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Illinois Department of Labor 
 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE NURSE AGENCY LICENSE 
Nurse Agency Licensing Act, 225 ILCS 510/04 

“No person may establish, operate, maintain, or advertise as a nurse agency in the State of 
Illinois unless the person is licensed under the Act by the Department of Labor.” 

 

•  Complete the enclosed application with the necessary signature notarized. Incomplete 
applications will be returned and will delay licensing. Separate applications must be submitted 
for each licensed agency and any additional location owned and managed by the same person 
or persons. 

•  Enclose a certified check, cashier’s check or money order in the amount of $250.00 made 
payable to the Illinois Department of Labor. Company and personal checks are not acceptable 
and will be returned. 

•  If you are Incorporated, a Limited Liability Company or a Limited Liability Partnership you 
must submit the following documents that apply: 

 

If you are INCORPORATED, you 
must submit: 

If you are a LIMITED 
LIABILITY COMPANY 
(LLC), you must submit: 

If you are a LIMITED 
LIABILITY PARTNERSHIP 

(LLP), you must submit: 
•  Certificate and Articles of 

Incorporation 
•  Operating Agreement •  Partnership Agreement 

•  By-laws, which include the 
corporate name 

•  Articles of Organization •  Certificate of Authority to 
transact business in Illinois, if 
you are a foreign corporation 

•  Certificate of Authority to transact 
business in Illinois, if you are a 
foreign corporation 

•  Assumed Name Certificate, if 
applicable 

 

•  Assumed Name Certificate, if 
applicable 

•  Certificate of Authority to 
transact business in Illinois, if 
you are a foreign corporation 

 

 

•  ADDITIONAL STATEMENTS AND/OR DOCUMENTS REQUIRED: 
 

•  Resume of Prospective 
Owners with over 5% Stock: 

A statement detailing the experience and qualifications of the prospective 
licensee (owner(s) to operate a nurse agency. 

•  Employment Application A copy of the Employment Application required to be completed by all nurse 
(RN, LPN & CNAs) applicants. 

•  Proof of Professional 
Liability Insurance (original 
certificate only) 

Proof of Professional Liability Insurance in the amount of $1,000,000 aggregate 
and $500,000 per incident. The policy must cover all your nurse employees, 
referrals or assignments. When the policy on file with the IL Department of 
Labor expires, it is the responsibility of the licensee to forward the current proof 
of insurance to our office.  Only an original certificate of insurance will be 
accepted. 

•  Inventory Skills and Clinical 
Competence Checklist 

A copy of the required inventory skills checklist and clinical area of competence 
for all nurse applicants (RN, LPN & CNAs). 

•  Agency Policies and 
Procedures 

A copy of the Nurse Agency Policies and Procedures concerning personal 
interviews, reference checks, annual evaluations and health exams, CPR 
certification and orientation (Sect. 690.70, 690.80, 690.90, 690.100 & 690.110). 

•  Supervising Registered 
Nurse License and 
Verification Print-Out 

A current copy of both Supervising Registered Nurse License and the 
verification print-out from the Illinois Department of Professional Regulation 
(IDPR) website which is located at (www.dpr.state.il.us). 
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COMPLIANCE SYNOPSIS FOR NURSE AGENCIES 
TITLE 68: Professions and Occupations, Chapter III 

The following information is for your convenience. It is an abbreviated version of the Act and not meant to fully 
outline all requirements of the law or the rules and regulations or to be a substitute for the Act itself. 

 
 

•  The agency must employ a registered nurse (RN) as Supervising Nurse and report changes of 
position within thirty (30) business days. 

 

•  Certain information must be maintained at each location from which the agency operates and 
be available to the Department of Labor for inspection during regular business hours. 

 

•  Report, in writing, within thirty (30) days, any changes in stockholders who own more than 
5% of stock. 

 

•  Ownership transfers require anticipated transferee to apply for license at least forty-five (45) 
days before the proposed date of transaction. 

 

•  The Act requires continuing verification of all registered nurse (RN) and licensed practical 
nurse (LPN) licenses. After July 1 (every even numbered year) the agency must verify the 
license of a registered nurse (RN). After April 1 (every odd numbered year) the agency must 
verify the license of a licensed practical nurse (LPN). Verification must be in writing and may 
be obtained from the Illinois Department of Professional Regulation (IDPR) website 
(http://www.dpr.state.il.us). The same is required of a certified nursing assistant (CNA) 
verification from IDPR and may also be printed from their website at 
http://www.idph.state.il.us. 

 

•  A Nurse Agency must check the monthly disciplinary report issued by and available from the 
Illinois Department of Professional Regulation (IDPR). 

 

•  Each, RN, LPN or CNA who is referred or assigned to a health care facility must have a 
personnel file, which contains the following information and each document must have been 
dated within the past twelve (12) months. 

 

1. Health examination, 
 

2. CPR certification (must be an annual certification, both the issue date and expiration date 
must be shown on any copies of a CPR card), 

 

3. Mantoux tuberculosis test, and 
 

4. Evaluation of nurse (to be maintained in their personnel file for at least 2 years). 
 

•  Nurses or certified nurses aides employed, assigned or referred to a health care facility by a 
nurse agency shall be deemed to be employees of the agency while working for the nurse 
agency or nurse agency employment, assignment or referral. 

 

•  Failure to comply with license requirements can result in $1,000 fine per day per violation. 
 


