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Section 385.10 Purpose 
 

a) The purpose of this Part is to ensure the safety and well being of children cared for in 
an unlicensed relative home or in any facility subject to licensing by the Department 
of Children and Family Services by requiring that the operators of child care facilities 
and other persons subject to background checks, as defined in Section 385.20, be 
screened for a history of child abuse or child neglect, prior criminal convictions or 
pending criminal charges. 

 
b) Each owner of a for-profit child care facility is required to certify, under penalty of 

perjury on a form provided by the Department, that he or she is current or not more 
than 30 days delinquent in complying with a court order for child support.   

 
c) In addition, the Department may require service providers who have access to 

children as part of their duties to authorize a background check, as required by 89 Ill. 
Adm. Code 357 (Purchase of Service).  

 
(Source:  Amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 2136, effective January 30, 2012) 

 
Section 385.20  Definitions  
 

"Access to children" means a child care facility employee's duties require that the 
employee be present in a licensed child care facility during the hours that children are 
present in the facility.  In addition, any person who is permitted to be alone outside 
the visual and auditory supervision of facility staff with children receiving care in a 
licensed child care facility is subject to the background check requirements of this 
Part.  

 
"Adult" means any person who is 18 years of age or older.  

 
"Assistant" or "child care assistant" means a person who assists a licensed home 
caregiver in the operation of the day care home, group day care home, or foster 
family home.  

 
"Authorization for background check" means a complete, signed form prescribed by 
the Department which authorizes a background check as defined in this Part and 
submission of fingerprints, if required.  An authorization for a background check may 
be used for the initial and all subsequent background checks required to determine 
compliance with the requirements of this Part.  
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"Background check" means:  
 

a criminal history check via fingerprints of persons age 18 and over that are 
submitted to the Illinois State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(FBI) for comparison to their criminal history records or the National Crime 
Information Database (NCID) when applicable for prospective foster and 
adoptive parents; and a check of the Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking 
System (CANTS/SACWIS) and other state child protection systems, or the 
National Registry, as appropriate, to determine whether an individual is 
currently alleged or has been indicated as a perpetrator of child abuse or 
neglect; and  

 
a check of the Illinois Sex Offender Registry and the National Sex Offenders 
Registry, as appropriate.  

 
"CANTS" means the Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking System operated and 
maintained by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services within the 
Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System (SACWIS). 

 
"Child" means any person under 18 years of age. (Section 2.01 of the Child Care Act 
of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.01])  

 
"Child care facility" means any person, group of persons, agency, association or 
organization, whether established for gain or otherwise, who or which receives or 
arranges for care or placement of one or more children, unrelated to the operator of 
the facility, apart from the parents, with or without the transfer of the right of 
custody, in any facility as defined in the Child Care Act of 1969, established and 
maintained for the care of children.  "Child care facility" includes a relative who is 
licensed or who applies for a license as a foster family home under Section 4 of the 
Child Care Act of 1969.  (Section 2.05 of the Child Care Act of 1969) A child care 
facility also means those described in the Child Care Act, including but not limited to 
any child care institution, maternity center, child welfare agency, day care center, day 
care agency, group home, foster family home, day care home, group day care home, 
partially exempt secure child care facility or youth emergency shelter.  

 
"Conditional employee" means an individual (including any substitute or assistant) 
who has applied for and been conditionally selected to perform child care functions 
or administrative, professional, or support functions that allow access to children and 
who has commenced such duties while awaiting the results of the background check 
required by this Part.  

 
"Conviction" means a judgment of conviction or sentence entered upon a plea of 
guilty or upon a verdict or finding of guilty of an offense, rendered by a legally 
constituted jury or by a court of competent jurisdiction authorized to try the case 
without a jury. (Section 2-5 of the Criminal Code of 1961 [720 ILCS 5/2-5])  
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"Date of notice" means the date of the written notice to a license holder that all 
persons subject to background checks, as defined in this Section, must authorize such 
checks and submit to fingerprinting, if required.  
 
"Denial of application for license" means the refusal to grant a license or permit to a 
person, group of persons, agency, association or organization that applied for a 
license to operate a child care facility.  
 
"Department" means the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services.  
(Section 2.02 of the Child Care Act of 1969)  

 
"Director" means the Director of the Illinois Department of Children and Family 
Services.  

 
"Employee" means any staff person employed by a child care facility, and includes 
any substitute or assistant.  This definition includes administrative, professional and 
other support staff who have access to children.  

 
"Final placement decision" means the decision made by the Department, within 90 
days after the initial placement of a child with a relative, to leave or remove the child 
in the relative home based on the evaluation of the results of the criminal background 
check of the relative and household members and based on the best interests of the 
child.   

 
"Governing body" means the board of directors of a corporation; otherwise, the term 
means the owners or other persons, agency, association or organization legally 
responsible for the operation of the child care facility.  

 
"Illinois Sex Offender Registry" means the registry of any person convicted of a 
felony sex crime or an attempt to commit a felony sex crime operated and maintained 
by the Illinois State Police. 

 
"License" means a document issued by the Department that authorizes child care 
facilities to operate in accordance with applicable standards and the provisions of the 
Child Care Act of 1969.  

 
"License applicant" means, for purposes of background checks, the operator or 
person with direct responsibility for daily operation of the facility to be licensed.  
(Section 4.4 of the Child Care Act of 1969)  

 
“Licensing entity” means the Department or a supervising agency recommending the 
license or processing the employment application.  



BACKGROUND CHECKS 
April 10, 2015 – P.T. 2015.06 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Rules 385 – (5) 

"Licensing representative" means persons authorized by the Department under the 
Child Care Act of 1969 to examine facilities for licensure.  
 
"Member of the household" means a person who resides in a family home as 
evidenced by factors, including, but not limited to, maintaining clothing and personal 
effects at the household address, or receiving mail at the household address, or using 
identification with the household address.  .  In addition, a member of the household 
includes stepchildren and/or children relative to the foster parent or child care 
provider who frequent the home as part of regular visitation but do not reside in the 
home full-time.  
 
"Minor traffic violation" means a traffic violation under the laws of the State of 
Illinois or any municipal authority therein or another state or municipal authority 
which is punishable solely as a petty offense.  (Section 6-601 of the Illinois Driver 
Licensing Law [625 ILCS 5/6-601])  
 
"Multi-function agency" means an agency, association, or other organization that 
operates a child care facility, child welfare agency, or day care agency in addition to 
other services not subject to licensure under the Child Care Act of 1969.  A child care 
facility, child welfare agency, or day care agency may consist of distinct units, 
divisions, or departments of a multi-function agency.  In a multi-function agency, 
only the persons with direct authority for the operations of the child care facility and 
those who have access to children, as defined in this Section, are subject to the 
background check requirements of this Part.  
 
"National Crime Information Database" or "NCID" means the National Crime 
Information Center and its incorporated criminal history databases. 
 
"National Registry" means an electronic national registry of substantiated cases of 
child abuse and neglect supplied by the states, created by the Secretary of Health and 
Human Services in consultation with the Attorney General. 
 
"National Sex Offender Registry" means an electronic national registry, operated and 
maintained by the United States Department of Justice, of any person convicted of a 
felony sex crime or an attempt to commit a felony sex crime in any state. 
 
"Non-Licensed Service Provider" means an individual or entity that contracts with 
the Department to provide child welfare services that enable the Department to 
perform its duties under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act [325 ILCS 
5], the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10], and the Children and Family Services 
Act [20 ILCS 505]. [225 ILCS 10/2.28] It also includes a person who provides child 
care in his or her home to a child for whom the Department is legally responsible on 
a regular basis, such as weekly or several times per week, and cares for no more than 
3 children under the age of 12 or receives only children from a single household for 
less than 24 hours per day.  The three children include the family's own children or 
adopted children and any other persons under the age of 12, whether related or 
unrelated to the service provider.  (See 89 Ill. Adm. Code 377.3(d).) 
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"Operator" means any person responsible for the day-to-day management of the child 
facility.  
 
"Parental involvement" means parental assistance with a child care program such as 
participation in field trips, parties, attendance on special days for special events, or 
parental support and cooperation in the classroom.  
 
"Persons subject to background checks" means:  

the operators of the child care facility;  
all current and conditional employees of the child care facility;  
all direct child welfare agency employees (see 89 Ill. Adm. Code 412); 
any person who is used to replace or supplement staff;  
any person who has access to children, as defined in this Section; and  
any person, including non-licensed service providers, who provides services 
that allow unsupervised access to children if the requirement for background 
checks is a condition of a contract or agreement or is required otherwise 
under 89 Ill. Adm. Code 357 (Purchase of Service).  

 
If the child care facility operates in a family home, the license applicants and all 
members and prospective members of the household age 13 and over are subject 
to background checks, as appropriate, even if these members of the household 
are not usually present in the home during the hours the child care facility is in 
operation.  
 
Non-licensed service providers who, on a regular basis, provide care in the 
provider's home to a child for whom the Department is legally responsible and 
all members of the household age 13 or over are subject to background checks. 
 
For a final placement decision in a relative home, the relative and all members of 
the household age 18 and over are subject to criminal background checks (see 20 
ILCS 505/5(v-1)). 

 
"Prospective member of the household" means a person age 13 or older who plans to 
move into a licensed foster family home. 

 
"Replacement or supplemental staff" means any paid or unpaid individual who is 
used to perform essential staff duties as evidenced by being counted in the staff-child 
ratio or being allowed to be alone with children in a licensed child care facility 
outside the visual or auditory supervision of facility staff.  

 
"SACWIS" means the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 
operated by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services, replacing the 
CANTS system. 
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"Seasonal child care program" means a child care facility that operates a seasonal 
program, such as summer-only or migrant Head Start program, that is subject to 
licensing by the Department.  

 
"State Central Register" means the child abuse and neglect data system maintained by 
the Department pursuant to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act [325 
ILCS 40].  

 
"Substitute" means a permanent or temporary employee who is used to replace or 
supplement regular staff.  

 
"Supervising agency" means a licensed child welfare agency, a licensed day care 
agency, a license exempt agency, or the Department.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg., effective March 25, 2015) 

 
Section 385.30  Applicability of This Part  
 

a) Applicability  
 
All licensed child care facilities shall submit completed, signed authorizations for 
background checks for all persons subject to background checks as defined in Section 
385.20.  

 
b) License Renewals  

 
A child care facility license shall not be renewed until the results of the background 
check (CANTS/SACWIS, Illinois Sex Offender Registry, and criminal history) have 
been received for the operator of the child care facility.  However, if complete, signed 
authorizations have been submitted and fingerprints obtained for all persons subject 
to background checks, as defined in Section 385.20, and a check of the 
CANTS/SACWIS and Illinois Sex Offender Registry is completed, renewal of the 
license shall not be delayed pending receipt of the results of the criminal background 
check for other persons subject to background checks.  

 
c) Scope of Background Checks  

 
1) All persons subject to background checks pursuant to this Part shall be 

processed through the CANTS/SACWIS, the Illinois Sex Offender Registry 
and LEADS.  Fingerprints of all persons age 18 and over shall be submitted 
to the Illinois State Police via the fingerprint vendor stipulated by the 
Department for a criminal history check.    
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2) In addition, foreign nationals who have not resided in Illinois for all of the 

preceding 3 years shall submit to their prospective employer (if seeking 
employment) or licensing representative (if seeking a license to operate a 
child care facility) a copy of their valid passport and current visa.  A copy of 
the valid passport and current visa shall be attached to the authorization for 
background check submitted to:  

 

Department of Children and Family Services  
Central Office of Licensing  
406 E. Monroe Street, Station #60  
Springfield, Illinois 62701  

 
All facsimile transmissions shall be sent to the Employment FAX Line at 
(217)785-6368. 

 
3) In addition, each owner of a for-profit corporation, as a condition of license 

renewal, must certify under penalty of perjury that he or she is current or not 
more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order.  
Failure to so certify may result in a denial of the license application, refusal 
to renew the license, or revocation of the license.  [5 ILCS 100/10-65(c)]  

 
4) Fingerprints for the following persons age 18 and over shall be submitted to 

the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) for a search of its records for 
evidence of prior criminal activity:  
 
A) all applicants for foster family home licensure and members of the 

household; 
 
B) all relative caregivers and members of the household prior to a final 

placement decision in a relative home [20 ILCS 505/5(v-1)]; 
 
C) persons who have a record of criminal activity that may impact their 

suitability for licensure/employment by their own acknowledgment or 
according to the records of the Illinois State Police;  

 
D) persons who have resided outside the State of Illinois for any part of 

the preceding three years; and  
 
E) a non-licensed service provider who has access to children as defined 

in Section 385.20 and all members of the provider's household age 13 
and over; 
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5) For prospective foster or adoptive parents or other adult living in the home 
who resided in another state in the preceding 5 years, the Department shall 
request a check of that other state's child abuse and neglect registry and the 
National Sex Offender Registry.  [20 ILCS 505/5(v-2)] 

 

d) A Condition of Employment  
 

1) As a condition of employment  in a licensed child care facility in a position 
that allows access to children, all persons subject to background checks, as 
defined in Section 385.20, shall complete and sign authorizations for 
background checks and submit to fingerprinting, if required.  This applies to 
all current and conditional employees subject to background checks, as 
defined in Section 385.20, and to any individual used as replacement or 
supplemental staff in the direct care and supervision of children.  

 

2) Complete, signed authorizations for background checks must be submitted to: 
 

Department of Children and Family Services  
Central Office of Licensing  
406 E. Monroe Street, Station #60  
Springfield, Illinois 62701 

 

All such authorizations must be postmarked within two business days after 
the person's employment or use in a role as replacement or supplemental 
staff.  All facsimile transmissions shall be sent to the Employment Fax Line 
at (217) 785-6368.  

 

e) Child Care Facilities that Operate Within a Family Home  
 

If the child care facility operates in a family home, adult members of the household 
age 18 and older shall be fingerprinted to be screened for prior criminal convictions 
and current pending criminal charges in accordance with the requirements of this 
Part.  All household members age 13 and over shall be screened for a history of child 
abuse or neglect and for inclusion in the Illinois Sex Offender Registry.  These 
background checks are required even if members of the household usually are not 
present in the home during the hours the child care facility is in operation.  

 

f) Programs Operated Under the Auspices of Child Welfare or Day Care Agencies  
The background check requirements of this Part apply to:  
 

1) employees of a child welfare agency who are involved in the placement in, 
licensure of, or supervision of foster family or adoptive homes, relative 
homes, group homes, child care institutions, youth emergency shelters, or 
independent living arrangements;  

 

2) employees of a child welfare agency or day care agency who are involved in 
the licensure or supervision of licensed day care homes; and  

 

3) persons used as replacement or supplemental staff identified in subsection 
(f)(1) or (2).  
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g) Service Providers  

 
As a condition of a contract or agreement, or as otherwise required under 89 Ill. Adm. 
Code 357 (Purchase of Service), the Department may require a person who provides 
services that allow unsupervised access to children, including non-licensed service 
providers, to authorize a background check under this Part.  

 
h) Issuance of Permits  

 
A permit may be issued when:  
 
1) the facility operator has cleared a complete background check (criminal 

history, CANTS/SACWIS, and Illinois Sex Offender Registry);  
 
2) if a for-profit corporation or other for-profit legal entity, the owner has 

certified that he or she is current or not more than 30 days delinquent in 
complying with a child support order;  

 
3) all other persons subject to background checks have been fingerprinted (if 

required), as verified by a fingerprint receipt, and have obtained their 
CANTS/SACWIS, and Illinois Sex Offender Registry clearances; and  

 
4) the facility is in compliance with all other applicable licensing requirements 

for issuance of a permit.  
 
i) Work Study Students  

 
No criminal history check is required unless work study students are used as 
replacement or supplemental staff, as defined in Section 385.20.  However, 
CANTS/SACWIS and Illinois Sex Offender Registry checks must be completed for 
all work study students.  

 
j) Volunteers  

 
No background check (CANTS/SACWIS, Illinois Sex Offender Registry, criminal 
history) is required unless volunteers are used as replacement or supplemental staff, 
as defined in Section 385.20.  

 
k) Parental Involvement  

 
Parental involvement in a child care facility program does not require a background 
check unless the parent is used as replacement or supplemental staff, as defined in 
Section 385.20.  Nothing in this Part is intended to prohibit a parent from being left 
alone unsupervised with only his or her own children.  
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l) Responsibility for Cooperation  
 
Child care facilities shall be responsible for ensuring that persons subject to criminal 
background checks make themselves available for fingerprinting when scheduled by 
the Department or its authorized representatives.  Failure of a person subject to 
criminal background checks to appear for scheduled fingerprinting may result in the 
denial of a license application or refusal to renew or revocation of an existing license 
unless the child care facility can demonstrate that it took reasonable measures to 
insure cooperation with the fingerprinting process.  Adequate cause for failure to 
appear for fingerprinting includes, but is not limited to:  
 
1) death in the family of the person; or  
 
2) serious illness of the person or illness in the person's immediate family; or  
 
3) weather or transportation emergencies.  

 
m) Limitations on Criminal Offenders  
 

Persons age 18 and over who have been convicted of committing or attempting to 
commit the offenses in Section 385.60(a) or (b) (when applicable) and when the 
Department becomes aware of persons age 13 and over who have been tried as an 
adult and convicted for the crimes identified in Section 385.60(a) or (b) shall not:  
 
1) receive a license from the Department to operate a child care facility or have 

such a license renewed;  
 
2) be employed by a child care facility licensed by the Department in a position 

which allows access to children; 
 
3) be a member of the household in a family home in which a child care facility 

operates; or  
 
4) obtain a contract or agreement from the Department to provide services 

which allow access to children if the requirement for such background checks 
is a condition of the contract or agreement.  

 
n) Limitations on Perpetrators of Child Abuse/Neglect  

 
Persons who have been indicated as the perpetrator of any of the child abuse/neglect 
allegations identified in Section 385.50(a) are presumed to be unfit for service that 
allows access to children.  These indicated perpetrators are limited in the same 
manner as the criminal offenders in subsection (m) unless the Director or designee 
has waived in writing the presumption of unsuitability.  Such waivers may be 
requested in writing in accordance with Section 385.50(b).  
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o) No Charge for Background Checks  
 

There is no charge to license applicants or licensed child care facilities for the 
background checks which are required by this Part.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg., effective March 25, 2015) 

 
Section 385.40 Authorization for Background Checks 
 

a) Persons Required to Authorize Background Checks 
 

1) All persons (including non-licensed service providers) required to authorize 
background checks (as defined in Section 385.20) must authorize such checks 
as a condition of employment and continuing employment, initial license or 
the renewal of an existing license, continued licensing, or when required for a 
contract with the Department. 

 
2) Each owner of a child care facility must certify, under penalty of perjury on 

forms prescribed by the Department, that he or she is current or not more 
than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order.  Failure to 
so certify may result in a denial of the license application, refusal to renew 
the license, or revocation of the license.  (Section 10-65(c) of the Illinois 
Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100/10-65(c)]) 

 
b) Contents of Authorization 

 
The authorization required by this Section shall be on forms prescribed by the 
Department and shall include: 

 
1) identifying information consisting of name, address, Social Security number, 

date of birth, height, weight, hair and eye color, previous names and 
addresses; 

 
2) a certification under penalty of perjury identifying any prior criminal 

convictions other than a minor traffic violation, as defined by this Part, and of 
any pending criminal charges; and 

 
3) authorization for the Department to release the results of the background 

check to the governing body or employer or, in the case of a group home or a 
child care facility operating in a family home, to the supervising agency for 
the child care facility. 
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c) Employees Absent from Active Duty 
 

For purposes of this Part only, employees who have been separated from a child care 
facility licensed by the Department for six months or longer (for reasons other than 
vacation, sabbatical leave, sick leave or maternity leave) shall no longer be 
considered current employees.  Upon their return to active duty, such individuals 
shall be required to again authorize a background check pursuant to this Part. 

 
d) Transfers Between Licensed Facilities 

 

A facility that hires an employee who has cleared a complete background check 
consisting of a criminal history check and a CANTS/SACWIS check and a check of 
the Illinois Sex Offender Registry at a facility licensed by the Department shall 
submit a new signed authorization of background check for the employee. Such an 
employee who has cleared a background check as described in this subsection does 
not need to be fingerprinted again unless the Department specifically requests new 
prints (e.g., when fingerprints cannot be found). 

 
e) Operation of Seasonal Programs 

 

Child care facilities that operate seasonal programs, such as migrant Head Start or 
other summer-only programs, hire staff on a seasonal basis for work in the program 
and then discharge or lay off the staff until the beginning of the next season. When 
the time period between the end of one seasonal program and the beginning of the 
next program is more than six months, a check of the CANTS/SACWIS and the 
Illinois Sex Offender Registry must be completed (if the individual has access to 
children) before the individual begins his or her duties for the next season. 

 
f) Commingling Not Permitted 

 

If a child care facility operates within the same building as other agencies or 
organizations or is part of a multi-function agency that offers services which are not 
subject to Department licensing, the child care facility shall develop a plan to limit 
access to children receiving care in the licensed facility by individuals who are not 
subject to the background check requirements of this Part. The plan shall be approved 
in writing by the governing body and the supervising licensing agency, before a 
license is recommended. 

 
g) Conditional Employment 

 

Individuals hired to begin employment who have authorized the background check 
required by this Part may be employed by a child care facility on a conditional basis 
pending the outcome of the required background check.  The form authorizing such a 
background check shall be submitted to Department of Children and Family Services 
as indicated in Section 385.30(d)(2). 
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h) Limitations on the Use of Conditional Employees 

 
Conditional employees shall not be left alone with children outside the visual and 
auditory supervision of staff until they have cleared a check of CANTS/SACWIS and 
the Illinois Sex Offender Registry. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg., effective March 25, 2015) 

 
Section 385.50 Child Abuse or Child Neglect 
 

a) Indicated Reports of Child Abuse/Neglect 
 

The Department makes the presumption that an individual who has been determined 
to be a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect involving the allegations listed below, as 
defined in Appendix B, Child Abuse and Neglect Allegations, of 89 Ill. Adm. Code 
300, Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect, is not suitable for work that allows access 
to children. 

 
1) Death 

 
2) Head injuries 

 
3) Internal injuries 

 
4) Wounds (gunshot, knife, or puncture) 

 
5) Torture 

 
6) Sexually transmitted diseases 

 
7) Sexual penetration 

 
8) Sexual molestation 

 
9) Sexual exploitation 

 
10) Failure to thrive 

 
11) Malnutrition 

 
12) Medical neglect of disabled infant 

 
13) A single indicated report of child abuse or neglect that resulted in serious 

injury to the child, regardless of the allegations involved. 
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14) More than one indicated report involving any of the following allegations, 

regardless of severity.  Or one such report if the incident warrants concern 
because of the severity or particular circumstances: 

 
A) Burns 

 
B) Poison or noxious substances 

 
C) Bone fractures 

 
D) Cuts, bruises, welts, abrasions, and oral injuries 

 
E) Human bites 

 
F) Sprains or dislocations 

 
G) Tying or close confinement 

 
H) Substance misuse 

 
I) Mental and emotional impairment 

 
J) Substantial risk of physical injury/environment injurious to health and 

welfare 
 

K) Substantial risk of sexual injury 
 

L) Inadequate supervision 
 

M) Abandonment/desertion 
 

N) Medical neglect 
 

O) Lock-out 
 

P) Inadequate food 
 

Q) Inadequate shelter 
 

R) Inadequate clothing 
 

S) Environmental neglect 
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b) Assessment of Indicated Reports 
 

1) A person determined to be the perpetrator of an indicated incident of abuse or 
neglect under Section 3 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act 
[325 ILCS 5/3] shall not automatically be denied a license or refused license 
renewal from the Department because that person has been indicated as a 
perpetrator of the above allegations or shall not automatically be denied a 
position which allows access to children in a child care facility licensed by 
the Department.  Rather, the Department or the governing body, as 
applicable, shall provide the individual an opportunity to present evidence 
that demonstrates fitness for licensure or employment. Such evidence shall 
include, but not be limited to: 

 
A) the nature of the abuse or neglect with which the individual was 

identified, including whether the abuse or neglect resulted in serious 
injury or death to a child or children; 

 
B) the circumstances surrounding the commission of the abuse or 

neglect, including the age of the perpetrator and the children, that  
would demonstrate unlikelihood of repetition; 

 
C) the period of time that has elapsed since the abuse or neglect occurred 

and whether prior incidents of child abuse or child neglect have been 
indicated against the individual; 

 
D) whether the abuse or neglect involved single or multiple child 

victims; 
 

E) the relationship of the incident of child abuse or neglect to the 
individual's current or conditional job responsibilities within the child 
care facility; 

 
F) whether the individual has been convicted of a criminal offense which 

might have bearing on the individual's ability to function in a child 
care facility as licensee or employee; 

 
G) evidence of rehabilitation such as employment, education, 

participation in therapy since the indicated incident of abuse or 
neglect; and 

 
H) character references. 
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2) When the abuse or neglect includes allegations identified in subsection (a) of 

this Section, the Department presumes the individual is not suitable to be 
licensed to operate a child care facility or to reside in a family home in which 
such a facility operates or for a position which allows access to children.  If 
the licensing entity (for license applicants and current license holders) or the 
employer (for current and conditional employees) believes the individual is 
suitable for licensure, residence in a household in which a child care facility 
operates, a contract or agreement with the Department which allows access to 
children, or employment which allows access to children, the licensing entity 
or the employer may request a review and waiver of the presumption of 
unsuitability.  Such requests shall be in writing and postmarked within 30 
days after receipt of information from the Department about the individual's 
history as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect. 

 
3) The Director of the Department or the Director's designee shall review any 

materials submitted on the individual's behalf and may waive the presumption 
that the individual is unsuitable for licensure or employment which allows 
access to children or residence in a household in which a child care facility 
operates if, in the Director or designee's sole judgment, there is good cause 
for waiving the presumption of unsuitability.  If the Director or designee 
waives the presumption that the individual is unsuitable, the hiring or 
licensing decision shall be made in accordance with the totality of the 
requirements of this Part and the applicable licensing standards. 

 
c) Notification of Hiring Decision 

 
A child care facility shall notify the Department in writing of its decision regarding 
the employment of a person who has been indicated as a perpetrator of child 
abuse/neglect.  Such notice shall be postmarked within 30 days after receipt of the 
information from the Department about the individual's history as a perpetrator of 
child abuse or neglect.  If the facility chooses to retain the employee, it must notify 
the Department of this decision and specify in the notice the operating hours of the 
facility, the duties of the employee, and the hours the employee will be working.  The 
decision of the employer is final, subject to review under the personnel policies of its 
governing body.  Such hiring decisions may not be appealed to the Department of 
Children and Family Services. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 28 Ill. Reg. 13432, effective September 30, 2004) 
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Section 385.60 Criminal Convictions and Pending Criminal Charges 
 

a) Convictions Which Serve as Bar to Licensure/Employment that Allows Access 
to Children 

 

Persons who have been convicted of certain serious crimes, identified in Appendix A 
of this Part, shall not receive a license to operate a child care facility or, if such a 
person has been licensed to operate a child care facility, the licensing entity shall 
revoke or refuse to renew such license upon learning that the licensee has been 
convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the offenses identified 
below.  In addition, no person who has been convicted of committing or attempting 
to commit any of the offenses listed below shall either be employed in a licensed 
child care facility in a position that allows access to children or reside in a family 
home in which a child care facility operates. This includes persons who have been: 

 
1) declared a sexually dangerous person under the Sexually Dangerous Persons 

Act [725 ILCS 205] or identified as a sex offender in the Illinois Sex 
Offender Registry operated by the Illinois State Police; or 

 
2) convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the offenses 

specified in Appendix A of this Part that are defined by the Criminal Code of 
1961 [720 ILCS 5] or any earlier Illinois criminal law or code (See Section 
4.2 of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/4.2]);or 

 
3) convicted of committing or attempting to commit an offense in another state, 

the elements of which are similar and bear a substantial relationship to any of 
the criminal offenses specified in Appendix A of this Part. 

 
b) Special Provisions for Foster Family Homes 

 
In addition to the provisions set forth in subsection (a), no applicant may be licensed 
by the Department to operate a foster family home, and no person may reside in a 
foster family home licensed by the Department, who has been convicted of 
committing or attempting to commit any of the offenses listed in Section 4.2 of the 
Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/4.2], and Section 5(v-1) of The Children and 
Family Services Act [20 ILCS 505/5(v-1)], or who is included in the Illinois Sex 
Offender Registry (unless the offender is a ward of the State of Illinois placed in the 
foster home by the Department or its contractual agent). 

 
c) Special Provisions for Service Providers 

 
As a condition of a contract or agreement, or as otherwise required under 89 Ill. Adm. 
Code 357, Purchase of Service, the Department shall require a person who provides 
services that allow unsupervised access to children to authorize a background check 
under this Part. 
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d) Assessment of Criminal Convictions 
 

Except as specified in subsections (a) and (b) of this Section, an individual convicted 
of a crime will not automatically be prohibited from licensure, renewal of a license, 
or employment in a child care facility, from residing in a family home in which a 
child care facility operates, or from obtaining a contract with the Department to 
provide services which allow access to children as part of their duties.  Instead, the 
following shall be considered: 

 
1) the nature of the crime for which the individual was convicted; 
 
2) the circumstances surrounding the commission of the crime, including the 

age of the individual, that would demonstrate a low likelihood of repetition; 
 

3) the period of time that has elapsed since the crime was committed; 
 

4) the number of crimes for which the individual was convicted; 
 

5) evidence of rehabilitation such as successful participation in therapy since 
conviction; 

 
6) commutation of the sentence by the Governor or granting of a pardon; 

 
7) overturn of the conviction upon appeal; 

 
8) character references; 

 
9) the relationship of the crime to the capacity to care for children or to have 

access to children cared for in a child care facility; 
 

10) Whether the employee/foster parent disclosed whether he or she had a 
criminal background and the circumstances of the conviction; and 

 
11) The development of a supervisory or monitoring plan that the Department has 

approved. 
 

e) Assessment of Pending Criminal Charges 
 

When an employer is informed that an employee has a pending charge for a crime 
listed as a barred offense in subsection (a), the employer shall develop a protective 
plan addressing unsupervised access to children until the charge has been resolved.  
An individual against whom criminal charges are pending shall not be automatically 
prohibited from licensure, renewal of a license, or employment in a child care 
facility, residing in a family home in which a child care facility operates, or obtaining 
a contract with the Department to provide services which allow access to children (as 
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limited by 89 Ill. Adm. Code 357, Purchase of Service) because of the pending 
criminal charges.  In those instances, the following shall be considered: 

 
1) the seriousness and nature of the charges which are pending including a 

determination of whether the charges are among those listed in Appendix A 
of this Part that serve as a bar to licensure or employment in a position that 
allows access to children; 

 
2) the circumstances surrounding the incident that led to the criminal charge; 

 
3) the relationship of the charges to the ability to care for children or to have 

access to children and confidential information in a child care facility; 
 

4) whether the individual has ever been convicted of or charged with crimes of a 
similar nature; and 

 
5) character references and other information submitted by or on behalf of the 

appellant or any other person, especially about the suitability of the individual 
to care for children. 

 
f) Notification of Hiring Decision 

 
Child care facilities shall notify the Department in writing of their decision regarding 
the employment of a person with a criminal history.  Such notice shall be postmarked 
within 30 days after receipt of the information from the Department about the 
individual's criminal history.  If the facility chooses to retain the employee, it must 
notify the Department of this decision and specify in the notice the operating hours of 
the facility, the duties of the employee, and the hours the employee will be working.  
The decision of the employer is final, subject to review under the personnel policies 
of its governing body.  Such hiring decisions may not be appealed to the Department 
of Children and Family Services. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 33 Ill. Reg. 4117, effective February 27, 2009) 

 
Section 385.70 Disposition of Background Checks 
 

a) Notice of Findings 
 

When the subject of the background check is the director, administrator or other chief 
executive officer of the facility, the Department shall notify in writing the presiding 
officer of the governing body of the results of the check, and the presiding officer 
shall take those actions required by this Part.  In the case of a group home or a child 
care facility which operates in a family home, the Department shall notify in writing 
the supervising agency for the facility of the results of the check. 
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b) Child Care Facility Decision Regarding Employment 

 
It shall be the responsibility of the governing body or operator of the facility to 
determine whether to hire or continue the employment of a conditional employee or 
to reassign the individual in question to a position which does not allow access to 
children, to provide the individual an opportunity for a review in accordance with the 
facility's personnel policies, and to notify the Department in writing of its 
employment decision within 30 days after receipt of the information from the 
Department.  The decision of the employer is final, subject to review under the 
personnel policies of its governing body.  Such hiring decisions may not be appealed 
to the Department of Children and Family Services. 

 
c) Request for Subsequent Background Check 

 
The employer of a person who has been relieved of child-related duties pursuant to 
this Part may request another background check if the circumstances leading to the 
relieving of child care duties have changed.  A change of circumstances may include, 
but is not limited to: 

 
1) pending criminal charges have been dismissed, resulted in an acquittal or 

conviction for a lesser charge; 
 

2) a conviction is reversed on appeal; 
 

3) the indicated finding of abuse or neglect is expunged, amended to another 
allegation, or amended to “unfounded”; 

 
4) a pending child protection investigation of abuse or neglect is “unfounded”; 

or 
 

5) the records of the circuit court, local or State Police, if relied upon to reach 
the decision, have been amended. 

 
d) Delinquent Child Support 

 
If the license applicant(s) has been denied a license or the Department has refused to 
refuse to renew a license because he or she is more than 30 days delinquent in child 
support, the applicant may reapply if he or she submits proof that the child support 
has been paid in full or that a payment schedule has been arranged with the 
Department of Public Aid (Title IV-D support cases) or the court of jurisdiction (all 
other child support cases). 

 
(Source:  Amended at 21 Ill. Reg. 4444, effective April 1, 1997) 
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Section 385.80 Appeal of Decision to Deny License or Permit Based on Background Check 
Information 

 
a) What May Be Appealed Under This Part 

 
A license applicant may appeal: 

 
1) the denial of an initial license based upon a background check conducted in 

accordance with this Part; or 
 

2) the denial of a permit based upon a background check conducted in 
accordance with this Part. 

 
b) What May Not Be Appealed Under This Part 

 
The Chief Administrative Law Judge will decide whether an issue is appropriate for a 
fair hearing pursuant to subsection (a). Issues inappropriate for a fair hearing under 
this Part include, but are not limited to: 

 
1) a decision based upon a background check conducted pursuant to this Part 

that revealed that the license applicant has a criminal conviction that bars 
licensure of, employment or residence in a licensed child care facility 
pursuant to Section 4(a) and (b) of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 
10/4(a) and (b)], unless the licensing applicant can establish that an 
exception, as provided in Section 4(b)(2) of the Act, may exist (see Appendix 
A); or 

 
2) a decision based upon a background check conducted pursuant to this Part 

that revealed that the license applicant has a criminal conviction that bars 
licensure of or residence in a foster family home pursuant to Section 4(c) of 
the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/4(c)], unless the licensing applicant 
can establish that an exception, as provided in Section 4(d) of the Child Care 
Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/4(d)], may exist. 

 
c) Appeal Request 

 
An individual requesting an opportunity for an appeal pursuant to subsection (a) shall 
submit such request, in writing, to the: 

 
Administrative Hearings Unit 
Department of Children and Family Services 
406 E. Monroe St., Station #15 
Springfield, Illinois 62701 

 
All such requests must be postmarked within ten days after the date of written notice 
of the denial of an application for license or permit. 
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d) Review of File 

 
1) After the Administrative Hearings Unit has received the individual's request 

for an appeal, the Administrator of the Administrative Hearings Unit shall 
notify the Department that the individual has appealed and the Department 
shall send to the Administrator a copy of the notice of denial of the 
application for a license or permit.  The notice of denial shall be prima facie 
evidence that the Department had a basis for refusing to issue the license or 
permit. 

 
2) The Administrator shall ask both the Department and the individual to submit 

any documents, records, statements, or other materials pertinent to the 
Department's denial of the application for licensure to create an appeal file.  
The Administrator shall further advise the Department and the individual of 
the intent to examine the appeal file, including all materials submitted for the 
appeal file, to determine whether a genuine issue of material fact exists.  
Within ten business days after the date of the Administrator's request for 
materials, both the Department representative and the individual shall submit 
to the Administrative Hearings Unit any and all documents, records, 
statements, materials, or evidence to establish that the Department's decision 
to deny the license because of the background check was either correct or 
incorrect. 

 
3) At least ten business days after the Administrator's request for materials, the 

Administrator shall examine the entire appeal file, including all materials 
submitted by both parties, and shall determine if a genuine issue of material 
fact exists. 

 
4) If the Administrator determines that no genuine issue of material fact exists, 

the Administrator shall dismiss the appeal.  The letter dismissing the appeal 
shall be the final administrative decision of the Department. 

 
e) The Appeal Process 

 
The individual shall be notified, in writing, of the date, time and location of the 
appeal hearing.  The individual may be represented by counsel of his or her choice, 
and may present evidence and/or witnesses on his or her own behalf.  The individual 
shall be required to produce evidence that he or she is not the individual identified in 
the background report, the background check report is inaccurate or, if the issue is 
delinquency in the payment of child support, that the child support has been paid in 
full or that a payment schedule has been arranged with the Department of Public Aid 
(Title IV-D cases) or a court of jurisdiction (all other child support cases).  Evidence 
to be considered shall be limited to: 
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1) When the appeal involves an indicated CANTS/SACWIS report, written 
statements from the administrator of the child protection division for the 
Department that the individual named in the report is not the individual in 
question or that the record has been expunged or amended; or 

 
2) When the appeal involves a criminal history record, evidence shall be limited 

to written statements from a law enforcement agency or clerk of the court:  
that the subject of the criminal history record provided to the Department is 
not the individual in question, or was never convicted of the crimes as alleged 
in the criminal history record, or was granted a full pardon by the Governor 
indicating that the person did not commit the crime; or that the crime was 
amended or expunged; or that the information in the criminal history record 
concerning the existence of the conviction was erroneous; or 

 
3) When the appeal involves delinquent child support, written statements from 

the Department of Public Aid or the clerk of the court, as applicable, that 
child support has been paid in full or a payment schedule arranged or that the 
payment record was incorrect. 

 
f) Final Administrative Decision 

 
The administrative law judge conducting the appeal must conclude that, when all the 
evidence presented pursuant to this Part and the applicable licensing standards are 
considered, there is clear and convincing evidence that the individual is not the 
person named in the indicated report/criminal history record or that the individual is 
suitable for service which allows access to children.  If the appeal is addressing the 
issue of delinquent child support, the individual must submit proof that the record 
was in error or that he or she has paid the delinquency or made arrangements for 
payment of delinquent child support.  A decision of the Department licensing 
authority is a final administrative decision, subject to review by a court of competent 
jurisdiction. 

 
g) Record of Appeal 

 
A written record shall be made of any reviews conducted pursuant to this Section, 
and such record shall contain copies of all documents relied upon in making the 
determination of fitness or unfitness for licensure. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 28 Ill. Reg. 13432, effective September 30, 2004) 
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I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to inform Department and Purchase of Services 
(POS) licensing staff of the procedures and review process to be offered prior to denying 
a license based on a background check. 

 
II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this policy guide are Department and POS licensing staff. 
 
III. NOTICE OF INTENT TO DENY AN APPLICATION 
 

A decision to deny an initial application based upon a background check shall be made 
by the licensing representative with the review and approval of the licensing supervisor.  
“Licensing representative” and “licensing supervisor” includes Department and POS staff 
that license agencies and institutions, day care homes and centers, and foster homes, and 
their supervisors. 

 
Before a licensing representative makes a decision to deny an application for a license 
based on a background check, the applicant shall be informed, in writing, of the reason 
for the intended action.  The licensing representative shall complete the CFS 719-1, 
Notice of Intent to Deny Initial Child Care Application Based on Background 
Check, and shall specify in the notice one or more of the following reasons for the 
intended action: 

 

• A person subject to a background check has been convicted of one or more of the 
crimes listed in the Child Care Act of 1969, as amended, which bar licensure, and 
which, after considering all of the factors listed in Part 385.Appendix A, 
Background Checks, provides sufficient cause to deny the application. 
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• A person subject to a background check has been identified as the perpetrator of 
an indicated report of child abuse or neglect which, after considering all of the 
factors listed in Part 385.50, Background Checks, provides sufficient cause to 
deny the application. 

 

• A person subject to a background check has been convicted of one or more crimes 
not listed in the Child Care Act as a bar to licensure, but which, after considering 
all of the factors listed in Part 385.60, Background Checks, provides sufficient 
cause to deny the application. 

 
For each reason selected, the licensing representative shall identify each person that has 
been convicted or who has been identified as the perpetrator of child abuse or neglect.  
The CFS 718, Authorization for Background Check has been amended to inform the 
applicant that the Department may share background check results with the licensing 
applicant. 

 
The CFS 719-1 informs the applicant of the opportunity to request a review by the 
Central Office of Licensing.  (Note: The applicant is not required to request a review by 
the Central Office of Licensing.) 

 
The licensing representative shall submit the completed CFS 719-1 to the licensing 
supervisor for review and approval.  The licensing supervisor shall review the CFS 719-1 
within 5 days, and approve it or return it to the licensing representative with instructions.   

 
When approved, the licensing supervisor shall sign the CFS 719-1 and return it to the 
licensing representative.  The licensing representative shall send the signed CFS 719-1 to 
the applicant by regular mail.  Copies of the CFS 719-1 shall be sent to the licensing 
supervisor and placed in the license application record. 

 
When the applicant requests a review, in writing, within 14 days from the date on the 
notice (see Section IV(a), below), the chairperson of the Central Office of Licensing 
review committee shall notify the licensing representative and licensing supervisor, by 
DCFS Outlook e-mail. 

 
When the applicant does not request a review within 14 days from the date on the notice, 
the licensing supervisor shall direct the licensing representative to prepare a CFS 719-3, 
Denial of License Based on Background Check. 

 
The licensing representative shall submit the completed CFS 719-3 to the licensing 
supervisor for review and approval.  The licensing supervisor shall review the CFS 719-3 
within 5 days, and shall approve it or return it to the licensing representative with 
instructions. 

 
When approved, the licensing supervisor shall sign the CFS 719-3 and return it to the 
licensing representative.  The licensing representative shall send the signed CFS 719-3 to 
the applicant by certified mail.  Copies of the CFS 719-3 shall be sent to the licensing 
supervisor and placed in the license application record. 

 
Note: In this Policy Guide, “Day” means a calendar day, unless otherwise specified. 
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IV. REVIEW BY THE CENTRAL OFFICE OF LICENSING 
 

a. Purpose 
 

The purpose of the review by the Central Office of Licensing is to give the 
applicant an opportunity to respond to the basis of the intent to deny the 
application based upon the background check. 

 
To make a timely request for a review, the applicant must contact the Central 
Office of Licensing, in writing, within 14 days from the date on the notice. 

 
The applicant shall explain, in writing, his or her reasons for disputing the results 
of the background check. 

 
The applicant may also submit the following written statements with his/her 
request: 

 
• When the issue involves an indicated CANTS/SACWIS report, a written 

statement from the administrator of the child protection division for the 
Department that the individual named in the report is not the individual in 
question or that the record has been expunged or amended; or 

 
• When the issue involves a criminal history record, written statements from 

a law enforcement agency or clerk of the court that the subject of the 
criminal history record provided to the Department is not the individual in 
question, or the individual was never convicted of the crimes as alleged in 
the criminal history record, or the individual was granted a full pardon by 
the Governor indicating that the person did not commit the crime or that 
the crime was amended or expunged, or that the information in the 
criminal history record concerning the existence of the conviction was 
erroneous. 

 
If the applicant makes a timely written request for this review, the Central Office 
review committee shall conduct the review within 7 days. 

 
The applicant may withdraw a request for review if the request arrives prior to 
when the review occurs.  (Note: The applicant is not required to request a review 
by the Central Office of Licensing.) 

 
b. Central Office of Licensing Review Committee 

 
The Associate Deputy Director for Licensing shall appoint two or more 
professional staff of the Central Office of Licensing to comprise the review 
committee.  The Associate Deputy Director for Licensing shall designate one 
person to chair the committee, and may designate an alternate chairperson to 
serve when the chairperson is unavailable. 
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The Central Office of Licensing shall ensure that all requests for review are 
delivered to the committee chairperson. 

 
The chairperson shall convene the committee, as needed, to review timely 
requests for review pursuant to this Policy Guide. 

 
c. Notice of Decision 

 
The Central Office of Licensing review committee shall review the results of the 
background check and all relevant information and documentation presented by 
the applicant.  The chairperson shall prepare a CFS 719-2, Notice of Decision 
after Review by the Central Office of Licensing when the review is concluded. 

 
Decision options: 

 
• The applicant’s background check is clear or contains a criminal 

conviction that does not affect the applicant’s suitability for licensure 
pursuant to Rule 385, Background Checks; 

 
• The applicant may request a review and waiver of the presumption of 

unsuitability as provided in Rule 385.50(b)(2); or 
 

• The application is denied based upon a background check.  The applicant 
shall be informed of his/her right to appeal this decision pursuant to Rule 
383.80, Appeal of Decision to Deny License or Permit Based on 
Background Check. 

 
The chairperson shall send the CFS 719-2 to the applicant by certified mail.  
Copies shall be sent to each committee member, the licensing representative and 
licensing supervisor.  The licensing supervisor shall ensure that a copy is placed 
in the license application record. 

 
The Central Office of Licensing shall maintain a complete copy of the review file. 

 
V. NEW AND AMENDED FORMS 
 

New Forms: 
 

• CFS 719-1 Notice of Intent to Deny Initial Child Care Application Based 
on Background Check 

• CFS 719-2 Notice of Decision after Review by the Central Office of 
Licensing 

• CFS 719-3 Denial of Application Based on Background Check 
 

Amended Form: 
 

• CFS 718 Authorization for Background Check 
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VI. QUESTIONS 
 

Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at OCFP – Mailbox.  Non Outlook users may e-
mail questions to cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us. 

 
VII. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File this Policy Guide immediately following Rule 385.80, Background Checks. 
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Section 385.90 Records to be Maintained by the Child Care Facility 
 

a) The governing body or operator of a child care facility shall maintain a copy of the 
authorization for background checks required by Sections 385.50 and 385.60 as part 
of the personnel records of the facility for a period of five years from the date of 
termination of the employment of the employee. 

 
b) The background check record of any conclusions or recommendations resulting from 

the review of the findings of that check by the governing body or operator of the child 
care facility shall be maintained for five years after termination of the employment in 
a separate, confidential file apart from other personnel records.  Access to such 
records shall be permitted to the following: 

 
1) the subject of an individual record; 

 
2) the governing body or operator of the child care facility; 

 
3) Department licensing representatives; 

 
4) Department staff authorized, in writing, by the Director to conduct 

background checks pursuant to this Part; 
 

5) persons who are authorized, in writing, by the governing body or operator of 
the child care facility and whose duties are related to the background  checks 
or its findings; 

 
6) Department representatives who have the Director of the Department's 

written authorization which specifies the statutory authority or administrative 
rule(s) under which the access is granted; and 

 
7) such other persons who are lawfully entitled to the information (e.g. persons 

with a valid subpoena, law enforcement personnel, or the attorney of the 
individual in question). 

 
(Source:  Amended at 21 Ill. Reg. 4444, effective April 1, 1997) 

 
Section 385.100 Confidentiality of Background Check Information 
 
Any employee of the Department of Children and Family Services, the Illinois State Police, or a 
child care facility receiving confidential information under this Section who gives or causes to be 
given any confidential information concerning any criminal convictions or child abuse or neglect 
information of a child care facility applicant, or child care facility employee, shall be guilty of a 
Class A misdemeanor unless release of such information is authorized by Sections 4.1 and 4.3 of the 
Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/4.1 and 4.3]. 
 

(Source:  Added at 21 Ill. Reg. 4444, effective April 1, 1997) 
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Section 385.110 Severability of This Part 
 
If any court of competent jurisdiction finds that any rule, clause, phrase, or provision of this Part is 
unconstitutional or invalid for any reason whatsoever, this finding shall not affect the validity of the 
remaining portions of this Part. 
 

(Source: Renumbered from Section 385.70 at 21 Ill. Reg. 4444, effective April 1, 1997) 
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Section 385.APPENDIX A  Criminal Convictions Preventing Licensure, Employment, 
Residence in a Family Home in Which a Child Care Facility Operates, or Placement with 
Relatives  
 

a) Criminal Convictions Preventing Licensure, Employment, or Residence in a Family 
Home in Which a Child Care Facility Operates 

 
If any person subject to background checks has been included in the Illinois Sex 
Offender Registry or convicted of committing or attempting to commit one or more 
of the following serious criminal offenses under the Criminal Code of 2012 [720 
ILCS 5] or under any earlier Illinois criminal law or code or an offense in another 
state, the elements of which are similar and bear a substantial relation to any of the 
criminal offenses specified below, this conviction will serve as a bar to: receiving a 
license or permit to operate as a child care facility and renewal of an existing license 
to operate a child care facility; residing in a family home in which a child care facility 
operates; obtaining employment or continuing in employment in a licensed child care 
facility which allows access to children as part of the duties; and obtaining a contract 
or agreement providing services on behalf of the Department that allows 
unsupervised access to children.  

 
In addition to the list of crimes in this Appendix A, no applicant may receive a 
license from the Department to operate a foster family home, and no adult person 
may reside in a foster family home licensed by the Department, who has been 
convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the offenses listed in 89 Ill. 
Adm. Code 402.Appendix A (Criminal Convictions Which Prevent Licensure), 
which is a more inclusive list of crimes.  

 
The offenses that serve as a bar to licensure, residence in a family home in which a 
child care facility operates, employment that allows access to children in any child 
care facility subject to licensing, or providing services that allow unsupervised access 
to children include:  

 
OFFENSES DIRECTED AGAINST THE PERSON  

 
HOMICIDE  

 
• Murder  
• Solicitation of murder  
• Solicitation of murder for hire  
• Intentional homicide of an unborn child  
• Voluntary manslaughter of an unborn child  
• Involuntary manslaughter  
• Reckless homicide  
• Concealment of a homicidal death  
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• Involuntary manslaughter of an unborn child  
• Reckless homicide of an unborn child  
• Drug induced homicide [225 ILCS 10/4.2(b)] 

 
KIDNAPPING AND RELATED OFFENSES  

 
• Kidnapping  
• Aggravated kidnapping  
• Aggravated unlawful restraint  
• Forcible detention  
• Child abduction  
• Aiding and abetting child abduction  
• Harboring a runaway [225 ILCS 10/4.2(b)] 

 
SEX OFFENSES UNDER ARTICLE 11 OF THE CRIMINAL CODE OF 1961, 
EXCEPT OFFENSES DESCRIBED IN SECTIONS 11-7, 11-8, 11-12, 11-13, 11-35, 
11-40 AND 11-45 

 
• Indecent solicitation of a child  
• Indecent solicitation of an adult  
• Public indecency  
• Sexual exploitation of a child  
• Custodial sexual misconduct 
• Presence within school zone by child sex offenders 
• Approaching, contacting, residing, or communicating with a child within a 

public park zone by child sex offenders 
• Sexual relations within families  
• Prostitution  
• Soliciting for a prostitute  
• Soliciting for a juvenile prostitute  
• Solicitation of a sexual act  
• Pandering  
• Keeping a place of prostitution  
• Keeping a place of juvenile prostitution  
• Patronizing a prostitute  
• Patronizing a minor engaged in prostitution  
• Pimping  
• Juvenile pimping  
• Exploitation of a child  
• Obscenity  
• Child pornography  
• Harmful material  
• Tie-in sales of obscene publications to distributors  
• Posting of identifying information on a pornographic internet site [720 ILCS 

5/Art. 11] 
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BODILY HARM  
 

• Heinous battery  
• Aggravated battery with a firearm  
• Aggravated battery of a child  
• Tampering with food, drugs, or cosmetics  
• Hate crime  
• Stalking  
• Aggravated stalking  
• Threatening public officials  
• Home invasion  
• Vehicular invasion  
• Drug induced infliction of great bodily harm  
• Criminal sexual assault  
• Aggravated criminal sexual assault  
• Predatory criminal sexual assault of a child  
• Criminal sexual abuse  
• Aggravated sexual abuse  
• Criminal transmission of HIV  
• Criminal abuse or neglect of an elderly or disabled person  
• Child abandonment  
• Endangering the life or health of a child  
• Ritual mutilation  
• Ritualized abuse of a child  
• Any violation of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection 

Act [720 ILCS 646] [225 ILCS 10/4.2(b)] 
 

Final approval for licensure shall not be granted if the record check reveals a felony 
conviction for child abuse or neglect, for spousal abuse, for a crime against children, 
or for a crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault or homicide, but not 
including other felony convictions for physical assault or battery, or if there is a 
felony conviction for physical assault, battery or a drug-related offense committed 
within the past 5 years. [20 ILCS 505/5(v-1) and (v-2)] 

 
Waiver of Convictions for Placement with Relatives 
Criminal convictions that were waived by the Director for the initial placement in 
accordance with provisions in Section 7(b) of the Children and Family Services Act 
[20 ILCS 505/7(b)] and 89 Ill. Adm. Code 301.Appendix A(b) and (c) are deemed 
waived for a final placement decision. If additional criminal convictions appear as a 
result of the fingerprint results, a new waiver request shall be submitted to the 
Director or designee. 
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b) Additional Convictions that Bar Licensure of or Employment in a Child Care Facility 

In addition to the requirements of subsection (a), no new applicant and, on the date 
of licensure renewal, no current licensee may operate or receive a license from the 
Department to operate, no person may be employed by, and no adult person may 
reside in a child care facility licensed by the Department who has been convicted of 
committing or attempting to commit any of the following offenses or an offense in any 
other jurisdiction the elements of which are similar to and bear a substantial 
relationship to any of the following offenses: 

 
OFFENSES DIRECTED AGAINST THE PERSON 

 
BODILY HARM 

 
• Felony aggravated assault 
• Vehicular endangerment 
• Felony domestic battery 
• Aggravated battery 
• Heinous battery 
• Aggravated battery with a firearm 
• Aggravated battery of an unborn child 
• Aggravated battery of a senior citizen 
• Intimidation 
• Compelling organization membership of persons 
• Abuse and gross neglect of a long term care facility resident 
• Felony violation of an order of protection 

 
OFFENSES AFFECTING PUBLIC HEALTH, SAFETY, AND DECENCY 

 
• Felony unlawful use of weapons 
• Aggravated discharge of a firearm 
• Reckless discharge of a firearm 
• Unlawful use of metal piercing bullets 
• Unlawful sale or delivery of firearms on the premises of any school 
• Disarming a police officer 
• Obstructing justice 
• Concealing or aiding a fugitive 
• Armed violence 
• Felony contributing to the criminal delinquency of a juvenile 

 
DRUG OFFENSES 

 
• Possession of more than 30 grams of cannabis 
• Manufacture of more than 10 grams of cannabis 
• Cannabis trafficking 
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• Delivery of cannabis on school grounds 
• Unauthorized production of more than 5 cannabis sativa plants 
• Calculated criminal cannabis conspiracy 
• Unauthorized manufacture or delivery of controlled substances 
• Controlled substance trafficking 
• Manufacture, distribution or advertisement of look-alike substances 
• Calculated criminal drug conspiracy 
• Street gang criminal drug conspiracy 
• Permitting unlawful use of a building 
• Delivery of controlled, counterfeit, or look-alike substances to persons under 

age 18, or at truck stops, rest stops, or safety rest areas, or on school 
property 

• Using, engaging, or employing persons under 18 to deliver controlled, 
counterfeit, or look-alike substances 

• Delivery of controlled substances 
• Sale or delivery of drug paraphernalia 
• Felony possession, sale, or exchange of instruments adapted for use of a 

controlled substance or cannabis by subcutaneous injection 
• Felony possession of a controlled substance [225 ILCS 10/4.2(b-1)] 

 
c) In addition to any other provision of this Section, for applicants with access to 

confidential financial information or who submit documentation to support billing, 
no applicant whose initial application was considered after July 31, 2012 may receive 
a license from the Department or a child care facility licensed by the Department who 
has been convicted of committing or attempting to commit any of the following 
felony offenses: 
 
1) financial institution fraud under Section 17-10.6 of the Criminal Code of 

2012; 
2) identity theft under Section 16-30 of the Criminal Code of 2012; 
3) financial exploitation of an elderly person or a person with a disability under 

Section 17-56 of the Criminal Code of 2012; 
4) computer tampering under Section 17-51 of the Criminal Code of 2012; 
5) aggravated computer tampering under Section 17-52 of the Criminal Code of 

2012; 
6) computer fraud under Section 17-50 of the Criminal Code of 2012; 
7) deceptive practices under Section 17-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012; 
8) forgery under Section 17-3 of the Criminal Code of 2012; 
9) State benefits fraud under Section 17-6 of the Criminal Code of 2012; 
10) mail fraud and wire fraud under Section 17-24 of the Criminal Code of 2012; 
11) theft under Section 16-1(1.1) through (11) of the Criminal Code of 2012. 

[225 ILCS 10.4.2(b-1.5)] 
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d) Exception Applicable to Child Care Facilities Other than Foster Family Homes  
Notwithstanding subsection (a), the Department may issue a new child care facility 
license or may renew the existing child care facility license of an applicant, or an 
applicant who has an adult residing in a home child care facility who was convicted 
of an offense described in subsection (b), or the Department may approve the 
employment of a person by a child care facility who was convicted of an offense 
described in subsection (b), provided that all of the following requirements are met: 

 
1) The relevant criminal offense or offenses occurred more than 5 years prior to 

the date of application or renewal, except for drug offenses.  The relevant 
drug offense must have occurred more than 10 years prior to the date of 
application or renewal, unless the applicant or prospective employee has 
passed a drug test, arranged and paid for by the child care facility, no less 
than 5 years after the offense; 

 
2) The Department must conduct a background check and assess all convictions 

and recommendations of the child care facility in accordance with Section 
385.60(d), (e) and (f) and determine if a waiver is applicable in accordance 
with subsection (d)(1); 

 
3) The applicant meets all other requirements and qualifications to obtain a 

license to operate the pertinent type of child care facility.  [225 ILCS 
10/4.2(b-2) 

 
(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 12827, effective July 30, 2013) 
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Section 385.APPENDIX B   Matrix of Persons Subject to Background Checks Under Part 385 
 
 
Type of 
Individual 

 
Criminal 
Check 

 
Illinois Sex 
Offender 
Registry 

 
Child 
Abuse/ 
Neglect 
Check 

 
Child 
Support 

 
Explanation 

Operator Yes Yes Yes Yes Criminal check via 
fingerprints. Delinquent 
child support check 
applies only to for-profit 
entities. 

Employee 
•Age 17 and over 
•Under age 18 

 
Yes 
No 

 
Yes 
Yes 

 
Yes 
Yes 

 
No 
No 

For persons age 17 and 
over, the criminal check 
is done via fingerprints.  

Others in Family 
Home 
•Age 17 and over 
•Ages 13 through 

18 

 
 
Yes 
No 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 

 
 
Yes 
Yes 

 
 
No 
No 

For persons age 17 and 
over, the criminal check 
is done via fingerprints.  

Individual Used 
to 

Replace or 
Supplement 
Staff 
•Age 17 and over 
•Under age 18 

 
 
 
Yes 
No 

 
 
 
Yes 
Yes 

 
 
 
Yes 
Yes 

 
 
 
No 
No 

For persons age 17 and 
over, the criminal check 
is done via fingerprints.  

Service provider 
for the 
Department who 
has access to 
children 
•Age 17 and over 
•Under age 18 

 
 
 
 
Yes 
No 

 
 
 
 
Yes 
Yes 

 
 
 
 
Yes 
Yes 

 
 
 
 
No 
No 

For persons age 17 and 
over, the criminal check 
is done via fingerprints.  
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Type of 
Individual 

 
Criminal 
Check 

 
Child 
Sex 
Offender 
Registry 

 
Child 
Abuse/ 
Neglect 
Check 

 
Child 
Support 

 
Explanation 

Work Study 
Student 

No Yes Yes No If counted in the staff-child 
ratio or left alone with 
children outside the visual 
or auditory supervision 
of facility staff, the 
individual is replacing or 
supplementing staff and a 
criminal background  
check is required, also. 

Contractual Staff 
Hired by the 
Child Care 
Facility 

No No No No If counted in the staff-child 
ratio or left alone with 
children outside the visual 
or auditory supervision of 
facility staff, the individual 
is replacing or 
supplementing staff and a 
criminal background check 
is required. 

Volunteers No No No No If counted in the staff-child 
ratio or left alone with 
children outside the visual 
or auditory supervision of 
facility staff, the individual 
is replacing or 
supplementing staff and a 
criminal background check 
is required. 

Parents No No No No If counted in the staff-child 
ratio or left alone with 
children outside the visual 
or auditory supervision of 
facility staff, the individual 
is replacing or 
supplementing staff and a 
criminal background check 
is required. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 33 Ill. Reg. 4117, effective February 27, 2009) 



 

 

 

 

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2016.11 
 

RULES 385 BACKGROUND CHECKS 
 
 

DATE: October 19, 2016 
 
TO: DCFS and Private Agency Licensing Staff 
 
FROM: George H. Sheldon, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to inform Department and Purchase of Services 
licensing staff, as well as holders of a child care facility license, that all employees for a 
licensed child care facility, including child welfare agencies, shall be fingerprinted, per 
the Illinois Child Care Act and Children & Family Services Act.  An employee or 
applicant for employment shall be defined for the purpose of this policy guide as one of 
the following:  Employee, Conditional Employee, Volunteer or Non-licensed service 
provider. 
 
This Policy Guide is effective immediately. 

 
II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this Policy Guide are Department Licensing Staff, POS Licensing 
staff and license holders. 
 

III. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY 
 
The Child Care Act and the Children and Family Services Act, without exception, require 
a fingerprint background search of the FBI Database to be completed for all employees of 
a licensed child care facility, including child welfare agencies. 
 
These statutes have authority over Rule 385.30 c) 4) that states persons who have not 
lived out-of-state over the past 3 years do not need a fingerprint background search of the 
National Crime Information Database. 
 
The following information does not change any requirements or procedures in place 
regarding the identification of criminal background history through a check conducted by 
the Illinois State Police. 
  



IV.  INSTRUCTIONS 
 

The FBI prohibits the Department from sharing any background information received 
with private agencies.  Therefore, when an FBI fingerprint search results in the 
identification of a criminal bar to employment in a licensed childcare facility, the private 
agency and/or license holder shall receive notice of the bar to employment for that 
individual; no other information related to the FBI fingerprint search shall be disclosed to 
the employer by the Department.  The notice shall include a waiver form for the 
employer to complete should there be pursuance of a waiver to employment for the 
employee.  The employer has the option to pursue a waiver, or not. 
 
The employee or applicant for employment shall receive a notice from the Department 
when the individual has a criminal bar to employment in a childcare facility.  The notice 
sent to the employee or applicant shall provide information related to how they can 
receive a copy of their fingerprint search record. The notice to the employee or applicant 
shall include the type of bar and where to go to resolve any mistakes they believe have 
occurred within their record.  In addition, the notice shall include language that the 
applicant or employee may approach their employer or prospective employer and share 
the information in an effort to secure a waiver recommendation from said employer.  The 
employer shall have the option to meet, or not to meet with the employee or potential 
employee to pursue a bar that can be waived.  If the employer pursues a waiver so the 
individual can be employed, they would need to meet with the individual and complete 
the questions received as part of the initial notice to the employer. 
 
No other changes in the licensing background checks requirements or processes shall 
occur. 

 
V. QUESTIONS 

 
Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at OCFP – Mailbox.  Non Outlook users may e-
mail questions to cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us.   

 
VI. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File this Policy Guide immediately following Rules 385, Background Checks 



 

 

 

 

 

 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2015.06 
 

REQUESTS FOR WAIVERS OF PRESUMPTION OF UNSUITABILITY 
 
 
 
 
DATE: March 19, 2015 
 
TO: DCFS and Private Agency Licensing Staff  
 
FROM: George H. Sheldon, Acting Director 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to inform Department and Purchase of Services 
(POS) licensing staff of a new requirement to review and assess child protection reports 
before requesting a waiver of presumption of unsuitability, which is consistent with a 
recent recommendation of the Office of Inspector General.  

 
II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this policy guide are Department and POS licensing staff. 
 
III. BACKGROUND 
 

As explained in Rule 385, subsection 385.50(b), when an individual has been the 
indicated perpetrator of certain types and/or number of abuse or neglect allegations listed 
in subsection 385.50(a), the Department presumes the individual is not suitable to operate 
a licensed child care facility, reside in a licensed foster family home, or hold a position in 
a licensed facility that allows access to children.  If the licensing entity believes the 
individual is suitable, despite the indicated abuse or neglect allegation, they may request 
a review and waiver of the presumption of unsuitability.   
 
In a recent report, the Department’s Office of Inspector General advised that before 
recommending a waiver of the presumption of unsuitability, staff should review and 
assess relevant child protection reports.   
 
This Policy Guide summarizes the Department’s guidelines for implementing this new 
standard.  
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IV. SUMMARY  
 

Before licensing staff may request a waiver of presumption of unsuitability, the person 
for whom a waiver is being requested must sign a consent to allow licensing staff to 
review and assess all child protection reports in which they were identified as an 
indicated  perpetrator.  Licensing staff shall conduct a thorough review of all child 
protection reports in which the individual was identified as an indicated perpetrator.  
After this review, the licensing worker, in consultation with his/her supervisor, shall 
make a determination whether to request a waiver regarding unsuitability. 
 
The Department will propose amendments to Rule 385 to comport with this Policy 
Guide.  Licensing staff shall immediately implement the new standards. 

 
V. QUESTIONS 

 
Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at OCFP – Mailbox.  Non Outlook users may e-
mail questions to cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us. 

 
VI. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File this Policy Guide immediately following Rules 385, Background Checks. 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2014.15 
 

OUT-OF-STATE FINGERPRINTS FOR ADOPTION AND  
SUBSIDIZED GUARDIANSHIP CASES 

 
 
DATE: October 2, 2014 
 
TO: DCFS and Private Agency Permanency and Licensing Staff  
 
FROM: Bobbie Gregg, Acting Director 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
 
I. PURPOSE 

 
The purpose of this Policy Guide is to provide procedures to secure required Illinois State 
Police (ISP) fingerprint clearances for foster families pursuing adoption or subsidized 
guardianship of a foster child who is under the legal auspices of the Department, but 
whose current residence is outside the State of Illinois.  These procedures only apply to 
adoption and subsidized guardianship cases that are to be finalized in Illinois.  
 

II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this policy guide are Department and Private Child Welfare Agency 
staff with responsibilities for children with a permanency goal of adoption or subsidized 
guardianship. 

 
III. BACKGROUND 
 

The Illinois Adoption Act requires that an investigation occur before an adoption, i.e., 
“The investigation required under this Section (of the Adoption Act) shall include a 
fingerprint based criminal background check with a review of fingerprints by the Illinois 
State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation.”  As a result, the Department is issuing 
procedures in order to increase efficacy for the purpose of securing permanency for youth 
through adoption and subsidized guardianship, while meeting the requirements of statute. 
 

IV. SUMMARY OF NEW PROCEDURES 
 

Foster parents who reside out of state and are pursuing adoption or subsidized 
guardianship in Illinois, and any household member who is 18 or over, shall be 
fingerprinted, with fingerprints being completed and processed as follows: 
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PROCEDURAL STEPS 
 
a) The child welfare agency that is assigned responsibility for facilitating the child’s 

adoption or subsidized guardianship shall secure and complete Section 1 of the most 
recently revised version of the CFS 718-RL, Authorization for Background Check 
for Unlicensed Home of Relative  
 

b) The child welfare agency shall subsequently send a CFS 718-RL for each household 
member who is 18 years or older 
 

c) Each and every household member of the foster home who is age 18 years or older 
shall complete Sections 2 & 3 of the CFS 718-RL, including signature and date. 
 

d) Each adult household member shall take the CFS 718-RL to their local law 
enforcement agency or vendor. 
 

e) The local law enforcement agency shall fingerprint each adult household member 
using the standard FBI fingerprint card, form number FD-258.  When the local law 
enforcement agency does not have the FD-258, the form can be printed from the 
Accurate Biometrics website at: 
 
accuratebiometrics.com/fingerprinting_Ink_and_Roll.html 
 

f) Any fee for fingerprints required by out-of-state law enforcement agencies shall be 
the responsibility of the foster parents pursuing adoption or subsidized guardianship. 
 

g) The completed CFS 718-RL and FD-258 for each adult household member shall be 
submitted by the foster family to the Child Welfare Agency responsible for securing 
the child’s permanency. 
 

h) The Child Welfare Agency shall ensure that the CFS 718-RL has correctly been 
completed by each adult household member (sections 2 & 3) and that the FD-258 is 
attached.   
 

i) The child welfare agency shall be responsible to subsequently complete section 5 of 
the CFS 718-RL.  The child welfare agency shall keep the original CFS 718-RL for 
the child’s case file and send a copy of the CFS 718-RL and the original FD-258 
with a cover sheet that is clearly marked “Adoption Only and for ISP Only,” to the 
following address: 
 
Accurate Biometrics, 4849 North Milwaukee Avenue, Suite 101, Chicago, IL  
60630 

 
j) The responsible child welfare agency shall have a LEADS certified adoption worker 

concurrently electronically scan and send the CFS 718-RL to Central Office of 
Licensing, with the provider’s name and ID# written in the subject line, at the 
following D-Net Outlook mailbox that is in the Outlook Directory, i.e. DCFS 
OSURE 
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k) Accurate Biometrics shall process the fingerprints using the AWA purpose code, with 

the results being made accessible to the Central Office of Licensing Unit. 
 

l) Central Office of Licensing shall complete the ISP portion of Section 4 of the CFS 
718-RL and send the fingerprint results to the responsible child welfare agency. 

 
V. QUESTIONS 

 
Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at OCFP – Mailbox.  Non Outlook users may e-
mail questions to cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us. 

 
VI. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File this Policy Guide immediately following Rules 385, Background Checks. 
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

Distribution: X and  Z 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2011.03 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK PROCEDURES FOR UNLICENSED CONTRACT 
 
 
DATE: April 28, 2011 
 
TO: Rules and Procedures Bookholders 
 
FROM: Erwin McEwen, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to inform Department staff, contract liaisons and 
DCFS background unit staff of the changes in processing background checks for 
employment of un-licensed contract providers. 

 
II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this policy guide are Department staff, contract liaisons and DCFS 
background check unit staff. 

 
III. BACKGROUND INFORMATION  
 

Background checks for persons employed with Non-Licensed Contract Providers who 
contract with the Department were done by the Office of Employment Services (OES). 
Effective April 1, 2011, the process will be done by the Division of Licensing, 
Background Check Unit, Chicago Office and the process is as follows:  

 
a) Mandatory Criminal Background Check  

 
A mandatory background check, as described below, is required when a person is 
employed with a Non–Licensed Contractor that has a contract with the 
Department and the employee may have access to children.  

 
The person with access to children who is employed by a Non-Licensed Contract 
provider shall submit a CFS 718-C, Authorization for Background Check, to the 
Department contract liaison. 

 
The criminal background check includes a CANTS check, and a check of the ISP 
and FBI database.   (See attached flow chart) 



 
 

DCFS Fingerprint Search Database  
 

Prior to submitting an authorization for background checks the contract liaison 
shall perform a name search of the DCFS fingerprint search database of all 
persons needing a criminal background check to determine if a fingerprint record 
of the person has been done before. The results of the fingerprint search will 
determine whether the person needs to be printed or not. 

 
The name search shall be done by following the instructions on the following 
DCFS web site: https://fingerprintsearch.dcfs.illinois.gov/  

 
The contractor’s provider number will be used on the CFS 718-C  

 
A) Name Found on DCFS web site database 

 
If the name of the individual is found in the DCFS criminal history 
fingerprint check database as having been fingerprinted, that person does 
not have to be fingerprinted again unless otherwise directed by DCFS. 

 
Finding the name of a person in this database does not imply that the 
person has clear the background check. The Department will request a 
criminal history update for that person.  

 
The contract liaison shall print the “confirmation screen” from the DCFS 
database to confirm the individual’s information is already on file.  Place a 
copy in the contract file. 

 
Forward the CFS 718-C with the confirmation screen to: 

 
 DCFS Background Check Unit 
 1911-21 S Indiana 7th Floor 
 Chicago, Illinois 60616 

 
B) Name Not Found on DCFS web site 

 
If the name of the individual is not found in the DCFS criminal history 
fingerprint check database, staff shall complete Part 4 of the CFS 718-C. 
Staff shall print and attached the “confirmation screen” to the CFS 718-C 
and keep a copy for the file. 

 
Staff shall direct the person to be fingerprinted to the fingerprint provider 
with the CFS 718-C and a copy of the confirmation screen to the 
fingerprinting agency/vendor 
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b) Fingerprint Process:  

 
The fingerprint vendor shall  

 
1. Verify the identity and signature of the provider or employee by 

comparing information on a valid government issued photo identification 
card with the information on the authorization for background check form;  

 
2. Obtain fingerprints of the provider;  

 
3. Send fingerprints to Illinois State Police; and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation (FBI). 
 

4. Forward the CFS 718-C to: 
 

DCFS Background Check Unit 
1911-21 S. Indiana, 7th Floor 
Chicago, IL 60616 

 
c) The Department Background Check Unit shall check the Child Abuse and Neglect 

Tracking System (CANTS) and Sexual Offender Registry System (SORS) and 
notify the contract liaison of the findings.  

 
IV. ATTACHMENTS 
 

Non-Licensed Contractors Background Check Procedure Flow Chart 
CFS 718-C, Authorization for Background Check for Non Licensed Contract Staff  

 
V. QUESTIONS 
 

Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at OCFP–Mailbox.  Non Outlook users may e-
mail questions to cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us or contact Carolyn Bailey at (312) 328-2213 

 
VI. INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File this Policy Guide immediately following Rule 385. 

3 



Non-Licensed Contractors 
Background Check Procedure Flow Chart  

 
 
 
 DCFS contract liaison checks 

D-net to determine if contractor 
has been fingerprinted.  

(Fingerprinting is mandatory) 

02-16-11 

 
 

 
Fingerprinted 

Contractor completes  sections 1-3  
of CFS 718-C and contract liaison 
completes section 4 

Not Fingerprinted 
Contractor completes sections 1-3 of 
CFS 718-C and contract liaison 
completes section 4. Liaison instructs 
contractor to go for  fingerprinting 

 
BCU completes background check 

(CANTS/SORS/ ISP/ FBI) 

The completed CFS 718-C is 
returned to the contract liaison.  

 
Hit 

(H) denotes adverse CANTS/SORS and 
or ISP/FBI criminal info has been 
discovered  

BCU documents clearance results in section 3 of 
the CFS 718-C  under background results 

 
BCU reviews CFS 718-C for accuracy. If 

incomplete, it is returned to liaison 

Liaison assesses the info and sends a note 
via outlook indicating if background check 
should be cleared or denied 

A BCU notice is sent via outlook to liaison. 
The CFS 718-C and a copy of the 
CANTS/SORS and or ISP/FBI info is mailed 
to liaison for assessment. 

CFS 718-C is forwarded by liaison 
to:  

IDCFS 
Background Check Unit 7th fl 

1911-21 S. Indiana 
Chicago, Il 60616 

Clear 
(CL) denotes no CANTS/SORS and 
or ISP/FBI criminal info found  

When fingerprinted, Accurate 
Biometrics forwards  the CFS 718-C to:  

IDCFS 
Background Check Unit 7th fl 

1911-21 S. Indiana 
Chicago, Il 60616 



 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

Distribution: X, Z and L 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2011.06 
 

PRELIMINARY PROCESS PRIOR TO REQUESTING A BACKGROUND CHECK 
 

 
DATE: July 6, 2011 
 
TO: Rules and Procedures Book Holders, DCFS and Purchase of Service Staff, 

Licensed Facilities, and other State Entities.  
 
FROM: Erwin McEwen, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this policy guide is to instruct the staff of the Department, Purchase of 
Service Agencies, and other Illinois State entities that use the Illinois Department of 
Children and Family Services’ licensing background check system for the purpose of 
processing background checks (CA/N, ISP, SOR, and FBI).   
 
The procedures outlined below require a check of the fingerprint web-based computer 
data tracking system prior to requesting a criminal history background check. This 
procedure will eliminate the duplication of fingerprint submissions and will minimize the 
costs of conducting Illinois State Police (ISP) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) 
fingerprint-based inquires. 

 
II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this policy guide are Department, Purchase of Service, and staff 
from other Illinois State agencies/entities requesting a background check from the 
Department. 
 

III. POLICY 
 

a) Applicability  
 

Effective immediately a name search of the DCFS fingerprint database is 
required prior to requesting a criminal history background check on persons who 
are subject to background check listed in Section 385.20. 

 
"Persons subject to background checks" means: 

• the operators of the child care facility; 
• all current and conditional employees of the child care facility; 
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• any person who is used to replace or supplement staff; 
• any person who has access to children, as defined in Section 385.20; and 
• any person who provides services that allow unsupervised access to 

children if the requirement for background checks is a condition of a 
contract or agreement or is required otherwise under 89 Ill. Adm. Code 
357, Purchase of Service. 

 
A child care facility which operates in a family home, the license applicants and 
all members of the household age 13 years of age and older are subject to 
background checks even if these members of the household are not usually 
present in the home during the hours the child care facility is in operation. 

 
 b) Procedure for Conducting a Name Search in the Fingerprint Database  

 
Prior to sending an individual for a criminal background check via fingerprints the 
requesting person shall check the web based DCFS Fingerprint Search data  
system at https://fingerprintsearch.dcfs.illinois.gov/ to determine if DCFS has a 
fingerprint record of that person. The website will not disclose the results of the 
fingerprint search, if any, but will list persons by name who have been 
fingerprinted by DCFS in the past.  The requesting person/worker shall: 

  
1) obtain the appropriate completed, dated, and signed CFS 718 

Authorization for Background Check form   from the individual for whom 
a background check is required (See Section VI of this Policy Guide); 

 
2) complete all fields in the section titled “To Be Completed By Employer”; 
 
3) access the DCFS Fingerprint Search System at 

https://fingerprintsearch.dcfs.illinois.gov/; and 
 
4) positively identify the person to be fingerprinted using a photo ID (e.g. 

government issued ID, driver license, passport); enter the following 
information in the mandatory data entry requirement fields : Provider ID, 
First Name, Last Name, Birth Date, and the last four (4) digits of the 
individual’s social security number and click search.  

 
The Fingerprint Search system will conduct a search of the DCFS fingerprint 
database and display one of the following messages (in red, on the left side of the 
screen): 

• Fingerprint Exist. Print the form in the Pop Up Window or 
 
• Fingerprint is not on file. Print form in the Pop Up Window  

 
The requesting person shall click the “print” icon (on the pop up window) and the 
system will generate the Fingerprint Search Results document. 
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Depending on the fingerprint search results the requesting person will follow the 
appropriate processes below to complete the Background Check Process which 
are: 

 
5)  Fingerprints on File 
 

The requesting person/worker shall: 
 
A) make a copy of the appropriate CFS 718 and the Fingerprint 

Search Results document for the file; and 
 
B) staple the Fingerprint Search Results to the CFS 718 and submit 

both documents directly to the appropriate Background Check 
Unit (BCU) for processing  

 
See table in Section VI of this Policy Guide for instructions on where to 
send the respective CFS 718. 

   
6)  Fingerprints NOT On File 
  

The requesting person/worker shall: 
 

A) make a copy of the appropriate CFS 718 and Fingerprint Search 
Results document as a file copy; 

 
B) staple the Fingerprint Search Results document to the CFS 718;  
 
C) contact Accurate Biometrics at (773) 685-5699 or at 

http://www.accuratebiometrics.com/ and schedule the individual 
for fingerprinting; and 

 
D) give the appropriate CFS 718 and the Fingerprint Search 

documents to the individual required to be fingerprinted. The 
individual must be present both the CFS 718 and the Fingerprint 
Search Results to Accurate Biometrics in order to be fingerprinted. 
 

c) Fingerprint Update Costs   
 

There is no charge to update finger print searches for license renewal, persons 
subject to a background check applying to work in an licensed agency, adoption, 
subsidized guardianship, relative adoption, and unlicensed home of relative 
placement. The cost of updating fingerprints is addressed in Rule 385, 
Background Checks.   
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IV.  FINGERPRINT REPRINT NOTICES 
 

a) The requesting person shall follow all instructions printed on the fingerprint 
reprint notice. 

 
b) The individual needing to be reprinted shall take the reprint notice to the 

fingerprint vendor to have new fingerprints taken. 
   
V.  NO INTERNET ACCESS 
 

A requesting person who does not have access to the Internet to conduct the web based 
fingerprint search shall, contact the Background Check Unit responsible for processing 
the Authorization for Background Check form. Please call either BCU-Chicago at (312) 
328-2465; (312) 328-2464 or BCU – Springfield at (217) 785-2688. 
 

VI. INSTRUCTION TABLE FOR SENDING CFS 718, AUTHORIZATION FOR 
BACKGROUND CHECKS 

 
Authorization 

Form # 
Authorization for Where to Send 

CFS 718 Operator of Child Care Facility except 
Foster Care 

BCU – Chicago 
1911 S. Indiana – 7th floor  
Chicago, IL. 60616 

CFS 718 DCFS and POS Traditional Foster Care BCU – Springfield 
406 E. Monroe St. Station #60 
Springfield, IL. 62701 

CFS 718-C Non-licensed Contract Staff BCU – Chicago 
1911 S. Indiana – 7th floor  
Chicago, IL. 60616 

CFS 718-E Child Care Facility Employee or 
Volunteer 

BCU – Chicago 
1911 S. Indiana – 7th floor  
Chicago, IL. 60616 

CFS 718-L Adoptive Home, Subsidized 
Guardianship, and Legal Screening 
Updates 

BCU – Springfield 
406 E. Monroe St. Station #60 
Springfield, IL. 62701 

CFS 718-LE DHS – License Exempt Child Care 
Providers 

BCU – Chicago 
1911 S. Indiana – 7th floor  
Chicago, IL. 60616 

CFS 718-RL Unlicensed Relatives applying for 
licensure 

BCU – Springfield 
406 E. Monroe St. Station #60 
Springfield, IL. 62701 

 
VII. QUESTIONS 
 

Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at OCFP – Mailbox or cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us. 

 
VIII. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File this Policy Guide immediately following Rule 385, Background Checks. 
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