Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Get Email Updates

Early Learning Council Members

Early Learning Council members serve on a voluntary, unpaid basis and reflect the regional, cultural, and racial diversity of Illinois. Members serve three-year terms. The President of the Senate, Minority Leader of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives, and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives each appoint one member to the Council; the Governor appoints all other members.

Phyllis GlinkIrving Harris FoundationCouncil Co-Chair
Beth PurvisOffice of the GovernorCouncil Co-Chair
Karen Hunter AndersonIllinois Community College BoardEx-oficio Member
Jim ApplegateIllinois Board of Higher Education Ex-oficio Member
Bobbie GreggDepartment of Child and Family ServicesEx-oficio Member
Julie HamosIllinois Department of Healthcare and Family ServicesEx-oficio Member
Christopher KochIllinois State Board of EducationEx-oficio Member
Michelle SaddlerIllinois Department of Human ServicesEx-oficio Member
Samantha Aigner-TreworgyCity of ChicagoExecutive Committee
Karen BermanOunce of Prevention FundExecutive Committee
Lynn BurgettIllinois State Board of EducationExecutive Committee
Tasha Green CruzatVoices for Illinois ChildrenExecutive Committee
Irene CurranIllinois Department of Healthcare and Family ServicesExecutive Committee
George DavisCity of Rockford Human ServicesExecutive Committee
Kristy DoanIllinois State Board of EducationExecutive Committee
Shauna EjehBaby TalkExecutive Committee
Gaylord GiesekeIllinois Children's Mental Health Partnership & ConsultantExecutive Committee
Cornelia GrummanMcCormick FoundationExecutive Committee
Dan HarrisIllinois Network of Child Care Resource and Referral AgenciesExecutive Committee
Diane Grisgby JacksonIllinois Dept. of Human ServicesExecutive Committee
Pam LowryIllinois Department of Healthcare and Family ServicesExecutive Committee
Geoff NagleErikson InstituteExecutive Committee
Andrea PalmerIllinois Department of Public HealthExecutive Committee
Barb PayneIllinois Dept. of Human ServicesExecutive Committee
Sylvia PuenteLatino Policy ForumExecutive Committee
Diana RaunerOunce of Prevention FundExecutive Committee
Elliot RegensteinOunce of Prevention Executive Committee
Sara SlaughterWC Stone FoundationExecutive Committee
Teri TalanNational Louis UniversityExecutive Committee
Dr. Cynthia TateGovernor's Office of Early Childhood DevelopmentExecutive Committee
Maria WhelanIllinois Action for ChildrenExecutive Committee
Josie YanguasIllinois Resource CenterExecutive Committee
Pamela AlthoffIllinois State SenateCouncil Member
Jeff AranawskiIllinois State Board of EducationCouncil Member
Lori BaasChristopher HouseCouncil Member
Barbara BowmanChicago Public SchoolsCouncil Member
Tim CarpenterFight Crime: Invest in KidsCouncil Member
Andrea DenshamChild Care Network of EvanstonCouncil Member
Vinni HallIllinois State Board of EducationCouncil Member
Don HarmonIllinois State SenateCouncil Member
Gloria HarrisCOFICouncil Member
Ava HarstonIllinois Federation of TeachersCouncil Member
Colleen JonesMetro Family AEYCCouncil Member
Camille LillyIllinois House of RepresentativesCouncil Member
Suzanne LoganKangaroo CornerCouncil Member
Teresa MartinWalsh SchoolCouncil Member
Mark McHughOne Hope UnitedCouncil Member
Debbie Meisner-BertauskiIllinois Board of Higher EducationCouncil Member
Janice MoensterChildrens Home + Aid Council Member
Lauri Morrison-FrichtlIllinois Head Start AssociationCouncil Member
Geoff NagleErikson InstituteCouncil Member
Joe NeriIFFCouncil Member
Beatrice NicholsChicago Department of Family and Support ServicesCouncil Member
Donna NylanderValley View Early Childhood CenterCouncil Member
Andrea PalmerIllinois Department of Human ServicesCouncil Member
Chuck ParrIllinois Head Start Association Board Council Member
Bob PritchardIllinois House of RepresentativesCouncil Member
Claudia QuiggBaby TALKCouncil Member
Barbara QuinnIllinois Congress of Parents and TeachersCouncil Member
Pam Reising Rechner Illinois State Board of EducationCouncil Member
Carolyn Newberry SchwartzThe Collaboration for Early Childhood Care & EducationCouncil Member
Jodi ScottRegional Office of Education #27Council Member
Brynn SeibertSEIUCouncil Member
Luz Maria Solis Chicago Public SchoolsCouncil Member
Martin TorresLatino Policy ForumCouncil Member
Sheridan TurnerChildren's MuseumCouncil Member
Joan VitaleVoices for Illinois ChildrenCouncil Member
Judith Walker-KendrickChicago Coalition of Site Administered Child Care ProgramsCouncil Member
Granada WilliamsIllinois Department of Human SevicesCouncil Member
Cass WolfeInfant Welfare Society of EvanstonCouncil Member
Melina WrightIllinois State Board of EducationCouncil Member