
 
 MENARD CORRECTIONAL CENTER  
VISITING RULES AND REGULATIONS  

 
All visitors are subject to search of their vehicle, physical search of 
their person, and are required to clear search with a metal detector 
or other contraband detection equipment. Illinois Law provides that it 
is a felony to attempt to bring into a correctional facility an item of 
contraband. Contraband includes alcohol, cannabis, controlled 
substances, hypodermic syringes or needles, weapons, knives, 
explosives, guns (loaded or unloaded), hacksaw blades and key and 
lock picking devices. Anyone attempting to bring in contraband on 
facility grounds will be subject to prosecution.  
 
All visits are subject to monitoring and video recording unless prior 
approval is given for confidential attorney or other privileged visits.  
 
VISITATION:  
 
Prospective visitors who have been convicted of a felony, have criminal 
charges pending, or are currently on parole or probation may visit only 
with prior written approval of the Warden or Assistant Warden of 
Operations. Previously incarcerated inmates that have been denied a 
visit are not permitted to remain on State property. 
  
Individuals 17 years of age or older must be on the approved list in order 
to visit. Visitors 16 years of age and below need not be on the approved 
list to visit; however, such visits are permitted only when accompanied by 
a parent or guardian who is an approved visitor or when prior notarized 
consent has been given by a parent or guardian who is in the free 
community for the child to visit accompanied by an approved visitor who is 
at least 17 years of age.  
 
Visitors may only visit once per day (attorney’s and chaplain visits are 
excluded from this limit).  
 
Due to limited space, “split visits” and “extended visits” are not conducted 
on holidays or weekends.  Additionally, due to limited space, each 
offender will only be allowed one visit per weekend or holiday.  Split visits 
and extended visits may occur on Mondays through Fridays (excluding 
holidays) if they have been pre-approved through the Assistant 
Warden of Operations office.  Split visits are limited to no more than six 
visitors total, and because of space constraints, the second group of the 
visit will be required to exit grounds, then wait their turn in line for 
processing after the initial visit.  This privilege is only afforded to inmates 
who are eligible for contact visits.   



Visitors who appear to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol are 
prohibited from visiting.  
 
Visitors are required to fill out a Prospective Visitor Interview Form prior to 
visiting. All questions must be answered completely and truthfully. If it is 
determined that any information provided is false, visitors will be denied 
entry to the facility and are subject to permanent visitor restriction from all 
Illinois Department of Corrections facilities. Appropriate staff shall do a 
name search on VTS prior to an offender visit. 
  
REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION:  
 
All visitors 12 years of age and older (including legal visitors) are required 
to present 2 forms of identification. Forms of identification shall be a valid 
sealed photo I.D., such as driver’s license, state I.D., military I.D., or 
acceptable documentation of non-US citizen including a current passport, 
Visa or Matricula, and documentation that includes date of birth. Only 
visitors 12 years to 16 years of age will be permitted to use a current 
school picture I.D. as a form of identification. 
 
VISITOR’S REGISTRATION LOG: 
 
Except for officials, all persons entering the facility shall sign in upon entry 
including name, time in, vehicle license number, home address, race, date 
of birth and the name and registration number of the offender receiving the 
visit. When departing the institution visitors will be required to log 
signature and time out.  
 
VISITING LIMITATION: 
  
General Population Contact/Non-Contact Visits  
Visiting Hours: Sunday through Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Sign in time 
is from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Saturday: 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Sign in 
time is from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  
 
Visitors are normally allowed a two (2) hour visit, unless extenuating 
circumstances exist as designated by the Warden or Duty Warden. The 
frequency and duration of visits may be limited in accordance with space 
and staff.  
 
Contact Visits: Inmates not under visit restriction are allowed five (5) visits 
per month. Three (3) adult visitors may visit simultaneously. This number 
includes children three (3) years and older.*  
 
Non-contact Visits: Level “E” inmates are allowed five (5) visits per month.  

 



Orientation status inmates are not permitted visits with the exception of 
legal visits.  
 
Segregation/Administrative Detention Non-Contact Visits 
Visiting Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. daily. Sign in time is from 8:00 a.m. 
to 12:00 p.m. Visits are a maximum of one (1) hour.  
 
Inmates not under visit restriction are allowed two (2) visits per month. 
Segregation inmates may only visit once per day. Two (2) adult visitors 
may visit simultaneously. This number includes children three (3) years 
and older.*  
  
Medium Security Unit  
Visiting Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. daily. Sign in time is from 8:00 a.m. 
to 5:00 p.m. Visitors will not be processed for a visit during shift change 
(2:15 p.m. to 3:15 p.m.) Visits are normally allowed two (2) hour visits. 
Under normal circumstances and space availability, length of time may be 
extended. In no case will visits be allowed past the established visiting 
hours. 
 
Inmates not under visit restriction are allowed five (5) visits per month. 
Three (3) adult visitors may visit simultaneously. This number includes 
children three (3) years or older.*  When more than six (6) visitors (three 
years or older) visit, it will be counted as two (2) visits. 

 
Infirmary Visits 
If an offender’s condition allows, visitation will be done in the Visiting 
Room. In the case where a patient’s condition does not allow for visitation 
in the Visiting Room, a visit may be approved in the Infirmary. This must 
be preapproved by the Warden or Assistant Warden of Programs. 
Such visits will be one (1) hour or less in duration depending on the 
offender’s condition and treatment program. No vending items are 
permitted.  
 
Attorney/Clergy/Agency Visits 
Legal visitors and government officials who request to visit an offender for 
the purpose of conducting business on behalf of the Department or other 
governmental agency shall be exempt from completing the Perspective 
Visitor’s Information form. Legal visitors and government officials shall be 
required to list only their names and business address on the Visitor Sign-
In Log. Legal visitors and government officials shall be required to show 
photo identification including government identification, official credentials, 
attorney registration or law student certification. Legal Visits will be 
arranged through the Litigation Coordinator at lease two days in advance. 
Attorneys, student lawyers, etc. need not be on the inmates visiting list.  
 



Special Clergy visitation will be approved in advance through the 
A/W of Programs.  The requesting clergy must provide proof of legitimacy 
prior to entering the facility. Bibles and Korans are allowed during Pastoral 
Counseling.  
 
Government agencies must coordinate with the A/W Programs prior to 
visiting 

 
*NOTE: If a child is under the age of three (3) and can be held on an adult 
visitor’s lap, they will not be counted as one of the three (3) visitors. Each 
adult may accompany one (1) child less than three (3) years old. 

 


