Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Utility Links



  1. FirstNet
  2. Tying in to NPSBN


FirstNet, an independent authority within NTIA, is headed by a 15-member Board, which holds the license to the entire 20 MHz of public safety broadband spectrum, and comprises the Secretary of Homeland Security, Attorney General of United States, Director of Office of Management and Budget, and 12 individuals appointed by the Secretary of Commerce. These appointees include at least three individuals representing the collective interests of states, locals, tribes, and territories, and at least three individuals who have served as public safety professionals. The appointments seek to provide a balance of geographical and regional, and rural and urban representation with each Board member possessing at least one of the following qualifications: Public safety, technical, network, or financial expertise.

12 individual Board Members

  • Tim Bryan - CEO, National Rural Telecommunications Cooperative (NRTC)
  • Charles “Chuck” Dowd - Deputy Chief, New York City Police Department
  • F. Craig Farrill - Wireless telecommunications executive
  • Paul Fitzgerald - Sheriff, Story County, Iowa 
  • Samuel “Sam” Ginn - Telecommunications executive
  • Jeffrey Johnson - Fire Chief, retired; CEO Western Fire Chiefs Association, Former Chair, State Interoperability Council, State of Oregon
  • William Keever - Telecommunications executive (retired)
  • Kevin McGinnis - Chief/CEO, North East Mobile Health Services
  • Ed Reynolds  - Telecommunications executive (retired)
  • Susan Swenson - Telecommunications/technology executive
  • Teri Takai - Government information technology expert; former CIO, states of Michigan and California
  • Wellington Webb - Founder, Webb Group International; former Mayor, Denver, Colorado

Interoperability Board

One of the first requirements of the Act established an Interoperability Board within the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).  Within 90 days of enactment, the Interoperability Board was required to develop minimum technical requirements to ensure a nationwide level of network interoperability, in consultation with the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and the Department of Homeland Security's Office of Emergency Communications (OEC). These recommended minimum technical requirements have been submitted and approved by the FCC. Click here to view details.

Public Safety Advisory Committee

Is established under FirstNet as a Public Safety Advocate. Ideally responsible for making sure the needs of public safety as a whole are met.