Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Breadcrumb

  1. IDOL
  2. Laws and Rules
  3. Fair Labor Standards Division
  4. Day and Temporary Labor Services Act

Day and Temporary Labor Services Act

Online Application https://webapps.illinois.gov/DOL/DTLLicense/

 

To Create IL Public ID https://www.illinois.gov/sites/accounts/Pages/default.aspx

In order to access the system, create an Illinois Public ID account which will be your agency account. Please follow the instructions to create an Illinois Public ID.

Original Surety Bonds will not be accepted online and will need to be mailed to the IDOL Chicago office. You may begin mailing those to IDOL immediately. Please make sure your license number is clearly identified in your correspondence. (For example License # looks like, i.e. 16-D12987 located on this year’s certificate).

The annual renewal fee for calendar year 2017 is $1,000.00 for each agency and $250.00 for each branch office or location. This fee must be paid online as part of the new online application process.

When completing the renewal application, please note the following:

Proof of the required surety bond must be mailed to the Illinois Department of Labor to complete the application process.

If you are aware of any agencies that are operating without a license from the Illinois Department of Labor, report them to the Department’s Day Labor Toll Free Hotline: 1-877-314-7052 or by email at DOL.DayLabor@illinois.gov. Should you have any questions, please contact Eula Curtis at 312-793-1804 or DOL.DayLabor@illinois.gov

It is unlawful under the Day and Temporary Labor Services Act, 820 ILCS 175, to operate an agency without registering with the Department and for third party clients to use an unregistered agency. The penalties on third party clients and unregistered agencies are $500 per day for each violation of the Act with each day being a separate violation. Third party clients have an obligation to verify an agency is registered by checking when it enters into a contract and on March 1 and September 1 of each year. 820 ILCS 175/85. Agencies and third party clients are held responsible for complying not only with the registration requirements but the specific record keeping requirements of the Act.

Requires agencies that employ persons to provide to a third party client services, with the limited exception of clerical and professional, (professional being defined under the Fair Labor standards act and meaning in general any employee engaged in work predominantly intellectual and varied in character rather than routine mental, mechanical or physical work) to register with the Illinois Department of Labor and to comply with specific employment standards. 

View all registered agencies.

Contact Numbers

  • Day Labor Services Information: (312) 793-2804
  • Day Labor HOTLINE: (877) 314-7052 (toll free)
  • Or Email: DOL.DayLabor@illinois.gov

Forms/Links