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AUTHORITY:  Implementing and authorized by Sections 4, 13 and 17 of the Illinois Low-Level 

Radioactive Waste Management Act [420 ILCS 20/4, 13 and 17].  

 

SOURCE:  Emergency rule at 8 Ill. Reg. 18519, effective September 20, 1984, for a maximum 

of 150 days; adopted at 9 Ill. Reg. 2287, effective January 31, 1985; Emergency amendment at 9 

Ill. Reg. 17433, effective October 25, 1985, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 10 Ill. Reg. 

7818, effective April 29, 1986; Emergency amendment at 10 Ill. Reg. 21956, effective December 

26, 1986, for a maximum of 150 days; adopted at 11 Ill. Reg. 7646, effective April 9, 1987; 

recodified from the Department of Nuclear Safety to the Illinois Emergency Management 

Agency at 27 Ill. Reg. 13641; amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013. 

 

Section 620.10  Definitions  
 

As used in this Part, the following definitions shall apply:    

 

"Act" means the Illinois Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Act [420 

ILCS 20].  

 

"Agency" means the Illinois Emergency Management Agency. 

 

"Broker" means any person who takes possession of low-level radioactive waste 

solely for purposes of consolidation and shipment.  
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"Disposal" means the isolation of waste from the biosphere in a permanent 

facility designed for that purpose.  

 

"Generator" means any person who produces or possesses low-level radioactive 

waste in the course of or incident to manufacturing, power generation, 

processing, medical diagnosis and treatment, research, education or other 

activity.  

 

"Low-Level Radioactive Waste" or "Waste" means radioactive waste not 

classified as high-level radioactive waste, transuranic waste, spent nuclear fuel or 

byproduct material as defined in section 11e(2) of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 

(42 USC 2014).  

 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, business enterprise or other legal 

entity either public or private and any legal successor, representative, agent or 

agency of that individual, corporation, business enterprise, or legal entity.  

 

"Storage" means the holding of waste for treatment or disposal for a period 

of 24 hours or more.  

 

"Treatment" means any method, technique or process, including storage for 

radioactive decay, designed to change the physical, chemical or biological 

characteristics or composition of any waste in order to render the waste safer for 

transport, storage or disposal, amenable to recovery, convertible to another 

usable material or reduced in volume. (Section 3 of the Act) 

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 

Section 620.20  Generator Registration  
 

All generators shall register with the Agency within 60 days after commencement of producing 

or possessing any quantity of low-level radioactive waste in Illinois.  Registration shall be on a 

form developed by the Agency and shall include: 

 

a)  name, address, officers and contact information for the generator;  

 

b)  radioactive materials license numbers and issuing agency;  

 

c) the types and amounts of wastes produced or possessed and to be produced or 

possessed; and (Section 4(a) of the Act) 

 

d) a description of the activities that produce low-level radioactive waste. 
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(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 

Section 620.25  Broker Registration  
 

All brokers shall register within 60 days after taking possession of any low-level radioactive 

waste.  Registration shall be on a form developed by the Agency and shall include: 

 

a) the name, address, officers and contact information for the broker; 

 

b) the radioactive materials license numbers and issuing agency;  

 

c) the types and amounts of waste possessed or to be possessed by the broker; and 

(Section 4(a) of the Act) 

 

d) a description of activities conducted by the broker.  

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 

Section 620.30  Filing Of Annual Report by Generators  
 

Each generator who has generated any low level waste during a given calendar year shall file an 

annual report with the Agency.  The annual report shall be submitted by February 1. This report 

shall be on a form developed by the Agency and shall include:    

 

a) the name, address and contact information for the generator;  

 

b) the types and amounts of waste produced or possessed during the prior calendar 

year;  

 

c) the types and amounts of waste expected to be produced or possessed in the 

future;  

 

d) waste stored during the prior calendar year, including types and amounts;  

 

e) waste shipped during the prior calendar year, including types, amounts and 

destination;  

 

f) methods used to manage these wastes;  

 

g) technological feasibility, economic reasonableness and environmental soundness 

of alternative treatment, storage and disposal methods.  
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(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 

Section 620.35  Filing of Annual Reports by Brokers  
 

Each broker who has taken possession of any low-level radioactive waste generated in Illinois 

during a given calendar year shall file an annual report with the Agency.  The annual report shall 

be submitted by February 1.  This report shall be on a form developed by the Agency or by 

electronic means  that are compatible with the Agency's computer capabilities.  The report shall 

include:  

 

a) the name, address and contact information for the broker.  

 

b) for waste shipped to disposal sites outside Illinois during the prior year, the 

disposal manifest information kept pursuant to 32 Ill. Adm. Code 340.1180.  The 

original generator name and address and waste volume for each generator must be 

given for each shipment.  

 

c) for waste permanently disposed of in Illinois during the prior year, in addition to 

the manifest information described in subsection (b), the types, amounts, dates 

disposed of and disposal methods.  

 

d) for each shipment of waste received, the name and address of the generator from 

whom the waste was received and the volume and type of waste received.  

 

e) for waste shipped for storage or treatment, the name and address of the entity to 

whom the waste is shipped and the volume and type of waste shipped.  

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 

Section 620.40  Payment of Fees for Waste Storage  
 

a) Generators that have stored any quantity of waste for shipment at a later date shall 

pay a fee to the Agency annually.  The fee shall be in the amount of $3 per cubic 

foot of all waste stored for shipment.  

 

b) The fee shall be calculated and invoiced by the Agency based on the Annual 

Survey submitted by the generator that identifies the types and amounts of waste 

stored during that period.  Generators shall be responsible for reporting and 

paying all fees due and owing in accordance with this Section, except as provided 

in Sections 620.60 and 620.70.  

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 



IEMA 32 ILLINOIS ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 620 620.50 

 

Section 620.50  Payment of Fees for Waste Shipped  
 

a) Generators that have shipped any quantity of waste for storage, disposal or 

treatment shall pay a fee to the Agency annually.  The fee shall be in the amount 

of  $3 per cubic foot for waste that has been shipped, except that no fee shall be 

assessed if a fee has already been paid to the Agency for storage of that waste in 

accordance with Section 620.40.  

 

b) The fee shall be calculated and invoiced by the Agency based on the Annual 

Survey submitted by the generator that identifies the types and amount of waste 

shipped during that period.  Generators shall be responsible for reporting and 

paying all fees due and owing in accordance with this Section, except as provided 

in Sections 620.60 and 620.70.  

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 

Section 620.60  Payment of Fees – Small Generators  
 

Any generator of low-level radioactive waste that was not subject to fees in the amount of at 

least $50 for waste stored and shipped during a given calendar year in accordance with Sections 

620.40 and 620.50 shall pay a fee in the amount of $50 for that calendar year to the Agency.  The 

fee shall be payable when invoiced by the Agency.  

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 

Section 620.70  Payment of Fees – Nuclear Power Reactors  
 

In lieu of the fees specified in Sections 620.40, 620.50 and 620.60, the owner of any nuclear 

power reactor in Illinois for which an operating license has been issued by the Nuclear 

Regulatory Commission shall be required to pay an annual fee of $30,000 per operating reactor 

for the treatment, storage and disposal of low-level radioactive waste. Such fees shall be due and 

payable on July 1 of each year.  

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 

Section 620.80  Non-Compliance with Registration and Filing of Reports  
 

If any person fails or refuses to register with the Agency, to file required reports with the 

Agency, or to pay the required fees, the Agency shall notify the person by registered mail that he 

or she has (30) days to respond, after which the Agency may refer the case to the Attorney 

General.  Any person failing to pay the fees shall be liable to a civil penalty not to exceed four 

times the amount of the fees not paid. (Section 17(b) of the Act)  

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 
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Section 620.90  Deposit of Fees (Repealed) 
 

(Source:  Repealed at 37 Ill. Reg. 12438, effective July 19, 2013) 

 


