
 

Illinois Angel Investment Tax Credit Program 
Frequently Asked Questions 

 

Business FAQ 

 

1. My business applied to be a Qualified New Business Venture, when will I receive approval? 

 

Typically, applications are reviewed twice a month. You should receive a decision in two weeks. 

 

2. Is there a cap on how much investment my business can receive to remain in the program? 

Yes, your business cannot receive more than $4M of investment that received a tax credit. 

Overall, your business cannot have received more than $10M in private equity. 

3. How long can my business stay in the program? 

There is no time limit, but your business must continue to meet program requirements that are 

outlined on the program website. 

4. Why does my business need to annually re-register? 

The program statute requires that you verify that your business still meets program 

requirements and the department uses it to measure the effectiveness of the program. 

5. After being accepted into the program, does the state market my business? 

Approval of your business is not a state endorsement of your business.  

Investor FAQ 

1. After making an investment in a Qualified New Business Venture, do I have to do anything else? 

Yes, you must complete a Claimant Application and attach supporting documents in an email to 

angelinvestment@illinois.gov. Supporting documents must show proof of funds being 

transferred to the business, funds being received from the business and documentation that 

describe the type of investment.  

mailto:angelinvestment@illinois.gov


2. I applied for a tax credit, when will I receive my tax certificate? 

Tax certificates are issued on a first come, first serve basis. If more than two weeks have passed 

since submission, please follow up by emailing angelinvestment@illinois.gov. 

3. Can I receive a credit for a convertible note? 

You may only receive credits for a convertible note at the time of conversion, but conversion 

must take place in the same calendar year that the note was purchased. 

4. When are claimant annual attestations due? 

The attestation is due on the first, second and third anniversary of the investment.  

5. Can I submit one attestation for multiple investments? 

No, you must submit one attestation for each individual investment. 

6. What if I remove my investment from the business? 

If your investment is removed from the business in less than three years, then the credits used 

must be paid back to the Illinois Department of Revenue. 

7. Is there a cap to the amount of credits investors can receive? 

An investor can only claim $500,000 in tax credits per business. There is not a limit on total 

credits an investor may receive. 

8. Is there an overall cap on credits? 

There is a program cap of $10M per year. 
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