
Sale of Tobacco To Minors Act  
(720 ILCS 675/1)
No minor under 18 years of age shall buy any tobacco product. 
No person shall sell, buy for, distribute samples of or furnish 
any tobacco product to any minor under 18 years of age. No 
sales clerk under 16 years of age may sell any tobacco product 
at retail. This does not apply to a sales clerk in a family-owned 
business which can prove that the sales clerk is a son or 
daughter of the owner. No minor under 18 years of age can 
use or facilitate the use of a false or forged identification to 
obtain any tobacco product. Non-tobacco products, except 
matches, together with tobacco products cannot be sold within 
a vending machine. Tobacco products may be sold through a 
vending machine only in the following locations:

      1.   Places to which minors under 18 years of age 
are not permitted access.

      2.   Places where alcoholic beverages are sold 
and consumed on the premises and vending 
machine operation is under the direct 
supervision of the owner or manager.

      3.   Places where the vending machine can only 
be operated by the owner or an employee 
over the age of 18 either directly or through 
a remote control device if the device is 
inaccessible to all customers.

The sale or distribution at no charge of cigarettes from a lunch 
wagon engaging in any sales activity within 1,000 feet of any 
elementary or secondary school grounds is prohibited. Lunch 
wagon means a mobile vehicle designed to transport food and 
sell food to the general public.

Illinois laws regulate the distribution, sale and taxation of tobacco products.  
In addition to state minimum-age tobacco laws, many municipal governments have 
enacted tobacco laws and retailers are encouraged to solicit this information from 
their local officials. The Illinois Liquor Control Commission distributes this summarized 
fact-sheet and the text does not reflect the Acts in their entirety. If you have any 
questions please contact the Commission at 312.814.6884.

The sale or distribution of a tobacco product, including but 
not limited to a single or loose cigarette, that is not contained 
within a sealed container, pack, or package as provided by the 
manufacturer which bears the health warning required by law  
is prohibited.

PENALTY: Any person who violates any  
provision of this Act is guilty of a petty offense  
and for the first offense shall be fined $200,  
$400 for the second offense in a 12-month  
period, and $600 for the third and any  
subsequent offense in a 12-month period. 

Display of Tobacco Products Act  
(720 ILCS 677/1-20)
All single packs of cigarettes must be  
sold from behind the counter or in an  
age-restricted area or in a sealed display  
case. Any other tobacco products must be  
sold in line of sight. These restrictions  
do not apply to a retail tobacco store  
that derives at least 90% of its revenue  
from tobacco and tobacco related products  
or does not permit persons under the age of  
18 to enter the premises unless accompanied by a  
parent or legal guardian and posts a sign on the main entrance 
way stating this restriction.
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Prevention of Cigarette Sales to  
Minors Act (720 ILCS 678/1-10)
It is unlawful for any person engaged in the business of selling 
cigarettes to ship any cigarettes unless the person shipping the 
cigarettes: is licensed as a distributor or delivers the cigarettes 
to a distributor or ships them to an export warehouse 
proprietor or an operator of a customs bonded warehouse.

A carrier may transport cigarettes to any person only if the 
carrier reasonably believes such cigarettes have been received 
from a person described above. Nothing shall be construed 
to prohibit a person other than a carrier from transporting not 
more than 1,000 cigarettes at any one time to any person. A 
carrier may not complete the delivery of cigarettes to persons 
other than those described above without first obtaining from 
the purchaser an official identification that includes a reliable 
confirmation that the purchaser is at least 18 years of age; the 
cigarettes are not intended for consumption by a minor under 
18 years of age; and a signed written statement that certifies 
the purchaser’s address and age. The statement shall also 
confirm that the purchaser understands that signing another 
person’s name; that the sale of cigarettes to minors under 18 
years of age; and that the purchase of cigarettes by minors 
under 18 years of age is illegal.

When a person engaged in the business of selling cigarettes 
ships to any person in this State, other than in the cigarette 
manufacturer’s original container, the container must be visibly 
marked with the word “cigarettes”.

A person who violates this Act is guilty of a Class A 
misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation is a Class 4 
felony. The Department of Revenue shall impose a civil penalty 
not to exceed $5,000. 

Smokeless Tobacco Limitation Act  
(720 ILCS 680/3-4)
No person shall sell any smokeless tobacco product to any 
person under the age of 18. 

Penalty: Any person who violates this Section shall be guilty  
of a business offense punishable by a fine of not more than 
$50 for each violation. 

No person shall distribute or cause to be distributed to any 
person under the age of 18, without charge or at a normal 
cost, any smokeless tobacco product. 

Penalty: Any person who violates this Section shall be guilty 
of a business offense punishable for a first offense by a fine 
of $200, for a second time in a 12-month period by a fine of 

$400, and for the third or subsequent offense in a 12-month 
period by a fine of $600. 

Tobacco Accessories and Smoking Herbs 
Control Act (720 ILCS 685/4)
No person shall knowingly sell, barter, exchange, deliver, or 
give away or cause or permit or procure to be sold, bartered, 
exchanged, delivered, given away tobacco accessories or 
smoking herbs to any person under 18 years of age; or bidi 
cigarettes to any person regardless of age. Any person, firm, 
partnership, company or corporation operating a place of 
business where tobacco accessories and smoking herbs are 
sold or offered for sale shall post in a conspicuous place upon 
the premises a sign upon which there shall be imprinted the 
following statement: 

 “ SALE OF TOBACCO ACCESSORIES AND SMOKING 
HERBS TO PERSONS UNDER EIGHTEEN YEARS OF AGE 
OR THE MISREPRESENTATION OF AGE TO PROCURE 
SUCH A SALE IS PROHIBITED BY LAW.”

The sign shall be printed on a white card in red letters at least 
one-half inch in height.

Penalty: Any person who shall knowingly violate, or shall 
knowingly cause the violation this Act shall be guilty of a Class 
C misdemeanor or fines of $100 – $1,000 depending on which 
section is violated.

Cigarette Health Warning Act  
(ILCS 410 85/4)
No person may sell or offer to sell cigarettes at retail, or  
sell cigarettes at retail using a cigarette vending machine,  
unless a sign is posted in a conspicuous place with the  
following message: 

 “ SURGEON GENERAL’S WARNING: SMOKING BY 
PREGNANT WOMEN MAY RESULT IN FETAL INJURY, 
PREMATURE BIRTH, AND LOW BIRTH WEIGHT.”

The sign shall be printed on white cards in red letters at least 
one-half inch in height.

Penalty: Failure to display a warning sign as required by  
this Act is a business offense for which a fine not to exceed  
$1,000 may be imposed. Each day of failure to display a  
warning sign as required by this Act constitutes a  
separate offense.

This message is brought to you by The Illinois Liquor Control Commission  Telephone: 312.814.6884


