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AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10], the 
Children's Product Safety Act [430 ILCS 125], Section 3 of the Abused and Neglected Child 
Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5/3], Sections 1 and 2 of the Facilities Requiring Smoke Detectors Act 
[425 ILCS 10/1 and 2] and Section 5 of the Missing Children Records Act [325 ILCS 50/5].  

SOURCE: Adopted at 13 Ill. Reg. 14828, effective October 1, 1989; emergency amendment at 15 
Ill. Reg. 15104, effective October 8, 1991, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 16 Ill. Reg. 
8950, effective May 30, 1992; amended at 18 Ill. Reg. 5540, effective April 1, 1994; amended at 
19 Ill. Reg. 2784, effective February 23, 1995; amended at 21 Ill. Reg. 4563, effective April 1, 
1997; emergency amendment at 24 Ill. Reg. 4212, effective March 1, 2000, for a maximum of 150 
days; emergency expired July 28, 2000; amended at 24 Ill. Reg. 17057, effective November 1, 
2000; amended at 25 Ill. Reg. 5281, effective April 1, 2001; amended at 27 Ill. Reg. 19232, 
effective December 15, 2003; amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 18310, effective November 13, 2006; 
amended at 32 Ill. Reg. 9164, effective June 20, 2008; amended at 34 Ill. Reg. 18411, effective 
December 15, 2010; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 4114, effective March 5, 2012; amended at 36 Ill. 
Reg. 13105, effective August 15, 2012; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 13403, effective August 15, 2012; 
amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 19149, effective November 30, 2013; amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ______, 
effective _______________. 
 
Section 408.5  Definitions  
  

"Access to children" means an employee's job duties require that the employee be 
present in a licensed child care facility during the hours that children are present 
in the facility.  In addition, any person who is permitted to be alone outside the 
visual or auditory supervision of facility staff with children receiving care in a 
licensed child care facility is subject to the background check requirements of this 
Part.  
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"Accredited college or university" means a college or university that has been 
accredited by a regional or national institutional accrediting association 
recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or a non-governmental 
recognition counterpart.  

  
"Adult" means a person who is 18 years of age or older.  

  
"Applicant" means a person living in the residence to be licensed who will be the 
primary caregiver in the group day care home.  

  
"Approved smoke detector" or "detector" means a smoke detector of the 
ionization or photoelectric type which complies with all the requirements of the 
rules and regulations of the Illinois State Fire Marshal. (Section 2 of the 
Facilities Requiring Smoke Detectors Act [425 ILCS 10/2])  

  
"Assistant" or "child care assistant" means a person (whether a volunteer or an 
employee) who assists a licensed home caregiver in the operation of the group 
day care home.  

  
"Attendance" means the total number of children under the age of 12 present at 
any one time.  

  
"Authorized representative of the Department" means the licensing representative 
or any person acting on behalf of the Director of the Department.  

  
"Background check" means:  

  
•     a criminal history check via fingerprints of persons age 18 and over that are 

submitted to the Illinois State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(FBI) for comparison to their criminal history records, as appropriate; and  

  
•     a check of the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 

(SACWIS) and other state child protection systems, as appropriate, to 
determine whether an individual is currently alleged or has been indicated as a 
perpetrator of child abuse or neglect; and  

  
•     a check of the Statewide Child Sex Offender Registry.  
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"Basement" means the story below the street floor where occupants must traverse 
a full set of stairs, 8 or more risers, to access the street floor.  

  
"CANTS" means the Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking System operated and 
maintained by the Department.  This system is being replaced by the Statewide 
Automated Child Welfare Information System (SACWIS). 

  
"Caregiver" means the individual directly responsible for child care.  

  
"Children with special needs" means children who exhibit one or more of the 
following characteristics, confirmed by clinical evaluation:    

  
•     Visual impairment:  the child's visual impairment is such that development to 

full potential without special services cannot be achieved.  
  
•     Hearing impairment:  the child's residual hearing is not sufficient to enable 

him or her to understand the spoken word and to develop language, thus 
causing extreme deprivation in learning and communication, or a hearing loss 
is exhibited that prevents full awareness of environmental sounds and spoken 
language, limiting normal language acquisition and learning.  

  
•     Physical or health impairment:  the child exhibits a physical or health 

impairment that requires adaptation of the physical plant.  
  
•     Speech and/or language impairment:  the child exhibits deviations of speech 

and/or language processes that are outside the range of acceptable variation 
within a given environment and prevent full social development.  

  
•     Learning disability:  the child exhibits one or more deficits in the essential 

processes of perception, conceptualization, language, memory, attention, 
impulse control or motor function.  

  
•     Behavioral disability:  the child exhibits an affective disability and/or 

maladaptive behavior that significantly interferes with learning and/or social 
functioning.  
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•     Mental impairment:  the child's intellectual development, mental capacity, 
and/or adaptive behavior are markedly delayed.  Such mental impairment may 
be mild, moderate, severe or profound.  

  
"Conviction" means a judgment of conviction or sentence entered upon a plea of 
guilty or upon a verdict or finding of guilty of an offense, rendered by a legally 
constituted jury or by a court of competent jurisdiction authorized to try the case 
without a jury.  (Section 2-5 of the Criminal Code of 1961 [720 ILCS 5/2-5])  
  
"Corporal punishment" means hitting, spanking, swatting, beating, shaking, 
pinching, excessive exercise, exposure to extreme temperatures, and other 
measures that produce physical pain. 

  
"Cot" means a comfortable, safe and child-sized alternative bed made of resilient, 
fire retardant, sanitizable fabric that is on legs or otherwise above the floor and 
can be stored to allow for air flow.  

  
"Department" means the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services.  
(Section 2.18 of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.18])  

  
"Discipline" means the process of helping children to develop inner controls so 
that they can manage their own behavior in socially acceptable ways.  

  
"Disinfect" means to eliminate virtually all germs from inanimate surfaces 
through the use of chemicals or physical agents (e.g., heat).  In the child care 
environment, a solution of ¼ cup household liquid chlorine bleach added to one 
gallon of water (or one tablespoon bleach to one quart of water) and prepared 
fresh daily is an effective disinfectant for environmental surfaces and other 
objects.  A weaker solution of 1 tablespoon bleach to 1 gallon of cool water is 
effective for use on toys, eating utensils, etc.  Commercial products may also be 
used.  
  
"Extended capacity" means an addition of 4 school age children who may be 
accepted in accordance with 408.65(c).  This allows the maximum capacity in a 
group day care home to reach 16. 

  
"Family home" or "family residence" means the location or portion of a location 
where the applicant and his or her family reside, and may include basements and 
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attics.  It does not include other structures that are separate from the home but are 
considered part of the overall premises, such as adjacent apartments, unattached 
basements in multi-unit buildings, unattached garages, and other unattached 
buildings.  

  
“Firearm” means any weapon from which a shot is discharged by an explosive 
such as gunpowder or projectiles by the action of an explosion, expansion of gas, 
or escape of gas. 
 
"Gateways to Opportunity Registry" means a program administered by the 
Department of Human Services to track and maintain education and training 
credentials of primary caregivers and assistants that allows them to establish a 
profile in the registry of their educational and training development. 
  
"Ground level" means that a child can step directly from the exit onto the ground, 
a sidewalk, a patio, or any other surface that is not above or below the ground.  

  
"Group day care home" means a family home which receives more than 3 up to 
16 children for less than 24 hours per day.  The number counted includes the 
family's natural, foster, or adopted children and all other persons under the age 
of 12.  (Section 2.20 of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.20])  

  
"Guardian" means the guardian of the person of a minor.  (Section 2.03 of the 
Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.03])  

  
"Infant" means a child through 12 months of age.  

  
"Initial background check" means fingerprints have been obtained for a criminal 
history check, and the individual has cleared a check of the Statewide Automated 
Child Welfare Information System (SACWIS) and the Illinois Sex Offender 
Registry.  

  
"License" means a document issued by the Department that authorizes child care 
facilities to operate in accordance with applicable standards and the provisions of 
the Child Care Act of 1969.  
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"License applicant", for purposes of background checks, means the operator or 
persons with direct responsibility for daily operation of the facility to be licensed. 
(Section 4.4 of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/4.4]) 

  
"License study" means the review of an application for license, on-site visits, 
interviews, and the collection and review of supporting documents to determine 
compliance with the Child Care Act of 1969 and the standards prescribed by this 
Part.  

  
"Licensed capacity" means the number of children the Department has determined 
the group day care home can care for at any one time, in addition to any children 
living in the home who are under the age of 12 years.  Children age 12 and over 
on the premises are not considered in determining licensed capacity.  

  
"Licensing representative" means a person authorized by the Department under 
Section 5 of the Child Care Act of 1969 to examine facilities for licensure.  

  
"Licensing year", often called the anniversary year, means the period of time from 
the date a group day care home license is issued until the same date of the 
following year. 

  
"Member of the household" means a person who resides in a family home as 
evidenced by factors including, but not limited to, maintaining clothing and 
personal effects at the household address, or receiving mail at the household 
address, or using identification with the household address.  

  
"Minor traffic violation" means a traffic violation under the laws of the State of 
Illinois or any municipal authority therein or another state or municipal authority 
that is punishable solely as a petty offense.  (See Section 6-601 of the Illinois 
Driver Licensing Law [625 ILCS 5/6-601].)  

  
"Parents", as used in this Part, means those persons assuming legal responsibility 
for care and protection of the child on a 24-hour basis; includes guardian or legal 
custodian.  

  
"Permit" means a one-time only document issued by the Department of Children 
and Family Services for a 6-month period to allow the individuals to become 
eligible for a license.  
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"Persons subject to background checks" means:  
  

•     the operators of the child care facility;  
  
•     all current and conditional employees of the child care facility;  
  
•     any person who is used to replace or supplement staff; and  
  
•     any person who has access to children, as defined in this Section.  
  

If the child care facility operates in a family home, the license applicants and 
all members of the household age 13 and over are subject to background 
checks, as appropriate, even if these members of the household are not usually 
present in the home during the hours the child care facility is in operation.  

  
"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine in the State of Illinois 
or a contiguous state.  

  
"Premises" means the location of the group day care home wherein the family 
resides and includes the attached yard, garage, basement and any other 
outbuildings.  
  
"Preschool age" means children under 5 years of age and children 5 years old who 
do not attend full day kindergarten. 

  
"Program" means all activities provided for the children during their hours of 
attendance in the group day care home.  

  
"Protected exit from a basement" means an exit that is separated from the 
remainder of the group day care home by barriers (such as walls, floors, or solid 
doors) providing one-hour fire resistance.  The separation must be designed to 
limit the spread of fire and restrict the movement of smoke.  

  
"Resource personnel" means physicians, nurses, psychologists, social workers, 
speech therapists, physical and occupational therapists, educators and other 
technical and professional persons whose expertise is utilized in providing 
specialized services to children with special needs.  
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"SACWIS" means the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 
operated by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services that is 
replacing the Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking System (CANTS). 

  
"School age" means children 6 to 12 years of age and 5 year olds who are in full-
day kindergarten.  

  
"Special use areas" means areas of the home that may not be included in the 
measurement of the area used for child care.  Special use areas include, but are 
not limited to, laundry rooms, furnace rooms, bathrooms, hazardous areas, and 
areas off-limits to children.  

  
"Story" means that level of a building included between the upper surface of a 
floor and the upper surface of the floor or roof next above.  

  
"Street floor" means a story or floor level accessible from the street or from 
outside a building at ground level, with the floor level at the main entrance 
located not more than 4 risers above or below the ground level and arranged and 
utilized to qualify as the main floor.  

  
"Substantiated violation" means that the licensing representative has determined, 
during a licensing complaint investigation or a monitoring or renewal visit, that 
the licensee has violated a licensing standard of this Part or the Child Care Act. 

  
"Swimming pool" means any natural or artificial basin of water intended for 
public swimming or recreational bathing which exceeds 2'6" in depth as specified 
in the Illinois Swimming Pool and Bathing Beach Act and Code (77 Ill. Adm. 
Code 820). The term includes bathing beaches and pools at private clubs, health 
clubs, or private residences when used for children enrolled in a child care 
facility.  

  
"Wading pool" means any natural or artificial basin of water less than 2'6" in 
depth that is intended for recreational bathing, water play or similar activity. The 
term includes recessed areas less than 2'6" in depth in swimming pools that are 
designated primarily for children.  

  
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ____________________) 
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Section 408.10  Application For License  
  

a)        A complete application shall be filed with the Department of Children and Family 
Services on forms prescribed and provided by the Department.  

  
b)     Contents of Application 
  

1)     A complete application shall include:  
  

A)   a completed, signed and dated Application for Home License;  
  

B)   a list of persons who will be working in the group day care home, 
including any substitutes and assistants, and members of the 
household age 13 and over;  

  
C)   completed, signed and dated authorizations to conduct the 

background check for the applicant, each employee or person used 
to replace or supplement staff, and each member of the household 
age 13 and over;  

  
D)     a completed, signed and dated Child Support Certification form;  

  
E)    documentation that the applicant meets the qualifications for a 

caregiver in Section 408.45(e);  
  

F)    the names, addresses and telephone numbers of at least 3 adults not 
related to the applicants, nor living in the household, who can 
attest to their character and suitability to provide child care;  

  
G)    a written hazard protection plan identifying potential hazards 

within the home and outdoor area accessible to the children in 
care.  The written plan shall address the specific hazards and the 
adult supervision and physical means required to minimize the 
risks to children.  Conditions to be addressed include, but are not 
limited to, traffic, construction, bodies of water accessible to the 
children, open stairwells, and neighborhood dogs; 
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H)     a copy of high school diploma, or equivalent certificate, or degree 
from a regionally accredited institution of higher education or 
vocational institution;  

  
I)     for applications submitted on or after September 1, 2012, proof of 

membership in the Gateways to Opportunity Registry by the 
primary caregiver and assistants in the group day care home with 
all educational credentials and pre-service training entered into the 
registry; and 

  
J)    for an initial application effective January 1, 2014 or later, proof 

that the home has been tested within the last 3 years for radon, as 
established by rules of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency 
(32 Ill. Adm. Code 422) [225 ILCS 10/5.8]. 

  
2)     For initial applications submitted after January 1, 2011, the applicant The 

applicants shall have completed, not more than one year prior to the 
application date, at least 15 hours of pre-service training listed in 
Appendix G, which shall include the following topics for applicants and 
assistants who will care for newborns and infants: 

  
A)  Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS); 

  
B)  Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID); 
 
C) Safe sleep recommendations from the American Academy of 

Pediatrics; 
 
D) Shaken Baby Syndrome; and 
  
EC) Department approved Mandated Reporter training for all licensees 

and assistants regardless of the age of children in care. 
  
c)   Fire Safety Inspection 
  

1)   For initial applications of group day care homes in multi-housing units, or 
single family dwellings in which care will be provided on other than 
ground level, the Department shall request a fire safety inspection from the 
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Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM).  OSFM shall submit its written 
recommendation to the supervising agency of the group day care home 
and to the applicant;  

  
2)  The fire safety inspection on single floor homes at ground level with no 

unusual or complex code considerations shall be completed following the 
list of items for fire safety inspection in Appendix I by a licensing 
representative trained by OSFM to conduct that fire prevention inspection; 

  
3)   Prior to Department issuance of a permit or a license, the group day care 

home shall have written approval by OSFM or staff trained by OSFM, 
indicating the home meets fire safety requirements.  

  
d)   Licensed group day care homes that fail to comply with all applicable local, 

municipal and State regulations may be prohibited from operating. 
  
e)    The license shall be issued when the standards prescribed by this Part have been 

met.  Upon receipt of an application for a license, the Department shall conduct a 
license study to determine if the group day care home meets licensing standards.  
The licensing study shall be in writing and shall be reviewed and signed by the 
licensing supervisor and the licensing representative performing the study.  A 
license may not be recommended without the receipt of at least three positive, 
written references, and a written study signed by the licensing representative and 
supervisor.  The applicant shall receive a copy of the results of the on-site 
compliance review upon request.  

  
f)    New Applications 
  

1)  A new application shall be filed when any of the following occurs:    
  

A)  When an applicant or licensee seeks to reapply for a license after it 
has been withdrawn, surrendered or denied and the applicant or 
licensee seeks to reapply;  

  
B)  When there is a failure to submit a completed application within 14 

days after a change of residence or location of the group day care 
home;  
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C)  When 12 months have elapsed and the applicant seeks to reapply 
for a license after: 

  
i)   the Department has revoked or refused to renew a license; 

  
ii)    the previous license has been surrendered with cause; or  

  
iii) The Department has refused to issue a full license to a 

permit holder. 
  

2)  For the application to be considered timely and sufficient, a new 
application shall be completed, signed by the licensee and submitted to the 
supervising agency within 30 days after the following changes:  

  
A)  When there is a change in the name of the licensee, the supervising 

agency or the legal status from a social security number to Federal 
Employer Identification Number (FEIN); or 

  
B)  When there is a change in the status of joint licensees, such as 

separation, divorce or death.  
  
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. _____________, effective ____________________) 

 
Section 408.15  Application for Renewal of License  
  

a)  Application forms for license renewal shall be mailed to group day care home 
licensees by the Department 6 months prior to the expiration date of the license.  

  
b)  The completed application shall be signed by the licensees and submitted to the 

Department at least 3 months prior to expiration of the current license, in order to 
be considered timely and sufficient.  

  
c)  When a licensed group day care home seeks to change its name or location, a new 

application reflecting the changes must be completed, signed by the licensees and 
submitted to the Department at least 30 days prior to the effective date of the 
changes for the application to be considered timely and sufficient.  
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d)  When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for renewal of a 
license or a new license with reference to any activity of a continuing nature and 
the Department fails to render a decision on the application for renewal of the 
license prior to the expiration date of the license, the existing license shall 
continue in full force and effect for up to 30 days until the final Department 
decision has been made.  The Department may further extend the period in which 
such decision must be made in individual cases for up to 30 days, if good cause is 
shown.  [225 ILCS 10/5(d)]  

  
e)  Prior to renewal, the licensee shall be current with the annual 15 hours of required 

training in accordance with Appendix G that for applicants and assistants licensed 
to care for newborns and infants shall include the following topics:  

 
1) Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), Sudden Unexpected Infant Death 

(SUID) and Safe sleep recommendations from the American Academy of 
Pediatrics; and 
 

2) Shaken Baby Syndrome.  
  

f)  At the time of license renewal, the supervising agency shall review the fire 
emergency, tornado/severe weather emergency, and hazard protection written 
plans. Any revision or enhancement shall be part of the licensing renewal process. 
Licensed homes that do not have a written hazard plan (see Section 408.10(b)(7)) 
shall develop a plan and submit it to the supervising agency prior to renewal. 

  
g)  Fire Safety Inspection 
  

1)  Fire safety inspections of homes licensed for multi-housing units or single 
family dwelling in which care will be provided on other than grade level 
shall be completed by OSFM or its designee; 

  
2)  Fire safety inspection of homes licensed for a single floor with no unusual 

or complex code considerations shall be completed by a licensing 
representative trained by OSFM;  

  
3)  The fire safety inspection shall be conducted in accordance with the 

requirements of Appendix I.  
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h)  Upon receipt of the application for license renewal, the Department shall conduct 
a license study in order to determine that the group day care home continues to 
meet licensing standards.  The licensing study shall be in writing and shall be 
reviewed and signed by the licensing supervisor and the licensing representative 
performing the study.  The licensees shall receive a copy of the results of the on-
site compliance review upon request.  

  
i)  For a renewal application effective January 1, 2014 or later, proof that the home 

has been tested within the last 3 years for radon as established by rules of the 
Illinois Emergency Management Agency (32 Ill. Adm. Code 422) [225 ILCS 
10/5.8]. 

  
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ______________) 

 
Section 408.25  Provisions Pertaining to Permits  
  

a)  A permit shall not be issued until:    
  
1)  The application for licensurelicense has been completed and signed by the 

applicants and all parts of the initial application requirements have been 
submitted to the Department;  

  
2)  The background checks required by Section 408.40 have been completed 

and the results of the background check have been received for the 
operator of the group day care home;  

  
3)  Character references have been requested regarding the primary 

caregivers, and at least 2 favorable references have been received;  
  
4)  Medical reports as required in Section 408.35(f) have been received by the 

Department for all caregivers and assistants;  
  
5)  For initial applications submitted after January 1, 2011, the applicant shall 

have completed, not more than one year prior to the application date, at 
least 15 hours of pre-service training listed in Appendix G, which shall 
include: 

  
A)   Sudden Infant  Death Syndrome (SIDS); 
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B)  Shaken Baby Syndrome; and 
  
C)   Department approved Mandated Reporter training; 

  
56)   The applicant who is the primary caregiver has been certified in first-aid, 

the Heimlich maneuver, and infant/child cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR) in accordance with Section 408.35(i);  

  
67)  A personal visit to the home by a licensing representative has been 

completed.  The purpose of this visit is to determine compliance with all 
the licensing requirements except the requirements for remaining character 
references, medical examination reports, and well water tests compliance 
that may be complied with within the 6 month period covered by the 
permit.  However, when well water tests are required, applicants must 
agree to boil all drinking and cooking water and to provide only bottled 
water for children under 15 months of age until the test results are 
received;  

  
78)  Proof of public liability insurance as required by Section 408.35(j) (such 

proof may consist of, but is not limited to, a copy of an insurance policy, 
binder or certificate; or a letter from the insurance carrier);  

  
89)  Plan developed for emergency medical care as required by Section 408.70;  
  

910)  Furnishings and equipment have been acquired for the number of children 
to be served during the 6 month permit period in accordance with 
Appendix C and D;  

  
1011)  Medical reports and character references are on file for employed staff at 

the home;  
  
1112)  A written fire safety inspection and approval has been completed in 

accordance with Section 408.10(c); and 
  
1213)  A written plan has been submitted to the licensing representative that 

indicates that requirements for a license shall be met within the 6 month 
permit period.  
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b)  A permit shall not be issued retroactively.  
  
c)  A permit shall not be transferred to another person or other legal entity.  
  
d)  A permit shall not be valid for a name or address different from the name and 

address shown on the issued permit.  
  
e)  A permit shall not be renewable.  
  
f)  A current permit shall be prominently displayed in the group day care home at all 

times while the home is operating under a permit.  
  
g)  A license shall be issued at any time within the 6 month period covered by the 

permit provided that the group day care home achieves and maintains compliance 
with the Department's licensing standards.  

  
h)  The group day care home shall adhere to the provisions or restrictions specified 

on the permit.  
  
i)  There shall be no fee or charge for the permit.  
  
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ___________________) 
 

Section 408.30  General Requirements for Group Day Care Homes  
  

a)  The physical facilities of the home, both indoors and outdoors, shall meet the 
following requirements for safety to children.  
  
1)  The home shall have a first aid kit consisting of adhesive bandages, 

scissors, non-permeable gloves, Poison Control Center telephone number 
(1-800-222-1222 or 1-800-942-5969), thermometer, sterile gauze pads, 
adhesive tape, tweezers, first aid cream and mild soap.  

  
2)  The kitchen shall be equipped with a readily accessible and operable fire 

extinguisher rated for Class A, B, and C fires and a flashlight in working 
order.  
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3)  All electrical outlets that are in areas used by the day care children shall 
have protective coverings.  There shall be no exposed or uninsulated 
wiring.  

  
4)  The home shall be equipped with a minimum of one approved smoke 

detector in operating condition on every floor level, including basements 
and occupied attics.   
  
A)  A smoke detector in operating condition shall be within each room 

where day care children nap or sleep.  The detector shall be 
installed on the ceiling and at least 6 inches from any wall, or on a 
wall located between 4 and 6 inches from the ceiling.  In addition, 
there shall be at least one detector at the beginning and end of each 
separate corridor or hallway 200 feet or more in length in any 
occupied story.   

  
B)  In any facility constructed after December 31, 1987, or which 

undergoes substantial remodeling of its structure or wiring system 
after that date, the smoke detectors shall be permanently wired into 
the structure's AC power line, and, if more than one detector is 
required to be installed, the detectors shall be wired so that the 
activation of one detector will activate all the detectors in the 
facility unit.  For purposes of this subsection (a)(4), "substantial 
remodeling" represents more than 15 percent of the replacement 
cost of the group day care home. For homes that did not have 
wired installation of smoke detectors in each room prior to 
December 15, 2011, the Department may allow the installation of a 
battery-operated smoke detector in each room where children nap 
or sleep and deem the home to be in compliance. 

  
C)  Compliance with any applicable federal, State or local law, rule or 

building code which requires the installation and maintenance of 
smoke detectors in a manner different from this Section, but 
providing a level of safety for occupants which is equal to or 
greater than that provided by this Section, shall be deemed to be 
compliance with this Section. (Section 2 of the Facilities Requiring 
Smoke Detectors Act [425 ILCS 10/2])  
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D)  For homes constructed after December 15, 2011, or that underwent 
substantial remodeling of structure or wiring systems after 
December 15, 2011, the smoke detectors shall be permanently 
wired into the structure's AC power line and, if more than one 
detector is required to be installed, the detectors shall be wired so 
that the activation of one detector will activate all the detectors in 
the facility unit.  

  
5)  Carbon Monoxide Detector 

  
A)  A home that has an attached garage and/or relies on combustion of 

fossil fuel for heating, ventilation, or hot water shall be equipped 
with a minimum of one approved carbon monoxide detector in 
operating condition within 15 feet of rooms where children nap or 
sleep. 

  
B)  The carbon monoxide detector may be combined with smoke 

detector devices, provided that the combined unit complies with 
subsection (a)(4) and this subsection (a)(5).  [430 ILCS 135/10] 

  
6)  The home and indoor space shall be maintained in good repair and shall 

provide a safe, comfortable environment for the children. 
  

7)  A draft-free temperature of 65ºF to 75ºF shall be maintained during the 
winter months or heating season. For infants and toddlers, a temperature 
of 68ºF to 82ºF shall be maintained during the summer or air-conditioning 
months. When the temperature in the home exceeds 78ºF, measures shall 
be taken to cool the children. Temperatures shall be measured at least 3 
feet above the floor. 

  
8)  Fixed space heaters, fireplaces, radiators, and other heating sources in 

areas occupied by children shall be separated by partitions or a sturdy 
barrier to prevent contact.  Portable space heaters may not be used in a 
group day care home during the hours that child care is provided.  

  
9)  A facility in which a wood-burning stove or fireplace has been installed 

and that is used during the hours that child care is provided, shall provide 
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a written plan of how the stove or fireplace will be used and what actions 
will be taken to ensure the children's safety when in use.  

  
10)  In one and 2 family dwellings, children under 30 months of age shall be 

housed and cared for on the second floor or below.  In other residential 
buildings, children under 30 months of age shall be housed and cared for 
only in areas in which OSFM states, in writing, that the combination of 
remote exits, fire detection, fire suppression, and/or automatic sprinkler 
systems render the residence safe for the care of infants and toddlers.  

  
11)  No area accessible only by a ladder or folding stairs or through a trap door 

shall be used for sleeping or napping.  
  

12)  When the basement area may be used for child care, 2 exits shall be 
provided.  
  
A)  At least one exit shall be a basement exit via a door directly to the 

outside (without traversing any other level of the home) or a 
protected exit from a basement via a door or stairway that allows 
unobstructed travel directly to the outside of the building at street 
or ground level.  The stairway may not be more than 8 feet high.   

  
B)  A second exit may be a window.  

  
i)  The window shall be operable from the inside without the 

use of tools and provide a clear opening not less than 20 
inches in width, 24 inches in height, and 5.7 square feet in 
area.   

  
ii)  If the window is used as a second exit, the bottom of the 

window opening shall be no more than 44 inches above the 
floor.   

  
iii)  When the bottom of the window opening used as a second 

exit is more than 24 inches from the floor, there shall be a 
permanently affixed, sturdy ramp or stairs located below 
the window to allow speedy access in the event of an 
emergency.    
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C)  If the basement area does not meet these existing requirements, the 
basement may be used for child care only with the prior written 
approval of OSFM.  

  
13)  All walls and surfaces shall be maintained free from lead paint and 

chipped or peeling paint.  
  
14)  Walls of rooms that children use shall be maintained free of lead paint, 

carpeting, fabric or plastic products.  InflammableFlammable or 
combustible artwork attached to the walls shall not exceed 20% of the wall 
area.  

  
15)   Furniture and equipment shall be kept in safe repair.  
  
16)   First aid supplies, medication, cleaning materials, poisons, sharp scissors, 

plastic bags, sharp knives, cigarettes, matches, lighters, flammable liquids, 
and other hazardous materials shall be stored in places inaccessible to 
children. Hazardous items for infants and toddlers also include items that 
can cause choking, including but not limited to:  coins, balloons, safety 
pins, marbles, Styrofoam (trademark) and similar products, and sponge, 
soft rubber or soft plastic toys that can be bitten or broken into small 
pieces.  

  
17)   Tools and gardening equipment shall be stored in locked cabinets, if 

possible, or in places inaccessible to all children.  
              
18)   There shall be an operable telephone available on the premises of the 

licensee.  The number of the Poison Control Center (1-800-222-1222 or 1-
800-942-5969) and other emergency numbers shall be posted in an area 
that is readily available in an emergency.  

  
19)  Free hanging cords on blinds, shades and drapes shall be tied or otherwise 

kept out of reach of children.  
  

20)  Radon Test 
Effective January 1, 2013, the home shall be tested for radon at least once 
every 3 years. The most current radon measurements shall be posted next 
to the license in the home, on a form provided by the Department 
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containing the required informative statement from Section 5.8(d) of the 
Child Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10]. 

  
b)  Escape routes from the group day care home shall be designed and maintained for 

swift and safe exiting in the event of an emergency. 
  

1)  All corridors and escape routes from the group day care home shall be 
kept clear of obstructions. 

  
2)  Dead-end paths or corridors within the group day care home shall be a 

maximum of 20 feet in length. 
  

3)  All escape routes from the group day care home shall have operable 
lighting. The lighting shall be activated during any hours of operation 
when natural lighting is reduced to a level that prohibits visibility within 
the escape route. 

  
4)  Bathroom doors in areas accessible to day care children shall allow staff to 

open the door from the outside of the bathroom if necessary. 
  

5)  All closet doors shall be able to be opened from inside of the closet 
without the use of a key. 

  
6)  There shall be no more than 2 releasing devices (door knobs, hand-

operated deadbolts, thumb-turn locks, etc.) on any exit door or exit 
window.  

  
7)  Exit doors and exit windows shall be operable without the use of a key, a 

tool or special knowledge to open the door from the inside and exit to the 
outside. 

  
8)  Exit doors and exit windows shall be kept clear of equipment and debris at 

all times. 
  

9)  The licensee shall hold monthly fire safety inspections of the group day 
care home. 
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10)  The licensee or staff in the home shall inspect the group day care home 
daily, prior to arrival of children, ensuring that escape routes are clear and 
that exit doors and exit windows are operable.  

  
11)  A log of these monthly and daily inspections shall be maintained for at 

least one year, and shall be available for review by the licensing 
representative. The log shall reflect, at minimum, the date and time of 
each inspection and the full name of the person who conducted it. 

  
c)  The licensee shall identify those areas in the home used for child care. The 

identified areas minus any special use areas shall be measured to calculate the 
square footage available for child care.  There shall be:  
  
1)  A minimum of 35 square feet of floor space for each child in care; and  
  
2)  An additional 20 square feet of floor space for each child under 30 months 

of age when the play area is the same as the sleep area.  However, if 
portable bedding is used for napping, then removed, the licensing 
representative shall approve the use of only 35 square feet of space for 
each child if the applicant/licensee has adequate storage space for the 
bedding materials and the bedding materials are removed before and after 
nap time.  

  
d)  No person may smoke tobacco in any area of the group day care home in which 

day care services are being provided to children, while those children are present 
on the premises.  In addition, no person may smoke tobacco while providing 
transportation, in either an open or enclosed vehicle, to children who are receiving 
child care services.  Nothing in this subsection prohibits smoking in the home in 
the presence of a person's own children or in the presence of children to whom 
day care services are not then being provided.  [225 ILCS 10/5.5]  

  
e)  Indoor space shall consist of a clean, comfortable environment for children.  

  
1)  The group day care home shall be well-ventilated, free from observable 

hazards, properly lighted and heated, and free of fire hazards.  
  
2)  The dwelling shall be kept clean, sanitary, and in good repair.  
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3)  There shall be provision for isolating a child who becomes ill or who is 
suspected of having a communicable, infectious or contagious disease.  

  
4)  When used for child care, floors shall have protective covering such as, 

but not limited to, tile, carpet or linoleum.  Paint or sealer alone is not 
acceptable as a protective covering.  

  
5)  When children under 30 months of age are in care, stairs leading to second 

levels, attics or basements shall be fitted with a sturdy gate, door or other 
barrier to prevent the children's access to the stairs without adult 
supervision.  Such a barrier shall be moveable enough so as not to impede 
evacuation, if necessary.  

  
f)  The kitchen shall be clean, equipped for the preservation, storage, preparation and 

serving of food, and reasonably safe from hazards.  
  
g)  Garbage and refuse containers used to discard diapering supplies, food products 

or disposable meal service supplies in areas for child care shall be disinfected 
daily unless plastic liners are used and disposed of daily.  

  
h)  A safe and sanitary water supply shall be maintained.  If a private water supply is 

used instead of an approved public water supply, the applicant shall supply 
written records of current test results indicating the water supply is safe for 
drinking.  New test results must be provided prior to renewal of license.  If nitrate 
content exceeds 10 parts per million, bottled water must be used for children 
under 15 months of age.  

  
i)  Hot and cold running water shall be provided.  When children under age 10 or 

who are developmentally disabled are cared for, the maximum hot water 
temperature from all faucets of sinks designated for children washing hands shall 
be no more than 115° Fahrenheit.  Caregivers shall always test the hot water 
before allowing children less than 5 years of age to use the water.  

  
j)  The group day care home shall provide one toilet for each 10 persons or portion 

thereof who are present during the hours the group day care home is in operation.  
These 10 persons include caregivers, child care assistants, members of the 
household and children other than those under 30 months of age for whom a potty 
chair is provided.  
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k)  There shall be a minimum of 75 square feet of outdoor space per child for the 

total number of children using the area at any one time.  At least 25% of the 
required space shall be on the premises of the group day care home.  The 
remainder may be a public park, playground or other outdoor recreation area 
within walking distance (1000 feet) of the group day care home provided the 
caregiver or an adult assistant accompanies children to this outdoor area.  

  
l)  There shall be safe outdoor space for active play.  

  
1)  Space shall be provided for play in yards, nearby parks or playgrounds 

under adult supervision.  
  
2)  Space shall be protected by physical means (e.g., fence, tree line, chairs, 

ropes, etc.) against all water hazards, including, but not limited to, pools, 
ponds, standing water, ornamental bodies of water, and retention ponds, 
regardless of the depth of the water, and by adult caregiver supervision at 
times when children in care are present.  Other hazards, such as, but not 
limited to, heavy traffic and construction, shall be inaccessible to children 
in care through a physical barrier and adult supervision. Further, outdoor 
space shall be partitioned or supervised in such a manner that young 
children are not endangered by the activities of older children.  

  
3)  Play areas shall be well drained and safely maintained.  
  
4)  All pieces of outdoor equipment used by children 5 years of age and 

younger on the day care premises that is purchased or installed on or after 
April 1, 2001 shall meet the following standards to guard against 
entrapment or situations that may cause strangulation.  
  
A)  Openings in exercise rings shall be smaller than 4½ inches or 

larger than 9 inches in diameter.  
  
B)  There shall be no openings in a play structure with a dimension 

between 3½ inches and 9 inches (except for exercise rings).  Side 
railings, stairs and other locations that a child might slip or climb 
through shall be checked for appropriate dimensions.  
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C)  Distances between vertical slats or poles, where used, must be 3½ 
inches or less (to prevent head entrapment).  

  
D)  No opening shall form an angle of less than 55 degrees unless one 

leg of the angle is horizontal or slopes downward.  
  
E)  No opening shall be between ⅜ inch and one inch in size (to 

prevent finger entrapment).  
  
5)  The use of a trampoline by children in care is prohibited.  
  
6)  The use of in-ground and/or above-ground pools is prohibited during day 

care hours unless the home has a current certificate to operate a swimming 
pool from the Illinois Department of Public Health. 

 
7) In-ground swimming pools located in areas accessible to children shall be 

fenced.  The fence shall be at least 5 feet in height and secured by a locked 
gate.  Group day care homes that are licensed or have a permit on April 1, 
2001 and are in compliance with the requirement for a 3½ foot fence shall 
be considered in compliance with the fence requirement.  

  
87)  All above-ground pools shall have non-climbable sidewalls that are at 

least 4 feet high or shall be enclosed with a 5 foot fence that is at least 36 
inches away from the pool's side wall and secured with a locked gate. 
When the pool is not in use, steps shall be removed from the pool or 
otherwise protected to insure the pool cannot be accessed.  Group day care 
homes that are licensed or have a permit on April 1, 2001 and are in 
compliance with the requirement for a 3½ foot fence shall be considered 
in compliance with the fence requirement.  

  
98)   Portable wading pools shall be emptied daily and disinfected before being 

air-dried.  
  
109)  All hot tubs shall have securely locked covers or otherwise be inaccessible 

to children.  
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1110)  Children shall be closely supervised by the caregiver when public parks or 
playgrounds are used for play, during play and while traveling to and from 
the area.  

  
1211)  Supervision shall be provided during outdoor play by caregivers who meet 

the requirements of Section 408.45 of this Part.  
  
m)    A caregiver who relies upon outdoor space shared with other residents in a 

multiple family dwelling shall have a written agreement with the other residents 
or the owners of the outdoor area authorizing the use of the space by the group 
day care home and the children cared for.  

  
n)   Insect and rodent control shall be maintained.  

  
1)   All outside doors except those with operable self-closing devices, operable 

windows, and other openings used for ventilation shall be screened.  
  
2)    Chemicals for insect and rodent control shall be applied in minimum 

amounts and shall not be used when children are present.  Over-the-
counter products may be used only according to package instructions.  
Commercial chemicals, if used, shall be applied by a licensed pest control 
operator and shall meet all standards of the Department of Public Health 
(Structural Pest Control Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 830).  A record of any 
pesticides used shall be maintained.  

  
o)    Healthy household pets that present no danger to children are permitted.  

  
1)    A licensed veterinarian shall certify that the animals are free of diseases 

that could endanger the children's health and that dogs and cats have been 
inoculated for rabies.  

  
2)    If certification is not available, animals shall be confined at all times in an 

area inaccessible to children.  
  
3)     There shall be careful supervision of children who are permitted to handle 

and care for the animals.  
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4)    Immediate treatment shall be available to any child who is bitten or 
scratched by an animal.  

  
5)    The presence of monkeys, ferrets, turtles, iguanas, psittacine birds (birds 

of the parrot family) or any wild or dangerous animal is prohibited in areas 
accessible to children during the hours the group day care home is in 
operation.  Wild and dangerous animals include, but are not limited to, 
venomous and constricting snakes, undomesticated cats and dogs, 
raccoons, and other animals determined to be dangerous by local public 
health authorities.  

  
p)     The Department shall request that the Illinois Department of Public Health or a 

local health department authorized by it and/or the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal or the local fire department authorized by it inspect the group day care 
home and its premises whenever the Department has reason to believe that 
conditions in the home or its premises pose potential health or safety hazards to 
the children cared for in the home.  

  
q) There shall be written emergency preparedness response plans that specify the 

actions to be taken in the event of afor fire, and tornado or other emergency 
occurs. AllThese plans shall be familiar to all caregivers and assistants in the 
group day care home shall be familiar with these plans.  

 
The emergency preparedness response plans shall include, but are not limited to: 

  
1) AThe fire evacuation plan identifyingshall identify the exits from each 

area used for child care and specifyingshall specify the evacuation route.   
  
2) AThe fire evacuation plan identifyingshall identify a safe assembly area 

outside of the home.  It shall also identify a near-by indoor location for 
post-evacuation holding if needed. 

  
3) AThe fire evacuation plan requiringshall require that the home be 

evacuated immediately and the children’s safety insured before calling the 
local emergency number 911 or attempting to combat the fire. 
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4) Monthly fireFire drills shall be conducted monthly for the purpose of 
removing children from the group day care home as quickly as possible 
during an emergency.   

  
5) Monthly tornadoTornado drills shall be conducted monthly for the 

purpose of getting children accustomed to moving to a position of safety 
in event of a tornado.  The alphabetic card file required by Section 
408.120(a)(2) shall accompany the caregiver during the drills.  

  
6) A The written tornado plan specifyingshall specify what actions that will 

be taken in the event of tornado or other severe weather warning, 
including designation of those areas of the group day care home to be used 
as safe spots. 

  
7) Specific procedures for notifying parents if evacuation is necessary and 

how they will be reunited with their children. Fire and tornado drills shall 
be recorded on forms prescribed by the Department and maintained for a 
period of 3 years. 

 
8) Specific procedures for evacuating children who are less than 30 months 

of age and/or for evacuating special needs children, when applicable. 
  
r) Fire and tornado drills shall be documented and maintained for a period of 3 

years. The licensee shall hold monthly fire prevention inspections of the day care 
home and maintain documentation on file for a period of 1 year. In the event of a 
fire, the group day care home shall be evacuated immediately and the children's 
safety insured before calling the fire department or attempting to combat the fire.  

  
s) Handguns are prohibited on the premises of the group day care home except in 

the possession of peace officers or other adults who must possess a handgun as a 
condition of employment and who reside in the group day care home. The 
licensee shall post a “no-firearms”   sign pursuant to statue 430 ILCS 66/65(a-10) 
of the Firearm Concealed Carry Act on a visible location where parents pick up 
children. 

 
t) Any firearm, other than a handgun in the possession of a peace officer or other 

person as provided in subsection (s), shall be kept in a disassembled state, without 
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ammunition, in locked storage in a closet, cabinet, or other locked storage facility 
inaccessible to children.   

  
1) Ammunition for such firearms shall be kept in locked storage separate 

from that of the disassembled firearms, inaccessible to children.  
  

2) The operator of the group home shall notify the parents or guardian of 
any child accepted for care that firearms and ammunition are stored on 
the premises.  The operator shall also notify the parents or guardian that 
such firearms and ammunition are in locked storage inaccessible to 
children (Section 7 of the Act).  Such notification need not disclose the 
location where the firearms and ammunition are stored.   

  
u) A group day care home operator relying upon a cooperative or lending 

arrangement to meet the equipment requirements of this Part shall provide a copy 
of a written agreement specifying which equipment required by this Part is 
covered by the agreement.  Further, the operator shall demonstrate to the 
satisfaction of the Department that the equipment covered by the agreement is 
both available and utilized by the group day care home as required by this Part.  

  
v) Operation of other business on the premises must not interfere with the care of 

children.  
  
w) A group day care home may not house bedridden or chronically ill persons except 

by permission of the Department.  The Department shall grant such permission 
unless the person has a reportable contagious or communicable disease or requires 
care that adversely affects the ability of the caregiver to supervise children.  

  
x) By December 28, 2012, the A group day care home shall obtain have certification 

that all cribs used by the group home meet or exceed the federal safety standards 
in 16 CFR 1219 or 1220 (2011).  This certification from the manufacturer shall be 
available for inspection by the licensing representative.  In the absence of a 
manufacturer's certificate, proof that the crib was manufactured on or after June 
28, 2011 will meet the required standard. 

  
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ___________________) 

 
Section 408.APPENDIX G  Pre-Service and In-Service Training  
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a) Entities that may provide pre-service and in-service training to meet the 
requirements of this Part include, but are not limited to:  
  
1) colleges and universities  
  
2) child care resource and referral agencies  
  
3) Illinois Department of Public Health or local health departments  
  
4) Office of the State Fire Marshal or local fire department  
  
5) Illinois Department of Children and Family Services  
  
6) Illinois Department of Human Services  
  
7) state or national child care or child advocacy organizations  
  
8) national, state or local family day care home associations  
  
9) Child and Adult Care Food Program sponsors  

  
10) Healthy Child Care Illinois nurses  
  
11) American Red Cross, American Heart Association and other providers of 

first aid and CPR training that have been approved by the Illinois 
Department of Public Health  

  
b) Topics or courses to meet the in-service training requirements include, but are not 

limited to:  
  
1) child care and child development  
  
2) guidance and discipline  
  
3) first aid and CPR  
  
4) symptoms of common childhood illness  
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5) food preparation and nutrition  
  
6) health and sanitation  
  
7) small business management  
  
8) child abuse and neglect  
  
9) working with parents and families  

  
10) caring for children with disabilities 
  
11) information about asthma and its management 
  
12)  Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) education. Required training for 

new applicants to care for newborns and infants and every three years 
thereafter for the life of the license 

  
13) service obligations under the federal Americans With Disabilities Act 

(ADA) 
  
14) Shaken Baby Syndrome (required training for new applicants and 

assistants licensed to care for newborns and infants and every three years 
thereafter for the life of the license) 

  
15) Department approved Mandated Reporter Training available on the 

Department’s website (required training for new applicants and assistants) 
 
16) Sudden unexpected infant death (SUID)  (required training for new 

applicants and assistants licensed to care for newborns and infants and 
every three years thereafter for the life of the license) 

  
c) Pre-service and in-service training may be acquired through the following:  

  
1) attending college or university or vocational school classes (clock hours 

spent in the classroom are counted)  
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2) attending conferences or workshops (Certificate or other proof of 
attendance, clock hours and subject matter is required.)  

  
3) attending state or local child care association meetings when a specific 

training program is provided by a guest speaker or group member 
(Documentation of attendance, subject matter and clock hours is required.)  

  
4 in-home training by a Child and Adult Care Food Program sponsor 

representative, nurse or other trainer (Documentation must include the 
topic and the clock hours.)  

  
5) self-study materials provided by a child care resource and referral 

(CCR&R) agency (Certification of clock hours must be secured from the 
CCR&R.)  

  
6) internet home study programs if the internet site provides documentation 

of use and number of clock hours  
  
7) mandated reporter training may be acquired through the Department's 

website at: https://www.dcfstraining.org/manrep/index.jsp 
  
8) viewing of the approved video offered by the National Institutes of Health 

Back to Sleep Campaign for SIDS and sleeping position of infants 
  
The training instructor, speaker or president of the child care organization 
sponsoring the training, may sign the documentation of completion.  The child 
care resource and referral (CCR&R) agency must sign and provide documentation 
of completion for self-study materials, and the internet site must provide 
documentation for home study programs. 
  

d) Licensed providers shall meet the 15 Hrs. clock hour requirements for in-service 
training per period of licensing year. Caregivers obtaining clock hours in excess 
of the required 15 clock hours per year may apply up to 5 clock hours to the next 
year's training requirements. 

  
e) Courses/training approved by the Department in carrying for children with 

disabilities must include the following component: 
  



 ILLINOIS REGISTER  
 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS 
 

 
 

• Introduction to Inclusive Child Care 
  
• Understanding Child Development in Relation to Disabilities 
  
• Building Relationships with Families 
  
• Preparing for and Including Young Children in the Child Care Setting 
  
• Community Services for Young Children with Disabilities (including 

Early Intervention services) 
  
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. __________, effective _________________) 
 


