
The following are considered categories of winery shipper’s licenses. Please check ONE of the categories listed 
below and on Page 2 that applies to the type/class of license for which application is being made. Be sure to 
obtain and complete all of the required supporting documents for the particular license class.

APPLICATION FOR STATE OF ILLINOIS WINERY SHIPPER’S 
LICENSE (“DIRECT SHIPPING PERMIT”)
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Illinois Liquor Control 
Commission

Pat Quinn  
Governor

100 W. RANDOLPH ST, SUITE 7-801 
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60601
TELEPHONE: 312-814-2206

FAX: 312-814-2241
TDD: 312-814-1844

WEB SITE:  www.state.il.us/LCC

DEFINITION: A Winery Shipper’s License shall allow a person with a first-class or second-class wine manufac-
turer’s license, a first-class or second-class wine-maker’s license or a limited wine manfacuturer’s license or who 
is licensed to make wine under the laws of another state to ship wine made by that licensee directly to a resident 
of this State who is 21 years of age or older for that resident’s personal use and not for resale.

A first-class wine manufacturer who obtains a Winery Shipper’s License can sell directly to Illinois residents (ie, anyone in 
the general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year. A first-class wine manufacturer 
who produces less than 25,000 gallons per year may apply for a self-distribution exemption (attached) allowing for the sale 
of not more than 5,000 gallons of wine to retail licensees per year. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIRED:

A. FEE: $150.00 WINERY SHIPPER’S LICENSE FOR ILLINOIS FIRST-CLASS WINE MANUFACTURER

1)	 COPY OF CURRENT STATE OF ILLINOIS MANUFACTURER’S LIQUOR LICENSE;
2)	 COPY OF ALL FEDERAL LABEL APPROVAL(S) FOR ANY PRODUCT BEING DIRECTLY SHIPPED TO ILLINOIS	
	 RESIDENTS (Note: All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application).
3)	 A Tax Bond is required (see attached bond forms. Questions about tax bonds? Please call 217-782-6045).

A second-class wine manufacturer who obtains a Winery Shipper’s License can sell directly to Illinois residents (ie, anyone 
in the general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year. Please note, a second-class 
wine manufacturer likely produces more than 25,000 gallons of wine per year and therefore WILL NOT QUALIFY for a self-
distribution exemption. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIRED:

B.  WINERY SHIPPER’S LICENSE FOR ILLINOIS SECOND-CLASS WINE MANUFACTURER

1)	 COPY OF CURRENT STATE OF ILLINOIS MANUFACTURER’S LIQUOR LICENSE;
2)	 COPY OF ALL FEDERAL LABEL APPROVAL(S) FOR ANY PRODUCT BEING DIRECTLY SHIPPED TO ILLINOIS	
	 RESIDENTS (Note: All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application).
3)	 A Tax Bond is required (see attached bond forms. Questions about tax bonds? Please call 217-782-6045).

Winery Shipper’s License Fees for Second-Class Wine Manufacturers:

 CLASS 1 (not to exceed 250,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $150.00

 CLASS 2 (not to exceed 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $500.00
 CLASS 3 (over 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $1,000.00

FEE: See below
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A first-class wine maker who obtains a Winery Shipper’s License can sell directly to Illinois residents (ie, anyone in the 
general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year. A first-class wine maker’s license 
shall allow the manufacture of up to 50,000 gallons of wine per year, and the storage and sale of such wine to distributors 
in the State and to persons without the State, as may be permitted by law. A first-class wine maker who produces less than 
25,000 gallons per year may apply for a self-distribution exemption (attached) allowing for the sale of not more than 5,000 
gallons of wine to retail licensees per year. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIRED:

C. FEE: $150.00WINERY SHIPPER’S LICENSE FOR ILLINOIS FIRST-CLASS WINE MAKER

1)	 COPY OF CURRENT STATE OF ILLINOIS MANUFACTURER’S LIQUOR LICENSE;
2)	 COPY OF ALL FEDERAL LABEL APPROVAL(S) FOR ANY PRODUCT BEING DIRECTLY SHIPPED TO ILLINOIS	
	 RESIDENTS (Note: All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application).
3)	 A Tax Bond is required (see attached bond forms. Questions about Tax Bonds? Please call 217-782-6045).

A second-class wine maker who obtains a Winery Shipper’s License can sell directly to Illinois residents (ie, anyone in the 
general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year. Please note, a second-class wine 
maker likely produces more than 25,000 gallons of wine per year and therefore WILL NOT QUALIFY for a self-distribution 
exemption. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIRED:

D. FEE: See below WINERY SHIPPER’S LICENSE FOR ILLINOIS SECOND-CLASS WINE MAKER

1)	 COPY OF CURRENT STATE OF ILLINOIS MANUFACTURER’S LIQUOR LICENSE;
2)	 COPY OF ALL FEDERAL LABEL APPROVAL(S) FOR ANY PRODUCT BEING DIRECTLY SHIPPED TO ILLINOIS	
	 RESIDENTS (Note: All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application).
3)	 A Tax Bond is required (see attached bond forms. Questions about Tax Bonds? Please call 217-782-6045).

A limited wine manufacturer who obtains a Winery Shipper’s License can sell directly to Illinois residents (ie, anyone in the 
general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult resident per year. A limited wine-manufacturer may 
make sales and deliveries not to exceed 40,000 gallons of wine per year to distributors, and to non-licensees in accordance 
with the Illinois Liquor Control Act. A limited wine manufacturer who produces less than 25,000 gallons per year may apply 
for a self-distribution exemption (attached) allowing for the sale of not more than 5,000 gallons of wine to retail licensees per 
year. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIRED:

E.  WINERY SHIPPER’S LICENSE FOR ILLINOIS LIMITED WINE MANUFACTURER

1)	 COPY OF CURRENT STATE OF ILLINOIS MANUFACTURER’S LIQUOR LICENSE;
2)	 COPY OF ALL FEDERAL LABEL APPROVAL(S) FOR ANY PRODUCT BEING DIRECTLY SHIPPED TO ILLINOIS	
	 RESIDENTS (Note: All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application).
3)	 A Tax Bond is required (see attached bond forms. Questions about Tax Bonds? Please call 217-782-6045).

FEE: $150.00

An Out-of-State Winery Shipper’s License shall allow a person who is licensed to make wine under the laws of another state 
to sell directly to Illinois residents (ie, anyone in the general public who is 21 years of age or older) up to 12 cases per adult 
resident per year. This wine must be for personal use and not for resale. An out-of-state winery must provide the Commission 
with a copy of its current license in the state in which it is licensed as a manufacturer. An out-of-state winery who produces 
less than 25,000 gallons per year may apply for a self-distribution exemption (attached) allowing for the sale of not more than 
5,000 gallons of wine to retail licensees per year. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REQUIRED:

F.  OUT-OF-STATE WINERY SHIPPER’S LICENSE

1)	 COPY OF CURRENT STATE MANUFACTURER’S LIQUOR LICENSE;
2)	 COPY OF ALL FEDERAL LABEL APPROVAL(S) FOR ANY PRODUCT BEING DIRECTLY SHIPPED TO ILLINOIS	
	 RESIDENTS (Note: All products must be registered with the Commission prior to, or with, this application).
3)	 A Tax Bond is required (see attached bond forms. Questions about Tax Bonds? Please call 217-782-6045).

FEE: See below

Winery Shipper’s License Fees for Second-Class Wine Manufacturers:

 CLASS 1 (not to exceed 250,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $150.00

 CLASS 2 (not to exceed 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $500.00
 CLASS 3 (over 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $1,000.00

Winery Shipper’s License Fees for Second-Class Wine Manufacturers:

 CLASS 1 (not to exceed 250,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $150.00

 CLASS 2 (not to exceed 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $500.00
 CLASS 3 (over 500,000 gallons manufactured annually):		  $1,000.00



FOR OFFICE 
USE ONLY

DATE ISSUED

EXPIRATION DATE

LICENSE NO.

COUNTER 

APPLICANT - CORPORATE INFORMATION1.

Application for State of Illinois Winery Shipper’s Liquor License


If you want your renewal application, your license
certificate and other ILCC correspondence sent to
your “corporate” address, please check this box.
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D. ILLINOIS COUNTY
Enter the Illinois county where the sole proprietorship, corporation, etc. is located. If outside of Illinois, enter “out-of-state.”

E. NAME
Enter the name of the sole proprietorship (assumed name), partnership, corporation (Illinois, national, or foreign), or limited liability company in this 
box. NOTE: This name must be consistent with the name printed on your federal basic permit.

Enter the nine-digit Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) in the box below. You must have this number in order for a license to 
be issued. If you need to obtain an FEIN number, call 1-800-829-3676 for general information on how to apply and to obtain the forms you will need.  

B. FEDERAL EMPLOYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER (FEIN)

If applicable, enter your currrent Illinois Liquor License number in the box below. Current licensee: Please ensure all your brands/products are reg-
istered in the State of Illinois. If your brands are not properly registered, please complete the attached Registration Statement and attach copies of 
your federal label approvals. 

A. CURRENT ILLINOIS LIQUOR LICENSE NUMBER

ADDRESSF.
Enter the street address, city, state, and Zip Code of the sole proprietorship, corporation, etc..

ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE

ILLINOIS COUNTY (ENTER “OUT-OF-STATE” IF OUTSIDE ILLINOIS)

C. TELEPHONE
Enter the area code/telephone number/extension of the sole proprietorship, corporation, etc. 

AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO.

        EXT.

FEIN #

ILLINOIS BUSINESS TAX # (DO NOT FILL IN SPACE BELOW)

NAME

ILLINOIS LIQUOR LICENSE  # (IF APPLICABLE)



2. STATUS OF BUSINESS
Check the applicable box (assumed name/sole proprietorship, partnership, Illinois corporation, foreign corporation, limited liability company) which 
corresponds to your business’ official papers filed with the Office of the Secretary of State.
Based on the box that you check, provide the date of the filing of the sole proprietorship/assumed name with the county clerk; in the case of a co-
partnership, the date of formation of the partnership; in the case of an Illinois corporation, the date of its incorporation; in the case of a foreign cor-
poration, the foreign state where it was incorporated and the date, as well as the date of its becoming qualified under the “Business Corporation Act 
of 1983” to transact business in the State of Illinois; in the case of a limited partnership, the date of formation of such partnership; or in the case of a 
limited liability company, the date of formation of such entity.

3. OWNERSHIP INFORMATION
Provide the owner/officer/partner information in accordance with the business status described under Question 2. This information must be submitted 
for all owners/officers/partners.  The same information must be submitted for shareholders with interests equal to or exceeding 5%. 

The following information must be provided by every individual applicant, sole proprietor, partner, corporate officer, managing member, manager, 
or agent of the business, and any person owning equal to or more than 5% of the business. If additional space is needed, provide information on a 
separate sheet(s) in the same format as this application requires. All Not-for-profit organizations and associations must provide the requested 
information for all corporate officers, directors and managers.

Percentage ownership should equal 100%. If there are a number of owners with less than 5% ownership, indicate the aggregate total of ownership 
under E.

E. TOTAL PERCENTAGE OF ALL STOCK HELD BY ALL PERSONS WITH LESS THAN 5% INTEREST %
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A.

B.

C.

D.

       

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO. % OWNED

       

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO. % OWNED

       

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO. % OWNED

       

NAME (LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL) HOME ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP

SOCIAL SECURITY NO. DATE OF BIRTH SEX TITLE/POSITION AREA CODE/TELEPHONE NO. % OWNED

A.

C.
D.
E.

B.






ASSUMED NAME
PARTNERSHIP
ILLINOIS CORPORATION
FOREIGN CORPORATION
LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY

DATE FILED WITH COUNTY CLERK:
DATE OF FORMATION:
DATE OF INCORPORATION:

STATE OF INCORPORATION: DATE QUALIFIED TO DO BUSINESS IN IL:
DATE FORMED:



4. ELIGIBILITY QUESTIONS

6. SIGNATURE/TITLE/DATE
Please sign and date the application form and provide your title with the organization.  The application must be signed by an owner, an officer, a 
partner or an officially authorized agent of the business.  The signature must be an original, rubber stamps are not accepted.

I, THE UNDERSIGNED APPLICANT OR AUTHORIZED AGENT THEREOF, SWEAR OR AFFIRM THAT:  THE MATTERS STATED IN THE 
FOREGOING APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT;  THEY ARE MADE UPON MY PERSONAL KNOWLEDGE AND INFORMATION;  
THEY ARE MADE FOR THE PURPOSE OF REQUESTING THE STATE OF ILLINOIS TO ISSUE THE LICENSE HEREIN APPLIED FOR;  
THE APPLICANT IS QUALIFIED AND ELIGIBLE TO OBTAIN THE LICENSE APPLIED FOR;  AND THE APPLICANT WILL NOT VIOLATE 
ANY OF THE LAWS OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA OR THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, IN PARTICULAR, THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR 
CONTROL ACT, RULES AND REGULATIONS, AND THE CIVIL RIGHTS SECTIONS THEREOF. 

FURTHER, I AGREE TO NOTIFY THIS COMMISSION WITHIN 30 WORKING DAYS OF CHANGES IN ANY OF THE ABOVE INFOR-
MATION. (NOTE: IF THE PERSON SIGNING THIS APPLICATION IS NOT LISTED IN SECTION 3, THEY MUST PROVIDE THE STATE 
WITH THEIR PERSONAL INFORMATION AS INDICATED IN SECTION 3 EVEN IF THEY DO NOT OWN 5% OR MORE OF THE BUSI-

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT/AUTHORIZED AGENT TITLE/POSITION DATE
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5. ILLINOIS DEPT. OF REVENUE TAX REQUIREMENTS
Once your State of Illinois Winery Shipper’s License is issued, the Illinois Dept. of Revenue (IDOR) will be mailing you a Wine Shipper’s 
Tax form (RL-26-W). Once you receive this form, you will have the option of filing this tax return and paying the tax due via the IDOR 
Electronic Filing Program at www.tax.illinois.gov (this option is free-of-charge) OR by mail. If you have tax-related questions, please call 
217-782-6045.

These questions apply to the applicant and any other person listed under Section 3.  These questions must be answered.  If the ques-
tions are not checked, the application will be rejected.  If any question is checked “yes”, a written, detailed explanation is 
required and must be attached to this application.

ARE YOU DELINQUENT IN THE PAYMENT OF ANY ILLINOIS BUSINESS TAXES (SALES, WITHHOLDING, ETC.)?

HAVE YOU EVER APPLIED FOR AND BEEN DENIED A LIQUOR LICENSE?

HAVE YOU HAD ANY PREVIOUS LIQUOR LICENSE REVOKED?

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A FELONY?

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A GAMBLING OFFENSE AS DEFINED UNDER SECTION 5/6-2 OF THE 
ACT WHICH INCLUDES OFFENSES ENUMERATED IN 720 ILCS 5/28-1(a)1-11, “GAMBLING;” 720 ILCS 5/28-1.1(a)-
(d) “SYNDICATED GAMBLING;” AND 720 ILCS 5/28-3 “KEEPING A GAMBLING PLACE”?

YES NO

YES NO

YES NO

YES NO

YES NO

4-5

4-7

4-8

4-9

4-10

HAVE YOU RECEIVED OR BORROWED MONEY OR ANYTHING OF VALUE DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY FROM ANY 
OTHER LICENSEES, REPRESENTATIVES OF A LICENSEE, OR SUPPLIERS OF ALCOHOLIC PRODUCTS?

IF OPERATING AS A SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP OR A PARTNERSHIP, ARE YOU OR YOUR PARTNER(S) CUR-
RENTLY NOT CITIZENS OF THE UNITED STATES OR RESIDENT ALIENS WITH LEGAL STATUS?

YES NO

YES NO

4-12

4-13

ARE YOU, OR ANY OTHER PERSON WITH A DIRECT INTEREST IN YOUR PLACE OF BUSINESS, A PUBLIC 
OFFICIAL OR  LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICIAL IN THE SAME JURISDICTION AS THE LICENSE?

YES NO4-11

YES NO4-4

HAVE YOU FAILED OR NEGLECTED TO REGISTER WITH THE FEDERAL TAX & TRADE BUREAU (TTB)? IF 
SO, PLEASE CONTACT THE TTB AT 800-937-8864 OR 513-684-2979.

HAVE YOU FAILED OR NEGLECTED TO REGISTER WITH THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 
ALL BRANDS/PRODUCTS MADE OR DIRECTLY SHIPPED INTO ILLINOIS?

DO YOU PRODUCE MORE THAN 25,000 GALLONS OF WINE PER YEAR? (no written explanation necessary)

YES NO

YES NO

4-1

4-2

4-3

YES NO

HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A VIOLATION OF ANY FEDERAL OR STATE LAW CONCERNING THE 
MANUFACTURE, POSSESSION, OR SALE OF ALCOHOLIC LIQUOR, SUBSEQUENT TO THE PASSAGE OF 
THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL ACT OR HAVE YOU FORFEITED YOUR BOND TO APPEAR IN COURT TO 
ANSWER CHARGES FOR ANY SUCH VIOLATION?

YES NO4-6 HAVE YOU EVER BEEN DENIED QUALIFICATION UNDER THE BUSINESS CORPORATION ACT OF 1983 TO 
TRANSACT BUSINESS IN ILLINOIS?

ARE YOU THE ACTUAL MANUFACTURER OF THE PRODUCT(S) DESCRIBED HEREIN?YES NO4-14



Printed on Recycled Paper
IL 567-0014 (01/2007)

Registration Statement
(Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 235)

TO THE ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

Pursuant to the requirement of Section 5/6-9 of the Illinois Liquor Control Act the undersigned, a

(Insert -- Manufacturer, Distributor, Importing Distributor, or Non-resident Dealer)

does hereby register with said Commission the following named persons or companies as being the only ones to whom the 
undersigned has granted the right to sell or distribute at wholesale within the State of Illinois, one or more of those alcoholic 
liquors which bear trade-marks, brands or names owned or controlled by the undersigned.  The undersigned does hereby 
further register opposite the name of said persons or companies, the respective trademarks, brands or names, owned or 
controlled by the undersigned, concerning which said persons have been given such distributing rights and the rspective 
geographical territories for which such distributing rights have been given to said persons or companies, and the period of 
time for which such rights are granted to such person.

NAME, ADDRESS, CITY, STATE AND 
ZIP CODE OF WHOLESALER

TRADE-MARK BRAND, OR 
NAME OF ITEM

GEOGRAPHICAL
TERRITORY

TIME
PERIOD

CORPORATE NAME:

ADDRESS:

SIGNED BY:

DATE:

STATE LICENSE # EXP. DATE

(Street Number)

(City or Town)

(Title)

   This state agency is requesting disclosure of infor-
mation that is necessary to accomplish the statutory 
purpose as outlined under the Illinois Liquor Control 
Act, Ch. 235, Ill. Comp. Stat., 5/6-9.  Disclosure of this 
information is MANDATORY.	   
   Failure to provide any information will result in nonis-
suance of your license and/or nonregistration of your 
products.  This form has been approved by the Forms 
Management Center.

IMPORTANT NOTICE



SELF-DISTRIBUTION EXEMPTION
(for in-state and out-of-state wineries)

TYPE OR PRINT INFORMATION

APPLICANT’S NAME (Individual or Corporation)				    FEIN #

BUSINESS NAME (DBA) BUSINESS PHONE

BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP

(        )

PRINT FULL NAME OF APPLICANT SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT DATE

Printed on Recycled PaperIL 095-0634-1 (04/08)

Illinois Liquor Control 
Commission

Pat Quinn
Governor

100 W. RANDOLPH ST.
SUITE 7-801 
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60601
TELEPHONE: 312-814-2206
FAX:	 312-814-2241
TDD:	 312-814-1844

ILLINOIS LIQUOR LICENSE  #  (IF APPLICABLE)

I do hereby agree, if asked, that I will provide the following information to the Illinois Liquor Control 

Commission:

a)	 Date business was established;

b)	 Volume of production of sales for each year since business was established;

c)	 Explanation of our efforts to establish distributor relationships;

d)	 Explanation for the need to obtain a self-distribution exemption to facilitate the marketing of wine;

I do hereby swear or affrim that I will comply with the liquor and revenue laws of the United States, 

Illinois, and any other state where I am licensed; I am not a member of any affiliated group that 

produces more than 25,000 gallons of wine per year or produces any other alcholic liquor; and I will 

not annually produce more than 25,000 gallons of wine per year and will not annually sell more than 

5,000 gallons of wine to retail licensees.



REG-4-D-I (N-04/13)

Part 1: Financial institution letter of credit bond type 
and number
Line a, Bond type - The bond type must match the tax type for 
which the bond is being issued.

Line b, Financial institution irrevocable letter of credit number -
This number is assigned by the financial institution and must be 
present on the bond.

Line c, Bond amount - The amount of bond coverage must be 
entered on this line.

Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information
Taxpayer - The name and address must be identical to the 
information that you have registered with us. The address must be 
the physical location of your business; mailing addresses, PO Boxes, 
and other addresses are not acceptable.

Financial institution - The name and address of the financial 
institution executing the bond must be present.

Part 3: Effective and maturity date of bond
Effective date - This is the date the bond coverage will begin.

Maturity date - This is the date on which the letter of credit will 
mature.

Part 4: Bond conditions
The letter of credit must be written for a minimum of one year and 
be automatically renewable for successive one-year periods unless 
we receive written notice of cancellation 30 days prior to the maturity 
date.

Part 5: Financial institution officer information
Name, title, and signature - These lines must be completed by the 
financial institution officer authorizing the letter of credit.

Part 6: Financial institution seal
Financial institution seal - An official seal must be affixed in Part 
6. If the financial institution does not have an official seal, a letter, 
on financial institution letterhead, stating that the financial institution 
does not have an official seal must accompany the letter of credit.

What is required for Form REG-4-D?
All signatures and seals must be original. We will not accept copies, 
faxes, etc., as proof of bond coverage. Duplicate originals must 
be marked as such and must meet the same requirements as the 
original bond form.

If any of the above requirements are not met, we will not accept the 
bond and it will be returned for correction.

Where do I send my Form REG-4-D?
Mail your completed Form REG-4-D with any required attachments 
to us at	

		  CENTRAL REGISTRATION DIVISION 3-222
		  ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
		  PO BOX 19039
		  SPRINGFIELD IL 62794-9039

If you have questions regarding Form REG-4-D, visit our website at 
tax.illinois.gov or call us weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. 
at 217 558-7425.

Specific Instructions

General Information
Who must submit a bond?
Form REG-4-D, Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit 
Bond, or Form REG-4-A, Financial Responsibility Bond, is required 
to complete your registration to be licensed as a

Note: International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) carriers may be 
required to obtain a bond. 

You must complete either Form REG-4-D or Form REG-4-A to 
obtain a bond. You will not be issued a certificate of registration and 
cannot be legally registered to do business in Illinois until we receive 
your bond.

How do I obtain a bond using Form REG-4-D?
You must provide Form REG-4-D to the financial institution that 
will be providing your bond. A separate bond is required for each 
location.

•	 cigarette distributor
•	 cigarette machine operator
•	 liquor distributor
•	 direct wine shipper
•	 liquor airline

•	 tobacco products distributor
•	 motor fuel distributor
•	 motor fuel supplier 
•	 motor fuel receiver



Part 1: Financial responsibility bond type and number
a Bond type:

b Financial responsibility bond number:________________________

Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information
We, __________________________________________________________________________________   (as principal)
           Taxpayer's name and address

and

__________________________________________________________________________________   (as surety)
             Name and address of surety

are bound to the people of the State of Illinois in the penal sum of $_________________.    We hereby bind ourselves, our
heirs, executors, administrators, successors, and assigns to the payment of this amount.

The condition of this bond is that if the principal (taxpayer) identified above, who has applied for the tax responsibility
(bond type) identified above, in Part 1, pays to the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) all amounts becoming due from the
principal (taxpayer) under this law, then the bond will become void; otherwise, the bond will remain in full force.

The surety identified above may conditionally cancel this bond at any time by filing a written notice with IDOR by registered or
certified mail within        days. However, the surety is not discharged from any liability previously accrued under this bond or that
may accrue before the  days expires.

Part 3: Financial responsibility bond signatures and seal requirements
We have signed and sealed this bond on  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __, to be effective  __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __.
You must attach a power of attorney.

       (Principal's seal)          (Surety's seal)

_______________________________________________ _________________________________________________
 Principal's (taxpayer) signature  Surety's signature

_______________________________________________ _________________________________________________
      Attorney-in-fact's signature

_______________________________________________  Countersigned by
       President's or co-partner's signature

_______________________________________________ _________________________________________________
       Corporate secretary's signature  Agent for surety

_________________________________________________
 Number and street

_________________________________________________
 City                                                                           State            ZIP

For official use only

Date approved: __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __ _________________________________________________
                              Month    Day            Year  IDOR Director's signature

License number:________________________________

REG-4-A (R-01-04)
IL-492-2364

Financial Responsibility Bond

Illinois Department of Revenue

REG-4-A



Part 1: Financial institution letter of credit bond type and number
a Bond type:

b Financial institution irrevocable letter of credit number:_________________________

c Bond amount: $____________________________

Part 2: Taxpayer and financial institution information
Taxpayer:                           Financial institution:

_______________________________________________ _________________________________________________
Name Name

_______________________________________________ _________________________________________________
Street address Street address

_______________________________________________ _________________________________________________
City                                                            State                       ZIP  City                                                            State                          ZIP

Part 3: Effective and maturity date of bond

Effective date: ____/____/________ Maturity date: ____/____/________
                                         Month  Day    Year                                                                                        Month  Day     Year

Part 4: Bond conditions
If the taxpayer identified above, in Part 2, fails to pay the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) all moneys, including penalties and
interest, due under this bond type's tax act, IDOR is authorized to draw drafts on demand against this irrevocable letter of credit.
The sum of this irrevocable letter of credit cannot exceed the bond amount above, in Part 1, and drafts drawn against it are
payable on demand. This letter of credit is issued for a period of one year and will be renewed automatically for successive one year
periods unless IDOR receives a written notice of cancellation 30 days prior to the maturity date.

Part 5: Financial institution officer information
The undersigned officer of the financial institution identified above,  in Part 2 is duly authorized by the Board of Directors to execute
this irrevocable letter of credit; and this financial institution will honor all drafts on demand. The name of the authorized financial
institution officer, title and signature are required.

Name:________________________________________ Title: ____________________________________________

Signature:____________________________________________________________________________

Part 6: Financial institution seal
The official seal of the financial institution must be affixed below.

For official use only

Date approved: __ __/__ __/__ __ __ __ _________________________________________________
                              Month    Day        Year   IDOR Director's signature

License number:_____________________________

Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit Bond

Illinois Department of Revenue
REG-4-D

REG-4-D (R-01/04)
IL-492-3272
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