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More retailers have the “right stuff”

More retailers throughout the state have saved 
some cash — and maybe their liquor license 

too — based on the latest results of the Illinois 
Liquor Control Commission’s (ILCC) underage 
compliance check operations. These operations, 
conducted by ILCC special agents in conjunction 
with state and local law enforcement, feature 
teenagers attempting to purchase alcohol from 
Illinois-licensed liquor retailers.

Over the past year, the compliance rate for retailers 
has jumped dramatically. For example, 87.6 percent 
of retailers passed the underage checks during 
the most recent four-month period available at 
press time (Oct. 2009-Jan. 2010), while only 75.1 

percent passed these checks during a comparable period just one year earlier (Oct. 2008-Jan. 2009).

“We are very pleased with these latest figures,” says John Chambers, who, as tax enforcement 
administrator for the Illinois Department of Revenue, oversees the ILCC agent staff. “Our agents are 
very committed to this program and would rather see compliance 
than issue a citation.”

Those establishments found in violation during these checks are 
subject to a fine, suspension, or revocation of their license. And 
the consequences are harsh on the arrested employees as well, 
as they can ultimately face up to a year in jail and a maximum 
$2,500.00 fine.

With this mind, it’s critical your entire staff knows the law. One 
way to ensure they have the right stuff and don’t sell to minors is to 
enroll all employees in a Beverage Alcohol Seller/Server Education 
and Training (BASSET) class. For more information and class locations, please visit our home page 
www.state.il.us/LCC, and click on the “BASSET Program” link located on the left side of the screen.
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” 87.6 percent of retailers 

passed the underage 

checks during the most 

recent four-month 

period…while only  

75.1 percent passed 

these checks during  

a comparable period 

just one year earlier.“

Do you and your staff have the right stuff to pass the test?



ILCC News
Article suggestions 

are welcome!

The Commission welcomes 

your input to enhance the 

ILCC News publication. 

If you have a suggestion for 

an article topic or a helpful  

hint to share with other 

licensees, please contact  

the Commission’s Chicago 

Office.

ILCC News is published by 

the Illinois Liquor Control 

Commission for state liquor 

licensees, local government 

officials, industry associations 

and related government  

agencies.

Managing Editor: 
Ted Penesis

ILCC Website:  
www.state.il.us/LCC

ILCC Email:  
ilcc_info@mail.state.il.us

Chicago Office

100 West Randolph Street 
Suite 7-801
Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: 312.814.2206 
Fax: 312.814.2241

Springfield Office

101 West Jefferson  
Suite 3-525
Springfield, IL 62702 
Phone: 217.782.2136 
Fax: 217.524.1911 

2 ILCC News Spring 2010

April is Alcohol Awareness Month. You can do your part in 
raising awareness of the consequences of selling to minors 

by posting Project Sticker Shock materials in your store!

On April 1st — the 2nd Annual Sticker Shock Day — 
thousands of students, parents, teachers, elected officials, law 

enforcement personnel, and health/prevention professionals will be 
out in force throughout the state placing stickers, decals, and signs 
in participating liquor establishments. These volunteers may be 
contacting you to ask for your participation.

We encourage all retailers to post Sticker Shock materials during the 
entire month of April. To place your order and learn more about 
Project Sticker Shock, please visit www.DontBeSorry.org.

2nd Annual Sticker Shock Day is April 1st!

From the Licensing Division 

By Dusanka Marijan, ILCC Licensing Manager

The licensing staff at the Illinois Liquor Control Commission is here to assist you with any 
questions or concerns you may have. Should you need to visit in person, our Springfield and 

Chicago offices are open weekdays from 8:30am-5:00pm to complete your liquor licensing needs. 

If all supporting documents and signatures are in order, you can usually receive your new license  
the same day. However, when visiting in person, please note the following schedule:

 ❍  The processing time for new applications can vary — there may be times when we need to 
contact the local municipality regarding your application, or we need them to fax over missing 
information. Therefore, new applications must be received no later than 4:30pm. After this  
time, no new applications will be processed. Please plan your day accordingly in case of issues 
that need further review. 

 ❍  Renewal applications must be received no later than 5:00pm. After this time, no renewals will 
be processed.

As always, to ensure we have sufficient time to complete your request, it is imperative you plan your 
travel accordingly. We thank you in advance for your cooperation.

Credit cards now accepted!

The Licensing Division will accept  
credit cards for all licensing transactions  
at its Chicago and Springfield offices.  
A 2.1 percent convenience fee will be charged when using your MasterCard, American Express, or 
Discover Card for payment (Visa is not accepted). Credit card payments can ONLY be made in 

person. You cannot pay for your liquor license by credit card over the phone. Please also remember 
that all supporting documents and signatures must be in place to receive your license. 



Warm weather is almost here, which means outdoor special 
events featuring alcohol will soon be in full swing throughout 
the State of Illinois. To help you navigate the process of 
applying for your special event liquor license, the ILCC has 
produced a DVD entitled How to Apply for a Special Event 

Liquor License.

Designed for both non-profit organizations and licensed 
retail establishments, this short video provides step-by-step 
instructions and tips on how to stay within the law.  
To order your FREE disk, please visit www.state.il.us/LCC 
and click on the “FREE Special Event DVD” link at right.

Order your FREE Special Event DVD 
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To kick off the holiday season 
last year, Illinois Liquor 

Control Commission (ILCC) 
administrators met with over one 
hundred local and state officials 
in Aurora to present strategies 
for reducing drunk driving and 
underage drinking. One topic, in 
particular, was discussed in detail: 
the mandating of alcohol service 
training in their communities. 

Among those in attendance were 
mayors, police chiefs, sheriffs, 
county board officials, state’s 

attorneys, and various other municipal officials in Chicago’s 
far western suburbs. “The Liquor Commission is in a unique 
position,” says ILCC Education Manager Ted Penesis. “In 
addition to regulating the Illinois liquor industry, we coordinate 
a variety of education programs designed to reduce illegal alcohol 
sales. By hosting this regional meeting, we are able to bring all 
stakeholders into the discussion.”

Opening the meeting was Kane County Sheriff Pat Perez. “One 
of the most unpleasant tasks for law enforcement is dealing with 
the carnage after a drunk driving crash. That’s why what we are 
doing here today is quite unique, but also necessary; instead of 
responding to a tragedy, we may actually prevent tragedy.”

Also sharing ideas on how to prevent alcohol-related tragedies 
were experts from other state agencies, professionals in the 

State, local officials discuss responsible alcohol service in Aurora

prevention field, representatives from the liquor industry, and 
various local officials in communities where alcohol training is 
mandated. For example, Yorkville Mayor Valerie Burd — along 
with Yorkville Police Sergeant Barry Groesch described her 
community’s experience after recently passing of a mandatory 
training ordinance, and Euclid Beverage’s Larry Johnson 
explained why many in the liquor industry believe as he does — 
that seller/server training makes good business sense.

“It’s not often the prevention field, liquor industry, and 
government work together to achieve the same goal,” says Aurora 
Mayor Tom Weisner. “Judging by the turnout, it appears we 
have many who feel as I do — we need to explore all avenues to 
protect our residents from harm.”

Mayor Weisner and Aurora city staff are currently evaluating 
mandatory alcohol training in Illinois’ second largest city. If 
ultimately approved, Aurora will join approximately one hundred 
other communities throughout the state who have already taken 
this important step.

This was the fifth in a series of regional informational meetings 
for Illinois’ local officials, with future meetings being conducted 
throughout the state this year. Special thanks goes out to the 
City of Aurora Youth Department (Ann McBride and Anna 
Soderstrom) and Kendall County Network Project (Joannie 
Leigh and Anita Young) for their assistance in the planning of 
this meeting.

To learn more about the ILCC’s educational programs — and to order 

FREE materials for your business — please visit www.state.il.us/LCC 

and click on the “Industry Education Division” link located on the left 

side of the screen.

“ License Lookup”  

search feature now  

available online

   Ever want to find out how many  
bars are located in a town? Or maybe you would like 
to know who owns the bar down the street? Well, this 
information is now available online to the general public.

   Simply visit our home page www.state.il.us/LCC and click 
on the eyeglasses graphic at upper right.

DeKalb County State’s Attorney John 

Farrell conveys to attendees what  

is happening in the court system 

regarding alcohol-related cases during 

ILCC’s most recent regional meeting.



Order your FREE 

ILCC materials today!

The following FREE Liquor 
Commission materials are 
available to all licensees  
by visiting our home page 
www.state.il.us/LCC and 
clicking on the “Industry 
Education Materials” link, 
located on the right side of  

the screen: 

•  “Overview of the ILCC” and 
“Industry Education Guide”

•  Illinois Liquor Control Act  
and ILCC/BASSET Rules  
and Regulations

•  “Happy Hour Law” and  
“Just the Facts” fliers

•  Alcohol “Proof of Age” 
and Government Warning 
“Pregnancy” signs

•  BASSET Program Brochure  
and “Quick Guide for Servers”

The Video Gaming Act (Public Act 96-0038), signed 
into law in 2009, will allow for video gaming 

terminals to be placed in on-premise liquor-licensed 
establishments in the State of Illinois. 

As of press time, the Illinois Gaming Board (IGB) —  
the state agency in charge of administering and 
enforcing the Video Gaming Act — continues to work on finalizing rules and regulations as 
well as reviewing bids for the central communication system. Please also note many incorporated 

municipalities (the local licensing authority for establishments located in cities, villages, and 
towns) and counties (which regulate licensed establishments in unincorporated areas) have 
banned video gaming terminals within their jurisdiction.

Please visit the “Latest News” section on our home page www.state.il.us/LCC for updated 
information on the Video Gaming Act when it becomes available.

Video Gaming Act update
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In an attempt to promote responsible drinking, discourage overconsumption, and lower 
incidents of alcohol-related criminal behavior, the Illinois Liquor Control Commission is 

continuing to actively and aggressively enforce the Illinois Happy Hour Law. This includes 
advertising illegal acts listed in the law. For a listing of what activities are prohibited under the 
law, please visit the “Latest News” section on our home page www.state.il.us/LCC.

Illinois Happy Hour Law


