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Every day, nearly 4000 kids try their first cigarette. Over a quarter of them
will become addicted before they are old enough to realize the risks. To

reduce youth access to tobacco and its devastating long-term effects, the State
of Illinois and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) began
partnering on a new inspection program earlier this year.

As part of the program, Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC) tobacco
compliance specialists are currently inspecting tobacco retail establishments to
ensure they comply with federal regulations. During their visits, these specialists will
be reviewing tobacco self-service displays, advertising, labeling, and other items (including whether
flavored tobacco products are being sold). 

Starting in September 2012, these label inspections will include checking the FDA's first required
change in cigarette warnings in more than 25 years. The new labels will feature larger, more
prominent health warnings on all cigarette packaging and advertisements in the United States. 

According to the FDA, these new warnings are a significant advancement in communicating the
dangers of smoking.  In addition, as they have in the past, minors will continue to test retailers by
attempting to buy cigarettes from Illinois tobacco retailers.

Take our tobacco quiz on page 3!

New FDA program targets tobacco sales to minors in Illinois
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SAVE THE DATE! See back page for CTS11 details…

The Tobacco Retailer Kit is designed to provide additional support for community leaders and
retailers in their effort to ensure tobacco products are not sold to those under 18 years of age.

The kits includes a review of state minimum-age tobacco laws, federal regulations, required signage,
training guides for managers and clerks on age verification techniques, and various point-of-sale
posters that bring a humorous tone to the issue of age verification.

To order your FREE kit, please visit the Commission's “Kids Can’t Buy ‘em Here!” website at
http://www.state.il.us/lcc/tobacco/orderkit.htm. 

Order your tobacco retailer kit today! 
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“To protect the health, safety and welfare of the people of Illinois.” These are the opening

words of the Illinois Liquor Control Commission’s (ILCC) mission statement. It’s a simple

phrase, but one that comes with enormous responsibility.

Its meaning can easily be placed into the background during the rush of a busy work day. But it

jumps to the forefront all too often…when a drunk-driver takes an innocent life, when a

teenager buys a six-pack with a fake ID, when a college student gets alcohol poisoning.

All of these scenarios can be prevented, and this issue of ILCC News serves as a good illustration

on how the Liquor Commission plays a key role in these prevention efforts. 

On page 4, you will learn about our extensive underage compliance check operation. We list the

new Beverage Alcohol Sellers/Servers Education & Training (BASSET) providers on page 5 who

have come on line in just the past year. Over 200 BASSET providers train sellers and servers in

the state, and we shine a spotlight on Creative Hospitality Associates to demostrate how

important their work is in protecting Illinois residents and visitors.

To ensure our retailers are operating safely, the Office of the State Fire Marshal provides some

important information on page 6, regarding the sale of fireworks and novelty lighters. Should one

of your employees become injured on the job, page 7 lists your legal responsibilities regarding

workers’ compensation insurance. 

The Commission is also responsible for reducing youth access to tobacco products. Our cover

story describes how our new partnership with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration is designed

to reduce youth access to tobacco. Make sure you take the quiz on page 3 to test your knowledge

on minimum-age tobacco laws. 

Finally, risky alcohol use by college students is an age-old problem, one

with an immeasurable effect on our state’s future leaders. The Liquor

Commission has again called upon key stakeholders to undertake the

daunting task of reducing college-age alcohol abuse by hosting our 3rd

Annual College Town Summit. If you are a college town official, please

turn to our back page for registration information. 

Sincerely,

Gloria L. Materre, Executive Director

Illinois Liquor Control Commission

ILLINOIS LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION



On June 1, the new Craft Brewer’s License was created,
allowing small breweries throughout the United States to

sell their product directly to Illinois retailers. A craft brewer is a
manufacturer of less than 465,000  gallons of beer per year.
Those approved for a Craft Brewer’s License can distribute up to
232,500 gallons of their product to retailers.

An application for the new Craft Brewer’s License can be found
on the Illinois Liquor Control Commission’s home page
www.state.il.us/LCC. If you have any questions regarding this
license, please call 312-814-2206.  
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NEW! Craft Brewer’s License

FREE
cashmat available

All valid “Under 21” IDs are now in a vertical format.
The Illinois Liquor Control Commission’s popular
15x10-inch countertop cashmat, to be displayed
wherever alcohol is sold, includes a representation of all
current underage ID cards.

Also included is a listing of penalties on BOTH the
seller and customer. Remember, it’s a 2-way street; remind
your employees and patrons that alcohol purchased for
underage consumption has consequences! 

To order your FREE cashmat, please visit the Liquor
Commission’s website at www.state.il.us/LCC/mat.asp.

If your establishment sells tobacco, you play a critical role in keeping cigarettes out of the hands of children. To ensure you and your
employees perform this role legally and effectively, please answer the following true or false statements (feel free to make copies of this

page for your employees):

1.   � True � False It is illegal for retailers to sell candy- or fruit-flavored cigarettes.

2.   � True � False You can sell a t-shirt which includes a particular tobacco brand or logo.

3.   � True � False Retailers are required to check the ID of anyone under the age 27 who attempts to buy tobacco products. 

4.   � True � False Retailers are prohibited from giving away free samples of cigarettes.

5.  � True � False A child of any age can purchase tobacco products as long as they provide a signed note from a parent (or legal guardian)

indicating the product is for adult use only. 

6.   � True � False Retailers can sell single cigarettes.  

7. � True � False Minor “decoys” will attempt to buy cigarettes at Illinois licensed retailers.  

Answers to questions at bottom of page 7. Also, to learn more about tobacco laws, please see the box at the bottom of the front cover to
order the “Kids Can’t Buy ‘em Here!” retailer kit.

Take our tobacco quiz
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The following is one in a continuing series of articles designed to explore

how liquor establishments employ Beverage Alcohol Sellers/Servers

Education & Training (BASSET) to further their business goals. In this

issue, we take a closer look at licensed BASSET provider Creative
Hospitality Associates and their FAST program.

The Fundamental Alcohol Safety Training (FAST) program was
created by individuals who are experienced in the food and
beverage industry and are professional educators. The principals of
Creative Hospitality Associates (CHA), a Chicago-based
consulting and hospitality training organization, have utilized their
experience and industry knowledge to highlight the importance of
serving alcohol responsibly – yet profitably.

Just as hospitality business owners require their servers to wear
safety shoes and uniforms as well as exhibit proper hygiene, CHA
staff believe the knowledge to responsibly serve alcohol should be
a condition of employment. While FAST is directed toward all
who work in establishments where liquor is served, it is most

beneficial to those directly responsible for serving alcoholic
beverages to guests. 

The FAST curriculum was designed specifically to include
discussion and input from students in the class. For example,
participants share their own life experiences as it relates to the
serving of alcohol in the workplace. This interaction is
invaluable as all servers will likely have to face some unpleasant
situations when a few drinks become too many. During the
training, discussions ultimately break out between class
participants and the FAST trainer, with the end result being all
will be better prepared to deal with the consequences of a guest’s
alcohol misuse.

In addition to providing BASSET-required information on the
penalities and consequences of underage drinking, FAST trainers
also discuss emergency evacuation plans and what should be done
in a case of emergency. Other discussions center on acceptable
standards of practice for serving alcoholic beverages. 

ILCC News Summer 2011

BASSET trainers you should know…

Did you get stung this summer? 

No, not by a bumble-bee, but by the Illinois Liquor Control
Commission’s (ILCC) underage compliance check operation

—often referred to as a sting operation. If you haven’t received a
visit yet, chances are you will see an ILCC special agent
accompanied by a minor before the leaves turn color this fall.

The ILCC’s compliance check operation features teenagers
attempting to purchase alcohol from Illinois liquor-licensed
retailers throughout the state. Those establishments cited for

selling to minors are subject to a fine, suspension, or revocation of
their liquor license (see the “Latest News” section at the lower-
right of our home page www.state.il.us/LCC for the monthly listing
of establishments cited for violations).

Additionally, those individuals who sell to minors are arrested and

subject to a Class A Misdemeanor (minimum $500.00 fine). "Our

agents take the responsibility of protecting the public seriously," says

Illinois Department of Revenue Tax Enforcement Administrator

John Chambers, who oversees the ILCC special agents.

“While the retailers we tested had nearly an 80 percent

compliance rate with underage drinking laws this past fiscal year

(July 2010-June 2011), our goal is higher. We are continually

making adjustments to meet this challenge." 

ILCC special agents will continue visiting liquor establishments

with minors until Illinois receives a 100 percent compliance

rate. One way to avoid getting stung is by enrolling all your staff

in a Beverage Alcohol Seller/Server Education & Training

(BASSET) class. To learn more about BASSET—and to find a

class near you—please visit the web at www.state.il.us/LCC/basset.

If you have additonal questions, please contact BASSET Manager

Lee Roupas at 312-814-0773 or lee.roupas@illinois.gov.

Selling to minors is against the law

n
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CHA strongly believes that – with management cooperation at
the workplace and the participants’ own skills – FAST training
will provide the following knowledge to all who attend a class:

•  How to help to create a comfortable atmosphere for all
the your guests;

•  How to “control” the environment of social drinking;

•  How to influence aspects of drinking so servers can
encourage responsible drinking;

•  How to resolve bad or potentially troubling situations;

•  incorporate the serv e s  skills and
knowledge in a meaningful and profitable way.

By arming students with the above knowledge, CHA is confident
that students who complete the FAST class can then make sure
their guests realize the ramifications of abusing alcohol from a
physical, moral and legal standpoint.

For more information about the FAST alcohol training program, 

please visit CHA’s website at www.chaconsulting.net.

ILCC News Summer 2011

JULY 2010
Karasotes Showplace Theatres

AUGUST 2010
Breaking Free
Bensenville Police Department
Sheraton Chicago

OCTOBER 2010
Backyard Bar & Grill

NOVEMBER 2010
Winnebago County
Elite Bartending

DECEMBER 2010
Westmoreland County Club

JANUARY 2011
Heroes West
Medieval Times

FEBRUARY 2011
United Security Services
Forest Park Police Department

MARCH 2011
Prairie Management Institute
Monical Pizza
Coalition for Healthy  

Communities
Illinois Bartending Academy

APRIL 2011
Bonnie Paganis

MAY 2011
Community Partners 

Against Substance Abuse
Rock Island Food Service

JUNE 2011
Crystal Lake Police Department
Premier Tastings

FY 2011 newly licensed BASSET providers

How to ic ’
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There is a lot of confusion as to what fireworks can be sold at
Illinois retail businesses.  The Office of the State Fire Marshal

(OSFM) is in charge of regulating fireworks, and is providing the
below information as a guide so you can stay within the law. 

The Fireworks Use Act specifically excludes “novelty” items from
the definition of regulated (or “consumer”) fireworks. Novelty
fireworks that are permitted for sale and use include snake or glow

worm pellets; smoke devices; trick noisemakers (known as party

poppers, booby traps, snappers, trick matches, cigarette loads, and auto

burglar alarms); sparklers; toy pistols, toy canes, toy guns; or other
devices in which paper or plastic caps containing twenty-five
hundredths (0.25) grains or less of explosive compound are used.

However, the Fireworks Use Act states that “a municipality may,
by ordinance, prohibit the sale and use of sparklers on public
property” so please check with your local jurisdiction first before
selling or using sparklers.

The OSFM maintains a list of approved consumer fireworks on
their website: www.state.il.us/osfm (click on the “Commercial” tab
then “Pyrotechnics/Fireworks”). 

Consumer items that are prohibited for sale and use in Illinois
include (but are not limited to) the following: hand held
fireworks, bottle rockets, firecrackers of any size or type, sky
rockets, roman candles, chasers, buzz bombs, ground items (other
than those identified as “Approved Consumer Fireworks” on the
OSFM website), helicopters, missiles, pin wheels (or any other
twirling device whether on the ground or mounted above the
ground), and planes.

Novelty lighter ban

With the passage of the Retail Sale and Distribution of Novelty

Lighters Prohibition Act last year, it is now illegal to sell or
distribute for retail “novelty lighters.” Failure to comply with this
prohibition could result in legal enforcement actions and a fine not
to exceed $500 for each day of noncompliance.

What is a novelty lighter? The types banned by the Act include a
mechanical or electric device typically used for lighting cigarettes,
cigars, or pipes that is designed to resemble a cartoon character,
toy, gun, watch, musical instrument, vehicle, animal, food or
beverage, or similar articles. Additionally, lighters that play
musical notes, have flashing lights, or other similar entertaining
features are also banned. A novelty lighter may operate on any
fuel, including butane, isobutene, or liquid fuel.

Please note that standard disposable and refillable lighters (for example,
those printed or decorated with logos, labels, decals, or artwork, or
heat-shrinkable sleeves) will continue to be allowed for sale.

Questions?

The majority of questions you may have about fireworks and
lighters can be answered by visiting the OSFM's website at
www.state.il.us/osfm.  For any other questions, please call
217-785-0969 and be specific with your questions so we can direct
you to the proper person.

Thank you for helping to keep Illinois safe!

ILCC News Summer 2011

Fireworks and Novelty Items

From the State Fire Marshal’s Office
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If you have employees, even one employee, the law requires you
to carry workers’ compensation insurance. There are a few

exceptions, but overall, it’s estimated that 91  of Illinois
employees are covered under the Illinois Workers' Compensation
Act.

Employers that fail to provide workers’ compensation insurance for
their employees have an unfair competitive advantage over law-
abiding companies, while leaving their employees vulnerable if an
accident should occur.  The Workers’ Compensation Commission
searches for uninsured employers to keep the playing field fair.  

Failure to obtain insurance may result in penalties, work-stop
orders, and/or criminal charges.  In recent years, employers have
paid $5 million in fines, and several employers have been shut
down for failure to carry workers’ comp insurance.

Every employer must post a notice in every workplace that lists
basic information on workers’ comp and includes the payer’s
contact information. Download this notice at
www.iwcc.il.gov/forms.htm (click on “Other forms”).

For more information, please contact your attorney or insurance
agent, or go to the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission’s
website. You can check the online database for employers’
coverage and read Frequently Asked Questions about workers'
comp insurance at www.iwcc.il.gov/insurance.htm

ILCC News Summer 2011

Answers to tobacco quiz on page 3

1)  True. In 2009, cigarettes featuring a candy or fruit
flavor were banned.

2)  False. In 2010, the FDA outlawed the sale or
distribution of items – such as hats and t-shirts –
with tobacco brands or logos.

3)  True. Federal regulations require retailers to verify
the age of anyone under the age of 27 attempting to
buy tobacco products.

4)  True. Distributing free samples is illegal.

5)  False. It is ALWAYS illegal for anyone under the
age of 18 to purchase tobacco products.

6)  False. Selling single cigarettes – often called loosies

or onesies – was outlawed in 2009. 

7)  True. The Commission will continue to conduct
underage compliance checks. During these operations,
retailers will be observed as to whether they sell
tobacco to a minor, request proper identification, sell
prohibited flavored cigarettes, sell individual
cigarettes, and has self-service displays (like vending
machines) which can be accessed by minors. 

Do you have workers' compensation insurance?

Order your FREE ILCC materials today!

The following FREE Liquor Commission materials are available to all
licensees by visiting our home page www.state.il.us/LCC and clicking on the
“Industry Education Materials” link, located on the right side of the screen: 

•  Illinois Liquor Control Act and ILCC/BASSET Rules and Regulations.

•  “Happy Hour Law” and “Just the Facts” fliers.
•  Alcohol “Proof of Age” and “Pregnancy Warning” signs.
•  Past ILCC News newsletters.

•  "ID Checking Guide" order form.

percent
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CHAMPAIGN, IL

To address alcohol-related issues unique to college
communities, the Illinois Liquor Control Commission

(ILCC) will host the 2011 College Town Summit (CTS11) on
Wed, October 19. The CTS11 Steering Committee—featuring key
stakeholders representing all sectors of Illinois’ college town and
higher education communities—have been hard at work over the
past year designing a format and agenda allowing for all attendees
to have their voice heard.

CTS11 attendees will include elected officials, law enforcement
personnel, school administrators, prevention professionals, and
other key individuals in the college towns. They will explore best
practices through roundtable discussions and share ideas on how
state, local, and school officials can work together to effectively
control underage drinking and the overconsumption of alcohol in
the college towns.

The cost to attend CTS11 is FREE, but space is limited, so
register early to reserve your seat at the table! Please visit
www.DontBeSorry.org/summit.htm for the registration form. For
more information, please contact ILCC Education Manager
Ted Penesis at 312-814-4802 or ted.penesis@illinois.gov.

ILCC News Summer 2011

3rd Annual College Town Summit set for October 19


