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I. Executive Summary

The Office of Health Information Technology (“OHIT”) submits this Briefing Summary to

the ILHIE Authority Data Security and Privacy Committee to provide initial suggestions on the

mechanisms that could be instituted to build public trust in the ILHIE’s protection of patient data

privacy and security.1

OHIT conducted a comprehensive review of Illinois law protecting the confidentiality of

protected health information (“PHI”) and discovered great disparities between state enforcement

mechanisms and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (“HIPAA”)’s

strong civil and criminal penalties for HIPAA’s Privacy and Security Rule violations. In fact,

nearly all Illinois criminal violations had a maximum sentence of a Class A Misdemeanor,

carrying a fine not exceeding $2,500 and/or up to one year of imprisonment per violation. Very

few of these statutes provided a civil right of action for the victim to recover damages to remedy

harm suffered. Yet, state agencies such as the Department of Financial and Professional

Regulation can bring disciplinary actions against licensed health care professionals and impose

fines up to $10,000 along with licensure revocation.

Conversely, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (“HHS”) has authority to

not only bring administrative actions against covered entities for violations of HIPAA’s Privacy

and Security Rules and impose fines up to $1,500,000, but also coordinate with the Department

of Justice for criminal prosecutions of covered entities that bring fines of $50,000 to $250,000

and 1-10 years in prison per violation. Furthermore, provisions in the Health Information

Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (“the HITECH Act”) delegate authority to

state attorney generals to bring civil actions against covered entities on behalf of state residents

for HIPAA violations. However, the state attorney generals must effectively ask permission from

HHS to bring an action against a covered entity and it remains to be seen if Illinois Attorney

Generals have initiated such actions.

Texas recently tried to close the gap between state and federal enforcement of PHI privacy

and security laws. In September 2012, Texas will increase civil and criminal penalties for PHI

privacy violations, create the foundation for inter-agency coordination, implement audits, require

breach notification, require certification of covered entities’ privacy and security policies and

provide enforcement incentives for government agencies by offering bounties or percentages of

recovered damages. Several of the proposals offered in this Briefing Summary follow the

principles set forth in Texas’s shift to stronger enforcement since Illinois enforcement of PHI

1 The General Counsel of OHIT gratefully acknowledges the assistance of John Saran, OHIT Legal Intern, as
this paper’s primary author, and the legal research assistance of the following OHIT Legal Interns: Sarah
Byers and Pamela Dones.
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confidentiality likely will need to improve for residents to build trust in the ILHIE’s protection of

patient data privacy and security.

First, enforcement monitoring procedures could be put in place through the ratification of a

breach notification rule that requires covered entities to disclose breaches of PHI and allows

resident whistleblowers to report covered entities. Similarly, there should be the technical

capability to allow for real-time ILHIE network monitoring and the agency resources for ILHIE

Authority field audit teams.

Second, the ILHIE Authority Chief Privacy and Security Officer could manage all

enforcement strategies that will include monitoring, coordination with other state agencies, and a

budget for enforcement activities and incentives for agency cooperation. Furthermore, the Chief

Privacy and Security Officer would review all complaints against covered entities and take the

necessary action including referrals to the relevant state agencies enforcing the respective

criminal, civil and disciplinary statutory provisions. Finally, OHIT would facilitate the

introduction of statutory amendments to follow Texas in raising the criminal penalties for

privacy and security violations.

Third, the creation of a breach mitigation strategy would involve requiring covered entities to

create a Corrective Action Plan, designate a monitor who reports back to the ILHIE Authority on

compliance efforts, provide biannual reports and purchase insurance or provide a monetary fund

for those individuals harmed by PHI breaches. Finally, the ILHIE Authority should educate the

public on its enforcement efforts through the use of mandatory webinars, a highlights webpage

for enforcement activities and educational programs with local non-profit organizations.

II. Illinois Law

The following sections detail and explain all Illinois statutory provisions concerning the

enforcement of confidentiality provisions protecting general and other forms of protected health

information.

i. General Protected Health Information (PHI)

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

410 ILCS
50/4

Illinois Medical Patient Rights
Act1

Petty
Offense:
$1,000 Fine

No Attorney
General
(AG)/County
Attorney
(DA)

210 ILCS Hospital Licensing Act2 Class A No Department
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85/6.17 Misdemeanor of Public
Health
(IDPH)

210 ILCS
45/3-305

Nursing Home Care Act3 Fines up to
$25,000.

No IDPH

225 ILCS
60/22

Medical Practice Act of 19874 Licensure to
$10,000 fine

No Department
of Financial
and
Professional
Regulation
(IDFPR)

215 ILCS
109/5

Dental Care Patient Protection
Act5

Fine up to
$1,000

No Department
of Insurance
(DI)

225 ILCS
15/15

Clinical Psychologist Licensing
Act6

Licensure to
$10,000 fine

No IDFPR

225 ILCS
20/16

Clinical Social Work and
Social Practice Act7

Class A
Misdemeanor
to Class 4
Felony

No IDFPR

225 ILCS
55/70

Marriage and Family Therapy
Licensing Act8

Class A
Misdemeanor
to Class 4
Felony

No IDFPR

225 ILCS
107/75

Professional Counselor and
Clinical Professional
Counselor Licensing Act9

Licensure to
$10,000 fine;
Class A
Misdemeanor
to Class 4
Felony

No IDFPR

215 ILCS
134/

Managed Care Reform and
Patient Rights Act10

Fines up to
$250,000

No DI

225 ILCS 85 Pharmacy Practice Act11 Licensure to
$10,000 fine

No IDFPR

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A2: 12 mos., $2500; B3: 6 mos., $1500; C4: 30 days,
$1500; (ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 45: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals,
$50,000/corporations.

1) The Illinois Medical Patient Rights Act protects the patient’s right to privacy and

confidentiality when it comes to health care in Illinois.6 Physicians, health care providers, health

service corporations and insurance companies cannot disclose the ‘nature or details of services’

2 730 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/5-4.5-55 (2012).
3 730 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/5-4.5-60 (2012).
4 730 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/5-4.5-65 (2012).
5 730 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/5-4.5-45 (2012).
6 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 50/3(d) (2012).
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provided to patients with a few exceptions.7 Any physician, health care provider, health services

corporation or insurance company that violates the patient’s right to privacy and confidentiality

through the disclosure of protected information is deemed to have committed a petty offense and

subject to a $1,000 fine.8

2) The Hospital Licensing Act protects the confidential access to medical records and

information contained at Illinois hospitals, licensed through the Illinois Department of Public

Health (IDPH).9 All medical information gathered at a particular hospital is considered to be

property owned by the hospital that must be protected from inappropriate disclosure.10 No

hospital staff member regardless of position may disclose the nature or details of services

provided to patients except to the patient, authorized persons and those directly involved in

providing care to the patient.11 Any individual who “willfully or wantonly discloses” hospital or

medical information is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.12 ‘Willfully and Wantonly” includes a

deliberate intention to cause harm to the patient or a conscious indifference or disregard for the

safety of patient’s information.13

3) The Nursing Home Care Act protects the privacy and confidentiality of a nursing home

resident’s medical and personal care program including case discussions, consultations,

examination and treatment.14 The IDPH administers the statute and may impose fines up to

$25,000 depending on the severity of the nursing home’s violations that are not corrected.15

4) The Medical Practice Act of 1987 governs the licensure of physician and the practice of

medicine in Illinois.16 The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR)

may initiate disciplinary proceedings against a physician for “willfully or negligently violating

confidentiality between physician and patient except as required by law.”17 Penalties resulting

from a hearing proceeding include revocation or suspension of licenses to the imposition of fines

up to $10,000.18

5) The Dental Care Patient Protection Act protects a dental patient’s right to privacy and

confidentiality regarding medical and health information.19 The Director of the Department of

7 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 50/3(d) (2012).
8 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 50/4 (2012).
9 210 ILL. COMP. STAT. 85/6.17(d) (2012).
10 210 ILL. COMP. STAT. 85/6.17(b) (2012).
11 210 ILL. COMP. STAT. 85/6.17(d) (2012).
12 210 ILL. COMP. STAT. 86/6.17 (i) (2012).
13 Id.
14 210 ILL. COMP. STAT. 45/2-105 (2012).
15 210 ILL. COMP. STAT. 45/3-305 (2012).
16 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 60 (2012).
17 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 60/22(a)(30) (2012).
18 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 60/22(a) (2012).
19 215 ILL. COMP. STAT. 109/5(b)(4) (2012).
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Insurance has the power to send managed care dental plans cease and desist orders to compel

compliance and the initiation of a correction plan.20 The Director has the discretion to levy a fine

up to $1,000 for unsatisfactory correction, incomplete plans and multiple violations of the Act. 21

6) The Clinical Psychologist Licensing Act protects a patient’s right to keep all information

given during consultations private and confidential with limited exceptions.22 The IDFPR

enforces the statute and may bring disciplinary proceedings against clinical psychologists who

violate provisions of the Act23 or who act in an unauthorized and unprofessional manner.24

Penalties from proceedings could include license suspension or revocation, as well as fines up to

$10,000.25

7) The Clinical Social Work and Social Practice Act protects personal information acquired

during consulting with social workers in a professional capacity.26 The IDFPR enforces the

statute and may bring disciplinary proceedings against social workers who violate specific

provisions of the Act.27 Similarly, if not otherwise specified, all violations of the Act including

the wrongful disclosure of information are considered a Class A misdemeanor.28 If there is a

second conviction or subsequent offense, the violator becomes guilty of a Class 4 felony.29

8) The Marriage and Family Therapy Act protects personal information acquired during

consulting with marriage and family therapists in a professional capacity.30 The IDFPR enforces

the statute and may bring disciplinary proceedings against therapists who violate specific

provisions of the Act.31 Similarly, if not otherwise specified, all violations of the Act including

the wrongful disclosure of information are considered a Class A misdemeanor.32 A subsequent or

second offense is a Class 4 felony.33

9) The Professional Counselor and Clinical Professional Counselor Licensing Act provides

that all patient information acquired from consultations with the counselor in a professional

capacity is privileged.34 The IDFPR has the authority to set fines on violators who commit

20 215 ILL. COMP. STAT. 109/65 (2012).
21 Id.
22 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 15/5 (2012).
23 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 15/15(5) (2012).
24 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 15/15(7) (2012).
25 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 15/15 (2012).
26 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 20/16 (2012).
27 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 20/19 (2012).
28 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 20/35 (2012).
29 Id.
30 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 55/70 (2012).
31 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 55/85 (2012).
32 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 55/160 (2012).
33 Id.
34 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 107/75 (2012).
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specific actions such as malpractice up to $10,000.35 Similarly, all violations of the Act are

considered Class A Misdemeanors on the first offense.36

10) The Managed Care Reform and Patient Rights Act provides that a patient has a right to

privacy and confidentiality in health care when dealing with health care plans.37 The Director of

Insurance may issue cease and desist orders along with a request for correction plan that must be

addressed by the health plan.38 A failure to respond to the Director’s request or repeated

violations of the Act lead to fines up to $250,000.

11) The Pharmacy Practice Act ensures that automated pharmacy systems have privacy and

security procedures to protect patient confidentiality and comply with federal law.39 The IDPFR

may bring discipline against any pharmacist who discloses PHI in violation of any State or

federal law.40 Such violation might cause the IDFPR to suspend or revoke the pharmacist’s

license, or levy fines up to $10,000.41

ii. Behavioral Health

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

740 ILCS 110 Mental Health and
Developmental Disabilities
Confidentiality Act1

Class A
Misdemeanor

Yes AG/DA

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

1) The Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Confidentiality Act is the primary

behavioral health statute that protects all records and communication from disclosure to those

unauthorized persons not exempted in the statute.42 Any person who ‘knowingly and willfully’

performs an action contrary or in violation of the statute is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.43

Furthermore, any person who is a victim to violations of the Act such as disclosures of

information to unauthorized persons may sue for damages, injunctions and litigation/attorney

fees.44

35 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 107/80(a)(6) (2012).
36 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 107/160 (2012).
37 215 ILL. COMP. STAT. 134/5(a)(4) (2012).
38 215 ILL. COMP. STAT. 134/105 (2012).
39 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 85/22(b)(a) (2012).
40 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 85/30(a)(26) (2012).
41 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 85/30(a) (2012).
42 740 ILL. COMP. STAT. 110/3(a) (2012).
43 740 ILL. COMP. STAT. 110/16 (2012).
44 740 ILL. COMP. STAT. 110/15 (2012).
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iii. Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse Treatment Records

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

20 ILCS 301 Alcoholism and Other Drug
Abuse and Dependency Act1

Class A
Misdemeanor

No AG/ DA

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

1) The Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act protects all records

maintained on a patient involved in programs and activities relating to alcohol and other drug

abuse intervention, education, treatment or rehabilitation.45 Any person who discloses these

records to those not authorized to receive them under the statute is guilty of a Class A

Misdemeanor.46

iv. HIV/AIDS

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

410 ILCS 305 AIDS Confidentiality Act1 Class A
Misdemeanor

Yes AG/ DA

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

1) The AIDS Confidentiality Act protects the identity and results of patients who seek HIV

testing from unauthorized disclosures.47 Any person who intentionally or recklessly violates the

Act or any regulation promulgated from it is guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor.48 Any patient

who is aggrieved by a violation of the Act or promulgated regulation has a civil cause of action

and can recover for each violation.49 For negligent actions, the plaintiff may recover $2,000 in

liquidated damages or actual damages per violation, whichever is greater.50 For intentional and

reckless actions, the plaintiff may recover $10,000 in liquidated damages or actual damages per

violation, whichever is greater.51 Finally, the plaintiff may also recover attorney fees52and seek

45 20 ILL. COMP. STAT. 301/30-5(bb) (2012).
46 20 ILL. COMP. STAT. 301/30-5(bb)(5) (2012).
47 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 305/9 (2012).
48 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 305/12 (2012).
49 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 305/13 (2012).
50 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 305/13(1) (2012).
51 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 305/13(2) (2012).
52 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 305/13(3) (2012).
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any other necessary relief including injunctions.53 The confidentiality protection and

enforcement provisions of the AIDS Confidentiality Act also apply to reports of cases of

perinatal HIV to the Department of Public Health by health care facilities pursuant to the

Perinatal HIV Prevention Act.54

v. Sexually Transmitted Diseases

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

410 ILCS 325 Illinois Sexually Transmitted
Disease Control Act1

$500 per
violation

No IDPH

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

1) The Illinois Sexually Transmitted Disease Control Act requires physicians and other health

care professionals to report positive test results of sexually transmitted diseases to the

Department of Public Health.55 All persons required to report under the Act must maintain strict

confidentiality of all information/records.56 Upon notice and a hearing, the Department of Public

Health may institute a $500 fine to any person, laboratory or blood bank violating the privacy

and confidentiality provisions of the Act.57 The Department of Public Health then must report the

violation to the regulatory agency that grants the person or entity a license to do business in

Illinois.58

vi. Public Health Reporting

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

410 ILCS
525

Illinois Health and Hazard
Substances Registry Act1

Class A
Misdemeanor;
$1,000 fine
per violation

No AG/ DA

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

53 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 305/13(4) (2012).
54 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 15/(c) (2012).
55 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 325/4 (2012).
56 ILL. ADMIN CODE tit. 77, § 693.30 (2012).
57 ILL. ADMIN CODE tit. 77, § 693.35(a) (2012).
58 ILL. ADMIN CODE tit. 77, § 693.35(b) (2012).
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1) The Illinois Health and Hazard Substances Registry Act requires hospitals and laboratories

to report the incidence of cancer conditions and treatment to a state registry.59 The Act

specifically provides that the identity or collective medical facts of a patient are to be

confidential.60 Any person who violates the Act is guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor61 and may

be liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 per violation.62

vii. Abuse Reporting

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

325 ILCS 5 Abused and Neglected Child
Reporting Act1

Class A
Misdemeanor

No AG/DA

325 ILCS 15 Child Sexual Abuse Prevention
Act2

Class A
Misdemeanor

No AG/DA

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

1) The Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act requires the Department of Child and

Family Services to act upon reports of child abuse.63 Any information gathered by the

Department is confidential and anyone who permits, assists or encourages the unauthorized

disclosure of this information is guilty of a Class A Misdemeanor.64

2) The Child Sexual Abuse Prevention Act permits the Department of Children and Family

Services to develop programs and services to prevent child sexual abuse. The confidential and

enforcement provision are the same as the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.

viii. Medical Research

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

410 ILCS 520 Illinois Health Statistics Act1 Class C
Misdemeanor

No AG/DA

735 ILCS
5/8-2101

Illinois Code of Civil
Procedure - Medical Studies2

Class A
Misdemeanor

No AG/DA

59 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 525/4(b) (2012).
60 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 525/4(d) (2012).
61 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 525/13(a) (2012).
62 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 525/13(b) (2012).
63 325 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/2 (2012).
64 325 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/11 (2012).



Re: Privacy Breach Enforcement Briefing Summary

10

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

1) The Illinois Health Statistics Act allows the Department of Public Health to collect, research

and analyze health statistics on illnesses, obesity and disabilities.65 Any person who

intentionally, wantonly or willfully discloses identifiable health data collected under this Act is

guilty of a Class C Misdemeanor.

2) The Illinois Code of Civil Procedure protects the confidentiality of all patient records used in

medical studies.66 Anyone convicted of unlawful or unauthorized disclosure is guilty of a Class

A Misdemeanor.67

ix. Genetic Testing

Statute Name Offense/Fine
for Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

410 ILCS 513 Genetic Privacy Information
Act1

Civil Suit
Damages:
$2,500 -
$15,000+

Yes None

225 ILCS 135 Genetic Counselor Licensing
Act2

Licensure,
Fine up to
$1,000

No IDFPR

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

1) The Genetic Privacy Information Act protects the confidentiality of genetic testing

information.68 A person aggrieved by violations of this Act may seek civil relief where the

person can recover damages, reasonable attorneys’ fees and any other such relief.69 A negligent

violation brings damages of at least $2,500 per violation or the amount of actual damages,

whichever is greater.70 An intentional or reckless violation brings damages of at least $15,000

per violation or the amount of actual damages, whichever is greater.71

65 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 4(a) (2012).
66 735 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/8-2101 (2012).
67 735 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/8-2105 (2012).
68 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 513/15 (2012).
69 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 513/40(a) (2012).
70 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 513/40(a)(1) (2012).
71 410 ILL. COMP. STAT. 513/40(a)(2) (2012).
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2) The Genetic Counselor Licensing Act provides for the regulation and licensing of genetic

counselors in Illinois.72 The Act protects the confidentiality of information acquired by the

genetic counselors from patients.73 The IDPR may bring disciplinary actions against genetic

counselors for failing to maintain the confidentiality of information received from the client.74

The Department may suspend or revoke the genetic counselor’s license, or initiate fines up to

$1,000 per violation.75

j) Identity Theft

Statute Name Offense/Fine for
Breach

Private
Right of
Action

Enforcement
Authority

720 ILCS 5 Criminal Code of 1961:
Identity Theft1

Class 4+ felony Yes AG

Key: (i) misdemeanor (prison, fine) A: 12 mos., $2500; B: 6 mos., $1500; C: 30 days, $1500
(ii) felony (prison, fine) Class 4: 1-3 years, $25,000/individuals, $50,000/corporations.

1) The Criminal Code of 1961 provides that a person can commit the crime of identity theft by

using personal information to obtain services,76 selling or transferring personal information

knowing that the information was stolen or produced without authorization77 or using personal

information to portray him or herself as the person.78 A person convicted of identity theft when

using personal information to obtain credit, property or services and the property is worth less

than $300, is guilty of a minimum offense of a Class 4 felony.79 For property worth between

$300 and $2,500, the minimum offense is a Class 3 felony.80 The next range is property worth

$2,500 to $10,000 that carries a minimum of a Class 2 felony.81 Furthermore, for property worth

between $10,000 and $100,000, the minimum is a Class 1 felony.82 Finally, the theft of property

over $100,000 carries a minimum of a Class X felony.83 For those convicted of identity theft for

any other reason, the sentence carries a sentence of a Class 3 felony.84 That sentence increases

with repeated or subsequent offenses.85

72 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 135/5 (2012).
73 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 135/90(a) (2012).
74 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 135/95(a)(10) (2012).
75 225 ILL. COMP. STAT. 135/95(a) (2012).
76 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(a)(1) (2012).
77 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(a)(4) (2012).
78 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(a)(6) (2012).
79 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(e)(1)(A)(i) (2012).
80 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(e)(1)(A)(i)(ii) (2012).
81 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(e)(1)(A)(i)(iii) (2012).
82 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(e)(1)(A)(i)(iv) (2012).
83720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(e)(1)(A)(i)(v) (2012).
84 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(e)(1)(B) (2012).
85 720 ILL. COMP. STAT. 5/16-30(e)(1)(C-D) (2012).
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III. Federal Law

The Department of Health Human Services, Office of Civil Rights (OCR) enforces HIPAA’s

Privacy and Security Rules.86 OCR will either review complaints submitted by patients or other

persons against covered entities or conduct its own compliance review of covered entities.87 If

OCR suspects a criminal violation of HIPAA, then it will refer the complaint to the Department

of Justice.88 All civil violations lead to agency investigation and adjudication where the covered

entity could be subject to civil penalties upon an administrative hearing.89 Furthermore, state

attorney generals have the authority to bring actions on behalf of state residents against covered

entities to recover damages for HIPAA’s Privacy and Security Rule violations.90

Between September 2009 and April 30, 2012, OCR received 421 reports involving a breach

of protected health information affecting over 500 individuals pursuant to the HITECH Breach

Notification Rule.91 Of those reports, 65% involved the theft or loss of PHI.92 However, for

breaches of protected health information that involve under 500 individuals, there were 57,000+

reports during that period.93 The risks of storing and transporting electronic PHI is tremendous

with single stolen back-up tapes affecting 5 million people or the theft of a desktop computer

affecting nearly 1 million.94

With Illinois having the 5th largest population in the United States, it is likely that thousands

of breaches occur in Illinois. While it is presently unknown to what extent creation and operation

of the ILHIE would increase risk of unauthorized disclosure, single users will be able to access

PHI of hundreds of thousands if not millions of state residents. Thus, it is still worth reviewing

the harsh federal civil and criminal penalties under HIPAA to use as a guide for improving

Illinois law to foster trust in the ILHIE’s protection of patient data.

86 How OCR Enforces the HIPAA Privacy Rule, U.S.D.H.H.S.,
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/enforcement/process/howocrenforces.html, (last visited July 8, 2012).
87 Id.
88 Id.
89 Id.
90 Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act, 42 U.S.C. §17939 (2012).
91 45 C.F.R. 164.408.
92 Marilou King, U.S.D.H.H.S., O.C.R., O.G.C., Presentation at the American Health Lawyers Association Annual
Meeting: HITECH Breach Notification Requirements and Reporting Trends, (June 25-27, 2012).
93 Id.
94 Id.
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Civil Penalties

Type Penalty - 1st Offense Penalty - Identical
Violations in
Calendar Yr.

No Knowledge $100 – $25,000 <$1,500,000
Reasonable $1,000 – $50,000 <$1,500,000
Neglect –
Corrected

$10,000 – $50,000 <$1,500,000

Neglect – Not
Corrected

$50,000+ <$1,500,000

On October 30, 2009, the Secretary of HHS issued an interim final rule that amended

HIPAA’s civil penalty enforcement provisions to parallel those set forth in the HITECH Act.95

These provisions comprise of tiered ranges of civil monetary penalties for violations of HIPAA,

which would include unauthorized disclosure of protected health information.96 The interim rule

became effective on November 30, 2009 and HHS never promulgated a final rule making the

interim rule binding federal guidance.97

The minimum violation occurs when a covered entity did not have knowledge of the

violation and would not have discovered the violation with reasonable diligence.98 Reasonable

diligence means the “business care and prudence expected from a person seeking a legal

requirement under similar circumstances.”99The penalty range per violation for this level is $100

to $25,000 depending on the circumstances.100 If there are multiple violations of a single

provision within a calendar year, the Secretary cannot impose more than a $1,500,000

fine.101The Secretary of HHS determines identical violations of single provision or prohibition

based on the type of obligations the provision requires including the number of persons or

timeframe required.102 If a covered entity continuously violates a provision, a separate violation

occurs every day the covered entity continues to be in violation of the provision.103

The second tier violation occurs when the covered entity’s violation was due to reasonable

cause and not willful neglect.104 ‘Reasonable cause’ means that it was unreasonable for the

covered entity given the circumstances and despite the exercise of ordinary business care and

95 HIPAA Administrative Simplification: Enforcement, 74 Fed. Reg. 56,123 (Oct. 30, 2009) (to be codified at 45
C.F.R. pt. 160).
96 Id.
97 Id.
98 45 C.F.R. 160.404 (b)(2)(i).
99 45 C.F.R. 160.401.
100 45 C.F.R. 160.404 (b)(2)(i).
101 Id.
102 45 C.F.R. 160.406.
103 Id.
104 45 C.F.R. 160.404 (b)(2)(ii).
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prudence to comply with the provision.105 “Willful neglect” means when a covered entity

consciously or intentionally fails to comply with a provision, or is recklessly indifferent to

complying with the obligation of the provision.106 The range of civil penalties for “a reasonable

cause” violation is $1,000 to $50,000 per violation, with a maximum of $1,500,000 for multiple

violations within a calendar year.107

The final two violations occur when a covered entity is found to have violated a provision

with “willful neglect.”108 If the covered entity corrected the violation within a 30-day period

beginning on the first date that the covered entity knew or reasonably should have known about

the violation, then the covered entity is only subject to a penalty range of $10,000 to $50,000,

with an aggregate of multiple identical violations of $1,500,000.109 If the covered entity does not

correct the violation within 30 days, then the penalty per violation is at least $50,000, with an

aggregate maximum of $1,500,000 for identical violations within a calendar year.110

Criminal Penalties

Type Penalty Imprisonment
Minimum <$50,000 <1 year
False Pretenses <$100,000 <5 years
Intent to
Sell/Harm

<$250,000 <10 years

HIPAA provides a tiered range of criminal penalties for offenses where a person knowingly

misuses PHI, obtains PHI of another person or discloses PHI to another person in violation of the

statute.111 A person violates the Act when he obtains PHI maintained by a covered entity and

discloses the information without authorization.112 The minimum penalty is a fine up to $50,000

and/or up to one year imprisonment.113 If a person commits an offense under false pretenses or

fraud, the fine moves up to $100,000 and imprisonment up to five years.114 Finally, if a person

commits the offense “with the intent to sell, transfer, or use individually identifiable health

information for commercial advantage, personal gain or malicious harm,” he will be fined up to

$250,000 and/or up to ten years in prison.115

105 45 C.F.R. 160.401.
106 Id.
107 45 C.F.R. 160.404 (b)(2)(ii).
108 45 C.F.R. 160.404 (b)(2)(iii).
109 Id.
110 45 C.F.R. 160.404 (b)(2)(iv).
111 Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §1320d–6(a) (2012).
112 Id.
113 Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §1320d–6(b) (2012).
114 Id.
115 Id.
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State Attorney General Authority

The HITECH Act amended the Social Security Act to grant all State Attorney General

(SAG) authority to bring civil actions against covered entities for HIPAA Privacy and Security

Rule violations on behalf of state residents.116 These civil actions allow for SAG’s to collect

damages, enjoin further violations117 and possibly retain attorney fees.118 Each violation can win

up to $100 in damages with the aggregate total of violations bringing no more than $25,000.119

However, SAGs interested in filing civil complaints must serve HHS prior to bringing an action

against a covered entity.120 Also, OCR created HIPAA Enforcement Training to help State

Attorney Generals and their staff enforce HIPAA’s Privacy and Security Rules.121

IV. Other State’s Best Practice: Texas

One example of a state strengthening closing the state and federal enforcement gap regarding

PHI privacy and security occurs in Texas.122 Effective September 1, 2012, H.B. 300 will amend

the Texas Health and Safety Code and Business and Commerce Code in a manner that increases

the State Attorney General’s enforcement powers and all fines and penalties.123 The following

points are all key bill provisions that inspire several of this Briefing Summary’s proposals.

Key Bill Provisions:

1. Attorney General will maintain a consumer information website that will detail (1)

consumer privacy rights; (2) list of state agencies that regulate covered entities; (3)

each agency’s compliance enforcement powers and procedures and (4) contact

information for each agency that you can report violations of the Health and Safety

Code including prohibited uses of protected health information.124

2. Civil penalties from actions brought by the Attorney General against covered entities

will be increased.125 For negligent actions, the penalty will rise from $3,000 to $5,000

per violation.126 For violations committed with knowledge or intention, the penalty

116 Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §1320d–5(d) (2012).
117 Id.
118 Id.
119 Id.
120 Id.
121 HIPAA Enforcement Training for State Attorneys General, U.S.D.H.H.S.,
http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/enforcement/sag/sagmoreinfo.html, (last visited July 10, 2012).
122 2011 TEX. H.B. 300.
123 Id.
124 TEX. HEALTH & SAFETY CODE § 181.103.
125 § 181.201(b).
126 § 181.201(b)(1).
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will be $25,000 per violation.127 For violations committed with the intent to sell PHI

for financial gain, the penalty is $250,000 per violation.128

3. Cooperation from licensing agencies responsible for regulating covered entities and

the Attorney General in that the licensing agency must refer the matter to the

Attorney General.129

4. Bounties from these civil actions are allowed where the Attorney General may retain

a reasonable portion of a civil penalty130 not to exceed an amount to be determined by

the Texas Legislature.

5. A catch-all disciplinary provision that gives licensing agencies an enumerated

statutory provision for bringing disciplinary actions against licensed covered entities

for violations of the Act.131 The agency can either revoke a license for egregious

violations or patterns of conduct, or refer the violations to the Attorney General for

civil action.132

6. Penalty determination for covered entities by courts need to consider various factors

including:133

a. Seriousness of the violation and disclosure;

b. Compliance history;

c. Potential risk of causing financial, reputational or other harm to the affected

individual;

d. Deterrence for future violations; and

e. Efforts to correct the violation.

7. The Attorney General and various other state agencies may request that HHS conduct

audits of covered entities in Texas.134 These agencies will monitor these audits,

request copies of all compliance work done by the covered entities and submit reports

to the Texas Legislature.135

127 § 181.201(b)(2).
128 § 181.201(b)(3).
129 § 181.201(e).
130 § 181.201(f).
131 § 181.202.
132 § 181.202(1-2).
133 TEX. HEALTH & SAFETY CODE § 181.205(b)
134 § 181.206.
135 TEX. HEALTH & SAFETY CODE § 181.206.
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8. Certification requirement where a covered entity needs to develop and submit its

privacy and security standards surrounding the electronic sharing of PHI to the Health

and Human Services Commission.136

9. Required notification by anyone conducting business in the state of breaches of

sensitive personal information to any individual, regardless of state residency.137 A

failure to report such breaches is a $100 per day violation that cannot exceed

$250,000 in a calendar year.138

10. Criminal penalty increase for identity theft via an electronic device from a Class B

Misdemeanor to a state jail felony for someone who accesses, reads, stores or

transfers PHI encrypted on a payment card with the intent to harm or defraud

another.139

V. Proposals to Foster Public Trust in the ILHIE

i. Enforcement Monitoring

i) Establish breach reporting rule so that HIE can quickly mitigate any damage and take

enforcement action or make referrals to other state agencies, e.g. state attorney’s

office or IDFPR.

(1) By breached entities upon discovery.

(2) By public whistleblowers with some financial incentive.

ii) Establish the technical infrastructure within the HIE to allow for real-time network

monitoring for privacy and security breaches.

iii) Establish ILHIE field audit teams.

(1) HIE/HHS audits of participants.

(2) Private third-party audits of participants.

(3) User self-certification of audit.

ii. Enforcement Strategies

i) Appointment of an ILHIE Authority Chief Privacy and Security Officer (CPSO)

(1) Oversee and manage all enforcement monitoring and audits

(2) Manage budget for enforcement activities and incentives for inter-agency

cooperation

(3) Coordinate with other agencies for enforcement

(4) Review all complaints actions against covered entities

136 § 181.108.
137 TEX BUS. & COM. CODE § 521.053(b).
138 § 521.151 (a-1).
139 § 522. 002(b).
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(5) Manage mitigation of breaches

(6) Direct public education

ii) ILHIE coordinates state government enforcement of privacy breaches with the

Attorney General, Office of Inspector General, Health and Family Services and

County State Attorneys.

iii) ILHIE proposes the following increased IL criminal penalties for privacy breaches

and non-compliance with HIPAA’s Privacy and Security Rules. The CPSO would

have discretion to either refer complaints to the Illinois Attorney General for criminal

prosecution or the relevant state agencies for civil and administrative actions.

(1) Class A Misdemeanor minimum with fines up to $25,000 per violation;

(2) Class 4 felony for negligence with fines from $25,000-$50,000; (<1 yr)

(3) Class 3 felony for gross negligence/reckless disregard with fines from $50,000-

$75,000; (<2 yrs)

(4) Class 2 felony for false pretenses with fines from $75,000-$100,000; (3-5 yrs)

(5) Class 1 felony for intent to sell/cause malicious harm with fines from $100,000-

$250,000; (4-10 yrs).

iii. Breach Mitigation Strategies

i) The CPSO will demand a Corrective Action Plan from the covered entity that

requires the covered entity to (1) review, revise and maintain policies and procedures

to be compliant with HIPAA Privacy and Security Rules; (2) conduct robust trainings

of all staff

ii) The CPSO will designate a monitor (normally the covered entity’s Chief Privacy

Officer) who will report back to the ILHIE on the ongoing compliance efforts.

iii) The CPSO will collect biannual reports on the implementation of compliant processes

and procedures for one year.

iv) The CPSO will facilitate the covered entity purchasing insurance or setting aside

funds for the mitigation of injuries to patients.

iv. Education of the Public

i) Maintain a webpage linked to the ILHIE website focused on enforcement reporting

similar to HHS’s

http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/privacy/hipaa/enforcement/highlights/index.html.

ii) Quarterly webinars discussing enforcement activity and breach notifications, where

participants must attend one per year.

iii) Solicit non-profit organizations for public education programs in exchange for grant

money regarding topics of privacy and security management, breach reporting and

public trust.
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