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I.D. 05.01.106           Attachment A 
 

MENARD CORRECTIONAL CENTER 
VISITING RULES AND REGULATIONS 

EFFECTIVE August 1, 2014 
  

All visitors are subject to search of their vehicle, physical search of their person, and are 
required to clear search with a metal detector or other contraband detection equipment. 
Illinois Law provides that it is a felony to attempt to bring into a correctional facility an 
item of contraband.  Contraband includes alcohol, cannabis, controlled substances, 
hypodermic syringes or needles, weapons, knives, explosives, guns (loaded or unloaded), 
hacksaw blades and key and lock picking devices. Anyone attempting to bring in 
contraband on facility grounds will be subject to prosecution. 
  
All visits are subject to monitoring and video recording unless prior approval is given for 
confidential attorney or other privileged visits. 
  
OFFENDER VISITATION: 
 
Prospective visitors who have been convicted of a felony, have criminal charges pending, or are 
currently on parole or probation may visit only with prior written approval of the Warden 
Previously incarcerated offenders that have been denied a visit are not permitted to remain on 
State property. 
 
Individuals 17 years of age or older must be on the approved list in order to visit. Visitors 16 years 
of age and below need not be on the approved list to visit; however, such visits are permitted only 
when accompanied by a parent or guardian who is an approved visitor or when prior notarized 
consent has been given by a parent or guardian who is in the free community for the child to visit 
accompanied by an approved visitor who is at least 17 years of age. Visitors may only visit once 
per day. Attorney and Chaplain visits are to be excluded from this limit. 
 
Visitors who appear to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol are prohibited from visiting. 
 
Visitors are required to fill out a Prospective Visitor Interview Form prior to visiting. All questions 
must be answered completely and truthfully. If it is determined that any information provided is 
false, visitors will be denied entry to the facility and are subject to permanent visitor restriction 
from all Illinois Department of Corrections facilities. Appropriate staff shall do a name search on 
VTS prior to an offender visit. 
 
REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION: 
 
All visitors 12 years of age and older (including legal visitors) are required to present 2 forms of 
identification. Forms of identification shall be a valid sealed photo I.D., such as driver’s license, 
state I.D., military I.D., or acceptable documentation of non-US citizen including a current 
passport, Visa or Matricula, and documentation that includes date of birth. Only visitors 12 years 
to 16 years of age will be permitted to use a current school picture I.D. as a form of identification. 
 
VISITOR’S REGISTRATION LOG: 
 
Except for officials, all persons entering the facility shall sign in upon entry including name, time 
in, vehicle license number, home address, race, date of birth and the name and registration 
number of the offender receiving the visit. When departing the institution visitors will be required 
to log signature and time out. 
 
VISITING LIMITATION: 
 
General Population Offenders- Contact/Non-Contact Visits: 
 
Visiting Hours: Sunday through Friday: 8:00 a.m.- 3:30 p.m. Sign in time is from 8:00 a.m.– 2:00 
p.m. Saturday: 8:00 a.m.- 5:30 p.m. Sign in time is from 8:00 a.m.- 4:00 p.m. (No visits are 
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processed on Saturdays from 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. for shift change.)  Visitors are normally 
allowed a two (2) hour visit, unless extenuating circumstances exist as designated by the Warden 
or Duty Warden. The frequency and duration of visits may be limited in accordance with space 
and staff. Visitors who travel a great distance to visit an offender may request an extended visit 
Monday through Thursday (no weekends or holidays).  The Duty Warden or Shift Supervisor will 
consider extended visits on a case-by-case basis on the date of the visit. 
 
Contact Visits: Offenders not under visit restriction are allowed five (5) visits per month. Three (3) 
adult visitors may visit simultaneously. This number includes children three (3) years and older.  
 
NON-CONTACT VISITS:  
 
Level “E” offenders are allowed five (5) visits per month.  
 
NOTE: If a child is under the age of three (3) and can be held on an adult visitor’s lap, they will 
not be counted as one of the three (3) visitors. 
 
Orientation status offenders are not permitted visits with the exception of legal visits.  
 
SEGREGATION OFFENDERS/ADMINISTRATIVE DETENTION- NON-CONTACT VISITS: 
 
Visiting Hours: 8:00 a.m.- 2:00 p.m. daily. Sign in time is from 8:00 a.m.- 12:00 p.m. Visits are a 
maximum of one (1) hour. 
 
Offenders not under visit restriction are allowed two (2) visits per month. Segregation offenders 
may only visit once per day. Two (2) adult visitors may visit simultaneously. This number includes 
children three (3) years and older. Each adult may accompany one (1) child less than three (3) 
years old.  
 
NOTE: If a child is under the age of three (3) and can be held on an adult visitor’s lap, they will 
not be counted as one of the two (2) visitors. 
 
MEDIUM SECURITY UNIT:  
 
Visiting Hours: 8:00 a.m.- 6:30 p.m. daily. Sign in time is from 8:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m. Visitors will not 
be processed for a visit during shift change (2:00 p.m.- 3:15 p.m.) Visits are normally allowed two 
(2) hour visits. Under normal circumstances and space availability, length of time may be 
extended to no more than four hours. In no case will visits be allowed past the established visiting 
hours. 
 
Offenders not under visit restriction are allowed five (5) visits per month. Three (3) adult visitors 
may visit simultaneously. This number includes children three (3) years or older. When more than 
six (6) visitors (three years or older) visit, it will be counted as two (2) visits. 
 
NOTE: If the child is under the age of three (3) and can be held on an adult visitor’s lap, they will 
not be counted as one of the three (3) visitors. 
 
GENERAL RULES:  
 
Visiting privileges may be suspended or restricted for security and safety requirements, space 
availability, disruptive conduct, abuse of visiting privileges, violation of Departmental Rules and 
state or federal laws by the offender and/or visitor. 
 
All children 16 years of age and under must be escorted and under direct supervision by a parent 
or guardian at all times. 
 
Smoking is not permitted in any visiting room or waiting room. Visitors and offenders are not 
allowed to be in possession of tobacco items in the Visiting Room. 
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Visitors may rent lockers in order to lock their property. The cost of the locker is .50 cents (two 
quarters). The locker key is the responsibility of the visitor and is to be kept by the visitor until 
they have signed out. Upon signing out, the visitor should then secure the key inside of the lock. 
 
Parking is permitted ONLY on the South Parking Lot designated for visitor parking. Handicapped 
Parking is available at the front of the Electric Eye. All vehicles must have the windows rolled up 
and the doors locked prior to departure. 
 
Contact Visits: Visitors and offenders are allowed to have a brief embrace upon entering and 
exiting the Visiting Room. Open mouth kissing is prohibited. Visitors and offenders are required to 
sit in an upright position. This means feet flat on the floor and hands above the table. While 
seated at the table, the offender and visitor may hold hands above the table. Intentional contact to 
the breasts or genitals is prohibited. Any acts of sexual misconduct are not permitted and will 
result in the immediate termination of the visit and may result in a temporary or permanent 
restriction of visiting privileges. Visitors are not allowed to exchange any item with an offender or 
take any items from an offender without the approval of the C.A.O. or Duty Warden. Once in the 
Visiting Room; visitors will be subject to a standard pat search before and after using the 
restroom. One adult visitor must accompany children, as children will also be searched after 
using the restroom. Offenders who use the restroom will be pat searched before being allowed to 
use the facility and pat searched after.   
 
Money: Any visitor 17 years of age or older, may bring in one (1) debit card. This card can be 
purchased with a five-dollar bill at the debit machine located in the Electric Eye entrance. Visitors 
should only add the amount of money to the debit card that is anticipated to spend for each visit. 
Offenders nor anyone under the age of 17 years is permitted to carry a debit card. All other 
property (including identification and car keys) must be secured inside of the locker. No chewing 
gum, candy, etc. may be taken in by the visitor. All snack items bought in the Visiting Room must 
be consumed during the visit.  
 
Medication: Immediate life care medication (nitroglycerin pills, asthma spray or inhaler) may be 
taken to the Visiting Room by the visitor. If a visitor needs to take a maintenance-type medication 
at a required time, they must inform the officer at the Electric Eye prior to being processed in. The 
visitor will be allowed to return to the front desk and obtain the medicine. The officer will then 
observe the visitor consume their medication. The visitor will then be allowed to return to the 
Visiting Room. With the exception of the above-mentioned taking of medication, under no 
circumstances shall a visitor be allowed to return to his/her locker until the visit is completed. 
 
Clothing: Appropriate clothing for all visits must be worn or the visit will not be permitted. Clothing 
which reveals buttocks and breasts is not allowed. Clothing must be in good taste and not 
advertise nor suggest any product that is illegal.  Inappropriate dress for visitors includes but is 
not limited to the following: 
 

• Short shorts, shirts, dresses or wrap around skirts; 
• Mini Skirts; 
• “See-through” or otherwise revealing clothing (this will include yoga pants 

and stretch pants); 
• Low cut blouses, tank tops, and sleeveless blouses; 
• Low rise jeans (if any area of the body is exposed); 
• Swim tops or swimsuits; 
• Break away pants; 
• Halter, Midriff, or Tube Tops; 
• Any clothing with tears or holes in a suggestive area; 
• Garments displaying obscenities; and 
• Clothing that advertises or suggests gang-related comments/insignias, 

sexual material , or depictions of drug use (i.e. Marijuana leaf) 
 
Dark glasses or sunglasses are not allowed as well as any other material that may distort the 
identity of the visitor.  Female visitors must wear a bra.  All visitors must wear undergarments.  
Religious headgear may be permitted only with prior approval of the C.A.O.  All visitors must wear 
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clothing that will clear a metal detector or the visitor will not be permitted to visit (i.e. under-wire 
bra, bib overalls, etc.).  
 
Jewelry: Visitors will be allowed to wear no more than one (1) ring, one (1) watch, one (1) pair of 
earrings (1” diameter or less) and one (1) necklace not to exceed 18”. Lockets and wrist or ankle 
bracelets will not be allowed. Female visitors are not permitted to wear men’s jewelry into the 
institution. Jewelry with writing (names, initials or words), pictures, heavy in weight, or that could 
be considered intimidating to any person such as replicas of guns, knives, ammo and drug 
paraphernalia will not be permitted.  Surgically implanted piercings/permanent piercings shall be 
approved/disapproved at the discretion of the Duty Administrative Officer. 
  
Books, Magazines and Newspapers: A visitor may leave approved publications at the Electric 
Eye. Publications shall be limited to a maximum of five (5) per visit and shall be not packaged, 
wrapped, or otherwise contained in any other way. Each item must have the offender’s name and 
register number clearing labeled on it. 
 
Female Hygiene: Female visitors will be required to change and dispose of any hygiene items 
prior to shakedown. The institution will provide hygiene items. 
 
Infants: Infants will be allowed to have one (1) blanket, one (1) clear plastic bottle containing 
white milk or formula, one (1) pacifier and one (1) bib. The parent or guardian will be required to 
change and dispose of the infants diaper in the presence of an officer prior to shakedown. The 
institution will provide diapers and baby wet wipes. 
 
Offenders will not be allowed to approach the vending machines, microwave or garbage cans. 
Offenders are to remain seated unless approaching the Sergeant’s podium to use the restroom. 
Offenders will remain at the table at the end of their visit until instructed otherwise. 
 
Offenders will be seated at the designated offender seat. One adult visitor will be required to sit 
directly across the table from the offender. Children and additional adult visitors may be seated 
on either side of the offender. Children are not allowed to sit on the Offenders lap. 
 
There will be no cross visiting. Visitors will only be permitted to visit the offender registered upon 
sign-in. Talking or yelling across the Visiting Room is prohibited. This may result in possible 
termination of the visit and restriction of visiting privileges. 
 
Cell phones, pagers, recording devices and cameras are not allowed on state grounds other than 
the visitors parking area. They are to be secured in the visitor’s vehicle prior to entering the 
facility. 
 
Offensive and/or profane language is prohibited. 
 
INFIRMARY VISITS:  
 
If an offender’s condition allows, visitation will be done in the Visiting Room. In the case where a 
patient’s condition does not allow for visitation in the Visiting Room, a visit may be approved in 
the Infirmary. This must be approved by the Warden or his designee only. Such visits will be 
one (1) hour or less in duration depending on the offender’s condition and treatment program. No 
vending items are permitted.  
 
OUTSIDE HOSPITALS: 
 
Visits are restricted to clergy or immediate family members with prior written approval from the 
Warden. The Assistant Warden of Programs will review the request on a case-by-case basis. 
 
ATTORNEY/CLERGY/AGENCY VISITS: 
 
Legal visitors and government officials who request to visit an offender for the purpose of 
conducting business on behalf of the Department or other governmental agency shall be exempt 
from completing the Perspective Visitor’s Information form. Legal visitors and government officials 
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shall be required to list only their names and business address on the Visitor Sign-In Log. Legal 
visitors and government officials shall be required to show photo identification including 
government identification, official credentials, attorney registration or law student certification. 
Legal Visits will be arranged through the Litigation Coordinator at lease two days in advance. 
Attorneys, student lawyers, etc. need not be on the offenders visiting list. 
 
Special Clergy visitation will be approved in advance through the A/W of Programs. The 
requesting clergy must provide proof of legitimacy prior to entering the facility. Bibles and Korans 
are allowed during Pastoral Counseling.  
 
Government agencies must coordinate with the A/W Operations prior to visiting. 
 
 Authorized by: 

 
 
 

Kimberly S. Butler 
Warden 

 
 


