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Illinois Electric Vehicle Rebate Program Application Cycle  
to Open October 28 

Illinois EPA Announces Updates to the Program 
 
Springfield – Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Acting Director James Jennings today 
announced the dates for the next EV Rebate Program application cycle, as well as updates to the 
program that reflect legislation passed by the Illinois General Assembly in 2025. Program requirements 
are included on the Illinois EPA’s EV Rebate Program webpage. The next application cycle for the EV 
Rebate Program will open Tuesday, October 28, 2025, and run through Saturday, January 31, 2026. 
Forms and instructions on submitting a rebate application will be available on the webpage beginning 
October 14, 2025. 

“The Illinois Electric Vehicle Rebate Program has been consistently met with overwhelming interest from 
residents wanting to incorporate zero-emission transportation into their everyday lives,” said Acting 
Director Jennings. “Changes incorporated by the Illinois General Assembly will support the 
sustainability of the program, while prioritizing rebates to the consumers most likely in need of the 
incentive.” 

Program updates effective in FY26 include: 

• Limits on the price of the vehicle:  An eligible vehicle, as defined by the EV Rebate Act, is one 
with a selling price not exceeding $80,000 as shown on the bill of sale.  

•  Change to the rebate amount:  The rebate is $2,000 for an eligible new or used electric vehicle. 
Low-income applicants, defined below, are eligible to receive an additional $2,000 ($4,000 total 
rebate). The rebate amount for eligible motorcycles remains the same, $1,500 for all eligible 
applicants. 

• Cap on the income of applicants:  An “eligible applicant” is defined as “persons and families 
whose income does not exceed 500% of the federal poverty line for the current State fiscal year 
and who may not be claimed as a dependent.” The application materials will include a table on 
income eligibility. 

- more - 

https://epa.illinois.gov/topics/ceja/electric-vehicle-rebates.html
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• Change to the definition of low-income applicant:  A “low-income applicant” is defined as 
“persons and families whose income does not exceed 80% of the regional or county median 
income for the current State fiscal year, as established by the United States Department of 
Housing and Urban Development's Illinois Income Limits by metropolitan area and county.” 
Median income can be found on the HUD website at Illinois Low Income Limits by County. 

• Longer time to apply from the date of vehicle purchase:  Applicants now have 180 days from 
the date of purchase to apply (up from 90 days previously). Applications must be submitted 
during an open application period. Applications postmarked prior to October 28, 2025, will be 
rejected. 

The Illinois General Assembly has appropriated $14 million to the Illinois EPA for the current fiscal year 
(FY26), which ends on June 30, 2026. Actual funding amounts will be determined by the amount of 
money available in the Electric Vehicle Rebate Fund. Rebates will be issued to eligible individuals as 
funding is available. 

Historically, this has been a popular program and Illinois EPA anticipates available funds being depleted 
before the close of the application window on January 31, 2026. Individuals are encouraged to submit 
applications as soon as possible to increase the chance of receiving a rebate. 

Full eligibility requirements are found in the EV Rebate Act and associated Illinois EPA program rules. 
These requirements include, but are not limited to: 

• The vehicle must be a new or used all-electric vehicle and legally permitted to drive on all public 
roadways, including interstate highways. 

• The vehicle must be purchased (not rented or leased) from a dealership licensed by the Illinois 
Secretary of State.  

• The vehicle cannot have been the subject of a previous EV rebate under this program. 
• Only individuals that are Illinois residents can receive a rebate, and an individual can only receive 

one EV rebate under this program. 
• The purchaser must retain ownership of the vehicle for a minimum of 12 consecutive months 

immediately after the vehicle purchase date.  

Questions about the EV Rebate Program may be submitted to EPA.EV@Illinois.gov. Individuals interested 
in receiving updates on Illinois EPA’s EV programs may register for the EV Listserv located at the bottom 
of the Electric Vehicle Rebate Program webpage.   
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