
You can be convicted of a CLASS A 
MISDEMEANOR punishable by up to  
one year in jail and fines up to $2,500 
FOR ANY OF THE FOLLOWING:

•   Lending a license or state ID to a friend or knowingly 
allowing someone (such as a younger sibling) to use it.

•   Displaying or representing as one’s own any driver’s 
license or ID card issued to another person.

•   Possessing a fictitious driver’s license or identification card 
(“fictitious” means a license containing untrue information 
produced by the Illinois Secretary of State or another 
state/federal government office).

•   Possessing, transferring or providing any identification 
document, whether real or fictitious, for the purpose of 
obtaining a fictitious identification card or driver’s license.

•  Altering or attempting to alter any driver’s license or state ID. 

•   Any subsequent conviction of the above is a Class 4 felony. 

You can be convicted of a CLASS 4 
FELONY punishable by one to three 
years imprisonment and fines up to 
$25,000 FOR ANY OF THE FOLLOWING:

•   Possessing a fraudulent Illinois driver’s license or ID card 
(“fraudulent” means a license or ID card produced by 
someone other than a government office).

•   Possessing security equipment to reproduce a 
governmental issued identification card or driver’s license. 

•   Advertising, distributing, manufacturing, or selling a 
fraudulent driver’s license.

•   Any subsequent conviction of the aforementioned is a 
Class 3 felony punishable by up to seven years in prison 
and fines of up to $25,000.

IT IS ILLEGAL  to assist in obtaining 
or to fraudulently obtain, distribute, use, 
or possess a fraudulent state ID card or 
driver’s license. Your driving privileges 
can be suspended for up to one year or 
revoked for a minimum of one year for 
any of the offenses described here.

The State of Illinois has the discretionary authority to 

suspend or revoke driving privileges without a conviction 

of any person who violates the laws governing fake driver’s 

licenses and state ID cards, or from anyone caught in 

possession of another person’s driver’s license or  

state ID card.
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To find out more, visit: www.DontBeSorry.org
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