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PAYMENTS WHILE CHILDREN ARE IN FOSTER CARE

Most foster caregivers are volunteers and do not get paid for their services. The 
State of Illinois through the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
however, reimburses Illinois caregivers monthly when a child is under DCFS care, 
to account for the child’s:

• “board” (food, housing, utilities, etc.);
• clothing; and
• personal allowance.

Monthly Payments

Monthly reimbursement payments are not income for foster caregivers and 
should not be reported as income for federal or state income tax purposes.

Licensed Foster Care Monthly Reimbursement Payments
The amount of the licensed monthly reimbursement payment is based on the 
age of the child and is commonly referred to as the “foster care board rate.” Any 
changes to the regular foster care rate must be approved by the Illinois legislature 
within DCFS’ annual budget. This rate is also known as the “traditional” rate.

Age of Child       Board      Clothing     Child’s Allowance      Total
0 through 11 mo. $352.00 $37.00 $12.00* $401.00
1 through 4 yrs. $354.00 $42.00 $13.00* $409.00
5 through 8 yrs. $357.00 $56.00 $14.00 $427.00
9 through 11 yrs. $364.00 $65.00 $24.00 $453.00
12 yrs. & Over $374.00 $74.00 $43.00 $491.00  
Eff ective 6/13

*The personal allowance for children aged four years and under is to be used by 
foster parents for incidentals (toys, ratt les, etc.), which become the property of 
the child. 

The monthly board rate can change, so caregivers can check with the Central 
Payment Unit (800-525-0499) for the most current rate.

Specialized Foster Care
The majority of Illinois children in DCFS care are served by families receiving the 
licensed foster care reimbursement rates shown above. Some children, however, 
have severe behavioral, emotional or medical problems that require caregivers 
with training and/or competencies beyond those of the traditional caregiver. 
In those incidences, the child’s case may be referred to an agency that has a 
specialized program to meet his or her identifi ed needs.  If you are interested in 
fi nding out more about fostering children with severe behavioral, emotional, or 
medical problems, ask your agency if their contract with DCFS includes children 
that match your special skills or interests.
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Standard-of-Need Rate Payments for Unlicensed Relative Caregivers
Relatives who are not licensed as they take care of children in DCFS custody are 
reimbursed monthly, based on the standard-of-need rates. These reimbursements 
are less than those given to caregivers who are licensed. The standard-of-need 
rate varies according to the county of residence and the number of children in 
the home. Unlicensed caregivers are paid directly by the department even if a 
caregiver’s home is supervised by a private agency foster care program. These 
rates do change so unlicensed relative caregivers should always check with the 
Central Payment Unit (800-525-0499) for the most current rate.

Receiving Monthly Payments

DCFS-supervised foster homes and all caregivers who receive the Standard-of-
Need rate receive a monthly check mailed directly from DCFS. Private agency-
supervised licensed foster families receive a monthly check from their private 
agency, which has received the funds from DCFS. Caregivers who receive 
payments directly from DCFS can sign up for electronic deposit to their bank 
accounts. Direct deposit information is available at the website for the Illinois 
Comptroller at www.ioc.state.il.us. Some agencies may also do direct deposit for 
their foster care payments.

How Monthly Foster Care Payments Work

A foster care payment begins on the day a child is placed in the foster home 
and ends on the day before the child leaves. Caregivers receive a check for the 
previous month. 

Example: If the child is placed on October 18th, the foster family will receive 
payment for October 18-31 (14 days) on or about November 20. In December, the 
foster family will receive payment for the entire month of November, if the child 
was in their home for the entire month.

When a child moves into a higher age category, the licensed foster care rate is 
increased automatically.  Children move into higher categories on their  1st, 5th, 9th 
and 12th birthdays.

NOTE: Private agencies determine monthly payment times for licensed homes under 
their supervision, but payments must be made monthly.

If  You Do Not Receive Your Monthly Foster Care Check

Licensed Private Agency Caregivers
Contact your agency. Your agency is responsible for gett ing your monthly 
payment to you. Make sure that your agency has your correct address.  

Licensed DCFS Foster Homes
If you have questions, or believe there is a problem, contact the caseworker or 
your Foster Parent Support Specialist (FPSS) or the local DCFS offi  ce for
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assistance.  Make sure that DCFS has your correct address.  For an automated 24-
hour message about when the last check was sent, or when to expect your next 
check, call the DCFS Payment Line at 800-525-0499.

Unlicensed Caregivers Receiving the Standard of Need Rate
Private agency caregivers receiving the Standard-of-Need rate shown on page 
2 should call the 24-hour DCFS Payment Line at 800-525-0499 for the voicemail 
check mailing schedule.  Staff  are available during business hours to assist you 
with questions or problems.

Note:  If there is a patt ern of mishandled fi nancial matt ers or circumstances 
meriting investigation and you have tried to work it out with your agency but 
nothing has changed, contact the Offi  ce of the Inspector General at 312-433-3000. 

Who Pays For What?
Ask your agency for its policy and ask questions. DCFS Policy 359 explains 
exactly what DCFS pays for in DCFS-supervised foster homes, private agency 
supervised foster homes, group homes and in residential care. Questions about 
DCFS policy may be answered through the DCFS Advocacy Offi  ce for Children 
and Families at 800-232-3798. 

One-Time Payments

DCFS has bott om-line responsibility for providing for a child’s needs while 
in foster care. If you believe a child in your care needs something, ask the 
caseworker and the agency. If they agree, they will determine how to get it—
from within the agency, from outside the agency, or from DCFS. If they don’t 
know how to get something for a child, it is their responsibility to ask DCFS for 
help.

Before requesting a one-time payment from DCFS, the caseworker and agency 
must consider: 

• appropriateness of the request according to individual circumstances 
surrounding the child, the case, or the foster family;

• DCFS’ contractual agreement with the agency;
• other more appropriate sources of funding or services, such as from the 

school district or another state government department; and
• DCFS policy.

What DCFS will pay for and the circumstances under which DCFS will pay are 
given in DCFS Rule Section 359.7. Some of the major categories are explained in 
this section of the handbook. 

All one-time payments from DCFS have a maximum allowable amount. Caseworkers 
will request the appropriate amount based on individual case circumstances or 
funding available from other sources.  Maximum allowable amounts of each type
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of payment mentioned in this section are not given because they are subject to 
change. The current allowable amounts may always be found in Appendix A of 
DCFS Procedure 359.7, which is public information. This procedure and all other 
DCFS policies, rules and procedures are available on the DCFS website at www.
DCFS.illinois.gov.

Questions About Payments

Private Agency Policy and Supports — Ask your child’s caseworker and the 
agency. 

DCFS Policy and Supports —Anyone with questions about DCFS payment 
policy or procedures may call the DCFS Advocacy Offi  ce for Children and 
Families at 800-232-3798. If your caseworker and agency and/or DCFS do not 
agree that the child needs the goods or services, you have the right to fi le a 
Service Appeal. (See Section 8, pages 26-28).

Clothing
The monthly licensed foster care payment includes funds to pay for a child’s 
clothing according to age, including school clothes and school uniforms and new 
clothing needed due to changes in season and normal growth. The caseworker/agency 
may request additional funds from DCFS for clothing under the following 
circumstances.

Initial Placement: Clothing/Personal Hygiene Expenses  
When a child is placed, foster caregivers should review the child’s current 
clothing situation with the placing caseworker. Sometimes, when a child is 
removed from his home quickly, the caseworker will bring his clothes later. If the 
child has been in another foster home, all clothes, toys, personal hygiene items 
and belongings should be sent to the new foster home.  If the child’s clothing 
appears inadequate, the caseworker may request an “initial clothing voucher” 
for a child in his fi rst placement outside the home. The initial clothing voucher may 
be requested at the time the case is opened or within 6 months of case opening. 

The child’s current wardrobe will be taken into account.  Caregivers should be 
aware that there is a maximum, total amount allowable for the initial clothing 
voucher.  If the child has moved more than once since initially coming into care, 
it could be that parts of the total amount may have been previously used in 
other placements. If the child has clothing needs, be sure to discuss this with the 
caseworker.

Initial personal hygiene items may also be requested by the caseworker for a 
child in her fi rst placement outside the home when the case is opened. Examples 
of necessary items are: toothbrush, toothpaste, hairbrush/comb/pick, deodorant, 
feminine hygiene items, baby bott les, diapers, baby powder, baby oil and other
essential items. Not allowed: make-up, perfume, jewelry, hairdryers, etc. The 
intention is to take care of the child’s immediate, basic needs.
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Replacement Clothing
Caregivers are expected to replace a child’s clothing using the monthly foster care 
payment. The caseworker/agency may request additional funds from DCFS for 
replacement clothing under these circumstances: 

• a child whose clothes are unsuitable due to health or medical reasons, 
such as extraordinary weight gains or losses, excessive growth, or damage 
done to clothing to accommodate casts or braces;

• destruction of clothing by fi re, fl ood, or the child’s willful destruction;
• pregnant teens needing maternity clothes;
• children who had been in a Department of Corrections (DOC) facility and 
 are now returning to foster care; and
• children who returned home for an extended period of time and then 

returned to foster care.

Notice to Caregivers Regarding Inadequate Clothing
If the child’s caseworker feels that the child’s wardrobe is inadequate, he or she 
will talk with the caregiver and provide the caregiver with the concerns or 
needed actions in writing.  The caregiver will have 30 days to obtain the needed 
items.  Except for circumstances that qualify for a replacement clothing voucher 
(see above) clothing is to be purchased from the clothing allotment of the 
monthly board payment.  If the caregiver doesn’t provide adequate wardrobe, 
the caseworker could request funds up to the allowed amount for replacement 
clothing. However, that amount could then be deducted from future monthly 
board payments.  It is important to go through the child’s clothing and discuss it 
with the caseworker early in the placement. Details are in DCFS Procedure 
359.75. 

Summer Camp/Activities
Caregivers whose licenses are supervised by a DCFS regional foster care 
program should be sure to discuss with the child’s caseworker the procedure 
for summer camps and other vital enrichment activities. These are important 
activities for a child’s overall development. Funding for camp, art and cultural 
activities is covered in Rule 359 Authorized Child Care Payments.

Caregivers for youth with open DCFS foster care cases should work with the 
child’s caseworker to: 

•  identify the right program; 
• confi rm that the program is eligible for reimbursement under Rule 359;
• obtain writt en approval;
• pay for the camp in advance; and
• submit the expense for reimbursement.

Rule 359 caps annual camp expenses at $260.35. Other enrichment activities will 
be evaluated for the appropriate prevailing rate. The caseworker can assist with 
the approval and the reimbursement. Funding is always subject to the budget 
that is given to DCFS.
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Private Agency-Supervised Homes
For private agency foster families, the policy can diff er from agency to agency. 
Every agency receives funds for “nonrecurring expenses” such as camp for some 
children. Ask the child’s caseworker about the camp policy for children at that 
agency. 

Graduation Expenses

DCFS-Supervised Homes
For a student in DCFS foster care, policy covers payment for graduation expenses 
such as yearbook, pictures, cap and gown rental, class ring, new clothing for the 
graduation ceremony and other related fees. 

The student must be in their junior or senior year for payment of the class ring. 
He or she must be in the senior year of high school to obtain payment for other 
graduation items. The total of all items purchased cannot exceed $512.50. As an 
example, if a youth wishes to purchase a class ring, the foster caregiver could 
submit the bill to the caseworker, who would then secure direct payment to the 
vendor.   

Private-Agency Supervised Homes
The specifi c procedures may diff er for families caring for children whose 
case management is assigned to a private agency. Private agencies receive an 
administrative fee per child to take into account such non-recurring expenses like 
graduation.  The agencies are expected to purchase the approved items and not 
expect caregivers to cover the costs. Be sure to talk to the child’s caseworker in 
advance about what is allowable, especially before making any purchases out-of-
pocket.

DCFS does not have any stated policy regarding expenses for eighth grade 
graduation.  Be sure to talk to the youth’s caseworker if you have questions about 
those expenses. 

Infant Equipment
Sometimes, not having infant equipment can be a barrier to a caregiver taking 
the sibling of a child already in their home, or in taking an infant. A caseworker 
may request purchase authorization for a foster or relative home for infant 
care equipment for a specifi c child age 2 and under. The caregiver must sign the 
Infant Care Equipment Grant Application (DCFS Form: CFS 932C) and return a 
completed Infant Care List (DCFS Form:  CFS 932D) for the appropriate items. 
The caregiver must return the infant equipment to DCFS if they stop providing 
infant care within one year of receiving the equipment. 

Family Reunifi cation Special Service Fee
The Family Reunifi cation Special Service Fee is a reimbursement made directly to 
the caregiver for reunifi cation activities to support a child with the permanency 
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goal to return home. It is a reimbursement that can cover expenses such as 
transportation, entrance fees, and food that are part of activities supporting 
foster children and their parents. A caregiver who engages the parent in up to 
12 activities in a month would result in a $400 reimbursement. Details on the 
qualifying activities are in Section 3, page 23.

• caregivers to children with a return home goal should document all of 
the reunifi cation activities that are eligible for reimbursement. Date and 
describe each activity;

• the caregiver and the parent each sign the “log” on form CFS 1042-L as the 
event happens; and 

• at the end of the month the caseworker should review the document, sign 
it and obtain a supervisor signature.

Sibling Visits
DCFS will reimburse foster families for transportation to sibling visits and 
compensate them for supervising short and overnight visits.

Under the plan, caregivers will receive reimbursement of up to $50 per month 
for mileage (56.5 cents per mile, as of January 2013), public transportation, bus 
or taxi.  The special service fee must be requested by the caseworker and be 
approved according to the visitation plan developed for the child.

Caregivers who support sibling visitation by supervising visits may also request 
reimbursement through their caseworker at a rate of $25 per hour (excluding 
travel time) for a maximum of four hours ($100) each month.  If the visit is 
overnight or longer, the caregivers may, once a month, be reimbursed $100 for 
the entire visit.

Tips About Payments From Experienced Caregivers

• Know your agency’s unique policies about payments or other types of 
supports. If you don’t have the agency policy in writing—ask!

• Document—in writing—your child’s need for services, or obtain writt en 
documentation from teachers, schools, therapists, etc.  This will lend 
weight to your request with the caseworker. Also, documentation is 
required when making any request to DCFS. If you already have it, the 
caseworker can more easily and quickly make the request within the 
agency and from DCFS.

• Think ahead—don’t wait until the last minute to make a request. Your 
caseworker may have to talk to the teacher, doctor, or others and will need 
to submit the request within the agency for approval before it goes on to 
DCFS. All of these steps take time.

• If you question an answer given to you by the caseworker or agency about 
DCFS policy or procedure, fi rst call the supervisor. If that does not help, 
call the DCFS Advocacy Offi  ce for Children and Families at 800-232-3798. 
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DAY CARE

Eligibility

DCFS will pay for child care for two-parent foster homes where both parents 
work, or single parent foster homes where the single caregiver works or is in 
job training or educational programs which will lead to employment.  DCFS 
may also pay for child care for other documented reasons, such as disability of a 
caregiver, a disabling condition of a child or when day care is court-ordered. 

In homes where there are two foster caregivers, both must be working, or at 
least one has to be working if the other is disabled.  If a caregiver is disabled, a 
doctor’s statement will be required.  The statement must explain the extent of the 
disabling condition(s), including the duration, prognosis and how the disability 
impairs the person’s ability to care for the child/ren in that home.  

You are not eligible if, for any reason, you are not actually reporting to work, 
such as in the cases of seasonal/temporary employment, leave of absence, lay-off , 
etc.  For example, a teacher would not be eligible for day care payment during 
the summer if he or she were employed for nine months but did not actually go 
to work during the summer.  You also are not eligible if you are looking for work 
or to att end foster parent training.  Caregivers who enroll a child in day care and 
are not eligible are subject to paying for the day care.  If you are in doubt about 
your eligibility prior to enrolling a child, contact the regional DCFS Offi  ce Day 
Care Service Unit or the Offi  ce of Child Development (for Cook County) at 312-
808-5060.

Day Care Rates

The amount DCFS will pay for day care depends on the type of day care chosen 
(day care center, licensed family day care home, babysitt er, relative, etc.) and 
your location within Illinois.

There are maximum day care rates which can be paid for each type of care. Most 
day care centers and homes accept the state rate.  If you want to choose one not 
accepting the state rate, you must pay the additional amount. Check with your 
caseworker or DCFS regional offi  ce (outside Cook County), or the DCFS Offi  ce of 
Child Development (Cook County ONLY).
  

Finding a Day Care Provider

Call the Child Care Resource and Referral (CCR&R) in your area. See page 11.  

Identify yourself as a foster caregiver! The service will be FREE because you are 
inquiring on behalf of a child in foster care. The general public pays a modest fee 
for this service based on family size and income. 
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A CCR&R child care specialist will consult with you by phone and provide a list 
of local day care providers that meet your child’s needs. Have this information 
handy:  ZIP code; number of children needing day care and their ages; hours you 
will need day care; any special needs. 

Tip: The caseworker must approve your selection of any day care provider. DCFS 
strongly encourages the use of licensed day care centers or licensed family day 
care homes. Ask the CCR&R child care specialist to discuss the advantages of 
licensed day care with you. Selecting a licensed day care provider makes the 
caseworker’s approval decision much easier.

How to Make a Day Care Request

To make a day care request, contact your caseworker with your day care plan 
as soon as possible. The caseworker may have questions and must determine 
that the day care plan for the child or children is appropriate. The day care 
application should be part of the caseworker’s packet when the child is placed, if 
day care is needed.

You and your caseworker will: 
• complete the day care application (CFS 2002). Include spouse information 

if applicable;
• make sure to see the provider in person and be sure that the provider has 

the skills and physical capacity to care for the child;
• obtain the three signatures required: caregiver, caseworker and day care 

provider;
• att ach needed documentation of employment and/or training:
  – employment documentation may be a recent check stub or employer  

 lett er stating hours worked per week or tax forms for self-employed  
 caregivers;

  – training documentation can be a copy of your current class schedule or  
 a lett er from the school or training program; and

  – disability documentation is a doctor’s lett er detailing the extent   
 of the disability if one parent is employed and one parent is disabled.  

Keep copies of the application submitt ed, and all required documentation of 
employment or training.  In case of loss or future questions, you will have what 
you need at your fi ngertips.   

Your caseworker will determine if the potential day care provider is licensed 
to care for children according to guidelines for age and capacity.  Unlicensed 
providers will have to have a CANTS background check.

Submit the completed application and all documentation to your regional DCFS 
Offi  ce Day Care Service Unit or the Offi  ce of Child Development (for Cook 
County cases) at 312-808-5060. 
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Completed applications with all signatures and documentation must be 
submitt ed no later than 30 days aft er the start of day care services to ensure 
timely payment. Submissions of day care applications aft er this time may result 
in payment delays to the day care provider and possible nonpayment.  The state 
fi scal year ends June 30.  Documentation must be received no later than July 15.

Non-Employment Related Day Care and 
Day Care for the Children of  Teens in Care

Contact your regional DCFS Offi  ce Day Care Service Unit or the Offi  ce of 
Child Development (Cook County) to obtain the correct application form and 
procedures about how to apply. 

Day Care Payment Approval Notifi cation

Aft er day care applications are approved by the regional DCFS Offi  ce Day Care 
Service Unit or Offi  ce of Child Development, both the caregiver and the day care 
provider will receive a computer-generated approval lett er.  Keep the approval 
lett er in a fi le for future reference.

Day Care Provider Billing

Shortly aft er the day care provider receives the approval lett er, and at the end 
of each month of service, DCFS mails a computer-generated billing form to the 
day care provider. The billing form should be completed, signed and returned 
without delay. Payments will normally be received within 2-3 weeks aft er bills 
are submitt ed.

Questions Regarding Payments

• the day care provider (not foster parent or teen) must call with their 
6-digit Provider I.D. number. This is done for confi dentiality; and

• the provider must give the specifi c month of payment and the name of the 
child.

Re-Determining Eligibility for Day Care

Aft er you begin receiving day care, you must notify DCFS if:

• either caregiver stops working or att ending school for any reason, 
including a leave of absence or disability;

• the child no longer needs day care;

• you change day care providers (this will require a new application);

• the day care provider’s address changes;

• you adopt or become a subsidized guardian to the child; or



 Section 9:  Page 11

S
ectio

n 9
Financial Resources

• the child no longer resides in your home.  Note:  Day care approval does 
not transfer to a child’s new caregiver or to the birth parent when the 
child returns home.  This will require a new application by the current 
caretaker.

Eligibility for day care services must be re-determined every six months or as 
deemed necessary by the regional DCFS Day Care Service Unit or the Cook 
County Offi  ce of Child Development.  Completion of the re-determination, 
including the submission of any required documentation for employment, 
training or disability will be required for the continuation of day care service 
payment.  You may contact the regional DCFS Offi  ce Day Care Service Unit or 
the Offi  ce of Child Development (for Cook County) at 312-808-5060 if you have 
questions or need assistance with the re-determination.

Call Your DCFS Offi ce for 
Day Care Applications/Rates/Questions

Be ready to give the staff  the following information when you call:

 • your 5-digit Family I.D. number shown on the approval lett er; and

 • the name of the day care provider.

Cook County  DCFS Office of Child Development  312-808-5060
   1921 S. Indiana Aveune 312-808-5131 Fax
   Chicago, IL 60616
  
Rockford/Aurora area DCFS Day Care Unit 815-987-7640
   200 S. Wyman Street, 2nd Floor 815-987-7275 Fax
   Rockford, IL 61101
  
Peoria area DCFS Day Care Unit 309-693-5400
   5415 N. University Avenue 309-693-2582 Fax
   Peoria, IL 61614
  
Champaign area DCFS Day Care Unit 217-278-5500
   2125 S. 1st Street 217-278-5557 Fax
   Champaign, IL 61820
  
Springfi eld area DCFS Day Care Unit 217-786-6830 
   4500 S. 6th Street Road 217-786-6771 Fax
   Springfi eld, IL 62706
  
E. St. Louis area DCFS Day Care Unit 618-583-2100
   10 Collinsville Avenue 618-583-2141fax
   E. St. Louis, IL 6220
   
Marion area DCFS Day Care Unit 618-993-7122
   2309 W. Main St. Suite 108 618-993-5467 Fax
   Marion, IL 62959
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To Find Day Care 
Call Your Child Care Resource & Referral (CCR&R) Agency

 Service Area                            CCR & R Agency Phone #

 1  YMCA of Rockford        800-872-9780
 2  DeKalb 4-C        800-848-8727
 3    YWCA of NE Illinois  (Lake County) 800-244-5376   
           YMCA of McHenry County              815-459-4459 or
    847-516-0037 
 4  YMCA of Metro Chicago                     630-790-8137
 5  Child Care Resource & Referral           800-552-5526
 6  Cook County CCR &R 773-769-8000
 7  Child Care Resource and Referral  309-277-0185 or
        of Midwestern Illinois 866-324-3236
 8  Illinois Central College Child Care Connection 800-421-4371  
 9  CCR & R Network 800-437-8256
 10  U of I: Child Care Resource Service     800-325-5516 or
                                    Champaign County 217-333-3252
 11  Eastern Illinois University CCR &R     800-545-7439
 12  West Central Child Care Connection    800-782-7318
 13  Community Child Care Connection       800-676-2805
 14  Children's Home + Aid 800-467-9200
 15  Rend Lake College: Project Child           800-362-7257 
 16  John A. Logan College CCR &R 618-985-5975 or 
    800-548-5563

 Service Counties
 Delivery
 Area
 1 Daviess, Stephenson, Winnebago, and Boone
 2 Carroll, Ogle, Whiteside, Lee, and De Kalb
 3-E Lake 
 3-W McHenry
 4 Kane and DuPage 
 5 Kendall, Will, Grundy, and Kankakee 
 6 Cook
 7  Rock Island, Henry, Mercer, Henderson, Warren, Knox,
  and McDonough 
 8 Bureau, Putnam, La Salle, Stark, Marshall, Peoria,  
  Woodford, Fulton, and Tazewell 
 9 Livingston, McLean, Ford, and De Witt 
 10  Iroquois, Champaign, Vermilion, Macon, Piatt, and Douglas
 11 Moultrie, Coles, Edgar, Shelby, Cumberland, and Clark 
 12 Hancock, Adams, Schuyler, Brown, Cass, Pike, Calhoun, 
  Greene, and Jersey
 13 Mason, Menard, Logan, Scott, Morgan, Sangamon, 
  Christian, Macoupin, and Montgomery 
 14  Madison, Bond, St. Clair, Clinton, Washington, Monroe, 
  and Randolph 
 15  Fayette, Effi ngham, Jasper, Crawford, Clay, Richland, 
  Lawrence, Marion, Jefferson, Wayne, Edwards, and 
 16  Perry, Franklin, Hamilton, White, Jackson, Williamson, 
  Saline, Gallatin, Union, Johnson, Pope, Hardin, 
  Alexander, Pulaski, and Massac 

Child Care Resource & Referral (CCR&R) Service Delivery Areas

Illinois Network of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies
http://www.aces.uiuc.edu/~ILCare/
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FOSTER CHILD DAMAGE REIMBURSEMENT PROGRAM

What is it?

This program provides secondary insurance coverage for foster parents (over 
and above any other valid and collectable insurance held by the foster parents) 
for property damage and bodily injury caused by a child while the child is 
“in the care, custody and control” of the foster caregiver. DCFS automatically 
provides this coverage at no cost to all foster families and relative caregivers. The 
coverage is described in full in DCFS’ Administrative Procedure 13, which will be 
sent to foster caregivers who fi le a claim or request a copy.

What Specifi cally is Covered? What Are the Limits?

Physical Damage to the Property of Others
Description: Damage caused by a child to other people’s property while the child 
is in foster care.

Limits of Coverage: $5,000 per fi scal year.  Payments will be made based on an 
“actual cash value”  basis, which is the amount it would cost to repair or replace 
the damaged property with material/s of like kind and quality, less allowable 
deductions for normal physical deterioration and depreciation based on the age, 
condition and normal life expectancy of the property.

Physical Damage to the Property of the Foster Family
Description: The child causes damage to the foster family’s property.

Limits of Coverage: $5,000 per fi scal year. Payments will be made based on 
an “actual cash value” basis as described above as well as in Administrative 
Procedure #13.

Bodily Injury to Others
Description: The child in foster care injures someone outside the foster family. 

Limits of Coverage: $5,000 per fi scal year.

Bodily Injury to Members of the Foster Family
Description: The child in foster care injures a member of the foster family.

Limits of Coverage: $5,000 per fi scal year.

How Do Caregivers File a Claim?

Immediately notify the child’s caseworker that a claim needs to be fi led. The 
caseworker will view the damage and request that a claim form be sent directly 
to the caregiver.
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Complete the claim form, have the child’s caseworker sign it, att ach all pertinent 
receipts and other supporting documents, and have the caseworker make a copy 
of everything for the caregiver before they mail it to:

 Foster Child Damage Reimbursement Program Coordinator
 Department of Children and Family Services
  James R. Thompson Center
 100 W. Randolph, 6th Floor
 Chicago, IL 60601
 Phone: 312-814-7294 

Note:  The insured caregiver must provide the names, addresses and the policy 
numbers for any homeowner or health insurance that is currently in force, 
including employer or school insurance. They must also provide documentation 
of what the insurance covered or a denial of coverage. The uninsured caregiver 
must provide a notarized writt en statement if there is no primary insurance 
coverage. 

How does DCFS handle the claim?
The DCFS Program Coordinator will review the claim to ensure that all necessary 
information is present and forward it to the Review Committ ee.

The Review Committ ee meets every month.  Once a decision for payment is 
approved or denied, the caregiver will be contacted by mail.  If payment for the 
claim is approved, the foster parent will receive reimbursement within 8 to 12 
weeks.

All payments for claims will be paid to the party which incurred the damage or 
sustained the injury.

When can a foster caregiver NOT collect?

• if the damages caused by the child resulted from inadequate supervision 
on the part of the caregivers OR as a result of the caregivers not following 
the standards and requirements set forth in the DCFS Licensing 
Standards;

• if the caregivers are covered for the full amount of the claim by their own 
insurance policy;

• if the caregivers don’t fi rst fi le a claim with their own insurance;
• if the claim does not contain proof of payment or the estimated 

replacement cost of an item, from an established business;
• if an act allegedly occurs, but cannot be proven, such as the child denying 

a theft  which cannot be verifi ed;
• if the claim is untrue, false, fraudulent or the actual facts have been 

tampered with or distorted; and

• if damages arose out of the business pursuits of a caregiver.
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SUPPLEMENTAL SECURITY INCOME (SSI) BENEFITS

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) is a Federal Government Program that 
provides cash assistance to persons age 65 or older and to blind or disabled 
persons of any age who have limited income and assets.  Children, including 
children in foster care, adopted children and children in guardianship may 
qualify for SSI if they have a severe physical or mental impairment, or a 
combination of impairments, that signifi cantly limit their ability to function in an 
age-appropriate manner.  Even though a child meets the disability requirements, 
other factors may prevent entitlement to SSI.  

For example:
• if a child in foster care is receiving assistance from another Federal 

Program (Title IV-E) he or she will not be eligible for SSI;
• part of the income and assets of the adoptive parents count when 

determining the income and assets of an adopted child until he or she 
reaches 18.  This may make their child ineligible for SSI; and

• if a subsidy is paid to a guardian who has accepted responsibility for a 
child with disabilities that was formerly in foster care, the amount of the 
subsidy may count as income to the child.  Counting the subsidy may 
reduce or eliminate the SSI payment.

How Does a Child in Foster Care Apply for SSI?

SSI claims are fi led with the Social Security Administration.  DCFS as legal 
guardian of children in foster care is the appropriate agency to fi le the SSI 
applications.  DCFS has contracted to handle Social Security matt ers, including 
SSI, for children in foster care.  Referrals can be sent to DCFS at 217-524-6186, 
who will forward the referral to the current contractor.  The contractor will 
review a child’s records to decide if he or she is a candidate for SSI.  They 
welcome referrals from caregivers.  They will prepare the application packages 
and send them to DCFS for the signature of the Guardianship Administrator.  
DCFS forwards the application packages to Social Security.  The disability 
decisions are made by the Department of Human Services (DHS) - Bureau of 
Disability Determinations Services, located in Springfi eld.

They also fi le appeals of denied claims, if they feel the denial of benefi ts is 
not correct.  Also, if a case is approved, Social Security must review the case 
periodically to see if the child continues to be eligible.  These reviews are called 
Continuing Disability Reviews.  There are forms required for these reviews if 
a child is still in foster care when the review comes up on the Social Security 
schedule.
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What Should Caregivers Do to Support SSI Claims?

First, caregivers should discuss with the caseworker whether to refer children 
who may be eligible for SSI.  If a caregiver is not sure about SSI, they should 
make the referral and let the organization decide if a claim is appropriate.

Second, when the contractor prepares an application, Continuing Disability 
Review or fi les an appeal, they will contact the caregiver for information about 
the child’s daily activities.  It is important for the caregiver to cooperate in 
providing detailed information about the child’s condition.  Remember that the 
person making the decision about the application does not see the child.  It is 
vital to the process that the people who see the child most oft en and know the 
child well give accurate reports for the application package. Timely responses are 
important.

Adjudicators from the DHS Bureau of Disability Determination Services will 
contact foster parents:

• to discuss the child’s condition.  Caregivers should cooperate fully with 
the adjudicators who are trying to decide if the child in foster care has 
limitations that meet the Social Security requirements for disability; and

• when there is not enough medical evidence in a child’s fi le, caregivers 
may be asked to arrange for an examination by a doctor working with the 
Bureau of Disability Determination Services.  It is especially important 
that the caregivers cooperate with the doctor and the adjudicator in seeing 
that the child att ends the examination.

What Happens to the SSI Money When 
an Application is Approved?

DCFS receives the checks on behalf of the children in foster care.  These funds 
are used to reimburse the child’s foster care payments for room and board.  If 
a child has needs that are not being met by the foster care payment, the foster 
parent should contact the caseworker.  The caseworker can contact the staff  that 
oversees the SSI funds.  This staff  can verify the amount of funds that may be 
available for these special circumstances or needs and will advise the caseworker 
if there are any SSI benefi ts available.  Social Security Regulations defi ne how SSI 
benefi ts may be used.  The caseworker and other staff  work together to insure 
that these regulations are followed.

What About Adopted Children and Those in Guardianship?

Even if DCFS has helped a child obtain SSI while he or she was in foster care, 
the parent or guardian becomes responsible for conducting all SSI business with 
Social Security when the child has left  foster care.  The parent or guardian should 
contact the local Social Security offi  ce for help with SSI.  
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TIPS FOR MANAGING CHILD WELFARE PAYMENTS 
Foster caregivers and adoptive/guardianship families will encounter many types 
of expenditures, which may or may not be reimbursed according to DCFS policy.  
It is always advised to consult with the child’s caseworker, subsidy worker or the 
DCFS Central Payment Unit in advance.

Questions About Payments

Private Agency Policy and Supports — Ask your child’s caseworker and the 
agency. 

DCFS Policy and Supports —Anyone with questions about DCFS payment 
policy or procedures may call the DCFS Advocacy Offi  ce for Children and 
Families at 800-232-3798. 

If your caseworker and agency and/or DCFS do not agree that the child needs 
the goods or services, you have the right to fi le a Service Appeal. (See Section 8, 
pages 26-28).


