 
A) The license has expired and has not been renewed; 

 
B) The official denial or withdrawal of the application for the license 

or permit; 
 

C) The date of closure or revocation of the license or permit. 
 

2) After the 4 years, the agency shall transfer the licensing record to the 
Department, which shall keep it for 5 additional years. 

 
d) If any litigation, claim, financial management review, or audit is started before the 

expiration of the 5-year period, the records shall be retained for at least 3 years 
after all litigation, claims or audit findings involving the records have been 
resolved and final action taken.  (See 45 CFR 74.53.)  

 
e) At the date of file closing, adoption case records and child welfare case records 

shall be retained permanently on paper or microfilm in a Department storage 
facility, and during the time period that the case is active, a hard copy of all 
electronic records shall be made on a ten year cycle.   

 
f) When an agency license is revoked, the Department refuses to renew the license,  

or for any other reason the agency ceases operations, the child welfare agency 
shall provide the Department with the original or a complete copy of all child case 
records and licensing records for the children and families it has served and for 
the foster family and day care homes that had been under its supervision.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2157, effective January 30, 2012) 
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SUBPART D:  PERSONNEL REQUIREMENTS 
 
Section 401.300 The Executive Director  
 

a) The child welfare agency shall hire an executive director who shall be a full-time 
employee designated by the governing body to carry out the day-to-day 
management of the child welfare agency and the policies and procedures 
established by the governing body who is available to the Department upon 
request.  The requirements of this Section apply to the person who reports to the 
board about the day to day management of the agency, regardless of the title used 
to describe the position within the agency.  When the child welfare agency 
operates within a larger, multi-service agency, the executive director responsible 
for the child welfare agency need not be the chief executive officer for the multi-
service agency.  

 
b) The executive director shall have:  
 

1) a Master's of Social Work degree from an accredited school of social work 
and three years' work experience in social work administration; or  

 
2) a Master's degree in a human services field from an accredited school and 

five years work experience in human services administration; or  
 
3) a Master's degree in Business Administration or Health Administration 

and 5 years experience in administration.  Such degrees are acceptable 
only if the executive director never functions as the child welfare 
supervisor and the child welfare supervisor has a Master's of Social Work 
degree from an accredited school of social work or a Master's degree in a 
human services field from an accredited school.  

 
c) If the executive director also serves as the child welfare supervisor, the executive 

director also must meet the qualifications in Section 401.310 for the child welfare 
supervisor.  

 
d) All persons serving as executive director as of May 26, 1998 who were qualified 

as the administrator under former Section 401.11 of this Part (The Administrator) 
and who have served in that capacity for a minimum of 5 years immediately 
preceding July 1, 1998 shall continue to be deemed qualified for their positions as 
executive director for the child welfare agency where they are employed as of 
July 1, 1998.  

 
e) A qualified supervisor or manager shall be appointed to act on behalf of the 

executive director when the executive director is absent and cannot be reached in 
the event of an emergency.  
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f) If the executive director is to be on leave for more than one month or has left his 

or her position prior to the hiring of a replacement, the Department shall be 
notified within five business days of the name of the person appointed as acting 
executive director.  The acting executive director shall have the qualifications 
required of an executive director as specified in this Section.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2157, effective January 30, 2012) 

 
Section 401.310 Child Welfare Supervisors 
 
Child welfare supervisors shall have a Master's of Social Work degree from an accredited school 
of social work or an equivalent Master's degree in a human services field from an accredited 
school and two years of full-time supervised experience in a social work setting.  (See Section 
401.Appendix G for the list of degrees which are accepted as human service degrees.)  Child 
welfare supervisors who were employed as a child welfare supervisor as of July 1, 1997, who 
have a Master’s degree and child welfare experience equivalent to the requirements of this 
Section, continue to be qualified as a child welfare supervisor for the child welfare agency where 
they are employed as of May 26, 1998. 
 

(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
 
Section 401.320 Child Welfare Workers 
 
Child welfare workers perform administrative duties, supervise placement of children, evaluate 
goals for placement, prepare progress reports, provide services to family members, arrange and 
supervise visits between children in placement and their family members and siblings, 
recommend discharge or placement of children, and keep required records.  Child welfare 
workers shall have at least a Bachelor's Degree from an accredited school and shall be under the 
supervision of a qualified child welfare supervisor. 
 

(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
 
Section 401.330 Licensing Staff 
 
Child welfare agencies may have staff who are trained and authorized to perform the licensing 
function as part of their duties as a child welfare worker or may designate licensing as a separate 
function as long as the staff meet the minimum qualifications to serve as a child welfare worker. 
Regardless of whether licensing is performed by child welfare workers or by separate licensing 
workers, each staff member who studies foster family homes, adoptive homes, or day care homes 
must meet the requirements for a child welfare worker in Section 401.320 and must be tested by 
the Department and determined to be qualified to examine each type of facility for licensure 
before performing any licensing duties.  Evidence of successful completion of the licensing 
examination shall be maintained in the employee's personnel file. 
 

(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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Section 401.340 Professional Staff 
 
Professional staff such as social workers, clinical social workers, psychologists, psychiatrists, 
physicians, dentists, teachers, occupational therapists, physical therapists, marriage and family 
therapists, and professional counselors must provide, prior to rendering service to the agency as 
an employee or independent contractor, a copy of their currently valid license for the child 
welfare agency's records.  This applies to all full time, part time, and contractual staff or 
consultants which provide services to children through the auspices of the child welfare agency.  
The child welfare agency shall verify with the Department of Professional Regulation or other 
licensing entity that the license is a valid professional license.  Appendix H of this Part lists the 
professionals who are required to be licensed or registered and the statutory citation for that 
requirement. 
 

(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
 

Section 401.350 Support Personnel 
 
Clerical and secretarial services shall be provided to maintain correspondence, records, 
bookkeeping and files in current and good order.  Janitorial and maintenance staff or services 
shall be provided to keep the building and grounds in proper order. 
 

(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
 
Section 401.360 Use of Volunteer Services 
 

a) Volunteers may be used in any position for which they are qualified in child care 
facilities supervised by the child welfare agency.  Volunteers may not be used 
within the child welfare agency to fill the positions of executive director, child 
welfare supervisor, child welfare worker, or licensing worker.  If volunteers are 
used as replacement or supplemental staff, as defined in Section 401.40 
(Definitions) as support personnel or in other positions not specifically prohibited 
by this Section, the volunteer shall comply with the background check 
requirements of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 (Background Checks) and becomes 
mandated to report suspected child abuse or neglect upon acceptance of the 
volunteer position. 

 
b) Volunteers used to transport children must comply with the requirements of 

Section 401.450 (Transportation). 
 

c) Records shall be maintained on all volunteers who are used as replacement or 
supplemental staff.  Such records shall contain the volunteer’s name, address, 
phone number, and verification of the volunteer’s qualifications for the assigned 
duties.  In addition, any acknowledgments or certification required to verify 
compliance with the requirements of this Part shall be included in the volunteer 
file. 

 
(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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Section 401.370 Non-Discrimination Against Employees Who Report Suspected 

Licensing Violations 
 
No employer shall discharge, demote, or suspend, or threaten to discharge, demote or suspend, 
or in any manner discriminate against any employee who: 
 

a) makes any good faith oral or written complaint of any employer’s violation of any 
licensing or other laws which may result in closure of the facility pursuant to 
Section 11.2 of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/11.2]; or 

 
b) institutes or causes to be instituted against any employer any proceeding 

concerning the violation of any licensing or other laws, including a proceeding to 
revoke or refuse to renew a license; or 

 
c) is or will be a witness or testify in any proceeding concerning the violation of any 

licensing or other laws, including a proceeding to revoke or refuse to renew a 
license; or 

 
d) refuses to perform work in violation of a licensing regulation or other law or 

regulation after notifying the employer of the violation. [225 ILCS 10/7.2] 
 

(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
 
Section 401.380 Personnel Records  
 

a) The child welfare agency shall maintain personnel records on all employees of the 
agency, whether full-time or part-time.  These records shall contain:  
 
1) a copy of the form required to be sent to the Department of Children and 

Family Services which contains information on persons employed by a 
child welfare agency;  

 
2) a certified transcript of the employee's educational achievements, when 

required for the individual's position.  Foreign credentials require 
additional documentation providing a certified translation and statement of 
the equivalency in the U.S. educational system;  

 
3) verification the employee holds a valid professional license (if required by 

law);  
 
4) acknowledgment on a form prescribed by the Department of the 

employee's status as a mandated reporter of child abuse and neglect by 
virtue of his or her employment;  

 
5) verification of the employee's work history prior to hire and residence for 
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the past three years. When the employee's work experience is considered 
part of the individual's qualifications for his or her current position, the 
child welfare agency must verify the employee's stated work history;  

 
6) if the employee or his or her supervisor examines foster family homes or 

day care homes for licensure, verification that the employee and 
supervisor has passed the licensing examination for all types of facilities 
the employee examines or supervises;  

 
7) if the employee transports children, proof of insurance and a valid driver's 

license and the certification required by Section 401.450(c); and  
 
8) a copy of each employee's annual evaluation and any progressive 

discipline provided to an employee.  Such records of progressive 
discipline shall be maintained in accordance with the personnel policies 
approved by the governing body.  

 
b) Authorizations for and the results of a background check, as required by 89 Ill. 

Adm. Code 385 (Background Checks), shall be maintained in a separate and 
confidential file which may be accessed only by authorized child welfare agency 
and Department staff.  
 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 19115, effective November 30, 2013) 
 

SUBPART E:  SERVICES TO CHILDREN 
 
Section 401.400 Legal Safeguards of Children Served  
 

a) The agency shall have written verification of the legal status for all children 
accepted for care and service.  There shall be written financial agreements 
between the child welfare agency, foster family parents, and the legal guardian, 
court, or another agency, as applicable and appropriate for the care of the child 
and the management of any monies or benefits received on the child's behalf.  

 
b) The agency holding a child's funds shall have procedures for ensuring the safety 

of those funds.  Amounts of $300 and over shall be deposited in an insured 
account.  Reports on the status of each child's insured account shall be given to 
the child's caseworker annually. 

 
c) Personal financial transactions or transfer of a child's or youth's personal property 

among children or youth, children or youth and staff, and children or youth and 
volunteers/interns shall be prohibited.  This prohibition does not apply to the 
common practice in families and foster families of transferring outgrown clothes 
or equipment. 
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d) The agency shall assure that a child's valuables brought to a placement and 
acquired by or given to the child, such as clothing, books, toys, gifts, private 
collections, photographs, child's private savings, allowances and other items, 
accompany the placement and are returned to the child when the child leaves that 
placement. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 28 Ill. Reg. 10588, effective August 1, 2004) 

 
Section 401.410 Required Written Consents    
 

a) The agency shall secure specific, dated, time-limited, written consents from the 
child’s parent, guardian, or other legal custodian before approving certain actions 
which may include but are not limited to: 

 
1) health care and treatment, including medical, surgical, psychiatric, and 

dental care and treatment, except under emergency circumstances when 
such consents are not required by the Consent by Minors to Medical 
Procedures Act [410 ILCS 210]; 

 
2) administration of psychotropic medications; 

 
3) religious instruction and/or church attendance in a different faith; 

 
4) work programs, enlistment in the armed services, and car ownership; 

 
5) visits, trips, or excursions which last more than 72 hours or which involve 

out-of-state travel; 
 

6) use of photographs for publicity or other purposes; 
 

7) consent to marriage for children under age 18; 
 

8) participation in research projects, especially those which involve wards of 
the State of Illinois; and 

 
9) consent to attend school in another district. 

 
b) Any written or verbal consent or authorization which conflicts with the 

requirements of this Part is invalid. 
 

(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
 
Section 401.420 Agency Responsibility  
 

a) Each child served by the agency shall, at all times, have a designated child 
welfare worker assigned or, for a period of time not to exceed 30 days, the case 
may be assigned to a child welfare supervisor.  
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b) Children in placement shall be seen by the child welfare worker assigned to the 
case at least once every month.  Foster parents shall be seen by the child welfare 
worker at least monthly.  

 
c) Except as otherwise noted in 89 Ill. Adm. Code 402.7(i), each licensed facility 

supervised by the child welfare agency shall be visited by the licensing worker of 
the agency at least semi-annually to insure that the standards for licensing 
continue to be met.  

 
d) Critical decisions regarding a child, such as accepting for placement, subsequent 

placements, determination of or changes in the service plan, and discharge from 
care, shall be reviewed by the child welfare supervisor prior to implementation 
and when needed.  These critical decisions shall result in a revised service plan.  

 
e) A comprehensive written admission study shall be completed within 30 days after 

admission and shall include:  
 

1) child's name, birth date, place of birth, sex, race, religious affiliation, 
primary language, legal status including the legal status of the parents, and 
present address;  

 
2) names, birth dates, places of birth, marital status, sex, race, religious 

affiliation, primary language, addresses, and telephone numbers of the 
child's biological and adoptive parents;  

 
3) date and facility of placement and information concerning any special care 

or treatment provided to the child and his or her family; and  
 
4) reasons for, and the goal of, placement.  
 

f) The child and/or his or her parent or guardian shall be active participants, to the 
extent possible, in all decisions regarding the reasons for, and the goal of 
placement, the child's educational plan, and the service agreement.  

 
g) Child welfare agencies that license or supervise foster family homes shall comply 

with the Foster Parent Law [20 ILCS 520].  
 
h) Records for each child placed in a licensed or license exempt child care facility or 

independent living program shall include an admission study, legal documents 
and agreements for care, as required, and case recording that reflects the on-going 
placement supervision, service planning, care and treatment of the child.  

 
i) When a child is discharged from the agency's care, records shall include the 

reason for discharge, the legal status of the child, the name and address of the 
agency or person to whom the child is discharged, family reunification or 
aftercare services to be provided to stabilize the family, and any recommendation 
for the child's future care.  
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j) The agency shall provide an environment of safety and well being for children in 
care. 

 
1) Staff shall not abuse or neglect children and shall provide a safe 

environment at all times. 
 

2) No child shall be subjected to corporal punishment, verbal abuse, threats 
or derogatory remarks about the child or the child's family. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 5127, effective January 15, 2012) 

 
Section 401.430 Interstate Placement of Children  

 
a) An agency placing children outside the State of Illinois or receiving children from 

outside the State shall adhere to all rules and regulations of legal authorities 
pertaining to such placements and to the requirements of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children Act [45 ILCS 15], where applicable, and 
Department rules, 89 Ill. Adm. Code 328 (Interstate Placement of Children).  
When the Department of Children and Family Services is legally responsible for 
the children to be placed outside of the State of Illinois, consents from the 
guardian or his or her authorized agent must be obtained before this placement 
may occur.  

 
b) Out-of-state private placing agencies that seek to place children into Illinois for 

the purpose of foster care or adoption shall provide all of the following to the 
Department, and the Department shall maintain the information in an Interstate 
Compact on the Placement of Children Out-of-State Adoption Agency File, also 
know as ICPC Out-of-State Adoption Agency File. Information and 
documentation maintained in the File will be considered current for a period of 2 
years. The ICPC Out of State Adoption Agency File shall include: 

 
1) A copy of the agency's current license or other form of authorization from 

the approving authority in the agency's state.  If no license or 
authorization is issued, the agency must provide a reference statement 
from the approving authority stating the agency is authorized to place 
children in foster care or adoption or both in the jurisdiction. 

 
2) A description of the agency's adoption programs, including home studies, 

placements, and supervisions that the child placing agency conducts 
within its geographical area, and, if applicable, adoptive placements and 
the finalization of adoptions. The child placing agency must accept 
continued responsibility for placement planning and replacement if the 
placement fails.  

 
3) Notification to the Department of any significant child placing agency 

changes after ICPC approval. 
 

4) Any other information the Department may require.  
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c) If the adoption is finalized prior to bringing or sending the child to Illinois, 

Department approval of the out-of-state child placing agency involved is not 
required under this Section, nor is compliance with the Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children. [750 ILCS 50/4.1(a-5)] 

 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

  
Section 401.440 Health and Medical Services for Children 
 

a) The agency shall have written policies providing for medical, surgical, and dental 
care for children in placement.  Such policies shall be formulated in consultation 
with physicians and dentists licensed to practice in the State of Illinois. 

 
b) Medical records on each child shall be maintained, including medical history, 

parental or guardian consent for medical treatment, report of admission 
examination, all subsequent examinations, diagnoses, illnesses, immunizations, 
treatment, and discharge examination. 

 
c) A complete medical history shall include: 

 
1) current problems, medications and handicaps, past health conditions such 

as diseases, allergies and surgeries, immunizations and dates, and report of 
most recent physical examinations; and 

 
2) all available information pertaining to the health history of the child's 

family. 
 

d) Children shall be examined annually or more frequently if findings and medical 
opinion indicate a need.  Diagnosed medical problems shall be treated promptly. 

 
e) Dental examinations shall be given at least annually.  Diagnosed dental defects 

shall receive prompt treatment. 
 

f) Immunizations and tests shall be administered as required by the Illinois 
Department of Public Health rules (Immunization Code: 77 Illinois 
Administrative Code 695) or as recommended by the child’s physician. 

 
g) Immunizations must be waived or modified for a child who, for medical reasons, 

should not be subject to an immunization or when there is a waiver on religious 
grounds. 

 
h) If treatment for any physical impairment which requires continuing or follow-up 

medical attention is needed, the parent, guardian or other facility shall be notified 
in writing. 

 
(Source:  Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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Section 401.450 Transportation of Children  
 

a) These requirements apply to any child welfare agency that provides or arranges 
for the transportation of children to or from their home, whether a permanent 
home or a foster family home, to other prearranged sites, e.g., to another 
placement, for visits with family members, to a physician or to another 
professional.  

 
b) The child welfare agency must insure that all persons who transport children on 

behalf of the agency hold a valid driver's license and have insurance, as required 
by the Illinois Vehicle Code [625 ILCS 5].  (Persons with a special driving permit 
are not considered to have a valid driver's license.)  

 
c) The child welfare agency shall ask all drivers to answer the following questions in 

writing and shall include the response to these questions in their personnel files.  
Persons who answer "yes" to either of the questions in subsection (c)(1), (2) or (3) 
shall not be permitted to transport children.  
 
1) Has your driver's license been revoked or suspended within the past 3 

years?  
 
2) Have you been convicted of driving under the influence, manslaughter, or 

reckless homicide in the past 3 years? 
 
3) Have you caused an accident that resulted in the death of any person 

within the past 5 years? (See 225 ILCS 10/5.1(a).)  
 
d) The child welfare agency shall adopt emergency procedures to be followed in the 

event of an accident, serious illness, or severe weather.  Copies of these 
procedures and other pertinent information shall be provided to all persons 
driving on behalf of the child welfare agency.  

 
e) Age-appropriate safety restraints that are federally approved and labeled as such 

shall be used at all times when transporting children in vehicles having a gross 
weight of less than 10,000 pounds, except that individual safety restraints are not 
required when children ride as passengers in taxicabs or common carriers or 
public utilities.  

 
f) No more than one child may be in each seat belt or safety restraint.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.460 Agency Supervised Foster Family Homes, Group Homes and Day 

Care Homes  
 
a) Foster family and day care homes operated and supervised by a child welfare 

agency shall be licensed according to the standards prescribed and published by 
the Department for licensing foster family and day care homes.  
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b) The child welfare agency shall submit an application for a license on forms 
provided by the Department for each foster family home and day care home 
supervised by it.  The child welfare agency shall recommend the licensure of or 
denial of license of family homes supervised by the child welfare agency.  The 
child welfare agency shall make these recommendations to the Department in 
accordance with 89 Ill. Adm. Code 402 (Licensing Standards for Foster Family 
Homes) and 89 Ill. Adm. 406 (Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes).  

 
c) When an individual submits an initial application for a foster family home license 

and the applicant was previously licensed as a foster family home, the child 
welfare agency shall review and assess all previous licensing history before 
making a recommendation to issue or deny a license on the current application.  
The child welfare agency shall share a complete copy of the previous licensing 
file and any licensing complaint file with an agency reviewing an application for 
license. 

 
d) The child welfare agency shall maintain licensing records on all foster family and 

day care homes under its licensing supervision.  The child welfare agency shall 
insure that facilities operating under its supervision maintain all the records 
required by the appropriate licensing standards for the facility.  

 
e) The child welfare agency supervising a group home licensed by the Department 

shall be responsible for ensuring the facility operates in accordance with the 
applicable licensing standards prescribed by the Department.  When the child 
welfare agency intends to supervise a group home, the child welfare agency shall 
forward the group home license application and necessary documentation to the 
Department. Department's licensing staff shall conduct a license study and 
determine whether the group home is in compliance with 89 Ill.  Adm.  Code 403 
(Licensing Standards for Group Homes).  

 
f) A child welfare agency shall obtain approval in writing from the Department 

before transferring supervision of a child or family case to another agency. 
 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2157, effective January 30, 2012) 

 
Section 401.470 Agency Responsibilities for Adoption Services (Renumbered) 
 

(Source:  Section 401.470 renumbered to Section 401.500 at 30 Ill. Reg., effective 
February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.480 Agency Responsibilities for Independent Living Programs 

(Renumbered) 
 

(Source:  Section 401.480 renumbered to Section 401.700 at 30 Ill. Reg., effective 
February 27, 2006) 
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SUBPART F:  AGENCY RESPONSIBILITIES FOR ADOPTION SERVICES 
 
Section 401.500 Child Welfare Agency Responsibilities for Adoption Services  
 
Child welfare agencies that provide adoption services shall, in addition to meeting all 
requirements for a child welfare agency described in this Part, assure that placements of children 
for adoption are made in the best interests of the children and are selected to meet the needs of 
the child at the time of the placement and as the child grows and develops.  In addition adoption 
agencies shall:  
 

a) Establish written guidelines and eligibility criteria for the selection and evaluation 
of adoptive home applicants; 

 
b) Provide pre-placement services that include the assessment and preparation of the 

potential adoptive family as well as of the child in need of an adoptive home; 
 

c) Ensure that the legal rights of all parties, including the birth parents, the child, and 
the adoptive parent, are protected throughout the adoption process;  

 
d) Comply with all State and federal laws and the requirements of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 

333 (Inter-country Adoption Services) when the adoptive placement involves a 
child from a foreign country;  

 
e) Prohibit discrimination against any child, birth parent, foster parent or prospective 

adoptive parent on the basis of race, religion, gender, or ethnicity. 
 

(Source:  Section 401.500 renumbered from Section 401.470 and amended at 30 Ill. Reg., 
effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.510 Disclosures 
 

a) Information disclosed in accordance with this Subpart shall be subject to the 
confidentiality requirements of the Child Care Act of 1969 and the Adoption Act. 

 
b) A child welfare agency providing adoption services shall provide to all 

prospective clients, including biological parents and adoptive parents, and to the 
public, the following written disclosures, which shall be posted on the agency's 
website when there is one:  

 
1) Adoption services provided;  

 
2) Policy and practices;  

 
3) General eligibility criteria;  

 
4) A general description of fees; and  
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5) The mutual rights and responsibilities of clients, including biological 

parents and adoptive parents. 
 

c) Agencies providing adoption services shall provide to all potential clients prior to 
application a written schedule of: 

 
1) Estimated fees, charges and costs the family will incur in the adoption 

process; and 
 

2) Refund policies. 
 

d) These written policies shall be part of the standard adoption contract unless 
additional fees are reasonably required by the circumstances and are disclosed to 
the adoptive parents or parent before they are incurred. [225 ILCS 10/7.4(b)]  

 
e) An eligible adoption agency, accredited by the Council on Accreditation (COA), 

may be deemed compliant with subsections (b), (c) and (d) of this Section. This 
presumption of compliance may be rebutted by the Department with substantiated 
evidence to the contrary. The Department may require periodic certification of 
COA accreditation from the agency.  [225 ILCS 10/2.27 and 7.4(b)] 

 
f) Every agency providing adoption services shall make full and fair disclosure to its 

clients, including biological parents and adoptive parents, of all circumstances 
material to the placement of a child for adoption. [225 ILCS 10/7.4(c)] 

 
g) Contents of the written disclosure policy shall include: 

 
1) Biological parents' rights and responsibilities. 

 
A) Agencies and other resources that are serving biological parents 

who are making an adoption plan shall provide the biological 
parents, in their preferred language, with a written explanation of 
their rights and responsibilities.  

 
B) The biological parents' rights and responsibilities document shall 

be prepared by the Department and shall be part of the standard 
forms that adoption agency staff review with the biological parents 
before the biological parents sign them.  

 
C) A signed and witnessed copy of the biological parents' rights and 

responsibilities document shall be kept and maintained in the 
agency file, and another given to the biological parents.  
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2) Information that is shared with the biological parents shall include when 
known:  

 
A) Age of the adoptive parents; 

 
B) The race, religion, and ethnic background of the adoptive parents; 

 
C) The general physical appearance of the adoptive parents; 

 
D) The education, occupation, hobbies, interests and talents of the 

adoptive parents; 
 

E) The existence of any other children born to or adopted by the 
adoptive parents; 

 
F) Any information that the adoptive family wishes to include in its 

Dear Birth Parent letter  (which some agencies use).  
 

3) Adoptive parents' rights and responsibilities shall include: 
 

A) Agencies and other resources that are serving adoptive parents 
shall provide the adoptive parents with a written explanation of 
their rights and responsibilities.  

 
B) The adoptive parents' rights and responsibilities document shall be 

prepared by the Department and shall be part of the standard forms 
that adoption agency staff review with the adoptive parents before 
the adoptive parents sign them.  

 
C) A signed and witnessed copy of the adoptive parents' rights and 

responsibilities shall be kept in the agency files and another given 
to the adoptive parents.  

 
D) Adoption agencies shall provide the adoptive family with all non-

identifying information about the child that has been verified as 
accurate, whenever possible.  If it is not possible to verify the 
accuracy of the information provided to the adoptive parents, the 
agency may provide the information to the adoptive family, but 
shall note that the information has not been verified.  

 
E) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Part to the contrary, 

the medical and mental health histories of a child legally freed for 
adoption and of the birth parents, with information identifying the 
birth parents redacted, shall be provided by an agency to the child's 
prospective adoptive parent and shall be provided upon request 
from an adoptive parent when a child has been adopted.  The 
medical and mental health histories shall include all of the 
following available information. 
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i) Conditions or diseases believed to be hereditary; 

 
ii) Drugs or medications taken by the child's mother during 

pregnancy; 
 

iii) Psychological and psychiatric information; and 
 

iv) Any other information that may be a factor influencing the 
child's present or future health. 

 
4) The agency shall provide, in writing, the following non-identifying 

information, if known to the adoptive parents, not later than the day of 
placement with the petitioning adoptive parents: 

 
A) The age of biological parents; 

 
B) The race, religion, and ethnic background of the biological parents; 

 
C) The general physical appearance of biological parents; 

 
D) The education, occupation, hobbies, interests and talents of the 

biological parents; 
 

E) The existence of any other children born to the biological parents; 
 

F) Information about biological grandparents, reason for emigrating 
into the United States, if applicable, and country of origin; 

 
G) The relationship between biological parents; 

 
H) Detailed medical and mental health histories of the child, 

biological parents, and their immediate relatives; and 
 

I) The actual date and place of birth of the adopted person.   
 

5) No information provided under this subsection (g) shall disclose the name 
or last known address of biological parents, grandparents, siblings of the 
biological parents, adopted person, or any other relative of the adopted 
person. 

 
6) The adoptive family shall also be informed about the Illinois Adoption 

Registry. 
 

7) The adoptive family shall also be informed of the results of their home 
study and post-adoption reports. 
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h) Minimum standards for witnessing Final and Irrevocable Surrenders for Purpose 

of Adoption shall include: 
 

1) Child welfare agencies witnessing biological parents' surrender of parental 
rights shall require the biological parents to participate in at least one 
counseling session in person.  

 
A) The counseling session shall take place at least 24 hours before the 

signing of the documents.  If this is not possible, the agency shall 
document the reason in the biological parent's file. 

 
B) The counseling session should include both biological parents 

when possible.  If one biological parent does not attend the session, 
his or her absence shall be noted in the agency file. 

 
C) The agency shall review the key issues regarding surrenders with 

the biological parents prior to taking the surrender.  
 

2) A counseling session summary shall be included in every biological 
parent's file. 

 
3) The counseling session must be conducted by a counselor with a minimum 

of a Bachelor's degree who has knowledge of the issues relevant to the 
surrendering of one's parental rights. The counselor may be an authorized 
representative of an adoption agency, either employed by or contracted by 
the agency, who does counseling or a counselor not associated with an 
agency, such as a licensed social worker, licensed counselor or other 
mental health professional. 

 
i) Information to be Shared with an Adoptive Foster Parent 

 
1) A licensed child welfare agency placing a child in a licensed foster family 

home for adoption shall provide the prospective adoptive parent with: 
 

A) Available detailed information concerning the child's educational 
and health history, copies of immunization records (including 
insurance and medical card information), a history of the child's 
previous placements, if any, and reasons for placement changes, 
excluding any information that identifies or reveals the location of 
any previous caretaker. 

 
B) A copy of the child's portion of the client service plan, including 

any visitation arrangement, and all amendments or revisions to it 
related to the child. 
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C) Information containing details of the child's individualized 
educational plan when the child is receiving special education 
services. 

 
D) Any known social or behavioral information (including, but not 

limited to, criminal background, fire setting, perpetration of sexual 
abuse, destructive behavior and substance abuse) necessary to care 
for and safeguard the child. 

 
2) The agency may prepare a written summary of the information required by 

this subsection (i) that may be provided to the foster or prospective 
adoptive parent in advance of a placement. The foster or prospective 
adoptive parent may review the supporting documents in the child's file in 
the presence of casework staff. In the case of an emergency placement, 
casework staff shall at least provide information verbally and must 
subsequently provide the information in writing, as required, within 10 
days. In the case of emergency placements, when time does not allow 
prior review, preparation and collection of written information, the agency 
shall provide that information in writing as it becomes available.  

 
3) An adoption agency receiving a request from a confidential intermediary 

for the full name, date of birth, last known address, or last known 
telephone number of a sought-after relative pursuant to Section 18.3(g) of 
the Adoption Act [750 ILCS 50/18.3(g)], or for medical information on 
behalf of the adopted or surrendered person who would like the 
information about himself or herself, must satisfactorily comply with this 
request within a period of 45 days. Agencies are subject to significant civil 
financial penalties if compliance is not timely.  

 
4) Following the issuance of a court order finding that the adoption agency 

has not complied with Section 18.3 of the Adoption Act, the adoption 
agency may be subject to a monetary penalty for each subsequent day of 
non-compliance. Any reimbursements and fines, notwithstanding any 
reimbursement directly to the petitioner, paid under this subsection (i)(7) 
are in addition to other remedies a court may otherwise impose by law.  
Proceeds from the penalties paid to the Department of Children and 
Family Services shall be deposited into the DCFS Children's Services 
Fund. The Department of Children and Family Services shall submit 
reports to the Confidential Intermediary Advisory Council by July 1 and 
January 1 of each year in order to report the penalties assessed and 
collected under this subsection (i)(7), the amounts of related deposits into 
the DCFS Children's Services Fund, and any expenditures from those 
deposits. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2157, effective January 30, 2012) 
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Section 401.520 Adoptive Parents Training  
 

a) Agencies providing adoption services shall provide prospective adoptive parents 
with a training program that shall include: 

 
1) A minimum of 6 clock hours of training for private domestic adoption 

families and a minimum of 10 clock hours of training for international 
adoptions; at least 4 of the 10 hours shall be in person (see 22 CFR 
96.48(a)); 

 
2) Counseling and guidance for promoting a successful adoption in 

conjunction with the placement of a child for adoption with the 
prospective parents; 

 
3) Additional training of the adoptive parent, as necessary, to meet the needs 

of the adoptive family or child prior to the adoption. 
 

b) The adoptive parent training may be provided by an agent or independent 
contractor of the child welfare agency, provided the curriculum has the prior 
written approval of the Department's Office of Training.  

 
c) All agencies shall keep on file a written record of the nature and extent of the 

training provided to the adoptive parents.  
 

d) An eligible adoption agency may be deemed compliant with this Section. This 
presumption of compliance may be rebutted by the Department with substantiated 
evidence to the contrary. The Department may require periodic certification of 
COA accreditation from the agency.  [225 ILCS 10/2.27 and 7.5] 

 
(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 19115, effective November 30, 2013) 

 
Section 401.530 Annual Reports  
 

a) On the 45th day of an adoption agency's license anniversary date, an agency 
providing adoption services shall file an annual report with the Department’s 
regional licensing office and with the Illinois Attorney General on forms 
prescribed by the Department, consisting of the following: 

 
1) A balance sheet and a statement of income and expenses for the year; 

 
2) Non-identifying information concerning the adoptive placements made by 

the agency during the year, consisting of: 
 

A) The number of adoptive families in the process of obtaining a 
foster family license;  
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B) The number of adoptive families that are licensed and awaiting 
placement;  

 
C) The number of biological parents with which the agency is actively 

working;  
 

D) The number of children placed in adoptive homes; and  
 

E) The number of adoptions initiated during the year and the status of 
each matter at the end of the year; 

 
3) Any instance during the year in which the agency lost the right to provide 

adoption services in any state or country, had its license suspended for 
cause, or was the subject of other sanctions by any court, governmental 
agency, or governmental regulatory body relating to the provision of 
adoption services; 

 
4) Any actions related to licensure that were initiated against the agency 

during the year by a licensing or accrediting body; 
 

5) Any pending investigations by federal or State authorities; 
 

6) Any criminal charges, child abuse charges, malpractice complaints, or 
lawsuits against the agency or any of its employees, officers, or directors 
related to the provision of adoption services and the basis or disposition of 
the actions; 

 
7) Any instance in the year where the agency was found guilty of, liable for, 

or pled guilty to, any criminal or civil or administrative violation under 
federal, State, or foreign law that relates to the provision of adoption 
services; 

 
8) Any instance in the year where any employee, officer, or director of the 

agency was found guilty of any crime or was determined to have violated 
a civil law or administrative rule under federal, State, or foreign law 
relating to the provision of adoption services; 

 
9) Any civil or administrative proceeding instituted by the agency during the 

year and relating to adoption services, excluding uncontested adoption 
proceedings and proceedings filed pursuant to Section 12a of the Adoption 
Act; [225 ILCS 10/7.6] 

 
10) Description of fees, wages, salaries and other compensations described in 

Section 401.565(a) of this Part. 
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b) Failure to disclose information required under this Section may result in the 
suspension of the agency's license for a period of 90 days. Subsequent violations 
may result in revocation of the license. [225 ILCS 10/7.6] 

 
c) Each licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services that maintains a 

website shall provide the agency's annual reports on its website.  
 

d) The child welfare agency's annual report for the preceding 2 years shall be made 
available by the Department to the public, upon request, and shall be included on 
the website of the Department. 

 
e) Information disclosed in accordance with this Section shall be subject to the 

applicable confidentiality requirements of the Child Care Act and the Adoption 
Act. [225 ILCS 10/7.6] 

 
(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.540 Preferential Treatment in Child Placement 
 

a) Preferential treatment in child placement or any matters relating to adoption 
services by an agency shall not be given to its board members, contributors, 
volunteers, employees, agents, consultants, or independent contractors or to the 
relatives of these persons. Relatives, as used in this Part, are those persons related 
by blood or adoption, including parents, grandparents, siblings, great-
grandparents, uncles, aunts, nieces, nephews, first cousins, great aunts or great 
uncles, and step-parents or step-siblings.  Relatives also include the spouse of 
these named relatives.   

 
b) Agencies shall include the prohibition of preferential treatment in adoption 

services in the written agency policy made available to all the agency's staff.   
 

c) An eligible adoption agency may be deemed compliant with this Section. This 
presumption of compliance may be rebutted by the Department with substantiated 
evidence to the contrary. The Department may require periodic certification of 
COA accreditation from the agency.  [225 ILCS 10/2.27 and 7.8]. 

 
(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.550 Waiver Prohibited 
 
Agencies providing adoption services shall not require biological or adoptive parents to sign any 
document that purports to waive claims against an agency for intentional or reckless acts or 
omissions or for gross negligence. [225 ILCS 10/7.7] 
 

(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 
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Section 401.560 Adoption Services Fees 
 

a) Excessive adoption fees by a child welfare agency, representative of an agency or 
independent contractor of an agency are prohibited.  An eligible adoption agency 
may be deemed compliant with this subsection. This presumption of compliance 
may be rebutted by the Department with substantiated evidence to the contrary. 
The Department may require periodic certification of COA accreditation from the 
agency.  [225 ILCS 10/2.27 and 7.9] 

 
b) Adoption service fees shall be based on the costs associated with the agency's 

overall service and program delivery.  Clients may be charged fees only for 
services provided. 

 
c) Payments to Biological Parents 

 
1) Adoption agency payments to biological parents of reasonable living 

expenses by a child welfare agency shall not obligate the biological 
parents to place the child for adoption. In the event that the biological 
parents choose not to place the child for adoption, the child welfare 
agency shall have no right to seek reimbursement from the biological 
parents, or from any relative of the biological parents, of moneys paid to, 
or on behalf of, the biological parents, except as provided in subsection 
(c)(2) of this Section. 

 
2) A child welfare agency may seek reimbursement of reasonable living 

expenses from a person who receives such payments only if the person 
who accepts payment of reasonable living expenses before the child's 
birth, as described in subsection (c)(1), knows that the person on whose 
behalf he or she is accepting payment is not pregnant at the time of the 
receipt of the payments or the person receives reimbursement for 
reasonable living expenses simultaneously from more than one child 
welfare agency without the agencies' knowledge. [225 ILCS 10/14.7] 

 
3) An adoption agency shall maintain on file records of all payments made to 

biological parents or on behalf of biological parents. 
 

(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 
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Section 401.565 Adoption Agency Payment of Salaries or Other Compensation 
 

a) A licensed child welfare agency may pay salaries or other compensation to its 
officers, employees, agents, contractors, or any other persons acting on its behalf 
for providing adoption services, provided that all of the following limitations 
apply: 

 
1) The fees, wages, salaries, or other compensation of any description paid 

to the officers, employees, contractors, or any other person acting on 
behalf of a child welfare agency providing adoption services shall not be 
unreasonably high in relation to the services actually rendered.  Every 
form of compensation shall be taken into account in determining whether 
fees, wages, salaries, or compensation are unreasonably high, including, 
but not limited to, salary, bonuses, deferred and non-cash compensation, 
retirement funds, medical and liability insurance, loans, and other benefits 
such as the use, purchase, or lease of vehicles, expense accounts, and 
food, housing, and clothing allowances; 

 
2) Any earnings, if applicable, or compensation paid to the child welfare 

agency's directors, stockholders, or members of its governing body shall 
not be unreasonably high in relation to the services rendered; and 

 
3) Persons providing adoption services for a child welfare agency may be 

compensated only for services actually rendered and only on a fee-for-
service, hourly wage, or salary basis. 

 
b) The Department shall take into account the location, number, and qualifications 

of staff, workload requirements, budget, and size of the agency or person, and 
available norms for compensation within the adoption community.  

 
c) Every licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services shall provide the 

Department and the Attorney General with a report, on an annual basis, 
providing a description of the fees, wages, salaries and other compensation 
described in subsection (a) of this Section.  

 
d) Nothing in the Adoption Compensation Prohibition Act [720 ILCS 525] shall be 

construed to prevent a child welfare agency from charging fees or the payment of 
salaries and compensation as limited in this Section and any applicable Sections 
of this Part, the Child Care Act or the Adoption Act. 

 
e) This Section does not apply to international adoption services performed by those 

child welfare agencies governed by the 1993 Hague Convention on Protection of 
Children and Cooperation in Respect of Intercountry Adoption and the 
Intercountry Adoption Act of 2000 (42 USC 14901 et seq.). 
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f) An eligible adoption agency may be deemed compliant with this Section.  This 
presumption of compliance may be rebutted by the Department with substantiated 
evidence to the contrary. The Department may require periodic certification of 
COA accreditation from the agency.  [225 ILCS 10/2.27 and 14.6] 

 
(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.570 Independent Contractors  
 

a) Subject to subsection (a)(1), a child welfare agency providing adoption services 
may use the services of any person, group of persons, agency, association, 
organization, corporation, institution, center, or group as an independent adoption 
contractor to perform services on behalf of the licensed agency. 

 
1) The licensed agency must have a written agreement with the independent 

contractor specifying: 
 

A) Terms of remuneration;  
 

B) Services to be performed;  
 

C) Personnel performing those services;  
 

D) Qualifications of the personnel, in addition to any other 
information or requirements the Department may specify; and 

 
E) That the contract may be terminated at any time. 

 
2) Within 30 days after entering the agreement, a copy of the written 

agreement shall be submitted to the Department.  
 

b) The independent contractor providing services on behalf of the licensed agency 
has an affirmative obligation to disclose its contractual relationship to all clients 
prior to performing any services.  

 
c) The licensed agency is not exempt, by reason of the use of the contractor, from 

compliance with all of the provisions in this Part and in the Child Care Act of 
1969.  

 
d) The Department has the authority to disapprove, and shall do so in writing, the 

use of any contractor if the Department is not satisfied with the agency's 
agreement. The factors to be considered include, but are not limited to: 

 
1) Personnel who are performing the services;  

 
2) The qualifications of the personnel; or  
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3) If the contractor violates any provision of this Part, the Child Care Act or 

the Adoption Act. 
 

e) The Department has the authority to require the immediate termination of 
the contract between an agency and independent contractor. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 19115, effective November 30, 2013) 

 
Section 401.580 Cessation or Dissolution of an Adoption Agency  
 
In the event that a licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services ceases to exist or 
dissolves its corporate entity as an agency, and in so doing ceases to provide adoption services as 
defined in Section 401.40, all records pertaining to those adoption services shall be forwarded to 
another licensed child welfare agency, with notice provided to the Department within 30 days 
after cessation or dissolution.  
 

(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 
 
Section 401.590 Adoption Agency Information and Complaint Registry  
 

a) The adoption agency information and complaint registry serves to assist the 
public in the monitoring of licensed child welfare agencies providing adoption 
services. The information in the registry shall include, but is not limited to: 

 
1) Agency's 4-year history of substantiated violations and corrected 

violations. 
 

2) Any current enforcement actions against a child welfare agency providing 
adoption services. 

 
b) The public may access information concerning the past history and records of any 

licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services in the State of Illinois 
through the Department's adoption agency information and complaint registry's 
toll-free telephone number. 

 
c) Information provided in the adoption agency, information and complaint registry 

shall also be available to the public on the Department's website. 
 
d) Complaints regarding agencies providing adoption services may be made to the 

adoption agency, which shall follow the requirements of Section 401.595, or to 
the nearest Department licensing office.  The State Central Register may take, via 
its toll-free number (1-800-252-2873), complaints during weekends or after 
regular working hours., 

 
e) The Department shall investigate all complaints alleging violations of licensing 

standards in accordance to Part 383, Licensing Enforcement.  
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f) Complaints not related to licensing standards shall be addressed and documented 

by the adoption agency and its resolution shall be available for review by the 
Department. (See Section. 401.595 (a).)  

 
(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.595 Agency Complaint Policy and Procedure  
 

a) Agencies providing adoption services shall establish written complaint policies 
that include: 

 
1) An adoption agency shall initiate an investigation of complaints received 

within 2 business days; 
 

2) The adoption agency shall maintain written documentation of all 
complaints received by the agency; 

 
3) An adoption agency shall report the outcome of its complaint 

investigation, in writing, to the Department's regional licensing office or 
the DCFS Licensing Representative within 10 business days after 
complaints are received;  

 
4) Any retaliation against the person making the complaint is prohibited;  

 
5) That a member of management level staff shall be designated to accept 

consumer complaints; and 
 

6) Resolutions of all complaints shall be reported to the agency board of 
directors at its next meeting. 

 
b) The agency's complaint policy and procedures shall be filed with the 

Department’s regional licensing office no later than February 15, 2006. 
 

c) Failure of an adoption agency to file its complaint policy and procedures with the 
Department by February 15, 2006 and to comply with the provisions of this 
Section may result in:  

 
1) Suspension of the agency's license for a period of 90 days; or 

 
2) Revocation of the agency's license in the event that the agency continues 

to violate the requirement of subsection (b). 
 

d) The adoption agency's policy and procedures shall be provided in writing to its 
prospective clients, including biological parents, adoptive parents, and adoptees 
that it has served, at the earliest time possible, and, in the case of biological and 
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adoptive parents, prior to placement or prior to entering into any written contract 
with the clients. [225 ILCS 10/9.1b]  

 
e) Receipt of a copy of the agency's policy and procedure shall be signed and dated 

by the client and witnessed, and a copy shall be maintained in the client's file. 
 

f) Any adoption agency that maintains or establishes a website in the future shall 
post the prescribed complaint procedures and its license number, as well as the 
statewide toll-free adoption agency information and complaint registry telephone 
number, on its website. [225 ILCS 10/9.1b] 

 
(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.600 Advertisement  
 

a) No person, group of persons, agency, association, organization, corporation, 
institution, center, or group may advertise or cause to be published any 
advertisement offering, soliciting, or promising to perform adoption services as 
defined in Section 401.40 of this Part, unless the agency is licensed or operating 
under a permit issued by the Department as a child care facility or child welfare 
agency. 

 
b) Violators of subsection (a) of this Section are guilty of a Class A misdemeanor 

and shall be subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000 or 9 months imprisonment for 
each advertisement, unless that person, group of persons, agency, association, 
organization, corporation, institution, center, or group is: 

 
1) Licensed or operating under a permit issued by the Department as a child 

care facility or child welfare agency; or 
 

2) An exception to subsection (a) is a biological parent or a prospective 
adoptive parent acting on his or her own behalf, or a licensed attorney 
advertising his or her availability to provide legal services relating to 
adoption, as permitted by law. 

 
c) Every advertisement published after August 15, 2005 shall include the 

Department's issued license number of the facility or agency. 
 

d) Any licensed child welfare agency providing adoption services that, after August 
15, 2005, causes to be published an advertisement containing reckless or 
intentional misrepresentations concerning adoption services or circumstances 
material to the placement of a child for adoption is guilty of a Class A 
misdemeanor and shall be subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000 or 9 months 
imprisonment for each advertisement. 
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e) An out-of-state agency that is not licensed in Illinois and that has a written 
interagency agreement with one or more Illinois licensed child welfare agencies 
may advertise under this Section, provided that: 

 
1) The out-of-state agency is officially recognized by the United States 

Internal Revenue Service as a tax-exempt organization under section 
501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 (or any successor 
provision of federal tax law); 

 
2) The out-of-state agency provides only international adoption services and 

is covered by the international adoption services and the Intercountry 
Adoption Act of 2000 (42 USC 14901 et seq.);  

 
3) The out-of-state agency displays, in the advertisement, the license number 

of at least one of the Illinois licensed child welfare agencies with which it 
has a written agreement; and  

 
4) The advertisements pertain only to international adoption services. 

 
f) An advertiser, publisher, or broadcaster, including, but not limited to, 

newspapers, periodicals, telephone book publishers, outdoor advertising signs, 
radio stations, or television stations, who knowingly or recklessly advertises or 
publishes any advertisement offering, soliciting, or promising to perform adoption 
services on behalf of a person, group of persons, agency, association, 
organization, corporation, institution, center, or group, not authorized to 
advertise under subsection (a) or (d) of this Section, is guilty of a Class A 
misdemeanor and is subject to a fine not to exceed $10,000 or 9 months 
imprisonment for each advertisement. 

 
g) The Department shall maintain a website listing child welfare agencies licensed 

by the Department that provide adoption services and other general information 
for biological parents and adoptive parents. The website shall include, but not be 
limited to: 

 
1) Adoption agency license numbers, addresses, phone numbers, e-mail 

addresses and website addresses;  
 

2) Annual reports as referenced in Section 401.530 of this Part;  
 

3) The Birth Parents’ Bill of Rights and the Adoptive Parents’ Bill of Rights; 
and  

 
4) The Department's agency adoption and information complaint registry 

toll-free number. [225 ILCS 10/12] 
 

(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 
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SUBPART G:  INDEPENDENT LIVING PROGRAMS 

 
Section 401.700 Agency Responsibilities for Independent Living Programs  
 

a) Child welfare agencies may provide independent living services to youth;  
 
1) Who have been or who are in the out-of-home care system;  
 
2) Who are homeless or who are transitioning from residential care;  
 
3) Who are without family resources;  
 
4) Who need support and assistance coping with developmental disability, 

physical disability or mental illness.  
 
b) All agency staff who have contact with youth in independent living programs 

shall have passed the background checks required by 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 
(Background Checks).  

 
c) A child welfare worker shall be assigned to youth in independent living programs 

and shall meet with the youth at least monthly or otherwise as specified in the 
service plan.  

 
d) Child welfare agency staff shall work in partnership with the youth in developing 

a plan for independence and shall include the youth in conferences and meetings 
during which key decisions or changes to the youth's service plan are discussed.  

 
e) The child welfare agency shall ensure that youth in independent living programs 

are in safe and adequate housing while participating in the program and have 
access to adequate health care, educational services, vocational and employment 
services, and opportunities to acquire life skills and the development of self-
esteem.  

 
(Source:  Section 401.480 renumbered to Section 401.700 and amended at 30 Ill. Reg., 
effective February 27, 2006) 
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SUBPART H:  ENFORCEMENT AND SEVERABILITY CLAUSE 

 
Section 401.800 Referrals to Law Enforcement and Injunctive Relief  
 

a) Violation of the Act 
 

If the Department has reasonable cause to believe that any person, group of 
persons, corporation, agency, association, organization, institution, center, or 
group is engaged or is about to engage in any acts or practices that constitute or 
will constitute a violation of the Child Care Act, the Department shall inform the 
Attorney General or the State's Attorney of the appropriate county, who may 
initiate the appropriate civil or criminal proceedings.  

 
b) Violation of this Part 
 

If the Department has reasonable cause to believe that any person, group of 
persons, corporation, agency, association, organization, institution, center, or 
group is engaged or is about to engage in any act or practice that constitutes or 
may constitute a violation of any rule adopted under the authority of the Child 
Care Act, the Department may inform the Attorney General or the State's 
Attorney of the appropriate county, who may initiate the appropriate civil or 
criminal proceedings.  

 
c) Injunction or Restraining Order 
 

Upon a proper showing, any circuit court may enter a permanent or preliminary 
injunction or temporary restraining order without bond to enforce the Child Care 
Act or this Part, in addition to the penalties and other remedies provided in the 
Act. [225 ILCS 10/11.1] 

 
(Source:  Added at 30 Ill. Reg., effective February 27, 2006) 

 
Section 401.850 Severability of This Part  
 
If any court of competent jurisdiction finds that any rule, clause, phrase, or provision of this Part 
is unconstitutional or invalid for any reason whatsoever, this finding shall not affect the validity 
of the remaining portions of this Part.  
 

(Source:  Section 401.500 renumbered to Section 401.850 at 30 Ill. Reg., effective 
February 27, 2006) 
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401.APPENDIX A:  Licensing Progression for Child Welfare Agencies 
 

 
License 
Status 

 
Explanation 

 
Permit 

 
Issued only once prior to issuance of a provisional license for not more than six 
months to enable a new child welfare agency to come into reasonable compliance with 
licensing standards before an initial, provisional license is issued. 

 
Provisional 
License 

 
Issued for the first two years of initial licensure to allow a newly licensed facility a 
period of time to demonstrate the ability to operate the child welfare agency 
responsibly and remain in compliance with licensing standards.  Allows the 
Department of Children and Family Services to evaluate the quality of licensing and 
child welfare services provided by the agency.  A provisional license may also be 
issued when a child welfare agency reapplies for licensure after the prior license was 
voluntarily surrendered, revoked or the Department refused to renew the license. 

 
Full License 

 
Issued after a child welfare agency has completed its provisional license period when 
the agency is in reasonable compliance with licensing standards and has demonstrated 
the ability to operate the child welfare agency responsibly. 

 
Conditional 
License 

 
Issued for not more than six months to enable a child welfare agency to correct 
deficiencies in its operations which do not jeopardize the health, safety, morals or 
welfare of the children served.  Any other license held by the agency is revoked when 
a conditional license is issued.  If the facility fails to correct the deficiencies and meet 
all licensing standards at the end of the conditional license period, the Department 
shall deny full license.  (See [225 ILCS 10/8.2]) 

 
Deemed 
Status 

 
Programs of the child welfare agency are deemed to be in full compliance with the 
requirements of this Part because the program is fully accredited by the Council on 
Accreditation of Services for Families and Children and there have been no 
substantiated licensing complaints which affect the health, safety, morals, or welfare 
of children served by the agency during the past four years.  The Department shall 
conduct annual monitoring visits to verify continued compliance with the 
requirements of this Part. 

 
(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998)  
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401.APPENDIX B:  Requirements for Operation of Branch Offices 
 
A multi-site child welfare agency may operate branch offices.  The headquarters of the child 
welfare agency may delegate authority, in accordance with the requirements of this Appendix B, 
to the branch offices to receive licensing applications from foster family and day care home 
applicants and make recommendations for licensure directly to the Department.  The child 
welfare agency headquarters authorization of delegation of licensing authority to the branch 
office must be in writing, signed by the authorized representative of the governing body of the 
child welfare agency, and must include the following: 
 

- the name of the administrative staff person primarily responsible for the day-to-
day operation of the branch office; and 

- the address, phone number and office hours for the branch office; and 
- the names of the staff persons in the branch office who have passed the licensing 

examinations required by the Child Care Act of 1969, thus qualifying them to 
conduct license studies and recommend applicants for licensure, and the types of 
facilities which they are qualified to examine. 

 
The written delegation of authority to operate a branch office which processes licensing 
applications must be filed with the Central Office of Licensing, 406 E. Monroe Street, #60, 
Springfield, Illinois 62701.  If the child welfare agency is fully licensed in good standing and the 
branch office has sufficient qualified staff who have passed the licensing examinations for the 
types of facilities to be licensed by the branch office of the child welfare agency, the Central 
Office of Licensing shall approve the operation of the branch office for the recommendation of 
foster family and day care home licenses. 
 
Any and all enforcement actions (orders for compliance, license revocation, conditional license, 
provisional license, etc.) will be handled through the child welfare agency headquarters with a 
copy to the branch office of the child welfare agency. 

 
(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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401.APPENDIX C: Management Representations of Child Welfare Agency Financial 

Condition and Operations 
 
The chief fiscal officer and an authorized representative of the governing body shall prepare 
responses to the following representations about the operations of the child welfare agency for 
the prior fiscal year and submit them to the Department within 180 days after the end of the 
agency's fiscal year.  This response shall be on a form provided by the Department and shall be 
signed and dated by the chief fiscal officer and the authorized representative of the governing 
body.  When the child welfare agency functions within a larger multi-service agency, the 
responses shall be limited to the operation of the child welfare agency. 
 

1) The agency has a bookkeeping system that includes minimally, a chart of 
accounts and appropriate accounting journals. 

 
2) The agency has paid its payrolls in accordance with its specified payroll schedule. 

 
3) The agency has paid relative caregivers and/or foster parents in accordance with 

established payment schedules. 
 

4) All payroll taxes or other tax liabilities have been paid on or in advance of the 
date required by all taxing authorities. 

 
5) The agency has not defaulted on any debt. 

 
6) The agency has billed funding agencies within 60 days for amounts due. 

 
7) The agency has not failed to collect billings and has not had to write off billings. 

 
8) The agency has adequate assets to provide for agency operations and services 

such as staff, taxes, rent, utilities, and supplies for a period of at least 30 days. 
 

9) The agency has not loaned money to agency employees or members of the board 
of directors. 

 
10) The agency does not have an operating deficit for the year. 

 
(Source: Added at 24 Ill. Reg. 9340, effective July 7, 2000) 
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401.APPENDIX D:  Minimum Requirements for a Risk Management Plan 
 
The risk management plan required by Section 401.220(g) shall address at least the following 
areas of risk with the answers sufficiently explained. 
 
1) What risks are presented by the child welfare services offered or supervised by the child 

welfare agency?  How is the agency minimizing those risks? 
 
2) What risks are presented to staff and caregivers in the conduct of their duties?  How is the 

agency minimizing those risks?  Does the child welfare agency provide staff with a photo 
identification card? 

 
3) What training is provided to staff, foster parents, relative caregivers, day care home 

providers, or youth in independent living arrangements to help them identify and 
minimize risks associated with their various duties or living arrangements? Describe all 
required training. 

 
4) Does the agency have a plan to assure the quality of services it delivers?  Describe the 

quality assurance plan. 
 
5) Are adequate investigations into the qualifications, education, and experience of staff 

completed before they are hired?  Describe the hiring process. 
 
6) Are agency personnel sufficiently qualified to provide services to the types of children 

accepted for care?  How do staff qualifications compare to the special needs which 
children or youth may present? 

 
7) Does the design of any building used for family and child related activities (such as 

rooms used for family counseling or visits) minimize risks to staff and clients? 
 
8) Are buildings used by the child welfare agency appropriately maintained? 
 
9) Does the agency have a regular maintenance schedule for vehicles used to transport 

children?  If so, describe the schedule. 
 
10) Does the agency require persons who transport children to use child safety restraints and 

make adequate child safety seats available to staff and volunteers? 
 
11) Does the agency have policies in place regarding when staff and volunteers of the same 

and opposite sex may be alone with clients? 
 
12) Does the agency have emergency and disaster preparedness plans?  Are they posted and 

made available to staff?  If so, describe the plan and how it is made available to staff. 
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13) Has the agency addressed any deficiencies identified by the independent auditor in the 
management of its financial resources?  Explain what actions were taken. 

 
(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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Section 401.APPENDIX E   Acceptance of Voluntary Surrender of License – No 
Investigations Pending (Repealed) 
 

(Source:  Repealed at 35 Ill. Reg. ______, effective January 30, 2012) 
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Section 401.APPENDIX F   Acceptance of Voluntary Surrender of License –  Investigations 
Pending (Repealed) 
 

(Source:  Repealed at 35 Ill. Reg. ______, effective January 30, 2012) 
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Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Rules 401 – Appendix G – (1) 

401.APPENDIX G:  Acceptable Human Services Degrees 
 
 The following degrees may be accepted as human services degrees. 
 

Child, Family and Community Services 
Early Childhood Development 
Guidance and Counseling  
Home Economics - Child and Family Services 
Human Development Counseling 
Human Service Administration  
Human Services 
Master of Divinity 
Pastoral Care  
Pastoral Counseling 
Psychiatric Nursing 
Psychiatry 
Psychology 
Public Administration  
Social Science 
Social Services 
Sociology 

 
Individuals who have a Master’s degree in another field who have completed significant course 
work that may qualify as human services course work may submit a certified transcript of their 
educational experience, along with the college or university’s catalogue or other description of 
the contents of the course work, to the Department’s Central Office of Licensing for 
consideration of academic equivalency.  The Central Office of Licensing will convene a five 
person panel to review all transcripts and course information and make a decision on the 
equivalency of the college degree to a human services degree.  All decisions of the Central 
Office of Licensing on the equivalency of any degree shall be final and are not appealable. 
 

(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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401.APPENDIX H:  Professionals Who Must Be Registered or Licensed to Practice in the 
State of Illinois 

 
 
Type of Profession 

 
Statute Which Requires Registration or Licensure 

 
Athletic Trainer  

 
Illinois Athletic Trainers Practice Act [225 ILCS 5] 

 
Clinical Social Worker 

 
Clinical Social Work and  
Social Work Practice Act  [225 ILCS 20] 

 
Dental Assistant 

 
Illinois Dental Practice Act [225 ILCS 25] 

 
Dentist  

 
Illinois Dental Practice Act [225 ILCS 25] 

 
Dietician 

 
Dietetic and Nutrition Services Practice Act [225 ILCS 30] 

 
Marriage and Family 
Therapist 

 
Marriage and Family Therapy Licensing Act [225 ILCS 55]      

 
Nurse 

 
Illinois Nursing Act of 1987  [225 ILCS 65] 

 
Occupational Therapist 

 
Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act [225 ILCS 75] 

 
Optometrist 

 
Illinois Optometric Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 80] 

 
Pharmacist 

 
Pharmacy Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 85] 

 
Physical Therapist 

 
Illinois Physical Therapy Act [225 ILCS 90] 

 
Physician 

 
Medical Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 60] 

 
Physician Assistant 

 
Physician Assistant Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 95] 

 
Podiatrist 

 
Podiatric Medical Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 100] 

 
Professional Counselor 

 
Professional Counselor and Clinical Professional Counselor Act [225 
ILCS 107] 

 
Psychologist 

 
Clinical Psychologist Licensing Act [225 ILCS 15] 

 
Social Worker 

 
Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act  [225 ILCS 20] 

 
Speech-Language 
Pathologist 

 
Illinois Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Practice Act 
[225 ILCS 110] 

 
Teacher 

 
School Code [105 ILCS 5] 

  
(Source: Added at 22 Ill. Reg. 10329, effective May 26, 1998) 
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2015.09 
 

MEDICAL MARIJUANA AND LICENSED CHILD CARE FACILITIES 
 
DATE: June 18, 2015 
 
TO: DCFS and Private Agency Licensing Staff  
 
FROM: George H. Sheldon, Acting Director 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to inform Department and Purchase of Services 
(POS) licensing staff of new requirements, which are consistent with the Compassionate 
Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act, regarding the restrictions on the use of 
medical marijuana in or near licensed child care facilities.  

 
II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this Policy Guide are Department and POS licensing staff. 
 
III. BACKGROUND 
 

Public Act 98-0122, the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act, 
effective January 1, 2014, places restrictions on the use, cultivation, and dispensing of 
medical marijuana in or near licensed child care facilities.      
 
This Policy Guide summarizes the Department’s guidelines for ensuring that these 
restrictions are followed by licensed child care providers.  
  

IV. SUMMARY  
 

Marijuana prescribed for medical purposes shall not be possessed: 
 

· in or on the premises of a licensed foster home, day care home, group day care home 
or part-day facility; 

· in or on the premises of a licensed child welfare agency and/or child care facility; 
· in any vehicle that is operated for the purpose of transporting children served through 

a licensed child care facility; 
· in any employee vehicle parked on the grounds of a licensed child welfare agency or 

child care facility; 
· where a child being served by a licensed facility can observe or smell marijuana; or 
· in or on the premises where smoking is banned through the Smoke Free Illinois Act. 
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Zoning Restrictions 
 
Cultivation centers may not be located within 2,500 feet of the property line of an 
existing day care center, day care home, group day care home, part day child care facility, 
or any area zoned for residential use. 
 
Medical marijuana dispensary may not be located within 1,000 feet of the property line of 
an existing day care center, day care home, group day care home, or part day child care 
facility.  
 
The Department will propose amendments to rules affected by this statute to ensure 
consistency with this Policy Guide.  
 
Licensing staff shall immediately implement the new standards. 

 
V. QUESTIONS 

 
Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at OCFP – Mailbox.  Non Outlook users may e-
mail questions to cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us. 

 
VI. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File this Policy Guide immediately following Rules 
 
Rules 401, Licensing Standards for Child Welfare Agencies; 
Rules 402, Licensing Standards for Foster Family Homes; 
Rules 403, Licensing Standards for Group Homes; 
Rules 404, Licensing Standards for Child Care Institutions and Maternity Centers; 
Rules 406, Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes; 
Rules 407, Licensing Standards for Day Care Homes; 
Rules 408, Licensing Standards for Group Day Care Homes; 
Rules 409, Licensing Standards for Youth Transitional Living Programs; 
Rules 410, Licensing Standards for youth Emergency Shelters; and 
Rules 411, Licensing Standards for Secure Child Care Facilities.  
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

Distribution: X, Z, M 
 

POLICY GUIDE 99.03 
 

APPROVAL FOR TRANSFER OF FOSTER HOME LICENSE 
AND CHILDREN’S CASES BETWEEN PRIVATE AGENCIES 

 
 
DATE: February 15, 1999 
 
TO: Rules and Procedures Bookholders, Private Agency Child Welfare Staff and 

Agency Performance Team Monitors 
 
FROM: Jess McDonald 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to inform all private agency staff and agency 
performance team monitors of the approval process for transferring a license of a private 
agency foster home and the child(ren) cases who are in their care to another private 
agency. When conflict arises between private agency staff and a foster parent, the foster 
home license and child(ren) case cannot be transferred to another agency without the 
approval of the Department Agency Performance Monitor. 

 
II. APPROVAL REQUIREMENTS 
 

The transfer of children’s cases and foster parents license can have a detrimental effect on 
the child(ren) services and permanency. Resolution of the foster parent’s dissatisfaction 
within the same agency is in the best interest of all parties.  Transferring of license and 
child(ren) cases should be a last resort and only at the approval of the Department’s Agency 
Performance Monitors. 

 
Foster parents who are in good standing and not under licensing enforcement have the right 
to request that their foster home license be transferred to another supervising agency, as 
well as the child(ren) case in their care.  A transfer of a child(ren) case is considered a last 
resort and must be in the child(ren) best interest. A transfer of the foster home license and 
child(ren) case must be approved by the Agency Performance Monitor of the current 
supervising agency. 
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The following shall be completed prior to the approval of a transfer: 
 

1)  A written explanation of issues shall be sent to the Agency Performance 
Monitor of the supervising agency by the foster parent.  The explanation of 
issues shall include: 

 
a) nature of the complaint, 
b) the issues and concerns as they relate to the foster home and the 

best interest of the children, 
c) the steps that the foster parent has taken to resolve the situation; and 
d) the outcome of steps taken. 

 
2) Problem resolution efforts by the Agency Performance Team monitor shall be 

completed and recommendations shall be documented by the agency in the 
agency file and foster parents licensing file.  The Agency Performance 
Monitor shall request the foster home licensing file and children’s case file 
from the private agency to assist in the problem resolution process and to 
obtain information regarding the foster parents current licensing status with 
the private agency.  Based on the file review, the Agency Performance 
Monitor may determine that additional people should be part of the problem 
resolution. Problem resolution shall begin within 5 days of receiving the 
written request for transfer from the foster parents. Problem resolution efforts 
should be concluded within 20 days. 

 
3) Problem resolution is considered successful when: 

 
a) the issues were resolved and both parties are satisfied with the 

outcome, or 
b) the issues were resolved by transferring the case to another case 

manager within the same supervising agency. 
 

4) When problem resolution results in the recommendation of transferring a 
foster parent license and a child(ren) case to another supervising agency, the 
Agency Performance Monitor is responsible for assuring that all parties 
working with the case are notified of the situation resulting in the transfer and 
that the transfer is complete. 

  
5) In some instances, the Agency Performance Monitor could determine by the 

file review that problem resolution is not appropriate and that additional 
intervention into the situation will be required.  In these instances, the Agency 
Performance Monitor shall notify his or her supervisor by telephone of the 
results of the file review and together they shall determine the follow-up 
needed to resolve the situation. 
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III. RESPONSIBILITIES OF AGENCY RECEIVING NEW TRANSFER 
 

The Agency Performance Monitor to the new agency shall identify cases that are being 
transferred to a new agency under the provisions of this Policy Guide as such. Follow up by 
the new agency shall be as follows: 

 
1)  contact with the foster home and child(ren) within 2 days; 
2)  review file; 
3)  obtain a new 597A - Application for Family Home License to authorize the 

new agency/team to assume supervisory responsibility; 
4)  obtain a release of information to request the licensing file; 
5)  verify that background clearances have been completed; 
6)  document any non-compliance licensing issues which must be resolved; and 
7)  complete the private agency requirements for transfer of licensing 

supervision. 
 
IV. RULES TO REFERENCE 
 

During the file review and the problem resolution, the following rules may need to be 
consulted: 

 
Rule 301, Appendix E - Placement Clearance Desk (information regarding placing a 
hold on the foster home) 
Rule 300 - Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect  
Rule 402 - Licensing Standards for Foster Family Homes (information regarding 
licensing compliance of the home) 
Rule 401 - Licensing Standards for Child Welfare Agencies (information regarding 
licensing compliance of the private agency) 
Rule 301 - Placement and Visitation (information to assist in determining the best 
interest of the child as it relates to the child’s placement). 

 
V. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File Policy Guide behind Rule 401, Licensing Standards for Child Welfare Agencies. 
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