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Are you prepared for the smoking ban?

On July 23, 2007, Gov. Rod R. Blagojevich signed Senate Bill 500 “Smoke 
Free Illinois” into law (Public Act 095-0017). Since the signing of this law, 

Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) staff have received many questions 
from liquor licensees and municipal officials regarding the new State of Illinois 
smoking ban. Below are answers to some of the more frequently asked questions.

Q: When does the smoking ban take effect?
A: January 1, 2008.

Q: Is a “No Smoking” sign required in my state-licensed establishment?
A: YES. A “No Smoking” sign or the international “No Smoking” symbol, consisting of a pictorial 

representation of a burning cigarette enclosed in a red circle with a red bar across it, shall be clearly and 

conspicuously posted by the owner, operator, manager, or other person in control of the place where 

smoking is prohibited. 

Q: How do I order the required “No Smoking” signs?
A: Please visit the “Latest News” section on the ILCC home page www.state.il.us/LCC over the next few 

weeks for a link to the sign ordering form. 

Q: Where should I post this sign?
A: Each public place and place of employment where smoking is prohibited by this Act shall have posted at 

every entrance a conspicuous sign clearly stating that smoking is prohibited. 

Q: What else am I required to do to be in compliance with the “No Smoking” law?
A: All ashtrays shall be removed from any area where smoking is prohibited. 

Q: Can I create a designated smoking area INSIDE my state-licensed establishment?
A: NO. Current and future designated smoking areas are no longer allowed.

Q: Can I create smoking areas in an outdoor patio?
A: YES, as long as the designated smoking area is part of your licensed premises and is at least 

15 feet away from ANY door and/or window that opens and/or ventilation intake. 
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T  he first year of the Tracking Alcohol in Illinois (TrAIL) Program is now in the books. As 
expected, statistics gathered during this inaugural year indicate the vast majority of underage 

drinkers are getting their alcohol from family and friends—and NOT Illinois liquor retailers.

Through the TrAIL Program, adults are held accountable when 
they provide alcohol to those underage. The program kicked off 
August 2006 in two pilot counties—Sangamon and Jackson—whose 
geographic and demographic mix best represented the State of 
Illinois as a whole. Both feature a mix of college students, city 
dwellers, suburban residents, and rural areas. 

As the year moved forward, TrAIL — funded through a $100,000 traffic safety grant from the 
Illinois Department of Transportation — expanded into the far west/northwest Chicago suburbs 
(Kane and McHenry counties in October 2006), northwest Illinois (Whiteside, Carroll, and Jo 
Daviess counties in December 2006), and most recently, into the growing far southwest Chicago 
suburbs (Kendall County this past February).

The TrAIL protocol is activated when underage drinking leads to injury or death. When this 
occurs, an Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) special agent conducts an investigation 
to determine where the alcohol originated. During the first year, ILCC agents were called in 
to investigate 28 incidents which resulted in 19 fatalities and 45 injuries. Liquor establishment 
employees were suspected of selling or serving minors in only three of these 28 cases.

“The TrAIL program has started a dialogue about the role of alcohol within our families,” says 
ILCC Industry Education Manager Ted Penesis. “TrAIL also sparked the passage of SB1625 (see 

“Underage drinking…” on page 7), punishing those who provide alcohol to minors.”

“We have found that many well-meaning, and otherwise law-abiding, parents feel like hypocrites 
when dealing with their child’s underage drinking,” Penesis continues. “They no longer need to 
feel this way; all they need to do is point out the law and how it will affect their family.”

Of course, enforcement programs like TrAIL and new laws like SB1625 only address underage 
drinking after it has occurred. With this in mind, the Liquor Commission remains committed to 
providing education that focuses on the consequences before underage drinking leads to tragedy.

During the coming months, a speaker tour will be visiting 
locales throughout Illinois as part of the ILCC’s Don’t Be 
Sorry underage drinking awareness campaign. During this tour, 
speakers will emphasize underage drinking’s health and legal 
consequences on both parents and students alike. If you are 
interested in hosting a Don’t Be Sorry speaking engagement 
at your school or upcoming community event, please call 312.814.4802 for more information.

Liquor licensees doing their job

TrAIL Program holds accountable those who provide alcohol to minors 
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Increased vigilance yields more violations

If you own a liquor license, chances are you met one of our 
Illinois Liquor Control Commission’s (ILCC) special agents 

during the past year. These agents conduct inspections of liquor 
establishments on a regular basis.

While many of these inspections are conducted unannounced, 
in some instances, an agent may call the licensee to make an 
appointment. Please do not disregard this call. Failure to reply 

VIOLATION FY 2007 FY 2006 FY2005
Contaminated liquor 1,238 (1) 746 (1) 835 (1)
Sale to minors 427 (2) 497 (2) 428 (2)
IBT (Illinois Business Tax) certificate not available 404 (3) 142 (6) 187 (8)
Pregnancy warning sign not displayed 402 (4) 285 (3) 274 (3)
90 days of invoices (or waiver) not available 382 (5) 141 (7) 198 (7)
Revenue certificate not attached to coin operated amusement devices 285 (6) 186 (4) 207 (4t)
State license not displayed 203 (7) 156 (5) 207 (4t)
Unsanitary taps 193 (8) 91 (8) 107 (10)
Liquor purchased at retail 131 (9) 67 (10) 110 (9)
State license not valid 119 (10) ——  ——
Gambling on premises ——  80 (9) 203 (6)

(NOTE: Fiscal years run from July 1-June 30)

“Are you prepared for the smoking ban?” continued from page 1

Are you a top ten violator?  (Number in parentheses indicates rank of violation during each year)

Q: Can a separate room with its own entrance/exit be 
designated a smoke shop where smoking is allowed?

A: NO. Smoking is allowed only in establishments registered as a 

retail tobacco store.* Smoking is NOT permitted in a tobacco 

department, section of a larger commercial establishment, or any 

establishment with any type of liquor, food, or restaurant license.

Q: Do I still have to enforce the smoking ban if my licensed 
establishment is a private club?

A: YES. All state-licensed facilities are required to ban smoking inside their 

establishment and outside their facility at a minimum distance of 15 feet 

from ANY door and/or window that opens and/or ventilation intake.

Q: Who is in charge of enforcing the smoking ban?
A: The Illinois Department of Public Health, state-certified local public 

health departments, and local law enforcement agencies shall enforce 

the provisions of this Act and may assess fines. Any person may 

register a complaint with the above agencies by calling a hotline 

number that will be in place prior to January 1, 2008.

Please keep in mind, additional rules are still being drafted as this 
issue went to press. The Illinois Department of Public Health 
is currently developing the “Smoke Free Illinois” website where 
final rules, a “No Smoking” sign ordering form, and further 
smoking ban information will be posted. Once this website goes 
online, a link to the new site will be provided under the “Latest 

News” section of our home page www.state.il.us/LCC, so please 
check the ILCC website periodically over the next few weeks. 

*A retail tobacco store is defined as a retail establishment that derives more than 80 percent 
of its gross revenue from the sale of loose tobacco, plants, or herbs and cigars, cigarettes, pipes, 
and other smoking devices for burning tobacco and related smoking accessories and in which 
the sale of other products is merely incidental. The retail tobacco store shall annually file with 
the Department of Public Health by January 31 an affidavit stating the percentage of its gross 
income during the prior calendar year that was derived from the sale of loose tobacco, plants, 
or herbs and cigars, cigarettes, pipes, or other smoking devices for smoking tobacco and related 
smoking accessories. Any retail tobacco store that begins operation after the effective date of 
this amendatory Act may only qualify for an exemption if occupied solely by the business and 
smoke from the business does not migrate into an enclosed area where smoking is prohibited. 
Please review Section 10 of the Smoke Free Illinois Act (Public Act 095-0017) online at 
www.ilga.gov for more information about exemptions to the smoking ban.

to an inspection appointment is a fineable offense and will 
result in a violation for refusing an inspection.

During the past year, the Liquor Commission’s inspection 
schedule was stepped up to ensure licensee compliance with the 
Liquor Control Act. This renewed commitment resulted in an 
increased number of violations. Below is a comparison of the top 
ten violations over the past three years.
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Direct wine shipment bill signed by Gov. Blagojevich

Legislation will help Illinois’ wineries stay competitive 

In a move that will help Illinois wineries continue to expand, 
Gov. Rod R. Blagojevich signed legislation (Public Act 

095-0634) that will allow wine producers to ship wine directly 
to residents of Illinois who are over the age of 21. House Bill 
429, sponsored by State Rep. Edward Acevedo and State 
Sen. Ira Silverstein, represents an agreement between Illinois’ 
wineries and liquor distributors concerning the direct shipment 
of wine to consumers.

“Illinois has a vibrant and growing wine industry, which is quickly 
becoming an integral part of the state’s culture, as well as putting 
more and more people to work,” says Gov. Blagojevich. “This 
legislation builds on our ongoing efforts to promote Illinois wineries, 
and allows them to continue to expand and remain competitive.”

HB429 sets the fee for a wine shipper’s license between $250.00 
and $1,000.00, depending upon the size of the wine producer. 
Approved wine shippers must report how much wine they are 
shipping to Illinois residents and pay tax on wine shipped in 
the same fashion that wine manufacturers are taxed. Previously, 
direct wine shipments were only allowed in states that had 
reciprocity with Illinois. 

“Illinois wine is an important contributor to our economy, and 
we are happy to be working together to create an equitable 
delivery system that benefits everyone. This legislation represents 
a win-win for Illinois consumers and businesses,” states State 
Rep. Acevedo.

HB429 allows Illinois wineries to sell a limited supply of their 
product directly to consumers, with distributors handling the rest. 
Winemakers, both in-state and out-of-state, can sell up to twelve 
cases of wine a year directly to those of legal age in Illinois. 

“With this legislation, Illinois’ wineries and liquor distributors 
were able to come together with the state to advance our growing 
wine industry. My thanks to Gov. Blagojevich and all of our 
statewide partners,” says State Sen. Silverstein. 

Adds Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) Chairman 
Irving J. Koppel: “By buying directly from wineries throughout the 
United States, Illinois wine connisseurs will likely save money and 
enjoy an expanded selection of wine choices. Additionally, this 
legislation will strengthen the fiscal health of Illinois’ wine industry 
and increase the flow of tax dollars into our state.”

The Liquor Commission will also conduct periodic alcohol 
compliance operations to investigate whether these direct wine
 shipments are being sold to persons under 21 years of age. 
“Through this legislation,” notes Koppel, “the Liquor Commission 
will continue its commitment to combating underage drinking 
by ensuring direct wine shipments do not end up in the hands of 
our teens.”

Featuring more than 68 wineries and approximately 450 grape 
growers across the state, the Illinois wine industry produces 
500,000 gallons of wine per year and creates an annual economic 
impact of more than $253 million. 

Please note that HB429 does not go into effect until June 1, 
2008. Prior to enacting this law, administrative rules must 
first be drafted by the ILCC and approved by the State’s Joint 
Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR). Future issues of 
ILCC News will contain more details on direct wine shipment 
once this rulemaking process has completed.

Order your FREE ILCC materials today!

The following FREE Liquor Commission materials are 
available to all licensees by visiting the web at 
www.state.il.us/LCC/IEmaterials.asp or calling 312.814.4802:

•  Illinois Liquor Control Act and ILCC/BASSET Rules
and Regulations.

•  “Happy Hour Law” and “Just the Facts” fliers.

•  Alcohol “Proof of Age” and “Pregnancy Warning” signs.

•  BASSET Program Brochure and Age-Verification Guide.

•  “We Card Hard” decal and Liquor Licensee Employee
Training Guide.
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Governor Rod R. Blagojevich signed Senate Bill 1625 
into law today (Public Act 095-0618), preventing the 

advertisement and promotion of flavored alcoholic beverages, or 
alcopops, to children. Alcopops are alcoholic beverages blended 
with fruit juice, lemonade or other flavorings. Examples include
‘hard lemonade’ and ‘twisted tea.’ The new law, sponsored by 
State Senator Carol Ronen and State Representative Greg 
Harris, fines companies that promote alcopops to minors $500.00 
for the first offense and $1,000.00 for a second offense.

“Too often we let the advertising industry decide what our
children see and consume. We need to stand up on behalf 
of Illinois children and protect them from advertising that 
entices minors to drink alcohol and break the law,” says Gov.
Blagojevich. “This legislation will protect those too young to 
deal with the responsibility and consequences associated with 
drinking alcohol.”

SB1625, which becomes effective in June 2008, is aimed at
reducing the marketing, promotion, and advertising of alcopops 
to minors. This includes cartoons and youth-oriented photos;
sponsorship of athletic events where the intended audience 
is primarily children; billboards advertising alcopops within
500 feet of a school, public park, amusement park, or place
of worship; and the display of any alcopop beverage in video 
games, theatre productions, or other live performances where the
intended audience is primarily children.

Representatives from Governor Blagojevich’s administration
joined with the legislative sponsors of SB1625 and alcohol
prevention advocates at TASC (Treatment Alternatives for
Safe Communities), a non-profit organization headquartered in
Chicago that works with teens and adults with alcohol substance 
abuse and mental health disorders. Lainie Krozel, Acting
Executive Director of the Illinois Liquor Control Commission,
presented a copy of the signed bill to Senator Ronen and
Representative Harris and thanked them on behalf of the 
Governor for bringing this important to legislation to his desk.

“By signing this legislation, the Governor has sealed our 
commitment to reducing underage drinking. We are responsible
for our children, and we need to fight outside influences
pressuring them to break the law,” says Sen. Ronen.

Gov. Blagojevich signs law to protect teens from ‘alcopop’ advertising

Legislation prohibits marketing of flavored alcoholic beverages to minors

“Alcopop advertisers use the lure of youth and popularity to attract
teenagers, especially the females, to their alcoholic products,”
says Rep. Harris. “We must protect children from the dangers of 
underage drinking by putting a stop to ads that make it look cool.”

With one-third of teen girls having tried alcopops—and one out
of six in the past six months—alcopops have become a “gateway
beverage (for) less-experienced drinkers,” according to a 2004
American Medical Association (AMA) poll. Another 2004 study
found that girls aged 12-20 years were more exposed to alcopop ads
in magazines than the targeted age group of 21-34 year-old women.

This law follows a 1998 court settlement, which prohibited the
tobacco industry from targeting youth in ads and marketing. The
settlement stipulated that cartoon characters such as Joe Camel
were banned from tobacco advertising, promotions, packaging and
labeling. Sale of tobacco brand merchandise, such as apparel and
backpacks, was prohibited and event sponsorship was restricted.

“We are extremely pleased that Governor Blagojevich has signed
Senate Bill 1625 into law. By signing SB1625, the Governor
is demonstrating his national leadership in the fight against 
underage drinking. As we have seen in recent months in Illinois,
underage drinking leads to the tragedy of teen deaths as a result 
of teens drinking and driving,” says Sara Moscato Howe, CEO of 
the Illinois Alcoholism and Drug Dependence Association.

Fill-in forms now online
It is now easier and more convenient to enter
information on all PDF forms located on our home
page www.state.il.us/LCC. For example, if you wish
to fill out a 90-Day Waiver Application or Request a One-Time
Transfer of Alcoholic Liquor, data can be typed directly into the
appropriate fill-in fields on the form. Please note, some fields
require specific information to be entered (ie, fields that require
dollar amounts or a date will accept numeric entries only).

Once completed, you can save this PDF file to your computer;
however, forms that require an original signature MUST 
be mailed or dropped off at one of our offices. If the form
does not include an original signature, it will be sent back to you,
delaying your request. If you experience any problems while
utilizing these new forms, please call 312.814.4802 for assistance.



As a 24-year veteran of the Yorkville 
Police Department, Officer Barry 

Groesch has played an integral role 
in alcohol server training by forming 
grassroots coalitions and conducting 
alcohol enforcement in the town of 
Yorkville and the surrounding area.

As a licensed BASSET trainer, his 
desire is to see Yorkville and the 
neighboring communities become 

safer by reducing the number of alcohol-related incidents. 
Throughout his law enforcement career, Officer Groesch says 
he has seen too many tragedies involving minors and alcohol. 
These tragedies stregthened his resolve, and provided the impetus 
for him to prevent underage alcohol sales by getting citizens 

Yorkville’s Officer Groesch selected as BASSET Trainer-of-the-Quarter

By: Lee J. Roupas, ILCC BASSET Program Manager

involved to work with the local liquor 
establishments and parents. When 
asked what he enjoys most about being 
a licensed BASSET trainer, he replies, “I like the grassroots 
education and cooperation between the businesses and the 
police department.”

Groesch believes BASSET training is effective, but adds, 
“Support and utilization of the training techniques has to come 
from the top management in order for it to work.”

In his spare time Groesch, who is married and has two children, 
enjoys working with the Kendall County Explorers (a coed 
program that is part of the Boy Scouts) and is an “adrenaline 
junkie” who likes going on high adventure trips.
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For the last several years the Illinois Liquor Control 
Commission has reached out and formed partnerships with 

mayors, local liquor commissioners, law enforcement, community 
groups and the alcoholic beverage industry to address the issues 
of responsible alcohol service, drunk driving prevention and 
deterring underage sales of alcohol.

In the past, seminars have benefited liquor licensees and their 
staff by providing the proper education and training to serve 
alcohol responsibly, detecting fake ID’s, and offering the skills 
necessary to deal with intoxicated patrons. By having both the 
state of Illinois Liquor Control Commission along with the local 
government and law enforcement present, licensees and their 
servers can be informed of the laws on both levels of government.

Seminars take place during the week at 2:00 PM and usually last 
an hour and a half. Meeting locations are held in village halls, 
community centers or civic centers. For more information and to 
schedule an education and training seminar, contact Lee Roupas 
at 312.814.0773 or lee.roupas@illinois.gov.

Schedule an education and training seminar in your area

By: Lee J. Roupas, ILCC BASSET Program Manager

For owners, managers and servers:

Check for Behavioral Cues:

Slowed Reactions
 Slurred speech
 Glassy eyes
 Loss of train of thought

Impaired Judgment
 Inappropriate comments
 Foul language
 Feeling of invincibility

Lowered Inhibitions
 Talking loudly
 Mood changes

 Poor Coordination
 Stumbling
 Cannot stand up straight
 Sleepiness
 Fumbling objects

IF YOU SPOT ANY OF THESE BEHAVIORAL CUES 
STOP SERVICE!!

For more information on BASSET training contact 
Lee Roupas at 312.814.0773 or lee.roupas@illinois.gov

Barry Groesch
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Top 10 reasons to Card Hard

10. You face disciplinary action and
possible loss of business.

 9. You become a “lawbreaker” by serving
underage.

 8. A person underage does not care about you or your
business and will do what it takes for you to sell
them alcohol.

 7. A person underage will try to fool you any way
possible and trick you into selling them alcohol.

 6. A person underage will use an older sibling’s ID.

 5. You will more than likely encounter an ID that has
been tampered with.

 4. A fake ID will be made or purchased through
the Internet.

 3. You will get fired if you don’t “do the math” when
checking IDs.

 2. You face greater likelihood of alcohol-related
mishaps when underage drinking is present.

 1. If you sell to a minor, your establishment will
be targeted for future purchases by fellow
underage friends.

On August 31, Governor Rod R. Blagojevich signed Public 
Act 095-0563 (Senate Bill 158), which underscores

adults’ responsibility for preventing underage drinking. 
SB158, sponsored by State Senator Susan Garrett and State 
Representative Karen May, increases the penalty to 1-3 years in
prison and up to a $25,000 fine for parents who knowingly allow 
underage alcohol consumption in their home and the drinking 
leads to serious injuries or death. This bill is in response to a
tragic car crash that killed two Deerfield teens and injured three
others who had been drinking at a house party last October.

“Last year we grieved with a high school in Deerfield that lost
two students in a car crash after parents allowed teen drinking 
in their home,” says Gov. Blagojevich. “As parents, we have a 
responsibility to protect young people from harm, even when
it’s not popular. This legislation will send a clear message to
parents that they will face stiff penalties, including prison, if they 
knowingly allow kids to drink alcohol in their home.”

SB158 amends the Liquor Control Act by changing parents’ and
guardians’ liability and punishment for incidents of underage 
alcohol consumption in the home. The new legislation, which 
took effect immediately, increases the penalty to a Class 4 felony 
for a parent if they allowed underage drinking in their home and
bodily harm or death resulted. This would include an underage 
drunk driving crash, alcohol poisoning, and other incidents 
leading to injury or death involving an underage drinker. An
exception is allowed for a parent/guardian who provides alcohol 
to underage individuals for religious observance.

The impetus of the bill was a tragic car crash in which two 
teens died and three others were injured d  uring homecoming 
weekend last year in Deerfield, a Chicago suburb. The Deerfield 
couple that allowed teen drinking at a party at their home was
charged with a misdemeanor, the maximum charge. Under the
new legislation, officials could charge parents or guardians with a
felony in similar situations.

Debra Trypak, a Glenview mother who lost her son two years ago,
is a strong advocate for laws protecting minors from acquiring
alcohol. Her son, Joey, died after an area liquor store sold alcohol
to minors. She subsequently supported the state’s effort last year
in tracking alcohol purchases, entitled TrAIL (Tracking Alcohol 
in IL), currently underway in eight Illinois counties (See page 2).

Underage drinking can now result in a felony

Legislation increases penalties for parents who knowingly allow underage drinking that results in injury or death

“The state has made it a priority to reduce underage drinking,
and I commend the Governor for his commitment in this fight,”
says Ms. Trypak. “Cases like Deerfield are still an all-too-common
occurrence in our state. With programs like TrAIL and laws like
SB158, parents and retailers know that the state is serious about 
solving this problem and protecting our kids.”

“I hope this law will be another milestone to ensure cooperation
between parents, teens and law enforcement when it comes to
underage drinking. Our goal is to keep our communities stronger,
our parents more involved and our teens safer,” says Sen. Garrett.

“The accident in Deerfield hit our community hard last year,” 
adds Rep. May. “We saw that parents need to be parents and stop
destructive behavior rather than ignore it. This legislation will
send a message to parents throughout the state that we do not
tolerate lax attitudes toward alcohol.”
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Looking for a fun way to increase your store traffic and 
expand your bottom line? You should consider becoming

an Illinois Lottery retailer.

Lottery products are popular with all segments of your customer
base, and offer outstanding selling bonuses. In fact, you can 
receive a $20,000 bonus for selling a single winning instant
ticket; online retailers (those that sell Lotto, Mega Millions, etc)
receive selling bonuses of up to $500,000! 

When you join the team of Lottery retailers across Illinois, you
                      will have the opportunity to increase store                      will have the opportunity to

      traffic and                   
   increase your     
     store profits.    

    Lottery retailers get big bonuses!

Benefits of becoming an Illinois Lottery retailer include:

• 5% commission on all Lottery tickets sales.

• 1% bonus commission on winning tickets sold that have a
prize value of $1,000 or more.

• All tickets sold on consignment.

• Eye-catching point-of-sale material and signage are provided
free of charge.

• Continuous support and assistance from Lottery sales. 

Becoming a retailer is easy. Fill out an application and submit
a $50 application fee. Upon approval, you will be trained and 
selling Lottery tickets in no time.

For more information, call 312.793.3026 or visit the web   at
www.illinoislottery.com. You can also pick up an application
at all Lottery or Illinois Liquor Commission offices. Sell Illinois
Lottery tickets at your store… and Have a Ball!

$$$


