
NEW HIRE REPORTING
Effective October 1, 1998, state and federal laws require all employers to report each 
new and rehired employee.

New hire reporting is the most successful means for locating parents, establishing orders 
and collecting child support.

HFS and DCSS recognize the work employers do to ensure the success of new hire 
reporting and income withholding, and appreciate their efforts to ensure children have 
the necessary financial and medical support they need.

•	 If a company pays wages to an individual, that company needs to report that 
individual as a new hire.

•	 An individual who is an employee for purposes of federal income tax withholding 
from wages is also an employee for new hire reporting.

•	 An employee must be reported whether hired on a part-time or full-time basis.

•	 If an employee filled out a W-4 form, they must be reported.

•	 If an employee leaves the company for 180 days or more, that employee must be 
reported upon returning to the company.

•	 If a company simply refers an individual for employement and does not pay a salary, 
the company does not need to file a new hire report.

•	 Labor organizations and hiring halls must report their own employees (individuals 
who work directly for the labor organization or hiring hall.)

How to Report
Employers can submit information using one of 
the following methods:

•	 Online at www.childsupportillinois.com

•	 The New Hire Reporting form provided by the Illinois 
Department of Employment Security (http://www.ides.illinois.
gov/IDES%20Forms%20and%20Publications/NewHire.pdf)

•	 A copy of the employee’s W-4 form, with all information 
completed legibly, including the employer information

•	 A separate listing of the new employees, with the required data

Where to Report
Online  

Online at www.childsupportillinois.com

By Mail 
Illinois New Hire Directory 
P.O. Box 19473 
Springfield, IL 62794-9473

By Fax 
217.557.1947 (24 hour fax line)

By E-mail 
DES.NHire@illinois.gov

IMPORTANT NEWS AND UPDATES

Registered employers can now report New Hires online via 
File Upload and can also report employee terminations online

Register online today. 
It could save you time and money!

www.childsupportillinois.com

For assistance with online registration, call 888.245.1938

ILLINOIS EMPLOYER FACT SHEET

Illinois Department 
of Healthcare and 
Family Services (HFS)

Division of Child Support 
Services (DCSS)
P.O. Box 641097 
Chicago, IL 60664-1097

Employer 
Customer Service
888.245.1938 or 312.803.7253

Fax 
888.227.0370

For Additional Information Visit
www.childsupportillinois.com

Multi-State Employers
A multi-state employer may choose to send all New Hire 
documentation to one state by notifying the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services by mail or fax to...

Secretary, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services 
Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE)

Multi-State Employer Registration
P.O. Box 509
Randallstown, MD 21133
Fax 410.277.9325

This can also be done online at https://ocsp.acf.hhs.gov/
OCSE
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PRIORITIES FOR WITHHOLDING
The employer may receive a NMSN in conjunction with an Order/Notice to Withhold Income for 
Child support or by itself. If the employer receives both an NMSN and an Order/Notice, deductions 
should follow the following priority scheme:

	 1st 	 Current support (if applicable)

	2nd 	 Any health premium required by the employer (except, if there is insufficient income to pay 
		  the entire premium, then no amount should be deducted for the premium)

	3rd	 Arrearage

	 4th	 Delinquency

	 5th	 Notice of Levy (wage garnishment other than a federal tax levy entered before the child 
		  support order)

Electronic Income Withholding (e-IWO)   
An electronic income withholding (e-IWO) option is available to employers that choose to stop 

receiving paper IWOs and perform these transactions electronically using a secure portal.

For more information on this option, please call 888.245.1938

INCOME WITHHOLDING NOTICE (IWN)
Income Withholding is the court or administratively ordered deduction of a specified amount from 
a parent’s income for payment of child support.

All employers must honor an Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Support. Out-of-state Orders/
Notices are valid throughout the country, including the U.S. territories.

For assistance with Income Withholding, employers can call 888.245.1938.

•	 Employers do not have to vary their pay cycles to comply with the ordered frequency
•	 For the employer’s convenience, the notice provides the total amount to be withheld per pay 

cycle – weekly, biweekly, semi-monthly and monthly
•	 Support payments take priority over all other deductions, except federal (IRS) tax levies entered 

prior to the date of the child support order (the underlying order, not the Order/Notice)
•	 If an employee has federal, state or local tax garnishments, the employer should seek 

confirmation of this withholding priority from the tax agency
•	 Employers must remit payments to the Illinois State Disbursement Unit (SDU) within 7 days of 

the date withheld from the employee’s paycheck. [SDU, P.O. Box 5400, Carol Stream, IL 60197-
5400; Phone 877.664.5738; www.ilsdu.com]

NATIONAL MEDICAL SUPPORT NOTICE (NMSN)
The NMSN is the notice employers receive from the state child support agency instructing them 
to enroll a child(ren) in available dependent health coverage.

Coverage must begin at the earliest possible date following receipt of the National Medical 
Support Notice.

•	 The National Medical Support Notice provides that the employee named in the Notice is liable 
for any employee contributions required under the plan for enrollment of these children

•	 If additional premiums are incurred as a result of adding the child to the health plan, the 
employer must withhold the cost of the health premium from the earnings of the employee

•	 The employer is expected to return the employer Response Form to the issuing agency within 
20 business days of receipt if the employee’s dependents cannot be enrolled

•	 If medical coverage is available through the employer, the employer should forward Part B to 
the Plan Administrator

•	 The Plan Administrator is to complete the Plan Administrator Response Form and the Health 
Insurance Report and return both of them to the issuing agency within 40 business days of the 
original date the NMSN was sent

•	 Location of Non-Custodial Parents
•	 Establishment of Paternity - Legal Determination 

of Child’s Father
•	 Establishment or Modification of Child Support Orders
•	 Collection of Child Support Order Payments
•	 Services for Non-Custodial Parents

More information is available at: 
www.childsupportillinois.com/general/hfs1759.html

Application for child support services is available at: 
www.childsupportillinois.com/customers/apply.html

DIVISION OF CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES PROVIDES

We encourage you to make this information available to your employees.

Income Withholding 
and the CCPA (Consumer 
Credit Protection Act)

The CCPA sets limits on withholding 
from an employee’s disposable 
income based on his/her current 
family situation and child support 
payment history. The CCPA protects 
the employee from having an 
excessive amount withheld.

Although most states follow the 
federal limits, some states have 
enacted laws that provide even more 
protection of the employee’s income.

The withholding limits set by 
the CCPA and adopted by 
Illinois are...

50% 	 if the non-custodial 
	 parent has other 

dependents and owes no 
arrearages or is less than 
twelve weeks in arrears

55% 	 if the non-custodial 
	 parent has other 

dependents and is over twelve 
weeks in arrears

60% 	 if the non-custodial 
	 parent has no 

additional dependents and owes 
no arrearage or is less than twelve 
weeks in arrears

65% 	 if the non-custodial 
	 parent has no 

other dependents and is over 
twelve weeks in arrears

For additional assistance in 
calculating withholding amounts, 
you may use the allocation calculator 
available online at:

www.childsupportillinois.com


