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D id you know the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) Investigations Division conducts 
compliance check operations using a minor decoy to buy alcohol? Champaign-Urbana 

licensees surely are, after a compliance sweep was conducted during the so-called “Unofficial St. 
Patrick’s Day” weekend this past March.

Most licensees are aware that special 
agents conduct liquor inspections at ILCC-
licensed entities throughout Illinois. Using 
laptop computers to ensure standardized 
reporting and consistent application of 
enforcement, ILCC special agents visit liquor 
establishments on a regular basis and respond 
to complaints received from the general 
public regarding violations.

But what you may not know is that agents 
also check for violations above and beyond 
Illinois liquor laws by conducting periodic 
compliance sweeps throughout the state 
in conjunction with other state and 
local enforcement agencies. Oftentimes, 
depending upon the specific charge, licensees 
must immediately close their business.

During these operations, special agents supervise underage purchasers to counter a problem that 
consistently ranks near the top of the ILCC’s yearly top ten violation list: Sales to minors. Checks are 
designed to test retail sales personnel on their duty to perform proper ID checks in the sale of alcohol.

Many businesses voluntarily send their staff to BASSET training to equip them with the skills 
necessary to prevent such an occurrence. If you are interested in enrolling your staff in such training, 
please turn to page 6 for more information about this ILCC program.
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Beginning June 1, 2008, all wineries shipping directly to Illinois residents must have a State of 

Illinois Winery Shipper’s License prior to delivery. With the passage of House Bill 429 and 
resultant signing of Public Act 095-0634 by Gov. Rod R. Blagojevich, wineries with an approved 
license will be allowed to ship up to 12 cases of wine each year per adult Illinois resident.

To ensure wine recipients are of legal age, several safety 
precautions have already been put into place, including the 
requirement that a delivery person verifies the recipient’s age 
and identity by checking his or her identification prior to 
releasing the product.

“Crafting this legislation required many months of compromise 
and careful deliberation among all interested parties,” says 
Lainie Krozel, Acting Director for the Illinois Liquor Control 
Commission (ILCC). “Of key concern was ensuring the 
economic health of our state’s wine industry, and allowing it the 
flexibility to continue to grow.”

To further this goal, one key component to the legislation’s 
passage was allowing wineries producing less than 25,000 gallons a year to self-distribute up to 
5,000 gallons of their product to Illinois retailers. “With over 95 percent of Illinois wineries below 
this 25,000 gallon threshold, our state’s vibrant wine industry can better compete with the larger 
conglomerates located in other wine-producing states,” notes Krozel.

“Additionally, as home to over 68 wineries and 450 grape growers, it is estimated that the Illinois 
wine industry creates an annual economic impact of over $250 million. These types of small 
businesses are the 
backbone of our state’s 
economy, and supporting 
this community is more 
important than ever as 
our nation slips toward 
an economic slowdown.”

The Winery Shipper’s 
License is required for 
both in-state and out-of-
state wineries (see box at 

right for the fee structure 

of this new license).

To download an application for the new Winery Shipper’s License, please visit our website  
www.state.il.us/LCC. Those without a license are subject to a fine, suspension, or revocation of  
their license.

New wine shipping law takes effect June 1st

License required when selling wine directly to consumers

Categories for Winery Shipper’s License

IL First-Class Wine Manufacturer or Wine Maker $150.00

IL Limited Wine Manufacturer $150.00

IL Second-Class Wine Manufacturer or Wine Maker:

 ❍ Class 1 (producing under 250,000 gal/yr.) $150.00

 ❍ Class 2 (250,000-500,000 gal/yr.) $500.00

 ❍ Class 3 (over 500,000 gal/yr.) $1,000.00

Out-of-State Winery:

 ❍ Class 1 (producing under 250,000 gal/yr.) $150.00

 ❍ Class 2 (250,000-500,000 gal/yr.) $500.00

 ❍ Class 3 (over 500,000 gal/yr.) $1,000.00

continued on page 3
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Remember, violation of another’s state law can result in an 
enforcement action being taken against your license by the ILCC. 
It is your responsibility as an Illinois-licensed retailer to know a 
particular state’s law prior to shipping alcoholic beverages to an 
out-of-state customer. 

How does this law affect Illinois retailers?

Holders of a State of Illinois Retailer’s Liquor License will 
continue to be allowed to ship to Illinois residents over the 
Internet; however, they may not be allowed to ship to other 
states. Likewise, out-of-state retailers will need to use an Illinois-
licensed distributor to ship product.

“New wine shipping law” continued from page 2

There are thousands of small, neighborhood bars across 
Illinois. These friendly watering holes are a place of refuge 

from the day-to-day grind for people who work and live nearby. 
Selling Illinois Lottery tickets is one thing that many of these 
friendly, neighborhood taverns have in common. 

Lottery tickets—especially 
instant, scratch-off tickets—
have become a staple at 
many watering holes. In 
speaking with a half-dozen 
bar owners who sell Illinois 
Lottery tickets, all agree that 

it has become an integral part of the day-to-day rhythm of their 
business. If you’re a bar owner, and don’t currently sell Illinois 
Lottery tickets, read on—you may decide the Illinois Lottery is 
just the ticket for your business.

Chiko Club Liquors in Cicero has been in business for 33 years, 
and selling Illinois Lottery tickets for nearly as long. Its bar 
owner, Robert Bartkowski, not only sells tickets to his patrons—
he plays Lottery with them, too! For 20 years, he and about 15 
regulars have contributed $1 per drawing for Lotto (and lately 
Mega Millions) drawings. Occasional, small winnings go back 
into future drawings, or sometimes instant tickets. 

“Most of my regulars play Lottery,” states Bartkowski. “You can 
usually tell who is sitting where by the kind of Lottery instant 
game found on the table.” For example, a couple of already-
scratched Crossword tickets and a half-full glass of light beer 
would tell everyone where “Joey” was sitting, he says. 

Jan’s Tap in Peoria is a friendly, working-class bar that has been 
selling Lottery for nearly 20 years. Owner Jan McAllister, who lives 
above the bar, says about two-thirds of her regulars play Lottery. She 
keeps Lotto, Little Lotto and Mega Millions playslips on site for 40 
regular customers, and sells about $200,000 a year in Lottery tickets. 

Bar owners find Lottery is just the ticket to keep regulars coming back!

by Mike Lang, Retail Relations, Illinois Lottery

Over the years, Jan has sold numerous mid-tier winning tickets—
with prizes ranging from $2,500 and $25,000. When regulars win 
a “decent” Lottery prize, they typically buy a round of drinks for 
the house. “Lottery has always been an important part of Jan’s 
Tap,” says McAllister, who posts in-store banners advertising the 
winners she has sold.

“When you sell a decent prize, it leads to more sales. Like 
everyone else, I’m hoping to sell the big one,” she says, and earn 
a Lottery selling bonus of up to $500,000. 

Belford Tavern in Chicago is among the top-selling bars in the 
state. It boasts Lottery sales of $625,000 per year, earning the bar 
over $31,000 in annual Lottery commissions—plus substantial 
winning-ticket selling bonuses. The tavern has sold a lot of 
winners, including a recent $1 million instant game winner 
(earning the store a quick $10,000 selling bonus). Owner Jimmy 
Praskevas says Lottery is a great fit with his 1,100-square foot bar. 

“It keeps customers busy—gives ‘em something to do, a reason to 
stick around.” 

The $1 million winner he sold last August was purchased by a 
tavern regular. “He still comes here,“ Praskevas adds, “and he still 
plays Lottery.”

“Playing” is what the Illinois Lottery is all about. It’s a fun form 
of entertainment, one that—like alcohol—is restricted to adults. 
Lottery and neighborhood taverns go together—like beer and 
baseball. If you’re not currently selling Illinois Lottery tickets, 
you might want to reconsider. 

Becoming a Lottery retailer is easy; just fill out an application 
form and submit it along with a $50 check. In about three  
weeks you can be selling Lottery. And once in place, your bar 
will feel even more like a home away from home. For more 
information on becoming an Illinois Lottery retailer, visit  
www.IllinoisLottery.com or call 800.248.2511.

$$$
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We made it through yet another brutal Illinois winter, and 
now that Spring has finally arrived, outside activities 

featuring alcohol consumption are becoming more prevalent.

One question local jurisdictions and our licensees frequently 
ask is: Do I need a liquor license for my special event to be in 
compliance with the law? There are, of course, many extenuating 
circumstances that determine whether an event requires additional 
licensing, but let’s take a look at a couple of the more common 
activities we’ll soon be seeing as the weather turns warmer:

❍  Golf outings featuring alcohol: Many organizations host golf 
outings as a major fundraising activity. If the golf course has 
a liquor license and is serving the alcohol, there is no need 
for the hosting organization to get a special event license. 
Likewise, the licensed golf club need not apply for a special 
use permit as the event is held within its licensed premises.

❍  Outdoor festivals featuring alcohol: Now, let’s say you’re 
planning the annual street fair for your non-profit 
organization. If your organization is in charge of serving the 
alcohol, you will need to apply for a Special Event License. 
Should an existing liquor licensee host the event at a location 
other than its licensed premise, the licensed retailer will need 
to acquire a Special Use Permit.

Please remember, it is your responsibility as the license holder 
to ensure that guests are not overserved. The Happy Hour Law 
prohibits serving guests an unlimited number of drinks during a 
set period of time for a fixed price. The only exception to this 
law is a private function (see “What is a private function?” box  

at right).

To ensure alcohol is served responsibly at your event, it is 
suggested that at least two of your staff attend BASSET-approved 
alcohol server training. For more information about the Liquor 
Commission’s BASSET (Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers 
Education and Training) program, please turn to page 6. 

How do I apply for the needed licenses?

To make the process of applying for one of the above licenses 
less intimidating, the Illinois Liquor Control Commission has 
produced a DVD entitled How to Apply For a Special Event 

Holding a special event?

Here’s how to stay within the law…

License. 
Designed for 
both non-profit 
organizations 
and licensed 
retail 
establishments, 
this short video 
presentation provides 
step-by-step instructions and tips on how to stay within the law.

How to order the Special Event DVD

To order this DVD, simply click on the “FREE Special Event 
DVD” link located on the right side of our home page  
www.state.il.us/LCC or call 312.814.4802.

Still not convinced it’s worthwhile to view the DVD? Many 

local liquor commissioners have already ordered the DVD. 
With your local officials receiving a brief refresher course on the 
law, it is now more important than ever to follow all state rules 
and regulations.

Lastly, if you have any additional questions, we are here to answer 
them for you. Please give us a call at 312.814.2206.

What is a private function?

The only exception to serving an unlimited number 

of drinks for a fixed price (per the Happy Hour 

Law)—is when your event is a private function.

As defined per the Illinois Liquor Control Act 

(235 ILCS 5/1-3.36), a “private function” means 

a prearranged private party, function, or event 

for a specific social or business occasion, either 

by invitation or reservation and not open to the 

general public, where the guests in attendance are 

served in a room or rooms designated and used 

exclusively for the private party, function, or event.

See ordering instructions below to obtain your FREE “How 

to Apply for a Special Event Liquor License” DVD!
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“The Liquor Commission has made it a priority to crack down on 
those who sell to underage,” says ILCC Acting Director Lainie 
Krozel. “Our goal is to keep alcohol out of the hands of those not 
old enough to drink. Those liquor establishments who choose to 
break the law will be held accountable.”

“Underage drinking affects us all. On average, over one hundred 
teens in Illinois die each year because of drunk driving alone. In 
addition to the human toll, it is estimated that underage drinking 
costs Illinois citizens $3 billion a year,” Krozel continued.

Should retailers require an additional “incentive” to ensure 
their staff operates within the law, a review of the March 2008 
Champaign-Urbana operation should serve as proper motivation.

Licensees shut down during “Unofficial” weekend

To ensure University of Illinois students celebrated safely and 
legally during the Unofficial St. Patrick’s Day weekend, the 
Liquor Commission mobilized its special agent force in the 
Champaign-Urbana area to cite liquor establishments who sell 
alcohol to those under the age of 21 years.

In past years, this weekend has been the scene of numerous 
arrests and injuries, including one fatality. With this in mind, 
the ILCC Legal Division counseled the area’s local liquor 
commissioners on what steps could be legally taken to minimize 
alcohol-related problems prior to the mobilization.

Then, on the event weekend, ILCC special agents followed up by 
working closely with the Illinois State Police, Champaign County 
Sheriff ’s Office, Champaign Police Department, Urbana Police 
Department, and University of Illinois Police.

During the two-day operation, a total of 30 citations were issued 
for selling to minors at 18 locations, with several licensees forced 
to shut down during a busy weekend. ILCC agents also found 

a total of 15 other Liquor Control Act violations. Many of 
these infractions were Happy Hour Law violations; for example, 
establishments selling an unlimited number of drinks during a set 
period of time for a fixed price. 

“We have received positive feedback from parents and community 
members on this operation, who were concerned another 
tragedy will occur,” says Illinois Department of Revenue 
Assistant Director Pat Welch, who oversees ILCC’s investigative 
unit. “Hopefully, the effectiveness of this effort—which can be 
directly tied to working hand-in-hand with local and state law 
enforcement—has offered them some comfort and peace of mind.”

Those found selling to minors are subject to arrest, one year 
in jail, and a $2,500.00 maximum fine. “We appreciate the 
additional manpower provided by the Liquor Commission 
and their special agents,” says Sergeant Scott Friedlein of the 
Champaign Police Department. “Through their support and 
assistance, we were able to take our compliance operation to the 
next level.”

Hopefully, retailers throughout the state will learn from their 
fellow business owners about the ramifications of breaking the law.

A note from your liquor agent…

Have your business hours changed? Make sure the hours 
of operation are correct when renewing your liquor 
license. Illinois Liquor Control Commission special agents 
are increasingly seeing businesses closed during hours 
when they are supposed to be open.

If your business hours have changed, please ensure to 
correct them when renewing your license.

“‘Unofficial’ crackdown highlights statewide compliance check operation” continued from page 1

Other underage drinking 

prevention programs

The Illinois Liquor  
Control Commission  
has created the  
Tracking Alcohol  
in IL (TrAIL) Program  
where investigators  
trace alcohol  
purchases when  
underage drinking  
leads to serious  
consequences.  
During its first year,  
ILCC agents were  
called in to investigate 28 incidents which resulted in  
19 fatalities and 45 injuries.

Additionally, the ILCC has created the Don’t Be Sorry  
public education campaign to make parents, teens, and 
liquor retailers aware of the consequences of underage 
drinking. For more information about this program—and to 
order FREE materials—please visit www.DontBeSorry.org. 
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Being a newly licensed 
BASSET trainer since 

January, Michelle Joseph has 
already managed to train 
over two hundred owners, 
managers, and servers in  
the Beverage Alcohol 
Sellers and Servers 
Education and Training 
(BASSET) program.

An entrepreneur, Joseph’s business consulting company, The 
Local Connection, was recently contracted to work on new 
entertainment television show 24/7 Chicago, Secrets of the City. 
She is also adjunct professor at Lexington College, where she 
teaches Special Event and Event Planning courses.

Prior to starting her own business, Joseph worked in a variety of 
fields. After serving as an elementary and middle school teacher, 
she worked in the pharmaceutical industry doing by marketing 
and sales work. She then transitioned into the hospitality 
industry and began her career in meeting planning, training and 
development for the Responsible Hospitality Institute.

One of her career accomplishments was becoming a founding 
member of the Chicago Hospitality Resource Partnership 
(HRP)—a cooperative alliance of representatives from the 
hospitality industry, law enforcement, and city and state 
government agencies. To further the HRP’s mission of educating 
liquor licensees on available resources, new ordinances, and 

best business practices, Joseph oversaw the partnership’s 
communication, outreach and training efforts.

As a result of this effort with the HRP, a good working 
relationship was formed with the industry, law enforcement, 
and government/community agencies; ultimately, this led to 
communication lines being opened between all entities. 

Seeing this success, Joseph also saw an opportunity to further the 
HRP’s goal of “providing safe and vibrant places for citizens to 
socialize” by extending BASSET training to the liquor serving 
establishments in Chicago.

When asked what advice she gives to trainees, Joseph replies:  
“Be observant of everything that is going on around you. BASSET 
training increases awareness of the importance of responsible 
alcohol service.” 

She believes that people who work in this hospitality industry 
“do so because they enjoy seeing their guests have a good time. It 
is very small percentage of customers who go overboard, and it is 
my responsibility to ensure servers are aware of how to prevent 
such a situation from occurring.”

In her spare time, Joseph volunteers at several charities and non-
profit organizations. Her busy social life includes entertaining, 
skiing, golf, and “enjoying all Chicago has to offer.” A Brighton, 
Michigan native and Chicago resident for the last 15 years, Joseph 
is an avid Michigan State Spartan fan, where she graduated with 
an Education degree along with a minor in Social Science.

Hospitality expert picked as BASSET Trainer-of-the-Quarter

By Lee J. Roupas, ILCC BASSET Program Manager

Michelle Joseph

NOVEMBER
• Canton Police Department
• Diversy’s Learning
• El Burrito Loco
• Top Golf Wood Dale
• Ultra Foods
• Julie Zalenka

New Licensed BASSET Providers

DECEMBER
• US Interactive, Inc.,

JANUARY
• Last Call Bar Service
•  The Local Connection 

Chicago
• Teri Lee Wegeng

FEBRUARY
•  Archon Hospitality— 

Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
• Drury Inn—O’Fallon
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To order your Tobacco  

Retailer Kit, please call  

312.814.6884 or visit  

www.state.il.us/lcc/ 
tobacco

7

Order your Tobacco Retailer Kit today!

Illinois hosting national conference

The Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) is proud 
to serve as host of the National Conference of State 

Liquor Administrators (NCSLA) 74th Annual Conference this 
summer in Chicago.

As the premier event for regulators from throughout the United 
States, this year’s conference will feature federal and state elected 
officials, CEO’s and presidents of Fortune 500 companies, and 
other nationally recognized figures.

Also during the conference, the NCSLA will pay tribute to 
current ILCC Chairman Irving J. Koppel. As a former president 
of the NCSLA and a Illinois liquor commissioner for over twenty 
years, Koppel will be honored for his lifelong commitment to the 
liquor regulation in the United States. 

Being an observant  
individual is an advantage  

an owner, manager or server of a liquor establishment can have 
in preventing customers from getting intoxicated. When taking 
a seller/server training course, participants are trained to assess 
each guest. 

After completing a training course a server should be able to 
know factors that would influence or speed up a patron’s level of 
intoxication. Intoxication rate factors are:

❍ Size of an individual
❍ Gender
❍ Strength of a drink
❍ Food

By knowing these intoxication rate factors, it will contribute 
to responsible alcohol service and prevention of costly alcohol-
related mishaps.

li t bli h t h

Scrutinize  
each guest

By Lee J. Roupas, ILCC  

BASSET Program Manager

Please check the  
next edition of  
ILCC News for a  
recap of the 2008  
Annual Conference.

❍  Drinking on an empty stomach 
or full stomach

❍ Rate of Consumption
❍ Drug Use
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Order your FREE ILCC 

materials today!

The following FREE Liquor 
Commission materials are 
available to all licensees 
by visiting the web at 
www.state.il.us/LCC/
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or calling 312.814.4802:

• Illinois Liquor Control Act 
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• Alcohol “Proof of 
Age” and “Pregnancy 
Warning” signs.

• BASSET Program Brochure 
and Age-Verification Guide.

• “We Card Hard” decal and 
Liquor Licensee Employee 
Training Guide.
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