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From:   Erwin McEwen, Director 
 
Date:  February 4, 2010 
 
Re:  Proposed Amendments to Day Care Licensing Rules 
 
 
 
 
The following is a summary of proposed amendments to Rules 406, Licensing Standards for Day Care 
Homes and Rules 408, Licensing Standards for Group Day Care Homes. The entire text of the proposed 
amendments can be found on First Notice Publication of the Illinois Register, which can be accessed under 
Index page of the Secretary of State website or the DCFS Website, link below, or in your public library:  
 
http://www.state.il.us/dcfs/policy/pr_policy_rfirst.shtml 
 
If you wish to comment on these proposed amendments, your comments must be submitted in writing by 
March 15, 2010 to: 

Office of Child and Family Policy 
Department of Children and Family Services 
406 E. Monroe, Station #65 
Springfield, Illinois 62701-1498 
E-Mail: CFPolicy@idcfs.state.il.us 
Fax: (217)557-0692 

 
 
Summary of Changes follow on the reverse side of this page. 
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SUMMARY OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS 

 
Section on Definitions – Add the definition of “Substantiated violation”  

 
Section on Application For License – Requires 15 hours of pre-service training for new applicants. 
Fire safety prevention inspections are to be done by the Office of the State Fire Marshal for multi level 
or unusual or complex homes; for single-floor homes the inspections shall be done by a trained licensing 
representative.  Clarifies the provisions of when a new license is required and moves the provision 
regarding changes to capacity to Section 406.6, Provisions Pertaining to the License. 

 
Section on Renewals – Clarifies language for how a renewal application is to be considered timely and 
sufficient. Adds the requirement that prior to license renewal, the licensees must be current with the 
required 15 hours of annual training. Requires the reviewing of the day care home’s emergency, tornado 
and hazard protection plans prior to renewal. Fire safety prevention inspections are to be done by the 
Office of the State Fire Marshal or a trained licensing representative.  
 
Section on Permits– Adds provisions requiring completion of 15 hours of pre-service training and fire 
safety prevention inspections prior to issuing a permit. 
 
Section General Requirements for The Home – Requires smoke detectors to be installed in each room 
where children nap or sleep as required by State Fire Code, and not just within 15 feet of these rooms. 
Moves forward the carbon monoxide detector provision of this section. Requires that the home be 
maintained in good repair and provide a safe environment for children. In addition, it requires a range of 
ambient temperatures during summer and winter months. Improves fire safety standards in the home as 
required by State Fire Code and the Department’s agreement with the Office of the State Fire Marshal. 
 
Section Qualification of The Family – Requires that after September 2011 new day care home 
applicants shall have a high school diploma, or equivalency certificate. 
 
Section on Admission and Discharge – Amended to comply with the Missing Children Records Act 
[325 ILCS 50/5], that requires that the parent or guardian of a child to be enrolled for the first time in a 
day care home provide a certified copy of the child’s birth certificate within 30 days after enrollment. 
The licensee shall report to the Illinois State Police any request concerning flagged records or 
knowledge as to the whereabouts of any missing child. 
 
Section Record Keeping – Requires that substantiated licensing violations be posted in a prominent 
area of the home until all violations have been corrected. 
 
Appendix on In-service Training – Adds the pre-service requirement mentioned in previous Sections. 
Sets the time frame for completing the 15 hours of in-service training to the period of the licensing year 
instead of calendar year and deletes the requirement to prorate hours of training in each calendar year.  
 
Appendix on Fire Prevention – Revises the List of Items for Fire Safety Prevention Inspection in 
accordance with revised provisions in Part 406 and Part 408. 
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