lllinois Deaf and Hard of Hearing Commission
Deaf Interpreter Knowledge Based Test

IDHHC may use the information provided in this form to obtain criminal conviction records.

Applicant Information
Applicant’s name: Birth date: Social Security number:

Street address: City: State: ZIP code: County:

Contact Information
Daytime phone number: Email address:

C )

Cell phone number (optional): | Video phone number:

( ) ( )
Statistical Information

Enter X to select one.

Gender: D Male |:| Female

Auditory status : D Deaf D Hard of hearing |:| Hearing
E;Zr)].lcny (enter X to select D Hispanic or Latino D Not Hispanic or Latino
gsgli)(.enter X to select all that D American Indian or Alaska Native D Asian

D Black or African American D Z?;'r\]/ge?awa“an or Other Pacific D White

Qualifying Questions

Enter X to select one.
1. Are you at least 18 years old? D Yes D No

2. Have you graduated from high school or passed the GED? D Yes D No

3. Highest level of education:
D High school diploma |:| Associate degree D Bachelor’'s degree |:| Master’s degree

4. Graduation from interpreter training program: D Yes D No
If yes, what program? Graduation date:
5. Do you have a felony conviction? |:| Yes D No

If yes, what is the conviction date?
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Scheduling Testing Appointment

All testing will be conducted at IDHHC office in Springfield, Illinois.

Please submit this form along with the required fee to IDHHC. We will then contact you via
email to schedule your testing appointment.

Proof of Identification

You must present a current photo ID to take a test.

Fee and Submittal Instructions

1. Enclose a check or money order payable to IDHHC for $80 (for the fee).
2. Mail this form and the fee to

IDHHC

528 South 5™ Street, Suite 209

Springfield, Illinois 62701
OR

3. Make an electronic payment via E-Pay at
https://www.illinoisepay.com/epay/GetSite?cmd=get&siteld=651; and

4. Mail this form to IDHHC.

Signature

As a candidate taking the lllinois Deaf Interpreter Knowledge Based test, | understand and
agree to the following terms and conditions:

e Not to divulge the nature or content of the lllinois Deaf Interpreter Knowledge Based test
guestions under any circumstance;

e Engage in any unauthorized communication during testing;

e Remove or attempt to remove any testing materials, notes, or other items from the testing
room.

e Take the test in a written English format.

| UNDERSTAND THAT ALL FEES THAT ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. | also attest that all
information provided in this application is accurate and true and agree to abide by the lllinois
Interpreter for the Deaf Act of 2007 and its rules including the Tenets of Professional
Standards which incorporates RID Code of Professional Conduct. | understand that my
certificate is subject to suspension, revocation, or cancellation.

Applicant’s signature: Date:

X

This application is incomplete without the applicant’s signature.

lllinois Deaf and Hard of Hearing Commission
528 South 5™ Street, Suite 209
Springfield, IL 62701
Voice: (217) 557-4495 or (877) 455-3323

Video Phone: (866) 932-3630 or (217) 303-8010
TTY: (888) 261-2698
http://www.idhhc.state.il.us
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Candidate Instructions

e Arrive 15 minutes before your scheduled test time. Register with the test monitor and
complete required paperwork.

e Bring proper photo identification with you. Acceptable types of identification include
driver’s license, government identification, student photo id, employee photo ID card or
current passport.

e Observe testing procedures to ensure that each person has equal testing time and that the
operation of the testing site meets the criteria for standardized testing. The success of the
test administration depends on your cooperation with these procedures.

e Set all electronic communication devices in the OFF position.
e Eating and Drinking are not permitted in the testing room.

e You will not be allowed to leave the testing room once the test has begun. It is
recommended that you visit the restroom before your scheduled test time. If at any time
during the test you leave the testing room, you will not be allowed to return and complete
the test.

e The testing monitor will tell you when to start and when to stop work on the written test.
Do not read or work on the test during a time not authorized by the test monitor. The test
monitor will observe you throughout the test.

e The time allowed to complete the written test is one hour and 45 minutes.

e At the end of the test session, you will be required to return the test booklet and answer
sheet to the test monitor. Do NOT remove test materials or notes from the testing room.

e You will receive notification of your test results within 30 days from the date of the
exam.

o If you pass your exam, you are eligible to apply for licensure at the intermediate
proficiency level. You must submit the required application and licensure fees.

o If you do not pass the exam you must wait for 6 months before applying to take
the exam again.
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