
 

 

State Employees' Group Insurance Program 
ADULT CHILD INFORMATION PACKET 

 
• Sponsored Adult Child 
• Veteran Adult Child 
• Student Medical Leave of Absence 

 
This packet contains information regarding adult child enrollment, eligibility 
and documentation requirements, as well as coverage and cost 
information. 
 
Members who have an adult child who meets the eligibility requirements 
and wish to add them to their State coverage must complete a Group 
Insurance Enrollment/Change Form and return it to their agency Group 
Insurance Representative (GIR) within 60 days of experiencing an eligible 
qualifying event.  Members may request the form from their agency GIR or 
by visiting the Benefits website at www.benefitschoice.il.gov. 
 
 
 
 



 

 

State Employees' Group Insurance Program 
Adult Child Group Insurance Benefits 

(05/06/2010) 
 
If you have a child age 19 or older that was previously not eligible for coverage 
under the State of Illinois Group Insurance Program, you may be able to add them 
to your coverage under Public Act 95-0958. 
 
Public Act 95-0958 provides for the extension of health, dental, vision and prescription 
coverage for three new categories of dependents, referred to as 'Adult Children', who 
may or may not have previously had coverage under the State of Illinois Group 
Insurance Program.  These three categories are in addition to the dependent 
categories of Student, Handicapped and Other.  Pre-existing condition limitations apply 
to adult children enrolled after July 31, 2009. 
 
Adult children enrolled in the State Employees Group Insurance Program are subject to 
the same deductibles, family caps, etc., as any other dependent.  If you are interested in 
enrolling an adult child you should read the following information carefully for eligibility, 
enrollment and documentation requirements, as well as tax and premium information.   
 
 
Who is Eligible for Adult Child Coverage? 
In order to qualify for adult child coverage, the adult child must be unmarried.  The 
three adult child categories and the associated requirements are: 
 

1. Sponsored Adult Child – Adult children that do not qualify as a student (that is, 
the adult child is either age 24 or older, or the child is not attending school in a 
full-time capacity), handicapped or student military extension dependent may 
qualify for the sponsored adult child category.  The age requirement for a 
sponsored adult child is age 19 up to, but not including, age 26.  These adult 
children are not eligible for life insurance coverage.   

 
2. Veteran Adult Child – Adult children between the ages of 19 and up to, but not 

including, age 30 who have served as a member of the active or reserve 
components of any of the branches of the Armed Forces of the United States are 
eligible for coverage as long as they are an Illinois resident and received a 
release or discharge other than a dishonorable discharge.  These adult children 
are not eligible for life insurance coverage.   

 
3. Student Medical Leave of Absence – Dependents currently enrolled in the 

student category who are between the ages of 19 and 24 and subsequently go 
on a medical leave of absence or have reduced their course load to part-time due 
to a catastrophic illness or injury.  Coverage for adult children in this category will 
terminate 12 months after enrollment in the category, or until the coverage would 
have otherwise lapsed pursuant to the terms and conditions of the policy (such 
as turning age 24), whichever comes first.  These adult children are eligible for 
life insurance coverage.   

 
 
When Can I Enroll My Adult Child? 
An adult child may be enrolled in the group insurance program during the Benefit Choice 
Period or upon experiencing a qualifying change in status.  The member must submit the 
request to add the dependent within 60 days of the qualifying event.  Coverage will be 
effective the later of (1) the date of the qualifying change in status or (2) the date of the 
request to add the dependent. 
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How Much Will Adult Child Coverage Cost? 
Update:  Adult Children and Veteran Adult Children who have not reached, or will 
not reach, their 27th birthday before December 31st  
 
If you are an actively working member, premium deductions will be payroll deducted 
on a pre-tax basis using the same rate structure as all other qualified IRS tax 
dependents.  If you are an annuitant or survivor, premiums will be deducted from your 
annuity check or survivor benefit. 

 
If you are an active full-time employee, annuitant or survivor you should use the current 
dependent rates located in the annual Benefit Choice Options booklet.  If you are a part-
time employee required to pay a percentage of your health and dental coverage, contact 
your agency GIR for assistance in determining the premium.   

 
 
Update:  Veteran Adult Children Age 26 - 30 
 
The cost of coverage for a Veteran Adult Child age 26 – 30 will vary depending on 
whether the child qualifies as an IRS tax dependent.  If the dependent meets the 
qualifications as a tax dependent and you are an actively working member, premium 
deductions will be payroll deducted on a pre-tax basis using the same rate structure as 
all other qualified IRS tax dependents.  If you are an annuitant or survivor, premiums 
will be deducted from your annuity check or survivor benefit. 
 
If the child no longer qualifies as a tax dependent, the premiums will be payroll deducted 
post-tax at a rate of 100% of the cost of the coverage, regardless of how many 
dependents you currently have on your coverage.  In other words, the State will not 
contribute toward the cost of the coverage; you will be responsible for paying the amount 
the State normally contributes toward dependent premiums plus the member portion.  
The rate chart containing the rates for members required to pay 100% of the cost is 
posted on the Benefits website. 
 
 
How Is Support Amount Determined for Tax Purposes? 
As a general rule, you must provide more than half of the total support of an adult child 
in order to claim them as a tax dependent.  If you are interested in enrolling an adult 
child you can use the support worksheet in IRS Publication 501 (Exemptions, Standard 
Deduction and Filing Information) to determine the amount of support they provide 
(available at www.irs.gov).  In general, you should compare the amount of support you 
provide for your adult child versus the amount of support the adult child receives from all 
sources, including the support provided by you, social security, welfare payments and 
the support the adult child supplies for himself or herself.  Support includes food, shelter, 
clothing, medical and dental care, education and the like.   
 
If you have an adult child who qualifies as a tax dependent, but then loses that status, 
you will need to contact your GIR to notify them of the change.  If you plan to continue 
the coverage, your premium will increase to 100% of the cost of the coverage with no 
portion contributed by the State.  The new premium amount will be deducted on a post-
tax basis effective the first full pay period following the notification. 
 
 

http://www.state.il.us/cms/3_servicese_ben_choice/docs/Adult_Child_for_Benefits_Website.pdf


 

 3

How Do I Enroll My Adult Child? 
To enroll your adult child, complete the Group Insurance Enrollment/Change Form 
and return it to your agency Group Insurance Representative (GIR) with the required 
documentation within 60 days of experiencing an eligible qualifying change in status 
event (see ‘What Documentation is Necessary to Enroll an Adult Child' on page 3).  The 
form is available on the Benefits website. 
 
 
What Documentation Is Necessary to Enroll an Adult Child?  
You must provide the following supporting documentation to your GIR before the adult 
child will be enrolled: 
 

1. Sponsored Adult Child – Birth Certificate and the Eligibility Certification 
Statement. 

 
2. Veteran Adult Child – Proof of Illinois residency, a Veterans' Affairs Release 

Form (DD-214) stating the date the adult child was released from service (or 
equivalent), a Birth Certificate and the Eligibility Certification Statement. 

 
3. Student Medical Leave of Absence – Clinical certification of need for part-time 

student status or medical leave from a physician licensed to practice medicine 
and the Eligibility Certification Statement. 

 
 
Will I Need to Periodically Prove Continued Eligibility for My Adult Child?  
As with any other dependent that is 19 years of age or older, you will be required to 
certify semi-annually that the adult child continues to meet Group Insurance Program 
eligibility requirements.  Requirements will be provided at the time of the certification. 
 
The Department of Central Management Services will periodically conduct random 
audits of these three adult child categories to verify the eligibility.  Falsifying 
information/documentation in order to obtain/continue coverage under the Group 
Insurance Program is considered a fraudulent act.  The State of Illinois will impose a 
financial penalty, including, but not limited to, repayment of all premiums the State made 
on behalf of the adult child, as well as expenses incurred by the Program.   
 
Active employees who are found to have falsified documentation in order to cover their 
adult children under the State Employees' Group Insurance Program could be subject to 
discipline up to and including discharge. 
 
 
Are Children of an Adult Child Eligible for Coverage? 
Dependent children of an adult child are not eligible for coverage unless you (the 
member) have legally adopted the child or are their legal guardian.  Court documentation 
is required to prove the guardianship or adoption. 
 
 
What If My Adult Child No Longer Qualifies for Coverage? 
If at any time the adult child becomes ineligible for benefits, it is your responsibility to 
immediately notify your agency Group Insurance Representative (GIR).  Adult children 
who lose eligibility for coverage will be offered the option of continuing coverage under 
the provisions of COBRA. 


