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406.APPENDIX E List of Items for Fire Safety Inspection 
 
AUTHORITY:  Implementing and authorized by the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10], the 
Children's Product Safety Act [430 ILCS 125], Section 3 of the Abused and Neglected Child 
Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5/3], Sections 1 and 2 of the Facilities Requiring Smoke Detectors Act 
[425 ILCS 10/1 and 2], and Section 5 of the Missing Children Records Act [325 ILCS 50/5]. 
 
SOURCE:  Adopted and codified at 7 Ill. Reg. 7855, effective July 1, 1983; amended at 8 Ill. 
Reg. 24951, effective January 1, 1985; amended at 9 Ill. Reg. 2454, effective March 1, 1985; 
emergency amendment at 15 Ill. Reg. 15088, effective October 8, 1991, for a maximum of 150 
days; modified at 16 Ill. Reg. 2269; amended at 16 Ill. Reg. 7602, effective April 30, 1992; 
amended at 18 Ill. Reg. 5531, effective April 1, 1994; amended at 19 Ill. Reg. 2765, effective 
February 23, 1995; amended at 21 Ill. Reg. 4524, effective April 1, 1997; emergency amendment 
at 24 Ill. Reg. 4207, effective March 1, 2000, for a maximum of 150 days; emergency expired 
July 28, 2000; amended at 24 Ill. Reg. 17047, effective November 1, 2000; amended at 25 Ill. 
Reg. 5714, effective April 1, 2001; emergency amendment at 26 Ill. Reg. 13694, effective 
August 30, 2002, for a maximum of 150 days; emergency expired on January 26, 2003; amended 
at 27 Ill. Reg. 19180, effective December 15, 2003; amended at 30 Ill. Reg. 18280, effective 
November 13, 2006; amended at 32 Ill. Reg. 9137, effective June 20, 2008; amended at 34 Ill. 
Reg. 18358, effective December 15, 2010; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 4103, effective March 5, 
2012; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 13057, effective August 15, 2012; amended at 36 Ill. Reg. 13388, 
effective August 15, 2012; amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 19127, effective November 30, 2013; 
amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ______; effective _______________. 
 
Section 406.2  Definitions 
 

"Access to children" means an employee's job duties require that the employee be 
present in a licensed child care facility during the hours that children are present 
in the facility.  In addition, any person who is permitted to be alone outside the 
visual or auditory supervision of facility staff with children receiving care in a 
licensed child care facility is subject to the background check requirements of this 
Part.  
 
"Adult" means any person who is 18 years of age or older.  
 
"Applicant" means a person living in the residence to be licensed who will be the 
primary caregiver in the day care home.  
 
"Approved smoke detector" or "detector" means a smoke detector of the 
ionization or photoelectric type which complies with all the requirements of the 
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rules and regulations of the Illinois State Fire Marshal.  (Section 2 of the 
Facilities Requiring Smoke Detectors Act [425 ILCS 10/2])  
 
"Assistant" or "child care assistant" means a person (whether a volunteer or an 
employee) who assists a licensed home caregiver in the operation of the day care 
home.  
 
"Attendance" means the total number of children under the age of 12 present at 
any one time.  
 
"Authorized representative of the Department" means the licensing representative 
or any person acting on behalf of the Director of the Department.  
 
"Background check" means: 
 
• a criminal history check via fingerprints of persons age 18 and over that 

are submitted to the Illinois State Police and the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI) for comparison to their criminal history records, as 
appropriate; and 

 
• a check of the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 

(SACWIS) and other state child protection systems, as appropriate, to 
determine whether an individual is currently alleged or has been indicated 
as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect; and 

 
• a check of the Statewide Child Sex Offender Registry.  
 
"Basement" means the story below the street floor where occupants must traverse 
a full set of stairs, 8 or more risers, to access the street floor.  
 
"CANTS" means the Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking System operated and 
maintained by the Department.  This system is being replaced by the Statewide 
Automated Child Welfare Information System (SACWIS). 
 
"Caregiver" means the individual directly responsible for child care. 
 
"Children with special needs" means children who exhibit one or more of the 
following characteristics, confirmed by clinical evaluation: 
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• Visual impairment:  the child's visual impairment is such that development 
to full potential without special services cannot be achieved. 
 

• Hearing impairment:  the child's residual hearing is not sufficient to enable 
him or her to understand the spoken word and to develop language, thus 
causing extreme deprivation in learning and communication, or a hearing 
loss is exhibited that prevents full awareness of environmental sounds and 
spoken language, limiting normal language acquisition and learning. 
 

• Physical or health impairment:  the child exhibits a physical or health 
impairment that requires adaptation of the physical plant. 
 

• Speech and/or language impairment:  the child exhibits deviations of 
speech and/or language processes that are outside the range of acceptable 
variation within a given environment and prevent full social development. 
 

• Learning disability:  the child exhibits one or more deficits in the essential 
processes of perception, conceptualization, language, memory, attention, 
impulse control or motor function. 
 

• Behavioral disability:  the child exhibits an effective disability and/or 
maladaptive behavior that significantly interferes with learning and/or 
social functioning. 
 

• Mental impairment:  the child's intellectual development, mental capacity, 
and/or adaptive behavior are markedly delayed.  Such mental impairment 
may be mild, moderate, severe or profound. 

 
"Consultants" means those individuals providing technical assistance or advice 
regarding any aspect of the operation of the day care home.  
 
"Conviction" means a judgment of conviction or sentence entered upon a plea of 
guilty or upon a verdict or finding of guilty of an offense, rendered by a legally 
constituted jury or by a court of competent jurisdiction authorized to try the case 
without a jury .  (Section 2-5 of the Criminal Code of 1961 [720 ILCS 5/2-5])  
 
"Corporal punishment" means hitting, spanking, swatting, beating, shaking, 
pinching, excessive exercise, exposure to extreme temperatures, and other 
measures that produce physical pain. 
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"Cot" means a comfortable, safe and child-sized alternative bed made of resilient, 
fire retardant, sanitizable fabric that is on legs or otherwise above the floor and 
can be stored to allow for air flow.  
 
"Day care homes" means family homes which receive more than 3 up to a 
maximum of 12 children for less than 24 hours per day.  The maximum of 12 
children includes the family's natural, foster, or adopted children and all other 
persons under the age of 12.  The term does not include facilities which receive 
only children from a single household.  (Section 2.18 of the Child Care Act of 
1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.18])  
 
"Department" means the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services.  
(Section 2.02 of the Child Care Act of 1969)  
 
"Discipline" means the process of helping children to develop inner controls so 
that they can manage their own behavior in socially acceptable ways.  
 
"Disinfect" means to eliminate virtually all germs from inanimate surfaces 
through the use of chemicals or physical agents (e.g., heat).  In the child care 
environment, a solution of ¼ cup household liquid chlorine bleach added to one 
gallon of water (or one tablespoon bleach to one quart water) and prepared fresh 
daily is an effective disinfectant for environmental surfaces and other objects.  A 
weaker solution of 1 tablespoon bleach to 1 gallon of cool water is effective for 
use on toys, eating utensils, etc. Commercial products may also be used.  
 
"Family home" or "family residence" means the location or portion of a location 
where the applicant and his or her family reside, and may include basements and 
attics.  It does not include other structures that are separate from the home but are 
considered part of the overall premises, such as adjacent apartments, unattached 
basements in multi-unit buildings, unattached garages, and other unattached 
buildings.  
 
“Firearm” means any weapon from which a shot is discharged by an explosive 
such as gunpowder or projectiles by the action of an explosion, expansion of gas, 
or escape of gas. 
 
"Gateways to Opportunity Registry" means a program administered by the 
Department of Human Services to track and maintain education and training 
credentials of primary caregivers and assistants that allows them to establish a 
profile in the registry of their educational and training development. 
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"Ground level" means that a child can step directly from the exit onto the ground, 
a sidewalk, a patio, or any surface that is not above or below the ground.  
 
"Guardian" means the guardian of the person of a minor. (Section 2.03 of the 
Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/2.03])  
 
"Infant" means a child through 12 months of age.  
 
"Initial background check" means fingerprints have been obtained for a criminal 
history check, and the individual has cleared a check of the Statewide Automated 
Child Welfare Information System (SACWIS) and the Illinois Sex Offender 
Registry.  
 
"License" means a document issued by the Department that authorizes child care 
facilities to operate in accordance with applicable standards and the provisions of 
the Child Care Act of 1969.  
 
"License applicant", for purposes of background checks, means the operator or 
persons with direct responsibility for daily operation of the facility to be licensed. 
(Section 4.4 of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10/4.4])  
 
"License study" means the review of an application for license, on-site visits, 
interviews, and the collection and review of supporting documents to determine 
compliance with the Child Care Act of 1969 and the standards prescribed by this 
Part.  
 
"Licensed capacity" means the number of children the Department has determined 
the day care home can care for at any one time in addition to any children living 
in the home who are under the age of 12 years.  Children age 12 and over on the 
premises are not considered in determining licensed capacity.  
 
"Licensing representative" means a person authorized by the Department under 
Section 5 of the Child Care Act of 1969 to examine facilities for licensure.  
 
"Licensing year" often called the anniversary year, means the period of time from 
the date a day care home license is issued until the same date of the following 
year. 
 
"Member of the household" means a person who resides in a family home as 
evidenced by factors including, but not limited to, maintaining clothing and 
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personal effects at the household address, or receiving mail at the household 
address, or using identification with the household address.  
 
"Minor traffic violation" means a traffic violation under the laws of the State of 
Illinois or any municipal authority in Illinois or another state or municipal 
authority that is punishable solely as a petty offense. (See Section 6-601 of the 
Illinois Driver Licensing Law [625 ILCS 5/6-601].)  
 
"Parents", as used in this Part, means those persons assuming legal responsibility 
for care and protection of the child on a 24-hour basis; includes guardian or legal 
custodian.  
 
"Permit" means a one-time only document issued by the Department of Children 
and Family Services for a 2-month period to allow the individuals to become 
eligible for a license.  
 
"Person" means any individual, group of persons, agency, association, or 
organization.  
 
"Persons subject to background checks" means: 
 
• the operators of the child care facility; 

 
• all current and conditional employees of the child care facility; 

 
• any person who is used to replace or supplement staff; and 
 
• any person who has access to children, as defined in this Section. 

 
If the child care facility operates in a family home, the license applicants and all 
members of the household age 13 and over are subject to background checks, as 
appropriate, even if these members of the household are not usually present in the 
home during the hours the child care facility is in operation. 
 
"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine in the State of Illinois 
or a contiguous state. 
 
"Premises" means the location of the day care home wherein the family resides 
and includes the attached yard, garage, basement and any other outbuildings.  
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"Preschool age" means children under 5 years of age and children 5 years old who 
do not attend full day kindergarten. 
 
"Program" means all activities provided for the children during their hours of 
attendance in the day care home.  
 
"Protected exit from a basement" means an exit that is separated from the 
remainder of the day care home by barriers (such as walls, floors, or solid doors) 
providing one-hour fire resistance.  The separation must be designed to limit the 
spread of fire and restrict the movement of smoke.  

 
"Related" means any of the following relationships by blood, marriage, civil 
union, or adoption: parent, grandparent, sibling, great-grandparent, great-uncle, 
great-aunt, brother, sister, stepparent, stepbrother, stepsister, uncle, aunt, 
nephew, niece, or first cousin.  (Section 2.04 of the Child Care Act of 1969 [225 
ILCS 10/2.04]) 
 
"SACWIS" means the Statewide Automated Child Welfare Information System 
operated by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services that is 
replacing the Child Abuse and Neglect Tracking System (CANTS). 
 
"School age" means children from 6 to 12 years of age and 5 year olds who are in 
full-day kindergarten.  
 
"Special use areas" means areas of the home that may not be included in the 
measurements of the area used for child care. Special use areas include, but are 
not limited to, laundry rooms, furnace rooms, bathrooms, hazardous areas, and 
areas off-limits to children.  
 
"Story" means that level of a building included between the upper surface of a 
floor and the upper surface of the floor or roof next above.  
 
"Street floor" means a story or floor level accessible from the street or from 
outside a building at ground level, with the floor level at the main entrance 
located not more than 4 risers above or below the ground level and arranged and 
utilized to qualify as the main floor.  
 
"Substantiated violation" means that the licensing representative has determined, 
during a licensing complaint investigation or a monitoring or renewal visit, that 
the licensee has violated a licensing standard of this Part or the Child Care Act. 



ILLINOIS REGISTER 
 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS 
 

"Supervising agency", as used in this Part, means a licensed child welfare agency, 
a licensed day care agency, or the Department.  
 
"Swimming pool" means any natural or artificial basin of water intended for 
public swimming or recreational bathing that exceeds 2'6" in depth as specified in 
the Illinois Swimming Pool and Bathing Beach Code (77 Ill. Adm. Code 820).  
The term includes bathing beaches and pools at private clubs, health clubs, or 
private residences when used for children enrolled in a child care facility.  
 
"Wading pool" means any natural or artificial basin of water less than 2'6" in 
depth that is intended for recreational bathing, water play or similar activity.  The 
term includes recessed areas less than 2'6" in depth in swimming pools that are 
designated primarily for children.  

 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. _______ , effective _____________________) 

 
Section 406.4  Application for License  
  

a) A complete application shall be filed with the Department of Children and Family 
Services by the supervising agency on forms prescribed and provided by the 
Department.  

 
b) Contents of Application 
 

1) A complete application shall include:  
 

A) a completed, signed and dated Application for Home License;  
 

B) a list of persons who will be working in the day care home, 
including any substitutes and assistants, and members of the 
household age 13 and over;  

 
C) completed, signed and dated authorizations to conduct the 

background check for the applicants, each employee or person 
used to replace or supplement staff, and each member of the 
household age 13 and over;  

 
D) a completed, signed and dated Child Support Certification form;  
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E) the names, addresses and telephone numbers of at least 3 adults not 
related to the applicants, nor living in the household, who can 
attest to their character and suitability to provide child care;  

 
F) a written hazard protection plan identifying potential hazards 

within the home and outdoor area accessible to the children in care.  
The written plan shall address the specific hazards and the adult 
supervision and physical means required to minimize the risks to 
children.  Conditions to be addressed include, but are not limited 
to, traffic construction, bodies of water accessible to the children, 
open stairwells, and neighborhood dogs; 

 
G) a copy of high school diploma, or equivalent certificate, or degree 

from a regionally accredited institution of higher education or 
vocational institution; 

 
H) for applications submitted on or after September 1, 2012, proof of 

membership in the Gateways to Opportunity Registry by the 
primary caregiver and assistants in the home with all educational 
credentials and pre-service training entered into the 
Registryregistry; and 

 
I) for an initial application effective January 1, 2014 or later, proof 

that the home has been tested within the last 3 years for radon, as 
established by rules of the Illinois Emergency Management Agency 
(32 Ill. Adm. Code 422) [225 ILCS 10/5.8]. 

 
2) For initial applications submitted after January 1, 2011, the applicant, who 

shall be the primary caretaker, The applicants shall have completed, not 
more than one year prior to the application date, at least 15 hours of pre-
service training listed in Appendix D, which shall include the following 
topics for applicants and assistants who will care for infants: 

 
A) Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS);  
 
B) Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID); 
 
C) Safe sleep recommendations from the American Academy of 

Pediatrics; 
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D) Shaken Baby Syndrome; and  
 
EC) Department approved Mandated Reporter training for all licensees 

and assistants regardless of the age of children in care. 
 
c) The supervising agency shall study each day care home under its supervision 

before recommending issuance of a license.  The licensing study shall be 
conducted by a licensing representative and shall be reviewed and approved by 
his/her supervisor.  Supervisory approval indicates recommendation for license or 
denial of a license and compliance or non-compliance with the standards 
prescribed by this Part.  The study shall be in writing and shall be signed by the 
licensing representative performing the study and by his/her supervisor.  A license 
may not be recommended without the receipt of at least 3 positive, written 
references, and a written study signed by the licensing representative and 
supervisor.  The applicant shall receive a copy of the results of the on-site 
compliance review upon request.  

 
d) Fire Safety Inspection 
 

1) The Department shall request the Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) 
to perform a fire safety inspection of homes when an initial application is 
being considered for licensure and when care will be provided on other 
than ground level and for homes in multi-housing units and submit a 
written recommendation of the inspection to the supervising agency of the 
day care home and to the applicant;  

 
2) The fire safety inspection on single floor homes, at ground level with no 

unusual or complex code considerations, shall be completed following the 
list of items for fire safety inspection in Appendix E by a licensing 
representative trained by OSFM to conduct that fire prevention inspection; 

 
3) Prior to the Department issuance of a permit or a license, the day care 

home shall have written approval by OSFM or staff trained by OSFM, 
indicating the home meets fire safety requirements.  

 
e) Licensed day care homes that fail to comply with all applicable local, municipal 

and State regulations may be prohibited from operating. 
 
f) New Applications 
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1) A new application shall be filed when any of the following occurs:  
 

A) When an application for a license has been withdrawn, surrendered 
or denied and the applicant or licensee seeks to reapply;  

 
B) When there is a failure to submit a completed application within 14 

days after a change of the location of the day care home; 
 
C) Not sooner than 12 months after the Department has revoked or 

refused to renew a license, after the previous license has been 
surrendered with cause, or refused to issue a full license to a permit 
holder, and a new license is sought.  

 
2) For the application to be considered timely and sufficient, a new 

application shall be completed, signed by the licensee and submitted to the 
supervising agency within 30 days after the following changes:  

 
A) When there is a change in the name of the licensee, the supervising 

agency or the legal status from a social security number to Federal 
Employer Identification Number (FEIN); or 

 
B) When there is a change in the status of joint licensees, such as 

separation, divorce or death.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. _____________, effective ____________________) 

 
Section 406.5  Application for Renewal of License  
 

a) Application forms for license renewal shall be mailed to day care home licensees 
by the supervising agency 6 months prior to the expiration date of the license.  

 
b) The completed application shall be signed by the licensees and submitted to the 

supervising agency at least 3 months prior to expiration of the current license, in 
order to be considered timely and sufficient.  

 
c) When a licensed day care home seeks to change its name, location, or supervising 

agency, a new application reflecting the changes must be completed, signed by 
the licensees and submitted to the supervising agency 30 days prior to the 
effective date of the changes for the application to be considered timely and 
sufficient.  
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d) When a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for renewal of a 
license or a new license with reference to any activity of a continuing nature and 
the Department fails to render a decision on the application for renewal of the 
license prior to the expiration date of the license, the existing license shall 
continue in full force and effect for up to 30 days until the final Department 
decision has been made.  The Department may further extend the period in which 
such decision must be made in individual cases for up 30 days, if good cause is 
shown.  [225 ILCS 10/5(d)]  

 
e) Prior to renewal, the licensee shall be current with the annual 15 hours of required 

training in accordance with Appendix D that for applicants and assistants licensed 
to care for newborns and infants shall include the following topics: 

 
1) Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS), Sudden Unexpected Infant Death 

(SUID) and Safe sleep recommendations from the American Academy of 
Pediatrics; and 
 

2) Shaken Baby Syndrome.  
 
f) At the time of license renewal, the supervising agency shall review the fire 

emergency, tornado/severe weather emergency, and hazard protection written 
plans. Any revision or enhancement shall be part of the licensing renewal process. 
Licensed homes that do not have a written hazard plan (see Section 406.4(b)(6)) 
shall develop a plan and submit it to the supervising agency prior to renewal. 

 
g) Fire Safety Inspection 
 

1) Fire safety inspections of homes licensed for multi-housing unit or single 
family dwelling in which care will be provided on other than grade level 
shall be completed by OSFM or its designee;  

 
2) Fire safety inspection of homes licensed for a single floor with no unusual 

or complex code considerations shall be completed by a licensing 
representative trained by OSFM;  

 
3) The fire safety inspection shall be conducted in accordance with the 

requirements of Appendix E.  
 
h) Upon receipt of the application for license renewal, the supervising agency shall 

conduct a license study in order to determine that the day care home continues to 
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meet licensing standards.  The licensing study shall be in writing and shall be 
reviewed and signed by the licensing supervisor and the licensing representative 
performing the study.  The licensees shall receive a copy of the results of the on-
site compliance review upon request.  

 
i) For a renewal application effective January 1, 2014 or later, proof the home that 

has been tested within the last 3 years for radon, as established by rules of the 
Illinois Emergency Management Agency (32 Ill. Adm. Code 422) [225 ILCS 
10/5.8]. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ______________) 

 
Section 406.7  Provisions Pertaining to Permits  
 

a) A permit shall not be issued until:  
 
1) The application for licensurelicense has been completed and signed by the 

applicants and all parts of the initial application requirements have been 
submitted to the Department;  

 
2) The background checks required by Section 406.9 have been completed 

and the results of the background check have been received for the 
operator of the day care home;  

 
3) Medical reports as required in Section 406.24(i) have been received by the 

Department for all caregivers and assistants;  
 
4) The applicant who is the primary caregiver has been certified in first-aid, 

the Heimlich maneuver, and infant/child cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
(CPR) in accordance with Section 406.9(n);  

 
5)         For initial applications submitted after January 1, 2011, the applicant for 

license shall have completed, not more than one year prior to application, 
at least 15 hours of pre-service training listed in Appendix D, which shall 
include the following topics: 

  
A)        Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS); 
  
B)        Shaken Baby Syndrome; and 
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C)        Department approved Mandated Reporter training; 
  
56) Character references have been requested, and at least two favorable 

references have been received and the results of the background check 
have been received for the operator of the day care home;  

 
67) A personal visit to the home by a licensing representative has been 

completed.  The purpose of this visit is to determine compliance with all 
the licensing requirements except the requirements for remaining character 
references, medical examination reports, and well water tests compliance 
that may be complied with within the 2 month period covered by the 
permit.  However, when well water tests are required, applicants must 
agree to boil all drinking and cooking water and to provide only bottled 
water for children under 15 months of age until the test results are 
received;  

 
78) A written plan has been submitted to the licensing representative that 

indicates that requirements for a license shall be met within the 2 month 
permit period; and  

 
89) A written fire safety inspection and approval of the home has been 

completed in accordance with Section 406.4(d) of this Part. 
 
b) A permit shall not be issued retroactively.  
 
c) Permits shall not be transferred to another person or other legal entity.  
 
d) Permits shall not be valid for a name or location different from the name and 

location shown on the issued permit.  
 
e) Permits shall not be renewable.  
 
f) A current permit shall be prominently displayed in the day care home at all times 

while the home is operating under a permit.  
 
g) A license shall be issued at any time within the 2 month period covered by the 

permit provided that the day care home achieves and maintains compliance with 
the Department's licensing standards.  
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h) The day care home shall adhere to the provisions or restrictions specified on the 
permit.  

 
i) There shall be no fee or charge for the permit.  
 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ___________________) 
 

Section 406.8  General Requirements for Day Care Homes  
  

a) The physical facilities of the home, both indoors and outdoors, shall meet the 
following requirements for safety to children.  
 
1) The home shall have a first aid kit consisting of adhesive bandages, 

scissors, thermometer, non-permeable gloves, Poison Control Center 
telephone number (1-800-222-1222 or 1-800-942-5969), sterile gauze 
pads, adhesive tape, tweezers and mild soap.    

 
2) The kitchen shall be equipped with a readily accessible and operable fire 

extinguisher rated for Class A, B, and C fires and a flashlight in working 
order.  

 
3) All electrical outlets that are in areas used by the day care children shall 

have protective coverings.  There shall be no exposed or uninsulated 
wiring.  

 
4) The home shall be equipped with a minimum of one approved smoke 

detector in operating condition on every floor level, including basements 
and occupied attics.  
 
A) A smoke detector in operating condition shall be within each room 

where children nap or sleep.  The detector shall be installed on the 
ceiling and at least 6 inches from any wall, or on a wall located 
between 4 and 6 inches from the ceiling.  In addition, there shall be 
at least one detector at the beginning and end of each separate 
corridor or hallway 200 feet or more in length in any occupied 
story.  

 
B) In any facility constructed after December 31, 1987, or which 

undergoes substantial remodeling of its structure or wiring system 
after that date, the smoke detectors shall be permanently wired 
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into the structure's AC power line, and, if more than one detector 
is required to be installed, the detectors shall be wired so that the 
activation of one detector will activate all the detectors in the 
facility unit.  For purposes of this subsection (a)(4), "substantial 
remodeling" represents more than 15% of the replacement cost of 
the day care home.  For homes that did not have wired installation 
of smoke detectors in each room prior to December 15, 2011, the 
Department may allow the installation of a battery-operated smoke 
detector in each room where children nap or sleep and deem the 
home to be in compliance. 

 
C) Compliance with any applicable federal, State or local law, rule or 

building code which requires the installation and maintenance of 
smoke detectors in a manner different from this Section, but 
providing a level of safety for occupants which is equal to or 
greater than that provided by this Section, shall be deemed to be 
compliance with this Section.  (Section 2 of the Facilities 
Requiring Smoke Detectors Act [425 ILCS 10/2])  

 
D) For homes constructed after December 15, 2011, or that underwent 

substantial remodeling of structure or wiring systems after 
December 15, 2011, the smoke detectors shall be permanently 
wired into the structure's AC power line and, if more than one 
detector is required to be installed, the detectors shall be wired so 
that the activation of one detector will activate all the detectors in 
the facility unit. 

 
5) Carbon Monoxide Detector 

 
A) A home that has an attached garage and/or relies on combustion of 

fossil fuel for heating, ventilation, or hot water shall be equipped 
with a minimum of one approved carbon monoxide detector in 
operating condition within 15 feet of rooms where children nap or 
sleep. 

 
B) The carbon monoxide detector may be combined with smoke 

detector devices, provided that the combined unit complies with 
subsection (a)(4) and this subsection (a)(5).  [430 ILCS 135/10] 
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6) The home and indoor space shall be maintained in good repair and shall 
provide a safe, comfortable environment for the children. 

 
7) A draft-free temperature of 65ºF to 75ºF shall be maintained during the 

winter months or heating season.  For infants and toddlers, a temperature 
of 68ºF to 82ºF shall be maintained during the summer or air-conditioning 
months. When the temperature in the home exceeds 78ºF, measures shall 
be taken to cool the children. Temperatures shall be measured at least 3 
feet above the floor. 

 
8) Fixed space heaters, fireplaces, radiators, and other heating sources in 

areas occupied by children shall be separated by partitions or a sturdy 
barrier to prevent contact.  Portable space heaters may not be used in a day 
care home during the hours that child care is provided.  

 
9) Facilities in which a wood-burning stove or fireplace has been installed 

and which is used during the hours that child care is provided shall 
provide a written plan of how the stove or fireplace will be used and what 
actions will be taken to ensure the children's safety when in use.  

 
10) When the basement area may be used for child care, 2 exits shall be 

provided. 
 
A) At least one exit shall be a basement exit via a door directly to the 

outside (without traversing any other level of the home) or a 
protected exit from a basement via a door or stairway that allows 
unobstructed travel directly to the outside of the building at street 
or ground level.  The stairway may not be more than 8 feet high. 

 
B) A second exit may be a window.  

 
i) The window shall be operable from the inside without the 

use of tools and provide a clear opening not less than 20 
inches in width, 24 inches in height, and 5.7 square feet in 
area. 

 
ii) If the window is used as a second exit, the bottom of the 

window opening shall be no more than 44 inches above the 
floor. 
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iii) When the bottom of the window opening used as a second 
exit is greater than 24 inches above the floor, there shall be 
a permanently affixed, sturdy ramp or stairs located below 
the window to allow speedy access in the event of an 
emergency. 

 
C) If the basement area does not meet the requirements in subsections 

(a)(10)(A) and (B), the basement may be used for child care only 
with the prior written approval of OSFM.  

 
11) All walls and surfaces shall be maintained free from lead paint and from 

chipped or peeling paint, carpeting, fabric or plastic products. Flammable 
or combustible artwork attached to the walls shall not exceed 20% of the 
wall area.  

 
12) Walls of rooms that children use shall be maintained free of carpeting, 

fabric or plastic products. Inflammable or combustible artwork attached to 
the walls shall not exceed 20% of any wall arealead paint.  

 
13) Furniture and equipment shall be kept in safe repair.  
 
14) First aid supplies, medication, cleaning materials, poisons, sharp scissors, 

plastic bags, sharp knives, cigarettes, matches, lighters, flammable liquids, 
and other hazardous materials shall be stored in places inaccessible to 
children.  Hazardous items for infants and toddlers also include items that 
can cause choking, including but not limited to: coins, balloons, safety 
pins, marbles, Styrofoam™ and similar products, and sponge, soft rubber 
or soft plastic toys that can be bitten or broken into small pieces.  

 
15) Tools and gardening equipment shall be stored in locked cabinets, if 

possible, or in places inaccessible to all children.  
 
16) There shall be an operable telephone available on the premises of the 

licensee.  The number of the Poison Control Center (1-800-222-1222 or 1-
800-942-5969) and other emergency numbers shall be posted in an area 
that is readily available in an emergency.  

 
1716) Handguns are prohibited on the premises of the day care home except in 

the possession of peace officers or other adults who must possess a 
handgun as a condition of employment and who reside in the day care 
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home. The licensee shall post a “no-firearms” sign pursuant to the Firearm 
Concealed Carry Act on a visible location where parents pick up children. 

 
1817) Any firearm, other than a handgun in the possession of a peace officer or 

other person as provided in subsection (a)(1713), shall be kept in a 
disassembled state, without ammunition, in locked storage in a closet, 
cabinet, or other locked storage facility inaccessible to children.  

 
A) Ammunition for such firearms shall be kept in locked storage 

separate from that of the disassembled firearms, inaccessible to 
children.  

 
B) The operator of the home shall notify the parents or guardian of 

any child accepted for care that firearms and ammunition are 
stored on the premises.  The operator shall also notify the parents 
or guardian that such firearms and ammunition are locked in 
storage inaccessible to children. (Section 7 of the Act)  Such 
notification need not disclose the location where the firearms and 
ammunition are stored.  

 
1918) There shall be written emergency preparedness plans that specify the 

actions to be taken in the event of a fire, and tornado or other emergency 
emergencies.  Caregivers and assistants in the home shall be familiar with 
these plans.  

 
The emergency preparedness response plans shall include, but are not 
limited to: 
 
A) AThe fire evacuation plan identifyingshall identify the exits from 

each area used for child care and specifyingshall specify the 
evacuation route;. 

 
B) AThe fire evacuation plan identifyingshall identify a safe assembly 

area outside of the home. It shall also identify a near-by indoor 
location for post-evacuation holding if needed;.  

 
C) AThe fire evacuation plan requiringshall require that the home be 

evacuated immediately and the children's safety insured before 
calling the local emergency number 911 or attempting to combat 
the fire;. 
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D) AThe written tornado plan specifying shall specify what actions 
will be taken in the event of tornado or other severe weather 
warning, including designation of those areas of the home to be 
used as the safe spots;. 
 

E) Specific procedures for notifying parents if evacuation is necessary 
and how they will be reunited with their children;  

 
F) Specific procedures for evacuating children who are less than 30 

months of age and/or for evacuating special needs children when 
applicable; 

 
G Monthly fire drills to be conducted for the purpose of removing 

children from the home as quickly as possible; and 
 
H) Monthly tornado drills to be conducted for the purpose of getting 

children accustomed to moving to a position of safety in the event 
of a tornado. 

 
2019) The licensee shall hold monthly fire safety inspections of the day care 

home and maintain documentation on file for a period of 1 year.Monthly 
fire drills shall be conducted for the purpose of removing children from 
the home as quickly as possible. 

 
20) Tornado drills shall be conducted monthly for the purpose of getting 

children accustomed to moving to a position of safety in the event of a 
tornado.  

 
21) Fire and tornado drills shall be documentedrecorded on forms prescribed 

by the Department and maintained on file for a period of 3 years. 
  
22) Escape routes from the home shall be designed and maintained for swift 

and safe exiting in the event of an emergency. 
 
A) All corridors and escape routes from the home shall be kept clear 

of obstructions. 
 
B) Dead-end paths or corridors within the home shall be a maximum 

of 20 feet in length. 
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C) All escape routes from the home shall have operable lighting. The 
lighting shall be activated during any hours of operation when 
natural lighting is reduced to a level that prohibits visibility within 
the escape route. 

 
D) Bathroom doors in areas accessible to day care children shall allow 

a caregiver to open the door from outside of the bathroom if 
necessary. 

 
E) All closet doors accessible to children shall be able to be opened 

from inside of the closet without the use of a key. 
 

F) There shall be no more than 2 releasing devices (door knobs, hand-
operated deadbolts, thumb-turn locks, etc.) on any exit door or exit 
window.  

 
G) Exit doors and exit windows shall be operable without the use of a 

key, a tool or special knowledge to open for exit to the outside. 
 

H) Exit doors and exit windows shall be kept clear of equipment and 
debris at all times.  

 
23) The licensee shall inspect the home daily, prior to arrival of children, 

ensuring that escape routes are clear and that exit doors and exit windows 
are operable. A log of these daily inspections shall be maintained for at 
least one year, and shall be available for review. The log shall reflect, at 
minimum, the date and time of each inspection and the full name of the 
person who conducted it. 

 
24) The use of in-ground and/or above-ground pools is prohibited during day 

care hours unless the home has a current license to operate the swimming 
pool from the Illinois Department of Public Health [210 ILCS 125].The 
licensee shall hold monthly fire inspections of the day care home. 

 
25) In the event of a fire, the day care home shall be evacuated immediately 

and the children's safety insured before calling the fire department or 
attempting to combat the fire.  

 
26) There shall be an operable telephone available on the premises of the 

licensee.  The number of the Poison Control Center (1-800-222-1222 or 1-
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800-942-5969) and other emergency numbers shall be posted in an area 
that is readily available in an emergency.  

 
2527) All in-ground swimming pools located in areas accessible to children shall 

be fenced.  The fence shall be at least 5 feet in height and secured by a 
locked gate.  Day care homes that have a license or a permit on April 1, 
2001 and are in compliance with the requirement for a 3½ foot fence shall 
be considered in compliance with the fence requirement.  

 
2628) All above-ground pools shall have non-climbable sidewalls that are at 

least 4 feet high or shall be enclosed with a 5 foot fence that is at least 36 
inches away from the pool's side wall and secured with a locked gate. 
When the pool is not in use, steps shall be removed from the pool or 
otherwise protected to insure the pool cannot be accessed.  Day care 
homes that have a license or a permit on April 1, 2001 and are in 
compliance with the requirement for a 3½ foot fence shall be considered 
in compliance with the fence requirement.  

 
2729) Portable wading pools shall be emptied daily and disinfected before being 

air-dried.  
 
2830) All hot tubs shall have securely locked covers or otherwise be inaccessible 

to children.  
 
2931) Free hanging cords on blinds, shades and drapes shall be tied or otherwise 

kept out of reach of children.  
 

3032) Radon Test 
Effective January 1, 2013, the home shall be tested for radon at least once 
every 3 years.  The most current radon measurements shall be posted next 
to the license in the home, on a form provided by the Department, 
containing the required informative statement from Section 5.8(d) of the 
Child Care Act of 1969 [225 ILCS 10]. 

 
b) The kitchen shall be clean, equipped for the preservation, storage, preparation and 

serving of food, and reasonably safe from hazards.  
 
c) Garbage and refuse containers used to discard diapering supplies, food products 

or disposable meal service supplies in areas for child care shall be disinfected 
daily unless plastic liners are used and disposed of daily.  
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d) A safe and sanitary water supply shall be maintained.  If a private water supply is 
used instead of an approved public water supply, the applicant shall supply 
written records of current test results indicating the water supply is safe for 
drinking.  New test results must be provided prior to renewal of license.  If nitrate 
content exceeds 10 parts per million, bottled water must be used for children 
under 15 months of age.  

 
e) Hot and cold running water shall be provided.  When children under age 10 or 

who are developmentally disabled are cared for, the maximum hot water 
temperature from all faucets of sinks designated for children washing hands shall 
be no more than 115º Fahrenheit.  Caregivers shall always test the hot water 
before allowing children less than 5 years of age to use the water.  

 
f) Insect and rodent control shall be maintained.  

 
1) All outside doors except those with operable self-closing devices, operable 

windows, and other openings used for ventilation shall be screened.  
 
2) Chemicals for insect and rodent control shall be applied in minimum 

amounts and shall not be used when children are present.  Over-the-
counter products may be used only according to package instructions.  
Commercial chemicals, if used, shall be applied by a licensed pest control 
operator and shall meet all standards of the Department of Public Health 
(Structural Pest Control Code, 77 Ill. Adm. Code 830).  A record of any 
pesticides used shall be maintained.  

 
g) Healthy household pets that present no danger to children are permitted.  

 
1) A licensed veterinarian shall certify that the animals are free of diseases 

that could endanger the children's health and that dogs and cats have been 
inoculated for rabies.  

 
2) If certification is not available, animals shall be confined at all times in an 

area inaccessible to children.  
 
3) There shall be careful supervision of children who are permitted to handle 

and care for the animals.  
 
4) Immediate treatment shall be available to any child who is bitten or 

scratched by an animal.  
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5) The presence of monkeys, ferrets, turtles, iguanas, psittacine birds (birds 
of the parrot family) or any wild or dangerous animal is prohibited in areas 
accessible to children during the hours the day care home is in operation.  
Wild and dangerous animals include, but are not limited to, venomous and 
constricting snakes, undomesticated cats and dogs, raccoons, and other 
animals determined to be dangerous by local public health authorities.  

 
h) Indoor space shall consist of a clean, comfortable environment for children.  

 
1) The day care home shall be well-ventilated, free from observable hazards, 

properly lighted and heated, and free of fire hazards.  
 
2) The dwelling shall be kept clean, sanitary, and in good repair.  
 
3) There shall be provision for isolating a child who becomes ill or who is 

suspected of having a contagious disease.  
 
4) When used for child care, floors shall have protective covering such as, 

but not limited to, tile, carpet or linoleum.  Paint or sealer alone is not 
acceptable as a protective covering.  

 
5) When children under 30 months of age are in care, stairs leading to second 

levels, attics or basements shall be fitted with a sturdy gate, door or other 
barrier to prevent the children's access to stairs without adult supervision. 
Such a barrier shall be moveable enough so as not to impede evacuation, if 
necessary.  

 
i) The licensee shall identify those areas in the home used for child care.  The 

identified areas minus any special use areas shall be measured to calculate the 
square footage available for child care.  When the licensed capacity of the home 
exceeds 8 children, there shall be:  
 
1) A minimum of 35 square feet of floor space per each child in care; and  
 
2) An additional 20 square feet of floor space for each child under 30 months 

of age when the play area is the same as the sleep area.  However, if 
portable bedding is used for napping, then removed, the licensing 
representative shall approve the use of only 35 square feet of space for 
each child if the applicant/licensee has adequate storage for the bedding 
materials and the bedding materials are removed before and after naptime.  
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j) No person may smoke tobacco in any area of the day care home in which day 
care services are being provided to children, while those children are present on 
the premises.  In addition, no person may smoke tobacco while providing 
transportation, in either an open or enclosed motor vehicle, to children who are 
receiving child care services.  Nothing in this subsection prohibits smoking in the 
home in the presence of a person's own children or in the presence of children to 
whom day care services are not then being provided.  [225 ILCS 10/5.5]  

 
k) There shall be safe outdoor space for active play.  

 
1) Space shall be provided for play in yards, nearby parks or playgrounds 

under adult supervision.  
 
2) Space shall be protected by physical means (e.g., fence, tree line, chairs, 

ropes, etc.) against all water hazards, including, but not limited to, pools, 
ponds, standing water, ornamental bodies of water, and retention ponds, 
regardless of the depth of the water, and by adult caregiver supervision at 
times when children in care are present.  Other hazards, such as, but not 
limited to, heavy traffic and construction, shall be inaccessible to children 
in care through a physical barrier and adult supervision.  

 
3) Play areas shall be well drained and safely maintained.  
 
4) All pieces of outdoor equipment used by children 5 years of age and 

younger on the day care home premises that is purchased or installed on or 
after April 1, 2001 shall meet the following standards to guard against 
entrapment or situations that may cause strangulation.  
 
A) Openings in exercise rings shall be smaller than 4½ inches or 

larger than 9 inches in diameter.  
 
B) There shall be no openings in a play structure with a dimension 

between 3½ inches and 9 inches (except for exercise rings).  Side 
railings, stairs and other locations that a child might slip or climb 
through shall be checked for appropriate dimensions.  

 
C) Distances between vertical slats or poles, where used, must be 3½ 

inches or less (to prevent head entrapment).  
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D) No opening shall form an angle of less than 55 degrees unless one 
leg of the angle is horizontal or slopes downward.  

 
E) No openings shall be between ⅜ inch and one inch in size (to 

prevent finger entrapment).  
 
5) The use of a trampoline by children in care is prohibited.  
 
6) Children shall be closely supervised by the caregiver when public parks or 

playgrounds are used for play, during play and while traveling to and from 
the area.  

 
7) Supervision shall be provided during outdoor play by caregivers who meet 

the requirements of Section 406.9.  
 
l) Operation of other business on the premises must not interfere with the care of 

children.  
 
m) A day care home may not house bedridden or chronically ill persons except by 

permission of the supervising agency.  The supervising agency shall grant such 
permission unless the person has a contagious or a reportable communicable 
disease or requires care that adversely affects the ability of the caregiver to 
supervise children.  

 
n) By December 28, 2012, the day care home shall obtain certification that all cribs 

used by the home meet or exceed the federal safety standards in 16 CFR 1219 or 
1220 (2011). This certification from the manufacturer shall be available for 
inspection by the licensing representative.  In the absence of a manufacturer's 
certificate, proof that the crib was manufactured on or after June 28, 2011 will 
meet the required standard. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ___________________) 
 

Section 406.9  Characteristics and Qualifications of the Day Care Family  
 

a) No individual may receive a license from the Department when the applicant, a 
member of the household age 13 and over, or any individual who has access to the 
children cared for in a day care home, or any employee of the day care home, has 
not authorized the background check required by 89 Ill. Adm. Code 385 
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(Background Checks) and been cleared in accordance with the requirements of 
Part 385.  

 
b) Employees subject to background checks may begin employment on a conditional 

basis while awaiting the results of the background check. Such employees may 
not be alone with children until the results of the initial background check have 
been received.  

 
c) Persons who have been the perpetrator of certain types of child abuse or neglect 

or who have committed or attempted to commit certain crimes may not be 
licensed to operate a day care home, be a member of the household of a family 
home in which a day care home operates, or be an employee or volunteer in a day 
care home.  These allegations/criminal convictions are listed in Appendix C of 
this Part.  

 
d) Day care homes shall be responsible for ensuring that persons subject to criminal 

background checks make themselves available for fingerprinting when scheduled 
by the Department or its authorized representatives.  Failure of a person subject to 
criminal background checks to appear for scheduled fingerprinting may result in 
the denial of a license application or refusal to renew or revocation of an existing 
license unless the child care facility can demonstrate that it took reasonable 
measures to insure cooperation with the fingerprinting process.  Adequate cause 
for failure to appear for fingerprinting includes, but is not limited to:  
 
1) death in the family of the person;  
 
2) serious illness of the person or illness in the person's immediate family; or  
 
3) weather or transportation emergencies.  

 
e) As a condition of licensure, each licensee or license applicant must certify under 

penalty of perjury that he or she is current or not more than 30 days delinquent in 
complying with a child support order.  Failure to so certify may result in a denial 
of the license application, refusal to renew the license, or revocation of the 
license.  (Section 10-65(c) of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 
100/10-65(c)])  

 
f) If the licensees or license applicants acknowledge that they are more than 30 days 

delinquent in complying with an order for child support or, upon completion of 
the background check, the licensees or license applicants are found to be 
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delinquent despite their certification, the Department shall deny the application 
for license, refuse to renew the license, or revoke the license unless the licensees 
or license applicants arrange for payment of past due and current child support 
and pay child support in accordance with that agreement.  

 
g) Members of the household who have contact with the children in care shall treat 

them with respect, courtesy, and patience.  
 
h) The caregiver is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the day care home in 

accordance with the standards prescribed in this Part.  
 
i) The licensee shall be present in the home when day care children are in 

attendance unless a qualified substitute caregiver per Section 406.11 is present. 
 
j) The licensee and other adult members of the household in contact with day care 

children shall be stable, law abiding, responsible, mature individuals. 
 
k) The caregivers in a day care home shall be at least 18 years of age.  
 
l) Caregivers licensed after January 1, 2011 shall have proof of a high school 

diploma, or equivalent certificate, or degree from a regionally accredited 
institution of higher education or vocational institution. 

 
m) The caregivers and all members of the household shall provide medical evidence 

as required by Section 406.24(i) that they are free of reportable communicable 
disease, and, in the case of caregivers, free of physical or mental conditions that 
could interfere with the child care responsibilities.  

 
n) The licensee who is the primary caregiver shall be certified in first aid, the 

Heimlich maneuver and infant/child cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) by the 
American Red Cross, the American Heart Association or other entity approved by 
the Illinois Department of Public Health.  

 
o) During the hours of operation of the day care home, there shall be at least one 

person on the premises certified in first aid, the Heimlich maneuver and 
infant/child cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) by the American Red Cross or 
the American Heart Association, or other entity approved by the Illinois 
Department of Public Health.  The caregivers shall have on file current 
certificates attesting to the training.  
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p) The caregiver shall successfully complete a Department approved basic training 
course of 6 or more clock hours in providing care to children with disabilities.  
Refer to Appendix D for basic course requirements.  The licensee shall have on 
file a certificate attesting to the successful completion of the training. 
 
1) New licensee shall complete this training within 36 months from the issue 

date of the initial license. 
 
2) A licensee who has completed training prior to November 15, 2003 may 

have that training approved as meeting the provisions of this Section. A 
certificate of training completion and a description of the course content 
must be submitted to the Department for approval. 

 
q) Through interaction with the licensing representative, children, parents or 

guardian of children in care and operation of the day care home in accordance 
with standards prescribed by this Part, caregivers shall exhibit competence in the 
following specific areas:  
 
1) Knowledge of basic hygiene, safety, and nutrition.  
 
2) The ability to relate comfortably with parents and to communicate with 

them on differences in caregiving methods, values, and goals.  
 
3) The ability to communicate with children.  
 
4) The ability to set realistic controls for children and to enforce these 

without harshness or physical abuse.  
 
5) Knowledge of the child's need to explore and manipulate and the 

willingness to provide and maintain a home where children can enjoy 
living and learning.  

 
6) Using developmentally appropriate behavior management techniques that 

do not constitute corporal punishment of children. 
 
r) The caregivers may not work or be employed outside the home during the hours 

the day care home is licensedthat child care is being provided.  Outside 
employment during hours that child care is not being provided shall not interfere 
with child care. 
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s) The caregiver shall be awake, alert, and able to supervise the children when 
providing care, except as allowed by Section 406.23(h), night care. 

 
t) The caregivers shall complete 15 clock hours of in-service training per licensing 

year in accordance with the requirements in Appendix D.  
 
1) Such training may be derived from programs offered by any of the entities 

identified in Appendix D.  
 
2) Courses or workshops to meet this requirement include, but are not limited 

to, those listed in Appendix D.  
 
3) The records of the day care home shall document the training in which the 

caregiver has participated, and these records shall be available for review 
by the Department.  

 
4) Caregivers obtaining clock hours in excess of the required 15 clock hours 

per year may apply up to 5 clock hours to the next year's training 
requirements. 

 
u) Licensees or applicants shall not provide false or misleading information 

regarding their compliance with the applicable regulations. 
 

(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ___________________) 

Section 406.10  Qualifications for Assistants 
 

a) Assistants shall have passed the background check in Section 406.9(a). 

 
b) Assistants shall be at least 14 years of age and at least 5 years older than the 

oldest child they supervise.  Minor assistants shall be employed in accordance 
with 56 Ill. Adm. Code 250 (Illinois Child Labor Law). 

 
c) Assistants under age 18 shall work under the direct personal supervision of the 

caregiver at all times.  Direct personal supervision means the caregiver maintains 
audible or visual contact with the assistant and children on the premises at all 
times. 

d) An assistant 18 years of age or older may accompany children playing outdoors, 
and may transport children, if the assistant possesses a valid driver's license for 
the vehicle classification that is being used to transport children and insurance. 
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e) Assistants shall provide medical evidence as required by Section 
406.24(i)406.24(h) that they are free of reportable communicable disease and 
physical or mental conditions that could interfere with child care responsibilities. 

 
f) The assistant shall be compatible with the caregiver, capable of following 

directions, and responsive to supervision. 

 
g) The child care assistant shall be able to relate well with children. 

 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. ________, effective ___________________) 

 
Section 406.APPENDIX D  Pre-Service and In-Service Training  
 

a) Entities that may provide pre-service and in-service training to meet the 
requirements of this Part include, but are not limited to:  
 
1) colleges and universities  
 
2) child care resource and referral agencies  
 
3) Illinois Department of Public Health or local health departments  
 
4) Office of the State Fire Marshal or local fire department  
 
5) Illinois Department of Children and Family Services  
 
6) Illinois Department of Human Services  
 
7) state or national child care or child advocacy organizations  
 
8) national, state or local family day care home associations  
 
9) Child and Adult Care Food Program sponsors  

 
10) Healthy Child Care Illinois nurses  
 
11) American Red Cross, American Heart Association and other providers of 

first aid and CPR training that have been approved by the Illinois 
Department of Public Health  
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b) Topics or courses to meet the in-service training requirements include, but are not 

limited to:  
 
1) child care and child development  
 
2) guidance and discipline  
 
3) first aid and CPR  
 
4) symptoms of common childhood illness  
 
5) food preparation and nutrition  
 
6) health and sanitation  
 
7) small business management  
 
8) child abuse and neglect  
 
9) working with parents and families  

 
10) caring for children with disabilities 
 
11) information about asthma and its management 
 
12) Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) education. Required training for 

new applicants and assistants to care for newborns and infants and every 
three years thereafter for the life of the license  

 
13) service obligations under the federal Americans With Disabilities Act 

(ADA) 
 
14) Shaken Baby Syndrome (required training for new applicants and 

assistants licensed to care for newborns and infants and every three years 
thereafter for the life of the license) 

 
15) Department-approved Mandated Reporter Training available on the 

Department’s website (required training for new applicants and assistants) 
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16) Sudden unexpected infant death (SUID)  (required training for new 
applicants and assistants licensed to care for newborns and infants and 
every three years thereafter for the life of the license) 

 
c) Pre-service and in-service training may be acquired through the following:  

 
1) attending college or university or vocational school classes (Clock hours 

spent in the classroom are counted.)  
 
2) attending conferences or workshops (Certificate or other proof of 

attendance, clock hours and subject matter is required.)  
 
3) attending state or local child care association meetings when a specific 

training program is provided by a guest speaker or group member 
(Documentation of attendance, subject matter and clock hours is required.)  

 
4) in-home training by a Child and Adult Care Food Program sponsor 

representative, nurse or other trainer (Documentation must include the 
topic and the clock hours.)  

 
5) self-study materials provided by a child care resource and referral 

(CCR&R) agency (Certification of clock hours must be secured from the 
CCR&R.)  

 
6) internet home study programs if the internet site provides documentation 

of use and number of clock hours  
 
7) mandated reporter training may be acquired through the Department's 

website at https://www.dcfstraining.org/manrep/index.jsp 
 
8) viewing of the approved video offered by the National Institutes of Health 

Back to Sleep Campaign for SIDS and sleeping position of infants 
 
The training instructor, speaker or president of the child care organization 
sponsoring the training may sign the documentation of completion.  The child 
care resource and referral (CCR&R) agency must sign and provide documentation 
of completion for self-study materials, and the internet site must provide 
documentation for home study programs. 
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d) Licensed providers shall complete 15 clock hours of in-service training per period 
of the licensing year. Caregivers obtaining clock hours in excess of the required 
15 clock hours per year may apply up to 5 clock hours to the next year's training 
requirements. 

 
e) Courses/training approved by the Department in caring for children with 

disabilities must include the following components: 
 
• Introduction to Inclusive Child Care 
 
• Understanding Child Development in Relation to Disabilities 
 
• Building Relationships with Families 
 
• Preparing for and Including Young Children in the Child Care Setting 
 
• Community Services for Young Children with Disabilities (including 

Early Intervention services) 
 
(Source:  Amended at 39 Ill. Reg. __________, effective _________________) 
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