The Department of Juvenile Justice operates School District #428 according to the Illinois Compiled Statutes (105 ILCS 5/13-40). "Its purpose is to enhance the quality and scope of education for inmates and wards within the Department of Juvenile Justice so that they will be better motivated and better equipped to restore themselves to constructive and law abiding lives in the community."  According to statute, "It shall be responsible for the education of youth within the Department of Juvenile Justice and inmates age 21 or under within the Department of Corrections who have not yet earned a high school diploma or a General Educational Development (GED) certificate and the said district may establish primary, secondary, vocational, adult, special and advanced educational schools as provided in this Act."  The Board of Education for this district shall with the aid and advice of professional educational personnel of the Department of Juvenile Justice and the State Board of Education determine the needs and type of schools and the curriculum for each school within the school district.  The School District Superintendent is Gloria Davis.

On December 8, 2014, the U.S. Department of Education issued a "Correctional Education Guidance Package."  A statement concerning the information and links can be found here.

District #428 School Board Members:

  • Jesse Montgomery, President
  • Heather Marie Dalmage
  • Tresa Dunbar Garrett
  • David A. Green
  • John Patrick Griffin
  • Candice M. Smith
  • Jennifer D. Vidis

School Board Meeting Calendar 2017-18

School Board Meeting Calendar 2017-2018 NEW


School Board Meeting Schedule:

All Board meetings will begin at 9:30 a.m. and will be held at the Aftercare Services Office, 100 N. Western Ave. in Chicago.
January 15, 2016
March 18, 2016
May 20, 2016
July 15, 2016 - Rescheduled for August 5, 2016
September 16, 2016
November 10, 2016

School Board Agendas: