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Section 300.10 Purpose 
 
Child Protection Services is a specialized component of the broader public welfare system of 
services to children and families.  The purpose of these procedures is to define the intervention 
process and provide instruction to staff for all steps of that process, from the point a report is 
received alleging that a child may be abused or neglected to the completion of the investigation.  
Allegations received by the Department shall be investigated to identify families in need of 
protective services consistent with laws and policies pertaining to child abuse or neglect. Child 
Protection Specialists will ensure that all assessments will be individualized to meet the specific 
needs of each client to provide meaningful and equal access to programs and services.  The 
Department’s intake system encompasses all service and investigative activities, whether a child 
has been abused, neglected, is dependent or is at risk of harm.  
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Section 300.15  Definitions 
 

“Adult resident” means any person between 18 and 22 years of age who resides in any 

facility licensed by the Department under the Child Care Act of 1969.  For purposes of 

this Act [ANCRA], the criteria set forth in the definitions of “abused child” and 

“neglected child” shall be used in determining whether an adult resident is abused or 

neglected.  [325 ILCS 5/3] 
 

"Abused child" means a child whose parent or immediate family member, or any person 

responsible for the child's welfare, or any individual residing in the same home as the 

child, or a paramour of the child's parent:  

 

inflicts, causes to be inflicted, or allows to be inflicted upon such child physical 

injury, by other than accidental means, which causes death, disfigurement, 

impairment of physical or emotional health, or loss or impairment of any bodily 

function;  

 

creates a substantial risk of physical injury to such child by other than accidental 

means which would be likely to cause death, disfigurement, impairment of 

physical or emotional health, or loss of or impairment of any bodily function;  

 

commits or allows to be committed any sex offense against such child, as such sex 

offenses are defined in the Criminal Code of 2012 [720 ILCS 5] or in the Wrongs 

to Children Act [720 ILCS 150], and extending those definitions of sex offenses to 

include children under 18 years of age;  

 

commits or allows to be committed an act or acts of torture upon such child;  

 

inflicts excessive corporal punishment or, in the case of a person working for an 

agency who is prohibited from using corporal punishment, inflicts corporal 

punishment upon a child or adult resident with whom the person is working in his 

or her professional capacity; 

 

commits or allows to be committed the offense of female genital mutilation, as 

defined in Section 12-34 of the Criminal Code of 2012, against the child; 

 

causes to be sold, transferred, distributed, or given to such child under 18 years 

of age, a controlled substance as defined in Section 102 of the Illinois Controlled 

Substances Act [720 ILCS 570] in violation of Article IV of the Illinois Controlled 

Substances Act or in violation of the Methamphetamine Control and Community 

Protection Act [720 ILCS 646], except for controlled substances that are 

prescribed in accordance with Article III of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act 

and are dispensed to such child in a manner that substantially complies with the 

prescription; or 
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commits or allows to be committed the offense of involuntary servitude, 

involuntary sexual servitude of a minor, or trafficking in persons as defined in 

Section 10-9 of the Criminal Code of 2012 against the child. 

 

A child shall not be considered abused for the sole reason that the child has been 

relinquished in accordance with the Abandoned Newborn Infant Protection Act [325 

ILCS 2]. [325 ILCS 5/3] 

 

“Call Floor Worker (CFW)” means a Child Welfare Specialist employed by the 

Department’s State Central Register to answer calls on the Child Abuse and Neglect 

Hotline. 
 

“Child” means any person under the age of 18 years, unless legally emancipated by 

reason of marriage or entry into a branch of the United States armed services. [325 ILCS 

5/3] 
 

“Collateral” means a person identified by any subject of a report or other involved party 

that has knowledge about the subject’s situation that serves to support, corroborate, or 

disprove information provided by the subject.  Collaterals may be family members, 

friends or neighbors, or professionals. 
 

“Exculpatory Evidence” means evidence tending to establish a person’s innocence, lack 

of involvement, or fault in the abuse or neglect of a child. 
 

“Good Faith Attempt” means a diligent and honest effort to make in-person contact 

with an alleged child victim and all subjects of a report. 
 

“Inculpatory Evidence” means evidence showing or tending to show a person’s 

involvement in or responsibility for an act of abuse or neglect of a child. 
 

“Involved Subject of report” means any child reported to the Department’s State 

Central Register [SCR] … as an alleged victim of child abuse or neglect and the parent 

or guardian of the alleged victim or other person responsible for the alleged victim’s 

welfare who is named in the report or added to the report as an alleged perpetrator of 

child abuse or neglect.  [325 ILCS 5/3]   

  

“Mexican” means any person who is a national of Mexico, regardless of immigration 

status in the United States.  For consular notification purposes, a minor reported as born 

in Mexico will be assumed to be a Mexican national. 
 

“Mexican minor” means any unmarried person who is under the age of 18 and was born 

in Mexico. 
 

“Mexican-American minor” means any unmarried person who is under the age of18, 

was born in the United States, and who is eligible for Mexican nationality as the 

biological child of at least one Mexican national. 
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“Member of the clergy” means a clergyman or practitioner of any religious 

denomination accredited by the religious body to which he or she belongs. [325 ILCS 

5/3] 
 

"Neglected child" means any child: 

 

who is not receiving the proper or necessary nourishment or medically indicated 

treatment, including food or care, not provided solely on the basis of present or 

anticipated mental or physical impairment as determined by a physician acting 

alone or in consultation with other physicians or otherwise is not receiving the 

proper or necessary support, or medical or other remedial care recognized under 

State law as necessary for a child's well-being (, or other care necessary for a 

child's well-being, including adequate food, clothing and shelter; or  

 

who is subjected to an environment that is injurious insofar as: 

 

the child's environment creates a likelihood of harm to the child's health, 

physical well-being, or welfare; and 

 

the likely harm to the child is the result of a blatant disregard of parent, 

caretaker or agency responsibilities; or  

 

who is abandoned by his or her parents or other person responsible for the child's 

welfare without a proper plan of care; or  

 

who has been provided with interim crisis intervention services under Section 3-5 

of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 [705 ILCS 405/3-5] and whose parent, 

guardian, or custodian refuses to permit the child to return home and no other 

living arrangement agreeable to the parent, guardian, or custodian can be made, 

and the parent, guardian, or custodian has not made any other appropriate living 

arrangement for the child; or 

 

who is a newborn infant whose blood, urine or meconium contains any amount of 

controlled substance as defined in Section 102(f) of the Illinois Controlled 

Substances Act [720 ILCS 570/102(f)] or a metabolite thereof, with the exception 

of a controlled substance or metabolite thereof whose presence in the newborn 

infant is the result of medical treatment administered to the mother or newborn 

infant.  

 

A child shall not be considered neglected for the sole reason that the child's 

parent or other person responsible for his or her welfare has left the child in the 

care of an adult relative for any period of time.  

 

A child shall not be considered neglected for the sole reason that the child has 

been relinquished in accordance with the Abandoned Newborn Infant Protection 

Act [325 ILCS 5].  
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A child shall not be considered neglected or abused for the sole reason that such 

child's parent or other person responsible for his or her welfare depends upon 

spiritual means through prayer alone for the treatment or cure of disease or 

remedial care under Section 4 of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.   

 

A child shall not be considered neglected or abused solely because the child is not 

attending school in accordance with the requirements of Article 26 of the School 

Code [105 ILCS 5]. [325 ILCS 5/3]  

 

“Perpetrator” means a person who, as a result of investigation, has been determined by 

the Department to have caused child abuse or neglect. [325 ILCS 5/3] 
 

“Person responsible for the child's welfare” means the child's parent; guardian; foster 

parent; relative caregiver; any person responsible for the child's welfare in a public or 

private residential agency or institution; any person responsible for the child's welfare 

within a public or private profit or not for profit child care facility; or any other person 

responsible for the child's welfare at the time of the alleged abuse or neglect, including 

any person that is the custodian of a child under 18 years of age who commits or allows 

to be committed, against the child, the offense of involuntary servitude, involuntary 

sexual servitude of a minor, or trafficking in persons for forced labor or services, as 

provided in Section 10-9 of the Criminal Code of 2012 [720 ILCS 5], or any person who 

came to know the child through an official capacity or position of trust, including but not 

limited to health care professionals, educational personnel, recreational supervisors, 

members of the clergy, and volunteers or support personnel in any setting where children 

may be subject to abuse or neglect. [325 ILCS 5/3] 
 

“Person search” means a search for persons in any of the Department databases for the 

purpose of determining any prior Department involvement. 
 

“Reasonable cause to believe” is defined as what a “reasonable person”, in similar 

circumstances, would conclude from such things as: any injuries to the child, any 

statements made by those involved in the situation, and the conditions known about the 

home and family environment. 
 

“Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS)” refers to the death of an infant less than one 

year of age that remains unexplained after a thorough investigation of the death scene, 

complete forensic autopsy, and review of the clinical history (i.e., a diagnosis of 

exclusion, meaning all other causes have been eliminated from consideration).  SIDS is 

classified as a natural cause and a natural manner of death.   
 

“Sudden Unexplained Death in Infancy (SUDI)” means a cause of death classification 

that coroners/ medical examiners will use when an infant death appears to meet the 

criteria for SIDS, but 1) there is evidence of a disease condition whose contribution to the 

death is unknown or cannot be excluded as a causative or contributing factor; or 2) there 

is evidence of an external condition or risk factor (such as bed sharing with adults, 

sleeping face down on a soft pillow or sleeping on an adult mattress) whose contribution 
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to the death is unknown or cannot be excluded as a causative or contributing factor; or 3) 

something in the investigation precludes a diagnosis of SIDS, but the cause and manner 

of death have not been determined.  SUDI is classified as an undetermined/unknown 

cause of death and an undetermined manner of death and does not rule out the possibility 

of an indicated finding of abuse or neglect. 
 

“Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID)” describes an infant death before a 

thorough investigation assists a coroner or medical examiner in determining a cause of 

death.  
 

“Supervisor on Duty” means a supervisor assigned to work the supervisor desk on the 

SCR call floor.  The supervisor on duty provides coverage, oversight, approvals and 

monitoring of call floor workers and other staff of the Child Abuse Hotline; takes calls 

from medical personnel to the hotline requesting medical consent to treat children in the 

custody or guardianship of the Department; and provides consultation with call floor 

workers as needed.  Supervisors at SCR are assigned as the supervisor on duty on a 

rotating basis according to a schedule posted by the SCR Administrator or his/her 

designee. 
 

“Witness” means a person who sees or observes an incident. 
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2020.08 
 

RULES AND PROCEDURES 300, REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

 

 

DATE: April 13, 2020 
 

TO: All DCFS and POS Staff 
 

FROM: Marc D. Smith, Acting Director 
 

EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 

I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this policy guide is to inform staff and mandated reporters of changes 

pursuant to Public Act 101-0564 and Public Act 101-0237 which amend the Abused and 

Neglected Child Reporting Act and require amendments to Rules 300, Reports of Child 

Abuse and Neglect.  These statutory changes are effective January 1, 2020.    
 

To the extent that any of the required activities in Section IV and V differ from Rules 300.20 

and 300.30 or Procedures 300.15 and 300.30, this Policy Guide controls.   
 

Amendments to the Rules and Procedures 300 are being drafted and will be released in the 

near future.  
 

II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

DCFS Staff, POS Staff and Mandated Reporters 
 

III. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY 
 

Public Act 101-0564 redefines who is statutorily recognized as Mandated Reporters in the 

State of Illinois, and what is to be considered “a child known to them in their professional or 

official capacities”. It prescribes reporting requirements when there are two or more persons 

working together who share concerns about whether a child is abused or neglected and  who 

else can make a report with reasonable cause. It also adds mandated reporter training 

frequency and requirements, including sources of training for mandated reporters and 

licensed practitioners and reporting of completed training.  
 

Public Act 101-0237 establishes that when a Mandated Reporter makes a report to the State 

Central Register and there is a prior indicated report of abuse or neglect or there is a prior 

open service case involving any member of the household that the Department must 

minimally accept a report as a child welfare services referral.  If the family refuses to 

cooperate or refuses access to the home or children, then a child protection service 

investigation shall be initiated if the facts meet the criteria to accept a report.  
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IV. NEW RULE/PROCEDURE SECTION  

(Statutory changes that are direct quotes from the Act are italicized and underlined. All other 

changes are underlined.) 
 

Pursuant to Public Act 101-0564 the following revisions will be included in Rules 300: 
 

Rules 300.20 and Procedures 300.15, Definitions  

(The following two definitions have been added into Rules 300.20 and Procedures 300.15) 
 

"Child welfare services referral" means an assessment of the family for service needs 

and linkage to available local community resources for the purpose of preventing or 

remedying or assisting in the solution of problems which may result in the neglect, 

abuse, exploitation, or delinquency of children, and as further defined in Department 

rules and procedures. [325 ILCS 5/7.01.] 
 

"Prior open service case" means a case in which the Department has provided 

services to the family either directly or through a purchase of service agency. [325 

ILCS 5/7.01.] 

 

Rule Section 300.30  Reporting Child Abuse or Neglect to the Department 

(The following is the proposed Rule Section 300.30 in its entirety.  Staff should be using this 

Guide for Rule Section 300.30.) 
 

a) Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect may be immediately made to the State 

Central Register via its toll-free number [1-800-25ABUSE] at any time, day or night, 

or on any day of the week. Reports may also be made to the nearest Department 

office.  The Department encourages use of the toll-free hotline number. 
 

b) Persons Mandated to Report Child Abuse or Neglect 
 

The following persons are required to immediately report to the Department when 

they have reasonable cause to believe that a child known to them in their 

professional or official capacities may be an abused child or a neglected child:   
 

1) Medical personnel, including any: physician licensed to practice medicine in 

any of its branches (medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy); resident; 

intern; medical administrator or personnel engaged in the examination, care, 

and treatment of persons; psychiatrist; surgeon; dentist; dental hygienist; 

chiropractic  physician; podiatric physician; physician assistant; emergency 

medical technician; acupuncturist; registered nurse; licensed practical 

nurse; advanced practice registered nurse; genetic counselor; respiratory 

care practitioner; home health aide; or certified nursing assistant.  
 

2) Social services and mental health personnel, including any: licensed 

professional counselor; licensed clinical professional counselor; licensed 

social worker; licensed clinical social worker; licensed psychologist or 

assistant working under the direct supervision of a psychologist; associate 

licensed marriage and family therapist; licensed marriage and family 

therapist; field personnel of the Departments of Healthcare and Family 
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Services, Public Health, Human Services, Human Rights, or Children and 

Family Services; supervisor or administrator of the General Assistance 

program established under Article VI of the Illinois Public Aid Code; social 

services administrator; or substance abuse treatment personnel.    
 

3) Crisis intervention personnel, including any:  crisis line or hotline personnel; 

or domestic violence program personnel.   
 

4) Education personnel, including any: school personnel (including 

administrators and certified and non-certified school employees); personnel 

of institutions of higher education; educational advocate assigned to a child 

in accordance with the School Code; member of a school board or the 

Chicago Board of Education or the governing body of a private school (but 

only to the extent required under Section 4 (d) of the Abused and Neglect 

Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5/4(d)]; or truant officer.   
 

5) Recreation or athletic program or facility personnel.   
 

6) Child care personnel, including any: early intervention provider as defined in 

the Early Intervention Services System Act; director or staff assistant of a 

nursery school or a child day care center; or foster parent, homemaker, or 

child care worker.   
 

7) Law enforcement personnel, including any: law enforcement officer; field 

personnel of the Department of Juvenile Justice; field personnel of the 

Department of Corrections; probation officer; or animal control officer or 

field investigator of the Department of Agriculture's Bureau of Animal Health 

and Welfare.   
 

8) Any funeral home director; funeral home director and embalmer; funeral 

home employee; coroner; or medical examiner.   
 

9) Any member of the clergy.    
 

10) Any physician, physician assistant, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, 

medical technician, certified nursing assistant, licensed social worker, 

licensed clinical social worker, or licensed professional counselor of any 

office, clinic, or any other physical location that provides abortions, abortion 

referrals, or contraceptives.  [325 ILCS 5/4]   
 

c) When 2 or more persons who work within the same workplace and are required to 

report under this Act share a reasonable cause to believe that a child may be an 

abused or neglected child, one of those reporters may be designated to make a single 

report. The report shall include the names and contact information for the other 

mandated reporters sharing the reasonable cause to believe that a child may be an 

abused or neglected child. The designated reporter must provide written 

confirmation of the report to those mandated reporters within 48 hours. If 

confirmation is not provided, those mandated reporters are individually responsible 

for immediately ensuring a report is made. Nothing in this Section precludes or may 

be used to preclude any person from reporting child abuse or child neglect.   [325 

ILCS 5/4]   
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d) As used in this Section, "a child known to them in their professional or official 

capacities" means:   
 

1) the mandated reporter comes into contact with the child in the course of the 

reporter's employment or practice of a profession, or through a regularly 

scheduled program, activity, or service;   
 

2) the mandated reporter is affiliated with an agency, institution, organization, 

school, school district, regularly established church or religious 

organization, or other entity that is directly responsible for the care, 

supervision, guidance, or training of the child; or   
 

3) a person makes a specific disclosure to the mandated reporter that an 

identifiable child is the victim of child abuse or child neglect, and the 

disclosure happens while the mandated reporter is engaged in his or her 

employment or practice of a profession, or in a regularly scheduled program, 

activity, or service.    
 

Nothing in this Section requires a child to come before the mandated reporter in 

order for the reporter to make a report of suspected child abuse or child neglect. 

[325 ILCS 5/4]   
 

e) Mandated Reporter Training 
 

1) Persons required to report child abuse or child neglect as provided under 

this Section must complete an initial mandated reporter training within 3 

months of their date of engagement in a professional or official capacity as a 

mandated reporter, or within the time frame of any other applicable State 

law that governs training requirements for a specific profession, and at least 

every 3 years thereafter. The initial requirement only applies to the first time 

they engage in their professional or official capacity. In lieu of training every 

3 years, medical personnel, as listed in paragraph (1) of Section 4(a)  of the 

Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, must meet the requirements 

described in subsection (k) of the Act.  [325 ILCS 5/4] 
 

2) The trainings shall be in-person or web-based, and shall include, at a 

minimum, information on the following topics:  
 

A) indicators for recognizing child abuse and child neglect, as defined 

under this Act;  
 

B) the process for reporting suspected child abuse and child neglect in 

Illinois as required by this Act and the required documentation;  
 

C) responding to a child in a trauma-informed manner; and  
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D) understanding the response of child protective services and the role 

of the reporter after a call has been made. Child-serving 

organizations are encouraged to provide in-person annual trainings. 
 

3) The mandated reporter training shall be provided through the Department, 

through an entity authorized to provide continuing education for 

professionals licensed through the Department of Financial and Professional 

Regulation, the State Board of Education, the Illinois Law Enforcement 

Training Standards Board, or the Department of State Police, or through an 

organization approved by the Department to provide mandated reporter 

training. The Department must make available a free web-based training for 

reporters.   
 

A free online mandated reporter training is available on the DCFS Website 

for all mandated reporters and the general public.   
 

4) Each mandated reporter shall report to his or her employer and, when 

applicable, to his or her licensing or certification board that he or she 

received the mandated reporter training.  The mandated reporter shall 

maintain records of completion.    
 

5) Beginning January 1, 2021, if a mandated reporter receives licensure from 

the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation or the State Board 

of Education, and his or her profession has continuing education 

requirements, the training mandated under this Section shall count toward 

meeting the licensee's required continuing education hours.  
 

6) Medical personnel, as listed in paragraph (1) of Section 4(a) of the Abused 

and Neglected Child Reporting Act who work with children in their 

professional or official capacity, must complete mandated reporter training 

at least every 6 years. Such medical personnel, if licensed, must attest at each 

time of licensure renewal on their renewal form that they understand they are 

a mandated reporter of child abuse and neglect, that they are aware of the 

process for making a report, that they know how to respond to a child in a 

trauma-informed manner, and that they are aware of the role of child 

protective services and the role of a reporter after a call has been made.    
 

7) In lieu of repeated training, medical personnel, as listed in paragraph (1) of 

Section 4(a), of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, who do not 

work with children in their professional or official capacity, may instead 

attest each time at licensure renewal on their renewal form that they 

understand they are a mandated reporter of child abuse and neglect, that 

they are aware of the process for making a report, that they know how to 

respond to a child in a trauma-informed manner, and that they are aware of 

the role of child protective services and the role of a reporter after a call has 

been made. Nothing in this paragraph precludes medical personnel from 

completing mandated reporter training and receiving continuing education 

credits for that training. [325 ILCS 5/4]   
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f) Acknowledgment of Reporting Responsibility 
 

Individuals who became mandated reporters on or after July 1, 1986, by virtue of 

their employment shall sign statements acknowledging that they are mandated to 

report suspected child abuse and neglect in accordance with Section 4 of the Act.  

The statement shall be on a form prescribed by the Department but provided by the 

employer.  (See Appendix A.)  The statement shall be signed before beginning 

employment and shall be retained by the employer as a permanent part of the 

personnel record. 
 

Note: The Department shall provide copies of this Act, upon request, to all 

employers employing persons who shall be required under the provisions of 

this Section to report under this Act.  [325 ILCS 5/4]  
 

g) Interference with Reporting Prohibited 
 

1) Whenever such person is required to report under the Act in his or her 

capacity as member of the staff of a medical or other public or private 

institution, school, facility or agency, or as a member of the clergy, he shall 

make report immediately to the Department in accordance with provisions of 

the Act and may also notify the person in charge of such institution, school, 

facility or agency, or church, synagogue, temple, mosque, or other religious 

institution, or his designated agent that such a report has been made.  Under 

no circumstances shall any person in charge of such institution, school, 

facility or agency, or church, synagogue, temple, mosque or other religious 

institution, or designated agent to whom such notification has been made 

exercise any control, restraint, modification or other change in the report or 

the forwarding of such report to the Department. [325 ILCS 5/4]  
 

2) Any person who knowingly transmits a false report to the Department 

commits the offense of disorderly conduct under subsection (a)(7) of Section 

26-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012.  A violation of this provision is a Class 4 

felony. 

 

 Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of [Section 4 

of the Act] other than a second or subsequent violation of transmitting a 

false report as described in the preceding paragraph, is guilty of a Class A 

misdemeanor for a first violation and a Class 4 felony for a second or 

subsequent violation. [325 ILCS 5/4] 
 

3) No employer shall discharge, demote or suspend, or threaten to discharge, 

demote or suspend, or in any manner discriminate against any employee who 

makes any good faith oral or written report of suspected child abuse or 

neglect, or who is or will be a witness or testify in any investigation or 

proceeding concerning a report of suspected child abuse or neglect. [325 

ILCS 5/9.1] 
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h) Consequences of Failure to Report 

 

1) The privileged quality of communication between any professional person 

required to report and his or her patient or client shall not apply to situations 

involving abused or neglected children and shall not constitute grounds for 

failure to report as required by the Act or constitute grounds for failure to 

share information or documents with the Department during the course of a 

child abuse or neglect investigation. If requested by the professional, the 

Department shall confirm in writing that the information or documents 

disclosed by the professional were gathered in the course of a child abuse or 

neglect investigation. [325 ILCS 5/4] 

 

Mandated reporters who willfully fail to report suspected child abuse or 

neglect are subject to license suspension or revocation in accordance with, 

but not limited to, the following statutes: 
 

A) Nurse Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 65]; 
 

B) Medical Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 60]; 
 

C) Podiatric Medical Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 100]; 
 

D) Clinical Psychologist Licensing Act [225 ILCS 15]; 
 

E) Clinical Social Worker and Social Work Practice Act [225 ILCS 20]; 
 

F) The School Code [105 ILCS 5];  
 

G) The Illinois Dental Practice Act [225 ILCS 25]; 
 

H) Physician Assistant Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 95]; 
 

I) Illinois Optometric Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 80]; 
 

J) Illinois Physical Therapy Act [225 ILCS 90]; and 
 

K) Illinois Athletic Trainers Act [225 ILCS 5]. 

 

2) Any physician who willfully fails to report child abuse or neglect shall be 

referred to the Illinois State Medical Disciplinary Board for action and 

similar referrals are required for dentists and dental hygienists.  Any other 

person required to report suspected child abuse or neglect who willfully fails 

to report such abuse or neglect shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for 

a first violation and a Class 4 felony for a second or subsequent violation.  

[325 ILCS 5/4.02] 

 

3) Members of clergy of any religious denomination accredited by the religious 

body to which he or she belongs shall not be compelled to disclose a 

confession or admission made to him or her in his or her professional 

character or as a spiritual advisor. 
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i) Written Confirmation of Reports 

 

Mandated reporters shall confirm their telephone report in writing on a form 

prescribed by the Department within 48 hours after the oral report.  The Department 

shall provide forms to mandated reporters--one for the exclusive use of medical 

professionals (CANTS 4 Written Confirmation of Suspected Child 

Abuse/Neglect Report: Medical Professionals) and another for use by all other 

mandated reporters (CANTS 5 Written Confirmation of Suspected Child 

Abuse/Neglect Report: Mandated Reporters).  These confirmation reports shall be 

admissible as evidence in any administrative or judicial proceeding related to child 

abuse or neglect.  Local investigative staff shall transmit confirmation reports to the 

State Central Register within 24 hours after receipt. 

 

j) Other Persons May Report 
 

In addition to the persons required to report suspected cases of child abuse or child 

neglect under this Section, any other person may make a report if such person has 

reasonable cause to believe a child may be an abused child or a neglected child.  

[325 ILCS 5/4]  

 

k) Consequences of False Reporting 

 

Any person who knowingly transmits a false report to the Department commits the 

offense of disorderly conduct under subsection (a)(7) of Section 26-1of the Criminal 

Code of 2012. A violation of this provision is a Class 4 felony. 

 

Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of [Section 4 of the  

Act] other than a second or subsequent violation of submitting a false report as 

described in the preceding paragraph is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for a first 

violation and a Class 4 felony for a second or subsequent violation. [325 ILCS 5/4] 

The Department shall refer cases of false reporting to the local State's Attorney when 

the reporter is known. 
 

l) Cooperation in Court or Administrative Hearings 
 

Any person who makes a report or who investigates a report under the Act shall 

testify fully in any judicial proceeding or administrative hearing resulting from such 

report, as to any evidence of abuse or neglect, or the cause thereof. Any person who 

is required to report a suspected case of abuse or neglect shall testify fully in any 

administrative hearing resulting from such report, as to any evidence of abuse or 

neglect or the cause thereof. No evidence shall be excluded by reason of any common 

law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the alleged 

perpetrator of abuse or neglect, or the child subject of the report and any person who 

is required to report a suspected case of abuse or neglect or the person making or 

investigating the report. [325 ILCS 5/10] 
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m) Referrals to Public Health 
 

All mandated reporters listed in subsection (b)(1) through (10) of this rule may refer 

to the Department of Public Health any pregnant person in Illinois who is addicted as 

defined in the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act [20 ILCS 

301]. 
 

n) Depending upon Spiritual Means Through Prayer Alone for the Treatment or 

Cure of Disease or Remedial Care 
 

A child whose parent, guardian or custodian in good faith selects and depends upon 

spiritual means through prayer alone for the treatment or cure of disease or remedial 

care may be considered neglected or abused, but not for the sole reason that his 

parent, guardian, or custodian accepts and practices such beliefs.  [325 ILCS 5/4]  

Where the circumstances indicate harm or substantial risk of harm to the child's 

health or welfare and medical care necessary to treat or prevent that harm or risk of 

harm is not being provided because a parent or other person responsible for the 

child's welfare depends upon such spiritual means, the child shall be subject to the 

requirements of the Act for the reporting of, investigation of, and provision of 

protective services with respect to the child and his or her health needs. 
 

Pursuant to Public Act 101-0237 the following revisions will be included in Procedures 

300 Section 300.30 (i)(2): 

 

Child Welfare Services (CWS) Referrals  
 

When a Call Floor Worker receives information from a mandated reporter and the 

information reported to the Hotline does not meet the requirements under ANCRA 

for an investigation, and there is a prior indicated report of abuse or neglect, or there 

is a prior open service case involving any member of the household, a CWS referral 

will be completed.  

 

Response to Requests for Child Welfare Services 
 

If the family refuses to cooperate or refuses access to the home or children, then a 

child protective services investigation shall be initiated, if the facts otherwise meet 

the criteria to accept a report. 
 

V.  NEW, REVISED AND/OR OBSOLETE FORMS 
 

There are no known form changes at this time. 

 

VI. QUESTIONS 

 

Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 

Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at DCFS.Policy.  Non-Outlook users may e-mail 

questions to DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov.  During the Department’s response to COVID-19 

the listed phone number is being checked remotely, but we do ask that if you need immediate 

assistance Monday – Friday (8:30 – 5:00) please utilize the email address provided.   
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VII. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 

 

File this Policy Guide after Rules 300.20; Rules 300.30; and Procedures 300.15 and 

Procedures 300.30. 
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Section 300.20 Reporting and Documenting Child Abuse or Neglect to the Department 
 
a) Reporting Child Abuse and Neglect to the Department  
 

Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect may be made to the State Central Register 
(SCR) hotline 24-hours per day, 7 days per week via the 1-800-25-ABUSE (800-252-
2873) toll-free telephone number or to a local DCFS office during regular business hours.  
Persons that call local offices to report suspected abuse or neglect should be encouraged 
to call the toll-free hotline to make their reports.  In instances when the caller contacts the 
assigned caseworker of an open service case or the Child Protection Specialist of a 
previous report and provides information that qualifies as a new report of suspected abuse 
or neglect, the employee shall take the information from the caller and file the report with 
SCR.  The report shall identify the original caller as the reporter and the employee who 
placed the call as an Other Person with Information (OPWI).  

 
When a parent or community member walks into a Department office with a concern 
about child abuse or neglect, the person will be invited to and assisted with making a 
report to the hotline.  The person shall also be allowed to talk to a Child Protection 
Supervisor if he or she has questions or concerns about making the report. 

 
Note: Field staff requesting a case consolidation, person merge, Chicago Police 

Department (CPD) log, or other assistance, must use Outlook to transmit the 
request and instructions to the SCR mailbox.  The SCR mailbox should not be 
used for any other purpose.  Staff reporting suspected child abuse or neglect 
should use the SCR hotline number (800-252-2873).   

 
b) Persons Mandated to Report Child Abuse or Neglect 
 

1) Types of Mandated Reporters 
 

Any mandated reporter who has reasonable cause to believe that a child known to 
them in their professional or official capacity may be an abused or neglected child 
shall immediately report or cause a report to be made to the Department.  Per 
ANCRA, the list of mandated reporters includes: 

 
A) physicians, residents, interns and physician assistants; 

 
B) hospitals; 

 
C) hospital administrators and personnel engaged in the examination, care 

and treatment of persons; 
 

D) surgeons; 
 

E) dentists; 
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F) dentist hygienists; 
 

G) osteopaths; 
 

H) chiropractors; 
 

I) podiatrists/podiatric physicians; 
 

J) Christian Science practitioners; 
 

K) coroners; 
 

L) medical examiners; 
 

M) emergency medical technicians; 
 

N) crisis line or hotline personnel; 
 

O) school personnel (including administrators and both certified and non-
certified school employees); 

 
P) educational advocate assigned to a child pursuant to the School Code; 

 
Q) truant officers; 

 
R) social workers; 

 
S) social services administrators; 

 
T) domestic violence program personnel; 

 
U) registered nurses; 

 
V) licensed practical nurses, advanced practice nurses, home health aides; 

 
W) directors or staff assistants of nursery schools or child day care centers; 

 
X) recreational or athletic program or facility personnel; 

 
Y) law enforcement officers; 

 
Z) registered psychologists; 

 
AA) psychiatrists; 
 
BB) assistants working under the direct supervision of a psychologist; 
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CC) field personnel of the Illinois Departments of Healthcare and Family 

Services, Human Services, Public Health,  Corrections, Children and 
Family Services or  Human Rights; 

 
DD) probation officers; 

 
EE) foster parents, homemakers or any other child care worker; 

 
FF) supervisors and administrators of General Assistance under the Illinois 

Public Aid Code; 
 

GG) substance abuse treatment personnel; 
 

HH) funeral home directors or their employees;  
 

II) members of the clergy; 
 

JJ) licensed professional counselors or licensed clinical professional 
counselors; 

 
KK) acupuncturists; 
 
LL) genetic counselors; 
 
MM) respiratory care practitioners; 
 
NN) animal control officers or Illinois Department of Agriculture Bureau of 

Animal Health and Welfare field investigators; 
 

OO) member of a school board or the Chicago Board of Education or the 
governing body of a private school;  

 
PP) medical technicians or certified nursing assistants of any office, clinic or 

any other physical location that provides abortions, abortion referral or 
contraceptives; 

 
QQ) personnel of institutions of higher education; and 

 
RR) early intervention provider as defined in the Early Intervention Services 

System Act. [325 ILCS 5/4] 
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2) Members of the Clergy 
 

Any member of the clergy having reasonable cause to believe that a child known 
to that member of the clergy in his or her professional capacity may be an abused 
child as defined in item (c) of the definition of "abused child" in Section 3 of 
[ANCRA] shall immediately report or cause a report to be made to the 
Department. [325 ILCS 5/4] 

 
3) Acknowledgment of Reporting Responsibility 

 
Upon request, the local office is to provide one copy of the CANTS 22, 
Acknowledgment of Mandated Reporter Status and CANTS 22A, 
Acknowledgment of Mandated Reporter Status (Clergy), to entities that 
employ mandated reporters hired on or after July 1, 1986.  The employer shall 
permanently maintain the signed original in a file and use the original as a 
facsimile that may be duplicated on the employer's letterhead as needed.  The 
CANTS 22 and CANTS 22A are also available on the Department’s website. 

 
All DCFS field personnel hired on or after July 1, 1986, or transferred to a 
different field position shall sign the CANTS 22.  The original shall be 
permanently maintained in a file in the regional office. 

 
4) Interference with Reporting Prohibited 

 
Whenever such person is required to report under [ANCRA] in his capacity as a 
member of the staff of a medical or other public or private institution, school, 
facility or agency, or as a member of the clergy, he shall make report immediately 
to the Department in accordance with provisions of [ANCRA] and may also 
notify the person in charge of such institution, school, facility or agency, or 
church, synagogue, temple, mosque, or other religious institution, or his 
designated agent that such report has been made.  Under no circumstances shall 
any person in charge of such institution, school, facility or agency, or church, 
synagogue, temple, mosque or other religious institution, or his designated agent 
to whom such notification has been made, exercise any control, restraint, 
modification or other change in the report or the forwarding of such report to the 
Department. [325 ILCS 5/4] 

 
No employer shall discharge, demote or suspend, or threaten to discharge, 
demote or suspend, or in any manner discriminate against any employee who 
makes any good faith oral or written report of suspected child abuse or neglect, 
or who is or will be a witness or testify in any investigation or proceeding 
concerning a report of suspected child abuse or neglect. [325 ILCS 5/9.1] 
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5) Written Confirmation of Reports 
 

The Call Floor Worker (CFW) who takes a report of suspected child abuse or 
neglect shall inform mandated reporters that: 

 
A) The verbal report must be confirmed in writing and submitted to the local 

investigative office within 48 hours after the verbal report on a CANTS 
4, Written Confirmation of Suspected Child Abuse/Neglect Report for 
Medical Professionals, or CANTS 5, Written Confirmation of 
Suspected Child Abuse/Neglect Report, Mandated Reporter, for all 
other mandated reporters; and 

 
B) The written confirmation of a report may be admitted as evidence in any 

administrative or judicial proceeding related to that specific child abuse or 
neglect investigation. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall remind the mandated reporter of the need to 
complete and submit a CANTS 4 or CANTS 5 to the local investigative unit and 
shall, if necessary, help the mandated reporter complete the form by indicating 
what information should be included.  The original CANTS 4 or CANTS 5 shall 
be placed in the investigative file.  Should the mandated reporter fax or mail the 
CANTS 4 or CANTS 5 to SCR, SCR shall send a copy of the CANTS 4 or 
CANTS 5 to the appropriate Region/Site/Field (RSF).  Mandated reporters shall 
be encouraged to keep a copy of the CANTS 4/5 for their records. 

 
6) Consequences of Failure to Report 

 
When any Department staff person has reason to believe that a mandated reporter  
failed to report suspected child abuse or neglect to the Department, the staff 
person shall send a memorandum to the SCR administrator, if the report is 
indicated.  The memorandum shall be completed within 48 hours of making an 
indicated final finding and shall include the following: 

 
A) Name, office address, and telephone number of the mandated reporter; 

 
B) The names of the children the mandated reporter should have reported to 

the Department; 
 

C) How staff became aware of the failure to report; 
 

D) An indication of what written or oral documentation exists to support the 
assertion that the mandated reporter failed to report child abuse or neglect; 

 
E) The time span or dates involved in the failure to report; 
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F) If known, the mandated reporter's explanation for failing to make the 
report; and 

 
G) The memorandum must include the name, telephone number and address 

of the staff person completing the memorandum. 
 

H) If the SCR Administrator determines that circumstances of willful failure 
to report exist, the Administrator shall report non-licensed mandated 
reporters to the State's Attorney for the reporter’s locale.  

 
If the SCR Administrator determines that circumstances of willful failure 
to report exist and the mandated reporter holds a professional license, the 
SCR Administrator shall report physicians to the Illinois State Medical 
Disciplinary Board and those licensed by the Illinois Department of 
Professional Regulation to that agency for further investigation and 
consideration of disciplinary action.  The SCR administrator shall report 
teachers and school personnel to the Illinois State Board of Education. 

 
If a mandated reporter is a Department or POS field staff, the SCR 
Administrator shall review the information contained in the memorandum, 
complete a CFS 119 Unusual incident Reporting Form, per Procedures 
331 Unusual Incidents and report the information to the local State’s 
Attorney and Child Welfare Employee Licensure Division (CWEL). 

 
c) Other Persons May Report 
 

Persons other than those designated as mandated reporters may report suspected child 
abuse or neglect if they have reasonable cause to believe that a child may be or may have 
been abused or neglected. 

 
d) Consequences of False Reporting 
 

Any person who knowingly transmits a false report to the Department commits the 
offense of disorderly conduct under subsection (a)(7) of Section 26-1 of the Criminal 
Code of 2012 . A violation of this provision is a Class 4 felony.  [325 ILCS 5/4] 

 
Subsection 300.20(g)(6), Possible Intentional False Reports, provides additional 
information for CFWs handling possible false reports. 

 
e) The Report Narrative 
 

The CFW must elicit enough information in a telephone interview to accurately assess a 
situation and determine that the four criteria required to qualify as a report of abuse or 
neglect is met. For additional information, please refer to Procedures 300.30(a)(1), 
Criteria for a Report of Abuse or Neglect. 
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The function of the narrative is to identify and document information required by law that 
allows DCFS to intervene, to provide sufficient background information to the Child 
Protection Specialist to support the allegation(s) of abuse or neglect and to help focus the 
scope of the investigation.  Narratives should be concise yet include all necessary and 
pertinent information available.  At a minimum, the narrative must support the assigned 
allegation in order to clearly reflect what happened to the child during the alleged 
incident of harm or risk of harm and identify the eligible perpetrator.   

 
Note: An intake narrative is an official document of the Department and may be used in 

court. 
 

Desirable narratives should:   
 

• be brief and factual; 
• be easily read and understood; 
• flow logically and clearly; 
• describe the incident of harm and support the allegation; 
• clearly identify the roles of the subjects of the report; 
• keep the use of DCFS acronyms, jargon, or pronouns (e.g., he/she) to a minimum;  
• include detailed directions to rural locations;  
• use quotation marks for direct quotes of reporters or subjects; and 
• not contain extraneous information or editorial comments (i.e., the hotline 

worker’s own thoughts or perspective). 
 

Note: The Call Floor Worker (CFW) is required to document the current location of 
all subjects, if known. 

 
f) Supervisory Consultation 
 

Before requesting supervisory guidance or review when assessing or processing an 
intake, the CFW should perform required person searches and complete the intake prior 
to notifying the supervisor on duty of the need for consultation.  Once a consultation is 
started with one Call Floor Supervisor, the CFW should make every effort to complete 
the consultation with the same supervisor.  The Call Floor Supervisor on duty shall 
have final say in the assessment/processing of the intake.   
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g) Calls Requiring Special Documentation/Handling 
 

1) Death Intakes 
 

A) Taking a Death Intake 
 

i) When a call is received and the CFW determines that the child’s 
death may have resulted from alleged abuse or neglect and there is 
an eligible perpetrator, a report of death by abuse or neglect must 
be taken, per Procedures 300 A ppendix B, Allegation 01/51 
Death. 

 
ii) When the deceased child has prior indicated reports of child abuse 

or neglect, the CFW shall add Allegation (1/51), via a Related 
Information report (RI), if evidence indicates the child died as a 
result of the same or related injuries as those previously indicated. 
(Additional information may be found in Procedures 
300.30(h)(3), Related Information Report (RI.)   

 
Example: a child has been hospitalized for an extended period of 
time for serious head injuries that resulted in an indicated report 
and the child subsequently died as a result of the original injuries. 
Upon the death of the child, Allegation 1/51 shall be added in a 
Related Information (RI).  The local Child Protection Services unit 
shall then obtain medical verification that the death was due to the 
original injury and not some other cause. 

 
iii) If the information assessed by the CFW does not qualify as a report 

of death by abuse or neglect, the CFW shall document the 
information as a SUID/Unusual Death and send the intake to the 
Call Floor Supervisor on duty for review.  All death intakes 
automatically go to the supervisor for approval upon completion.   

 
Note: The CFW must immediately hand-deliver all death cases to 

the Call Floor Supervisor on duty and verbally inform the 
supervisor if a report has an emergency response code. (See 
Procedures 300.30 (f)(1) for report response codes) 

 
Note: For Southern Region ONLY: Once reviewed by the 

supervisor on duty, the CFW shall contact the appropriate 
Area Administrator and determine the need to consult with 
the Southern Illinois Child Death Investigation Task Force 
Commander about possibly sending out the Task Force to 
assist on the case. 
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B) Documenting a Death Intake 
 

• Obtain and document in the intake the following information (if 
available): Cause of death (abuse, neglect, SUID, or Unusual 
Death), history of illness; 

 
• Location/position in which child was found (i.e. sleeping on a 

couch, in bed with a parent or other caregiver, face down or face 
up); 

 
• Name of the physician who pronounced the child dead, time of 

death and name and address of facility where death was 
pronounced; 

 
• Name of person(s) responsible for the child’s care at time of death; 

 
• When the child was last seen alive and by whom; 

 
• Names of other household members residing in the child’s home,  

as well as the location of the child’s death, including  children who 
reside there part-time, or who were present at time of death; 

 
• Identify any other child who should be considered at risk of harm; 

 
• Current location of deceased child or if child is en route to the 

county medical examiner’s office; 
 

• If there is police involvement, officers’ names, star numbers, 
telephone numbers, report number, if available; 

 
• If fire department or ambulance is involved, obtain the engine or 

ambulance number;  
 

• If the coroner/medical examiner has or will be conducting a scene 
investigation; and 

 
• Date of autopsy, if one is scheduled. 

 
Note: It is crucial that the CFW identify if the deceased child is a ward or 

a ward lives in the home of a deceased child.  The CFW shall 
ensure each case involving a ward is so identified. 
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Other information/activities relevant to Death Intakes: 
 

• The CFW shall verbally inform the Call Floor Supervisor of a 
death case with an Emergency Response.  The Call Floor 
Supervisor shall email the Death Intake to the SCR Administrator, 
SCR Assistant Administrator, and the Deputy Chief of Child 
Protection. 

 
• Redacted Indicated and Pending reports may be released to 

coroners/medical examiners, consulting physicians, law 
enforcement and Child Protection staff. Relevant information 
contained in Unfounded reports can also be shared with 
coroners/medical examiners, consulting physicians, law 
enforcement and Child Protection staff.   

 
• If a report of any allegation is pending, and the child dies, the 

CFW shall record the information as an RI and add Allegation 51 
to the deceased child, if the cause of death is attributable to the 
pending allegation.  

 
• The existence of indicated prior reports of abuse or neglect for the 

family of a child who has died, does not automatically qualify a 
death as a report of death by abuse or neglect.  Each case must be 
assessed individually based on the information available.   

 
• Either Allegation 1 or 51 may be assigned for each perpetrator of a 

child death, but no perpetrator may be assigned both allegations 
simultaneously.   When two or more perpetrators are on one report, 
both Allegation 1 and 51 may be used.   

 
• Other children residing in the home, or who were being cared for 

in the home at the time of a child death, may be considered to be at 
risk of harm and assigned Allegation 10 Substantial Risk of 
Physical Injury and/or Allegation 60, E nvironment Injurious 
to Health and Welfare.  Whether a child is considered to be at 
risk shall be based on the CFWs assessment of the caller’s 
information regarding the safety of the child.  The correct response 
code when there are surviving children of a death report is an 
Emergency Response. 

 
• For reports of child death by abuse or neglect in Chicago, a 

Chicago Police Department (CPD) notification form must be 
completed and the notification documented in the narrative of the 
intake. 
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• The CFW shall complete a person search and document the search 
results in the intake narrative.  If the deceased child is a DCFS 
ward, check the ward box on the decision tab. 

 
• Request an immediate LEADS check if the death qualifies as a 

report for initiating an investigation and document the results of 
the check in the narrative.  SUID and Unusual Death cases do 
not require a LEADS check. 

 
C) Southern Illinois Child Death Investigation Task Force 
 

The Southern Illinois Child Death Investigation Task Force must be 
notified for the following child deaths: 

 
• A child dies and resides or is physically located at the time of 

death in one of the following counties: Madison, St. Clair, Bond, 
Fayette, Effingham, Jasper, Crawford, Clinton, Marion, Clay, 
Richland, Lawrence, Monroe, Washington, Jefferson, Wayne, 
Edwards, Wabash, Randolph, Perry, Franklin, Hamilton, White, 
Jackson, Williamson, Saline, Gallatin, Union, Johnson, Pope, 
Hardin, Alexander, Pulaski, or Massac. 

 
• A child has been seriously injured and the injury will likely cause 

the child to die (e.g., severe head injuries, serious internal injury.) 
and the child resides or is injured in the following counties: 
Madison, St. Clair, Bond, Fayette, Effingham, Jasper, Crawford, 
Clinton, Marion, Clay, Richland, Lawrence, Monroe, Washington, 
Jefferson, Wayne, Edwards, Wabash, Randolph, Perry, Franklin, 
Hamilton, White, Jackson, Williamson, Saline, Gallatin, Union, 
Johnson, Pope, Hardin, Alexander, Pulaski, or Massac. 

 
i) Notifying the Southern Illinois Child Death Investigation 

Task Force  
 

The CFW shall contact the identified Area Administrator 
(AA) of the appropriate county.  The CFW shall provide 
the AA with the following information: 

 
• The city/county where the incident occurred; 

 
• The current location/county of the child (hospital, 

school, etc); 
 

• The law enforcement agency handling the case;  
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• Any prior reports on the child or family, including 
Unfounded reports, when available; and 

 
• The DCFS Field Office phone number that will 

receive and respond to the SCR report, if the 
Southern Illinois Child Death Investigation Task 
Force is not activated. If the report comes in after 
hours, include the name and contact information of 
the supervisor on call. 

 
ii) Transmitting a Report to the Southern Illinois Child Death 

Investigation Task Force 
 

Once the CFW has notified the appropriate Area 
Administrator of a child death, the report or intake should 
be emailed to the Task Force Commander or designee.  
After the report or intake is faxed to the Southern Illinois 
Child Death Investigation Task Force Commander, the Call 
Floor Supervisor on duty shall place the report or intake 
into the Southern Region Death Task Force binder at the 
Call Floor Supervisor’s desk.  

 
Prior to transmitting the report, the CFW should document 
in the intake narrative that the report has been referred to an 
Area Administrator.  The first line of the report should 
read: 

 
“This case has been referred to the Southern Illinois Child 
Death Investigation Task Force and Area Administrator 
(insert name of AA on (date) at (time).  The contact number 
the Area Administrator was reached at was (phone 
number).” 

 
D) Reports of a Stillborn Child  

 
Calls reporting the death of a stillborn child should be processed as 
follows: 

 
• If there are no other children residing in the home with the mother, 

process and document the death as an Unusual Death; or 
 

• If there are other children residing or staying in the home and the 
child death was related to actions of the parent/caregiver and there 
are other safety factors present that could pose a risk of alleged 
abuse or neglect to the other children, the CFW shall take a report 
of suspected abuse or Do not allege death by abuse/neglect on 
behalf of the stillborn child. 
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2) Parallel Reports and Courtesy Interviews 
 

A parallel investigation is necessary when subjects reside in more than one 
Region/Site/Field (RSF) or subjects reside in one RSF but are temporarily located 
in another.  If SCR has information that indicates a parallel investigation is 
needed, the CFW shall assign case responsibility to the team where the child 
resides and assign parallel responsibility to the other RSF.  If the report is taken 
after hours it must be called out to all involved counties, per the SCR after hours, 
on-call guidelines. 

 
When a report subject is located in another state, a parallel assignment is not 
required if the report is taken during regular business hours. If the report is taken 
after hours, the CFW is responsible to call the other state’s Child Protection 
Services and request that they initiate the report. If the out-of-state subject is the 
child victim and the initiation mandate has not been met, the CFW should include 
in the report narrative the phone number of the child protection services of the 
other state in order to assist the Child Protection Specialist in making 
arrangements for the mandate to be met.  

 
A) If the CFW accepts case responsibility on behalf of the State of Illinois for 

an investigation involving another state and the subject of the report in the 
other state is the child victim, the CFW is responsible to call and request 
the other state’s department of child protection services to initiate the 
investigation.  The CFW shall note in the narrative that this call was made 
and document the number called and the name of the person with whom 
the CFW spoke.  If the other state’s child protection service is unavailable 
(i.e., weekends, holidays, after hours), the CFW shall note their good faith 
attempt to contact them in the report narrative and include the other state’s 
child protection services contact information for the DCFS Child 
Protection Specialist.  When a subject other than the victim is out of state, 
the CFW shall note the phone number for the other state’s Child Protective 
Services in the narrative and the Child Protection Specialist will request 
the parallel investigation when he/she has gathered enough information to 
make that request. 

 
B) When another state has accepted case responsibility for an investigation 

but one of the subjects is located in Illinois, the other state may call the 
Hotline and request a courtesy interview for child protection purposes.  
The CFW shall complete the intake as an Information Only (IO), noting in 
the first line of the narrative “Courtesy Interview.”  The IO must be 
approved by the Call Floor Supervisor on duty and a copy of the intake 
must be printed.  The CFW shall print, “Courtesy Interview” and the 
appropriate RSF across the top of the page. 
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3) “Possible Media” Cases 
 

When the Office of Communications is contacted for a child protection case that 
appears likely to be brought to the attention of the media, Director’s office, or 
Governor’s office, the CFW must immediately bring the report to the attention of 
the Call Floor Supervisor on duty at the Call Floor desk.  If any one of the 
following criteria is present, check “Possible Media” on the decision tab and print 
a copy for the supervisor. 
 
• Children at home alone, especially very young children and/or several 

children; 

• Serious environmental neglect reports, especially if there is an open DCFS 
case; 

• Inadequate shelter reports that are taken because there is no heat in the 
home during periods of extreme cold; 

• Serious abuse to young children, especially if there are pending or 
indicated priors; 

• Any serious abuse to children in foster homes; 

• Any serious abuse to children placed with relatives by DCFS, whether or 
not the home is licensed; 

• Abandoned babies; or 

• Any case of serious harm or other serious situations involving a DCFS 
ward.  

 
4) Facility Reports 
 

It is crucial that the CFW identify in any report of suspected abuse or neglect 
when the victim and/or perpetrator is a ward.  The CFW shall ensure each 
case involving a ward is so identified.  

 
A facility report shall be taken when the alleged perpetrator of a report of 
suspected child abuse or neglect is a staff person in an institution, day care center, 
day care home, group home, foster home or school and is believed to have abused 
or neglected a child while acting in their professional capacity or a position of 
trust with the alleged victim.  When the child’s relationship with a facility staff 
person comes from having a professional capacity or position of trust with the 
child, the staff person is considered an eligible perpetrator even if he/she is not 
acting in an official capacity at the time of the alleged abuse and/or neglect.  
The CFW shall process such reports per the instructions in Procedures 300.30(b), 
Multiple Perpetrators: When to Document as Single or Multiple Reports.  
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Examples of alleged perpetrators in facility reports include, but are not limited to: 
teachers, principals, child care staff, or other school personnel such as, bus 
drivers, janitors, or cafeteria staff.  

 
A) Multiple Perpetrators 

 
If there are indicated or pending prior reports on a facility, any new report 
must be a Subsequent Oral Report (SOR) to the corresponding facility 
SCR number, regardless whether the victims and/or staff perpetrators are 
not the same as prior reports.   

 
Facility report subjects may list only one alleged perpetrator per report 
sequence; however, reports involving foster homes are an exception and 
may list multiple perpetrators in a single report sequence.  When a facility 
report involves more than one alleged perpetrator, an SOR should be 
added to the facility SCR number for each perpetrator.  CFWs should 
reference in the report narrative when there are SOR(s) with additional 
perpetrators.   

 
There is no requirement for additional SORs when there are multiple child 
victims of one perpetrator documented in the same report.   

 
B) Coding the Report as a Facility 

 
All facility reports must be indicated as a facility by checking the facility 
box at the top of the intake.  The CFW must ensure that the facility code 
and the relationship code agree and the report is linked to the correct 
facility.  In cases where a facility has multiple locations, the CFW must 
match the address of the specific location with the address of the facility in 
the report. 

 
C) Group Homes and Child Care Facilities  

 
Residents of group homes and institutions are not eligible perpetrators to 
one another (child on child) unless one child is in a caretaker role.   

 
D) Foster Homes or Day Care Homes 

 
When a report alleging child abuse or neglect in a foster home or day care 
home is received, the CFW shall process the report in the same manner as 
institutions and day care centers, except the foster parent or day care home 
operator shall be the report’s case name.  Children in foster homes may be 
perpetrators based on the same criteria as a report in a family home 
setting.  If the caller’s information includes foster parent, foster home, 
foster child, adoptive parent, adoptive home, or DCFS ward, the CFW 
shall conduct a Provider Name Search and check for placements. 

 
Note: Linking anyone in a report who is coded as a “Provider” requires 

the intake to be processed as a facility report.   
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E) Taking Reports on Youth Ages 18 to 22 in a DCFS Licensed Facility 
 

DCFS investigates reports on youth ages 18 to 22 living in DCFS licensed 
facilities, whether or not they are a ward of DCFS.  To qualify as a report 
of suspected abuse or neglect in this situation, the alleged perpetrator must 
be an employee of or a volunteer at the facility.  This type of report is 
processed in the same manner as reports for youth under age 18. 

 

5) DCFS/POS Employees and Other Sensitive Cases 
 

Reports alleging child abuse or neglect by DCFS or Purchase of Service (POS) 
agency employees, their relatives or other persons whose investigation may 
require sensitive handling must be brought to the attention of the Call Floor 
Supervisor on duty and approved before being sent to a field office for 
investigation.  Supervisory approval is required whether or not the alleged 
perpetrator was acting in an official capacity at the time of the alleged abuse or 
neglect.  The SCR Administrator in conjunction with the respective Regional 
Administrator shall the need to assign the report to a different RSF than the one 
that would normally be assigned in order to avoid a possible conflict of interest. 
 

Note: No employee report or other sensitive case may be transmitted without the 
approval of the SCR Administrator.   

 
6) Possible Intentional False Reports 

 
A) Reading the False Report Notice 
 

If in the process of assessing a caller’s information for a report of child 
abuse or neglect the CFW determines the caller previously made a report 
that was retained as intentionally false, the CFW shall read to the caller the 
false reporting provision from ANCRA and ask if the caller wishes to 
proceed with their report.  

 
Any person who knowingly transmits a false report to the Department 
commits the offense of disorderly conduct under subsection (a)(7) of 
Section 26-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012 .  A violation of this provision 
is a Class 4 felony.  [325 ILCS 5/4] 

 
If the reporter maintains he/she still wants to make a report after having 
been given the false report warning, and the information meets the criteria 
for a report according to Procedures 300.30(a)(2), the report shall be 
taken and transmitted to the appropriate RSF. 
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B) Maintaining Records of Intentional False Reports.   
 

i) Notices of Retention of Report Sent 
 

When a report has been unfounded, SCR shall send a notice to the 
child subject's custodial parent(s) or the child's legal caregiver, the 
unfounded perpetrator, and the non-custodial parent.  For 
additional information regarding the perpetrator’s right to have an 
unfounded report retained as intentionally false, refer to subpart C) 
of this subsection and Procedures 300.160, Notifications.  

 
ii) Retention of Intentionally False Reports 

 
Records of unfounded reports shall be retained for 5 years when 
the unfounded perpetrator of the report requests retention because 
he/she believes the report was an intentional false report.  SCR 
shall document receipt of all requests for retention of records 
pursuant to this subsection.  Child Protection Service teams shall 
maintain Intentional False reports in the local index file.   

 
When a Child Protection Specialist or Supervisor checks Factors 
Contributing to Unfounded Allegations "Probable Intentional 
False" in the Investigation Screen, the report shall be classified as 
an Intentional False Report and is coded as FS in the database.  

 
iii) Notification to the State’s Attorney 

 
In addition, SCR shall forward all of the information about 
intentional false reports to the State's Attorney in the county where 
the subject of the report was located.  SCR shall request the local 
Child Protection Service unit forward a copy of the completed and 
approved investigation to the relevant local State's Attorney for 
consideration of criminal prosecution. 

 
Note: If the investigation reveals that the reporter placed the call 

from another county, the State’s Attorney in the county 
where the call was placed also has jurisdiction to pursue 
charges against the reporter. 

 
C) Reporter Notification 

 
Any time an unfounded report is retained as intentionally false, the 
Department is obligated to send written notification to the reporter.  The 
written notice informs the reporter of their right to make a statement 
regarding the report being retained as an intentional false report.  Any 
statement made by the reporter of an unfounded report that is retained as 
intentionally false shall be retained by SCR.  For additional information 
regarding reporter notification, please refer to Procedures 300.160, 
Notifications. 
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7) Out of State Reports 

 
Occasionally SCR receives calls in which all of the subjects lived in Illinois at the 
time of an alleged incident, but have since moved to another state.  Though the 
information may meet the criteria for a report of abuse/neglect, DCFS no longer 
has jurisdiction when the subjects are no longer Illinois residents.  These 
situations may warrant an investigation by the child protection authorities of the 
subjects’ current state of residence, and that state may choose to do so based on 
the incident that occurred in Illinois or because the reported incident indicates an 
ongoing risk of harm to the child.  It is also not unusual for SCR to receive calls 
that contain information that does not qualify as a report in Illinois, but may 
contain child protection issues that qualify in the other state.  For additional 
clarification, staff should refer to the Guidelines for Assigning Case 
Responsibility grid in this subsection.   

 
In the above situation, the CFW should encourage the caller to contact the 
appropriate state directly, and give the caller the telephone number for the other 
state’s Child Protection Services.  If the caller will not make a call to the other 
state, the CFW shall document the information in a MCNRT (mandated 
reporter) or an I & R (non-mandated reporter) and call the other state to 
make the report.  CFWs must be sure to include in their documentation the 
date/time they make the call to the other state, the name and contact information 
of the out of state worker with whom they spoke, and whether the other state took 
a report.   
 
If there is need for an Illinois Child Protection Specialist to interview a subject for 
the other state’s investigation, the CFW shall give the out-of-state worker the 
phone number and supervisor’s name of the Illinois Child Protection team that 
would handle the interview.  The CFW shall then complete the required 
documentation and processing of an Information Only to be sent to the Child 
Protection Supervisor of the appropriate RSF to arrange for a Courtesy Interview.  
Additional information concerning a Courtesy Interview may be found in 
subsection 300.20(g)(2). 
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GUIDELINES FOR ASSIGNING CASE RESPONSIBILITY  
WHEN ANOTHER STATE IS INVOLVED 

 

Incident 
Occurred 

Perpetrator’s 
Residence 

Victim’s 
Residence Assign SCR #? 

In Out In Out In Out 

 X  X X  
Only if the other state 
refuses and there is a 
current protective issue 

X   X X  Yes 

X  X   X Yes 

X   X  X 
No – Unless PC is taken 
in Illinois or protection 
action is required 

 X X  X  Yes 

 X X   X CPS Parallel Only – No 
SCR# 

 
 

8) Chicago Police Department (CPD Youth Division) Notifications 
 

Complete a CPD Notification and document “CPD Notified” at the end of the 
report narrative when a report occurring in Chicago meets any of the following 
criteria: 
 

• The incident qualifies as a report of abuse or neglect and is assigned any 
of the following allegations: 1/51, 2/52, 4/54, 5/55, 6/56, 7/57, 9/59, 16, 
19, 20, or 21; 

 

• The incident of harm caused the subject child or children to be  
hospitalized;  

 

• A subject child  under the age of six has allegedly been physically abused 
or is at risk of harm (Allegation 10 Substantial Risk of Physical Injury); 

 

• A subject child under the age of six is alleged to have injuries to the face, 
head, neck, or soft body tissue area; or 

 

• A subject child of any age allegedly receives serious injuries or scarring.  
 
Note: If the address of occurrence is unknown, a CPD log cannot be completed. 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 
October 9, 2015 – PT 2015.23 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Procedures 300 Section 300.20 – (20) 

9) Police Officers as Perpetrators While Acting in their Official Capacity 
 

A police officer is a “person in a position of trust” and, as such, may be 
considered an eligible perpetrator.  However, SCR will not take a report on a 
police officer who injures a youth in the process of apprehending and/or 
restraining the youth.  CFWs should advise callers to contact the Chief of Police 
and/or the local State’s Attorney to report allegations of rough treatment by an 
officer or alleged “police brutality”.  Any other allegations of child abuse/neglect 
involving a police officer in his/her professional capacity should be screened for a 
possible report. 
 
Chicago Police Officers as Perpetrators   
 
DCFS has an agreement with the Chicago Police Department (CPD) to inform 
them when a report lists a Chicago Police Officer as a suspected perpetrator, 
whether or not the alleged harm occurred in the line of duty or in private life.  In 
the event such a report is taken, the CFW shall perform the usual steps in 
completing the report, including the CPD notification, and then call the CPD’s 
Youth Central (312-745-6004) and ask for the on-duty supervisor at Youth 
Division Headquarters.  On weekends and holidays, the on-duty supervisor may 
not be on site; however, CPD staff will be able to direct the CFW to the on-duty 
supervisor.  Once the CPD on-duty supervisor is reached, the CFW shall provide 
the supervisor with the details of the report.  CPD notification shall be 
documented in the narrative and the report shall then be completed and processed 
as usual.  

 
10) Law Enforcement Agency Data Systems (LEADS) Checks 
 

Law Enforcement Agency Data Systems (LEADS) checks are required for all 
child abuse or neglect reports and shall be requested for all subjects of the report 
who are age 13 and older.  To obtain a LEADS check, the first and last name, 
gender and date of birth of the subject is required.  When the required identifying 
information is not available, document “Insufficient information for LEADS 
check” at the bottom of the report narrative and process the report as usual.  
LEADS printouts mailed from SCR must be labeled, “LEADS printouts may not 
be disseminated beyond DCFS/POS Agencies.”   

 
11) License Plate Checks 
 

The hotline frequently receives calls in which a child is observed being abused or 
neglected and the caller has no information about the subjects except for a license 
plate number.  If the caller’s information meets the criteria for a report of 
suspected abuse or neglect, the CFW shall take a report making sure to fully and 
specifically document the incident that was observed and the location.  The 
perpetrator(s) and the victim(s) shall be listed as “Unknown, Unknown” and as 
many identifying characteristics as possible (e.g., race, approximate age, gender, 
height, weight, description of the vehicle including color and make, etc.) shall be 
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documented in the narrative.  The CFW shall then call the Office of the Illinois 
Secretary of State (SOS) at 217-782-8841 or 217-782-8842, identify themselves, 
and request a license plate check.  SOS staff will call back to the SCR 
supervisor’s desk with the license plate information and the supervisor shall 
forward the call to the requesting CFW.  The CFW shall document in the report 
narrative the registration information received from the SOS, including the 
vehicle owner’s name and address, the license plate number, and the make, model 
and color of the car.  The report shall then be assigned to the RSF where the 
vehicle is registered.  CFWs must conduct a person search for the vehicle owner 
and list in the narrative any prior reports as “possible priors,” but do not add a 
SOR to any indicated prior reports on the vehicle owner.  Child Protection staff 
will contact SCR for a SCR number consolidation, as needed, upon verifying the 
owner of the vehicle is the alleged perpetrator of the report.   

 
12) Undocumented Persons  
 

Occasionally, calls to the hotline involve children who are undocumented 
residents living in Illinois.  Legal status (American citizenship) is not addressed in 
ANCRA [325 ILCS 5] and is therefore not to be considered in any way as criteria 
for whether the hotline accepts a report for investigation.  The CFW shall take a 
report of suspected child abuse or neglect or a referral for services that involves 
an undocumented child, when the criteria for taking a report or a referral is met.   

 
13) Babies Born to Correctional Center Inmates 
 

For women incarcerated in DOC facilities who give birth, the CFW shall: 
 
A) Take a CWS dependency or child abuse or neglect report, whichever is 

appropriate; and 
 
B) Assign the CWS dependency to the RSF where the mother and baby are 

currently located or if a child abuse or neglect report is taken, assign the 
primary case responsibility to the RSF where the mother resided prior to 
incarceration and make a parallel assignment to the county where the 
hospital and baby are located. 
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14) Abandoned Baby Protocol 
 

This protocol implements procedures to meet the requirements of the Abandoned 
Newborn Infant Protection Act [325 ILCS 2].  In order to qualify for protection 
under the Abandoned Baby Protocol, the abandoned baby must be a newborn 
infant who: 
 

• has been left with personnel in a hospital, police station, fire station, or 
emergency medical facility; 

 

• a licensed physician reasonably believes is no more than 30 days old at the 
time of relinquishment; and 

 

• is not an abused or neglected child. 
 

Note:  In order to meet the requirements of the Abandoned Baby Protocol, an 
infant must be left with personnel from one of the referenced facilities.  
Should the relinquishing person leave the infant without making 
arrangements with facility personnel to do so, they may qualify as a 
perpetrator in a report of child abuse or neglect. 

 
After the relinquishment of the infant to a fire station or emergency medical 
facility, the fire station or emergency medical facility's personnel must arrange for 
the transportation of the infant to the nearest hospital as soon as transportation can 
be arranged.  Within 12 hours after accepting the infant, the accepting hospital 
must report to SCR for the purpose of transferring physical custody of the infant 
from the hospital to either a child-placing agency or the Department. 

 
A) Processing a Call Under the Abandoned Baby Protocol  

 
When a CFW receives a call of an abandoned baby that meets the above 
criteria, the CFW shall document the call as “Information Only” (IO) and 
state in the narrative that the mother gave up the infant under the “Safe 
Haven Law”.  The completed IO shall be sent to the Call Floor Supervisor 
on duty for review and approval.  The supervisor or supervisor’s designee 
shall contact a child-placing agency, which shall be selected on a rotating 
basis, to make the referral and then fax the IO to the accepting agency and 
authorize transfer of physical custody to that agency.  If no child-placing 
agency is able to accept the infant during regular business hours, the IO 
shall be referred to the local DCFS Field Office serving the county where 
the infant was abandoned.  

 
Note: For after hours, holidays and weekends, the after-hours Child 

Protection Specialist on duty shall be notified of the IO. 
 

On the following business day after receiving the intake, the SCR 
Administrator shall request assistance from the Illinois State Police to 
determine that the infant is not listed as a missing child.  The SCR 
Administrator shall then write a letter authorizing the adoption agency to 
accept physical custody of the infant and proceed with placement.   
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B) When the Abandoned Baby Protocol Does Not Apply 
 

If there is suspected child abuse or neglect that is not based solely on the 
infant’s relinquishment to the personnel of a hospital, police station, fire 
station, or emergency medical facility, the personnel of said facilities, who 
are mandated reporters, must call the SCR to file a report of suspected 
abuse or neglect. 

 
If an abandoned baby is more than 30 days old, the hospital and the 
Department must proceed as if the infant is an abandoned child, per 
Procedures 300, Appendix B, Allegation 75. 

 
15) Post Adoption Notification 

 
When a report is taken and one or more alleged perpetrators are identified as 
receiving adoption assistance or subsidized guardianship, the CFW shall, via 
email, notify the assigned adoption/post adoption worker of the pending 
investigation.  The notification shall contain the SCR number, and document that 
the alleged perpetrator is involved in an open adoption assistance or subsidized 
guardianship case.  Copies of the notification shall be forwarded to the Post 
Adoption worker’s supervisor and the Area Administrator. 

 
16) Illinois Child in St. Louis Area Hospitals 

 
Child Protection investigations involving Illinois children, who reside in Madison 
or St. Clair County and are admitted to a hospital in the city of St. Louis or St. 
Louis County, shall be handled by Illinois Child Protection Specialists only.  
Missouri Child Protection Services shall not be contacted to assist in the 
investigation.   
 
For children residing in counties other than Madison or St. Clair or for children 
who are not in a hospital in the city of St. Louis or St. Louis County, the assigned 
Illinois Child Protection Specialist shall contact Missouri Child Protection to 
request a child protection courtesy interview.   
 
Note: In either situation, CFWs are not to contact Missouri CPS.   

 
h) Non-Discrimination, Alternate Communication Needs and Cultural Awareness 
 

It is the policy of the Department to provide services to all persons without regard to race, 
color, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, religion, ancestry, inability 
to speak or comprehend the English language, handicaps or age.  Such services shall be 
provided in compliance with Titles VI and VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. 
793 and 794), the U.S. Constitution, the 1970 Act [775 ILCS 5/1-102], and Illinois 
Constitution, Section 1-102 of the Illinois Human Rights Act, as well as other applicable 
state and federal laws, regulations and court orders prohibiting discrimination in the 
delivery of services.   
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Section 300.30 Content of Child Abuse and Neglect Reports 
 
a) Report Screening 
 

1) Criteria for a Report of Abuse or Neglect 
 

Assessment of a potential report of child abuse or neglect is a critical skill; it 
requires the CFW to gather, sort and process relevant information from the caller 
in an expedient manner and to then decide: 

 

• Whether child protection services (CPS) is needed; and  
• The response time, if child protection services are needed.   

 
The following criteria must be met in order for a report of abuse or neglect to be 
taken: 

 

• The alleged child victim must be under 18 years of age or be between the 
ages of 18-22 while living in a DCFS licensed facility; 

 

• There must be an  incident of harm or a set of circumstances that would 
lead a reasonable person to suspect that a child was abused or neglected as 
interpreted in the allegation definitions contained in Procedures 300, 
Appendix B; and 

 

• The person committing the action or failure to act must be an eligible 
perpetrator.  

 

o For a report of suspected abuse, the alleged perpetrator must be the 
child's parent, immediate family member, any individual who resides 
in the same home as the child, any person who is responsible for the 
child's welfare at the time of the incident, a paramour of the child's 
parent, or any person who came to know the child through an official 
capacity or is in a position of trust.  

 

o For a report of suspected neglect, the alleged perpetrator must be the 
child's parent or any other person who was responsible for care of the 
child at the time of the alleged neglect. 

 

o Special Note Concerning Very Young Perpetrators:  
 

ANCRA and Rule 300, Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect, do not 
set a minimum age for a perpetrator, with the exception of Allegation 
#10 Substantial Risk of Physical Injury, therefore any case 
involving a young perpetrator must be assessed on an individual basis 
according to the dynamics of the case.  When assessing information 
regarding a very young perpetrator, the CFW shall seek supervisory 
consultation. 

 
Note: Lack of a complete address of residence or current location of the alleged 

child victim is never grounds for refusing to accept a report.  In lieu of a 
full residential address, the following can be used to locate the subjects of 
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a report: city or county of residence, school child or siblings attend, 
workplace address/phone number for adults, cell phone numbers, or 
directions to the home. 

 
If the CFW’s assessment of the caller's information does not qualify as a report of 
alleged child abuse or neglect, the CFW shall inform the caller that a report will 
not be taken.  If the reporter is a mandated reporter, the decision that the caller’s 
information does not qualify as a report must have supervisory approval.  The 
mandated reporter shall be told he/she may request to speak to a supervisor if the 
CFW does not accept the report and the mandated reporter wants to dispute that 
decision. 

 
2) Information from the Reporter 

 
The Call Floor Worker (CFW) shall secure from the caller all information 
required to complete a report of suspected child abuse or neglect.  Examples of 
information required for a report include, but are not limited to:  

 

• The identity, age, and location of the alleged child victim(s); 
 

• Directions to any rural route address, apartment numbers or other relevant 
information relevant to the location of the report subjects; 

 

• Demographics of the family including whether there is a non-custodial 
parent;  

 

• Identity of those who reside in the home and their relationship to the child 
victim, to include whether the alleged perpetrator is in a caretaker role. 
Document  the location/residence/contact information of other subjects or 
involved parties who do not reside in the home; 

 

• What is the reporter’s basis for reasonable cause to believe a child has 
been abused or neglected, including the source of the reporter’s 
information; 

 

• Any information regarding substance use or misuse in the child’s home;   
 

• Any information regarding a history of domestic violence; 
 

• Whether any report subjects have a history of involvement with law 
enforcement;  

 

• Reporter information, when the reporter is mandated or non-mandated and 
willing to provide such information (e.g., contact information that includes 
an after-hours phone number, professional capacity or other relationship to 
alleged child victim, etc);  

 

• Any knowledge the reporter has regarding a current risk of harm to the 
child.  Document all identified safety issues known to the reporter; 
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• Any knowledge the reporter has about  potential danger or threat to Child 
Protection staff, especially whether gang violence, weapons or drug 
manufacturing/distribution may be involved; 

 

• Any knowledge the reporter has about the mental, emotional and physical 
condition of the alleged perpetrator; 

 

• Any knowledge the reporter has about the mental and physical condition 
of the alleged child victim(s) (i.e., Does the child have any self-care skills? 
Is the child verbal? Is the child disabled in any respect?  Are there any 
other conditions that may adversely impact the child’s health and safety);  

 

• Any information the reporter has about communication needs of the child, 
family or alleged perpetrator (e.g., non-English speaking, Spanish-
speaking, hearing impaired, etc.) and the subject’s preferred language or 
method of communication;  

 

• whether any subject of the report has a Native American tribal affiliation; 
and 

 

• The identity and location of possible witnesses to, or persons with 
information about, the alleged abuse or neglect. 

 
3) Risk and Safety Factors 

 
The CFW must carefully assess risk and safety threats when assessing a potential 
report of child abuse or neglect.  Threats to immediate safety must always be 
given highest priority.   

 
The CFW should consider the factors below when assessing alleged abuse/neglect 
of a child.  The factors include, but are not limited to:  

 
Assessment Factors: 

 

• Age, gender, physical and mental abilities of the child; 

• The child’s ability to protect him/herself or seek a “safe haven”;  

• Severity of incident as well as location and type of  injury; 

• Location of the alleged incident;  

• History of  incidents, including frequency of incidents and approximate 
date of last known incident;  

• Believable threats made to the child by the alleged perpetrator, both 
current and past; 

• Whether the child  is fearful;  

• Current location of the child; 

• Current location of the alleged perpetrator; 
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• Nature of the relationship between alleged perpetrator and child; 

• History of domestic violence or the alleged perpetrator’s history of 
violence, if any; 

• Need for immediate medical attention or medical attention for a chronic 
condition; 

• Potential for the family to flee; 

• Child currently alone or unprotected; 

• Child, alleged perpetrator, and support persons’ perception of the alleged 
incident; 

• Whether there are mental/emotional illness concerns or specific diagnoses 
of individuals residing in the home; 

• Where the child was when viewed by the reporter; 

• Where the child was when he/she was being abused or neglected; 

• Whether there is a substance use/abuse issue in the home, including drug 
manufacturing; and 

• Whether there are other children who have been harmed or are at risk. 
 

If, during the assessment process, the CFW identifies safety threats in 
accordance with Procedures 300, Appendix G, CERAP, the safety threats 
must be documented in the intake narrative. 
 
Special Assessments in Cases of Egregious Acts 

 
The Department has identified certain acts of maltreatment deemed egregious that 
require a special assessment by the Office of Legal Services (OLS) and the 
Division of Clinical Practice and Professional Development.  This special 
assessment will determine the need to by-pass reunification, seek a permanency 
goal other than reunification, and/or seek expedited termination of parental rights.  
If information identifying an egregious act is gathered at the time of the intake by 
SCR or during the course of the investigation, the report must be flagged as an 
egregious act case to alert the Child Protection Specialist and the Child Protection 
Supervisor that the case must be referred to OLS and Clinical.  Call Floor 
Workers must document in the intake narrative that the report information 
contains an egregious act.   
 
Maltreatment is considered egregious if it is an egregious, sadistic, or torturous 
act that inflicts significant pain, causes extensive external and/or internal bruising, 
serious injury, or death. 
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Egregious acts include: 
 

• Perpetrator repeatedly thrown or slammed an infant or toddler against a hard 
surface using a strong degree of force creating a likelihood of abusive head 
trauma or multiple injuries including bruising or fractures over time. 

• Perpetrator caused abusive abdominal injuries, especially in very young 
children. 

• Perpetrator submerged and held a young child’s head under water or 
repeatedly submerged a child’s head creating a significant real or imminent 
risk of harm. 

• Perpetrator beat up or hit a child with an object using a degree of force that 
could be reasonably expected to cause serious injury or death. 

• Perpetrator attempted to or actually smothered, choked, strangled, or applied 
any other severe thoracic compression to a child. 

• Perpetrator extensively burned or scalded a child on purpose. 

• Perpetrator threatened or attached a child with a weapon, such as a knife, gun, 
or combustible substance. 

• Perpetrator took a child hostage. 

• Sadistic injury to a child. 

• Homicide of a child. 

• Non-accidental poisoning. 
 
b) Multiple Perpetrators: When to Document as Single or Multiple Reports 
 

When the caller identifies multiple perpetrators for a single incident of abuse/neglect, the 
CFW shall determine whether the alleged perpetrators reside in the child’s household, the 
address of incident, or other residence.  When all alleged perpetrators are household 
members, the CFW shall list them in one report. When there are two independent families 
residing in the same household and both families are involved in the alleged abuse or 
neglect, then the CFW shall take two separate reports.  When one or more alleged 
perpetrators reside in different locations, the CFW shall document in the narrative that an 
additional report will be added for each perpetrator.  When the alleged perpetrator 
residing outside the home of the child victim has children in his/her own home and those 
children are known to have been abused or are considered to be at risk of physical or 
sexual injury or environment injurious, a report will be taken on those children. 

 
When abuse or neglect is alleged to have occurred in a facility and the caller identifies 
multiple perpetrators, the CFW shall document in the report narrative that a separate 
sequence shall be added to the facility SCR number for each perpetrator, as per Section 
300.110(b), Child Abuse and Neglect in Child Care Facilities. 
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c) Child Advocacy Center (CAC) Referrals 
 

Calls alleging serious harm or sexual abuse that do not qualify as a report should be 
referred to the local Child Advocacy Center when the alleged perpetrator is ineligible and 
the incident may qualify for criminal charges.  The CFW shall consult with the Call Floor 
Supervisor on duty whenever there is a question regarding an alleged harm rising to the 
level of possible criminal charges.  Upon completion and supervisory approval, the CFW 
shall transmit the referral (IO) to the local DCFS field office to forward to the appropriate 
Child Advocacy Center.  The CFW shall not personally contact the CAC to make the 
referral.  If a service area does not have a CAC, the referral (IO) must be sent to the local 
DCFS field office to be given to local law enforcement. 

 
d) Law Enforcement Referrals 
 

When a CFW determines that law enforcement should be contacted regarding a call that 
does not qualify as a report, the CFW shall advise the caller to call the appropriate local 
law enforcement agency and offer to provide the caller with the phone number for that 
agency.   The CFW shall not contact law enforcement if the caller refuses to contact law 
enforcement or to request a child welfare check, unless the CFW determines the child 
needs to be seen in order to assess immediate safety.  

 
e) Request for Quick Referral of Information 
 

Callers are sometimes in need of quick reference information, such as hotline numbers 
for other states, local DCFS office numbers, or general questions about the allegation 
system and DCFS.  If time allows, the CFW monitoring incoming calls can provide such 
information, however the CFW should not spend significant time answering questions or 
providing information.  

 
For general questions about DCFS, callers should be referred to the DCFS website 
(www.DCFS.illinois.gov) or the local field office.  All inquiries from the public or media 
regarding a specific case must be referred to the Office of Communications at 312-814-
6847.  

 
f) Report Response Codes  
 

There are 3 Response Codes possible for each report of suspected child abuse or neglect.  
Each Response Code has a required timeframe for the initiation of the report; however, 
the Action Needed Response Code requires clear and concise information for the 
response to be included in the report narrative.  Each Response Code requires a Response 
Indicator to be selected in order to identify the basis for the Response Code.  Response 
Codes and Response Indicators are listed and defined below: 

 
1) Emergency Response means the Child Protection Specialist must immediately 

respond to the home or current location of the child; immediately means the 
Child Protection Specialist shall depart and be en route to the child’s 
home/location within 15 minutes of SCR transmitting the report to the field office 
or after-hours staff. The CFW must clearly support the reason for this 
response in the narrative of the report.  

http://www.dcfs.illinois.gov/
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2) Action Needed.  This Response Code is used for situations that require special 

handling but do not qualify as an emergency response.  The CFW must give clear 
and concise information in the report narrative to support the “Action Needed” 
response.  The Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor are 
required to review the report within 60 minutes of SCR transmitting the report to 
the field office or after-hours staff in order to determine what action is necessary 
and to establish a time frame for the action.  The Child Protection Supervisor 
makes the final determination after reviewing the report as to what actions are 
actually required. 

 
3) Normal.  Reports with a Normal response must be initiated within 24 hours. 

 
g) Response Indicators 
 

Each report of alleged child abuse or neglect has response indicators that provide the 
basis for an Emergency or Action Needed Response.  The indicators and their required 
responses are as follows: 

 

• Child Death: Requires an Emergency Response.  
 
Note: If there are no surviving siblings or other children residing in the home, 

the Child Protection Supervisor must determine the current status of 
investigation activities by other law enforcement entities and determine 
the nature of the emergency response.   

 

• Family May Flee:  The parent/caregiver intends to leave the home or move from 
the area to prevent Child Protection Services from having contact with the alleged 
child victim.  Requires an Emergency Response.  

 

• Immediate Danger:  The child is considered to be in immediate risk of being 
harmed and an Emergency Response is required.  “Immediate danger” may 
mean the child is being assaulted as the caller makes the report; the child is in 
imminent danger 

 

• Reports from Hospital Staff Regarding Children 6 years and younger:  SCR 
receives a report from hospital staff of injuries to a child ages 6 years and younger 
and there has been a previous report of serious injury involving any of the 
subjects of the pending report.  Requires an Emergency Response.   

 

• Child Being Held by Police/Physician:  Requires an Emergency Response. 
 

• Child Needs Immediate Medical Attention:  The child’s health and well-being 
is considered to be at risk.  Requires an Emergency Response.  

 

• Child Under 5 Alone/Unsupervised:  A child too young to provide self-care is 
unsupervised.  Requires an Emergency Response.   The CFW should call local 
law enforcement for assistance, as needed.  
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• Child Alone/Unsupervised Age 5 and Older:  This Indicator is for children age 
5 and over who are alone now.  An “Action Needed” response code may be 
required for this situation.  The timeframe to initiate a report with this Indicator 
shall be based upon the ages of the children, time of day, location, and other 
safety threats identified in the narrative.  If the Child Protection Specialist cannot 
initiate within this timeline, the Child Protection Specialist should notify the Child 
Protection Supervisor and call local law enforcement to request assistance.  

 
In Cook County, and during daytime hours downstate, the Child Protection 
Supervisor will establish a timeframe for initiation with the assigned Child 
Protection Specialist.  In downstate regions after hours, this Indicator requires 
an immediate initiation or a call to the police for assistance in initiating.   

 

• Child at the Hospital with Perpetrator Present:  The Child Protection 
Supervisor or designee shall contact the hospital within 60 minutes after receipt of 
the report to determine whether immediate initiation is necessary.  An Action 
Needed response code is required for these situations, with the exception of 
reports regarding a substance affected infant.  

 
In the instance when the child victim is at a hospital with the alleged perpetrator 
present and the perpetrator is either interfering with treatment of the child, 
threatening to take the child against medical advice (AMA) or presents some 
other safety threat and emergency response must be applied. 

 

• None or Other:  These Indicators should be used only for Normal or Action 
Needed Responses and when the Indicators listed above do not apply. 

 
h) Classification of Reports 
 

1) Initial Oral Report (IOR)   
 

A report received at SCR involving subjects in a family unit with no pending or 
previously indicated reports or unfounded reports held on file as intentional false 
reports. Each IOR is assigned a new SCR identification number with an “A.” 
sequence.   

 
2) Subsequent Oral Reports (SOR)   

 
A SOR is a report of a new incident of abuse or neglect involving the same family 
unit (i.e. one previously reported adult and at least one previously reported child) 
in a report that is pending, in “pending approval” status or retained as either 
indicated or intentionally false.  In assigning a SOR, the same SCR number is 
used and a new letter sequence is added.  Previously indicated perpetrators 
reported for abusing and/or neglecting children not previously listed in their prior 
reports, shall be assigned an SOR of their SCR number.   
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If a report is in “20-day hold” status, the CFW shall create an IOR.  If a 
report is in “pending approval” status, the CFW shall create a SOR of that 
SCR number.   

 
SOR sequences sometimes appear to skip letters in the data base (e.g., skipping 
from “A” to “D”).  The apparent disappearance of sequences is due to sequences 
(“B” and “C”) having been expunged.  SCR numbers that complete all A to Z 
letter sequences will be assigned double-letter sequences, such as “AA” or “AB” 
when additional SORs are required. 

 
Note: Effort must be made to ensure facility reports are linked properly.  When 

in doubt of a proper linkage of facility reports and subjects, the CFW 
should refer to Section 300.110(b), Child Abuse and Neglect in Child 
Care Facilities, or consult with the Call Floor Supervisor on duty.  

 
3) Related Information Report (RI)  

 
If the information presented by the caller does not qualify as a new report of 
suspected child abuse or neglect, but there is a pending or undetermined 
investigation involving one of the subjects and the reporter’s information is 
related to the pending investigation, the CFW shall document the information in a 
RI.  New or additional allegations may be added to a pending report via a RI, if 
the newly reported incident relates to the pending investigation.   

 
New subjects unrelated to the pending investigation should never be added to 
the investigation on the RI.  Additional allegations or perpetrators shall not be 
added to a previously indicated report via an RI, except in death by abuse or 
neglect cases.  

 
Adding a death allegation to an indicated report: 

 
In death cases only, it is permissible to add allegations to an indicated report 
without taking a SOR. Example: A child has been hospitalized for ten months for 
serious head injuries that resulted from an indicated incident of abuse. Upon the 
death of the child, Allegation #1 should be added in a RI, if the child’s death is 
the result of the child’s original injury.  Verification that the child’s original injury 
resulted in the child’s death must be provided by a medical examiner, pathologist, 
coroner, or by the treating physician. 

 
The CFW shall document the information in a RI intake, assign the new 
allegation, link the RI to the corresponding SCR number and sequence and 
transmit the RI to the applicable Child Protection unit within one hour of receipt.  
In doing so, the CFW shall also complete all other procedures for taking reports 
of Death by abuse or neglect.  

 
Note: Child Protection units shall notify the SCR if they determine that an RI 

report forwarded to them should have been taken as an SOR or an IOR. 
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i) Information That Does Not Meet Criteria for Investigation 
 

1) Information Only (IO) 
 

SCR will not accept information (IO) from field staff when the call is made 
for case documentation purposes.   

 
A) The CFW shall perform the required person searches for all intakes.  If 

there is an open case, document the information  in an Information Only 
intake, print the supervisor approved IO, write “Attn: (caseworker’s 
name)” and the worker’s RSF on the top of the printed intake, scan and 
then email the completed IO to the caseworker.  

 
B) An IO can be appropriate when an investigation is completed, but is on a 

20-day hold as SACWIS will not allow an RI to be completed for 
investigations on 20-day hold.  An IO for this purpose should be 
forwarded to the attention of the Child Protection Supervisor of the 
applicable RSF. 

 
C) The CFW shall generate an IO in order to create a CAC referral when the 

caller attempts to make a report of sexual abuse or sexual assault but the 
perpetrator is not eligible.  After documenting the caller’s information and 
supervisory approval, the IO must be printed, at the top of the page cross 
off “Information Only” and write “CAC referral” across the top of the 
page.  The IO is now ready to fax to the appropriate RSF.  If a service area 
does not have a CAC, the referral (IO) must be sent to the local DCFS 
field office to be given to local law enforcement. 

 
D) Requests for child protection courtesy interviews are completed as IOs.  

Such requests are completed when a child protection services agency from 
another state requests the Department’s assistance for one of their cases.  
Courtesy interviews usually involve one or more subjects of the other 
state’s investigation either residing in Illinois or being temporarily located 
in Illinois.   

 
To complete a courtesy interview request as an IO, the CFW shall 
document the same information as a child abuse or neglect report, 
including the names and contact information of the subjects and the 
subject’s current location in Illinois.  The supervisor approved IO should 
be printed, “Information Only” struck thru, and “CPS Courtesy Interview” 
written across the top of the page.  The completed IO must then be faxed 
to the appropriate RSF. 

 
Note: When assessing a potential case of child abuse or neglect where 

one or more subjects is living or temporarily staying in another 
state, consult the in-state/out-of-state grid chart located in 
Procedures 300.20 (g)(7) Out of State Reports.   
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2) Child Welfare Services (CWS) Referrals  

 
A CWS Referral may be appropriate when the caller describes a situation that 
does not qualify for a report of suspected child abuse or neglect, but nevertheless 
presents circumstances that indicate a service need (e.g. dependency, home 
management and life skills assistance, emotional support, parenting and 
parent/child conflict, etc.).   

 
Note: A CWS referral can be accepted to assess the family for service needs and 

linkage to available local community resources.    
 

A) Who May Refer 
 

CWS referrals may only be taken from the adult subjects of the referral, 
others residing in the subject’s home or a mandated reporter.  A child who 
lives in the residence may request services in certain circumstances.  
Neighbors, friends, relatives, cannot make a CWS referral; however the 
CFW shall explain to an ineligible caller who is eligible to make the 
referral.  A CWS referral can be made to the Hotline or directly to the 
local field office. 

 
SCR will not complete referrals at the request of DCFS field staff.  
Field staff can create CWS intakes on their own.   

 
B) Response to Requests for Child Welfare Services 

 
Department staff who provide child welfare services, including Child 
Protection Specialists, shall address CWS referrals which are forwarded by 
the SCR as well as those received directly from police, social service 
agencies, schools, medical personnel, other public or private agencies, or 
household/family members.  
 

C) Types of CWS Referrals  
 
Types of CWS referrals include, but are not limited to: 

 
i) Dependency 

 
Under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 [705 ILCS 405], only police 
can take limited custody of dependent children.  The date and time 
of the limited custody should be documented in the narrative of a 
CWS dependency intake with an Action Needed response code, 
when appropriate. 
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ii) Extended Family Support Program (EFSP) 

 
A child is not considered neglected if he/she is left in the care of a 
relative who is willing to continue their care and there are no other 
risk factors present.  The Extended Family Support Program 
(EFSP) provides short term services to a child residing in the care 
of a relative for the foreseeable future for which short-term 
interventions will stabilize the relative household and allow for 
continued care of the child in the household.  Children served by 
this program may not have a legal relationship with the 
Department and must be referred for EFSP services by the 
caregiver they currently reside with by contacting either the State 
Central Register, local Child Protection staff, or the Post Adoption 
Unit. EFSP services may consist of guidance in obtaining legal 
guardianship of the child, counseling services, benefits advocacy, 
educational advocacy, medical advocacy, housing advocacy, 
mediation, and referrals for legal services. 

 
For eligibility requirements to EFSP, refer to Procedures 302.389, 
Extended Family Support Program  

 
The following information should be included in an EFSP intake: 

 
• Date of the caregiver/child(ren)’s last contact with the 

biological parent(s) or legal guardian;  
 

• Service needs of the child/caregiver; 
 

• How and why the child came to live with the caregiver; 
 

• Length of time the child has been living with the caregiver; 
 

• Child’s physical and/or mental disabilities, if any; 
 

• Other services currently being received by the child, if any; 
 

• Behavior problems the child regularly exhibits, if any; and 
 

• Names, birthdates and any other identifying information for 
both biological parents, if available.  Include at least one 
biological parent as a participant; if one parent has custody 
of the child in question, that parent should be the one 
included.   
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2020.08 
 

RULES AND PROCEDURES 300, REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

 

 

DATE: April 13, 2020 
 

TO: All DCFS and POS Staff 
 

FROM: Marc D. Smith, Acting Director 
 

EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 

I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this policy guide is to inform staff and mandated reporters of changes 

pursuant to Public Act 101-0564 and Public Act 101-0237 which amend the Abused and 

Neglected Child Reporting Act and require amendments to Rules 300, Reports of Child 

Abuse and Neglect.  These statutory changes are effective January 1, 2020.    
 

To the extent that any of the required activities in Section IV and V differ from Rules 300.20 

and 300.30 or Procedures 300.15 and 300.30, this Policy Guide controls.   
 

Amendments to the Rules and Procedures 300 are being drafted and will be released in the 

near future.  
 

II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

DCFS Staff, POS Staff and Mandated Reporters 
 

III. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY 
 

Public Act 101-0564 redefines who is statutorily recognized as Mandated Reporters in the 

State of Illinois, and what is to be considered “a child known to them in their professional or 

official capacities”. It prescribes reporting requirements when there are two or more persons 

working together who share concerns about whether a child is abused or neglected and  who 

else can make a report with reasonable cause. It also adds mandated reporter training 

frequency and requirements, including sources of training for mandated reporters and 

licensed practitioners and reporting of completed training.  
 

Public Act 101-0237 establishes that when a Mandated Reporter makes a report to the State 

Central Register and there is a prior indicated report of abuse or neglect or there is a prior 

open service case involving any member of the household that the Department must 

minimally accept a report as a child welfare services referral.  If the family refuses to 

cooperate or refuses access to the home or children, then a child protection service 

investigation shall be initiated if the facts meet the criteria to accept a report.  
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IV. NEW RULE/PROCEDURE SECTION  

(Statutory changes that are direct quotes from the Act are italicized and underlined. All other 

changes are underlined.) 
 

Pursuant to Public Act 101-0564 the following revisions will be included in Rules 300: 
 

Rules 300.20 and Procedures 300.15, Definitions  

(The following two definitions have been added into Rules 300.20 and Procedures 300.15) 
 

"Child welfare services referral" means an assessment of the family for service needs 

and linkage to available local community resources for the purpose of preventing or 

remedying or assisting in the solution of problems which may result in the neglect, 

abuse, exploitation, or delinquency of children, and as further defined in Department 

rules and procedures. [325 ILCS 5/7.01.] 
 

"Prior open service case" means a case in which the Department has provided 

services to the family either directly or through a purchase of service agency. [325 

ILCS 5/7.01.] 

 

Rule Section 300.30  Reporting Child Abuse or Neglect to the Department 

(The following is the proposed Rule Section 300.30 in its entirety.  Staff should be using this 

Guide for Rule Section 300.30.) 
 

a) Reports of suspected child abuse or neglect may be immediately made to the State 

Central Register via its toll-free number [1-800-25ABUSE] at any time, day or night, 

or on any day of the week. Reports may also be made to the nearest Department 

office.  The Department encourages use of the toll-free hotline number. 
 

b) Persons Mandated to Report Child Abuse or Neglect 
 

The following persons are required to immediately report to the Department when 

they have reasonable cause to believe that a child known to them in their 

professional or official capacities may be an abused child or a neglected child:   
 

1) Medical personnel, including any: physician licensed to practice medicine in 

any of its branches (medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy); resident; 

intern; medical administrator or personnel engaged in the examination, care, 

and treatment of persons; psychiatrist; surgeon; dentist; dental hygienist; 

chiropractic  physician; podiatric physician; physician assistant; emergency 

medical technician; acupuncturist; registered nurse; licensed practical 

nurse; advanced practice registered nurse; genetic counselor; respiratory 

care practitioner; home health aide; or certified nursing assistant.  
 

2) Social services and mental health personnel, including any: licensed 

professional counselor; licensed clinical professional counselor; licensed 

social worker; licensed clinical social worker; licensed psychologist or 

assistant working under the direct supervision of a psychologist; associate 

licensed marriage and family therapist; licensed marriage and family 

therapist; field personnel of the Departments of Healthcare and Family 
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Services, Public Health, Human Services, Human Rights, or Children and 

Family Services; supervisor or administrator of the General Assistance 

program established under Article VI of the Illinois Public Aid Code; social 

services administrator; or substance abuse treatment personnel.    
 

3) Crisis intervention personnel, including any:  crisis line or hotline personnel; 

or domestic violence program personnel.   
 

4) Education personnel, including any: school personnel (including 

administrators and certified and non-certified school employees); personnel 

of institutions of higher education; educational advocate assigned to a child 

in accordance with the School Code; member of a school board or the 

Chicago Board of Education or the governing body of a private school (but 

only to the extent required under Section 4 (d) of the Abused and Neglect 

Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5/4(d)]; or truant officer.   
 

5) Recreation or athletic program or facility personnel.   
 

6) Child care personnel, including any: early intervention provider as defined in 

the Early Intervention Services System Act; director or staff assistant of a 

nursery school or a child day care center; or foster parent, homemaker, or 

child care worker.   
 

7) Law enforcement personnel, including any: law enforcement officer; field 

personnel of the Department of Juvenile Justice; field personnel of the 

Department of Corrections; probation officer; or animal control officer or 

field investigator of the Department of Agriculture's Bureau of Animal Health 

and Welfare.   
 

8) Any funeral home director; funeral home director and embalmer; funeral 

home employee; coroner; or medical examiner.   
 

9) Any member of the clergy.    
 

10) Any physician, physician assistant, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, 

medical technician, certified nursing assistant, licensed social worker, 

licensed clinical social worker, or licensed professional counselor of any 

office, clinic, or any other physical location that provides abortions, abortion 

referrals, or contraceptives.  [325 ILCS 5/4]   
 

c) When 2 or more persons who work within the same workplace and are required to 

report under this Act share a reasonable cause to believe that a child may be an 

abused or neglected child, one of those reporters may be designated to make a single 

report. The report shall include the names and contact information for the other 

mandated reporters sharing the reasonable cause to believe that a child may be an 

abused or neglected child. The designated reporter must provide written 

confirmation of the report to those mandated reporters within 48 hours. If 

confirmation is not provided, those mandated reporters are individually responsible 

for immediately ensuring a report is made. Nothing in this Section precludes or may 

be used to preclude any person from reporting child abuse or child neglect.   [325 

ILCS 5/4]   
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d) As used in this Section, "a child known to them in their professional or official 

capacities" means:   
 

1) the mandated reporter comes into contact with the child in the course of the 

reporter's employment or practice of a profession, or through a regularly 

scheduled program, activity, or service;   
 

2) the mandated reporter is affiliated with an agency, institution, organization, 

school, school district, regularly established church or religious 

organization, or other entity that is directly responsible for the care, 

supervision, guidance, or training of the child; or   
 

3) a person makes a specific disclosure to the mandated reporter that an 

identifiable child is the victim of child abuse or child neglect, and the 

disclosure happens while the mandated reporter is engaged in his or her 

employment or practice of a profession, or in a regularly scheduled program, 

activity, or service.    
 

Nothing in this Section requires a child to come before the mandated reporter in 

order for the reporter to make a report of suspected child abuse or child neglect. 

[325 ILCS 5/4]   
 

e) Mandated Reporter Training 
 

1) Persons required to report child abuse or child neglect as provided under 

this Section must complete an initial mandated reporter training within 3 

months of their date of engagement in a professional or official capacity as a 

mandated reporter, or within the time frame of any other applicable State 

law that governs training requirements for a specific profession, and at least 

every 3 years thereafter. The initial requirement only applies to the first time 

they engage in their professional or official capacity. In lieu of training every 

3 years, medical personnel, as listed in paragraph (1) of Section 4(a)  of the 

Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, must meet the requirements 

described in subsection (k) of the Act.  [325 ILCS 5/4] 
 

2) The trainings shall be in-person or web-based, and shall include, at a 

minimum, information on the following topics:  
 

A) indicators for recognizing child abuse and child neglect, as defined 

under this Act;  
 

B) the process for reporting suspected child abuse and child neglect in 

Illinois as required by this Act and the required documentation;  
 

C) responding to a child in a trauma-informed manner; and  
 



5 

D) understanding the response of child protective services and the role 

of the reporter after a call has been made. Child-serving 

organizations are encouraged to provide in-person annual trainings. 
 

3) The mandated reporter training shall be provided through the Department, 

through an entity authorized to provide continuing education for 

professionals licensed through the Department of Financial and Professional 

Regulation, the State Board of Education, the Illinois Law Enforcement 

Training Standards Board, or the Department of State Police, or through an 

organization approved by the Department to provide mandated reporter 

training. The Department must make available a free web-based training for 

reporters.   
 

A free online mandated reporter training is available on the DCFS Website 

for all mandated reporters and the general public.   
 

4) Each mandated reporter shall report to his or her employer and, when 

applicable, to his or her licensing or certification board that he or she 

received the mandated reporter training.  The mandated reporter shall 

maintain records of completion.    
 

5) Beginning January 1, 2021, if a mandated reporter receives licensure from 

the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation or the State Board 

of Education, and his or her profession has continuing education 

requirements, the training mandated under this Section shall count toward 

meeting the licensee's required continuing education hours.  
 

6) Medical personnel, as listed in paragraph (1) of Section 4(a) of the Abused 

and Neglected Child Reporting Act who work with children in their 

professional or official capacity, must complete mandated reporter training 

at least every 6 years. Such medical personnel, if licensed, must attest at each 

time of licensure renewal on their renewal form that they understand they are 

a mandated reporter of child abuse and neglect, that they are aware of the 

process for making a report, that they know how to respond to a child in a 

trauma-informed manner, and that they are aware of the role of child 

protective services and the role of a reporter after a call has been made.    
 

7) In lieu of repeated training, medical personnel, as listed in paragraph (1) of 

Section 4(a), of the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, who do not 

work with children in their professional or official capacity, may instead 

attest each time at licensure renewal on their renewal form that they 

understand they are a mandated reporter of child abuse and neglect, that 

they are aware of the process for making a report, that they know how to 

respond to a child in a trauma-informed manner, and that they are aware of 

the role of child protective services and the role of a reporter after a call has 

been made. Nothing in this paragraph precludes medical personnel from 

completing mandated reporter training and receiving continuing education 

credits for that training. [325 ILCS 5/4]   
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f) Acknowledgment of Reporting Responsibility 
 

Individuals who became mandated reporters on or after July 1, 1986, by virtue of 

their employment shall sign statements acknowledging that they are mandated to 

report suspected child abuse and neglect in accordance with Section 4 of the Act.  

The statement shall be on a form prescribed by the Department but provided by the 

employer.  (See Appendix A.)  The statement shall be signed before beginning 

employment and shall be retained by the employer as a permanent part of the 

personnel record. 
 

Note: The Department shall provide copies of this Act, upon request, to all 

employers employing persons who shall be required under the provisions of 

this Section to report under this Act.  [325 ILCS 5/4]  
 

g) Interference with Reporting Prohibited 
 

1) Whenever such person is required to report under the Act in his or her 

capacity as member of the staff of a medical or other public or private 

institution, school, facility or agency, or as a member of the clergy, he shall 

make report immediately to the Department in accordance with provisions of 

the Act and may also notify the person in charge of such institution, school, 

facility or agency, or church, synagogue, temple, mosque, or other religious 

institution, or his designated agent that such a report has been made.  Under 

no circumstances shall any person in charge of such institution, school, 

facility or agency, or church, synagogue, temple, mosque or other religious 

institution, or designated agent to whom such notification has been made 

exercise any control, restraint, modification or other change in the report or 

the forwarding of such report to the Department. [325 ILCS 5/4]  
 

2) Any person who knowingly transmits a false report to the Department 

commits the offense of disorderly conduct under subsection (a)(7) of Section 

26-1 of the Criminal Code of 2012.  A violation of this provision is a Class 4 

felony. 

 

 Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of [Section 4 

of the Act] other than a second or subsequent violation of transmitting a 

false report as described in the preceding paragraph, is guilty of a Class A 

misdemeanor for a first violation and a Class 4 felony for a second or 

subsequent violation. [325 ILCS 5/4] 
 

3) No employer shall discharge, demote or suspend, or threaten to discharge, 

demote or suspend, or in any manner discriminate against any employee who 

makes any good faith oral or written report of suspected child abuse or 

neglect, or who is or will be a witness or testify in any investigation or 

proceeding concerning a report of suspected child abuse or neglect. [325 

ILCS 5/9.1] 
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h) Consequences of Failure to Report 

 

1) The privileged quality of communication between any professional person 

required to report and his or her patient or client shall not apply to situations 

involving abused or neglected children and shall not constitute grounds for 

failure to report as required by the Act or constitute grounds for failure to 

share information or documents with the Department during the course of a 

child abuse or neglect investigation. If requested by the professional, the 

Department shall confirm in writing that the information or documents 

disclosed by the professional were gathered in the course of a child abuse or 

neglect investigation. [325 ILCS 5/4] 

 

Mandated reporters who willfully fail to report suspected child abuse or 

neglect are subject to license suspension or revocation in accordance with, 

but not limited to, the following statutes: 
 

A) Nurse Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 65]; 
 

B) Medical Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 60]; 
 

C) Podiatric Medical Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 100]; 
 

D) Clinical Psychologist Licensing Act [225 ILCS 15]; 
 

E) Clinical Social Worker and Social Work Practice Act [225 ILCS 20]; 
 

F) The School Code [105 ILCS 5];  
 

G) The Illinois Dental Practice Act [225 ILCS 25]; 
 

H) Physician Assistant Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 95]; 
 

I) Illinois Optometric Practice Act of 1987 [225 ILCS 80]; 
 

J) Illinois Physical Therapy Act [225 ILCS 90]; and 
 

K) Illinois Athletic Trainers Act [225 ILCS 5]. 

 

2) Any physician who willfully fails to report child abuse or neglect shall be 

referred to the Illinois State Medical Disciplinary Board for action and 

similar referrals are required for dentists and dental hygienists.  Any other 

person required to report suspected child abuse or neglect who willfully fails 

to report such abuse or neglect shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for 

a first violation and a Class 4 felony for a second or subsequent violation.  

[325 ILCS 5/4.02] 

 

3) Members of clergy of any religious denomination accredited by the religious 

body to which he or she belongs shall not be compelled to disclose a 

confession or admission made to him or her in his or her professional 

character or as a spiritual advisor. 
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i) Written Confirmation of Reports 

 

Mandated reporters shall confirm their telephone report in writing on a form 

prescribed by the Department within 48 hours after the oral report.  The Department 

shall provide forms to mandated reporters--one for the exclusive use of medical 

professionals (CANTS 4 Written Confirmation of Suspected Child 

Abuse/Neglect Report: Medical Professionals) and another for use by all other 

mandated reporters (CANTS 5 Written Confirmation of Suspected Child 

Abuse/Neglect Report: Mandated Reporters).  These confirmation reports shall be 

admissible as evidence in any administrative or judicial proceeding related to child 

abuse or neglect.  Local investigative staff shall transmit confirmation reports to the 

State Central Register within 24 hours after receipt. 

 

j) Other Persons May Report 
 

In addition to the persons required to report suspected cases of child abuse or child 

neglect under this Section, any other person may make a report if such person has 

reasonable cause to believe a child may be an abused child or a neglected child.  

[325 ILCS 5/4]  

 

k) Consequences of False Reporting 

 

Any person who knowingly transmits a false report to the Department commits the 

offense of disorderly conduct under subsection (a)(7) of Section 26-1of the Criminal 

Code of 2012. A violation of this provision is a Class 4 felony. 

 

Any person who knowingly and willfully violates any provision of [Section 4 of the  

Act] other than a second or subsequent violation of submitting a false report as 

described in the preceding paragraph is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor for a first 

violation and a Class 4 felony for a second or subsequent violation. [325 ILCS 5/4] 

The Department shall refer cases of false reporting to the local State's Attorney when 

the reporter is known. 
 

l) Cooperation in Court or Administrative Hearings 
 

Any person who makes a report or who investigates a report under the Act shall 

testify fully in any judicial proceeding or administrative hearing resulting from such 

report, as to any evidence of abuse or neglect, or the cause thereof. Any person who 

is required to report a suspected case of abuse or neglect shall testify fully in any 

administrative hearing resulting from such report, as to any evidence of abuse or 

neglect or the cause thereof. No evidence shall be excluded by reason of any common 

law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the alleged 

perpetrator of abuse or neglect, or the child subject of the report and any person who 

is required to report a suspected case of abuse or neglect or the person making or 

investigating the report. [325 ILCS 5/10] 
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m) Referrals to Public Health 
 

All mandated reporters listed in subsection (b)(1) through (10) of this rule may refer 

to the Department of Public Health any pregnant person in Illinois who is addicted as 

defined in the Alcoholism and Other Drug Abuse and Dependency Act [20 ILCS 

301]. 
 

n) Depending upon Spiritual Means Through Prayer Alone for the Treatment or 

Cure of Disease or Remedial Care 
 

A child whose parent, guardian or custodian in good faith selects and depends upon 

spiritual means through prayer alone for the treatment or cure of disease or remedial 

care may be considered neglected or abused, but not for the sole reason that his 

parent, guardian, or custodian accepts and practices such beliefs.  [325 ILCS 5/4]  

Where the circumstances indicate harm or substantial risk of harm to the child's 

health or welfare and medical care necessary to treat or prevent that harm or risk of 

harm is not being provided because a parent or other person responsible for the 

child's welfare depends upon such spiritual means, the child shall be subject to the 

requirements of the Act for the reporting of, investigation of, and provision of 

protective services with respect to the child and his or her health needs. 
 

Pursuant to Public Act 101-0237 the following revisions will be included in Procedures 

300 Section 300.30 (i)(2): 

 

Child Welfare Services (CWS) Referrals  
 

When a Call Floor Worker receives information from a mandated reporter and the 

information reported to the Hotline does not meet the requirements under ANCRA 

for an investigation, and there is a prior indicated report of abuse or neglect, or there 

is a prior open service case involving any member of the household, a CWS referral 

will be completed.  

 

Response to Requests for Child Welfare Services 
 

If the family refuses to cooperate or refuses access to the home or children, then a 

child protective services investigation shall be initiated, if the facts otherwise meet 

the criteria to accept a report. 
 

V.  NEW, REVISED AND/OR OBSOLETE FORMS 
 

There are no known form changes at this time. 

 

VI. QUESTIONS 

 

Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 

Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at DCFS.Policy.  Non-Outlook users may e-mail 

questions to DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov.  During the Department’s response to COVID-19 

the listed phone number is being checked remotely, but we do ask that if you need immediate 

assistance Monday – Friday (8:30 – 5:00) please utilize the email address provided.   
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VII. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 

 

File this Policy Guide after Rules 300.20; Rules 300.30; and Procedures 300.15 and 

Procedures 300.30. 
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Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Procedures 300 Section 300.30 – (13) 

 
iii) Minors Requiring Authoritative Intervention (MRAI) MRAI 

services are for children/youth ages 11 to 17 who are chronic 
runaways and/or beyond the control of their parents.  The MRAI 
program is intended to divert these children/youth from the judicial 
system.  The Department of Human Services contracted agencies 
provide services to children/youth who are unwilling to return 
home or whose parent is unable to control their behavior. 

 
• Making the Referral:  When a child/youth is unwilling to 

return home and there has been no police involvement, the 
caller should be directed to contact local law enforcement for 
assistance or take the child to a police station.  Should an 
officer take limited custody of the child/youth, the officer 
should involve the MRAI agency serving the geographical 
area.  In situations where the parent refuses to allow the child 
to return home and refuses to arrange for an appropriate 
alternative placement, the CFW shall take a report of alleged 
neglect, Allegation #84, Lockout.  The decision to accept a 
Lockout report is based solely on the actions of the parent 
and not on whether the child/youth is willing to return 
home. 

 
When an MRAI referral is based on a child/youth’s out of 
control behavior and the parent has been unable to contact the 
local MRAI agency on his/her own, or when a referral is 
coming from law enforcement, the CFW should make the 
referral by completing a CWS intake and checking “MRAI” on 
the decision tab.   

 
If law enforcement does not know how to contact the MRAI 
agency serving their area, instruct the officer to contact the 
Comprehensive Community Based Youth Services 
(CCBYS) Information Line at 800-786-2929 for assistance.  
Under no circumstance should the CFW give the after-
hours phone numbers for MRAI agencies to the general 
public.   

 
• Younger Children Out of Control: When the out of control 

child is under 11 years of age, a CWS referral may be taken to  
assess the service needs of the family and to link them to 
available local community resources.   
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D) Changing a Referral Type 
 

i) Upon completion of person searches, if a pending report is 
discovered regarding any subject, the CFW shall change the CWS 
to a RI of the pending report and forward the RI to the assigned 
Child Protection Specialist. 

 

ii) If a CWS referral is made regarding a family who has an open 
service case or a pending CWS referral, the CFW shall document 
the information in an IO and send to the assigned caseworker at the 
appropriate RSF.  When there is an identified service need for open 
cases involving an adoption subsidy or subsidized guardianship, a 
new CWS referral may be completed. 

 

Note: It is not appropriate to link an unrelated CWS referral to a pending 
investigation as a RI even though they may involve the same child. 
(e.g., during a pending facility investigation, the family of a victim 
calls requesting assistance totally unrelated to the pending 
investigation.) 

 

Note: CFWs shall not request a LEADS check for a CWS referral, 
except when notified by the police that a child is in custody and a 
LEADS check is necessary for placement purposes. 

 

3) Licensing Referrals 
 

A) If a caller’s information does not meet the criteria for a report of suspected 
child abuse or neglect, but does identify problems in a licensed child care 
facility, the call shall be taken as a “Licensing Referral” intake.  These 
intakes must be printed and transmitted to the Central Office of Licensing 
(COoL) in order to be sent to the local licensing unit. Licensing issues for 
facilities include, but are not limited to, corporal punishment, use of 
inappropriate language, inadequate staffing patterns, inadequate space, or 
a facility over capacity. Any person who has knowledge of a possible 
licensing violation occurring in a child care facility licensed by the State 
of Illinois can make this type of report. 

 

B) A Licensing Referral should be completed for an unlicensed day care 
facility where it appears the day care owner provides care for too many 
children to be exempt from licensure.  To be exempt from licensing as a 
day care home, Rule 377, Facilities and Programs Exempt from 
Licensure, stipulates: 

 

“Family homes that care for no more than 3 children under the age of 12 
or that receive only children from a single household, for less than 24 
hours per day, are exempt from licensure as day care homes.  The three 
children to whom this exemption applies includes the family's natural or 
adopted children and any other persons under the age of 12 whether 
related or unrelated to the operator of the day care home.” In almost all 
other circumstances, the home must be licensed. 
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4) Deaths that may not meet the criteria for investigation 
 

If a caller’s information regarding the death of a child does not meet the criteria 
for a report, the death shall be documented as an Unusual death.   
 
See Procedures 300, Appendix K, for definitions of unsafe sleep conditions and 
definitions that relate to the unusual death of an infant. 
 
Documenting an Unusual Death 
 

• SCR documents all child deaths in an intake.  The CFW shall 
document the information as a SUID/Unusual Death, print the 
intake and write “Death” across the top, and immediately walk the 
printed intake up to the Call Floor Supervisor on duty.  

 
The CFW or a Call Floor Supervisor on duty shall complete the 
Death Log and all person searches, but shall not request a LEADS 
check for SUID or Unusual Deaths.  If the deceased child is a 
DCFS ward, the CFW shall document the name and contact 
information of the caseworker in the intake narrative, check the 
ward box on the intake decision tab and write “Death of a Ward” at 
the top of the printed intake.  

 
• All calls concerning a SUID/Unusual Death report require 

documentation in an intake, even if the caller is only requesting a 
person search. 

 
5) Mandated Caller/No Report Taken (MCNRT) 

 
When a mandated reporter calls SCR and reports an incident or situation that does 
not qualify as a report of suspected child abuse or neglect, referral for services, 
licensing referral, or any other type of intake, the CFW shall document the call as 
a Mandated Caller No Report Taken (MCNRT).  Examples of reasons a CFW 
might document a MCNRT include, but are not limited to: 
 
• An perpetrator who is not eligible; 
 
• A victim age 18-22  who does not reside in a licensed facility (after 

ensuring the reporter has been directed to call the Office of the Inspector 
General of the Department of Human Services); 

 
• No child abuse or neglect issues are reported; or  
 
• The need for additional information to determine whether the reporter’s 

concern qualifies as a child abuse or neglect report. 
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To complete a MCNRT, the CFW must perform a person search, briefly describe 
the situation reported and document the reason(s) the report was not accepted.  If 
there is an open DCFS case or pending child protection investigation a MCNRT 
should not be taken.  The CFW should send an IO to the appropriate caseworker 
or an RI to the assigned Child Protection Specialist, if the caller’s information is 
relevant to the pending investigation.   
 
The CFW shall inform the caller that their information will not be taken as a 
report of suspected child abuse or neglect, the reason why the call was not 
accepted as a report and that the caller’s information will be documented and 
retained on file at SCR for six months.  The mandated reporter should be given 
the intake number of the MCNRT for future reference.  If the mandated reporter 
wishes to dispute the CFWs decision, the CFW shall forward the MCNRT to the 
supervisor on duty for review with a note in the narrative section stating that 
the mandated reporter disputes the decision.  The supervisor on duty shall then 
call the mandated reporter for further consultation. 
 
A supervisor must review and approve all MCNRTs.  The completed MCNRT 
serves as documentation and protection for both the mandated reporter and the 
CFW.  MCNRTs are never transmitted to an RSF. 

 
6) Calls Concerning Unprofessional Behavior of a Child Protection Specialist 
 

Any call received from a mandated reporter regarding alleged unprofessional 
behavior by a Child Protection Specialist (e.g., apparent intoxication, a 
threatening demeanor or other similar unprofessional behavior) shall be 
documented in an I & R, upon consultation with the Call Floor Supervisor on 
duty, and shall then be immediately communicated to the appropriate Area 
Administrator so that the Area Administrator may respond to the mandated 
reporter’s concern.   

 
7) Information and Referral (I & R) 
 

This intake type is used when providing general information and/or making a 
verbal referral to the caller to use the services of another agency. 

 
8) Hang Up/Wrong Number 
 

This intake type is used when receiving an incoming call and the caller identifies 
they have called the wrong number or just hang up with no response. 

 
9) Crank Calls/Harassment 
 

This intake type is used when it is quickly evident the caller has no serious 
intention for using the Hotline for its intended purposes. 
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10) Transfer 
 

This intake type is used to transfer the caller to another SCR staff, supervisor, or 
other Department unit.  

 
11) SCR Maintenance 

 
This intake type is primarily used to assist field staff with a particular SCR 
number or SACWIS issue.  It would be appropriate to use this category when 
completing a background check and releasing information about a pending case to 
a police officer, physician, or another state’s child protection unit.   

 
12) Miscellaneous Calls 

 
This intake type should be used rarely.  It should only be used for calls which do 
not fit any other category.   

 
j) Documentation of Unusual Incident Reports Concerning DCFS Wards with 

Sexually Problematic Behaviors  
 

When a caller alleges that a DCFS ward (regardless of age) has been sexually aggressive 
or has exhibited sexually problematic behaviors, including consensual sex involving 
another ward, the CFW shall complete a CFS 119, Unusual Incident Report.  A CFS 
119 is completed only when a caller reports sexual abuse or exploitation by a ward, 
including situations in which a ward is exhibiting sexually aggressive or problematic 
behavior.  A CFS 119 must be accompanied by an IO to the caseworker documenting 
the incident and the notation “CFS 119 completed” in the narrative.  

 
Note: CFWs should remind POS workers who complete the unusual incident report to 

use the CFS 119 rather than the private agency’s UIR form. 
 
k) Educational Neglect 
 

DCFS does not accept or investigate reports of educational neglect.  Each school district 
employs truant officers who handle issues involving school attendance.  CFWs should 
refer all callers to the child's school or the school's district office to report chronic non-
attendance.  

 
The CFW shall complete an Educational Neglect form to document calls from 
individuals who are not school staff but know of children who are of age and are not 
enrolled in school.  Designated SCR staff shall mail the Educational Neglect forms to the 
appropriate Regional Superintendent of Schools for follow-up.  CFWs should not 
complete an educational neglect form without enough identifying information to 
locate the child. 
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l) Reporting Unusual Incidents 
 

CFWs periodically need to document unusual calls to the hotline, such as callers who 
threaten staff or make persistent crank/obscene calls.  The CFW shall alert the Call Floor 
Supervisor on duty or an SCR Administrator when such a call is received.  The Call Floor 
Supervisor on duty or SCR Administrator shall contact appropriate Department 
personnel, when necessary.  If a CFW believes that someone’s life is in immediate 
danger, based on a caller’s threat or information about a threat, the CFW shall call the 
appropriate law enforcement agency to report the danger and notify the Call Floor 
Supervisor on duty of the incident. 

 
To document an unusual incident, the CFW shall send an email to the Call Floor 
Supervisor on duty.  The email should include the following information, if available:   

 

• Name and other identifying information of the caller; 

• Date and time of the call and the telephone number from which the call was 
received; 

• The content of the telephone call; 
• The number of previous calls made, as well as dates, times and  content of the 

previous calls, if known;  
• If a threat was made, and the reason the caller might wish to threaten 

DCFS/POS staff or a service provider; and 

• Any other pertinent information. 
 
m) Crank Calls 
 

If a crank call is received, inform the caller that this is the Child Abuse Hotline, if the 
caller does not hang up right away, do not hesitate to hang up.  If a crank caller 
persistently calls the hotline, the CFW shall notify the Call Floor Supervisor on duty of 
the crank calls via email and consult with the Call Floor Supervisor on duty, as needed.    

 
n) Referrals Involving Developmentally Delayed Adults (Age 18 – 59) Who Do Not 

Live in a DCFS Licensed Facility 
 

When SCR receives a report of suspected abuse, neglect or financial exploitation of a 
disabled adult between the ages of 18 and 59 years who does not reside  in a DCFS 
licensed facility, the CFW shall instruct the caller to contact the Department of Human 
Services (DHS) Office of Inspector General and shall provide the caller with the state-
wide 24-hour toll free  number (866-800-1409).  If the caller provides the CFW with 
enough information, the CFW may contact the DHS OIG to make the report of possible 
disabled adult abuse/neglect. 
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o) Referrals Involving Elder Caregivers and Adults over Age 60 
 

When SCR receives a report of suspected abuse, neglect or financial exploitation of older 
caregivers and adults over age 60, the CFW shall instruct the caller to contact the 
Department on Aging’s Senior Helpline (800-252-8966).  If the caller provides the CFW 
with enough information, the CFW may contact the Senior Helpline to make a report of 
possible elder abuse/neglect.   

 

p) Informal Referrals 
 

If the caller desires services or information not appropriate for a CWS referral, use the 
resource information available in the reference fan located at each call floor work station 
and refer the caller to the most appropriate agency or service provider. 

 

q) Requests for Information 
 

1) Confidentiality of Child Abuse or Neglect Information 
 

All information regarding reports of child abuse or neglect received by the hotline 
is confidential. Only five categories of individuals (listed below) are permitted to 
receive report information by telephone without the consent of the report subjects.  
Information can be provided only when DCFS receives an appropriate written or 
oral request for information.  See Rule 431.80 and 431.90, as well as Procedures 
431.40, Release of Client Record Information to Persons or Entities with 
Appropriate Written or Oral Request. 

 

A) Individuals Who Are Able to Receive Information From Hotline Staff: 
 

• Child Protection staff, when the information sought is relevant to a 
pending report of child abuse or neglect; 

 

• Law enforcement officials investigating a report of child abuse/neglect 
or determining whether a child should be taken into protective 
custody; 

 

• A Physician examining or treating a child who needs information to 
determine whether a child is abuse or neglected, or to determine 
whether a child should be taken into protective custody;  

 

• Coroners and Medical Examiners  who are performing autopsies or 
scene investigations on subjects of a death report; and   

 

• Out-of-state child protection agencies involved in a child abuse or 
neglect investigation. 

 
See Rule 431.80, Disclosure of Records of Child Abuse and Neglect 
Investigations. 

 

Verification of Caller’s Identity:  The requestor’s identity and authority 
to receive the information must be verified prior to providing any 
requested information.  CFWs MUST NEVER PROVIDE 
INFORMATION TO UNKNOWN REQUESTORS. 
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B) Verifying Caller’s Identity 
 

i) At times, law enforcement officers call the hotline to obtain 
information regarding DCFS involvement with a family.  In an 
emergency situation, it may be necessary for the CFW to assist law 
enforcement by providing essential information regarding the 
family in order for the officer to make immediate and vital 
decisions regarding a child’s safety.  Only pertinent information 
concerning the current emergency situation should be released.  
Information can only be released after identity verification of 
the caller. 

 
Regarding closed service cases and indicated investigations, the 
CFW may release limited information to a law enforcement officer 
when such information is directly related to a police investigation 
and only once the CFW has verified the officer’s identity with 
his/her police department or precinct. 

 
In non-emergency situations, it is not required for the CFW to 
release information concerning a pending report over the phone.  
An officer investigating a case related to a pending report  should 
be given the assigned Child Protection Specialist’s contact 
information and urged to contact him/her or his/her supervisor. 

 
ii) Verification of a caller’s identity can usually be obtained by 

checking an official telephone listing or checking with a third party 
at the main phone number of the requestor’s reported place of 
employment. 

 
The CFW shall obtain the requestor’s name, official capacity, an 
official business phone number through which his identity and 
authority to receive the information can be verified, and the phone 
number of his/her current location.  If a police officer in the field 
has provided his contact number in the field, this number must also 
be verified with police station personnel.  When in doubt of the 
requestor’s identity or authority to receive such information, the 
CFW shall deny the telephone request and instruct the requestor to 
send a notarized written request (See Procedures 431.130(b)) or 
refer the requestor to the Child Protection Specialist investigating a 
pending report.  
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CFWs shall verify the identity of the caller requesting information 
by the following methods: 

 
• DCFS and private agency staff – Ask for the worker’s name 

and identification number and compare to the information in 
the DCFS database. The ID number and name must match in 
order to release information to the requestor.  Upper-level 
DCFS administrative staff with a valid ID number can receive 
any information, including information regarding 
Undetermined and Unfounded investigations.   

 

• Law Enforcement Officer – Obtain the badge number, present 
location of the officer, officer’s beat number for the day, and/or 
the current location telephone number as well as the police 
station or precinct main non-emergency number. Call the main 
non-emergency number to verify the officer’s identity.   

 

• Physician/Coroner/Cook County Medical Examiner (CCME) – 
Request the hospital main phone number or the hospital 
department phone number from the requestor.  Verify the main 
number with directory assistance or other resource and ask to 
be transferred to the appropriate department. Once caller’s 
identity is verified, the physician, coroner or medical examiner 
should be called back and provided the information requested.   

 

• If the caller is a hospital or clinic staff member calling on 
behalf of the physician, verify that both the staff member and 
the physician are employees and are on duty.  Release 
information only if the caller is able to provide information 
verifying that the physician has reasonable cause to believe that 
the child before him/her may be abused or neglected or the 
person search is related to a SUID/Unusual Death report. 

 
C) For an Incoming Call 

 
The only time information can be released on an incoming call to the 
hotline is when the caller is a DCFS or POS employee with a valid ID 
number.  The CFW must call back all others, including doctors and police 
officers, to verify their identities.  With the exception of police officers in 
the field, no information can be released to anyone who is not at their 
place of employment, as the CFW has no way to verify the caller’s 
identity.  When a judge requests information, the CFW shall refer the 
judge to the Office of Legal Services.  Requests for information from any 
source (including probation officers) other than one of the five previously 
identified must be in writing and mailed to the SCR Administrator at 406 
E. Monroe, Station #30, Springfield, IL, 62701 or faxed to SCR at 217-
782-2701. 

 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 
October 9, 2015 – PT 2015.23 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Procedures 300 Section 300.30 – (22) 

Note: Only Child Protection Specialists, Child Protection Supervisors, 
and Area Administrators currently involved with an investigation, 
as well as upper-level DCFS administrative staff and law 
enforcement may be given the reporter’s name. Intact and 
Permanency Supervisors and Administrators shall NEVER release 
the reporter’s name. 

 
2) Caseworker Information 

 
While much of the information related to DCFS services is confidential by law, 
the CFW may share limited information with certain callers to assist with the 
provision of services, particularly emergency services. 

 
Mandated callers requesting information should be referred to the local field 
office, downstate requestors should be referred to the local office; Cook County 
requestors should be referred to case tracking at 773-371-6161.  The CFW must 
verify the caller’s identity and determine the purpose of the request before 
referring the caller to the local field office or releasing information over the 
telephone.   

 
Requests from mandated reporters for information from the database must 
concern one of two issues:   

 
1) whether the child is a ward; or  

 
2) whether there is an open service case on a specific family. 

 
NON-MANDATED REPORTERS SHOULD NEVER BE GIVEN 
INFORMATION.   
 
DCFS/POS staff should have access to this information in their own offices 
and/or from their laptop computers.  However, in after-hours emergency 
situations, Child Protection Specialists and Intact/Permanency Workers may call 
SCR for information such as legal status, placement and name of the current 
caseworker. 
 
Emergency medical and law enforcement personnel may be given information 
on the legal status of a child in care.  For additional assistance, refer these callers 
to the local field office or, if necessary, contact the appropriate on-call Child 
Protection Specialist.   
 
School personnel should be aware if a child in their school is a DCFS ward and 
should know the name of the caseworker and contact information of the foster 
parent.  The CFW should not discuss with school personnel whether there is an 
open family service case.  If school personnel want to forward information to the 
caseworker, the CFW should take an IO and forward the information on to the 
child’s caseworker. 
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Youth Crisis Agency personnel may need to determine the legal status of a child 
with whom they are working and the child’s caseworker, if one is involved.  The 
CFW may release this information in this circumstance, upon verification of the 
Youth Crisis Agency worker’s identity. 

 
3) Out-of-State Requests for History 

 
Out-of-state child protection/welfare agencies and private adoption agencies often 
contact the Hotline to request background information/history on families with 
whom Illinois DCFS has been involved in the past.  CFWs can facilitate the out-
of-state agencies’ efforts to obtain information by providing the caller with the 
following information: 

 
• Out-of-state child protection/welfare agencies:  Instruct the caller to write 

the request on their agency letterhead and fax it to the Placement 
Clearance Unit Supervisor 217-782-3991.  Have the requestor include the 
names of the family members, dates of birth, and the family’s previous 
Illinois address. 

 
• Out-of-state adoption agencies:  Instruct the caller to complete a CFS 689, 

Authorization for Background Check for Programs NOT Licensed by 
DCFS. The CFS 689 is available on the DCFS Website.  

 
If the out-of-state child protection/welfare agency or adoption agency cannot wait 
for a reply from the Placement Clearance Unit Supervisor (e.g., the information is 
necessary for a court hearing that day), the CFW may provide background 
information to the agency if the requestor faxes a written request to SCR 217-782-
2701 on the requesting agency’s letterhead. 

 
r) Requests from Medical Providers for DCFS Guardian’s Consent 
 

1) Where and When to Call for Consent 
 

Downstate medical providers must call the SCR after hours consent line 217-
782-6533, when requesting after hours consent for routine and ordinary medical 
care for wards and children who are under the age of 18 and in protective custody.  
The SCR after hours consent line is used after 5:00 PM weekdays as well as 
holidays and weekends. SCR staff shall document the request on a consent form 
and ensure a copy is sent to the DCFS or POS field office that has case 
management responsibilities for the child. 

 
Cook County medical providers seeking medical consent for wards and children 
under the age of 18 who are in protective custody during afterhours, weekends 
and holidays, must call the DCFS After Hours Service Phone 773-538-8800.   
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Any after-hours requests other than routine and ordinary medical consents 
are to be handled by CIRU in Cook County.  SCR staff shall refer medical 
providers to that unit. 

 
During regular business hours, all  medical providers statewide who need to 
request medical consent for wards, and children under the age of 18  who are 
in protective custody, should be instructed to call the Consent Unit 800-828-2179.    

 
Refer to Procedures 327, Guardianship Services, for additional information. 

 
2) Youth Age 18 and Older 
 

If a youth age 18 or older does not have the capacity to consent to medical 
treatment, a court order must be obtained to allow the DCFS Guardian/Authorized 
Agent to consent on the youth’s behalf.  The medical provider should work with 
the youth’s Permanency Worker and a DCFS Regional Counsel to obtain a court 
order for this purpose. 

 
3) Psychiatric Consents 

 
Medical personnel requesting consent to prescribe/administer psychotropic 
medications must complete the CFS 431-A, Psychotropic Medication Request 
and CFS 431-A Cover, Psychotropic Medication Request Fax Cover Sheet 
and fax these two forms to the DCFS Consent Unit (312-814-7015) Monday 
through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., or to the DCFS After Hours Service 
(773-538-8835) on on weekends and holidays.  The CFS 431-A and CFS 431-A 
Cover are available on the DCFS Website (www.DCFS.illinois.gov). 

 
Consent for all psychiatric hospital admissions can only be provided by 
Authorized Agents of the DCFS Consent Unit.  The Consent Unit will provide 
consent for all psychiatric hospitalizations statewide.   

 
Consent Unit  Phones:  800-828-2179 or 866-503-0184 
Faxes: 312-814-4128: Ordinary Medical 

312-814-7015: Psychiatric 
312-814-1391: Medication 

 
DCFS After Hours Service Phone:  773-538-8800 
Fax:  312-328-2124 

 

http://www.dcfs.illinois.gov/
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s) Assessment of Correspondence Reporting Child Abuse or Neglect 
 

Assessment and Processing 
 

When the Department receives correspondence that has been mailed, faxed, or e-mailed 
to DCFS for the purpose of reporting suspected child abuse or neglect, the CFW shall 
follow the same procedures for assessing the information and processing reports as 
assessing reports received at the hotline by phone.  The CFW shall perform the following 
when a report is generated based on the information in the correspondence: 

 
1) If the information in the correspondence qualifies as a report or RI, a copy of the 

correspondence shall be faxed by the Production Control Unit (PCU) to the 
appropriate field office with the SCR number written across the top of the copy.  

 
When a CANTS 1 is faxed to SCR from a DCFS field office and is accepted as a 
report, the CANTS 1 information shall be entered into the database and the CFW 
shall write the SCR # or Intake ID # on and “entered by___” (name of CFW) 
across the top of both pages of the CANTS 1.  A copy of the report and the 
original CANTS 1 shall be faxed back to the field office of origin. 

 
2) If the information contained in the correspondence does not meet the criteria for 

a report or RI to a pending report, then the CFW must document so in one of 
the following ways: 

 
• IO: The CFW shall complete an IO to be sent to the assigned caseworker if 

any of the subjects of the correspondence has an open service case;  
 

• Referral for Services: The CFW shall take a CWS referral if the 
correspondence meets the criteria for a referral, there is a need for services 
and the written correspondence is from a mandated reporter, the child’s 
primary caregiver, or an immediate family member who resides in the 
household; 

 
• MCNRT: If the information is from a mandated reporter and is not 

appropriate for a report of child abuse or neglect, License Referral, CWS or 
IO, the CFW shall complete a MCNRT and submit the MCNRT for 
supervisory approval.   

 
• IO not transmitted: If the correspondence is from a non-mandated reporter, 

the CFW shall complete an IO.  The completed and supervisor approved IO 
with attached correspondence shall be filed by the PCU, but shall not be 
faxed to an RSF.   

 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 
October 9, 2015 – PT 2015.23 (updated by IT dated October 5, 2017) 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Procedures 300 Section 300.30 – (26) 

t) Runaways/ Child Intake and Recovery Unit (CIRU)  
 

1) Illinois DCFS Wards / CIRU 
 

CFWs shall refer calls regarding runaway wards to the DCFS Child Intake and 
Recovery Unit (CIRU).Operating 7 days/week, 24 hours/day, CIRU staff will 
contact the assigned DCFS/POS Permanency Worker and/or the DCFS on-call 
worker, as needed.  A CFW may be asked to assess information concerning a 
parenting ward on run with her child for a possible report of child abuse or 
neglect.  For additional information concerning runaway wards, CFWs shall refer 
to Procedures 329, Locating and Returning Missing, Runaway, and 
Abducted Children. 

 
2) Out-of-State Runaway Wards 

 
When a runaway child for whom another state has legal responsibility, has been 
located in Illinois, the return of that child to his/her home state must be 
coordinated through Comprehensive Community Based Youth Services (CCBYS) 
Interstate Commission.  CFWs who receive a call concerning a runaway should 
direct the caller to contact the National Runaway Safeline at 1-800-786-2929 in 
order to connect with CCBYS.  

 
3) All Other Runaway Children (Non-Wards) 

 
When SCR receives a call regarding a child who has run away from home or a 
facility and the caller does not allege an incident of abuse or neglect, the CFW 
shall refer the caller to local law enforcement.  The law enforcement officer 
should in turn make arrangement for the child to be handed over to CCBYS for an 
eventual return.  If the caller is a law enforcement officer, the CFW shall direct 
the officer to contact CCBYS at 1-800-786-2929.   

 
u) Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) 
 

If an out-of-state agency requests a home study in order to place a child with a relative in 
Illinois or to monitor an out-of-state family while the family is in Illinois, the CFW 
should not take a CWS referral.  The CFW shall refer the caller to the ICPC office.  For 
calls received after hours, provide the caller with the ICPC phone number 217-785-2680 
and advise the caller to contact ICPC the next business day. 

 
v) Appeals of Indicated Reports 
 

All calls regarding appeals of indicated findings, administrative hearings, amendment or 
expungement of records should be referred to the Administrative Hearing Unit, Chicago:  
312-814-5540/ Downstate: 217-782-6655.  
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w) Communications/Public Relations 
 

All calls from the media must be referred to the DCFS Office of Communications at 312-
814-6847.  Staff should never answer any media questions, regardless of how simple the 
inquiry may seem.  Any requests for information about statistics or general functions of 
DCFS should also be referred to the Office of Communications.  Any time the hotline 
receives an after-hours request for statistical or general information or a call from the 
media, the call should be transferred to the Call Floor Supervisor on duty. 

 
x) Retention of Reports 
 

Retention schedules for indicated, unfounded, undetermined and pending child abuse and 
neglect records are found in Rule 431.30, Maintenance of Records.  All retained records 
are confidential and shall not be made available to the general public except as provided 
in Rule 431.85, Public Disclosure of Information Regarding Abuse or Neglect of a 
Child. 

 
Note: Within 10 days of the date of notification, the alleged perpetrator of a report that 

has an unfounded final finding may request a record of an unfounded report be 
retained as intentionally false. The intentional false report shall be maintained in 
the SCR database for a period of five years, as well as the SCR hard file, the field 
office’s child abuse and neglect investigative file and the local index.  The 
Department is not obligated to honor written requests for unfounded reports to be 
retained as intentionally false postmarked more than 10 days after the date on the 
SCR notice.  SCR shall notify the local Child Protection unit when to destroy 
records of reports retained as intentionally false. See Rule 431.30(b)(5), 
Unfounded Allegations 

 
y) Protective Service Alerts 
 

Protective Service Alerts shall be forwarded to the SCR Administrator or designee for 
processing.  The SCR Administrator will check the DCFS and Department of Human 
Services (DHS) data bases for the names of the persons listed in the alert.  If a pending 
report or open service case is found, the information will be forwarded to the assigned 
Child Protection Specialist or Intact/Permanency caseworker.  If no information is found, 
the information will be forwarded to the DCFS Help Desk and placed on the message 
board for no less than 30 days. 
 

z) Protective Custody  
 

ANCRA [325 ILCS 5/5] gives Child Protection  staff, police officers and physicians the 
authority to take temporary protective custody (PC) of a child whom they believe has 
been abused or neglected or is at substantial risk of physical injury.  Protective custody is 
valid for 48 hours (excluding weekends and holidays), within which time a court hearing 
(shelter care) must be held.  If a caller informs a CFW that PC is being taken of a child, a 
report of suspected abuse or neglect should be generated or if a report is pending the 
protective custody screen must be completed.  When PC is taken by law enforcement or a 
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physician, the name of the person who has taken PC and the time of PC must be 
documented in the report narrative.  When a physician notifies the hotline that protective 
custody has been taken of a minor because the parents’ religious beliefs do not permit 
them to consent to necessary medical procedures, the physician shall be directed to 
contact the local State’s Attorney’s Office for a petition without an intervening 
investigation, unless additional information in the report suggests abuse or neglect. 

 
Children and allegations may be added to a pending report in an RI; however the 
IOR/SOR/RI must contain allegations for each child who is taken into PC.   
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Section 300.40 Assignments to the Field 
 
a) Transmitting Reports from SCR to the Field 
 

The Call Floor Worker (CFW) shall transmit all child abuse and neglect reports to the 
field within 1 hour of receipt of the report.  During after-hours operations, the CFW shall 
verbally notify the on-call Child Protection Supervisor of reports received, per the after-
hours protocol established by the Deputy Chief of Child Protection.  As Cook County 
Child Protection Specialists are available on a 24 hour basis, CFWs are not required to 
notify them verbally of after-hours reports, but shall transmit after-hours reports 
according the after-hours protocol established by the Deputy Chief of Child Protection. 

 
b) Reports Taken at a Local DCFS Office 
 

When a person calls a local DCFS office to make a report of suspected child abuse or 
neglect and the local office has call-transferring capability, the call shall be transferred to 
the toll-free hotline number as soon as local office staff determines the caller’s intent and 
the caller agrees to be transferred.  The Department shall make every effort to 
accommodate the communication needs of those who are limited/non-English speaking 
or hearing impaired (e.g., use of interpreters, the Illinois Relay System, TDD/TTYs).  
Persons appearing at field offices with questions or concerns about potential child abuse 
or neglect should be referred to a Child Protection Specialist or caseworker who will 
answer the questions and/or assist the person in making an oral report to the SCR or take 
the report information and transmit it to SCR in accordance with these procedures. 

 
If the local office does not have call-transferring capability and the person wanting to 
make a report cannot or will not call SCR, a Child Protection Specialist or caseworker 
shall document the report information and immediately contact SCR to make the report 
on behalf of the caller.  The local worker shall make a report to SCR by phone or fax a 
completed CANTS 1 within one hour of receipt.  If an emergency response is necessary, 
the local worker shall transmit the report to SCR within two hours of the emergency 
response being met by Child Protection staff.  
 
The CFW shall perform the following tasks upon receipt of a report of suspected child 
abuse or neglect that is received at the local DCFS office: 

 
• Complete a person search of all names contained in the report; 

 
• Request a LEADS check in accordance with Procedures 300.20(g)(10); 

 
• Assign an SCR number and/or sequence; and 

 
• Transmit the report to the appropriate Child Protection team. 
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c) Reports Made by Local Field Staff 
 

If any DCFS staff person is in the field and obtains information that appears to qualify as 
a report of suspected child abuse or neglect, the staff person shall call the report in to the 
hotline or fax a completed CANTS 1 to the hotline.  If the staff person is a Child 
Protection Specialist, the Child Protection Specialist should inform the CFW of the 
actions that he or she has taken or will take to respond to the report being made.  Each 
staff person must complete a CANTS 5, Written Confirmation of a Suspected CA/N 
Report after making a report to SCR. 

 
d) Transferring Reports from One RSF to a Different RSF 
 

Call Floor Workers must use the following guidelines to make decisions for transferring 
reports from one RSF to another.  CFWs should consult with the supervisor on duty for 
situations that do not fall into the categories below.   
 
1) When SCR makes an original case assignment, the report shall be assigned to the 

RSF where the child victim resides.  If there are child victims in multiple RSFs, 
assignment should be made based on the residence of the primary victim, if there 
is one.  Example: One child is sexually abused and other children are considered 
to be at risk of sexual injury.  In such an investigation, primary assignment would 
go to the RSF of the sexually abused child and the RSF of the children at risk 
would be the parallel assignment.   

 
Other factors that must be given consideration when making case assignment are:  
 

• which RSF has the most victims;  
 

• where the incident occurred; and  
 

• where the perpetrator lives.   
 

2) Reports are frequently made involving children (usually children in Department 
care) who are in placement in a different RSF than where they originated.  The 
CFW shall determine if the caller is referring to a current incident of harm or a 
past incident of abuse or neglect and where the incident occurred.  If the incident 
of harm occurred in the substitute care placement, the case shall be assigned to the 
RSF where the placement is located and the incident occurred.  If the incident 
occurred prior to placement or during a home or family visit, the primary 
assignment shall be made as if the child were living in their home RSF, with their 
placement/current location as the parallel assignment. 

 
3) Call Floor Workers shall call local law enforcement to confirm the county in 

which a reported address is located when making case assignment and there is 
uncertainty of the location of the reported address.  When county identification is 
in doubt, confirmation of the county of the reported address must be made prior to 
making primary or parallel assignment.   
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4) All changes of case assignment due to an incorrect assignment by SCR do not 

require acceptance by the Child Protection team of the correct RSF, if the location 
of the child/family is not in dispute.  In such cases the Child Protection Supervisor 
of the erroneously assigned RSF must send prompt notification to SCR of the 
need for case reassignment in order to avoid or minimize any delay in meeting the 
initiation mandate.  The Child Protection Supervisor of the erroneously assigned 
RSF may transmit the report directly to the correct RSF, however he/she must 
have a discussion with the Child Protection Supervisor of the correct RSF at least 
4 business hours before the expiration of the initiation mandate.  Reports that 
have less than 4 hours to meet the initiation mandate must be initiated by the 
Child Protection Specialist of the originally (erroneously) assigned RSF. 

 
5) Examples of cases that require the concurrence of the accepting Child Protection 

Supervisor (or designee) include, but are not limited to:  
 

• When the address of a report subject is incomplete, questionable, or there 
is conflicting information regarding the address of residence; and  

 
• Reports where the report subjects were not initially located, but once 

located, it is determined that they live in an area covered by another RSF. 
 

6) SCR may receive notification from a Child Protection Supervisor that a change of 
assignment is required. 

  
When there is disagreement between Child Protection Supervisors regarding the 
need for a change of case assignment, the following procedures shall be followed. 
 
• If the disagreement is between two Child Protection Supervisors in the 

same Region, the decision will be made by the Area Administrator (AA). 
 

• If the disagreement is between two Child Protection Supervisors in 
different Regions, attempts should first be made to resolve the issue 
between the respective AAs.  If the AAs are unable to resolve the conflict, 
the decision shall be referred to the appropriate Associate Deputy Director 
of Child Protection. 
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Section 300.50 Investigative Process  

 

The Department has designated staff persons who act, either full-time or part-time, as Child 

Protection Specialists, or who function in after-hours positions as Child Protection Specialists.  

These designated staff are responsible for investigating reports of suspected child abuse or neglect 

and are the only Department staff permitted to take children into temporary protective custody.  

 

Some reports of suspected child abuse or neglect require additional activities and include special 

provisions. Those reports include situations involving youths in care, a child death, facilities, 

schools, child care workers, clergy, state facilities and state employees, sexually aggressive youths 

in care, disabled infants, and children with special healthcare needs. Staff should refer to 

Procedures 300.110, Special Types of Reports, for instructions for conducting investigations of 

these reports.  

 

a) Required Activities Prior to Initiating Contact with Subject of Report  

 

1) SBAR (Situation, Background, Assessment/Analysis, Recommendation) 

 
Pre-commencement work prepares the Child Protection Specialist to ensure the 

safety of the children brought to our attention. It requires analysis, prior to contact 

with any subjects, of the current situation and of the complete background of the 

family.  This is gathered and communicated using SBAR: 

 
A) Situation: Current status; what are the facts and circumstances of current 

investigation? 

 
B) Background: What information do we know about this family; what is the 

context? (e.g., results of intake, person, case, LEADS and public aid 

searches) 

 
C) Assessment/Analysis: With knowledge of the current Situation and the 

Background, what are the identified risks (e.g., presence of untreated mental 

health, addiction, interpersonal violence, prior concerns or indications of 

abuse/neglect across all sequences of report, developmental/cognitive 

delay, medical neglect, environmental neglect, any child/ren under the age 

of six)? 

 
D) Recommendation: Based on the Situation, Background, and Assessment, 

what does the assigned Child Protection Specialist recommend are the 

specific next steps to ensure safety? 
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2) Pre-Commencement Activities for the Child Protection Specialist 
 

Upon assignment of any investigation, unless it is marked as EMERGENCY 

RESPONSE, the Child Protection Specialist shall conduct the following required 

activities prior to making any contact with the subjects of the report: 

 
A) Situation: Read the complete intake summary under the GENERAL tab in 

SACWIS identifying the role of every individual in the report using the 

information on the PERSON tab, RELATIONSHIP tab, and the 

ALLEGATION tab. Refer to the complete guidance on SACWIS for further 

instructions regarding these tabs in SACWIS. 

 

B) Background:  Conduct a complete search of all subjects of the report. A 

complete search, which captures all information pertaining to each subject 

of a report in any Department database for the purpose of determining prior 

Department involvement, includes: 

 
i) Intake Search (intake evaluations and other intake involvement); 

 

ii) Person Search; 

 

iii) Case Search on all CYCIS Numbers identified in Intake and Person 

Searches; 

 

iv) Request LEADS (Law Enforcement Automated Data System); and 

 

v) Illinois Employment Security (IES)-Public Aid Search.  

 
To correctly execute the above, refer to the SACWIS user manual for 

complete instructions on Intake, Person, and Case searches. 

 
C) Assessment/Analysis: Analyze the information produced in Section 

300.50(a)(2)A and B above. With knowledge of Situation and Background, 

describe the identified risks (e.g., presence of untreated mental health, 

addiction, interpersonal violence, prior concerns or indications of 

abuse/neglect across all sequences of report, developmental/cognitive delay, 

medical neglect, environmental neglect, children under six years of age). 

 

D) Recommendation: Based on the Situation, Background, and Assessment, 

what does the assigned Child Protection Specialist recommend are the 

specific next steps to ensure safety? 
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3)  Initial Investigative Plan 

 

A) The Child Protection Specialist and Supervisor shall meet to discuss the 

above Pre­Commencement Activities for the Child Protection Specialist 

based on SBAR. 

 

B) The Child Protection Specialist and Supervisor shall analyze and discuss the 

risks that have been identified, with knowledge of both the current Situation 

and Background. The risks may include: 

 
i) domestic violence 

 

ii) untreated mental health 

 

iii) developmental/cognitive delay 

 

iv) substance misuse 

 

v) medical neglect 

 

vi) environmental neglect 

 

vii) existence of prior abuse and neglect reports 

 

viii) any children under the age of six 

 

C) The Child Protection Specialist and Supervisor shall formulate case-specific 

initial steps to ensure safety and finalize recommendations, including: 

 

i) Complete initial supervision note that specifies the current Situation, 

Background, Assessment, and Recommendation. 
 

ii) Call reporter.  Use formulated questions in Appendix B.   
 

iii) Pre-commencement communication with law enforcement and/or 

medical provider.  
 

iv) Gather documents required to initiate an investigation (e.g., CANTS 

8 Notification of Suspected Child Abuse and Neglect, CFS 2027, 

Home Safety Checklist, CFS 440-5 Substance Abuse Screen, 

CANTS 18 Domestic Violence Screen, CFS 1000-1 Language 

Determination Form, CFS 1441 CERAP). 
 

v) Interview victim unless otherwise indicated. 
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vi) Interview alleged perpetrator and all adult household members. Use 

formulated questions in Appendix B.   
 

vii) Ensure that notification is provided to the State's Attorney Office for 

cases involving the limited circumstances set forth in 325 ILCS 5/7. 
 

b) Offering of Voluntary Intact Family Services  

 

1) At the time of initiation, the Child Protection Specialist must assess whether the 

family may benefit from Intact Family Services.  

 

2) When identified and/or at the time of the decision to indicate a second report, unless 

otherwise directed by their Child Protection Supervisor or Area Administrator, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall: 

 

A) Offer Intact Family Services; and 

 

B) Document in SACWIS that Intact Family Services were offered to the 

family, the reason(s) for the referral, and whether services were accepted or 

declined. 

i) If accepted, a referral for Intact Family Services shall be made 

within 48 hours. 

ii) If declined by the family, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

consider the facts of the report and consult with a Child Protection 

Supervisor to determine if it is appropriate to refer the investigation 

to the State’s Attorney for filing of a petition for juvenile court 

intervention. 

 

3) If the decision is made not to offer Intact Family Services and/or not refer the case 

to the State’s Attorney’s Office:  

 

A) The Child Protection Supervisor shall document the rationale and decision 

in SBAR format in a SUPERVISORY CASE NOTE in SACWIS; and 

 

B) The Child Protection Area Administrator shall document the rationale at the 

time of decision utilizing the AREA ADMINISTRATOR REVIEW NOTE 

in SACWIS. 
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4) If the decision is made to refer the case to the State’s Attorney’s Office: 

 

A) The Child Protection Specialist shall complete the CANTS 33 Formal 

Referral for the State’s Attorney to File a Petition for Juvenile Court 

Intervention; and 

 

B) The Child Protection Supervisor shall document the rationale and decision 

in SBAR format in a SUPERVISORY CASE NOTE in SACWIS. 
 

c) Time Frames  

 

The following activities must be completed within the time frames indicated. The time the 

report was received at the State Central Register (SCR) begins the investigative process.  

 

•  24 hours: In-person contact, or good faith attempt, with the alleged child victim and 

in-person examination of the environment for inadequate shelter and environmental 

neglect reports only.  

 

• If at all possible, efforts to interview the parent/caregiver must be made on the same 

day the Child Protection Specialist has in-person contact with the child victim.  

 

• 14 days: A good faith determination that the alleged abuse and/or neglect exists must 

be made within 14 days of receipt of the report. If a good faith report exists, the 

investigation continues. If a good faith report does not exist, the report shall be 

terminated by day 14.  

 

• 45 days: The Child Protection Supervisor and the Child Protection Specialist shall 

evaluate the status of the investigation and identify pending activities that need to be 

completed in order to reach a final finding.  

 

• 55 days: The Child Protection Specialist shall submit the completed investigation and 

Final Determination to the Child Protection Supervisor within 55 days of receipt of the 

report. If a 30-day extension to complete the investigation is necessary, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall submit (prior to the 55th
 day) an extension request to 

the Child Protection Supervisor who will evaluate the request. If the Child 

Protection Supervisor approves the request, he/she shall submit the request to the 

Area Administrator for review and final approval of the extension. See Section 

300.50(j), Preliminary Report of the Investigation for complete instructions 

regarding requesting an extension to complete an investigation. 

 

• 60 days: The Child Protection Supervisor shall return or approve the report within two 

days of submission by the Child Protection Specialist or by day 60, unless the report is 

extended for good cause. If a 30-day extension was granted, the Child Protection 

Supervisor must approve or reject the completed investigation before the 90th elapsed 

calendar day of the investigation, unless the Area Administrator has granted further 

extensions.  
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d)  Good Faith Determination and Unqualified Reports  

 

1) Good Faith Report  

 

The purpose of the initial investigative activities is for the Child Protection Specialist 

to confirm that there is a good faith basis for belief that abuse or neglect occurred and 

a normal investigation is warranted. 

 

2) Activities  

 

Child Protection Specialists must complete the following investigative activities to 

determine whether a good faith report exists:  

 

•  Initiate the report within the 24-hour mandate by in-person contacts or good 

faith attempts; 

   

• In-person contact with the alleged victim or victims and in-person examination 

of the environment for inadequate shelter and environmental neglect reports 

only, and a completed a safety assessment;  

 

• In-person or telephone contact with the reporter, if the reporter's identity and 

whereabouts are known or the source of the report, if the source’s identity is 

known; and If the child has an injury or illness consistent with the allegation 

and has been seen by a medical professional, the Child Protection Specialist 

must have a conversation with the examining medical professional.  

 

Note:  Child Protection Specialist shall not request that a child remain in a 

hospital pending further investigative activities when the child has 

been medically cleared for discharge. Complete a person search and 

LEADS check (LEADS is for persons over 13 years of age) on the 

subjects of the report and all members of the household.  

 

3) Good Faith Determination  

 

A) Within 14 days of receipt of the report, if any one of the factors listed below is 

not present, a determination will be made that the report is not a good faith 

report of alleged child abuse or neglect and the investigation will be terminated. 

The Child Protection Specialist shall “initial unfound” the report after 

consultation with the Child Protection Supervisor and Area Administrator.  

 

Factors that must be present to determine that a report of abuse or neglect is a 

good faith report of alleged abuse or neglect include the following:  

 

•  The alleged victim or victims must be less than 18 years of age, or 

youth 18-22 years of age residing in a DCFS licensed facility;  
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• The alleged victim or victims must have been harmed or must be at 

substantial risk of physical injury;  

 

• There must be an abusive or neglectful incident or set of circumstances 

as defined in Procedures 300.Appendix B, The Allegations System, 

that caused the alleged harm or substantial risk of physical injury to the 

child; and  

 

• There must be an eligible perpetrator of the alleged abuse or neglect. 

For abuse, the alleged perpetrator must be the child's parent, foster 

parent, guardian, immediate family member, any individual who 

resides in the same house as the child, the paramour of the child's 

parent, or any person responsible for the child's welfare at the time of 

the alleged abuse. For neglect, the alleged perpetrator must be the 

child's parent, guardian, foster parent, or any person responsible for the 

child's welfare at the time of the alleged neglect, which can include the 

paramour if the parent is not present.  

 

B) The Department shall notify the following persons upon determining a report 

will be initially unfounded due to not meeting the good faith criteria and will 

inform them that further investigation will not proceed:  

 

1) Mandated reporters;  

 

2) Custodial parents, personal guardians, and legal custodians of the 

alleged child victim(s); and 

 

3) Alleged perpetrators.  

 

Note:  Any report without face-to-face contact with the child victim may be 

terminated and unfounded only with the approval of the Area 

Administrator. 

 

C)  The Child Protection Specialist shall confer with the Child Protection 

Supervisor regarding contact with law enforcement and/or the State’s Attorney 

prior to revealing a finding of “initial unfound” to any of the subjects of the 

report. If there is no criminal investigation, but there is evidence of a crime, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall consult with the supervisor and then refer the 

matter to law enforcement.  

 

4) Unqualified Reports  

 

An unqualified report is a report where it has been determined that there is not an 

alleged victim and/or eligible perpetrator of alleged abuse or neglect as defined in 

Procedures 300.15, Definitions. A report determined to be an unqualified report must 

be reviewed by the Area Administrator within 24 hours after the determination is made 

by the Child Protection Specialist and the Child Protection Supervisor.  
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5)  Continued Activities  

 

The investigation continues when the initial investigative activities show that the report 

is a "good faith" determination of alleged child abuse or neglect. Child Protection 

Specialists do not begin the time frame cycle over again once the good faith 

determination has been made. The contacts made during the initial investigative 

activities will not need to be repeated unless there are changes in circumstances and 

assessed information and/or the Child Protection Supervisor identifies the need to redo 

an activity. If the family has resided outside Illinois, the Child Protection Specialist is 

required to request out of state LEADS as described in Administrative Procedure 6.3.  

 

e) Initiation of the Investigation  

 

1) Initiation (24-Hour Mandate)  

 

The investigation is initiated by in-person contact with the alleged child victim or 

victims within 24 hours of the receipt of the report, or by a good faith attempt to 

contact the alleged child victim or victims. Where the soonest possible opportunity for 

the Child Protection Specialist to engage the alleged child victim through in-person 

contact occurs in a school setting, school personnel are required to cooperate with the 

Child Protection Specialists in their responsibility to gather and assess child safety in 

a pending investigation. Child Protection Specialists may present school staff with the 

documentation of agreement between the Department and the Illinois School Board of 

Education (CANTS 101). For Allegation #77 (Inadequate Shelter) or #82 

(Environmental Neglect), the investigation is initiated by in-person contact with the 

alleged child victim AND examination of the environment.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist is responsible for prioritizing risk to the alleged child 

victim and determining the actions to be taken to establish in-person contact with the 

child. In determining whether the child should be seen sooner than the next day, all 

available information (e.g., child’s age, allegation information, person search and 

LEADS history) must be assessed to make an interim determination of the child’s 

safety.  

 

A) The 24-hour initiation mandate may be met by law enforcement. Police-only 

contact with the alleged victim is not sufficient if the investigation is 

determined to not be a “good faith” report unless the investigation has been 

delegated to law enforcement. The Child Protection Specialist shall document 

the date and time of the initial in-person contact with each alleged child victim 

or the examination of the environment in a contact note. For additional 

information and instruction regarding delegated initiations, see Section 

300.50(f)(1), Delegated Initiation of the Investigation.  

 

B) When investigating the death of a child, the Child Protection Specialist is able 

to meet the initiation mandate by collecting information regarding the child’s 

death from the Coroner or Medical Examiner.  
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C) If it appears that the immediate safety or well-being of a child is endangered, 

that the family may flee or the child disappear, or that the facts otherwise so 

warrant, the Child Protection Specialist shall initiate an investigation 

immediately, regardless of the time of day or night. In all other cases, the 

investigation shall be initiated within 24 hours of receipt of the report.  

 

D) If the adult caregiver refuses to allow the Child Protection Specialist to see or 

speak with the alleged child victim or victims, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall explain that ANCRA [325 ILCS 5/7.5] gives the Child Protection 

Specialist authority to see the children. If the Child Protection Specialist is still 

denied access to the children, the Child Protection Specialist shall immediately 

contact local law enforcement to assist in contacting the child. If necessary to 

obtain access, the Child Protection Specialist shall consult with the Office of 

Legal Services to pursue a court order.  

 

E) An investigation is not in compliance with statutory requirements for initiation 

until the safety of the alleged child victims has been assessed and their safety 

assured, or there have been good faith attempts to assess the safety of all the 

alleged child victims. The safety of all alleged child victims must be assessed 

before an investigation is considered initiated.  

 

Note: When investigating abuse or neglect that is alleged to have occurred to 

a child while being cared for by a babysitter, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall determine and identify the names of all other children 

for whom the babysitter provides care, including the babysitter’s own 

children. When appropriate, the other children should be interviewed 

and added to the investigation as additional child victims.  

 

2) Good Faith Attempt to Initiate an Investigation  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall document in a contact note each good faith 

attempt to establish in-person contact with the alleged child victims and the reason each 

attempt was unsuccessful.  

 

The following circumstances constitute a good faith attempt to initiate an investigation:  

 

•  The Child Protection Specialist learns, upon proceeding to the location given 

for the alleged child victim in the report, that the child has disappeared, the 

family has fled, the address does not exist, no one is at the location, or not all 

of the alleged child victims are at the given location.  

 

• The Child Protection Specialist shall take whatever steps are necessary to 

obtain the current location of the alleged child victims and proceed 

immediately to their location.  

 

• Good faith attempts must be made every 24 hours or sooner, including 

weekends and holidays, until the child victim is seen, unless a waiver is granted 

by the Child Protection Supervisor. The fact that a good faith attempt was made 
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and that the 24-hour mandate was technically met does not relieve the Child 

Protection Specialist of the responsibility for continuing to attempt to establish 

in-person contact with the alleged child victim as soon as possible.  

 

Note:  A Child Protection Specialist cannot be considered to have made a good faith 

attempt by continued attempts to see the child at the same location at the same 

time daily, without also taking additional steps to determine where and when 

the child may be seen (e.g., school or daycare).  

 

Note:  Child Protection Supervisors shall manage and triage alerts for their Child 

Protection teams. The Child Protection Supervisor shall immediately address 

an alert indicating that a child victim has not been seen within 5 days of a report 

being taken and shall ensure that the child is seen and that the child is safe or 

that ongoing attempts to see the child continue per these procedures. 

 

Note:  The Regional Administrator, Area Administrator and Child Protection 

Supervisor shall be responsible for tracking non-compliance of the 24 hour 

initiation. 

 

3) Attempts to Locate the Child Victim  

 

If the report does not contain information that the Child Protection Specialist can use 

to quickly locate the alleged child victim or victims (e.g., names, current locations), the 

Child Protection Specialist shall take whatever steps are necessary, including but not 

limited to the following actions, to locate and establish in-person contact with the 

alleged child victims:  

 

•  Ask the local, county, and state law enforcement agencies to check their records 

for information that would provide the location of the child/family; 

 

• Conduct a records check of the Department of Human Services and Secretary 

of State records (if a license plate number is known);  

 

• Conduct a diligent search in accordance with Administrative Procedure #22;  

 

• Contact the reporter or source of the report, if listed on the Intake;  

 

• Ask relatives and friends of the subjects to provide information to help locate 

the subjects;  

 

• Contact the child’s school or the school district to determine where the child is 

enrolled; or  

 

• Contact the local post office and utility companies to request a check of their 

records.  
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4) In-Person Contact with Alleged Child Victims  

 

Forensic Interviewers and Working with Child Advocacy Centers  

 

Child Protection investigators play an important role with their Child Advocacy Center 

as part of a multidisciplinary team (MDT) approach. If possible, a multidisciplinary 

team approach to an investigation is preferred. If a child victim has a developmental 

disability, a forensic interview should be arranged through the local CAC, if available. 

When a Child Protection Specialist is also acting as a Forensic Interviewer for the team, 

the Child Protection Specialist must first complete 32 hours of approved initial training 

and maintain a minimum of 8 hours continuing education every two years. To maintain 

Forensic Interviewer status, the Child Protection Specialist must also participate in the 

peer review process of their work twice yearly. As a member of an MDT, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall participate in monthly reviews of their cases. If the Child 

Protection Specialist not available, the Child Protection Supervisor should attend. To 

hone skills as part of an MDT, the Child Protection Specialist shall also participate in 

educational opportunities that are cross-discipline in nature. The Department shall 

designate a person who will be responsible for formalizing inter-agency agreements 

and policies across Child Advocacy Centers and MDTs. 

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall interview, observe, and thoroughly assess every 

alleged child victim and any other child subjects individually. If the child is hearing 

impaired or does not speak English, the method of communication that the child uses 

shall be employed (e.g., sign language, foreign language interpreter). See Section 

300.50(e)(9), Persons with Special Communication Needs.  Efforts shall be 

documented in a contact note.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall ask each child if there is an extended family 

member, other adult or caregiver with whom the child feels safe or to whom the child 

is important or special. The Child Protection Specialist shall conduct an interview with 

the person(s) identified by the child. The interviews shall focus on the child’s family 

life, needs, strengths as well as the child’s safety. These interviews shall be documented 

in a contact note.  

 

Note:  A positive relationship with a caring, non-abusive adult is a protective factor 

in the life of a child. Child-selected collaterals can be good candidates to gather 

information, monitor a safety plan, provide mentorship, keep eyes and ears on 

the child, and provide a possible placement option. Any knowledge the 

collateral has concerning the child’s behavior, current situation, family life, 

needs, strengths and challenges is valuable when determining safety threats.  

 

A person whom the child trusts, but who is not the child’s caregiver, the alleged 

perpetrator or another alleged child victim (e.g., an older sibling) may be present during 

the interview if it will make the child more comfortable.  
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It is recognized that some children by virtue of their age or physical/emotional 

condition are non-verbal or are otherwise incapable of being interviewed. The Child 

Protection Specialist shall thoroughly observe and assess all non-verbal children. Any 

child age 6 and under who is asleep at the time of contact shall be awakened and then 

observed. All children who are awakened for observation must be undressed. All 

observations must be documented in a contact note.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall complete a safety assessment in accordance with 

Procedures 300.Appendix G, using the Child Endangerment Risk Assessment 

Protocol (CERAP).  

 

5)  Observation of the Alleged Victim  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall observe the child if:  

 

•  The child victim is alleged to have external marks/injuries (e.g., cuts, bruises, 

welts, burns, scratches, sores, etc.) as the result of abuse or neglect. All 

children age 6 and under must be awakened and undressed for 

observation. 

 

•  For further instructions on the observation of external marks and injuries and 

how to assess the information gathered from observations, refer to Procedures 

300.100, Medical Requirements for Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect.  

 

Note:  If the child needs to be examined by a medical provider, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall refer to and comply with the instructions in Procedures 

300.100(c)(2), Medical Examinations.  

 

A) Observable External Marks/Injuries  

 

There should always be a parent/guardian/caregiver or other professional 

person, preferably of the same sex as the child, present when a Child Protection 

Specialist observes a child, regardless of the child's age. A Child Protection 

Specialist shall not observe any part of a child's body that would normally be 

covered by a bikini bathing suit if the child is age 7 or older unless the Child 

Protection Specialist is the same sex as the child. If not the same sex as the 

child, the Child Protection Specialist can attempt to locate someone of the same 

sex to observe or arrange with a parent to take the child to a physician for 

observation. Children who are verbal shall be told the purpose of the 

observation and the necessity for it in words they can understand. If the child 

is hearing impaired or does not speak English, the method of communication 

that the child uses shall be employed (e.g., sign language, foreign language 

interpreter). All observations shall be documented on the CANTS 2A/2B, 

SUSPECTED ABUSE AND INJURY NOTESHEET.  
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Note:  Should a child age 6 and under be asleep at the time of contact, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall ensure that the child is awakened, 

undressed and observed.  

 

Photographs of a child’s injuries may also be taken and used to support the 

descriptive documentation contained on the CANTS 2A or 2B. Photographs 

may never be used as a substitute for completing the CANTS 2A or 2B.  

 

When the child's parent/guardian is available, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall notify the child’s parent/guardian that the Department has the right to 

obtain photographs, audiotapes, and videotapes. Such notification may be by 

telephone.  

 

i) Photographs  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall take or obtain photographs (black 

and white or color) of the child and the child's environment as a part of 

the investigative process. Photographs shall be taken as a part of 

gathering inculpatory and exculpatory evidence of abuse or neglect or 

the lack of abuse or neglect. Photographs shall be uploaded into the 

investigative file within 48 hours of receipt or of taking the photo.  

 

Note:  Child Protection Specialists may only use Department issued 

cameras when photographing a child during the investigative 

process.  

 

Note:  Photographs can be used to document a child's injuries or the 

lack of injuries. The Child Protection Specialist must ensure 

that the safeguards described in preceding Section 300.50 

(e)(5), Observation of the Alleged Victim are followed.  

 

ii) Request Assistance  

 

If the alleged child victim is in the hospital, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall request assistance from hospital staff in obtaining 

photographs.  

 

iii) Obtaining Video and Audio Recordings from Other Sources  

 

Child Protection staff may have the opportunity to view and/or receive 

video or audio recordings of child victims during the course of an 

investigation. Subjects of the report, family members or collaterals may 

share video/audio recordings from personal electronic devices. In those 

instances, Child Protection staff shall document in a contact note the 

content of the recording, including what was seen or heard, who was in 

possession of the video/audio, and the circumstances that led to the 

recording.  
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Law enforcement or child protection services may share audio/video 

recordings of interviews conducted in other states. In those instances, 

Child Protection staff should review the recording and document a 

summary of the interview in a contact note.  

 

Note:  DVD recordings of Child Advocacy Center interviews shall 

not be maintained in the investigative file. DVD recorded CAC 

interviews shall be returned to the CAC of origin. 

 

iv) Proper Labeling and Storage of Photos, Videotapes or Audiotapes  

 

When photographs, videotapes or audiotapes of an alleged child victim 

and/or the child's environment have been taken, each photograph, 

videotape or audiotape shall be labeled with the following information:  
 

•  The name of the child;  
 

•  The SCR number and case name (if there is an open case);  
 

•  The date and time the photograph, videotape or audiotape was 

taken, if known;  
 

•  The place where the photograph, videotape or audiotape was 

taken;  
 

•  The name(s) of all persons present when the photograph, 

videotape or audiotape was taken; and  
 

•  All photographs, videotapes or audiotapes provided to the 

Department by other sources, (e.g., schools, hospitals, law 

enforcement) become the property of the Department, shall be 

labeled by the Child Protection Specialist as noted above, and 

placed in the investigative file. Photographs, taken by child 

protection staff shall be uploaded into the SACWIS 

investigative file within 48 hours of taking the photo.  
 

B) Internal Injuries  
 

Child Protection Specialists shall never attempt to examine an alleged child 

victim for internal injuries or attempt to move a child with internal injuries. 

Refer to Procedures 300.100, Medical Requirements for Reports of Child 

Abuse and Neglect, for instructions regarding assessing children with or 

suspected of having internal injuries.  
 

C) Sexual Abuse  
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall never attempt to examine an alleged child 

victim who may have been sexually abused. Refer to Procedures 300.100, 

Medical Requirements for Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect, for 

instructions regarding assessing children who have been or suspected of having 

been sexually abused.  
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Interviews and observations shall be conducted in conjunction with the local 

Child Advocacy Center (CAC) protocol and/or law enforcement.  

 

6) Contact with Parents, Caretakers and Alleged Perpetrators 

 

A) The Child Protection Specialist shall attempt to establish in-person contact with 

the parents or caregivers of the alleged child victims the same day that the 

children are interviewed. If same day contact is not possible, contact must be 

attempted no later than 24 hours after the Child Protection Specialist observes 

and assesses the safety of the children. The Child Protection Specialist must 

document all good faith attempts to see the parents or caregivers in a contact 

note. If the parent/caregiver is of Hispanic decent or primarily Spanish-

speaking, the Child Protection Specialist must complete the CFS 1000-1, 

Hispanic Client Language Determination Form, at the very first contact 

with the parent/caregiver. (Refer to Procedures 300, Appendix E).  

 

If the Child Protection Specialist has determined that the children are safe and 

the alleged perpetrators are different from the parents or caregivers, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall contact the alleged perpetrators within 7 calendar 

days of the receipt of the report, unless law enforcement requests that the 

contact be delayed. Law enforcement requests must be documented in a contact 

note and the request immediately discussed with the Child Protection 

Supervisor to determine if the delay will jeopardize the safety of the children.  

 

B) The Child Protection Specialist shall request the social security number and 

one form of picture identification (e.g., driver’s license, employee 

identification) from alleged perpetrators, adult household members, and 

frequent adult visitors to the home. Collateral contacts should be used to verify 

the identity of those persons unwilling or unable to produce verification of 

identity. The Child Protection Specialist should have the persons verify the 

spelling of their names verbally and through picture identification.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall inquire how long a family has resided in 

their present address and obtain information, including the address, of any 

previous residence. Contact with law enforcement in cities and towns in which 

a family recently resided is required and may provide valuable information 

regarding a history of violence that may impact child safety and decision 

making.  

 

Note:  In cases where an arrest has been made for domestic violence, the Child 

Protection Specialist must contact pretrial services to determine bail 

conditions. 
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C) Notification  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall give the parent/guardian and alleged 

perpetrator a dated CANTS 8, Notification of a Report of Suspected Child 

Abuse and/or Neglect. As part of the notification discussion, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall inquire if the alleged perpetrator is a child care 

worker as defined in the CANTS 8. The Child Protection Specialist shall also 

provide the parent/guardian and alleged perpetrator the CFS 1050-54, What 

You Need to Know About a Child Abuse/Neglect Investigation. 

 

The Child Protection Special shall also distribute the CFS 1050-26, Guide for 

Parents who Are Mexican Nationals to all Hispanic subjects of a report.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist must document these notifications in a contact 

note.  

 

D) Obtain Any Mental Health Records of Parents/Caregivers  

 

i) During initial contact with parents/caregivers who are listed as subjects 

of the report, the Child Protection Specialist shall ask the 

parents/caregivers about their overall mental health, current and 

previous medications to treat mental health issues (type, dosage, 

prescribing doctor, reason, medication compliance, etc.), prior mental 

health-related hospitalizations (when, where, reason, length of time, 

etc.), currently involved mental health professionals (name, contact 

information, last visit, etc.), compliance with treatment and support 

systems. The Child Protection Specialist shall refer to the CFS 440-12, 

Investigation/Intact Parental Mental Health Case Matrix, during 

the interview as a guide to types of information to be obtained 

regarding the parents/caregivers’ mental health. All information 

obtained from the parents/caregivers shall be documented in a contact 

note.  

 

ii) When a parent/caregiver discloses, or information suggests, that he/she 

or the other parent/caregiver has a known or suspected mental health 

or substance abuse issue (including treatment and/or hospitalization), 

the Child Protection Specialist shall first ask the affected 

parent/caregiver to sign a CFS 600-3, Consent for Release of 

Information authorizing the Child Protection Specialist to obtain 

his/her medical and/or mental health records from the identified 

hospitals, physicians and therapists. The Child Protection Specialist 

shall request the consent in order to obtain information verification of 

a mental health diagnosis or developmental disability where there has 

been an assertion of a mental health or developmental disability issue, 

including in Allegation #60 cases. The Child Protection Specialist shall 

also request the parent/caregiver consent to the release of current 

prescription information and/or information regarding compliance with 

treatment where any allegation of non-compliance with medication 
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and/or treatment has been alleged during the investigation. If a parent 

or caregiver refuses to sign a CFS 600-3, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall request an Administrative Subpoena or send a HIPPA 

Letter (CFS 600-5, Request for Records) for these records within two 

business days of the refusal.  

 

Note:  Refer to Section 300.50(l), Authority to Receive Information 

and Records, for instructions for requesting an Administrative 

Subpoena, and follow-up actions to be taken if a 

mental/medical health facility does not comply with the 

subpoena.  

 

iii) The Child Protection Specialist shall send the signed CFS 600-3, CFS 

968-90, Questions for Mental Health Professionals, and a CFS 600-

5, Request for Records to the identified hospitals, physicians and 

therapists. All efforts to obtain mental health records shall be 

documented in the investigation file.  

 

iv) Requests for mental health records shall be made within 2 business 

days after initial contact with the affected family member whether by 

a signed CFS 600-3 or Administrative Subpoena. Upon receipt, records 

must be reviewed and assessed for any actions needed to ensure safety. 

Investigations shall not be approved and closed until all formal 

requests for mental health records have been made and the requested 

or subpoenaed records received and reviewed.  

 

v) When the Child Protection Specialist interviews the treatment provider, 

the Child Protection Specialist shall request information about the 

parent’s or caregiver’s mental health condition or developmental 

disability on the parent’s or caregiver’s ability to care for their children. 

The Child Protection Specialist shall ask for specific, detailed 

information and shall ask the basis upon which the information is 

formed (i.e., has the provider seen the parent with the child, how many 

times and in what context has the provider seen the parent, etc.)  

 

vi) When it is found during the course of the investigation that any family 

member has been admitted to a psychiatric facility; the Child Protection 

Specialist shall contact the appropriate staff of the facility to acquire 

any information that could impact the safety of a child victim. The 

Child Protection Specialist shall participate in any discharge planning 

and recommendations and shall follow up with community providers 

identified during the staffing. 
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E) Alleged Perpetrator  

 

Child Protection Specialists are required to interview an alleged perpetrator 

individually and in person. Care must be taken by the Child Protection 

Specialist to avoid the appearance of acting as an agent of the police or of 

giving alleged perpetrators the impression that they are not free to leave the 

interview. Because Child Protection Specialists are not law enforcement 

officers, they are not to give Miranda Warnings to alleged perpetrators. (A 

Miranda Warning is a statement of rights given by law enforcement officers to 

any suspect in custody before law enforcement can initiate any questioning of 

the suspect). Issues with the Miranda Warning are most likely to arise with 

death, physical abuse, and sexual abuse harm allegations that involve joint 

investigations by DCFS and the police when criminal prosecution is a 

possibility. In these instances the Child Protection Specialist must make it clear 

that he/she is not an agent of law enforcement. It may be advisable for law 

enforcement to conduct or participate in the interview with the alleged 

perpetrator, in which case law enforcement will determine if it is necessary to 

give the Miranda Warning to the alleged perpetrator.  

 

i) When the Child Protection Specialist conducts the interview with the 

alleged perpetrator, the following precautions should be taken:  

 

• Alleged Perpetrator Not in Police Custody 

 

Assure the alleged perpetrator that he or she is free to end the 

interview at any time. This is especially true for juvenile 

subjects or those who are emotionally or intellectually 

handicapped.  

 

If it is safe to do so, consider interviewing the alleged 

perpetrator in the home.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist should make clear that he/she 

is not a law enforcement officer and that his/her task is to 

determine whether abuse or neglect occurred and to protect 

children.  

 

• Alleged Perpetrator in Police Custody  

 

Interviews of subjects in police custody should be conducted in 

conjunction with law enforcement through a multidisciplinary 

investigative approach. 
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ii) Polygraphs  

 

A polygraph or lie detector is an instrument that measures and records 

several physiological indices such as blood pressure, pulse, respiration, 

breathing rhythms/ratios, and skin conductivity while the subject is 

asked and answers a series of questions, in the belief that deceptive 

answers will produce physiological responses that can be differentiated 

from those associated with non-deceptive answers. 

 

Child Protection Specialists shall not request that subjects of an 

investigation take a polygraph or use polygraph results in making 

determinations regarding allegations of child abuse or neglect. Subjects 

who suggest or offer to take a polygraph must be told that polygraphs 

are not part of Department policy or practice.  

 

7) Observation of the Environment  

 

The Child Protection Specialist must observe the environment and complete the CFS 

2027, Home Safety Checklist. Observations, including photographs, of all relevant 

environments must be used as evidence to support or negate the abuse or neglect 

allegation. A scene investigation must be completed. Refer to Procedures 300.60, 

Scene Investigations and Time Lines, for further instructions on conducting a scene 

investigation. All observations and scene investigation results must be documented in 

a contact note.  

 

Note:  If the coroner and/or law enforcement are conducting an investigation, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall coordinate and/or defer to the scene 

investigation completed by the coroner and/or law enforcement. The Child 

Protection Specialist shall obtain a copy of the written report. (Refer to 

Procedures 300.60, Scene Investigation and Time Lines)  

 

8) Other Contacts  

 

A) Other Required Investigative Contacts  

 

In addition to the required contacts with the subjects of the report, refer to 

Procedures 300.Appendix B, The Allegation System for required contacts 

for each allegation.  

 

When contacting law enforcement for a police report or information about a 

specific incident on a pending investigation, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall also inquire about the availability of other reports involving the 

family. The Child Protection Specialist shall request a copy of all such reports 

and review the reports with the Child Protection Supervisor in order to make 

more informed safety and service referral decisions. The supervisor must 

ensure that the Child Protection Specialist reconciles any difference in 

household composition between information on the intake narrative and the 

police report.  
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The Child Protection Specialist shall document the following in a contact note:  

 

•  Requests for and receipt of available police reports. In cases where an 

arrest has been made for domestic violence, the Child Protection 

Specialist must contact pretrial services to determine bail conditions; 

 

•  Summarization of review of these reports;  

 

•  Comparison of household composition and any required follow-up 

with family to discuss whereabouts of household members;  

 

•  Identification of any need to follow-up with local courts and State’s 

Attorneys regarding outcomes of any hearings and referrals for 

treatment. When the Child Protection Specialist learns, through self-

reporting or official documentation, that a family member completed 

or was to complete court-ordered treatment, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall consult with the Office of Legal Services to contact the 

court or contact the treating facility to verify whether the family 

member completed that court-ordered treatment and to determine if 

there are any restrictions in place that would apply to contact with any 

subjects of the investigation; and  

 

• How any type or pattern of a history of violence may impact the current 

safety assessment?  

 

When law enforcement has an ongoing investigation, the Child Protection 

Supervisor shall facilitate and participate in a joint child protection conference 

with law enforcement. The conference must occur within the first 5 days of the 

child protection investigation. Past and current information shall be exchanged 

at the conference and participants must discuss how the information can be 

utilized to maintain the safety of child/children in the future. For further 

instruction regarding the law enforcement conference, staff should refer to 

Section 300.50(m), Statutorily Required Notifications to Local Law 

Enforcement and State’s Attorney.   

 

B) Collateral Contacts  

 

During the course of the investigation, the Child Protection Specialist is 

required to interview neighbors and other persons identified as having 

information relevant to the investigation. In addition, each allegation in 

Appendix B identifies required collateral contacts based on the harm alleged.  

 

Note:  See Procedures 300.160, Notifications for instructions concerning 

investigative finding information that may be released to extended 

family members and collaterals interviewed during the course of the 

investigation. 
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C) Other Persons  

 

Other persons who may be listed in the subject section of the report summary 

are the other members of the household where the child resides.  

 

If all of the subjects and other adults and children who are regular members of 

the alleged child victim's household, as well as the involved non-custodial 

parent, are not listed on the report summary at the time the report is taken, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall add them to the investigation within 24 hours.  

 

D) Non-Custodial Parent  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall identify, locate and interview non-

custodial parents.  

 

E) Non-DCFS Attorneys  

 

Child Protection staff shall direct inquiries from private attorneys requesting 

information on reports of child abuse or neglect to the DCFS Office of Legal 

Services for a response.  

 

9) Persons with Special Communication Needs  

 

A) Effective Communication  

 

During all stages of the investigation when dealing with limited/non- English 

speaking persons or persons with audio/visual impairments, the Department 

shall facilitate effective communication between the Child Protection 

Specialist and subjects of the report by:  

 

• Assigning a Child Protection Specialist who has demonstrated the 

ability to communicate in the language (foreign or sign) of the subjects; 

or  

 

• Procuring the services of an interpreter (audio or visual) who has 

agreed to respect the confidential nature of the investigation prior to 

any investigative activity when a limited/non-English speaking, vision-

impaired, or hearing impaired person will be interviewed.  

 

Note:  In no circumstances may family members or friends be used as 

interpreters. Children may NEVER be used as interpreters. 
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B) If a child is at imminent risk of harm and there is absolutely no means of 

communicating effectively with the child and family (i.e., no bilingual Child 

Protection Specialist or interpreter is available and there is no telephone to call 

for interpreter assistance or to call the Online Interpreters), the child may be 

taken into temporary protective custody. The Child Protection Specialist shall 

return to the home with an interpreter as soon as possible. In these instances 

the imminent risk of harm must exist independently of the Child Protection 

Specialist’s inability to communicate with the family. Protective custody shall 

not be taken for the sole reason that the Child Protection Specialist cannot 

communicate with the family.  

 

C) If the Child Protection Specialist learns that one or more of the subjects do not 

speak English, is hearing or visually impaired or has a special communication 

need, the Child Protection Specialist shall:  

 

•  Determine the preferred language of the subjects;  

 

•  Determine the preferred mode of communication (e.g., interpreter, lip-

reading, writing notes);  

 

•  Take steps to secure an interpreter or other auxiliary aids as 

appropriate; and  

 

•  Issue all notices in the subjects' preferred language, if available.  

 

Note:  Letters, forms, or other printed materials to persons who have visual 

impairments may have to be typed in Braille, tape recorded or read to 

the person. refer to Procedures 302.30(c), Accessibility of Services to 

All Person, and Procedures 305.50(6), Planning With Parents 

and/or Children Who Are Limited/Non-English Speaking or 

Hearing Impaired.  

 

D) Hearing Impaired  

 

Note:  See Procedures 302.Appendix L, Services for Deaf and Hard of 

Hearing Clients, for sign language interpretation requirements.  

 

Each region shall develop contracts or working agreements with sign language 

interpreter services or individual interpreters to ensure that each field office has 

access to an interpreter when needed. Assistance in identifying resources for 

interpreter services is available from the Department of Human Services, 

Division of Rehabilitation Services. If an interpreter is not available, other 

resources shall be contacted. Other resources include churches, schools, 

universities, social service agencies and local Centers for Independent Living.  
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Each region shall compile a list of providers who provide services to persons 

who are hearing impaired and make the list available to direct service staff. 

These services include but are not limited to interpreter services, counseling, 

advocacy, foster care and adoption, homemaker, case management, residential 

and psychological services. The Department will develop and provide needed 

services not available in the community from public and private agencies.  

 

Technical assistance can be obtained from the Department's Statewide 504 

Coordinator in the Office of Affirmative Action. Each region shall identify one 

staff member to act as a liaison for the hearing impaired and to work directly 

with the 504 Coordinator in identifying and locating services for clients and 

their families.  

 

Note:  Please refer to Procedures 302, Appendix L, Services for Deaf and 

Hard of Hearing Clients, for sign language interpretation 

requirements.  

 

E) Persons Whose Language Preference is Spanish  

 

DCFS is required to provide services in Spanish to Hispanic clients whose 

preferred language is Spanish. “Hispanic” is defined as any person of Puerto 

Rican, Mexican, Central American, South American, or other Hispanic origin. 

The Child Protection Specialist shall complete the CFS 1000-1, Hispanic 

Client Language Determination Form and refer to Procedures 

300.Appendix E, Burgos Consent Decree for instructions on securing 

interpreter and other translation services for Hispanic clients.  

 

10)  Documentation  

 

A) Interview Note  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall complete a contact note for every 

completed or attempted contact/interview throughout the life of the 

investigation. All contacts/interviews recorded in the contact note shall be in 

chronological order. The contact note shall be entered as soon as possible, but 

no later than 48 hours after the contact is completed or attempted. Completed 

contact note entries should contain a summary of the facts obtained during the 

interview, a description of the alleged victim’s injuries, if applicable, a 

description of the environment, and identified cultural and communication 

issues. The date and time of each attempted contact and the reason each attempt 

was unsuccessful shall be documented in a contact note. 
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B) Suspected Abuse Injury Note Sheet (CANTS 2A or 2B)  

 

If a child has been alleged to have external marks/injuries, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall complete a CANTS 2A, Suspected Abuse Injury Note Sheet-

Infant or CANTS 2B, Suspected Abuse Injury Sheet-Child. Photographs of 

a child’s injuries may also be taken and used to support the descriptive 

documentation contained on the CANTS 2A or 2B. Photographs may never be 

used as a substitute for completing the CANTS 2A or 2B. If the child is seen 

or needs to be seen by a medical professional, the CANTS 65-A must be 

completed if required for the allegation being investigated. Staff should 

reference Procedures 300.100(a) Allegations Requiring Medical 

Consultation and the CANTS 65-A.  

 

C) Medical Reports  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall obtain a copy of all medical reports related 

to the investigation and the alleged injuries/harm. If the medical provider fails 

to provide requested documents, an Administrative Subpoena should be issued. 

If the medical provider fails to comply with an Administrative Subpoena, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall immediately notify the DCFS Office of Legal 

Services to pursue enforcement of the subpoena.  

 

f) Preempted Investigations  

 

In some instances a law enforcement agency, the State's Attorney, the Medical Examiner, or 

the Coroner may investigate an incident or circumstances that form the basis of a report 

received by the Department. The Department’s investigation may be preempted by the other 

investigating agency if the situation is such that it constitutes a criminal investigation, and the 

other investigating agency directs the Department to refrain from interviewing certain report 

subjects or delay interviewing report subjects beyond the time frames required in these 

procedures. The Child Protection Specialist must document contact with the law enforcement 

or investigating agency in a contact note and must state that the investigation is preempted and 

identify the subsequent actions requested of the Department. The Child Protection Specialist 

and the Child Protection Supervisor shall contact the Area Administrator to determine what 

role the Department will play in the investigation. While it is entirely possible that the criminal 

investigation will supersede the Department’s investigation, it must be made clear to the other 

investigating agency that the Department may not relinquish its responsibility for assuring the 

safety of the alleged child victim or meeting required time frames. Therefore, the Child 

Protection Supervisor and Child Protection Specialist shall attempt to develop a plan with the 

law enforcement or investigating agency that will allow the Department to fulfill its 

responsibilities for protecting children while not interfering with the other agency's criminal 

investigation. The Child Protection Specialist shall document all established plans, or efforts 

to establish plans, in a contact note. If a safety plan has been established, the Child Protection 

Specialist must notify the law enforcement or investigating agency of the requirement for the 

reassessment of the safety plan every 5 days.  
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1) Delegated Initiation of the Investigation  

 

After consultation with the Child Protection Supervisor, the Child Protection Specialist 

may delegate the initiation of the investigation to a law enforcement agency when:  

 

• The law enforcement agency is already involved in the situation, an officer had 

in-person contact with the alleged child victim no longer than one hour prior to 

the date and time the report was made to the Department, and the officer can 

attest to the current condition and safety of the alleged child victim; or  

 

• The law enforcement agency is already involved in the situation, an officer had 

in-person contact with the alleged child victim within 24 hours after the date 

and time of receipt of the Department’s report, and the officer can attest to the 

current condition and safety of the alleged child victim; or  

 

• A circumstance beyond the control of the Child Protection Specialist prevents 

the Child Protection Specialist from meeting the 24-hour mandate or from 

making an emergency response (e.g., there is a snowstorm, there are two 

emergencies at the same time, a law enforcement officer can reach the child 

faster in the event of an emergency) and the law enforcement agency agrees to 

assume the initiation function; or  

 

• When the child victim is at a location in another state, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall contact child protective services in that state to request a 

courtesy interview with the child to check on the child’s safety and well-being. 

If the agency is unable to meet the Department’s 24-hour mandate, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall use the time of contact with the agency to document 

a good faith attempt to initiate the investigation. The Child Protection 

Specialist shall document the acceptance of the delegation and all contacts with 

the agency in a contact note. Also see the instructions in Section 300.50(n)(8), 

Out-of-State Parallel Investigation Requests.  

 

Note:  Delegating the initiation of the investigation does not release the Child 

Protection Specialist of the responsibility for assuring the safety of the 

alleged child victim, interviewing the alleged child victim during the 

course of the investigation, and meeting all investigative and 

documentation requirements. The safety of the child victim must be 

verified weekly and documented in a contact note when the initiation 

of the investigation has been delegated.  

 

Note:  Agencies that have been delegated investigative responsibilities must 

be able to communicate in the primary language of the subjects of the 

report in accordance with Section 300.50(e)(9), Persons with Special 

Communication Needs.  
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2) Delegating Responsibility for the Investigation of a Report  

 

A) Contact with Alleged Child Victims in Out-of-Home Facilities  

 

Contact with alleged child victims in out-of-home facilities may be delegated 

to another investigative agency with supervisory approval when the agency 

agrees to meet Department time frames, and provide the Child Protection 

Specialist with written and/or verbal documentation of the contact and the 

information obtained. The agreement must be documented in a contact note.  

 

 

B) Delegated Investigative Contacts with Alleged Perpetrators and Collaterals  
 

The Child Protection Specialist may delegate contacts with alleged perpetrators 

or other persons with information when the delegated law enforcement or 

investigative agency already involved in the situation agrees to make the 

investigative contact and agrees to cover the necessary investigative questions. 

The delegated agency must also agree to provide the Child Protection Specialist 

with written or verbal documentation of the contact and the information 

obtained. This agreement must be documented in a contact note.  
 

Note:  Investigations shall not be approved for closure when alleged 

perpetrators have not been interviewed by the Child Protection 

Specialist, due to a police investigation, without obtaining and 

reviewing a copy of the police investigation, including interview 

reports.  
 

C) When a child dies as a result of alleged abuse or neglect and there are no other 

children in the home, the investigation of the report may be delegated to a law 

enforcement or investigative agency when the agency agrees to the following 

requirements and the Child Protection Specialist has obtained supervisory and 

management approval: the agency must agree to accept the delegated 

investigative responsibilities, meet Department investigative requirements, and 

provide the Child Protection Specialist with documentation of investigative 

contacts and information obtained.  
 

D) The Child Protection Specialist must also provide the law enforcement or 

investigating agency with a redacted copy of the report and a confirmation 

letter within 48 hours after agency verbally agrees to accept responsibility for 

investigating the report. The letter must inform the agency of the Department’s 

60-day time frame for the completion of reports. A copy of the letter must be 

placed in the hard copy file and a contact note must be completed that 

documents all delegated investigative activities. 
 

E) When the delegated investigation involves surviving siblings, the Child 

Protection Specialist retains responsibility for the ongoing safety of the 

children and for meeting all investigation and documentation requirements. 
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F) Time Frames for the Completion of Delegated Investigations  
 

When a criminal investigation exceeds 60 days, the Child Protection 

Specialist must attempt to obtain sufficient information to make a finding. If 

there is insufficient information available to allow the Child Protection 

Specialist to make a finding, the Child Protection Specialist must request an 

extension for the completion of the investigation. See Section 300.50(j) 

Preliminary Report of the Investigation for instructions for requesting an 

extension. The Child Protection Specialist must remain in communication with 

the person(s) conducting the delegated investigation to obtain information 

necessary to make a final finding.  
 

G) CANTS 8 and CFS 1050-54  
 

The Child Protection Specialist should request that the law enforcement or 

investigative agency provide the CANTS 8 and CFS 1050-54 to the alleged 

perpetrator. If the law enforcement or investigative agency cannot or will not 

provide the notifications, the Child Protection Specialist must provide the 

CANTS 8 and the CFS 1050-54 brochure to the alleged perpetrator via 

certified mail and regular mail and document such in a case note.  

 

3) Cooperative Investigations  

 

When a law enforcement agency, State’s Attorney, Coroner or Medical Examiner is 

investigating an incident or circumstances that establish the basis of a report received 

by the Department, there may be a joint investigation with the approval of the law 

enforcement or investigative agency. The Child Protection Specialist, the agency’s 

investigator, and the Child Protection Supervisor must plan the cooperative 

investigation. The Child Protection Specialist shall document the joint investigation 

plan in a contact note.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall initiate and convene a case conference with the 

law enforcement or investigative agency in joint investigations. The Child Protection 

Specialist shall document the conference in a contact note.  

 

When a child is hospitalized for injuries or conditions that are suspected to be the result 

of abuse or neglect by an eligible perpetrator and there is a concurrent law enforcement 

investigation, the Child Protection Specialist shall recommend all involved parties, 

including law enforcement, are invited to the discharge planning conference. The Child 

Protection Specialist shall document the conference in a contact note.  
 

Note:  The Child Protection Specialist retains responsibility for all investigation and 

documentation requirements and shall not exceed or expand the scope of those 

requirements by documenting or investigating beyond the jurisdictional 

authority of the Department.  
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g) Gathering Evidence  
 

For the purpose of making investigative decisions, assessing safety and supporting a final 

finding, Child Protection Specialists must gather evidence and be objective in the gathering of 

both inculpatory and exculpatory evidence. Gathering evidence is allegation specific and 

includes, but is not limited to:  
 

• verifying the identity of investigation subjects;  
 

• completing all person searches and LEADS checks;  
 

• directly observing and photographing the child victim’s environment and the child 

victim(s);  
 

• conducting in-person interviews of other subjects of the investigation;  
 

• conducting interviews of reporters/sources/other persons with information (OPWI), 

witnesses;   
 

• obtaining pertinent information and documentation from medical experts;  
 

• obtaining and documenting descriptive statements from the perpetrator, victim, 

witnesses, and OPWI;  
 

• obtaining and reviewing law enforcement reports and findings; and  
 

• obtaining and reviewing (when possible) photographs or other recordings taken by law 

enforcement or medical professionals.  
 

Note:  If investigative activities reveal an additional allegation is needed or a more appropriate 

allegation is needed to replace the allegation originally assigned, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall identify and assign the most appropriate allegation.  
 

Child Protection Specialists shall gather Direct and/or Indirect Evidence to support an 

investigative finding. An example of Direct Evidence would be a statement given by an 

eyewitness. Indirect (Circumstantial) Evidence is evidence that infers the existence or 

nonexistence of certain facts. An example of Indirect (Circumstantial) Evidence is that a 

child’s caregiver is the perpetrator of abuse when the child is diagnosed with abusive head 

trauma and is known to have been in the sole care of that caregiver during the timeframe of the 

alleged incident.  
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h) Assessing the Credibility of Evidence  
 

For purposes of making child abuse and neglect investigation decisions, “credibility of 

evidence” means the likelihood that information gathered during the course of a child abuse 

and neglect investigation is accurate. The Child Protection Specialist and supervisor must 

evaluate the value and relevance of case information to determine what information is credible 

and can be used as evidence.  
 

1) Factors Affecting the Credibility of Evidence Obtained from All Sources  
 

When determining investigative findings, the credibility of each piece of evidence must 

be evaluated according to the factors below. The more credible the information, the 

more weight the information should be given in reaching a final finding.  
 

Factors affecting the credibility of evidence include, but are not limited to, the 

following:  
 

A) Corroborating Evidence: Corroborating evidence is evidence that supports 

someone’s prior statement or other evidence that may point to a certain 

determination of fact. Evidence is more credible than information that has not 

been verified or supported by independent sources. Example: a mother’s 

statement that a physician has seen her child is made far more credible when 

the physician (corroborating witness) verifies that he or she has seen the child. 

Another example would be a child’s claim that someone hit him/her on the 

back with an extension cord, and upon visual inspection you observe linear 

loop marks on the child’s back (corroborating physical evidence).  
 

B) Source of Information: The more direct the source of information that serves 

as the basis for a source’s opinion, the more reliable is the opinion. Example: a 

physician rendering an opinion based on a review of medical records is more 

credible than a physician rendering an opinion based on the description of an 

injury by the Child Protection Specialist. Even more credible is an opinion 

rendered by a physician based on her or his direct physical evaluation of the 

child.  
 

C) Direct Interest: Information from a source who has something to lose or gain 

from a particular investigative outcome may be less credible than information 

from a source that has no direct interest or bias in providing an account that 

may not be accurate. Example: a neighbor who has had no previous relationship 

to a family and who reports that the young children have been left alone is more 

credible than a neighbor who has been feuding with the family and makes the 

same report. It should not be surprising that adults named as alleged 

perpetrators of abuse or neglect would want to present themselves in the best 

possible light.  

 

Evidence of bias should be corroborated whenever possible. Example: a 

mother’s claim that a grandmother’s allegations against her are suspect should 

not be presumed to be true just because the mother claims that the grandmother 

never liked the mother’s boyfriend.  
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D) Basis of Knowledge: When a witness gives information to a Child Protection 

Specialist, it is critical to determine the basis of the witness’ knowledge. 

Example: if a mother claims that her child was injured when her boyfriend 

accidentally fell on a bed where the child was laying, the Child Protection 

Specialist should determine whether the mother directly observed the event or 

was told by the boyfriend how the event occurred. If a physician determines 

the child’s injury could not have occurred in the manner described, the Child 

Protection Specialist must decide if the mother can be considered as a trusted 

source of information.  
 

Note:  Subjects of a pending child abuse/neglect investigation, who self-report 

behaviors that may pose safety threats, such as the use of alcohol/drugs 

or involvement in a relationship where domestic violence is a concern, 

may deny or minimize their behavior or the behavior of others when 

interviewed by the Child Protection Specialist. The Child Protection 

Specialist must seek out additional collaterals to verify self-reports, 

such as information developed through personal observation, reports 

from professionals, reports from law enforcement, or required 

interviews in order to establish the accuracy of self-reports. There is 

no substitute for independent verification. If collateral information 

shows a subject has not been truthful, the subject’s credibility must 

be taken into account when assessing their protective capacity.  
 

2) Factors Affecting the Credibility of Evidence Obtained from Professional Sources 
 

Mandated reporters/sources/OPWIs often become aware of issues regarding incidents 

of alleged child abuse/neglect due to the role their profession plays in the life of an 

alleged child victim. There is rarely any reason for mandated reporters to lie or falsify 

information to the Department. However, not all mandated reporters provide equally 

credible information. Factors that can influence the degree to which a mandated 

reporter’s information is credible include first-hand observation of the incident of 

alleged harm, training, experience, and specialization.  
 

3) Factors Affecting the Credibility of Evidence Obtained from Adult Non-Professional 

Sources  
 

The credibility of information obtained from non-professional sources, especially 

subjects of investigations, must be carefully evaluated. Particular consideration must 

be given to any direct interest non-professional sources may have in the outcome of an 

investigation. When weighing the credibility of non-professional sources of 

evidence, there is no substitute for independent verification of the evidence with 

additional sources. Factors influencing the degree of credibility of information 

provided by non-professional sources include, but are not limited to:  
 

A) Consistency: Information reported in a consistent manner is more credible 

than information reported inconsistently. For example, a non-professional 

source that provides a significantly different description of an incident to a 

police officer or a physician from the account given to the Child Protection 

Specialist is less credible than a person whose description of the incident 
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remains constant. In order to verify the consistency of any previous obtained 

statements, it is crucial that the Child Protection Specialist not share 

information obtained from other sources with a source being interviewed.  
 

B) Plausibility: A plausible statement is one that is superficially fair or appearing 

worthy of belief, but requires further investigation. Example: the statement that 

a child fell out of bed and bruised his face is plausible, but requires further 

investigation to determine whether the explanation is a truthful account of what 

actually happened. Example: a hand-shaped bruise on a child’s face caused by 

a fall would not be considered to be a plausible explanation for the injury. As 

a rule, qualified physicians must verify whether explanations given for physical 

injuries are plausible.  
 

4) Factors Affecting the Credibility of Evidence Obtained from Children  
 

The factors in the subsections above and the following should be considered when 

assessing evidence obtained from children:  
 

A) Assessing The Child's Credibility: Factors enhancing the child's credibility 

include detailed descriptions in the child's own language and from the child's 

point of view; spontaneity; appropriate degree of anxiety; inclusion of 

idiosyncratic or sensorimotor detail; consistency of allegations over time 

(minor details and descriptive terms may change but the child's account of 

events should remain basically the same); behavioral changes consistent with 

the abuse; absence of motivation or undue influence for fabrication; and 

corroborating evidence. The evaluator needs to be aware of the child's 

cognitive and emotional development and how this may affect the 

interpretation and the recall of events.  
 

B) Evidence That the Child’s Account Of The Facts Has Been Influenced By 

Others: A child’s information is more credible when the child is interviewed 

out of the presence of others who have the ability and motivation to coerce, 

coach or otherwise influence the child’s statement. The Child Protection 

Specialist and Supervisor should discuss any concerns regarding attempts to 

influence a child’s statements and the motivation to do such. This discussion 

should be documented within a supervisory note during the course of regular 

supervision and again at the time of the final finding determination when 

assessing all evidence gathered. 
 

Child protection staff shall not use their belief that a parent or other person is 

influencing, coaching or pressuring a child to make a specific statement during 

the course of a child abuse or neglect investigation as the basis for indicating 

an allegation of child abuse or neglect. Concerns that a child’s statements may 

have been influenced should be considered, in addition to all of the other 

evidence gathered, during the course of a child abuse or neglect investigation 

in order to make a determination whether to indicate or unfound an allegation 

and discussed with the Supervisor when making a final finding determination.  
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i) Assessment of Case Information and Evidence  
 

The Child Protection Specialist and the Child Protection Supervisor must assess the value and 

relevancy of case information to determine which information will be used as evidence, and 

which evidence is more or less credible. The Child Protection Specialist and the Child 

Protection Supervisor must assess the credibility of evidence and identify it as either 

inculpatory or exculpatory. Inculpatory evidence is evidence showing or tending to show a 

person’s involvement in or responsibility for an act of abuse or neglect. Exculpatory evidence 

is evidence tending to show a person’s lack of involvement in or lack of responsibility for an 

act of abuse or neglect  
 

The Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor must assess all 

exculpatory and inculpatory evidence when making an investigative finding.  
 

Note:  The decision to indicate or unfound an investigation should not be based on whether 

law enforcement or a medical doctor took protective custody.  
 

The Child Protection Supervisor must review the SACWIS and hard-copy files. All 

information obtained during the investigation and determined to be relevant is to be used as 

inculpatory or exculpatory evidence to make a determination. It is of critical importance that 

all evidence suggesting that an incident of abuse or neglect did not occur be given the same 

consideration as evidence suggesting that an incident of abuse or neglect did occur. The Child 

Protection Specialist and the Child Protection Supervisor must evaluate each piece of 

information to determine its relevance, credibility and weight of importance in proving or 

disproving the pending allegations.  
 

The Child Protection Supervisor shall review all inculpatory and exculpatory evidence with 

the Child Protection Specialist to determine whether the evidence is sufficient to lead a 

reasonable person to believe that the incident occurred or that the set of circumstances is or 

was present. Equal consideration shall be given to all information considered.  

 

Assessment of Evidence  

 

The following may never be used as the sole basis to unfound or indicate a report.  
 

• Intent to Harm the Child: The fact that the perpetrator expresses that he/she did not 

intend to hurt, leave a mark or endanger a child is not a factor to be considered in 

making a final finding determination. The law is clear that the showing of intent is not 

required to prove abuse, but that the abuse occurred by other than accidental means. 

In reviewing the specific circumstances surrounding an allegation of abuse, the focus 

must be on whether the caregiver failed to fulfill their responsibility as a caregiver and 

what happened to the child, not the caregiver’s intent.  
 

• One Time Incident: There is nothing in ANCRA that provides for a report to be 

unfounded solely because an incident of abuse or neglect was a one-time or isolated 

incident. The incident must be evaluated according to the evidence gathered and the 

consideration of all applicable factors. Example: It is inappropriate to unfound the case 

of an infant who was left alone simply because it had not happened before.  
 

• The Family’s Need for Services: The decision to indicate a report must be based on 

evidence and not used as a device to obtain services for a family.  
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• Agreement or Failure to Accept Services: The fact that a perpetrator agrees to receive 

or refuse services (or is already receiving them) shall have no effect on the decision to 

indicate or unfound an allegation. The final determination is based upon the incident 

that occurred.  Services can impact the safety and risk assessments, but not the final 

finding decision. Example: the investigation of a mother who hit a two-year old in the 

face with a belt should not be unfounded simply because the mother is receiving anger-

management counseling or indicated because she refuses anger-management 

counseling.  
 

• Economic Status or Neighborhood: Child protection decisions must never be 

influenced by a family’s economic status or by the condition of the neighborhood in 

which they live. The fact that families are wealthy and live in an affluent neighborhood 

or poor and live in a disadvantaged neighborhood, should play no part in the decision 

to indicate or unfound a report.  
 

• Attitude Toward the Child Protection Specialist or Other Involved Workers: The 

attitude family members express toward the Child Protection Specialist must not 

influence a final finding determination. Reports must never be unfounded because the 

family is agreeable and cooperative with the Child Protection Specialist, or other 

involved workers, nor should they be indicated because the family is disagreeable and 

uncooperative. 
 

• Conflicting Information Conflicting information should never be used solely as a 

basis to unfound or indicate a report. The Child Protection Specialist must determine 

which statements are more likely to be credible by applying the following factors:  
 

o Various family members may have motivation to be untruthful if they will 

benefit from it. Example: a grandparent may exaggerate a situation because he 

or she wants custody of the child. Many times relatives want custody because 

of valid concerns regarding a child’s safety and cannot be presumed to be 

acting in bad faith.  
 

o Whose “story” most closely fits the facts provided by objective witnesses and 

the Child Protection Specialist’s observations? Which version most closely fits 

what the Child Protection Specialist already knows to be factual about the case? 

What set of statements is most plausible?  
 

o Is the subject’s statement based upon expertise in an area that he or she makes 

reference to? Example: an emergency medical technician giving a medical 

opinion about an incident of sexual abuse would be considered less reliable 

than the medical opinion of a physician who performed the sexual abuse 

examination. However, the EMT may be the best source of information on how 

the child or household appeared when the EMT arrived at the scene.  
 

o Is the information provided based upon first-hand knowledge, second-hand 

hearsay or only the feelings and attitudes of the person being interviewed? A 

statement made from first hand observation is more likely to be accurate.  
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•  Personal Biases of the Child Protection Specialist: Child Protection Specialists 

should be aware of their own personal biases and how those biases affect their 

decisions. Child Protection Specialists, in consultation with their supervisors, must 

ensure that their own personal biases do not influence the determination of a final 

finding. Examples of such personal biases include, but are not limited to, issues of:  

 

o Culture;  

o Race;  

o Gender;  

o Sexual orientation;  

o Religion; or  

o Ethnic heritage.  
 

• Death of a Perpetrator During an Investigation  

 

The death of a perpetrator during the course of an investigation should not influence a 

final finding determination. The final finding must be based on the evidence gathered 

and whether or not that evidence supports a finding that child abuse or neglect occurred.  

 

If there is not sufficient evidence to lead a reasonable person to believe that the incident 

occurred or that a set of circumstances is or was present, the report shall be unfounded. 

If there is sufficient evidence to lead a reasonable person to believe that the incident 

occurred or that a set of circumstances is or was present, the incident or set of 

circumstances must be compared to the definitions of all relevant allegations and the 

established standard for indicating them to determine that the report shall be indicated.  

 

j) Preliminary Report of the Investigation  

 

1) If the Child Protection Specialist is unable to make a final finding determination within 

55 calendar days of the receipt of the report, the Child Protection Specialist must submit 

a good cause extension request to the Child Protection Supervisor. The Child 

Protection Supervisor shall review the extension request and if approved, in turn submit 

the good cause extension request to the Area Administrator, prior to the 55th elapsed 

calendar day of the investigation.  

 

2) All requests and approvals for extensions must be documented. In the narrative section 

on the extension request, the Child Protection Specialist shall list the reasons the 

investigation cannot be completed within 55 days, activities to be completed, who is 

responsible for completing each activity, and the expected date of completion. The 

extension request shall be reviewed and approved by the Child Protection Supervisor 

and Area Administrator. The date and time of the Area Administrator’s approval of 

additional extensions must be documented in a contact note. There must be 

information and activities contained within contact and supervisory notes 

documenting the progress of the investigation and plans for completion.  
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3) Good cause for extending the period for making a determination an additional 30 days 

may include, but is not limited to, the following reasons:  

 

• State's Attorneys or law enforcement officials have requested that the 

Department delay making a determination due to a pending criminal 

investigation;  

 

• Medical autopsy reports, or mental health records needed to make a 

determination are still pending after the initial 60 day period or there are 

conflicting medical opinions to resolve;  

 

• The report involves an out-of-state investigation and the delay is beyond the 

Department's control;  

 

• Multiple alleged perpetrators or victims are involved necessitating more time 

in developing evidence and conducting interviews;  

 

• The investigation requires analysis of conflicting medical opinions;  

 

• Reports requiring a GAL review; or  

 

• Reports requiring a DuPuy review;  

 

k) Final Determinations  

 

1) When the Child Protection Specialist has completed all required investigative contacts 

and has gathered all inculpatory and exculpatory evidence, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall, in consultation with the Child Protection Supervisor, make a final 

finding determination. This determination shall be based upon whether the evidence 

gathered during the investigation and from the direct observations made by the Child 

Protection Specialist constitutes credible evidence of child abuse or neglect.  

 

When assessing evidence and direct observation in order to determine a final finding, 

the Child Protection Specialist should apply the following 6 critical thinking steps:  
 

• What information is available?  
 

• What am I being asked to believe or accept?  
 

• What evidence is available to support the assertion; is it reliable and valid? 

What evidence is there to negate the assertion?  
 

• Are there alternative ways of interpreting the information?  
 

• What additional information would help to evaluate the alternatives?  
 

•  What conclusions are most reasonable based on the information and the 

number of alternative explanations?  
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Note:  Investigations shall not be approved for closure when alleged perpetrators have 

not been interviewed by Child Protection staff, due to a police investigation, 

without obtaining and reviewing a copy of the police investigation, including 

interview reports.  

 

2) When the evaluation of all inculpatory and exculpatory evidence leads a reasonable 

person to believe that an incident of abuse or neglect did occur, the allegation is 

indicated.  

 

3) When there is evidence that the parent, caretaker, immediate family member, paramour 

or person responsible for the child’s welfare failed to make reasonable efforts to stop 

another person from harming a child, the final finding of abuse against the individual 

should be documented as Indicated Allowed. This is used when the individual had no 

direct responsibility for the abuse, but the individual’s failure to protect allowed harm 

to be inflicted. Example: a mother who watches her paramour inflict bruises on her 

child and makes no effort to intervene would receive a final finding of Indicated 

Allowed for Allegation #11 Cuts, Bruises, Welts, Abrasions and Oral Injuries.  

 

4) When the evaluation of all inculpatory and exculpatory evidence leads a reasonable 

person to believe that an incident of abuse or neglect did not occur, the allegation is 

unfounded.  

 

Note:  If the recommended finding is to unfound a report, but the parent/caregiver has 

been arrested and charged on the same facts leading to the child abuse/neglect 

allegations, an investigation shall not be closed until the criminal court ruling 

is obtained.  
 

5) Once a final determination has been made and the Child Protection Supervisor has 

approved the investigation, the investigation can only be re-opened for the exceptions 

listed below.  
 

Note:  The Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor are NEVER  

to contact OITS to open a closed investigation.  
 

A) An investigation may be re-opened, after approval from the of Deputy of Child 

Protection, under the following exceptions:  
 

• Technical error (i.e., Child Protection Specialist chose a wrong drop-

down; Child Protection Supervisor meant to return the investigation but 

selected approve instead); or  
 

• Technical error that does not impact the Final Finding (i.e., removal of 

a note; correction within a note; failed to complete the protective 

custody section).  
 

  



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

September 9, 2022, PT 2022.07 
 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.50 – (37) 

B) A request to re-open a closed investigation must be made in writing by the 

Child Protection Specialist within 24 hours of the investigation being approved 

by the Child Protection Supervisor. The Child Protection Supervisor shall 

submit approved requests to the Deputy of Child Protection or designee, Area 

Administrator, Regional Administrator, and SCR Administrator (the chain of 

approval must be documented in the request submitted to the Deputy of Child 

Protection).  
 

C) The Deputy of Child Protection or designee shall review and approve or reject 

the request to re-open an investigation within 24 hours of receipt of the request. 

If approved, the Deputy of Child Protection or designee shall notify the SCR 

Administrator to re-open the investigation. The SCR Administrator shall notify 

the Child Protection Supervisor that the investigation has been re-opened.  
 

Note:  Once an investigation is completed and a final finding notification 

letter is sent, a case cannot be reopened. 
 

l) Authority to Receive Information and Records  
 

When conducting investigations, Child Protection Specialists, Child Protection Supervisors, 

and Area Administrators are entitled to receive information and records concerning subjects of 

the investigation and their environments that are relevant to the investigation. This includes 

medical records. [The federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 

(HIPAA) allows protected health information about a subject of an investigation to be disclosed 

without written authorization to an appropriate government authority authorized by law to 

receive reports of child abuse or neglect.]  
 

When appropriate, the Child Protection Specialist shall use the CFS 600-5, Request for 

Records, to communicate the Department’s authority to receive information and records. If 

the keeper of the records will not release the requested records, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall issue a CANTS 7, Administrative Subpoena, to obtain the records.  
 

1) Authorization to Use Subpoenas  
 

The Children and Family Services Act [20 ILCS 505/21(b)] authorizes qualified 

Department staff to secure by its subpoena both the attendance and testimony of 

witnesses and the production of books and papers relevant to abuse and neglect 

investigations.  
 

2) When to Use  
 

When a Child Protection Specialist has been denied access to information pertinent to 

an investigation, the Child Protection Specialist shall consult with the Child Protection 

Supervisor regarding the issuance of an administrative subpoena. The administrative 

subpoena can be used to obtain access to documents or require appearance of persons 

to give evidence. The Child Protection Specialist shall ensure that persons with a 

limited ability to read or understand English, comprehend the subpoena or visually 

impaired persons shall have the subpoena read to them or translated into Braille. 

Spanish language forms shall be used for Spanish speaking clients.  
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3) Directions for Completing an Administrative Subpoena  
 

Enter the following information in the indicated sections of the subpoena:  
 

• Re: Type or legibly write the case name;  
 

• SCR No: Type or write the SCR identification number;  
 

• To: Type or legibly write the name and address of the person responsible for 

providing the requested documents or evidence. Address the subpoena to the 

Keeper of Records when requesting documents from hospitals or police 

departments; 
 

• YOU ARE HEREBY ORDERED: After the words duly designated 

representative, type or legibly write the Child Protection Specialist’s name, 

office address, and the date the documents and information must be provided 

to the Child Protection Specialist;  
 

• Documents and/or information: After the words all recipient claim detail 

pertaining to: type or legibly write the specific documents being sought and the 

name, date of birth, and Social Security number and Public Aid number (if 

known) of the person the evidence or information is being sought.  
 

• Direct all inquiries and responses concerning this matter to: type or legibly 

write the Child Protection Specialist’s name and office address under the 

Department of Children and Family Services.  
 

4) Examples of Competent Requests  
 

The Child Protection Specialist must be sure that the request for records is thorough 

and completely describes the records sought. A few common examples are shown 

below.  
 

A) Medical Records  
 

“Any and all medical records concerning name (maiden and known aliases), 

date of birth and Social Security number, from (date) to (date), including but 

not limited to: treatment records, laboratory results reports, discharge 

summaries, admission report, nursing notes, physician notes, orders reports, 

correspondence, diagnoses and consultation reports, hospital records, 

diagnostic and screening reports, report of radiological tests and procedures, 

mediation records, log notes, emergency medical reports, and prognosis 

reports.”  
 

The Child Protection Specialist should request the mother's medical records 

when requesting the medical records for her newborn child. The DCFS 

guardian’s consent is required when requesting HIV or STI records for a youth 

for whom the Department has legal responsibility.  
 

Administrative Subpoenas requesting records related to Medicaid benefit 

claims shall be directed to General Counsel, Department of Healthcare and 

Family Services, 100 W. Randolph, Suite 10-300, Chicago, IL 60601.  
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B) Mental Health Records  
 

“Any and all mental health records concerning name (maiden and known 

aliases), date of birth and social security number, from (date) to (date), 

including but not limited to: reports of evaluations, examination, diagnosis, 

treatment prognosis, medication and therapies.”  
 

Note:  The Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Act [740 ILCS 

110/11(i)] permits mental health information to be released in 

accordance with the provisions of the Abused and Neglected Child 

Reporting Act.  
 

C) School Records  
 

“Any and all school records concerning name, date of birth and Social Security 

number, from (date) to (date), including but not limited to: application and 

admission records, performance reports, grades, test results, discipline records, 

medical reports, accident and unusual incident reports and attendance records.”  
 

D) Criminal History & Call Reports  
 

“Criminal history and call reports concerning name (maiden and known 

aliases), address, date of birth and social security number, from (date) to (date), 

including but not limited to: arrest reports, bail bond notification, case reports, 

and supplemental reports; and transcripts or data base printouts of call records, 

calls for service or transcripts, database printouts of police/emergency dispatch 

911 or requests for non-emergency assistance at (address) to (date) or records 

of reports naming (name and known aliases, date of birth) as the complainant 

or victim.”  
 

5) Issue the Administrative Subpoena  
 

A) Provide Information to Authorized Administrators  
 

The Senior Deputy of Operations has designated certain Area Administrators 

to authorize issuance of Administrative Subpoenas pursuant to this section.  
 

Prior to issuing the CANTS 7, the Child Protection Supervisor or designee 

shall review the subpoena to ensure that it is complete and contains the 

following information before providing it to an authorized Area Administrator 

for his or her signature:  
 

• The case name and SCR number;  
 

• The names of the person/agency to whom the subpoena is being 

directed;  
 

• The due date that will appear on the subpoena. (This date should be 

reasonable and is usually 10 to 14 days from the date of receipt of the 

subpoena.);  
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• The name of the Child Protection Specialist issuing the subpoena; 
 

• The completed subpoena which includes the specific request for 

records and/or information; and  
 

• A copy of the allegation(s) and a synopsis of the investigation for the 

authorized Area Administrator’s assessment. (The allegation and 

synopsis of investigation are not sent out with the Administrative 

Subpoena. They are for the Area Administrator’s review only.  
 

Authorized Area Administrators have subpoena signature authority for the 

Senior Deputy of Operations and the subpoena is not valid until it is signed by 

the authorized Area Administrator. The Child Protection Specialist must 

provide a copy of the allegation(s) and a summary of the investigation for 

review by the Child Protection Supervisor and authorized administrator in 

conjunction with the subpoena to ensure that the documents and/or information 

requested are valid and necessary. The Child Protection Specialist must also 

enter his or her name and office address in the “inquiries and responses” section 

directly below the Senior Deputy of Operation’s signature line.  
 

B) Service, Notarization and Copies of the Subpoena  
 

When there is an immediate need for the documents and/or the information, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall hand deliver the administrative subpoena to 

the person or entity to which the subpoena is directed. The administrative 

subpoena may be served by certified mail if there is no immediate need for the 

documents and/or the information.  
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall complete the bottom section of the file 

copy of the administrative subpoena in the presence of a Notary Public after it 

has been served, place the notarized copy in the investigative file and complete 

a contact note to document completion of the activity.  
 

Note:  If an investigative finding is made and the subpoenaed information is 

no longer needed, the Child Protection Specialist shall notify the person 

or entity to which the subpoena was issued that the requested 

documents and/or information are no longer required.  

 

C) Notification If No Response  
 

If the subpoenaed documents and/or information are not forwarded to the Child 

Protection Specialist by the date identified on the subpoena, the Child 

Protection Specialist must contact the Keeper of Records to determine if there 

is a valid reason for the delay. Document all contacts with the Keeper of the 

Records in a contact note. If the Keeper of the Records fails or refuses to 

comply with the subpoena, the Child Protection Supervisor shall immediately 

notify the DCFS Regional Counsel of the situation and provide documentation 

why the information is important to the investigation.  
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If the subpoena requested mental health records of a parent/caregiver, and the 

Keeper of the Records fails or refuses to comply with the subpoena, the Child 

Protection Supervisor shall immediately notify both the DCFS Regional 

Counsel and the Office of Inspector General (OIG) of the situation and provide 

documentation explaining why the information is important to the 

investigation.  
 

Consultation with the Regional Counsel and/or the OIG regarding subpoenaed 

records/information shall be documented in a contact note.  

 

m) Statutorily Required Notifications to Local Law Enforcement and State’s Attorney 
 

1)   Pursuant to 325 ILCS 5/7 when the Department receives a report alleging any of 

the following circumstances, the Department shall within 24 hours orally notify 

local law enforcement personnel and the office of the State's Attorney's of the 

involved county: 
 

A) The death of a child; 
 

B) Serious injury of a child, including, but not limited to, brain damage, skull 

fractures, subdural hematomas, and internal injuries; 
 

C) Torture of a child; 
 

D) Malnutrition of a child; or 
 

E) Sexual abuse to a child, including, but not limited to, sexual intercourse, 

sexual exploitation, sexual molestation, and sexually transmitted disease in 

a child age 12 and under. 
 

2) The Child Protection Specialist must document the verbal notification to law 

enforcement and the State's Attorney in a contact note.  
 

3) All oral reports made by the Department to local law enforcement personnel and 

the office of the State’s Attorney of the involved county shall be confirmed in writing 

within 24 hours of the oral report.  325 ILCS 5/7.  To that end, the Child Protection 

Specialist must send a written confirmation using CANTS 14 Child Abuse Law 

Enforcement Notification to the law enforcement agency and State's Attorney 

within 24 hours of the oral report. A redacted copy of the completed Intake may be 

attached to the completed CANTS 14 that is sent. A copy of the completed CANTS 

14 sent to law enforcement and the State’s Attorney must be placed in the 

investigative file.  
 

5) For cases requiring the involvement of The Child Advocacy Center (CAC) the 

Child Protection Specialists must follow any additional notification procedures 

required by the CAC. 
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5) Referral to State’s Attorney for Petition Seeking Temporary Custody 

 

A) The Child Protection Specialist shall take protective custody of a child for all 

cases where: 
 

i) Urgent and immediate necessity to remove the child from the home 

exists; and 
 

ii) Reasonable efforts have been made or ... no reasonable efforts can be 

made to prevent or eliminate the necessity of removal of the minor from 

his or her home. 705 ILCS 40512-10. 
 

B) The Child Protection Specialist shall complete and provide to the State's 

Attorney the CANTS 33 Formal Referral to State's Attorney for Filing a 

Petition for Juvenile Court Intervention. 
 

6) Referral to State’s Attorney for petition seeking other court intervention. 

 

A) Every child protection case shall be assessed by the Child Protection 

Specialist in collaboration with the Child Protection Supervisor regarding 

referral to the State's Attorney's Office for filing of a petition seeking other 

court intervention, such as: 

 

i) Continuance under Supervision, 705 ILCS 405/2-20; 
 

ii) Protective Supervision, 705 ILCS 405/2-24; and 
 

iii) Order of Protection, 705 ILCS 405/2-25. 
 

B) The Child Protection Specialist shall make the referral to the State's 

Attorney's Office by providing the State's Attorney with a completed 

CANTS 33, Formal Referral for State's Attorney to File a Petition 

for Juvenile Court Intervention and requesting a follow-up meeting to 

discuss the case. 
 

C) Serious Harms  
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall notify law enforcement and the State's 

Attorney those reports in which the suspected harm to the alleged child victim 

is severe. See Procedures 300, Appendix B, the Allegation System, for 

specific allegations that contain law enforcement/State’s Attorney notification 

requirements.  
 

D) Second Indicated Report of Abuse  
 

Within 48 hours after indicating the second report of child abuse on a family, 

regardless of severity and regardless of whether the same person was indicated, 

the Child Protection Specialist shall send to the State's Attorney a redacted and 

completed report along with a completed CANTS 12, Notification to State’s 

Attorney Of A Second Indicated Child Abuse Report.  
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E) Juvenile Perpetrators  
 

The following actions shall be taken to ensure that Department staff, POS 

providers, and juvenile court personnel have access to relevant information that 

may augment safety planning, risk assessment and ongoing service needs in 

cases involving juvenile perpetrators (youth under 18 years of age and not a 

caregiver) and their families.  
 

i) The Child Protection Specialist shall request that the State’s Attorney 

office staff cases involving juvenile perpetrators who are known to be, 

or suspected of being, juvenile offenders. Staffing requests and related 

information shall be documented in a contact note and placed in the 

investigative file.  
 

ii) Department and POS staff shall attempt to coordinate service planning 

with the appropriate juvenile court services for all cases involving 

juvenile perpetrators indicated of sexual or physical abuse who have an 

active case with juvenile court services. Service coordination requests 

and related information shall be documented in a contact note.  
 

F) Failure to Protect  
 

i) The Child Protection Specialist shall refer to the State’s Attorney’s 

Office for filing of a petition seeking other court intervention where 

there is evidence that the non-offending caregiver:  
 

1) Was told, was otherwise aware or should have been aware of 

the abuse prior to the report but failed to take reasonable steps 

to protect the victim;  
 

2) Does not believe that the abuse occurred;  
 

3) Is not supportive of the victim, as evidenced by attempts to 

convince the victim to recant or blame the victim;  
 

4) Has a history of alcohol or substance abuse, mental illness, 

developmental delay, or abusive interpersonal relationships 

that would be likely to impede adherence to a protective plan;  
 

5) Was aware or should have been aware that the perpetrator had 

previously been convicted or indicated of sex offenses or other 

violent crimes, yet allowed the perpetrator to have access to the 

children;  
 

6) Is a victim of domestic abuse, but denies being abused by the 

perpetrator or has not taken reasonable steps to protect him or 

herself;  
 

7) Would have serious difficulty in maintaining a safety plan; or  
 

8) There are multiple family perpetrators. 
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ii) The State’s Attorney should be asked to petition for juvenile court 

intervention of any second indicated report of a sexual abuse or 

physical abuse allegation where the child is in the care of the same non-

offending caregiver who previously failed to protect the child and the 

perpetrator is found to have continued access to the victim or the 

victim’s siblings in violation of an existing court order or protective 

plan. This includes reports of substantial risk of sexual injury.  
 

iii) Child Protection Specialists and Child Protection Supervisors shall 

assess all death, physical abuse, and sexual abuse harm cases for 

referral to the State’s Attorney. The following factors must be 

considered on a case-by-case basis:  
 

1) The presence of a strong extended family willing to provide 

support to the victim and the non-offending caregiver;  
 

2) The presence of a strong extended family willing to monitor the 

safety plan;  
 

3) The family’s treatment progress;  
 

4) The severity of the abuse;  
 

5)  The early evidence of the non-offending caregiver’s 

willingness to cooperate;  
 

6) The degree to which the perpetrator is likely to have access to 

the victim and the victim’s siblings; and  
 

7) Whether the non-offending caregiver has provided false 

information in the past in an effort to protect the abuser.  
 

G) Waiver  
 

A waiver must be obtained from the Area Administrator for all cases not 

petitioned in accordance with these procedures. The Child Protection Specialist 

shall document the Area Administrator’s decision in a contact note. 
  

7) Other Circumstances Requiring Consultation with Law Enforcement 
 

i) The following are examples of additional circumstances that require law 

enforcement notification:  
 

1) When a child is hospitalized for injuries or conditions suspected to be 

the result of abuse or neglect by an eligible perpetrator and there is a 

concurrent law enforcement and child protection investigation. There 

must be a conference between law enforcement and child protection 

prior to the child’s discharge to discuss safety threats;  
 

2) When a case involves domestic violence and/or drug abuse/misuse, all 

law enforcement agencies with jurisdiction (i.e. local police, sheriff, 

Illinois State Police) must be notified; or  
 

3) After contact with a family during which illegal drugs were observed.  
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ii) Upon assignment of the investigation or determination that circumstances 

warrant completing and submitting a CANTS 14 form, the Child Protection 

Supervisor must immediately, but no later than within 1 business day, fax the 

completed CANTS 14 form to local law enforcement. Efforts to obtain law 

enforcement’s decision to become involved must be documented within 24 

hours of the notification.  

 
n) Parallel Investigations  

 

A parallel investigation is a joint investigation involving more than one investigative team. A 

parallel investigation may be initiated by the SCR or a Child Protection Supervisor for the 

purpose of completing an investigative requirement involving a subject or subjects located 

outside the region/site/field (RSF) of the assigned investigative team. The primary Child 

Protection Specialist retains the responsibility for all notifications.  
 

1) SCR Initiated Parallel Investigations  
 

When SCR determines that the current location of the alleged child victim or other 

report subjects is outside the RSF of the assigned investigative unit, SCR shall assign 

a parallel investigation to the unit responsible for initiating the report. The SCR Call 

Floor Worker will document information related to the parallel investigation in the 

narrative box of the Intake. Supervisors of local investigative units will make other 

parallel investigation requests when the need is identified.  

 

Child Protection Supervisors or their designees shall immediately correct any parallel 

investigation assignment errors made by SCR. Corrective activities shall include verbal 

notification to the primary investigative team supervisor of the error, and transmission 

of the parallel investigation request to the appropriate investigative team. These 

activities shall be completed in a timely manner to ensure that all applicable procedural 

timeframes and requirements are met. 

 

Note:  SCR shall assign case responsibility in accordance with the following when 

another state is involved in an incident of abuse or neglect.  

 

• Assign an SCR case number only if the other state refuses and there is 

a current protective issue when:  

The incident occurred out-of-state;  

The perpetrator’s residence is out-of-state; and  

The victim’s residence is in Illinois.  

 

• Assign an SCR case number when:  

The incident occurred in Illinois;  

The perpetrator’s residence is out-of-state; and  

The victim’s residence is in Illinois.  

 

• Assign an SCR case number when:  

The incident occurred in Illinois;  

The perpetrator’s residence is in Illinois; and  

The victim’s residence is out-of-state.  
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• Do not assign an SCR case number unless protective custody is taken 

in Illinois when:  

The incident occurred out-of-state;  

The perpetrator’s residence is out-of-state; and  

The victim’s residence is out-of-state.  

 

• Assign an SCR case number when:  

The incident occurred out-of-state;  

The perpetrator’s residence is in Illinois; and  

The victim’s residence is in Illinois.  

 

• Make the case a Child Protective Service parallel investigation, but do 

not assign an SCR case number when:  

The incident occurred out-of-state;  

The perpetrator’s residence is in Illinois; and  

The victim’s residence is out-of-state.  

 

2) Child Protection Supervisor Requested Parallel Investigations  
 

Child Protection Supervisors may request a parallel investigation for any activity 

requiring in-person contact with alleged victims, alleged perpetrators, other report 

subjects or other persons with information. If the request is to initiate an investigation, 

the request shall be made as soon as the requirement is known in order to allow the 

parallel team supervisor time to integrate the investigation into their team’s workflow. 

All other requests should be made within 24 hours after the need is identified.  
 

A) Prior to making a parallel investigation request, the Child Protection Supervisor 

shall consider the following factors to determine the practicability of having 

the assigned Child Protection Specialist travel to another RSF to initiate the 

investigation or complete a contact:  
 

• Travel time and distance;  
 

• Benefits to the family and Department in maintaining investigation 

continuity; and  
 

• Elimination of the possible need to have a Child Protection Specialist 

from the other RSF travel to testify in court. 
 

B) To make a parallel investigation request, the Child Protection Supervisor shall 

complete the narrative section in the assignment window describing the reason 

or reasons for the request, special instructions, updated locations and telephone 

numbers of subjects to be seen, and forward the request to the appropriate 

investigative team. The Child Protection Supervisor shall also verbally alert the 

receiving team supervisor of the parallel investigation request to:  
 

•  Verify receipt of the report and determine when a parallel team Child 

Protection Specialist will initiate the investigation;  
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• Clarify any issues involving the parallel investigation request and 

associated procedural requirements;  
 

• Verify the team responsibilities with the State’s Attorney and law 

enforcement; and  
 

• Provide information regarding current addresses of subjects and 

LEADS information.  

 

3) Parallel Investigation Conference  

 

A) When the parallel team initiates the investigation, the Child Protection 

Supervisors and Child Protection Specialists shall teleconference as soon as 

possible, but no later than 24 hours after the investigation is initiated and the 

parallel request was made. When necessary, the teleconference may proceed 

when only one member of each team is in attendance. The following shall be 

addressed during the teleconference:  

 

i) The safety assessment determination and supporting documentation 

(e.g., statements made by children, observations of children, 

caregivers’ statements, etc.);  

 

ii) The determination of any additional children who may be at risk;  

 

iii) Provisions of the safety plan if one has been implemented;  

 

iv) Persons responsible for monitoring the plan;  

 

v) Timeframe and monitoring of the plan;  

 

vi) Alternative living arrangement (include names of caregivers, address, 

telephone, and results of LEADS checks and person searches);  

 

vii) Other persons interviewed, their relationship to the family and quality 

of information provided (e.g., first hand information, hearsay, Child 

Protection Specialist’s direct observations);  

 

viii) Verification of identity of persons and update the Person Management 

screens as necessary; and  

 

ix) The completion date for the parallel investigation if it is not completed 

at the time of the conference.  

 

B) The primary Child Protection Specialist shall enter the CERAP in accordance 

with Procedures 300, Appendix G. The primary Child Protection Specialist 

shall compile the safety assessment information and complete the safety 

assessment in conjunction with information received from, and discussion 

with, the parallel Child Protection Specialist. 
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C) If the child or children are at a location other than their permanent residence, a 

Child Protection Specialist from the area in which the child or children are 

temporarily residing will be assigned the parallel investigation and will monitor 

the safety plan. 

 

D) Child Protection Specialists shall follow the procedures set out above in 

Section 300.50(d) Good Faith Determination and Unqualified Reports 

when the investigation has been initiated with a Good Faith Attempt. 

 

E) A parallel case assignment cannot end without a conversation between the 

primary and parallel supervisors. If the supervisors cannot resolve an 

assignment issue they shall consult with their respective Area Administrators.  

 

4) Parallel Investigation Safety Determinations  

 

It is the responsibility of the primary Child Protection Supervisor to ensure that the 

safety assessment is completed in accordance with Procedures 300, Appendix G 

Child Endangerment Risk Assessment Protocol (CERAP).  

 

In accordance with the CERAP, the Child Protection Specialist that initiates the in-

person contact with the alleged children victims should complete the safety assessment. 

However, when the parallel Child Protection Specialist initiates contact with the 

alleged child victims, the Child Protection Specialist and his or her supervisor shall 

contact the primary Child Protection Supervisor to discuss which Child Protection 

Specialist shall complete the safety assessment. When there are multiple alleged child 

victims in more than 3 RSFs, the primary Child Protection Specialist is responsible for 

completing the safety assessment.  

 

When the Child Protection Supervisors disagree about which Child Protection 

Specialist should complete the safety assessment, the Area Administrators must be 

consulted. When an agreement cannot be reached, the primary Area Administrator 

shall make the decision. 

 

When a child victim is seen by a Child Protection Specialist during a parallel 

investigation, and the child has been assessed unsafe and a safety plan has been 

implemented, it is the responsibility of the parallel team to complete 5-day safety 

reassessments and related requirements. The parallel team shall also participate in 

weekly teleconferences with the primary team.  

 

Discussions concerning reassignment of primary responsibility of the investigation to 

the parallel team may occur when the parallel team has completed the majority of the 

investigation requirements.  
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5) Verification of Identifying Information  
 

A Child Protection Specialist conducting a parallel investigation must verify the dates 

of birth; correct spelling of names, Social Security numbers, and primary addresses for 

all alleged perpetrators, adult household members and frequent visitors to the home. 

Collateral contacts should be used to verify the identity of those persons unwilling or 

unable to produce verification of identity. The Child Protection Specialist conducting 

the parallel investigation shall update this information in the Person Management 

window.  
 

6) Hard Copy Documentation  
 

The Child Protection Specialist conducting the parallel investigation must forward any 

hard copy information to the primary Child Protection Specialist within 72 hours or 

sooner after receipt of the document.  
 

7) Parallel Investigations within the City of Chicago  

 

Parallel investigation requests are not permitted between investigative teams serving 

the City of Chicago. The assigned Child Protection Specialist will complete all 

investigation requirements regardless of where the subject or collateral contact is 

located in the city.  
 

8) Out-of-State Parallel Investigation Requests  
 

When a subject of an investigation resides in another state or an in-person collateral 

contact is required in another state, the Child Protection Specialist shall contact the 

appropriate child protection agency in the state where the subject or collateral contact 

is located to request the parallel investigation contact. Depending on the case 

circumstances, the request may be made by telephone or in writing. The Child 

Protection Specialist shall document the request in a contact note. Copies of written 

correspondence shall be filed in the investigative file.  
 

If the agency does not respond in a timely manner with the requested information, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall contact the agency to determine the reasons, and 

document the reasons for the delay and actions taken to secure the requested 

information in a contact note. When appropriate, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

contact the agency weekly until the information is obtained. The Child Protection 

Specialist shall consult with the Child Protection Supervisor when the requested 

information is not received prior to the end of the 60-day final determination time frame 

in order to determine whether a final finding can be made without the requested 

information. 
 

Note: SCR shall take reports of alleged incidents of abuse or neglect that occur in 

other states when the criteria for such assignment are met.  The Department’s 

criteria for accepting case responsibility for out-of-state incidents of harm are 

located in the In-State/Out-of-State Case Responsibility Matrix in (1) of this 

subsection.  
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Section 300.60  Scene Investigations and Time Lines 
 
a) Scene Investigations 
 

Many abuse and neglect allegations require “observation of the environment” or a “scene 
investigation.”  The Child Protection Specialist must conduct a scene investigation when it 
is required by the allegation being investigated.  (Refer to Procedures 300, Appendix B 
for allegation specific instructions.)  Scene investigations can include the observation and 
assessment of more than one location, depending on the incident of harm.  The Child 
Protection Specialist should consult with the Child Protection Supervisor to determine 
which environments require a scene investigation. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist must contact local law enforcement when it is important to 
preserve physical evidence from a scene.  However, that does not relieve the Child 
Protection Specialist from the responsibility to carefully and thoroughly describe this 
evidence in a contact note.   
 
The Child Protection Specialist conducts a scene investigation by observing, 
photographing, and documenting the vicinity and surroundings where an incident of child 
abuse or neglect is alleged to have occurred.  The scene investigation should include: 

 
• A description of what is visible or present at the scene.  Note the time of day the 

environment is observed, describe important visible objects and estimate distances.  
If a distance or height is a crucial fact in an investigation, the Child Protection 
Specialist should measure it or make arrangements for it to be measured.  When an 
injury shows a pattern (e.g., a striped bruise), look at the scene for an instrument 
that may have caused that pattern.   

 
Example:  A baby had a head injury that left a pronounced pattern mark on top of 
head.  Dad admitted having the child in his sole custody during the previous 24 
hours, and that he was playing on his PlayStation.  The Child Protection Specialist 
noticed the dimensions of the pattern mark matched perfectly with TV remote 
control.  Dad later admitted throwing the remote at baby. 

 
• The Child Protection Specialist shall take photographs of the scene and items 

located at the scene in accordance with these procedures.  If items are needed for 
physical evidence, the Child Protection Specialist must contact local law 
enforcement for assistance.  When photographing the scene, the Child Protection 
Specialist shall also ask to photograph a child, caregiver, or witness who is 
reenacting what he/she did or saw when that photograph would help explain what 
happened to the child.  To be admissible in court or at an administrative hearing, a 
witness must state that a photograph fairly and accurately portrays the scene.  If the 
scene changed before the photo was taken (e.g., law enforcement removed an 
object, or parent cleaned the room), the photograph may still be admissible if the 
Child Protection Specialist, child or any witness can explain the changes between 
what is depicted in the photograph and the condition of the location when the 
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witness saw it.  Because of this, the Child Protection Specialist should not hesitate 
to take photographs after a scene has been changed (e.g., “processed” by law 
enforcement/coroner or cleaned by the family).  Witnesses should be asked whether 
and how the scene is different from the scene at the time of the incident. 

 
• Document the presence or absence of any objects, such as furniture or instruments 

that were alleged to cause an injury.  Note the presence of any obstructions (e.g., 
shrubbery, walls) that may have limited a witness’ ability to view the child or 
incident.  The Child Protection Specialist should ask to see items that may not be 
visible but are identified to be related to the alleged harm (i.e. an instrument such as 
a spatula or wooden spoon allegedly used to cause an injury). 

 
• In some investigations, the presence or absence of sounds or odors may also be 

relevant.  Note any unexpected or unusual sound, noise or odors (e.g., whether the 
sound of children playing outside is easily heard inside the home, or the smell of 
rotting garbage). 

 
Scene evidence is an essential component of a thorough investigation.  Scene evidence can 
help the Child Protection Specialist assess the credibility of various explanations of the 
incident or injury, and to consider other possible explanations/causes.  More specifically, 
written descriptions of the scene are essential to: 

 
• Determine and help prove environmental circumstances surrounding the incident 

(e.g., establish times, distances and visibility.); 
 

• Determine how an injury occurred (e.g., instrument or object used to hit a child, a 
fall against a blunt object, a fall from a height);  

 
Example: In a scalding case involving the bathroom sink, view the temperature 
setting of the hot water heater. When the hot water is turned on in that sink, how 
quickly does the water get hot? If the sink is metal, does the sink itself get hot?  
Does the water temperature fluctuate if the toilet flushes or water is turned on 
elsewhere in the house?  

 
The hot water temperature at the site of the burn/scalding incident shall be 
measured by the Child Protection Specialist as soon as possible, but no later than 24 
hours after he or she has determined reasonable cause.  If the subjects refuse to 
allow the Child Protection Specialist to test the water, the Child Protection 
Specialist shall request assistance to gain access from the building’s maintenance 
person, the local building department or law enforcement when law enforcement is 
involved in the investigation.  

 
In accordance with guidelines established by the National Institute of Occupational 
Safety and Health, water temperature is accurately measured by placing an 
approved (DCFS issued) thermometer in the stream of hot water that has been 
running for two minutes, and holding it in the stream until the temperature recorded 
by the thermometer stops rising. The following index identifies those water 
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temperatures and corresponding exposure times at which scalding will occur.  Note 
that the skin of infants and young children is thinner than an adult’s skin, so serious 
burning occurs more rapidly and at lower temperatures.  Skin thickness reaches 
adult levels by the age of five years.  The Child Protection Specialist shall share 
information gathered at the site with the physicians evaluating the injury. 

 
The following chart lists temperature and duration of exposure time sufficient to 
cause partial to full thickness burns in infants and young children. 

 
Water Temperature Exposure Time to Full 

Thickness Burns 
130F  10 seconds 
135F   4 seconds 
140F   1 second 
149F   0.5 second 

 
The following chart lists temperature and duration of exposure time sufficient to 
cause full thickness burns in children over five years of age. 

 
Water Temperature Exposure Time to Full 

Thickness Burns 
120F   5-10 minutes 
124F   4 minutes 
125F   2 minutes 
130F   30 seconds 
140F   5 seconds 
158F   Less than 1 second 

 
• Document the presence (location and condition) at the scene of the instrument or 

object (or suspected item) used to injure the child; 
 

• Determine whether there are environmental factors (e.g., exposed wiring, unusable 
sinks or toilets, feces, garbage, lack of food, dirty dishes, bugs, rodents, broken 
glass) in the child’s home or other location where the child was found that affect 
safety and risk to the child or other children; 

 
• Corroborate a child’s and caregiver’s statements about what was or was not present 

at the scene where the injury or incident occurred (or where the child was 
immediately prior to or after the injury or incident occurred); 

 
• Corroborate or disprove an alleged perpetrator’s or witness’ statement about the 

environment, or an object in the environment, where the injury/incident occurred or 
in which the child was found; and 

 
• Refresh the child’s or a witness’ recollection about the scene. 
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If the Child Protection Specialist has reasonable cause to believe that an area of the child’s 
home will reveal evidence supporting the child allegation of child abuse or neglect, and the 
Child Protection Specialist has determined that the report is a good faith report of alleged 
abuse or neglect, the Child Protection Specialist shall observe those specific areas of the 
home reasonably related to the allegation.  “Reasonable cause”, as used in this paragraph, 
includes, but is not limited to: 

 
i) a report by a mandated reporter;  
 
ii) information previously obtained in the investigation; or 
 
iii) credible evidence known to the Child Protection Specialist. 

 
If the investigation involves a death or serious injury, the Child Protection Specialist must 
communicate with the coroner or medical examiner (Cook only) and/or law enforcement to 
determine who will complete the scene investigation and shall immediately and carefully 
document all discussions about the scene investigation and/or any aspects of the 
investigation.  In death cases, the coroner or medical examiner has primary 
responsibility for the scene investigation but often defers the investigation to law 
enforcement.  The Child Protection Specialist shall request that law enforcement and the 
coroner/medical examiner share the results of their scene investigation.  To avoid 
discrepancies, the Child Protection Specialist should offer to conduct serious harms scene 
reenactment with the police rather than examining the scene separately.  The Child 
Protection Specialist shall always defer to the coroner/medical examiner for 
recreation/investigation of a death scene.  
 
If the coroner/medical examiner or law enforcement scene investigation was insufficient 
for purposes of the investigation, the Child Protection Specialist shall consult with the 
investigative body about whether the Child Protection Specialist may conduct a follow-up 
scene investigation.   
 
If told by law enforcement and the coroner/medical examiner that they will not make a 
scene investigation, the Child Protection Specialist must complete the scene investigation 
immediately. 
 
Scene evidence is also important to document changes made to the scene after DCFS 
involvement. 
 
If there is a difference of opinion about where the injury occurred, such as the child’s 
school, the Child Protection Specialist shall conduct a scene investigation at the school and 
interview witnesses at the school to verify or rule out the parent/caregiver’s explanation of 
the incident.   
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b) Timeline of Events Leading to and Following the Injury/Incident 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall establish a timeline describing what happened at least 
24 to 48 hours immediately preceding the injury or incident of abuse or neglect.  Timelines 
are essential to determining how an injury or incident occurred.  The timeline should begin 
when the child was symptom free.  When the timing of the injury or incident is unclear, the 
Child Protection Specialist may need to establish a time frame longer than 48 hours in 
order to determine the cause of the injury or incident.  It is also important to document what 
happened after an injury or incident, especially how the child and adult(s) responded after 
an injury or incident. 
 
A timeline documenting “who/what/where/when” statements from persons interviewed 
during an investigation is also useful to compare accounts of events obtained during 
separate interviews with different sources.  This enables the Child Protection Specialist to 
examine the consistency and credibility of accounts of the events leading up to the injury or 
incident.   
 
A timeline can be helpful when assessing whether an individual’s account of events 
changes over time, and may provide information about a parent’s or caregiver’s behavior.  
The Child Protection Specialist should review entries on the timeline to look for critical 
risk and safety issues (e.g., events that suggest there may be domestic violence, substance 
abuse, mental health issues) and patterns of parenting or supervision that may require 
follow-up interviews or need to be addressed in the Family Service Plan.  
 
The timeline should document the following information provided by each interviewed 
individual (when discrepancies exist, the timeline should include each witness’ separate 
account of the disputed information): 

 
1) The names and relationships of each person (adult or child) who was present with 

the child, or was aware of the child’s location during that time period; 
 
2) Who was supervising (or responsible for supervising) the child;  
 
3) Any events or evidence of concern to the parents or caregivers, especially related to 

parenting, or safety/risk factors;  
 
4) When the child first demonstrated symptoms of injury and a description of those 

symptoms; 
 
5) Each place the child was placed or observed by caregivers during the 24 to 48 hours 

before the injury occurred, and the approximate time (e.g., “show me where the 
child was”, “show me the position the child was in”; ask to photograph the 
caregiver demonstrating how the child was placed).  Always ask the interviewee 
whether the information they provide is from personal knowledge or whether they 
are providing information that is second-hand; 
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6) Each place the child was observed by witnesses (including other children) during 
the 24 to 48 hours before the injury occurred, and the approximate time (e.g., “show 
me where the child was”, “show me the position the child was in”; ask to 
photograph the witness demonstrating how the child was placed); 

 
7) The child’s condition each time the above persons saw the child (e.g., health, 

emotional state, cleanliness, any restriction in movement); 
 
8) The name of the adult who was caring for the child when the persons last saw the 

child.   
 
9) If the child left the scene, the name of all persons who accompanied the child, and 

the name of the adult, if any, in a caregiver role at that time. 
 
10) If the child left the scene, whether the child was accompanied by anyone (check for 

existence and condition of door locks; describe and photograph evidence of drugs 
or alcohol at scene), or whether the child, adult or anyone accompanying the child 
stated where they were going or what they were going to do. 
 

11) Where was the child found?  How did the child get there?  What was the child’s 
condition?  (e.g., describe environmental factors such as traffic and weather 
conditions, whether the child was dressed appropriately for the season.  If the child 
walked, when appropriate, recreate how the child arrived at the location where 
he/she was found.) 

 
Example:  Report from primary care physician states the child suffered a serious 
head injury.   When asked about activity during the past 72 hours, the mother states 
2 days ago, when she went to wake the child up in the morning that was the first 
time she noticed the child fussy and vomiting.  She took the child to the Emergency 
Room (ER) to be checked (the head injury was undetected at the ER) and returned 
home.  Over the next two days, the child continued to be fussy and occasionally 
vomit, and then became lethargic.  Mom took the child to the primary care 
physician, who called in the report.  When making the time line, show the date and 
approximate time that the mother identified the first symptoms (vomiting, fussy 
behavior).  Have her walk through her morning – where in the house did she sleep 
that night, and what time did she get up?  What did she do prior to going to the 
child’s room?  Ask her to describe both her and the child’s activities the day and 
night before.  Who, besides Mom, had access to the child during that time?  Who, 
besides Mom and the child were in the house overnight? Determine what if any 
interaction did each person have with the child?  Ask Mom what she did during the 
time after noticing the child was ill until she took the child to the ER. 
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The Child Protection Specialist should also determine and document: 

 
• When and to whom did the child first complain about or show signs of the injury? 

 
• Who first noticed a symptom of the injury (e.g., fussiness, crying, lethargy, seizure, 

vomiting, lack of appetite, etc.)?  When did they notice? What exactly did they do 
in response? 

 
• Did the child say how he/she was injured, or describe the incident? (Include an 

observation of the symptoms for non-verbal children.) 
 
• Where was the child when the complaint was made? 
 
• If the child was injured, did the person receiving the complaint observe the child’s 

injury? 
 
• The presence or absence of objects, surfaces, furniture described by the child or that 

may have caused an injury (the Child Protection Specialist should note size, color, 
texture, hard/soft surfaces, etc., of objects that may have caused injury.) 

 
Scene reenactment should be conducted when needed to further assess the credibility of 
explanations of the injury or incident.  The Child Protection Specialist should ask the child, 
caregiver and witnesses to reenact parts of the timeline, such as the progression of actions 
and positions of involved subjects and objects at the scene, by using dolls or 
demonstrations.  (e.g., when reenacting a scene involving scalding that occurred when the 
parent bathed the child, ask to see the tub.  Have the parent point to show how deep the 
water was.  Using a doll, ask the parent to show how he/she placed the child in the tub.)  
 
If the injury occurred outside of the child’s home, the Child Protection Specialist should 
determine if there is any chance the incident was captured on a video surveillance camera.  
Ask law enforcement about outdoor surveillance in public places.  For private businesses, 
ask a security officer, staff member, or owner about the existence of video surveillance.  
Most businesses will allow the Child Protection Specialist to watch the video feed.  The 
Child Protection Specialist may need to send an Administrative Subpoena to obtain copy of 
the video.   
 
Example: Inadequate supervision report states: “Mom wasn’t supervising the child. The 
child escaped from the laundromat and got hit by car.”  Video was available and showed a 
non-involved individual opening the door at the laundromat and the child immediately 
running out.  The video showed that, just before door opened, Mom and child were 
standing together next to a washing machine.  The child ran when Mom turned sideways to 
pick up a detergent bottle. 
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Section 300.70  Role of the Child Protection Supervisor 
 

The Child Protection Supervisor plays a crucial role in the investigation of alleged abuse or 

neglect of a child by providing guidance and instruction of Child Protection staff throughout the 

life of the investigation.  The duties and responsibilities of the Child Protection Supervisor are 

comprehensive and extensive. 
 

a) Supervisory Duties and Responsibilities 
 

The primary duties and responsibilities of the Child Protection Supervisor include, but are 

not limited to: 
 

• Providing guidance and direction for all investigations of alleged child abuse 

and neglect by planning, supervising, reviewing and coordinating the activities of 

the Child Protection Specialists under their supervision; 
 

• Ensuring that all investigations are conducted within the existing framework of 

statutes and policies of the Department and that all investigative contacts, activities 

and documentation are completed within the allotted timeframes; 
 

• Serving as liaison with other disciplines, agencies and community resources; 
 

• Providing regular and on-going supervision to the Child Protection Specialist; 
 

• Ultimately, ensuring that all children reported to the Department are safe; and 
 

• Ensuring compliance with guidelines outlined in 300.75, Area Administrator 

Requirements identifying those investigations requiring Area Administrator 

review and approval. 
 

b) Supervisory Conferences 
 

Supervisory conferences are to occur at critical milestones throughout the life of the 

investigation and shall provide guidance and consultation for all critical and clinical 

decisions. In-person supervision is preferred; however, supervision can be conducted by 

phone.  Under no circumstance may supervision be conducted by email. 
 

1) Supervision Milestones: 
 

• At the time of assignment to the Child Protection Specialist; 
 

• The 24-hour Safety Determination; 
 

• 14 days after receipt of the report to approve the good faith 

determination; 
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• Every five days when a CERAP is unsafe and a safety plan is 

implemented to determine that a basis for protective custody continues to 

exist 
 

• 45-days after receipt of the report; 
 

• The closing CERAP; and 
 

• The final supervisory conference. 
 

2) Frequency of Supervision 
 

In addition to the key milestones, supervision should be fluid throughout the life 

of the investigation and occur at least weekly or when circumstances warrant. 
 

3) Content 
 

During the life of the case and prior to supervisory approval, the following 

components of an investigation shall be included in the supervisory conference, 

but not be limited to: 
 

• Investigative plan; 
 

• Initiation mandate (including good faith attempts every 24 hours or 

sooner); 
 

• Safety assessment; 
 

• Identification of special types of reports (i.e., death, youths in care, DuPuy 

class members, etc.) 
 

• Critical decisions; 
 

• Protective custody; 
 

• Review and assessment of inculpatory and exculpatory evidence; 
 

• Documentation of determination regarding referral for intact services; 
 

• Documentation of determination whether to refer the case to the State’s 

Attorney; 
 

• Completion dates; and 
 

• Final determination. 
 

4) Elements of Guidance and Supervision 
 

The Child Protection Supervisor must provide guidance and consultation for all 

critical and clinical decisions.  Examples include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Recognition of what information is relevant to the investigation and the 

investigative process; 
 

• Ability to ask exploratory questions of subjects and collateral 

contacts; 
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• Analyze and apply all available information to determine relevance in 

decision-making for child safety and service needs; 
 

• On-going safety and the clinical nature of the family’s situation must be 

discussed with the Child Protection Specialist throughout the life of the 

case; 
 

• Ability to evaluate contradictory information whether observed and/or 

reported; 
 

• Clearly and accurately communicate the rationale for investigative 

decisions, both verbally and in writing; 
 

• Determine how a family’s history is relevant to current observations and 

information; 
 

• Assess safety and risk based upon the totality of available information and 

evidence; 
 

• Determine if evidence and documentation gathered in the course of the 

investigation is factually based and consistent; 
 

• Revise decisions when there is verifiable evidence to the contrary; and 
 

• Critically review and analyze all documentation in SACWIS and the hard-

copy file prior to approving the investigation.  Supervisory review shall be 

completed within 2 business days after submission by the Child Protection 

Specialist and/or prior to day 60, unless the investigation is extended for 

good cause. 
 

5) Critical Decisions 
 

Critical decisions are time sensitive and made throughout the life of an 

investigation.  Making decisions regarding child safety is dependent upon 

information gathering and an analysis of all the available information and factors.  

Child Protection Supervisors are to make critical decisions after a review of all the 

known information and in consultation with the Child Protection Specialist. All 

critical decisions must be documented in SACWIS within 24 hours. Situations that 

require a critical decision include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Safety determinations; 

• Adding allegations; 

• Taking protective custody; 

• Safety plan implementation; 

• Referral for opening a service case; 

• A good faith determination; and 

• The final finding determination. 

 

Note: The Area Administrator must review the supervisory decision regarding a 

good faith determination if child victims are not seen. 
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6) Documentation 

 

• Supervisory Conferences are to be written and documented by the Child 

Protection Supervisor in a supervisory note; 
 

• Supervisory notes are to be investigation specific and address family 

functioning and dynamics; and 
 

• Supervisory Conference notes are to be recorded within 48 hours after 

supervision. 
 
c) Case Assignment 
 

1) Primary 
 

The Child Protection Supervisor or designee shall assign all reports to Child 

Protection staff.  Primary case assignment should be based upon rotation, with 

due consideration given to the experience, expertise and availability of staff.  The 

Supervisor is responsible for maintaining the case assignment log. The Child 

Protection Supervisor shall also be responsible for ensuring coverage of 

investigative duties and child safety during the absence of the primary Child 

Protection Specialist by reviewing the workload and assigning parallel 

responsibility to other available staff as appropriate. 
 

2) Parallel 
 

Child Protection Supervisors may request a parallel investigation for any activity 

requiring in-person contact with alleged victims, alleged perpetrators or other 

persons with information.  If the request is to initiate an investigation, the request 

shall be made as soon as the requirement is known in order to allow the parallel 

team supervisor time to integrate the investigation into the team’s workflow.  All 

other requests should be made within 24 hours after the need is identified. Refer to 

Procedures 300.50 for further instructions regarding parallel assignments. 
 

3) SOR 
 

A SOR reported within six months or less should be assigned to a different Child 

Protection Specialist than the one assigned to the previous report, unless there is a 

current pending investigation and it is determined necessary for continuity of safety 

decisions and evidence gathering to assign the SOR to the same Child Protection 

Specialist. 
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d) Investigative Plan 
 

Upon receipt of a child abuse and neglect report, the Child Protection Supervisor shall 

develop an investigative plan with the assigned Child Protection Specialist. The plan shall 

be allegation specific.  The development and discussion of the investigative plan should 

be specific to the report received and documented in a supervisory note.  The contents of 

the investigative plan shall include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Review the Intake summary; 
 

• Contact with the reporter; 
 

• Identify any special communication requirements for any/all of the subjects of the 

report; 
 

• Identify any special accommodation needs for any/all of the subjects of the report; 
 

• Review prior history; 
 

• Formulate questions for the victim, parent and alleged perpetrator; 
 

• See child victims and observe the environment; 
 

• Complete the safety assessment; 
 

• Obtain medical exam if required/warranted; 
 

• Interview parent and provide notification; 
 

• Interview the alleged perpetrator and provide notification; 
 

• Conduct Person Search and request LEADS; 
 

• Notify law enforcement and/or State’s Attorney; 
 

• Coordinate multidisciplinary team activities (i.e., CAC, law enforcement, medical 

team), if required by the allegation; and 
 

• Notify the GAL if the child is a youth in care. 

 
e) Factors and Activities to be Considered During Supervision 
 

Supervisors are responsible for monitoring all aspects of a child abuse or neglect 

investigation.  The Child Protection Supervisor shall ensure the following factors are 

considered by the Child Protection Specialist while gathering evidence.  The factors 

include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Family/Household composition; 
 

• The need for Norman Class Certification for Allegations #76 Inadequate Food, 

#77 Inadequate Shelter, #78 Inadequate Clothing, and #82 Environmental Neglect; 
 

• Report subjects who have prior involvement with the Department; 
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• Allegation and age of the child; 
 

• The educational status of the child in order to ensure enrollment in an 

educational program; 
 

• Criminal history/LEADS; 
 

• Ethnic and cultural issues; 
 

• Overcoming communication and language barriers; 
 

• Contact with non-custodial parents; 
 

• Referrals and notification to law enforcement; 
 

• State’s Attorney notification; 
 

• Information about an alleged perpetrator’s arrest if it is related to the 

investigation (i.e., court dates, incarceration status, potential witnesses, judicial 

rulings, bond information) 
 

• Medical needs, disabilities or mental health issues of alleged victims and family 

household members; 
 

• Ensure collateral contacts are completed within the required time frames; 
 

• All required notifications are completed; 
 

• Assess need for case openings and/or service referrals; 
 

• Extension requests for pending reports; 
 

• Ensure that a copy of shelter care petitions and subsequent TC orders are scanned 

to the DCFS Initial Court Order/Petition Mailbox; 
 

• Final finding recommendations following a review of the hard copy investigative 

file and all inculpatory/exculpatory evidence; and 
 

• All critical decisions of the investigation. 
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f) Supervisory Responsibility for Reports Involving Children 6 Years of Age and 

Younger 
 

Child Protection Supervisors are responsible for ensuring the following investigative 

activities are completed and critical thinking is applied when investigating reports of the 

serious harm of a child 6 years of age and younger. The Supervisor shall ensure: 
 

• The Area Administrator is notified once a report involving a child 3 years of age 

and younger with the following allegations has been assigned; 
 

#1 Death #51 Death 

#2 Head Injuries #52 Head Injuries 

#4 Internal Injuries #54 Internal Injuries 

#5 Burns #55 Burns 

#6 Poison/Noxious Substances #56 Poison/Noxious Substances 

#7 Wounds #57 Wounds 

#9 Bone Fractures #59 Bone Fractures 

#11 Cuts, Bruises, Welts, 

Abrasions and Oral Injuries 

  

 

Note: All Allegations of #1/51 require immediate verbal notification 

regardless of the age of the child. 
 

• When a report is a SOR, the Child Protection Supervisor shall discuss the case 

with the Child Protection Specialist in order to ensure that all information 

pertaining to prior reports, including other pending reports, is reviewed; 
 

• The Child Protection Supervisor shall request a petition with the local State’s 

Attorney, when an allegation so requires, and when there is evidence of previous 

serious injuries to a child 6 years of age and younger and the primary caregiver is 

the alleged perpetrator of the previous and pending report; and 
 

• For infants 0-6 months with physical injuries, the Child Protection Supervisor must 

assess the critical issues of the case in order to determine if protective custody 

should be taken and discuss the case with the Area Administrator. When the 

decision to take protective custody is made by the Supervisor, immediate contact 

with the Area Administrator is not required. Critical issues include, but are not 

limited to: 
 

o Confirmation of the infant’s mobility (i.e., crawling, sitting up, rolling 

over) by direct observation of the Child Protection Specialist or a 

professional collateral; or neglect; 
 

o Collateral statements from adults not residing in the home of the infant 

or caregiver; 
 

o Thorough scene investigation; 
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o Corroboration of the parent’s statement of how the injury occurred; or 
 

o Corroborated evidence that the infant received the injury while under 

the supervision and care of a secondary caregiver (e.g., non- custodial 
parent, paramour, babysitter, or daycare provider), that the secondary 
caregiver does not reside in the home of the infant, and that the primary 
caregiver was not present at the time of injury. 

 
g) Safety Plans and Protective Custody 
 

1) Child Protection Supervisors shall review, approve, and oversee monitoring of all 

safety plans.  The Child Protection Supervisor must also ensure the Child 

Protection Specialist monitors the safety plan per Procedures 300, Appendix G, 

Child Endangerment Risk Assessment Protocol.  The supervisory review shall 

include but not be limited to: 
 

• Documentation that provides information on the dynamics of the family; 
 

• Documentation of the participants capacity and resources to fully comply 

with the safety plan; 
 

• Ensuring the safety plan controls the present safety threats; 
 

• Identifying and immediately addressing any inadequacy within the home 

or family dynamic that might threaten the safety of a child; 
 

• 5-day monitoring of the safety plan by the Child Protection Specialist; 
 

• Ensuring all participants of the safety plan receive a copy of the written 

plan; and 
 

• Ensuring timely termination of the safety plan once the child is assessed 

as safe. 
 

2) Child Protection Supervisors shall approve all protective custodies.  The 

following points regarding protective custody must be discussed during the 

supervisory conference: 
 

• Imminent and urgent necessity; and 
 

• Reasonable efforts to prevent removal. 
 

3) Whenever protective custody is taken and the case results in a shelter care hearing 

with temporary custody (TC) being given to the Department, the Child Protection 

Supervisor shall ensure copies of the petition and TC order are scanned to the Title 

IV-E Unit mailbox with a label of “DCFS Initial Court Order/Petition Mailbox”. 

The scanned copy of the TC order shall be sent to the mailbox within 5 days of the 

shelter care hearing.  TC orders must contain “reasonable efforts to prevent 

placement” and “placement and care” language. 
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h) Service Referrals 
 

The Supervisor shall ensure a reported family is provided an appropriate service referral 

or that the need for preventive services is assessed, which may include, but is not limited 

to the following: 
 

• Educational services, including early education; 
 

• Substance abuse assessment and treatment; 
 

• Domestic violence services; 
 

• Housing assistance; 
 

• Mental Health services; 
 

• Nursing referrals; or 
 

• Other community services (e.g., Family Advocacy Center services, Safe 

Families, substance abuse assessment/treatment, mental health 

assessment/treatment, or domestic violence services). 
 
i) Waivers 
 

Supervisors are responsible for reviewing and approving waivers. 
 

A waiver is an action granted after careful consideration by a Child Protection Supervisor 

or Area Administrator allowing a Child Protection Specialist to proceed in an investigation 

finding without making a contact, performing an investigative activity or obtaining 

documentation that is required by procedure. Waivers shall only be granted when the lack 

of the required contact/activity/documentation does not significantly impact the ability of 

the investigative team to complete a thorough investigation and make an informed final 

finding decision. Waivers should never be utilized as a way to manage the timely 

completion of an investigation. 
 
j) Final Supervisory Conference 

 
The Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor shall meet for a final 

supervisory conference prior to issuing a final finding.  This conference shall be 

documented in a supervisory note.  The final supervisory conference shall include, but is 

not limited to: 
 

• Review of all inculpatory and exculpatory evidence; 
 

• A decision that the recommended determination is consistent with the 

information contained in the investigative file; 
 

• The recommended determination is consistent with the allegation definition, 

criteria, and factors; 
 

• Confirmation that all investigative activities have been met or a waiver was 

approved; 
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• That the investigative file contains all required reports and documentation; 
 

• All required notifications (i.e., CANTS 8, GAL, custodial parent, etc.) have been 

completed; 
 

• Discussion of the family’s need for services or referral to community-based 

services; 
 

• Discussion of law enforcement involvement and concurrent investigations; 
 

• Discussion of requested waivers; 
 

• If the recommended final finding is to indicate and there is a pending criminal 

investigation, consultation must occur with law enforcement prior to closing the 

investigation; 
 

• The final supervisory conference shall not occur if the recommended final finding 

is to unfound and a criminal investigation is pending; and 
 

• If the investigation is subject to Area Administrator approval, no information about 

the finding shall be shared with anyone until the Area Administrator provides 

approval to do so. 
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
 

POLICY GUIDE 2018.09 
 

MODEL OF SUPERVISORY PRACTICE 
 

 
DATE:  May 10, 2018 
 
TO: All DCFS & POS Intact Family Service Workers, Permanency Workers, 

Child Protective Services Workers, and their Supervisors, Managers and 
Administrators. 

 
FROM:  Beverly J. Walker, Acting Director 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to issue a comprehensive Model of Supervisory 
Practice for all Department and Purchase of Service Agency (POS) Intact Family Service, 
Permanency and Child Protective Services staff.  This Model sets out expectations 
required of Supervisors in each of these direct service areas. 
 
This Policy Guide describes: 
 

• a comprehensive model of supervision applicable to all DCFS/POS Intact Family 
Service, Permanency and Child Protective Services staff; 

• the four functions of supervision (administrative; developmental; supportive; and 
clinical); and 

• expectations for the framework and format of supervision. 
 

II. PRIMARY USERS 
 

The primary users of this Policy Guide are All DCFS & POS Intact Family Service 
Workers, Permanency Workers, Child Protective Services Workers, and their 
Supervisors, Managers and Administrators. 
 

III. BACKGROUND 
 
Currently, the roles of direct service supervisors are addressed in: 
 

• Procedures 300.70, Role of the Child Protection Supervisor; 
• Procedures 302.388(f), Responsibilities of the Assigned Intact Family Services 

Supervisor; and 
• Procedures 315.300, Role of the Permanency Supervisor. 
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This Model of Supervisory Practice expands these existing Procedures in order to address 
a “deficient audit finding” in the area of supervision identified during the Council on 
Accreditation (COA) Interim Review (completed October, 2017). 

 
The Department’s Model of Supervisory Practice  provides a context for supervision in 
which the Department’s values, philosophy and structure for conducting child welfare 
practice is supported by Best Practice principles, policy, and training for the purposes of 
achieving the Department’s Mission: 
 

• To protect children who are reported to be abused or neglected and to increase 
their families' capacity to safely care for them; 

• To provide for the well-being of children in our care; 
• To provide appropriate, permanent families as quickly as possible for those 

children who cannot safely return home; 
• To Support early intervention and child abuse prevention activities; and 
• To work in partnerships with communities to fulfill this Mission. 

 
The Model of Supervisory Practice also reflects the components of the Department’s 
Family-Centered, Trauma-Informed, Strength-Based Child Welfare Practice Model.  This 
Child Welfare Practice Model supports race-informed practice and strives to improve the 
outcomes for children of color by reducing and/or eliminating race-based 
disproportionality and disparities in practice. 
 

IV. MODEL OF SUPERVISORY PRACTICE 
 

In the context of child welfare practice, “supervision” describes a formal, agreed-upon 
process of professional support and learning that enables subordinate practitioners to 
develop knowledge and competence.  Supervision allows the supervisee (subordinate 
practitioner) to assume responsibility for his or her own practice, with the intended goal 
providing enhanced services for the service recipient.  Good supervision should assist and 
enable a supervisee to meet Department objectives. 
 
The Department’s commitment to accountability and effectiveness has impacted the 
focus of child welfare practice.  Supervisors play a pivotal role in ensuring safety, 
permanency and well-being for children and families involved in the child welfare 
system.  They are responsible for ensuring effective service delivery and are accountable 
for achieving the desired outcomes of safety, permanency and well-being for children and 
families in consideration of the child’s sense of time.  Supervisors are not only required 
to manage change - they must lead change.  Direct service supervisors are expected to 
provide the guidance, development and support required for direct service staff to carry 
out the Department’s mandate. 
 
Administrative and management personnel are responsible to support the work of the 
direct service supervisor and direct service staff.  All administrative and management 
staff must be cognizant of how their actions and responsibility impact direct service 
supervisors, direct service workers, and the children and families they serve. 
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a) Overview of the Model of Supervisory Practice 
 

The Model of Supervisory Practice seeks to ensure that the duties and boundaries 
of supervision are clear and that Supervisors have up-to-date knowledge of 
legislation; national and state policies; data and research relevant to child welfare 
that promote the safety, permanency and well-being for children served by the 
Department. 

 
Model of Supervisory Practice Tenets and Approach 

 
1) Excellence.  Each DCFS/POS direct service employee has a duty to strive 

for and achieve excellence in job performance and service provision.  
Striving beyond the minimum-required compliance allows direct service 
staff to focus on the needs of children and families and tailor services to 
meet their individualized needs in a timely manner. 

 
2) Accountability.  Professional accountability is a key element of protecting 

children and strengthening families.  There are multiple facets to 
accountability in a supervisory role. 

 

• First and foremost, Supervisors are accountable to the children and 
families they serve.  They are responsible for ensuring the safety, 
timely permanency and well-being of children in care, and that the 
services provided minimize the impact of trauma on children and 
families while children are in care. 

 

• Supervisors are accountable to the Department’s Mission and 
policies, as well as standards set out by federal, state, and 
accrediting bodies. 

 

• Supervisors are accountable to their subordinate staff.  They 
provide leadership, administrative oversight, and clinical guidance 
and support so their staff are best able to effectively do their jobs. 

 

• Supervisors are accountable to themselves.  Direct service 
supervisors generally hold their positions because they are 
dedicated to improving the lives of children and families.  Their 
internal measure of their job performance may be the factor that 
most significantly affects how they carry out their job 
responsibilities on a daily basis.  They hold themselves 
accountable for ensuring the highest standard of service delivery. 

 

• Supervisors are accountable to their peers.  Through their 
leadership and actions, supervisors positively impact the culture of 
their agency and the office in which they work by interacting in a 
positive and supportive manner with their other supervisors. 
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3) Evidence-Informed Practice.  This Model of Supervisory Practice is 
based on evidence-informed practice.  Evidence-informed practice 
involves questioning and assessing the way that child welfare is currently 
done, and seeking additional research, information, resources, and 
interventions to guide practice that is ethically and culturally appropriate.  
It is a process for doing work in a strategically sound way.  Evidence-
informed practice seeks to produce the same level of stringency as 
evidence-based practice; however, because research is not always readily 
available, other valuable resources may be used as part of the evidence-
based movement.  These are concrete steps leading in the direction on the 
road to evidence‐based practice. 

 
4) Race-Informed Practice.  Race-informed practice is a method of viewing 

and serving families of color which takes into account implicit bias and 
the dynamics of institutional racism as child welfare professionals and 
other system stakeholders develop policy, make decisions about, and 
provide services. 

 
5) Agency Culture.  Supervisors are in a unique position to have a 

significant influence on agency culture.  Supervisors have a responsibility 
to model and support a culture of respect with children and families, foster 
and adoptive parents, staff, peers, colleagues, administration and the 
community. 

 
b) Vision Statement for Department’s Child Welfare Practice Model 
 

The Department supports a Family-Centered, Trauma Informed, and Strength-
Based Child Welfare Practice Model.  The Vision of the Practice Model is to 
identify, intervene, and mitigate the effects of adverse and traumatic experiences 
of children served by the Department and to build parental capacity by focusing 
on family and individual strengths.  This Vision also continues with efforts to 
prevent or alleviate secondary trauma experienced by Department/POS direct 
service staff. 

 
c) Core Values, Principles and Standards of Family-Centered, Child-Focused, 

Trauma-Informed and Strength-Based Practice 
 

The Department’s practice principles are family-centered, child-focused, strength-
based and trauma-informed.  Each of these principles is described below. 

 
1) Family-Centered and Child-Focused Practice.  Family-centered 

practice is a way of working with the family, both formally and 
informally, across service systems to enhance the family’s capacity to care 
for and protect the child.  It focuses on the child’s safety and needs within 
the context of the family and community and builds on family strengths to 
achieve optimal outcomes.  Family is defined broadly to include birth, 
blended, kinship, foster and adoptive families and fictive kin. 
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Family-centered practice: 
 

• strengthens, enables, and empowers the family to protect and 
nurture the children; 

 

• safely preserves family relationships and connections when 
appropriate; 

 

• recognizes the strong influence that social systems have on 
individual behavior; 

 

• enhances family autonomy; 
 

• recognizes the family’s right to define who they consider family; 
 

• respects the rights, values, religious beliefs and culture of the 
family; and 

 

• focuses on the entire family rather than select individuals within 
the family. 

 
The family unit, including the child as an individual and continuing 
member, is the focus of intervention. 

 
The child remains a member of the family even while living in substitute 
care.  Family-centered intervention looks to the extended family members 
and relatives, not only as caregivers for the family’s child, but also as 
supporters of the family in their work toward reunification.  

 
Through visitation and shared parenting, committed extended family 
members and relatives provide a wealth of opportunities to support the 
parents while keeping the child attached as a family member.   

 
The family must be an active participant in all assessment, intervention, 
review, evaluation and decision processes.  Through individual contact 
with the parents and Child and Family Team Meetings (that may include 
extended family members and relatives), direct service staff provide: 

 

• engagement, full disclosure and ongoing feedback; 
 

• open, inclusive and frequent planning; 
 

• immediate response to the crisis of placement; and 
 

• review and evaluation of progress toward reunification or an 
alternative permanency goal. 

 
Family-centered practice provides an opportunity for the family to discuss 
their progress, casework support, clinical intervention and the 
effectiveness of the services provided.  
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2) Strength-Based Practice.  A key to implementing strength-based practice 
is to begin identifying and documenting observable strengths that can 
serve to support the family in achieving their goals for safety, permanency 
and well-being. 

 
All families have strengths and needs.  Most parents want to resolve the 
problems and issues that confront them, and they want to be as effective as 
possible in their role as parents.  Most families have had some success at 
solving past problems.  Drawing on successful experiences helps identify 
skills already available within the family and gives the family hope for the 
future.  Most families can be guided to draw upon their strengths and 
resources to resolve the problems and issues confronting them and will be 
able to engage in some or all of the services needed. 

 
Direct service staff must document the family’s identified strengths and 
discuss openly how the family can use and build upon those strengths to 
support positive change.  This discussion should occur on an ongoing 
basis and be shared with the family as part of full disclosure regarding 
case progression and family prognosis in support of permanency for all 
children in the family. 

 
3) Trauma-Informed Practice.  The Department has stated the following 

vision for a trauma-informed practice model: 
 

The vision of the practice model is to identify, intervene, and 
mitigate the effects of adverse and traumatic experiences of 
children who are entering protective care or currently living in a 
substitute care placement.  This vision also continues with efforts 
to reduce, if not alleviate, secondary trauma experienced by 
children while living in out-of-home care.  (DCFS Strategic Plan 
for Trauma, 2007) 

 
A child’s reaction to traumatic stress: 

 

• may have both short- and long-term consequences for the child’s 
mental and physical health; 

 

• may adversely impact the child’s ability to protect himself/herself 
from abuse; 

 

• may have both short- and long-term consequences for the child’s 
life trajectory; and 

 

• can adversely impact the child’s stability in placements. 
 

The need for placement as a safety intervention must be balanced against 
the trauma of removal and prolonged separation from the family with 
whom the child shares membership, tradition and identity.  The child’s 
attachment to his/her family, even in the face of maltreatment, is critical to 
the child’s emotional security. 
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V. Functions of Supervision 
 
There are four interwoven functions of supervision: 
 

• administrative; 
• developmental; 
• supportive; and 
• clinical. 

 
These functions should be in balance over time, even though one or the other may be 
more in evidence.  If this balance is not achieved and one function (e.g., administrative) 
is emphasized at the expense of the other three, supervision can become a cold 
management tool.  Similarly, if the supportive function is emphasized, the boundaries 
between supervision and counseling may become blurred. 
 
An overarching function of supervision is to build and maintain relationships, including 
relationships with supervisees, peers, administrators, families, colleagues in the 
organization, and community partners.  Building and maintaining these relationships 
provide a framework for each of the functions of supervision described below. 
 
a) Administrative Supervision 
 

Administrative supervision focuses on promoting high standards of work and 
adherence to rules, policies, and procedures.  Administrative supervision involves 
the supervisor’s ability to effectively manage the supervisee’s workload to 
achieve desired outcomes for children and families.  Effective supervision 
requires workload standards that are manageable and in compliance with Council 
on Accreditation standards, federal and state requirements, as well as Department 
policies. 

 
Supervisors act as a vehicle to assist communication up and down the chain of 
command, and serve to link the supervisee to the agency.  This communication 
may be about agency developments, changes or new policies interpreting and 
enforcing procedures, briefing agency management about resource deficits, 
advocating on behalf of the team or individual supervisee and encouraging 
positive intra- and inter-agency relationships. 

 
Responsibilities in administrative supervision include but are not limited to: 

 

• Establishing objectives and priorities within the team that reflect the 
Department’s Strategic Plan, agency policies, federal and state laws and 
consent decrees; 

• Explaining the rationale supporting policies and procedures and the 
agency’s Mission and Child Welfare Practice Model; 

• Supervising field placements and internships to attract qualified staff; 
• Summarizing and evaluating data to identify problems and trends for team 

planning and achieving outcomes; and 
• Knowing and complying with laws and policies related to fair hiring and 

selection processes. 
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b) Developmental Supervision 

 
The fundamental component of developmental supervision is anchored in life-
long professional learning.  It is the supervisor’s role to create a learning 
environment, to continue the learning on the job after traditional classroom or 
online learning, and to use individual and group supervision to foster continued 
growth and professional development.  The most basic component of 
developmental supervision is on-the-job training and coaching to ensure the 
transfer of learning from classroom to the field, including both college or 
university classrooms and the Department training classroom.  Research indicates 
that without continual reinforcement, students retain only about 15% of what they 
learn in the classroom.  Through modeling, coaching and reinforcement, the skills 
learned in the classroom become integrated into a worker’s daily practice.  In the 
quest for excellence, supervisors must help their staff strive for excellence.  This 
includes identifying and building on staff strengths and providing learning 
opportunities so that staff can reach their full potential.  Additionally, supervisors 
shall work with their supervisees to complete ongoing strength-based staff 
performance evaluations accordance with agency policy. 
 
Recognizing that staff turnover occurs and promotional opportunities become 
available, succession planning is necessary at all levels.  Supervisors assist staff in 
developing skills necessary to move up in their careers and continue to carry out 
the Department’s Mission.  Learning from one’s experiences in child welfare is a 
significant factor that helps prevent or alleviate secondary trauma, to which direct 
service staff are exposed.  The supervisor is responsible to assist supervisees in 
learning from their experiences in child welfare, thereby recognizing the risk of 
secondary trauma in the workforce and taking action to prevent or alleviate the 
trauma. 

 
Responsibilities in developmental supervision include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Evaluating and monitoring the quality, quantity and timeliness of staff 
performance; 

• Providing frequent, timely and specific feedback to keep staff apprised of 
their performance; 

• Providing a written performance evaluation of staff a minimum of once 
per year; 

• Preparing new staff for foundational training and providing activities to 
aid in the transfer of learning from classroom to the field; 

• Assessing the knowledge, skills and learning styles of new staff; 
• Assessing with staff their personal and professional goals and assisting 

staff in finding and utilizing educational opportunities; 
• Encouraging development of specialized expertise and innovation on new 

projects staff may embrace; 
• Encouraging staff creativity and innovation in new projects and roles; 
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• Encouraging staff to serve on relevant committees to broaden their 
perspective; 

• Supporting staff in their efforts to obtain positions of greater responsibility 
and to make other needed transitions; and 

• Working with staff to develop and maintain a professional development 
plan. 

 
c) Supportive Supervision 
 

An effective supervisor is one whose staff are supported to maximize their 
potential.  A supervisor is responsible for the maintenance of harmonious working 
relationships between staff members and other teams and functions in the 
Department.  A supervisor needs to focus on staff morale and job satisfaction, and 
attend to vicarious trauma and to the high risk of burnout in the child welfare 
field. 

 
Supportive supervision is not therapy or counseling, but recognizes the critical 
role that feelings and emotions play in direct service staff’s ability to successfully 
carry out their work.  In some cases, supportive supervision may identify the need 
for counseling independent of supervision.  Clearly, this is a very important 
function; however, it must be kept in balance with the others. 

 
Responsibilities of supportive supervision include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Acknowledging effective performance, staff efforts, client progress, 
accomplishments and individual contributions; 

• Creating and modeling high standards of practice and motivating staff to 
meet those standards; 

• Acknowledging that we work with families who experience trauma and 
this work has traumatic effects on both clients and staff; 

• Being attuned to one’s own needs and practice self-care; 
• Supporting staff in self-care; 
• Treating staff with genuineness, empathy and respect; 
• Supporting a climate of trust and openness that promotes personal and 

professional growth; 
• Creating an environment in which cultural and other differences are 

respected and appreciated; 
• Referring staff to employee assistance or other services when identified; 
• Using mistakes and challenges as opportunities to teach and learn; 
• Promoting a “can-do” attitude for staff; 
• Assisting staff in professionally managing conflict; 
• Seeking supervision and consultation to enhance one’s own effectiveness; 
• Increasing awareness of how one’s life experiences and cultural 

background can impact the supervisor/supervisee relationship; 
• Helping staff identify their own biases and the impact of biases on service 

delivery; and 
• Exhibiting flexibility and accepting change in a positive manner. 
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d) Clinical Supervision 
 

Clinical supervision is the provision of guidance designed to support the work that 
direct service staff do with children and families.  During clinical supervision, 
family engagement, assessment and service provision of cases are reviewed in 
relation to safety, timely permanency and well-being.  Decisions are made 
regarding how to facilitate the desired goals for change in families in order to best 
achieve timely outcomes. 

 
Clinical supervision also reinforces positive social work ethics and values, 
encourages self-reflection and critical thinking skills, builds upon training to 
enhance performance, and supports direct service staff through day-to-day 
casework practice and decision-making. 

 
Responsibilities in clinical supervision include, but are not limited to: 
 

• Using sound professional judgments to make case decisions and promote 
evidence-based and evidence-informed practice; 

• Assessing and considering direct service workers’ skills, strengths, 
interests, areas of needed development and the client’s strengths and needs 
in assigning cases; 

• Assisting staff in case assessment, including identifying strengths, needs 
and safety issues, the dynamics of child abuse and neglect contributing to 
the underlying needs and safety issues, and the strategies for intervention 
and development of the plan with the family; 

• Assisting and teaching staff the effective clinical application of assessment 
tools as they relate to individual children and families; 

• Increasing staff awareness of how their own attitudes and approaches, life 
experiences and cultural background potentially impact the relationship 
with the client and the outcome of intervention; 

• Assisting staff in assessing progress towards case goals; 
• Supporting staff in making critical case decisions regarding safety, 

permanency and well-being; 
• Encouraging staff to identify and respect the cultural diversity of all 

families and helping staff develop plans to address individual differences; 
• Accompanying each worker in the field once per quarter and provide 

structured feedback; 
• Helping the supervisee explore any emotional blocks to their work; and 
• Assessing the supervisee in dealing with job stresses and secondary 

trauma. 
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VI. Objectives of Supervision 
 

The objectives of supervision are to ensure that:  
 

• Clinical practice protects and promotes the Illinois Child Welfare Model of 
Practice; 

• Supervision reflects an ethos of equality, embraces diversity and promotes anti-
oppressive practice; 

• Race-informed practice is developed so that the supervisor and supervisee are 
culturally aware and responsive to each other, their clients, the community and 
other professionals. 

• The voices of the child and family are included and evidenced as part of the 
supervisory process; 

• Sound professional judgments are made, and evidence-informed, evidence-based 
and race-informed practices are promoted; 

• Practice will reflect state and national strategies and legislation on protecting 
children and will be consistent with Department policies; 

• Supervision will be carried out in a reflective manner and provide a safe 
environment where attitudes and feelings may be challenged or explored as 
necessary; 

• Clarity and objectivity in relation to the presenting issues are achieved in order to 
ensure that decisions are made in the best interests of the child; 

• Staff fully understands their roles and responsibilities.  The process of supervision 
will be underpinned by the principle that each staff member remains accountable 
for his or her own professional practice and that the supervisor is accountable for 
the advice he or she gives and decisions made; 

• Supervision will provide a process of professional learning and support to enable 
staff to develop and enhance knowledge and competencies; and 

• Supervision will provide a process to identify individual training needs, and any 
areas of practice where improvements can be made. 
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VII. Framework for Supervision 
 

a) Individual Supervision.  Individual supervision is required to be provided to 
each direct service worker and non-direct service staff on a weekly basis.  
Individual supervision should include administrative, developmental, clinical and 
supportive supervision.  Case-related supervision shall be documented in 
SACWIS case notes as required in Department procedures.  A supervisor shall 
document supervision that is not case-related in the supervisory file, including the 
date and duration of the meeting and a brief summary of what was discussed. 

 
b) Group Supervision.  Group supervision is a process where team members come 

together in an agreed-upon format to share skills, experience and knowledge in 
order to improve both individual and group capacities.  Group supervision is 
required to be held with the entire team a minimum of once per month.  Group 
supervision should address administrative, developmental, supportive, and clinical 
supervision.  A supervisor shall document group supervision in the supervisory 
file, including the date and duration of the meeting and a brief summary of the 
topics discussed and presented in group supervision/team meetings. 

 
Note: Managers and administrators should regularly monitor that case-specific 

supervision, non-case related supervision and group supervision are conducted 
and properly documented on a routine basis. 

 
VIII. Format for Supervision 
 

a) Uninterrupted (Protected) Time.  Supervisors should ensure that the time slot 
identified for each individual’s supervision is protected from interruptions and 
distractions. 

 
b) Planned and Scheduled Supervision.  Both individual and group supervision 

should be scheduled in a regular, consistent manner, giving both the supervisor 
and staff ample time to ensure that they are prepared and available. 

 
IX. Functions and Job Responsibilities of Supervisees in Relation to Supervision 
 

Supervisees also have a responsibility in the supervisor-supervisee relationship.  Among 
the responsibilities of the supervisee are the following: 
 

• Actions agreed upon should be completed within agreed or required timeframes; 
• Supervision is critical and this time should be protected; 
• Be prepared for the supervision session; 
• Supervision that is not case-related will include the identification of critical 

operational issues, professional development, training, assignments, and follow-
up on previous instruction; 

• Case-specific supervision will include cases to be discussed, with a brief historical 
summary, outlining the current safety and risk factors, concerns, protective factors 
and follow up on previous case instruction; 
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• Record case related supervision and actions agreed upon in SACWIS; 
• The supervisee is responsible for ensuring all follow-up actions; 
• The supervisee has a responsibility to raise with the supervisor those instances 

when the supervisee is not able to fulfill agreed-upon or required actions; and 
• The supervisee has a responsibility to foster a healthy and collaborative 

relationship with the supervisor and team. 
 
X. QUESTIONS 

 
Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217-524-1983 or e-mail to DCFS.Policy on Outlook.  Persons and agencies not 
on Outlook can e-mail questions to DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov.  
 

XI. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Place this Policy Guide immediately following these Procedures: 
 

• Procedures 300.70, Role of the Child Protection Supervisor; 
• Procedures 302.388(f), Responsibilities of the Assigned Intact Family Services 

Supervisor; and 
• Procedures 315.300, Role of the Permanency Supervisor. 
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REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

September 9, 2022 – PT 2022.07 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 - Sections 300.75 – (1) 

Section 300.75  Area Administrator Requirements 
 

During the course of an investigation, the Area Administrator is required to provide a 

comprehensive level of analysis, review, and approval of certain identified cases.  This additional 

level of oversight is necessary to make decisions that ensure the safety of children.  When 

reviewing and approving investigations, the Area Administrator shall review all information 

contained within the investigation, including the SACWIS and the hard copy files, before giving 

their final approval. 

 

a) Cases Requiring Area Administrator Review and Approval 
 

Area Administrators are to review and approve, in SACWIS, the following types of 

investigations: 

 

1) Unqualified reports; 

 

2) Initial Unfounded (not a good faith) reports where child victims have not 

been seen; 

 

3) Reports that include the following allegations: 
 

#1 Death #51 Death 

#2 Head Injuries #52 Head Injuries 

#4 Internal Injuries #54 Internal Injuries 

#5 Burns #55 Burns 

#6 Poison/Noxious Substances #56 Poison/Noxious Substances 

#7 Wounds #57 Wounds 

#9 Bone Fractures #59 Bone Fractures 

 

4) Facility reports; and 

 

5) Reports involving wards 

 

The above cases must be verbally discussed by the Area Administrator with the supervisor 

during weekly supervision (within the first week of the investigation) and prior to the 

Final Finding determination.  The supervisor shall discuss case dynamics and the reason 

for Final Finding with the Area Administrator.  The Area Administrator is responsible for 

entering a supervision note in SACWIS documenting the details of the discussion. 
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Procedures 300 - Sections 300.75 – (2) 

b) Cases Requiring Area Administrator Review 
 

The below investigation types must be reviewed by the Area Administrator during weekly 

substantive supervision.  Weekly supervision shall be conducted in a collaborative manner 

between the Supervisor and the Area Administrator and shall include a discussion 

regarding recently made safety decisions, case dynamics and rationale for Final Finding. 
 

1) Investigations involving subjects outlined below shall  be  discussed  at the time of 

the safety decision and  collaboratively  reviewed  by  the supervisor with the Area 

Administrator during regular, on-going supervision for the life of the investigation: 
 

A) Children ages 3 and under;  
 

B) Non-verbal children; 
 

C) Medically complex children, or  
 

D) Children with severe developmental delays. 
 

2) For cases involving children 0-6 months with physical injuries, a collaborative 

discussion must occur between the Child Protection Supervisor and the Area 

Administrator before protective custody is ruled out.  The following case 

information shall be reviewed: 
 

A) Confirmation of the child’s mobility (e.g., crawling, sitting up, rolling over) 

through observation by the Child Protection Specialist or professional 

collateral; 
 

B) Medical provider opinion regarding cause of the injury; 
 

C) Collateral statements from adults not residing in the home or caregiver; 
 

D) Thorough scene investigation; 
 

E) Corroboration of the parent’s statement of how the injury occurred; and 
 

F) Corroborated evidence that the child received the injury while under the 

supervision and care of a secondary caregiver, such as non-custodial parent, 

paramour, babysitter, or daycare provider and this secondary caregiver does 

not reside with the child. 
 

3) Facility reports (including facilities where minors are placed);   
 

4) Reports involving wards;  
 

5) Unfounded reports for GAL review; 
 

6) Reports involving DuPuy class members; and 
 

7) Unknown Perpetrator Investigations. 
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c) Investigative Activities Requiring Area Administrator Support 
 

The Area Administrator must support and monitor the following investigative activities: 

 

1) GAL notifications and reviews; 

 

2) Provide Administrative Subpoena Signature Authority; 

 

3) Extension Requests; 

 

4) Consult with the assigned Child Protection Specialist and Supervisor if there 

is disagreement about final finding decisions.  If consensus is not reached, the 

Area Administrator will determine the final finding; 

 

5) Document consultation with Child Protection Supervisor on cases in which a 

determination has been made not to offer intact services and/or not to refer to 

the State’s Attorney’s office; 

 

6) Waivers outlined in Procedures 300.80; 

 

7) Tracking action taken on missed mandates on 24-hour initiation and on overdue 

completions; and 

 

8) Re-opening a closed investigation. 
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Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Procedures 300 Section 300.80 – (1) 

Section 300.80 Child Protection Supervisor/Area Administrator Waivers 
 
A waiver is an action granted after careful consideration by a Child Protection Supervisor or 
Area Administrator allowing a Child Protection Specialist to proceed in an investigation finding 
without making a contact, performing an investigative activity or obtaining documentation that is 
required by procedure. Waivers shall only be granted when the lack of the required 
contact/activity/documentation does not significantly impact the ability of the investigative team 
to complete a thorough investigation and make an informed final finding decision. Waivers 
should never be utilized as a way to manage the timely completion of an investigation. 
 
a) Information Required for a Waiver 
 

Information required for a waiver may include, but is not limited to the following: 
 

• The number of attempts (if any) and methods used to obtain required information; 
 

• The exploration of alternative avenues to obtain the required information;  
 

• Evaluation of the importance of the information as evidence; 
 

• The Child Protection Specialist has attempted to notify the non-cooperative 
subject of the Department's responsibility and authority, under Illinois law,  to 
investigate the report; and the local law enforcement agency and/or the State's 
Attorney's Office have either exhausted their authority in attempts to get the 
subject to cooperate, or have refused to become involved. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall document in a case or contact note all of the steps 
that have been taken to secure information.  This information shall be assessed by the 
Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor.  Department procedures 
should be followed to determine if an administrative subpoena should be issued or if the 
contact may be waived. 

 
1) Required Approval to Waive Contacts 

 

ALLEGATION 
SUPERVISOR 
APPROVAL 
REQUIRED 

AA 
APPROVAL 
REQUIRED 

1/51 Death  X 
2/52 Head Injuries  X 
4/54 Internal Injuries  X 
5/55 Burns  X 
6/56 Poison/Noxious Substances X  
7/57 Wounds  X 
9/59 Bone Fractures  X 
10 Substantial Risk of Physical 
Injury/Environment Injurious to 
Health and Welfare 

X  
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ALLEGATION 
SUPERVISOR 
APPROVAL 
REQUIRED 

AA 
APPROVAL 
REQUIRED 

11/61 Cuts, Bruises, Welts, and 
Abrasions X  

12/62 Human Bites X  
13/63 Sprains/Dislocations X  
14 Tying/Close Confinement X  
15/65 Substance Misuse X  
16 Torture  X 
17/67 Mental Injury X  
18 Sexually Transmitted Diseases X  
19 Sexual Penetration X  
20 Sexual Exploitation X  
21 Sexual Molestation X  
22 Risk of Sexual Injury X  
60 Environment Injurious to Health 
and Welfare X  

74 Inadequate Supervision X  
75 Abandonment/Desertion X  
76 Inadequate Food X  
77 Inadequate Shelter X  
78 Inadequate Clothing X  
79 Medical Neglect X  
81 Failure to Thrive  X 
82 Environmental Neglect X  
83 Malnutrition X  
84 Lock-Out X  
85 Medical Neglect of Disabled 
Infants  X 

 
Note: At the Initial Unfounded (not a good faith determination) stage of the 

investigation, contacts may not be waived regardless of the allegation if 
child victims have not been seen. 
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2) When In-Person Contacts Are Not Required  
 

In-person contact is not required when: 
 

o Any adult subject of a child abuse and neglect report refuses to meet with 
or speak to the Child Protection Specialist, AND the Child Protection 
Specialist has attempted to involve the local law enforcement agency or 
the State’s Attorney, but this has failed to gain the subject’s cooperation; 

 

o In-person contact is not required when it is documented that a child abuse 
or neglect subject is inaccessible for more than 45 days; and  

 

o In-person contact is not required when it is documented that the Child 
Protection Specialist has made a good faith attempt to locate the subjects 
of the reports, but cannot, after a diligent search, locate them. 

 
A) Subject Is Inaccessible/Unable To Locate 

 
i) When Inaccessible 

 
In-person contact is not required when the Child Protection 
Specialist has conducted sufficient investigative activities and has 
determined that the child victim or adult subjects will be 
inaccessible (i.e., the location of the child victim may be known, 
but the Child Protection Specialist is unable to make contact).   

 
Further investigative activities may include, but are not limited to 
the following: 

 

• Request local, county, and state law enforcement agencies 
to conduct a well-being check on the child; 

 

• Request the  child protection agency of another state to 
make a courtesy interview, when the child or adult subject 
is staying in their state;  or  

 

• Contact identified adult caregivers of the child for 
additional information and confirmation of child’s or adult 
subject’s location. 

 
ii) When Unable to Locate 

 
If the Child Protection Specialist is unable to locate the subject of 
the report, the Child Protection Specialist shall complete a diligent 
search.  The diligent search should include, but is not limited to 
the following: 

 

• Request local, county, and state law enforcement agencies 
to check their records; 

 

• Contact the child’s school.  If the specific school is 
unknown, contact the district for school information; 
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• Conduct a records check of the Illinois Department of 
Human Services and Secretary of State (if a vehicle license 
number is known) records; 

 

• Ask the reporter to provide as much additional information 
as possible to help locate the subject;  

 

• Ask relatives and friends of the subject; 
 

• Contact the local post office and utility companies to 
request a check of their records; and 

 

• Utilize the diligent search service center. 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall document all efforts to contact 
subjects and the facts and the reason why those efforts were unsuccessful 
in a contact note. 

 
B) Completion of an Investigation  

 
Completion of an investigation in which a child victim is inaccessible 
and/or is unable to be located requires the review of the AA. 

 
b) Documentation of Required Contacts/Waiver Requests 
 

1) Contact Notes 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall make a contact note for every completed or 
attempted contact/interview made during the course of the investigation.   

 
If the Child Protection Specialist and the Child Protection Supervisor determine a 
required contact will be waived, the Child Protection Supervisor will document 
that decision and the rationale for the waiver in a supervisory note. The Child 
Protection Specialist will complete the appropriate waiver fields on the SACWIS 
Checklist Tab, noting whether the contact is being waived (WR) and why; or is 
not applicable (N/A) to the investigation; or NONE if there is no such contact to 
be made.  Do not select WR for N/A situations (e.g., Requesting a waiver for 
school contacts when the children are home schooled).   

 
Do not use N/A or NONE without providing a specific explanation for the waiver 
request (e.g., required school contacts cannot be made due to summer recess.).  

 
2) Supervisory Notes 

 
Investigation Supervisors and Area Administrators must document their rationale 
for approving or denying a waiver request in a supervisory note at the time of 
their consultation with the Child Protection Specialist regarding the requested 
waiver and prior to making the final finding decision.   
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Section 300.90  Special Considerations for Children Age Six Years and Younger  

 

Children who are age 6 years and younger are vulnerable and at great risk of suffering serious 

injuries and harm.  It is imperative that when these children are reported to the Department, 

diligent efforts are made to review and synthesize all the information available to make 

comprehensive decisions to ensure child safety.   

 

Factors Regarding Harms to Children Age 6 Years and Younger 

 

The following investigative activities shall be completed when investigating reports of serious 

harms and physical abuse of a child age 6 years and younger:   

 

• The Child Protection Supervisor shall notify the Area Administrator of reports of alleged 

serious harms or physical abuse of a child age 3 years and younger at the time the report 

is received; 

 

• When a report is an SOR, the Child Protection Specialist shall discuss the case with the 

Child Protection Supervisor in order to ensure that all information regarding prior reports 

(including other pending reports) is reviewed and considered as part of the safety 

assessment and final finding determination;  

 

• Screen/Petition the report with the local State’s Attorney when there is evidence of 

previous serious injuries to a child age 6 years and younger and when the primary 

caregiver is the alleged perpetrator; and 

 

• For infants 0-6 months with physical injuries, assess the critical issues of the case to 

determine if protective custody should be taken.  This assessment must be conducted in 

consultation with the Child Protection Supervisor.  If protective custody is not taken, a 

collaborative discussion must also occur between the Child Protection Supervisor and the 

Area Administrator.  Critical issues include, but are not limited to:   
 

o Confirmation of the child’s mobility (i.e., crawling, walking, sitting up, rolling 

over) through observation by the Child Protection Specialist or professional 

collateral;  
 

o Medical provider opinion that the injury was likely caused by abuse or neglect; 
 

o Collateral statements from adults not residing in the home of the infant or 

caregiver;  
 

o Thorough scene investigation;  
 

o Corroboration of the parent’s statement of how the injury occurred; or 
 

o Corroborated evidence that the infant received the injury while under the 

supervision and care of a secondary caregiver, such as non-custodial parent, 

paramour, babysitter, or daycare provider and this secondary caregiver does not 

reside with the infant. 
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Section 300.100  Medical Requirements for Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect 

 

The purpose of this section is to provide procedural guidelines for child protection staff to 

address the medical requirements and concerns raised during a child abuse and neglect 

investigation.  

 

a) Allegations Requiring Medical Examination 

 

1) A medical exam is required in the following allegations of abuse and 

neglect (unless waived by the supervisor): 
 

1/51 Death 

2/52 Head Injuries 

4/54 Internal Injuries 

5/55 Burns 

6/56 Poison/Noxious Substances 

7/57 Wounds 

9/59 Bone Fractures 

11/61 Cuts, Bruises, Welts, Abrasions and Oral Injuries 

12/62 Human Bites 

13/63 Sprains/Dislocations 

15/65 Substance Misuse 

16 Torture 

18 Sexually Transmitted Diseases 

19 Sexual Penetration 

79 Medical Neglect 

81 Failure to Thrive (Non-Organic) 

83 Malnutrition (Non-Organic) 

85 Medical Neglect of Disabled Infants 

 

2) Allegations of physical abuse/neglect listed above require the completion 

of the CANTS 64-A, Referral Form for Medical Evaluation of a 

Physical Injury to a Child by the examining medical practitioner. 

Allegations of medical neglect as listed above require the completion of 

the CFS 65-B, Evaluation of Medical Neglect of a Child by the 

evaluating medical practitioner.  

 

3) Other allegations may require a medical consultation as a result of 

supervisory direction.  
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4) The absence of a mark or injury in and of itself is not a reason to waive a 

medical exam for any child. 

 

b) Request for Medical Records 
 

1) The federal Healthcare Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 

(HIPPA) has an exception that allows protected health information about a 

subject of an investigation to be disclosed without written authorization to 

an appropriate government authority authorized by law to receive reports 

of child abuse and neglect. [45 C.F.R. 164.512(b)(1)(ii)] When 

appropriate, child protection staff should use the CFS 600-5, Request 

for Records, to communicate the Department’s authority to receive 

information and records.  

 

2) The Department may have access to any and all medical records including 

but not limited to: 
 

A) Admission and discharge summaries; 

B) Progress notes by all professionals, including social work, MD, 

consultants, etc.; 

C) Laboratory results; 

D) Imaging reports (i.e. x-rays, scans); 

E) Procedure results (i.e. endoscopy); and 

F) Outpatient, ER, and Hospitalization records. 

 

3) Request the mother's medical records when requesting the medical records 

for her newborn child. The guardianship administrator’s consent is 

required when requesting HIV or STD records for a youth for whom the 

Department has legal responsibility.  
 

4) X-rays may be requested but can only be authorized by a physician as part 

of the physical examination or treatment of a child who has been alleged 

to have been abused or neglected.  
 

c) Medical and Mental Health Consultations and Examinations during an 

Investigation  
 

1) Medical and Mental Health Consultation  
 

A) A “medical or mental health consultation” means meeting in 

person or by phone with a medical or mental health professional 

with expertise in the treating and/or diagnosing of the 

injury/condition that is present.   
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B) A medical consultation is required with the physician, physician 

assistant, registered nurse or other medical professional who 

completed the required medical exam for allegations identified in 

Procedures 300.100(a).   

 

C) A mental health consultation may be requested with the therapist, 

licensed mental health professional, psychologist or psychiatrist, 

when mental health concerns are known.   

 

D) If the child or family has a caseworker, the caseworker may 

request to attend the consultation with the appropriate consent.   

 

E) Other allegations may require a consultation as a result of 

supervisory direction.  

 

F) When a child is hospitalized at a hospital or psychiatric/mental 

health facility, at the onset or during the course of any 

investigation, the Child Protection Specialist must convene a case 

conference with the treating medical team and/or 

psychiatric/mental health team and the social work team in order to 

address child safety and discharge planning.   

 

i) Child Protection Specialist shall not request that a child 

remain in a hospital pending further investigative activities 

when the child has been medically cleared for discharge.   

 

ii) The following factors are to be discussed during the 

conference and the Child Protection Specialist must 

document the conference in a contact note including: 
 

a) Medical or Mental Health Diagnosis;   

b) Medical evidence of abuse/neglect; 

c) Environmental factors affecting the child’s 

mental/physical health; 

d) Ongoing medical and/or mental health treatment 

needs;  

e) After care plan to address physical and/or mental 

health needs; 

f) Medical and/or mental health referrals; and 

g) Any medical/mental health follow up required. 
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2) Medical Examinations 

 

A) Medical examinations are required for all child subjects of a 

report if they are the surviving siblings or household members 

of a deceased child victim when the death is alleged to be result 

of abuse/neglect.  

 

B) Medical examinations are also required for all child subjects of 

a report if they are siblings or household members of a child 

victim suffering from a head injury, torture, or internal injury 

alleged to be the result of abuse/neglect.  

 

C) Medical examinations are required for all alleged child victims of 

the allegations identified in Procedures 300.100(a) above unless a 

Child Protection Supervisor waives the exam after careful 

consideration of the incident and injury/condition.  These exams 

cannot be waived when the alleged child is an: 
 

i) Infant; 

ii) Non-verbal child of any age; and 

iii) Child of any age who have a developmental delay 

 

D) Medical examinations may be warranted in other situations and 

shall be requested in consultation with the Child Protection 

Supervisor. 

 

E) Prior to the examination occurring, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall have a discussion with the medical provider to alert him/her 

the child is coming and for what reason.  The Child Protection 

Specialist shall also consult with the medical provider to discuss 

the outcome of the exam.  

 

F) The Child Protection Specialist is expected to attend all medical 

examinations of children who are alleged victims of the report 

unless the Child Protection Supervisor has been consulted and 

waives the Specialist’s presence at the exam.  If, after supervisory 

consultation, arrangements are made for the parent to obtain the 

medical examination and the Child Protection Specialist does not 

attend, the Child Protection Specialist shall convene a conference 

with the medical provider within 24 hours to discuss the outcomes 

of the examination. 
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G) The CANTS 65-A, Referral Form for Medical Evaluation of a 

Physical Injury to a Child, is to be provided to the treating 

physician by the Child Protection Specialist.  Attached to the 

CANTS 65-A should be the CANTS 2A or CANTS 2B body 

chart as well as any photographs of the child’s injury taken by the 

Child Protection Specialist.  If the child protection situation is 

urgent and the Child Protection Specialist does not have time to go 

back to the office and print the relevant photographs, the 

photographs should be provided to the physician as soon as 

possible.  The Child Protection Specialist shall fill out the form 

with all available information, forward to treating physician, and 

then contact the physician by phone or in person to confirm receipt 

of the form. 
 

H) With Parental Consent 
 

Medical examinations of children alleged to be abused or 

neglected can only be obtained with parental consent as long as the 

child remains in the parents' custody.  If the parent/guardian 

refuses to consent to the examination and there is no imminent risk 

of harm to the child sufficient to justify temporary protective 

custody, the medical examination cannot be obtained.   
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall ask the parent/guardian to 

sign consent forms for the release of information obtained through 

these medical examinations.  Reports of the medical examinations 

and copies of parental consent shall be placed in the investigative 

file.  
 

I) Without Parental Consent 
 

If a parent refuses to allow for a medical examination of the 

alleged child victim and the child is in imminent risk of harm, a 

critical decision must be made as to whether protective custody 

shall be taken in order for the examination to occur.   
 

3) Observation of External Marks or Injuries 
 

A) Observable External Marks or Injuries 
 

i) When physical abuse is alleged, it is the Child Protection 

Specialist’s responsibility to observe the marks or injuries 

and document the observations on the CANTS 2A/2B and 

in a contact note.  The Child Protection Specialist shall also 

take photographs of the marks or injuries and attach the 

photographs to the CANTS 2A/2B.  
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ii) There should always be a parent/guardian/caregiver or 

other professional person, preferably of the same sex as the 

child, present when a Child Protection Specialist observes a 

child, regardless of the child's age. A Child Protection 

Specialist shall not observe any part of a child's body that 

would normally be covered by a bikini bathing suit if the 

child is age 6 or older unless the Child Protection Specialist 

is the same sex as the child.  

 

iii) Children who are verbal shall be told the purpose of the 

observation and the necessity for it in words they can 

understand.  If the child is hearing impaired or does not 

speak English, the method of communication that the child 

uses shall be employed (e.g., sign language, foreign 

language interpreter).   
 

iv) Photographs of a child’s injuries may also be taken and 

used to support the descriptive documentation contained on 

the CANTS 2A or 2B.  Photographs may never be used as 

a substitute for completing the CANTS 2A or 2B.  
 

v) When the child's parent/guardian is available, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall notify the child’s parent/guardian 

that the Department has the right to obtain photographs, 

audiotapes, and videotapes.  Such notification may be by 

telephone. 
 

vi) The Child Protection Specialist shall observe the child if: 
 

a) The child victim is alleged to have external 

marks/injuries (e.g. cuts, bruises, welts, burns, 

scratches, sores, etc.) as the result of alleged abuse 

or neglect;  
 

b) Based on information previously obtained in the 

investigation or credible evidence known to the 

Child Protection Specialist, there is reasonable 

cause to believe that an observation will reveal 

marks/injuries supporting the allegation; and 
 

c) The Child Protection Specialist secures information 

that would lead him or her to believe that the child 

has external marks/injuries on some other part of his 

or her body, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

also observe that part of the child's body. 
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vii) The Child Protection Specialist shall make a good faith 

effort to obtain parental or guardian consent to observe the 

child for marks/injuries when clothing must be adjusted or 

removed. These efforts shall include, but are not limited to: 

 

a) If the parent/guardian is present, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall ask the parent/guardian to 

assist with moving or removing any of the child's 

clothing; 

 

b) If the child is to be observed in any setting when the 

parent/guardian is not present, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall attempt to notify the child's 

parent/guardian that the Child Protection Specialist 

must observe the child for external marks/injuries.  

The Child Protection Specialist shall make every 

effort to obtain contact information for the 

parent/guardian.  

 

c) If all the above efforts fail, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall proceed to observe the child in 

accordance with this procedure. 

 

d) If the child's parent refuses to cooperate with or 

allow the Child Protection Specialist to observe the 

child for external marks/injuries, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall inform the parent that 

pursuant to ANCRA [325 ILCS 5/7.5] the Child 

Protection Specialist has the responsibility and 

authority to observe the child. The Child Protection 

Specialist shall then offer the parent/ guardian the 

following options: 

 

1) The parent/guardian may take the child to a 

physician or hospital emergency room for a 

physical examination within a reasonable 

time. The Child Protection Specialist will 

secure a written report from the examining 

physician;  

 

2) The parent/guardian may give consent to 

allow the Child Protection Specialist and 

another professional (e.g. a school nurse, 

school teacher, policeman) to observe the 

child; or  
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3) If the parent/guardian refuses to cooperate, 

and the Child Protection Specialist 

determines that the child is in imminent risk 

of harm if left in the custody of the 

parent/guardian, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall, in consultation with the 

Child Protection Supervisor, take the child 

into protective custody and proceed to have 

the child examined by a physician.  If the 

child is not at imminent risk and the 

parents refuse to cooperate, the Child 

Protection Specialist may not take 

protective custody and may not observe 

the child's body. 

 

B) Questions and Documentation regarding external marks or injuries 

 

i) Questions that the Child Protection Supervisor should use, 

as a component of supervision that will better guide 

decision making include, but are not limited to:   
 

a) What is the injury? (Type, severity, etc.) 
 

b) When did the child first show signs of injury and 

what were those signs?  
 

c) When and where did the injury occur? What 

happened? How did it happen? Who was present 

when the injuries occurred? 
 

d) Did the injury occur at other locations (e.g. home, 

school, day care, etc.)? 
 

e) Is the explanation of the injury consistent with the 

injury? Who provided the opinion and what facts 

were provided in support of the opinion? 
 

f) Were conflicting explanations given for the injury? 

How did the explanations conflict, who provided 

the information and to whom were the explanations 

given? 
 

g) Were there any witnesses to the injury? What did 

the witnesses report? Who were the witnesses? 

What actions, if any, did the witnesses take? 
 

h) Did anyone provide corroborating information for 

the explanations of the injury? What was the 

corroborating information and who provided it? 
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i) Have there been a series of injuries to the child or 

children in the home during the previous six 

months? What or who is the source of this 

information? 
 

j) Has there been a delay in seeking medical care for 

the child or children with the injury? What was the 

reason given for the delay? What or who is the 

source of this information? Were there any adverse 

medical issues resulting from the delay? 
 

k) Has the child or children been taken to multiple 

medical facilities for treatment? Is there a 

reasonable explanation for the use of multiple 

facilities or does it appear to have been done to 

avoid detection of a pattern? 
 

l) Have there been any changes in the household 

composition or caretaking that correspond with the 

onset of the injury? What were the changes? Have 

background checks been completed on these 

individuals? 
 

m) Is the injury occurring with one particular 

parent/caregiver? If so, what is the name of the 

parent/caregiver, what is his or her relationship to 

the child, and does the parent/caregiver live in the 

home with the child? What is the basis for this 

determination? 

 

ii) The supervisory conference and the investigator’s response 

to the questions must be documented in a contact note. 
 

4) Internal Injuries 
 

A) If the child victim is alleged to have internal injuries as a result of 

abuse or neglect, and if a physician has not already examined the 

child, the Child Protection Specialist shall attempt to secure the 

cooperation of the child's parent/guardian in arranging for 

examination and treatment, and secure a written report of the 

examination from the physician.  
 

B) With reports of abdominal injury or pain, the child should be seen 

by a physician, even if there is no observable mark. The CANTS 

65A should clearly document any indication of being hit in the 

stomach or abdomen. 
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C) If the parent/guardian is not present, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall call the emergency telephone numbers the parent/guardian 

has left.  The Child Protection Specialist shall make every attempt 

to obtain contact information and contact the parent/guardian.  

However, such attempts shall not delay the seeking of necessary 

emergency medical treatment for the child.  
 

D) If the Child Protection Specialist is able to contact the child's 

parent/guardian, the Child Protection Specialist shall ask the 

parent/guardian to take the child for an examination immediately. 

If the parent/guardian refuses to take the child for a physical 

examination and the child is in imminent risk of harm, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall take the child into temporary protective 

custody and make arrangements to have the child taken to a 

hospital emergency room for examination and ensure the 

emergency room is notified.  
 

E) A Child Protection Specialist shall never attempt to examine 

an alleged child victim for internal injuries or attempt to move 

a child with internal injuries.  The Child Protection Specialist 

should call 911 in an emergency.   
 

5) Sexual Abuse 
 

A) Child advocacy centers are available to a number of Department 

field offices to provide a coordinated multidisciplinary approach to 

the identification, treatment, and legal aspects of sexual abuse 

allegations in accordance with the Children’s Advocacy Center 

Act.  The Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection 

Supervisor should be knowledgeable of advocacy center resources 

and procedures in their area to ensure timely notification of team 

members, ongoing investigative plan development, and 

investigation and prosecution of perpetrators. 
 

B) If a Department field office does not have access to advocacy 

center resources, the Child Protection Specialist must notify law 

enforcement and the State’s Attorney to coordinate a 

multidisciplinary investigation.   
 

C) The Child Protection Specialist will not physically examine any 

child alleged to have been sexually abused.  The Child Protection 

Specialist must follow local office procedures to arrange for the 

child’s medical examination and treatment.  Contact law 

enforcement for assistance if procedures have not been established 

to address this issue. 
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6) Obtaining Second Medical Opinions 
 

A) A second medical opinion is required when: 
 

i) The treating physicians are unable or unwilling to offer an 

opinion regarding the cause of the injury;  
 

ii) There are conflicting opinions among treating physicians; 

or 
 

iii) The case has been staffed with a supervisor and the Child 

Protection Specialist is unable to make a well-supported 

finding based on the totality of the information gathered. 
 

B) Who can Provide the Second Opinion 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall request a second opinion 

from a physician/medical provider with the most relevant 

specialization and experience. The opinion of this expert should be 

given the greatest weight. All second opinions shall be documented 

in a contact note.  The Child Protection Specialist shall request a 

written copy of the provider’s medical opinion.   

 

d) DCFS Nurse Referrals 

 

1) Reports of Medical Neglect of Disabled Infant  

 

A) Reports of medical neglect of disabled newborns and infants under 

one year of age must be referred by the Child Protection Specialist 

to the regional nurse. If the situation is an emergency, the regional 

nurse shall be notified of the report via telephone.   

 

B) The Child Protection Specialist shall provide the nurse with copies 

of any medical records, reports or recommendations about the 

involved newborn or infant, including the completed CANTS 65-

B, Evaluation of Medical Neglect of a Child.   

 

C) The Child Protection Specialist and/or Supervisor shall consult 

with the Regional Nurse regarding the protective custody decision 

of the disabled newborn or infant, if the imminent danger to life 

and health is related to the child’s disability or medical condition.  

 

D) When the Department has assumed legal responsibility for the 

disabled newborn or infant, the nurse is responsible for securing 

treatments and evaluations, if needed, and shall refer the child to a 

perinatal center, when necessary, to obtain specialized care or an 

independent evaluation.   
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E) The nurse shall provide professional judgment whether there is 

evidence of medical neglect for each report involving a disabled 

newborn or infant less than one year of age.  However, the Child 

Protection Specialist is responsible for recommending a final 

finding based upon the nurse’s judgment and other evidence 

gathered during the course of the investigation.   

 

2) Children with Special Health Care Needs 

 

A) When an alleged child victim of a report of medical neglect is 

identified by the Child Protection Specialist as having or possibly 

having special health care needs or a child with special health care 

needs is living in the home of an alleged perpetrator, the Child 

Protection Specialist must refer the child for nursing consultation 

services no later than 48 hours after case assignment.  

 

B) A child with special health care needs living in the home of an 

alleged perpetrator, but not named as a victim in the pending 

investigation, must be added to the pending investigation as a 

newly identified alleged victim under Allegation #10, Substantial 

Risk of Physical Injury, #60, Environment Injurious to Health 

and Welfare, #79 Medical Neglect, or any other allegation 

supported by investigation information.  

 

3) To refer a child for nursing consultation services, the Child Protection 

Specialist must complete a CFS 399-1, Clinical Referral Form, and 

email the completed form via Outlook to DCFS.ClinicalRef.   

 

A) Emergency referrals for nursing consultation services involving 

children with special health care needs include protective custody 

situations as well as any situation involving a child that the worker 

suspects may have unmet health care needs.  Emergency referrals 

may be made in the same way as non-emergency referrals by 

checking “Emergency” in the Reason for Referral section of the 

CFS 531. 

 

B) The Chief of Nursing Services has the sole authority to evaluate 

referrals and authorize nursing consultation services.  Written or 

verbal notification authorizing or denying nursing consultation 

services will be provided to referring workers within 12 hours after 

receipt of the referral by the Chief of Nursing Services for all 

emergency referrals, and within five days of receipt of the referral 

by the Chief of Nursing Services for all non-emergency referrals. 
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C) Children identified as having or suspected of having any of the 

diagnoses or existing health conditions listed in Procedures 

302.Appendix O, may be referred for nursing consultation 

services regardless of the allegation being investigated.  
 

4) Failure to thrive  
 

When an allegation of failure to thrive is made, the Child Protection 

Specialist must consult with the child’s primary care physician and other 

medical professionals, as needed.  The Child Protection Specialist must 

also consult with a DCFS nurse and provide for the nurse any medical 

records, reports or recommendations concerning the involved child.  This 

consultation should include discussion regarding any imminent danger to 

the life and health of the child and the need for a referral of intact services, 

if appropriate.   
 

e) Investigations involving children with special health care needs  
 

1) Identification 
 

A) For Department purposes, children with special health care needs 

are children who have a chronic physical, developmental, or 

behavioral condition and who also require health and related 

services of a type or amount beyond the norm.   
 

B) Examples of a child with special health care needs include, but are 

not limited to:  
 

i) Children who are dependent on a medical device to sustain 

life (e.g. tracheostomy, gastrostomy, or ventilator 

dependent);  
 

ii) Children with health conditions requiring medical 

supervision and/or intervention to prevent and or treat such 

illness or improve functional and developmental 

impairment; or 
 

iii) Children with conditions requiring home-health nursing 

care. 
 

2) Conference 
 

When conducting an investigation involving medically complex children 

whose home health care is at issue, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

convene a telephone or in-person conference with relevant parties (e.g. 

parents, nursing care agency, child’s primary care physician, and other 

medical providers) to facilitate communication, establish facts, and design 

a plan of action.  DCFS nursing staff should be included when appropriate. 
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3) Protective Custody 
 

A) When information obtained from the child’s primary care 

physician and other health related resources indicate that the child 

is at risk of serious harm and the harm cannot be managed through 

a safety plan, the Child Protection Specialist shall consult with 

their supervisors to determine if the child should be taken into 

protective custody.  If necessary, the Child Protection Supervisor 

may consult with the Area Administrator regarding the protective 

custody decision. The Department’s Medical Director may also be 

consulted.  
 

B) When protective custody is determined to be the only option to 

ensure the safety of a child with special health care needs, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall involve the DCFS Regional Nurse 

in the planning and preparation for safely taking the child into 

protective custody.  
 

C) When there is an urgent and immediate necessity to take a child 

with special health care needs into temporary protective custody, 

do not delay the course of action until a DCFS Regional Nurse can 

become involved.   

 

4) Preparation and planning for the protective custody shall include the 

following:  
 

A) Health Care Plan 
 

The child’s health care plan must be documented in the 

investigative file, and a copy of the plan must accompany the child 

to a medical facility and/or placement resource. The health care 

plan should include: 

 

i) The child’s medical diagnosis;  

 

ii) Known allergies;  

 

iii) Current medication list (dosages and schedules);  

 

iv) Therapies (appointment schedules, names, addresses, and 

telephone numbers of providers);  

 

v) Name, address, and telephone number of the child’s 

primary care physician and specialists;  

 

vi) Scheduled appointments with the primary care physician 

and specialists;  
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vii) Transportation plans for the child’s medical appointments;  
 

viii) Any medical devices (e.g. apnea monitors, glucose 

monitors, and nebulizers) and/or medications necessary to 

implement the child’s health plan, if available; and 
 

ix) Any other relevant information. 
 

B) Transportation of Technology Dependent Children 
 

Children with a tracheostomy or who are ventilator dependent 

must be transported by advanced life support ambulance to the 

nearest acute care facility for evaluation and treatment.  If a DCFS 

Regional Nurse is providing nursing consultation services to the 

case, the DCFS Regional Nurse will call 911 to arrange for the 

child’s specialized transportation. The child’s health care plan 

must accompany the child to the facility. 
 

f) Medical care for children taken into Protective custody 
 

When protective custody is taken of a child, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

ensure that there is an immediate medical exam with either their primary care 

physician or emergency care provider prior to placement in a foster home or 

shelter.  The Child Protection Specialist shall accompany the child to the 

examination. 
 

1) The Initial Health Screening 
 

When available, all known information, medication and a list of 

equipment shall accompany the child to the Initial Health Screening (IHS).   
 

2) Emergency Medical Care 
 

After taking a child into temporary protective custody, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall determine whether the child requires emergency 

medical care. Examples of a child requiring medical care may include, but 

are not be limited to: 
 

A) The child is having difficulty breathing;  
 

B) The child is having a seizure;  
 

C) The child appears seriously ill, injured, or is unresponsive (not 

moving, not responding to his/her name);  
 

D) The child has a high fever;  
 

E) The child has unusual or severe bleeding;  
 

F) The child has had prolonged diarrhea, or vomiting, or may be 

dehydrated;  



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

September 9, 2022 – PT 2022.08 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.100 – (16) 

 

G) The child is unable to move an extremity or limb;  
 

H) The child has been sexually abused;  
 

I) The child is a newborn with a developmental disability or 

handicapping condition;  
 

J) The child is found at an illicit/illegal drug laboratory; or 
 

K) The child appears to be malnourished.  

 

3) Consent for Emergency Medical Care 
 

A) The parents or legal guardian of the child should consent to any 

needed emergency medical care.  If the parents or legal guardian 

are unavailable or unwilling to consent to emergency medical care 

and there is not enough time to secure a juvenile court order to 

obtain the care, the Child Protection Specialist shall ask the 

physician or hospital to proceed under the Consent by Minors to 

Health Care Services Act [410 ILCS 210/0.01 et seq.] which is 

quoted in part below: 
 

Where a hospital, a physician licensed to practice medicine in all 

its branches, a chiropractic physician, a licensed optometrist, a 

licensed advanced practice registered nurse, or a licensed 

physician assistant renders emergency treatment or first aid or a 

licensed dentist renders emergency dental treatment to a minor, 

consent of the minor’s parent or legal guardian need not be 

obtained if, in the sole opinion of the physician, chiropractic 

physician, optometrist, advanced practice registered nurse, 

physician assistant, dentist, or hospital, the obtaining of consent is 

not reasonably feasible under the circumstances without adversely 

affecting the condition of such minor’s health. 410 ILCS 210/3(a). 
 

Where a minor is the victim of a predatory criminal sexual assault 

of a child, aggravated criminal sexual assault, criminal sexual 

assault, aggravated criminal sexual abuse or criminal sexual 

abuse, as provided in Sections 11-1.20 through 11-1.60 of the 

Criminal Code of 2012, the consent of the minor’s parent or legal 

guardian need not be obtained to authorize a hospital, physician, 

chiropractic physician, optometrist, advanced practice registered 

nurse, physician assistant, or other medical personnel to furnish 

health care services or counseling related to the diagnosis or 

treatment of any disease or injury arising from such offense. The 

minor may consent to such counseling, diagnosis or treatment as if 

the minor had reached his or her age of majority. Such consent 

shall not be voidable, nor subject to later disaffirmance, because of 

minority.  410 ILCS 210/3(b). 
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B) In addition, the Child Protection Specialist shall inform the 

physician or hospital of the immunity provision added to the 

Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5/1 et seq.] 

for minors in temporary protective custody, which is quoted in part 

below:  
 

Any person authorized and acting in good faith in the removal of a 

child under this Section shall have immunity from any liability, 

civil or criminal that might otherwise be incurred or imposed as a 

result of such removal. Any physician authorized and acting in 

good faith and in accordance with acceptable medical practice in 

the treatment of a child under this Section shall have immunity 

from any liability, civil or criminal, that might otherwise be 

incurred or imposed as a result of granting permission for 

emergency treatment.  325 ILCS 5/5. 
 

4) Ordinary Medical Care 
 

"Ordinary medical care" means those medical procedures which are 

administered or performed on a routine basis and which do not involve 

hospitalization, surgery, or use of anesthesia and include, but are not 

limited to inoculations, physical examinations, and remedial treatment for 

minor illnesses and injuries.  The Child Protection Specialist shall ask the 

Guardianship Administrator or designee to consent to any ordinary 

medical care, needed by children taken into temporary protective custody.  

The Child Protection Specialist shall ensure that a child taken into 

temporary protective custody receives a medical examination prior to 

placing the child in a foster home or shelter. 
 

5) Major Medical Care 
 

"Major medical care" means those medical procedures which are not 

administered or performed on a routine basis and which involve 

hospitalization, surgery, or use of anesthesia.  These procedures include, 

but are not limited to, tonsillectomies, appendectomies, provision of blood 

transfusions, psychiatric hospitalization, administration of psychotropic 

medications, use of life support systems, and organ transplants.  The 

Guardianship Administrator or designee cannot consent to major 

medical care while a child is in temporary protective custody.  The 

parents' or legal guardian's consent shall be obtained for major medical 

care, or the Department shall seek temporary custody with the right to 

consent to major medical care.  
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6) Payment for Medical Services 
 

A Temporary Recipient Identification Number (RIN) shall be obtained by 

contacting the Medical Card Unit during business hours or the Placement 

Clearance Desk (PCD) after hours, weekends and holidays. The RIN shall 

be documented on the CFS 930-C Notice of Medicaid Coverage for 

DCFS clients and provided to the medical provider at time of the exam. 

Detailed information concerning health care services is located in 

Procedures 302.360. 
 

7) Disabled Infants 
 

Newborn children (not more than 30 days old) taken into temporary 

protective custody whose life or development may be threatened by a 

developmental disability or a handicapping condition may need to be 

referred to a perinatal center for evaluation and treatment.  The Child 

Protection Specialist shall contact the designated perinatal center for the 

area in which the infant resides for consultation.  Procedures 300, 

Appendix C, List of Perinatal Centers and Community Hospitals 

They Serve, identifies the appropriate perinatal center for each 

community hospital. 

 

Note: "Developmental disability" means intellectual disability, cerebral 

palsy, epilepsy, or other neurological handicapping conditions 

found to be closely related to intellectual disability, that are 

expected to continue indefinitely, that interrupts or delays the 

sequence and rate of normal growth, development and maturation, 

and that constitutes a substantial impairment to the individual.  

 

8) Children with Asthma 

 

A) Upon taking a child into temporary protective custody, the Child 

Protection Specialist is responsible for asking the parents/available 

caregivers and the child if the child has any health issues or 

medical conditions.  As part of this process, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall: 

 

i) Ask if the child currently has any known allergies, asthma 

or respiratory problems or has ever had these conditions in 

the past;  

 

ii) If any of these conditions exist, request the name of the 

child’s physician and an explanation of the current 

treatment regimen;  and 
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iii) Request the child’s current medication, Asthma Action 

Plan (AAP), and equipment.  Equipment for a child with 

asthma may include items such as an inhaler, spacer, 

nebulizer, humidifier, peak flow meter or oxygen.  

 

B) If the parent is not available or refuses to provide information at 

the time of temporary protective custody, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall pursue this information in later interviews.  The 

Child Protection Specialist shall document all pertinent medical 

information in the investigative file and report this information to 

the assigned caseworker at case handoff.   

 

C) If a child was diagnosed with asthma prior to custody and has an 

existing AAP, the Child Protection Specialist shall present the 

AAP to the examining physician for review.  If no changes are 

made to the AAP, the Child Protection Specialist shall: 

 

i) Retain a copy for the investigative file; 

 

ii) Provide a copy to the child's substitute caregiver; 

 

iii) Send a copy to the HealthWorks Lead Agency; and 

 

 iv) Fax a copy to the Division of Health Policy to 217-557-

5796.  

 

Note: The HealthWorks Lead Agency will retain a copy of 

the AAP to include in the child's HealthWorks file.   

 

D) If an AAP does not exist for a child with an asthma diagnosis or if 

the examining physician changes the AAP, a provisional, 

temporary Asthma Action Plan shall be obtained from the 

examining physician.  The Child Protection Specialist shall give a 

copy of the temporary AAP to the child’s substitute caregiver 

when the initial placement is made.  Distribution of the temporary 

AAP is the same as noted in the above paragraph for an existing 

AAP. 

 

Whenever a child is known to have asthma, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall review the IHS Encounter form 

before leaving the site to verify that the doctor documented an 

asthma diagnosis, asthma severity classification, and 

medications.  
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9) Placement of Children Diagnosed with Asthma 
 

When a child is known to have asthma, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall take the child’s health issues and medical conditions into 

consideration when determining a placement and ensure that any 

necessary medication and equipment, as well as the AAP, is provided to 

the caregiver.   
 

A) The Child Protection Specialist shall determine whether allergens 

(such as a cat or dog) to which the child is allergic are present in 

the prospective foster or relative caregiver home so that corrective 

action can be taken prior to placing the child.  The Child Protection 

Specialist should determine whether a smoker resides in the house.  

The physical environment of the prospective foster or relative 

caregiver home must be taken into consideration in order to protect 

the child's health.  
 

Asthma can be a life-threatening condition, and the child 

cannot be placed with the prospective caregiver family if the 

child's life and well-being are threatened.  If a caregiver is 

unable or unwilling to adhere to a physician's environmental 

recommendations, the Child Protection Specialist must 

immediately seek another placement. 
 

B) If available at placement, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

provide the substitute caregiver with the child’s medication, 

prescribed equipment, and existing AAP or the temporary asthma 

plan obtained at the IHS.  The Child Protection Specialist shall 

also: 

 

i) Review the content of the temporary asthma plan or AAP 

with the caregiver; 

 

ii) Reinforce, in the event of an emergency, the need to take 

the child to the emergency room; 

 

iii) Provide the caregiver the list of potential allergens and 

stimuli; 

 

iv) Complete the CFS 690, Asthma Action Plan and CFS 

691, Identification of a Child Diagnosed with Asthma; 

and  

 

v) Reinforce the importance of posting the AAP in a 

conspicuous, easily accessible place.   
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C) Prior to leaving the child’s placement, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall ensure that the caregiver has the child’s medical 

card and remind the caregiver to contact the HealthWorks Lead 

Agency the next business day to enroll the child with a primary 

care physician and schedule the Comprehensive Health Evaluation 

as early as possible within the next 21 days.   
 

g) Resources 
 

Dependent upon the medical coverage of the child, non-emergency medical examinations 

are often required to be coordinated through the Primary Care Physician (PCP).  The PCP 

can make appropriate referrals to any needed specialists in regards to specific injuries.  It 

is important that when a child has a significant injury that he or she be examined by an 

appropriate medical professional that can assist in making a determination of abuse or 

neglect.  All four DCFS Regions have abuse and neglect medical providers that can assist 

in the determination of abuse and neglect, offer second opinions on cases of abuse and 

neglect, and offer other related services through the course of investigation.  Provided 

below are brief descriptions of the four providers.  Child Protection Specialists should 

consult with their Supervisor and/or Area Administrator regarding the appropriate times 

for which the assistance and involvement of one of the below providers should be sought. 
 

1) Multidisciplinary Pediatric Education and Evaluation Consortium (MPEEC) 
 

AREAS SERVED:  Chicago and Cook County for Second Opinions 
 

This program participates in activities related to the coordination of 

multidisciplinary investigations between DCFS and Chicago Police Department 

investigators and provides expert abuse pediatricians in allegations of severe 

physical abuse of children up to 36 months of age.  The identified allegations 

include:  
 

• 2/52 Head trauma;  
 

• 9/59 Bone fractures;  
 

• 4/54 Internal injuries;  
 

• 5/55 Burns – children who present for care at an MPEEC hospital; and 
 

• 11/61 Cuts, welts, bruises, and abrasions – children who present for care at 

an MPEEC hospital  

 

MPEEC hospitals include:  
 

• Advocate Christ Medical Center 
 

• Advocate Lutheran General Hospital 
 

• Loyola University Medical Center 
 

• Rush University Medical Center 
 

• University of Chicago Comer Children’s Hospital  
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MPEEC provides mandated medical expert consultation and written opinions for 

cases in Chicago that fit the above criteria.  MPEEC also provides second 

opinions on cases outside of Chicago as requested by DCFS.  These requests are 

generated from the Child Protection Specialist after consultation with a 

supervisor.  There are no injury or age criteria for the receipt and medical 

evaluation of second opinions.  These cases are taken on a case-by-case basis, and 

the children involved may reside outside of the City of Chicago. SCR identifies 

cases for MPEEC for children under the age of three who reside in Chicago only. 

Medical Evaluation Response Initiative Team (MERIT) 

 

AREAS SERVED:  Northern Region 
 

Counties of Winnebago, Boone, Lee, Ogle, Jo Daviess, Whiteside, Carroll, 

Kendall, McHenry, Lake, DeKalb, Kane, Stephenson, Will 
 

This program provides medical advocacy for children (DCFS and non-DCFS) 

ages 0-17 who are alleged victims of sexual or physical abuse, and/or neglect.  

Referrals are accepted from Law Enforcement, DCFS, primary care providers, ER 

providers and Child Advocacy Centers.  Cases include, but are not limited to: 

 

• Sexual abuse cases; 

• Physical Abuse cases, including head injuries, bone fractures, internal injuries, 

and burns; and 

• Severe neglect cases that are under investigation for child maltreatment. 

 

2) Children’s Medical and Mental Health Resource Network (CMMHR) 

 

AREAS SERVED: Southern Regions (Counties in Central Region Included) 

 

• Effingham, Jasper - Family Care Associates of Effingham 

• Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, 

Jersey, Macoupin, Shelby –Sarah Bush Lincoln Memorial, Mattoon 

• Franklin, Hamilton, Jackson, Randolph, Saline, Williamson – Rea Clinic, 

Christopher 

• Madison, Monroe, St. Clair – Mother Child Center, Centerville 

• Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Johnson, Massac, 

Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Union, White, Williamson, Bond, 

Clay, Clinton, Jefferson, Marion, Randolph, Wayne – Children’s Medical 

Resource Network, Anna 

• Crawford, Edwards, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash – Lawrence County 

Memorial Hospital – Lawrenceville 
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Children’s Medical and Mental Health Resource Network provides specialized 

medical evaluations and psychosocial assessments for children birth-17 who are 

reported victims of child maltreatment (physical abuse, sexual abuse, and/or 

neglect) and their siblings, who may be at risk.  Referrals are accepted from 

DCFS, Law Enforcement, CACs and community medical providers (Primary 

Care Providers). Referrals are also encouraged from hospital Emergency 

Departments for detailed and/or follow-up exams.  CMMHRN will provide case 

reviews as requested by DCFS.  CMMHRN provides professional training to 

support DCFS and the MDT in protecting children using trauma informed care 

including evidence based modalities for mental health providers, such as trauma 

focused cognitive behavioral therapy.   

 

3) Pediatric Resource Center 

 

AREAS SERVED:  Central Region 

 

Counties of Fulton, Henry, Knox, LaSalle, Macon, Mason, McLean, Peoria, Rock 

Island, Sangamon, Tazewell, Woodford, and other counties within central region. 

 

The Pediatric Resource Center provides medical evaluations and social services to 

any child under 18 years of age who is an alleged victim of child abuse or neglect 

in a report being investigated by DCFS and/or law enforcement.  Whenever one 

of the above listed programs has been involved with a child that has been taken 

into protective custody during a pending investigation, the Child Protection 

Specialist and medical program coordinator shall arrange a phone conference with 

the placement agency supervisor to review any preliminary findings.  A copy of 

any written report resulting from the phone conference should be given to the 

placement agency once a final finding determination has been completed. 
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Section 300.110  Special Types of Reports 

 

a) Death of a Child 

 

1) Notification of Child Deaths  

 

A) Notification to the Director’s Office 

 

The Director's office shall be informed of all child deaths occurring as a 

result of alleged abuse or neglect, whenever the death involves a child on a 

pending report, or there has been other previous or current DCFS 

involvement with that child or family. This notification is in accordance 

with the requirements of Rule and Procedures 331, Unusual Incidents. 

 

B) The Regional Administrator or Designee 

 

The Regional Administrator or designee is responsible for coordinating all 

information from the field to the Director's office. Upon receiving 

notification from State Central Register or the responsible Area 

Administrator of a child death, the Regional Administrator or designee 

shall make immediate notification to the Senior Deputy of Operations and 

the Deputy of Child Protection via phone call within two hours.  

Notification should include age of victim, SCR number, suspected cause 

of death, location of surviving siblings to include safety decisions, and 

other pertinent information known at time of communication and prior 

DCFS contact.  The Senior Deputy of Operations or Deputy of Child 

Protection will provide notification to the Director's office. 

 

The Child Protection Supervisor or designee shall be responsible for the 

completion of a CFS 114, Morning Report, which shall include case 

chronology and a summary of the facts of the case that shall include 

current and past investigations, intact family and/or placement service 

cases.  The CFS 114 is to be submitted to the Regional Administrator and 

to the Director’s office via the Outlook distribution list called “Morning 

Report” as soon as possible but no later than four hours of initiation of the 

report.  A copy of the information contained in the Morning Report shall 

also be filed in the case record at the local field office. 

 

The Director's office shall contact the Regional Administrator or designee 

when it receives child death information from SCR prior to notification by 

the region.  The Regional Administrator or designee will designate a 

member of his or her staff to communicate with the Director's office in his 

or her absence. 
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C) Area Administrator 
 

The Area Administrator shall be responsible for the coordination of all 

information gathering relative to a death investigation, including the 

morning report and chronology required in accordance with Procedures 

331, Unusual Incidents.  A summary chronology of all prior DCFS 

contact with the family shall be prepared immediately for DCFS managed 

cases. For cases served by Purchase of Service (POS) agencies, the Area 

Administrator will notify the Agency Performance Team and/or the POS 

agency to request the case chronology. Upon completion, the chronology 

will be transmitted in writing to the Regional Administrator, who shall 

distribute the summary as needed.  The Area Administrator will ensure the 

morning report is updated as significant information is learned.   
 

D) SCR 
 

The SCR Administrator shall ensure that the following, as appropriate, are 

notified of all child fatalities: 
 

• The Director's office; 
 

• The Deputy of Child Protection;  
 

• The Office of the Inspector General; and 
 

• The Senior Deputy of Operations. 
 

These notifications will occur the day of the receipt of the report or the 

next working day, if the report is received after hours or on a weekend.   
 

2) File an Unusual Incident Report 
 

For all reports where death is alleged to have resulted from abuse or neglect, the 

Child Protection Supervisor or designee shall immediately complete a CFS 119 in 

accordance with Procedures 331, Unusual Incidents unless the UIR has 

previously been completed by SCR staff. 
 

3) Special Investigative and Reporting Procedures 
 

The following subsections describe the actions to be taken by a Child Protection 

Specialist investigating the death of a child.  
 

A) No Prior DCFS Involvement 
 

If there has been no prior DCFS involvement with the subjects of a 

pending death report and there are no other children in the home, the 

investigation may be delegated to a law enforcement agency, the Coroner 

or the Medical Examiner. 
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B) Prior Reports of Child Abuse or Neglect  
 

i) Case Assignment 
 

The Child Protection Specialist assigned to investigate the child's 

death shall not be the same person who conducted any prior 

investigation involving the deceased child, the child's family or the 

alleged perpetrator. 
 

ii) Child Protection and Intact/Permanency Supervisors Combined 

Analysis of Prior Investigative and Service Involvement 
 

The Child Protection Supervisor whose team has responsibility for 

the pending death investigation shall review the investigative file 

of all prior investigations within 48 hours of receipt of the death 

report.  The Child Protection Supervisor shall prepare a chronology 

of past investigative involvement and a factual analysis of those 

investigations and submit via an updated morning report.   
 

A combined chronology of prior or current service involvement 

needs to be compiled into an updated CFS 114 by the last assigned 

Intact/Permanency or Child Protection Supervisor. The Area 

Administrator and Agency Performance Team will request the case 

chronology.  The CFS 114, factual analysis and investigative file 

shall be prepared within two working days of the receipt of the 

report of the child's death, and shall be transmitted to the Regional 

Administrator, in accordance with Procedures 331. 
 

The CFS 114 shall also be sent to: 
 

• The Deputy of Child Protection or designee; 
 

• The Senior Deputy of Operations or designee; 
 

• The appropriate Area Administrator.  
 

• The current Child Protection Specialist; and 
 

• The Intact or Permanency worker, if there is an open 

service case. 
 

iii) Autopsy Report 
 

The Child Protection Specialist assigned to investigate the child's 

death shall contact the coroner or medical examiner's office and 

request a copy of the autopsy report.  This request shall be 

documented in a contact note.  When the autopsy report is received 

prior to the completion of the investigation, it shall be placed in the 

hard copy file and the details of the report shall be documented on 

a case note.  
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C) Pending Investigations 
 

This section applies to situations where there is a pending report with no 

death allegation, and a child subject of the report dies during the course of 

the investigation. 
 

i) Add the Death Allegation 
 

If it is suspected that the child's death resulted from the abuse or 

neglect currently under investigation, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall add the allegation of Death (#1 or #51) to the 

pending report.  If the death is not related to the pending report, but 

is suspected have resulted from abuse or neglect, a Subsequent 

Oral Report (SOR) must be filed. 
 

ii) Notification of SCR and Other Authorities 
 

If it is suspected that the child's death resulted from abuse or 

neglect, the Child Protection Specialist shall notify the following 

authorities: 
 

• SCR:  Via telephone or fax within one hour of learning of 

the child's death, or as soon as possible after assuring the 

safety of the other children in the home;  
 

• Law Enforcement:  Via telephone within one hour of 

learning of the child's death, or as soon as possible after 

assuring the safety of the other children in the home; 
 

• State's Attorney:  Via telephone, immediately during 

regular business hours or next business day if the death 

occurred or was reported after hours; and 
 

• Coroner/Medical Examiner:  Via telephone, immediately 

during regular business hours or next business day if the 

death occurred or was reported after hours. 

 

All information about the circumstances related to the death of the 

child shall be shared with the above authorities.   
 

• The telephone notification to the above authorities shall be 

documented in a contact note.   
 

• The telephone notification of law enforcement, the State's 

Attorney, and the Coroner or Medical Examiner shall be 

confirmed in a case note.   
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D) Current or Prior Open Service Case 
 

When a child's death is attributed to alleged abuse or neglect and the 

Department has a current open service case or had a prior service case 

involving the child and/or the child's family, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall contact the Intact/Permanency Worker/Supervisor within 

one business day of receiving the report.  The purpose of the contact is to 

notify the worker/supervisor of the child's death, if the Intact/Permanency 

Worker was not the reporter, and to obtain all pertinent information known 

by the worker/supervisor.  Any information obtained from the 

Intact/Permanency Worker shall be documented in a contact note.   
 

4) Child Death Review Teams (CDRT) 
 

A) Referrals to the CDRT 
 

In accordance with Rules 300, Section 300.170, the Department shall 

refer to the child death review teams the death of any child who is: 
 

• A child for whom the Department is legally responsible; 
 

• A child being served in an open service case either by the 

Department or through a POS contract;   
 

• The subject of a pending child abuse or neglect investigation; 
 

• A child who was the subject of an abuse or neglect investigation at 

any time during the 12 months immediately preceding the child’s 

death;  
 

• A child whose death was reported to the SCR hotline as a result of 

alleged child abuse or neglect and if the report was indicated; or 
 

• Any sudden, unexplained, or unexpected child death. 
 

B) Child Death Review Team Attendance 

 

A Child Death Review Team may request that the Child Protection 

Specialist or Permanency Worker of the deceased child attend the death 

review meeting for that child.  Any DCFS or POS staff requested to attend 

the meeting is expected to attend promptly, having reviewed the entire file 

and be prepared to present the facts of the case and respond to any 

questions posed by the team members. 
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C) Reports to the Governor and the General Assembly 

 

The Department shall prepare individual death review reports and issue an 

annual cumulative report to the Governor and General Assembly 

incorporating the data, findings and recommendations from the individual 

reports. 

 

i) Child death review reports shall be completed no later than six 

months after the date of the death of the child.  Upon completion of 

each report the Department shall notify the President of the Senate, 

the Minority Leader of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of 

Representatives, the Minority Leader of the House of 

Representatives, and the members of the Senate and the House of 

Representatives in whose district the child’s death occurred.  

Reports shall address: 

 

• Cause of death; 

 

• Identification of child protection or child welfare services 

in the home, as well as any care or other assistance 

provided or actions taken on behalf of the child and his or 

her family, prior to the child’s death; 

 

• Extraordinary or pertinent information concerning the 

circumstances of the child’s death; 

 

• Actions or further investigation undertaken by the 

Department since the death of the child; and 

 

• Recommendations concerning child protection, child 

welfare, or prevention issues. 

 

ii) Reports shall not contain information identifying the name of the 

deceased child, his or her siblings, parents or other persons legally 

responsible for the child, or any other members of the child’s 

household. 

 

iii) Reports concerning the death of a child as well as the cumulative 

reports of the CDRT shall be made available to the public after 

completion or submittal. 

 

• The Department may honor a child-specific request for a 

report when the Department determines that disclosure of 

the information is not contrary to the best interest of the 

deceased child’s siblings or other children in the household. 
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• The Department shall not release or disclose to the public 

the substance or content of any psychological, psychiatric, 

therapeutic, clinical, or medical report pertaining to the 

deceased child or the child’s family, except as it may apply 

directly to the cause of the child’s death. 

 

iv) The Department may request and shall receive in a timely fashion 

from departments, boards, bureaus, or other agencies of the state, 

or any of its political subdivisions, or any duly authorized agency, 

or any other agency that provided assistance, care or services to the 

deceased child and/or the child’s family, any information they are 

authorized to provide to enable the Department to prepare its 

report. 

 

b) Child Abuse and Neglect in Child Care Facilities 

 

This section applies to child protection investigations in licensed, unlicensed and license-

exempt day care centers, day care homes/babysitters, foster homes, group homes, 

residential treatment centers and child care institutions (whether public or private) and 

youth emergency shelters.   

 

Note: Subsection 300.110 (d) provides specific procedures that must be followed for 

career entrants and child care workers.  Individuals who are employed in a child 

care facility should be considered to be a child care worker.  Foster parents are not 

child care workers, but foster parents who also hold a license for a day care home 

or other child care facility may be considered as child care workers. 

 

The conduct of investigations in out-of-home facilities, including schools (See 

Procedures 300.110 (c), Child Abuse and Neglect in Schools, for additional procedures 

regarding schools.), is unique because of the diversity and variety of each setting.  As in 

all investigations resulting from reports of suspected abuse or neglect, it is crucial for 

Child Protection Specialists to initiate in-person contact with alleged child victims as 

soon as possible. Workers in schools, shall collaborate with Child Protection Specialists 

in a manner consistent with the agreement between the Department and the Illinois State 

Board of Education (CANTS 101).  Therefore, Facility Reports must be conducted with 

sensitivity and a minimum of disruption to the facility and its program.  Wherever 

possible and appropriate, all interviews shall be conducted in a private room where 

confidentiality can be assured or away from the facility.  Whenever interviews must be 

conducted at the facility the timing of these interviews shall be coordinated with the 

facility administrator. 
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1) Taking and Initiating the Report  
 

When the alleged perpetrator or perpetrators of a report of suspected child abuse 

or neglect is identified as an employee or volunteer of a facility responsible for 

the child's welfare, the Call Floor Worker (CFW) shall code and complete the 

intake as a Facility Report. In every report, the name of the facility shall be the 

SCR Case Name. Proper documentation of the intake as a Facility Report notifies 

local Child Protection staff that special handling of the report is required.  Special 

handling of Facility Reports includes, but is not limited to:  
 

• When a caller’s information identifies multiple perpetrators of a Facility 

Report (day care centers, group homes and institutions and youth 

emergency shelters only), the CFW shall assign a separate sequence to the 

facility’s SCR number, for each alleged perpetrator and the child each 

perpetrator is alleged to have abused or neglected.  If during the course of 

an investigation of a Facility Report the Child Protection Specialist 

identifies additional perpetrators, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

contact SCR to have a sequence added to the facility’s SCR number for 

each additional perpetrator identified and the child each perpetrator is 

alleged to have abused or neglected.  This requirement sometimes 

necessitates listing children as alleged victims in more than one 

report.   

 

Note: Reports involving foster homes are an exception and may list 

multiple perpetrators in a single report sequence. 
 

• The Department investigates reports on youth between ages 18-22 living 

in a DCFS licensed residential facility, whether or not they are a ward.  To 

qualify as a report, the alleged perpetrator must be an employee or 

volunteer of the facility.  This type of facility report is processed in the 

same manner as facility reports for minors under age 18.    

 

• The Permanency Worker of each ward identified in a Facility Report as an 

alleged victim and/or perpetrator must be identified in the report narrative.    

 

2) Notification of Investigations Involving Child Care Facilities  
 

A) Law Enforcement  
 

Per the allegation, law enforcement notification is required.   

 

For reports in the City of Chicago only, the CFW shall notify the 

Chicago Police Department (CPD) Youth Division immediately after 

taking the report.  For all reports outside the City of Chicago, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall notify the appropriate law enforcement agency 

and local State’s Attorney within 24 hours of receipt of a report alleging 
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death of a child or the serious injury to a child including, but not limited 
to:  

 
 head injuries 
 skull fractures  
 subdural hematomas  
 second degree burns  
 internal injuries  
 torture of a child 
 malnutrition of a child 
 sexual abuse to a child 

 
When the Child Protection Specialist notifies a law enforcement agency of 
a report, he/she shall establish a time to meet with the assigned law 
enforcement officer to plan a cooperative investigation.  If the local law 
enforcement agency declines participation in a cooperative investigation, 
for any reason, the Child Protection Specialist shall send notification of 
the report by phone or fax to the Illinois State Police and request their 
participation in a cooperative investigation.  
 
Upon completion of verbal notification to law enforcement by the Child 
Protection Specialist, the Child Protection Supervisor must complete and 
fax the CANTS 14, Child Abuse Law Enforcement Notification to the law 
enforcement agency.  

 
B) Guardian Ad Litem 
 

If the alleged perpetrator or alleged victim is a DCFS ward, the Child 
Protection Specialist shall contact the minor’s guardian ad litem upon 
initiation of the investigation and when a recommended final finding has 
been determined.  

 
C) DCFS Licensing 
 

If the investigation is conducted at a facility that is licensed by the 
Department, such as a foster home, child care institution, day care center, 
residential treatment facility or group home, the Child Protection 
Specialist shall immediately notify the local DCFS Licensing 
Representative of the investigation.   

 
A concurrent licensing complaint investigation shall be performed for all 
Department and private agency foster homes, day care homes and all other 
licensed facilities named in reports of alleged incidents of abuse or 
neglect, as is required in Procedures 383.37, Additional Requirements 
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for Concurrent Investigations.  The Child Protection Specialist and 
Licensing Representative shall jointly plan their respective investigations 
and exchange investigative information weekly.  Child Protection and 
Licensing Representatives are not required to conduct investigative 
activities together, although such cooperation is encouraged. 
 

D) The Child Protection Specialist shall complete the CANTS 21 at the time 
the report is assigned.  Notification shall be distributed to all individuals 
outlined on the form, including but not limited to the Licensing 
Coordinator, Area Administrator, Regional Administrator and Caseworker 
of record.  

 
3) The Investigative Process  

 
A) Planning a Concurrent Investigation with Law Enforcement 

 
When a law enforcement officer conducts a concurrent investigation, the 
Child Protection Specialist shall contact the assigned law enforcement 
officer within 24 hours of receiving the report in order to develop a plan 
for a cooperative investigation.  In addition to the investigative 
requirements laid out in Procedures 300.50, T he Investigative Process 
and Appendix B, The Allegation System, the plan shall establish the 
mechanism for the sharing of information between the Department and 
law enforcement.   
 
The Investigation Supervisor shall document the investigative plan 
between DCFS and law enforcement in a contact note within 24 hours of 
establishing the plan. 

 
B) Investigative Activities for Facility Reports  

 
The following activities pertain specifically to Facility Reports and 
include, but are not limited to: 

 
• Contacting the Licensing Representative  to plan concurrent and 

cooperative investigative activities and to coordinate development 
and monitoring of protective plans as outlined in Procedure 
383.45; 

 
• Obtaining information from relevant Licensing staff about the 

facility, where appropriate;  
 

• Assessing the risk of harm to other potential victims (children who 
attend or reside in the facility but who have not been named as 
alleged victims); 
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• Notifying the director or designee of the facility of the report; 
 

• Taking appropriate action during the course of the investigation to 
restrict the alleged perpetrator from the facility premises and staff, 
and from contact with the children who attend or reside in the 
facility;   

 
• Requesting and obtaining all medical information and unit notes 

for the relevant time period, whenever a child is injured by alleged 
abuse or neglect at a residential facility;  

 
• Interviewing the child’s parents or guardians; and 

 
Note: When the child resides at home, an interview with the 

child's parents or guardians shall be conducted before 
interviewing the child whenever possible.  The Child 
Protection Specialist shall make every reasonable effort to 
notify the parent/guardian prior to interviewing the child.   

 
• Having contact and discussion with the assigned Intact or 

Permanency Worker. 
 

C) Contact with the Facility Director or Designee 
 

In accordance with the investigative plan at the onset of the investigation, 
the facility director or designee must be notified that an investigation is 
being conducted.  The name of the alleged perpetrator (if other than the 
facility director) can be disclosed and the facility director or designee shall 
be informed that they  should make a plan to immediately take steps to 
restrict the alleged perpetrator from contact with children and facility 
staff/premises, once the investigation has begun.  Guidelines concerning 
the development of protective plans in licensed facilities are located in 
Procedures 383.45, Protective Plan. If the facility director is the alleged 
perpetrator, the Child Protection Supervisor shall contact the appropriate 
Area Administrator or Licensing Administrator to seek guidance regarding 
the required notification.  The Child Protection Supervisor shall document 
the contact on a contact note.  Employment decisions, including whether 
to retain the employee or place the employee on a leave, shall be made 
solely by the employer/facility.  

 
D) To the Parents or Guardian (Non-DCFS Wards) 

 
When an alleged child victim does not live with a parent or guardian, the 
Child Protection Specialist shall notify the parent or guardian of each child 
in the report. Such notification shall be in the preferred language or 
communication method of the parent/guardian.  



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 
October 9, 2015 – PT 2015.23 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Procedures 300 Section 300.110 – (12) 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall provide the child's parent or guardian 
with the CANTS 8 Notification of a Report of Suspected Child Abuse 
and/or Neglect and the CFS 1050-54 What You Need to Know About a 
Child Abuse or Neglect Investigation brochure.   The Child Protection 
Specialist shall document in a case note that the parent/guardian was 
provided the CFS 1050-54 and CANTS 8.  A copy of the CANTS 8 shall 
be placed in the investigative file.  

 
E) Special Procedures for Department Wards 

 
Refer to subsection 300.160 (a)(3), Investigations Involving DCFS 
Wards, for special notification procedures that are required when a 
Department ward is the subject of a child abuse or neglect report while in 
placement. 

 
4) The Investigation 

 
A) Interviewing Child Victims Who are Department Wards 

 
Child Protection Specialists should always attempt to minimize the 
number of times a child victim is interviewed. Coordination with law 
enforcement and Child Advocacy Centers (CAC) is critical for ensuring 
that forensic interviews are conducted and to appropriately limit the 
number of times a child victim is interviewed.  

 
B) Assessing the Risk of Harm to Other Potential Victims 

 
If the initial interview with a ward who is an alleged child victim produces 
evidence to support a good faith report of abuse or neglect, or if the result 
of the initial interview is inconclusive, arrangements shall be made to 
interview other children in the facility with whom the alleged perpetrator 
has had contact. Each child shall be interviewed individually and in 
person in a neutral setting, whenever possible.   

 
Note: If the Child Protection Specialist determines the alleged perpetrator 

of a report is running an unlicensed daycare home, the safety of all 
children in the home must be assessed.  Those children determined 
to have been harmed or at risk should be added to the report as 
alleged victims. The Child Protection Specialist shall notify the 
Licensing Representative and law enforcement that additional 
child victims have been identified. 
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C) Removing Children from a Facility 
 

If in the course of an investigation, the Child Protection Specialist 
determines that remaining in a facility or home presents an imminent 
danger to any child, the Child Protection Specialist shall take protective 
custody of the child if the Department does not already have a legal 
relationship with the child and immediately remove him or her from the 
care of the home or facility. If the child is already a DCFS ward, the Child 
Protection Specialist and assigned caseworker shall immediately make 
arrangements to remove the child and place in an alternative setting, and 
when appropriate, a CFS 151-B notice of decision will be provided. The 
factors supporting the decision for removal shall be documented in a 
contact or supervisory note.   

 
In circumstances where DCFS already has custody or guardianship of a 
child, the decision whether to maintain or move a child for reasons other 
than imminent danger shall be made by the Permanency r Supervisor, in 
accordance with Procedures 301.60 (b)(3).  This decision shall be made 
only after receiving information and advice from the Child Protection 
Specialist, Licensing Administrator, or the child’s Permanency Worker.  
The facility or home shall then be given 14 days notice of the intent to 
move the child. 

 
D) Due Process Rights and Representation When Interviewing the Alleged 

Perpetrator 
 

While it is stipulated in Procedures 300.50 T he Investigative Process 
and in Appendix B, The Allegation System, that an alleged perpetrator 
be interviewed in-person and individually, such procedure does not 
preclude the presence of a Union or other representative during the 
interview.  Facility employees accused of child abuse or neglect shall be 
advised of their due process rights, of the steps in the investigative process 
and the right to have a supervisor, association or union representative 
and/or attorney present during interviews.  Such representation should be 
scheduled so as to not unreasonably delay the investigation or compromise 
the integrity of the investigation.  Licensee/employees shall be given up to 
four hours to have a union or other representative present and up to 24 
hours for an attorney.  In cases where an attorney will be brought to the 
interview, the interview should be scheduled to occur as soon as possible 
after an attorney is secured. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall ensure that if a representative is 
present during the perpetrator interview that confidentiality of case 
information is preserved.  The Child Protection Specialist shall require the 
representative to sign a CANTS 23, Acknowledgment of Nondisclosure 
of Information form.  If the representative refuses to sign the form, the 
Child Protection Specialist shall not disclose details about the 
investigation so long as the representative is present. 
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In every other respect, each alleged perpetrator shall be interviewed in 
accordance with established investigative practice.  Every alleged 
perpetrator shall be provided a copy of the CFS 1050-54 and CANTS 8 
and the letter shall be explained to the alleged perpetrator.  A copy of the 
completed CANTS 8 shall be placed in the hard copy of the investigative 
file. 

 
Due to potential employment and licensing concerns, Child Protection 
Specialists should attempt to make a recommended final finding 
determination within 14 days from the date of the report (see subsection 
(d) of this section). 
 
Note: If a DuPuy class member is removed from their position by 

suspension or reassignment or a facility is closed as a result of a 
pending investigation, efforts shall be made to prioritize and 
complete the investigation within 14 days.  The Child Protection 
Specialist and supervisor must document the reasons why reaching 
a final finding extends beyond 14 days.  

 
E) Development of a Protective Plan in a DCFS Licensed Facility 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall orally notify the licensee or facility 
administrator that a plan must be developed to ensure that the alleged 
perpetrator is restricted from contact with children in the facility during 
the course of the investigation.  For detailed information concerning 
protective plans see Procedures 383.45, Protective Plan. The CANTS 
21B, Notification of Initial Protective Action Plan -- Foster Homes and 
Day Care Homes, or CANTS 21C, Notification of Initial Protective 
Action Plan -- Day Care Centers, Child Care Institutions, Group 
Homes, Youth Emergency Shelters, Child Welfare Agencies and Day 
Care Agencies, shall be used to document in writing the provisions of the 
protective plan. The protective plan shall be developed jointly by the Child 
Protection Specialist and the Licensing Representative, when possible.  

 
i) Developing and Implementing a Protective Plan 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall make every effort to 
minimally disrupt out-of-home care, so long as the safety and 
emotional well-being of the alleged child victims are ensured.  
Protective plans should minimally disrupt the care setting while 
ensuring the safety and emotional well-being of the child.  The 
protective plan should be focused on limiting the alleged 
perpetrator’s contact with the children while maintaining the 
ability of the licensee to continue to operate.   
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The protective plan for restriction of contact may include, but is 
not limited to:   

 
• barring the alleged perpetrator  from the facility; 

 
• limiting the alleged perpetrator’s access to certain parts of 

the facility;  
 

• limiting the alleged perpetrator’s access to the home when 
children are present;  

 
• requiring the presence of another adult in the home to 

protect the children; and 
 

• removing the children unrelated to the licensee from the 
home. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist and/or Licensing staff shall 
document the plan in writing on a CANTS 21B and have the 
licensee sign and date the plan. The Child Protection Specialist 
will sign and date the plan and send a copy of the CANTS 21B to 
Licensing within 24 hours of the initial in-person contact with the 
licensee, if Licensing is not present when the protective plan is 
developed.  The Licensing Representative shall approve or 
disapprove the plan within 72 hours and notify the licensee of the 
decision.  

 
ii) Approval of the Protective Plan 

 
If the licensee does not agree with the protective plan, appropriate 
licensing enforcement action or temporary protective custody must 
be taken.  When the protective plan involves temporary closure of 
a day care home or center, the day care resource and referral 
agency will be notified and requested to provide assistance to those 
parents impacted by the protective plan. 

 
iii) Monitoring of the Protective Plan 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall be responsible for monitoring 
the protective plan until the Licensing Representative has been 
notified.  Upon notification, it is the responsibility of the Licensing 
Representative to establish a plan for ongoing monitoring of the 
provisions of the protective plan during the investigation.  The 
Child Protection Specialist and Licensing Representative shall 
remain in weekly contact regarding the investigation and protective 
plan.   
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F) When Additional Report Sequences are Required 
 

If interviews uncover additional alleged perpetrators, additional 
sequences of the pending report shall be filed with the SCR.  Each SOR 
has its own separate investigative time frames and final finding 
determinations.   
 
If information obtained during an investigation provides reasonable cause 
to believe that other children have been abused or neglected in the past, or 
are currently at risk of harm by a perpetrator for whom there is a pending 
investigation, the newly identified victim(s) shall be added to the pending 
investigation provided the harm is related to the same incident or set of 
circumstances.  If the newly identified victim(s) suffered harm or is at risk 
unrelated to the pending investigation, the newly identified victim shall be 
the subject of a SOR of the pending investigation.   
 
The notification of new reports that is made to the local law enforcement 
agency and/or the Illinois State Police, Division of Criminal Investigation, 
shall be handled as per subsection (b) (2) above.  The Child Protection 
Specialist shall also contact the parents of any additional victims added to 
the pending report or named in a SOR. 

 
G) Interviewing Facility Staff and Other Collaterals 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall interview facility staff or other 
collateral persons who are likely to have knowledge of the reported 
incident, the alleged child victim, the alleged perpetrator or any other 
information pertinent to the report. 

 
H) Obtain Medical Examinations if Necessary 

 
Medical examinations of children alleged to be abused or neglected can 
only be obtained with parental consent as long as the child remains in the 
parents' custody.  Parents shall be asked to sign consent forms for the 
release of information obtained through these medical examinations.  
Reports of the medical examinations and copies of parental consent shall 
be placed in the investigative hard file. 

 
If the parent refuses to consent to the examination and there is no 
imminent risk of harm to the child sufficient to justify temporary 
protective custody, the medical examination cannot be obtained.  
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I) Interviewing Other Children (Sexual Abuse Only) 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall contact a reasonable sample of the 
parents of children who attended or resided in the reported facility during 
the time of the alleged perpetrator's employment, but who no longer attend 
or reside in the facility.  If information obtained during the investigation 
reveals that the alleged perpetrator has had contact with other children 
(e.g., Boy Scouts, Big Brother/Big Sister, church groups, etc.), parents of 
those children shall be contacted and permission sought to interview their 
children.  If parental permission is granted, interviews with these children 
shall be used to establish whether any additional abuse or neglect is 
alleged. All additional abuse or neglect reports shall be reported to SCR. 

 
J) Notification of Findings 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall complete the CANTS 21A at the 
time the investigation is submitted for supervisory review.  Once the 
supervisor approves the investigation, the CANTS 21A should be sent to 
the Licensing Representative (licensed facilities only) and all others who 
received notification on the CANTS 21.  The following persons must be 
notified when there is an indicated final finding: 

 
• The appropriate Licensing Representative (licensed facilities only);  

 
• Permanency Workers for  any involved DCFS wards; 

 
• The Administrator of the facility; and  

 
• The guardian ad litem of any involved DCFS ward, per 

Procedures 300.160, Notifications. 
 

Note: Copies of indicated reports should be sent to only those persons 
who do not have computer access to the investigation. 

 
c) Child Abuse and Neglect in Schools 
 

1) Taking the Report 
 

When a report is taken by SCR and the alleged perpetrator is identified as a 
teacher or other school personnel (janitors, cooks, school bus drivers, school 
volunteers, etc.), the call floor worker shall enter the appropriate information in 
the facility tab. 
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If the report contains more than one alleged perpetrator, the Call Floor Worker 
(CFW) shall complete an SOR of the facility SCR number for each alleged 
perpetrator and respective child victim. This may necessitate listing some or all 
alleged child victims in more than one report. 

 
Note: Reports of abuse or neglect in a school can include victims who are adults 

between ages 18-22 residing in a DCFS licensed residential facility that 
attend school in a traditional setting or special education classes.   

 
In every case the name of the school shall take the place of the case name 
(e.g., Jefferson Elementary School). 
 

2) Notification of the Report 
 

Notification of Law Enforcement shall be in accordance with Procedures 300, 
Appendix B, as outlined in each allegation, and shall follow the same procedures 
as set forth in subsection 300.110(b), Child Abuse and Neglect in Child Care 
Facilities. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall make telephone notification to the 
appropriate school administrator and district school superintendent that an 
investigation is being commenced.  Oral notification shall be followed up with 
written notification in a CANTS 8 within 48 hours.  

 
3) The Investigation 

 
The same procedures as outlined in subsection 300.110(b) are to be followed for 
an investigation of alleged abuse in schools, except that there is no requirement 
that the alleged perpetrator be restricted from contact with children during the 
course of the investigation.  The investigation shall, to the extent possible, be 
conducted so as to minimize disruption of the school day.  
 
A) Reasonable Force 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall determine whether a teacher used 
reasonable force in accordance with rules established by the local board of 
education, as authorized by the School Code [105 ILCS 5], when an 
alleged incident of abuse occurs in the course of the teacher’s efforts to 
maintain safety for other students and use of force was necessary. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall request and review a copy of the 
rules governing reasonable force from the school’s administrator when 
making the determination. 
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B) Due Process and Right to Representation During the Interview of the 
Alleged Perpetrator 

 
School employees accused of child abuse or neglect shall be advised of 
their due process rights, of the steps in the investigative process and the 
right to have a supervisor, association or union representative and/or 
attorney present during interviews.  The employee shall be given up to 
four hours to arrange to have the union representative present and up to 24 
hours for an attorney.  The Child Protection Specialist shall ensure that if a 
representative is present during the perpetrator interview that 
confidentiality of case information is preserved.   
 
The Child Protection Specialist shall require the representative to sign a 
CANTS 23, A cknowledgment of Nondisclosure of Information form 
prior to the interview.  If the representative refuses to sign the form the 
Child Protection Specialist shall not disclose details about the 
investigation so long as the representative is present.   

 
C) Redacted Copy of Investigative File 

 
Prior to a recommended final finding determination to indicate a report, 
the school employee shall be provided a redacted copy of the investigative 
file and any other materials or evidence subsequently obtained by the 
Department, in accordance with Procedures 431.40, Release of Client 
Record Information to Persons or Entities with Appropriate Writen 
or Oral Request.  The employee shall also be given an opportunity to 
request an informal conference at which the employee may present 
additional evidence. 

 
4) Informal Conference 

 
An informal conference may be scheduled at the request of the school employee 
after the employee has received a redacted copy of the investigative file.  Unless 
otherwise requested by the school employee, the conference will be scheduled 
after school hours in a neutral setting away from the school grounds. 

 
No such conference shall be allowed when there is a criminal investigation 
pending and the Department has been advised by law enforcement authorities or 
the State’s Attorney not to allow a face-to-face confrontation between the accused 
and the accuser. 
 
A) Presentation of Additional Evidence 

 
When the purpose of the informal conference is to present additional 
evidence, the school employee, his or her representative and Department 
representatives, including the Child Protection Specialist, must be present. 
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B) Confrontation of Accuser 

 
The accuser is the person who made the allegation of abuse or neglect and 
may or may not be the reporter.  The Department shall not allow the 
school employee to confront an accuser who is under 14 years of age.  
With the permission of the child’s parent or guardian, the Department may 
permit the employee to confront a child that is 14 years of age or older, 
only after the Department has assessed any documented mental health 
and/or developmental issues the child may have and determined whether 
the confrontation would cause trauma to the child.  The Department shall 
ensure that information provided to the school employee is redacted and 
that confidential information is not released. 

 
Prior to the conference, the Department shall notify the child and the 
child’s parents or guardian in writing that they may decline to attend the 
conference, may refuse to answer any questions posed during the 
conference and that the child may be represented by an attorney or other 
person at the conference, in addition to the child’s parents or guardian.  
The Department is also required to provide the same information orally to 
the child and the child’s parents or guardian at the conference. A child or 
parent’s refusal to attend a conference or to answer questions shall not be 
considered as a factor to unfound a good faith report. 

 
In addition to the school employee, the employee’s representative and 
Department representatives, the following persons shall be notified of and 
allowed to attend the informal conference: 

 

i) The accuser, and the accuser’s parents or guardian, when the 
accuser is a minor who is age 14 or older;  

 

ii) A representative of a Child Advocacy Center, when involved in the 
case;  

 

iii) Representatives of the State’s Attorney’s Office or law 
enforcement agency in the county where the alleged incident 
occurred, when they are involved in the investigation and/or 
considering filing criminal charges in the case; and 

 

iv) Other persons identified by the school employee who have 
information relevant to the report.  These persons shall only have 
access to those portions of the conference that pertain to their 
testimony and shall be required to sign a CANTS 23, 
Acknowledgement of Non-Disclosure of Information. 
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C) The school employee shall be allowed five calendar days after the 
informal conference to present any additional evidence before a final 
finding determination of the report is made.  

 
D) The proceedings of informal conferences shall be confidential and no 

statement, summary, transcript, recording or other investigative product 
shall be released except on written order of the court, or in compliance 
with the confidentiality provisions of the Abused and Neglected Child 
Reporting Act. 

 
E) Additional evidence presented at the conference relevant to the final 

finding of the investigation shall be documented in a contact note. 
 

F) The school employee retains all appeal rights provided in the Abused and 
Neglected Child Reporting Act [325 ILCS 5/7.16] regardless of whether 
an informal conference is requested and held. 

 
5) Notification of Findings 

 
Upon completion of the investigation, the Child Protection Supervisor shall send a 
notification of the recommended final finding to the general superintendent of the 
school district or in the case of a private school, the administrator of the school.  

 
d) Child Abuse and Neglect Investigations Involving Career Entrants and Child Care 

Workers 
 

1) Definitions of Career Entrants and Child Care Workers 
 

“Career entrants” means persons actively engaged in the job placement process as 
a child care worker, a person currently enrolled in an academic program which 
leads to a position as a child care worker, or a person who has applied for a 
license required for a child care worker position.  A person shall qualify as a 
career entrant only if, at the time of notice of investigation, that person (1) has 
applied or will apply, within 180 days, for a position as a child care worker; (2) is 
enrolled in or will commence, within 180 days, an academic program which leads 
to a position as a child care worker; or (3) has applied for a license as a child care 
worker. 

 
“Child care workers” means those persons who work directly with children, or 
owners/operators of facilities regardless of whether the facility is licensed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services.  Types of facilities and persons that 
work with children include: 

 

• Child care institutions; 
 

• Child welfare agencies; 
 

• Day care/night care centers; 
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• Day care/night care homes; 
 

• Day care/night care group day care homes; 
 

• Group homes; 
 

• Hospitals or health care facilities; 
 

• School personnel, including school teachers or administrators (but not 
tenured public school teachers or administrators who have other processes 
available to them); and 

 

• Employees who work with children in before and after-school programs, 
recreational programs, summer camps, or as full-time nannies. 

 
Child care workers may also include persons employed in one of the above 
settings or persons seeking employment, enrolled in an academic program or 
applying for a license for a child care position who are alleged to be responsible 
for child abuse or neglect outside of their employment. If the investigation 
pertains to an alleged perpetrator’s personal life but the alleged perpetrator is 
employed as a child care worker in one of the above settings, the alleged 
perpetrator must request that the investigation be treated as an employment 
related investigation. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall not base child care worker status on whether 
the child care worker is represented by a union or whether the child care worker’s 
employment is the main source of income.  School employees, including school 
aides and bus drivers, shall be considered child care workers, unless they are 
tenured.  

 
Persons who work more than 15 hours a week in a child care position shall 
be considered to be child care workers.   
 

2) Determining Child Care Worker Status for Non-Facility Reports 
 

i) During the course of an investigation that is not coded as a Facility Report, 
should it become obvious to the Child Protection Specialist that the 
alleged perpetrator works in a facility or position where he/she has direct 
contact with children through the course of his/her work, the alleged 
perpetrator shall be considered a child care worker.   For example: Should 
the Child Protection Specialist interview an alleged perpetrator in a home 
setting and notice that the home has a state license or that the alleged 
perpetrator provides care for children, the Child Protection Specialist shall 
consider that person to be a child care worker.   

 
Child care licenses and owners and operators of child care facilities 
shall be treated as child care workers regardless of licensure and 
compliance with state law.   
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ii) A person may be investigated for alleged abuse and neglect of their 
biological children, but work in a position where they have direct contact 
with other children.  There are various ways to determine if a person 
works in a position in which they have direct contact with children and 
should be considered a child care worker.  Examples of how child care 
worker status is determined include, but shall not be limited to: 

 
• A Child Protection Specialist interviewing an alleged perpetrator in 

their home setting and observes other children present or objects 
present that would indicate the alleged perpetrator provides care 
for children in their home.  Where there are obvious signs that an 
individual cares for children in a home setting, the Child Protection 
Specialist should consider the alleged perpetrator to be a child care 
worker and continue the investigation as a DuPuy case.   

 
• A Child Protection Specialist may interview an alleged perpetrator 

who is alleged to have abused or neglected their biological children 
and who, during the course of the interview, states that they work 
at a day care center or other position where they have direct 
contact with children and that they want to be treated as a child 
care worker.  In such situations, the Child Protection Specialist 
shall document the perpetrator’s information in a contact note and 
continue the investigation as a DuPuy case.  The Child Protection 
Specialist should immediately contact the Child Care Worker 
Administrator to complete the documentation denoting the 
investigation as a DuPuy case. 

 
• A Child Protection Specialist may interview an alleged perpetrator 

who is alleged to have abused or neglected their biological children 
and during the course of the interview the alleged perpetrator states 
that they work in a position in which they have direct contact with 
children such as a day care center or other position where they 
have direct contact with children, but the alleged perpetrator does 
not specifically indicate they want to be treated as a child care 
worker. In such a situation, the Child Protection Specialist should 
ask the alleged perpetrator about his or her direct contact with 
children during the course of his employment for the specific 
purpose of determining whether the person is a child care worker 
and the investigation should be considered a DuPuy case.  
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3) Child Care Worker Alerts 
 
Appropriate Child Protection Specialists, Child Protection Supervisors and other 
designated staff shall receive an alert via Outlook within 24 hours of receipt of a 
report that may involve a career entrant or child care worker.  The alert will direct 
the Child Protection Specialist to determine if the alleged perpetrator is a career 
entrant or child care worker during his or her initial contact with the person and 
respond with his or finding.  The Child Protection Specialist must also document 
his or her findings and all attempts to make a finding in a case note.  The e-mail 
alerts will continue until the Child Protection Specialist makes a determination. 

 
Note: Questions concerning a person’s career entrant or child care worker 

eligibility shall be referred to the Office of Legal Service’s Regional 
Counsel.  Child Protection staff shall maintain attorney/client 
confidentiality when documenting Regional Counsel contacts in a contact 
note. 

 
4) Notification of Administrator’s Teleconference and Expedited Administrative 

Appeal for Child Care Workers 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall provide the alleged perpetrator the CFS 
1050-54 and CANTS 8 at the time of the initial interview and explain the 
information contained on the documents.  The Child Protection Specialist shall 
also explain that persons who are actively engaged in the job seeking process for a 
child care position, currently enrolled or soon to be enrolled in an academic 
program which leads to a position as a child care worker, or a current applicant 
for a license for a child care worker position and persons investigated in their 
personal life whose employment or license may be affected by an indicated 
finding, should identify themselves to the Child Protection Specialist.  Persons 
identified as career entrants or child care workers shall be provided the following 
information: 

 
A) Administrator’s Teleconference 

 
The one hour Administrator’s Teleconference provides the alleged 
perpetrator the opportunity to present documentary evidence or other 
information that supports his or her position and to provide information to 
assist the Department in making the most accurate decision regarding the 
allegations of child abuse and/or neglect.  

 
All evidence that has been gathered during a child abuse and neglect 
investigation shall be documented in the Investigative Summary form. 
 
Note: The Administrator’s Teleconference is not a hearing; therefore the 

alleged perpetrator cannot present the testimony of witnesses.  
However, the alleged perpetrator can provide other information 
and documentary evidence. 
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B) Expedited Administrative Appeal 
 

In the event that the allegation of child abuse and/or neglect is indicated, 
an Expedited Administrative Appeal provides the child care worker with a 
final administrative decision within 35 days of the receipt of his or her 
request for an appeal, absent any continuances requested by the child care 
worker.  The 35 day time period excludes any time attributable to an 
appellant’s request for a continuance or to any continuance or date set by 
the agreement of the parties.  An appellant must specifically request an 
expedited appeal in writing at the time of the initial request filed with the 
Administrative Hearings Unit (AHU). Any written request for an appeal 
that is received by the AHU that does not expressly request an expedited 
appeal will automatically be treated as a regular appeal. 

 
If the career entrant or child care worker appeals the indicated final 
finding, but does not request and expedited appeal, the requirements and 
stipulations of Rule 336, Appeal of Child Abuse and Neglect Findings 
apply. 
 
Alleged perpetrators named in reports of abuse or neglect that are 
unrelated to their child care employment may choose to participate in the 
expedited process by informing the investigator that they would like the 
investigation treated as an employment-related investigation subject to the 
procedures of this subsection.   
 

C) Regular Appeals 
 

If the appellant does not request an expedited appeal, but does appeal the 
indicated finding, he or she is entitled to have a final administrative 
decision within 90 days after the date of receipt of the appeal. The 90 day 
time period excludes any time attributable to an appellant’s request for a 
continuance or to any continuance or date set by the agreement of the 
parties.  Any written request for an appeal that is received by the AHU 
that does not expressly request an expedted appeal will automatically be 
treated as a regular appeal. 

 
5) Administrator’s Teleconference Procedures 

 
After the Child Protection Specialist has gathered all of the evidence, and made a 
recommended final finding to indicate the investigation, the Child Protection 
Supervisor and Area Administrator shall review the investigative file.  If the 
supervisor and administrator concur with the Child Protection Specialist’s 
recommendation to indicate, the child care worker shall be contacted to schedule 
an Administrator’s Teleconference. 
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A) Documentation for the Administrator’s Teleconference 
 

The teleconference date, time and contact information shall be entered on 
the CANTS 9, N otification of Intent to Indicate Child Care Worker 
for Report of Child Abuse and/or Neglect.  The Child Protection 
Specialist shall enter into the notification information regarding the 
children reported to be abused and/or neglected; the location where the 
reported abuse and/or neglected is alleged to have occurred; a description 
of the allegation that the Department intends to find the alleged perpetrator 
responsible for, including the name of the allegation and the allegation 
number; and the number of years that the report to be indicated will be 
retained in the State Central Register. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall print the Investigative Summary and 
redact all portions of the summary identifying the reporter, source, other 
persons with information, protective custody section and the report 
narrative.  The reporter’s information MUST be redacted from the 
Contact Information section. 

 
Note: In the event the alleged perpetrator does not call into the 

Administrator’s Teleconference at the scheduled time, the 
Administrative Case Convener shall wait a minimum of one-half 
hour for the alleged perpetrator and/or representative to call.  After 
waiting one-half hour, the Administrative Case Convener shall 
review the investigation and make a final determination to either 
indicate or unfound or return the case for further investigation. 

 
B) Meeting with the Alleged Perpetrator  

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall meet in person with the alleged 
perpetrator and provide him/her a copy of the CANTS 9, CANTS 10, 
Notification of Intent to Indicate Child Care Worker for Report of 
Child Abuse and/or Neglect and the redacted Investigative Summary.  
The Child Protection Specialist shall complete the final page of the 
CANTS 9 by including the SCR number and ask the alleged perpetrator to 
sign the acknowledgement of receipt.  If the alleged perpetrator refuses to 
sign the acknowledgment of receipt of the documents on the CANTS 9 
form, the Child Protection Specialist shall note that on the 
acknowledgement form and in a case note.  The Child Protection 
Specialist shall review the information concerning the Administrator’s 
Teleconference and expedited appeal process with the alleged perpetrator.  

 
It is important that the Investigative Summary provided to the alleged 
perpetrator in advance of the Administrator’s Teleconference contains a 
full and detailed explanation of the information and evidence that has been 
gathered and provides a rationale for why the case is recommended to be 
indicated.  Documentation listed in the Investigative Summary shall 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 
October 9, 2015 – PT 2015.23 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 
Procedures 300 Section 300.110 – (27) 

include all of the evidence that has been gathered during the investigation 
that suggests that the perpetrator is responsible for the alleged abuse or 
neglect and/or the evidence that suggests an incident did not occur or that 
the alleged perpetrator is not responsible. 

 
If the Child Protection Specialist has made two unsuccessful attempts to 
meet with the alleged perpetrator in person, the Child Protection Specialist 
shall obtain a new date for the Administrator’s Teleconference and send 
the completed CANTS 9, CANTS 10 and the redacted Investigation 
Summary via certified mail to the alleged perpetrator.  The Child 
Protection Specialist shall use a case note to document all attempts to meet 
with the alleged perpetrator.   

 
C) The Role of the Administrative Conference Convener 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall forward any hard copy documents to 
the Administrative Conference Convener (ACC), in advance of the 
scheduled Administrator’s Teleconference.  Child Protection staff is 
encouraged to attend the Administrator’s Teleconference. 

 
The ACC shall convene the teleconference at the scheduled date and time.  
If the alleged perpetrator fails to attend the teleconference at the scheduled 
time, the ACC shall extend the start of the teleconference a minimum of 
one-half hour.  The ACC is no longer required to convene the 
teleconference if the alleged perpetrator fails to attend during the extended 
time frame, but shall review the investigative file and make a final finding 
determination.  The ACC has the authority to indicate, unfound or send the 
case back for further investigation.   

 
The ACC retains the authority to make a final decision in the case if the 
case is returned for further investigation.  If the ACC sends the case back 
for further investigation, he/she shall provide the Child Protection 
Specialist with instructions regarding further investigatory steps to be 
taken and provide due dates for the additional steps to be completed.  The 
ACC shall reconvene the Administrator’s Teleconference within seven 
days from the completion of the investigation for additional review.  The 
reconvened Administrator’s Teleconference shall not be rescheduled 
except for extraordinary circumstances.   

 
D) CANTS 11 

 
If a recommended final finding is determined after the Administrator’s 
Teleconference, the Child Protection Specialist shall confirm the date of 
the final finding letter sent from SCR and complete the CANTS 11 form 
using that date.  The Child Protection Specialist shall mail the CANTS 11 
form to the perpetrator. 
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e) Investigations Involving Clergy and Religious Groups or Organizations 
 

1) Restricting the Alleged Perpetrator’s Contact with Children 
 

When a report of suspected child abuse or neglect involves a member of the 
clergy, or any other person employed or actively involved within a religious 
organization, the Child Protection Specialist must determine if the alleged 
perpetrator has access to or contact with children as a part of their employment or 
involvement.  If yes, the Child Protection Specialist must notify the appropriate 
religious official or hierarchical authority within the religious institution of the 
investigation.  The Child Protection Specialist shall develop a plan with the 
authority of that organization, and the alleged perpetrator, to restrict the alleged 
perpetrator’s contact with the children identified during the course of the 
investigation. 

 
The Child Protection Supervisor shall send written notification of the final finding 
to the religious institution or religious official or hierarchical authority over the 
alleged perpetrator, when: 

 
• Contact has been made with the religious institution or religious official or 

hierarchical authority during the course of the investigation; and 
 

• The abuse allegation has been unfounded or indicated. 
 

The Child Protection Supervisor shall also provide written documentation of this 
notification to the alleged perpetrator. 

 
2) Identification of Religious Authorities  

 
Directory information regarding religious organizations may be obtained from 
local telephone directories, local community organization directories, or the Any 
Who Online Directory found on the D-net resource links.  The online directory 
allows geographical searches for names, addresses, and telephone numbers. 

 
f) Investigations Involving DCFS Employees 
 

1) Taking a Report on Department Employees Acting in Their Official Capacity 
 

When a child abuse or neglect report is received alleging abuse or neglect of a 
child by any Department  employee acting in their official capacity, the SCR Call 
Floor Supervisor on duty shall immediately verbally notify the  SCR 
Administrator in Springfield, and the Deputy of Child Protection or designee, who 
will assign the investigation. 
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2) Assigning and Investigating Reports Involving DCFS Employees  
 

These procedures apply to reports involving DCFS employees regardless of 
whether they are acting in their official capacity or outside of their official 
capacity. 

 
A) The SCR Administrator or designee shall be notified immediately when 

staff receive a report concerning a DCFS employee.  The SCR 
Administrator or designee is to instruct all staff aware of the report that the 
investigation is confidential and that the unlawful release of confidential 
information is a Class A misdemeanor.  If information is released 
unlawfully, the person who released the information is subject to criminal 
action pursuant to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act [325 
ILCS 5/11].   

 
B) The SCR Administrator shall notify the Office of Employee Licensure if 

the involved employee is licensed as a direct services employee and the 
reporter makes that identification at the time of the Intake.  If the subject is 
identified as an employee during the course of the investigation, field staff 
will notify the Office of Employee Licensure.   

 
C) All reports involving Department employees will be assigned to a Child 

Protection Specialist outside the employee’s work address and residence, 
if necessary.  If a report is generated by the SCR, the SCR Administrator 
or designee will contact the Deputy of Child Protection or designee, who 
will make the investigation assignment, and notify the appropriate 
Regional Administrator.  The Regional Administrator or shall ensure that 
a thorough investigation is conducted.  If an employee report becomes 
known to field staff after assignment, the Area Administrator or his/her 
designee shall be informed of the situation and reassign the report, as 
needed. 

 
D) The Child Protection Supervisor or Area Administrator of assignment 

shall contact the SCR Administrator to arrange for confidential handling 
of all information about the report.  This handling of information may 
include but is not limited to: 

 
• Confidential mailing of all documents to and from SCR; 

 
Note: All such mailings are to be in envelopes to 

administrative/supervisory staff, as directed, and clearly 
marked Confidential. 

 
• Securing the file both at SCR and at the local office.  In the local 

office, the investigative file should be maintained in a location 
with limited, controlled access; 
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• The employee's name shall be entered as the perpetrator upon 
request from the employee to have the unfounded report held on 
file as intentionally false; 

 

• Information regarding indicated reports involving DCFS 
employees may only be released in accordance with Procedures 
431, Confidentiality of Personal Information of Persons Served 
by the Department.  When an inquiry is received about a DCFS 
employee and the investigation has not been completed, staff shall 
consult with their supervisor prior to releasing such information; 
and 

 

• Removing the name of the reporter from the SCR database and 
ensuring the confidentiality of the reporter. 

 
E) SCR staff shall file an Unusual Incident Report, CFS 119, as required by 

Procedures 331, Unusual Incidents Involving Department Clients, 
Employees and Facilities, when a report involves death or SACY child., 
Child Protection staff shall file the CFS 119 when: 

 

• A report involves physical or sexual abuse and   notification of 
external agencies (state's attorney, local law enforcement agency) 
is required; 

 

• A report alleges unprofessional conduct or incidents of misconduct 
involving violations of the Illinois Criminal Code; 

 

• A report has prompted or is likely to prompt inquiries from the 
media; 

 

• The report involves a Department facility or Department 
employees acting in their official or personal capacity; or  

 

• The Department has been contacted by the media about a report 
when the alleged perpetrator of the report is an employee of the 
Department. 

 
F) When a report involves Department employees, whether acting in a 

personal or official capacity, Child Protection staff shall inform the 
employee's supervisor or administrator that a report has been taken.  The 
employee shall be restricted from contact with children during the 
investigation process in accordance with state law and, where appropriate, 
the provisions of the collective bargaining agreement. 

 

Note: Whether the alleged perpetrator is a Department or POS employee, 
subject to CWEL licensure, the CWEL Division shall be notified 
and the Child Protection Specialist shall verbally notify the 
employee that he or she must notify his or her immediate 
supervisor of the pending investigation.  The notification shall be 
documented in a contact note. 
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G) The investigative hard file shall be retained within the office where the 

investigation was originally assigned.  The investigative file shall be filed 
separately from other investigative files and shall be kept by the Area 
Administrator.  Access by staff to any records or files of an investigation 
involving a Department employee shall be restricted.  

 

Note: SCR hard copy files shall be filed separately from other SCR files.  
The SCR Administrator or designee will be responsible for the 
confidentiality of these records. 

 
3) Investigations Involving Other State Facilities or Other State Employees 

 
A) Notification of the State Police 

 
When a report alleges abuse or neglect that results in physical injury to a 
child within a state facility by a state employee acting in his or her official 
capacity, the Child Protection Specialist shall notify the Illinois State 
Police (ISP), Division of Internal Investigation and make a plan for 
conducting a concurrent investigation.  If the investigation is delegated 
completely to the Illinois State Police, ISP shall inform the Child 
Protection Specialist of their findings in order for a final finding to be 
determined within the established time frames. 

 
B) Follow Requirements of Inter-Agency Agreements 

 
The Department has entered into inter-agency agreements that require 
Child Protection staff to notify other state agencies when a child abuse or 
neglect report involves their agency or agency staff. However, Child 
Protection Specialist staff shall not give another state agency (except for 
the Illinois State Police) information about the reporter or others who 
cooperate in the investigation. 

 
g) Incidents Involving Sexually Aggressive Wards 
 

1) Making the Report 
 

When an employee of the Department or of a private agency that contracts with 
the Department suspects that a ward is alleged to have committed sexually 
aggressive behavior, as defined below, the employee shall report their information 
to the SCR.  

 
"Sexually aggressive behavior" means sexual activity between two or more 
children that includes one or more of the children having power or influence over 
the other child or children. Such power or influence may be due to age, size, 
having a position of influence, physical and/or mental capacity or other factors.    
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Sexual aggression involves sexual activities such as fondling, frottage (bumping, 
touching, or rubbing against others for sexual satisfaction), exploitation and 
penetration and may involve use of aggression, force, coercion or exploitation. 
This type of aggression may or may not cause visible evidence or physical injury.   

 
The Call Floor Worker should describe the following in the report narrative:  

 
A) The sexual behavior prompting the report; 

 
B) The time of day, location of incident, number of incidents, identification 

of any objects used, as well as any other related specific pertaining  to the 
reported behavior;  

 
C) The social context in which the behavior occurred, such as who was 

present, what relationships were involved, what other activities were going 
on when the abuse occurred; 

 
D) The problematic or aggressive aspects of the behavior; and 

 
E) The caregiver’s supervision plan and/or information identifying the lack of 

adequate supervision of the child. 
 

2) Developing a Protective Plan 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall cooperate with the Permanency Worker of 
the sexually problematic or aggressive ward, as the Permanency Worker has 
responsibility to ensure that a protective plan is developed in accordance with 
Procedures 302, Subpart B, and Section 302.240, Reports Involving Sexually 
Problematic or Sexually Aggressive Wards.  Once the investigation has been 
completed, the continuance or modification of the protective plan shall be the 
responsibility of the Permanency Worker.    

 
h) Reports of Medical Neglect of Disabled Infants 
 

1) Definitions and Requirements for a Report of the Medical Neglect of a Disabled 
Infant 

 
"Disabled infant" means an infant less than one year of age who has a physical or 
mental impairment, that substantially limits one or more major life activities, that 
is expected to result in death, or that can be expected to last for a continuous 
period of not less than twelve months.  Disabled infants who have been 
hospitalized continuously since birth, infants who were born extremely premature, 
or infants who have a long-term disability are included in this definition. 
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“Medical neglect of a disabled infant” means the withholding of appropriate 
nutrition, hydration, medication or other medically indicated treatment from a 
disabled infant with a life-threatening condition.  Medically indicated 
treatment includes medical care that is most likely to relieve or correct all life-
threatening conditions, and evaluations or consultations necessary to assure that 
sufficient information have been gathered to make informed medical decisions.  
Nutrition, hydration and medication, as appropriate for the infant’s needs, are 
medically indicated for all disabled infants.  

 
Allegation #85, Medical Neglect of Disabled Infants, is separated from general 
reports of Allegation #79, Medical Neglect by the following criteria: 

 

• The infant must be disabled; 
 

• The condition must be life-threatening; and 
 

• The parents or  caregivers or other person responsible for the child's 
welfare have failed to ensure that the infant receives nutrition, hydration, 
medication, or other medically indicated treatment, including independent 
consultations and evaluations. 

 
2) Reports of Medical Neglect of Disabled Infants and the DCFS Regional Nurse 

 
Reports of medical neglect of disabled newborns and infants under one year of 
age must be referred by the Child Protection Specialist to the DCFS regional 
nurse within 48 hours after case assignment.  To refer a child for nursing 
consultation services, complete the CFS 531, DCFS Regional Nurse Referral 
Form and e-mail the completed form to “nurseref”.  

 
If the situation is an emergency, the DCFS regional nurse must be notified of the 
report via telephone.  Emergency referrals may be made after business hours 
and on weekends by contacting the Chief of Nursing Services (312-718-6657). 
The Child Protection Specialist shall provide the nurse with copies of any medical 
records, reports or recommendations about the involved infant. The nurse shall 
advise the Child Protection Specialist if the infant needs to be taken into 
protective custody due to medical concerns that place the child in real, significant 
and imminent danger. When the Department has assumed legal responsibility for 
the disabled infant, the nurse is responsible for securing treatments and 
evaluations and shall refer the child to a perinatal center to obtain specialized care 
or an independent evaluation, as needed.  Staff should refer to Procedures 300, 
Appendix C for a list of perinatal centers.  

 
The nurse shall provide professional judgment whether there is evidence of 
medical neglect for a report involving a disabled newborn or infant less than one 
year of age.  However, the Child Protection Specialist is responsible for making a 
recommended final finding based upon the nurse’s judgment and the 
inculpatory/exculpatory evidence gathered.   
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i) Children with Special Health Care Needs  
 

For Department purposes, children with special health care needs are children who have a 
chronic physical, developmental or behavioral condition and who also require health and 
related services of a type or amount beyond that normally required by children.  
Examples include, but are not limited to:  

 
• Children who are dependent on a medical device to sustain life (e.g., 

tracheostomy, gastrostomy, ventilator dependent); 
 

• Children with health conditions requiring medical supervision and/or intervention 
to prevent and/or treat illness or improve functional and developmental 
impairment; or  

 
• Children with conditions requiring home health nursing care. 

 
When an alleged child victim of a report of medical neglect is identified by the Child 
Protection Specialist as having or possibly having special health care needs or a child 
with special health care needs is living in the home of an alleged perpetrator, the Child 
Protection Specialist must refer the child for nursing consultation services no later 
than 48 hours after case assignment.  To refer a child for nursing consultation services, 
complete the CFS 531, DCFS Regional Nurse Referral Form and e-mail the completed 
form to “nurseref”.  

 
Note: A child with special health care needs living in the home of an alleged 

perpetrator, but not named as a victim in the pending investigation, should be 
seen, assessed and, when appropriate, added to the pending investigation as an 
alleged victim.  

 
Emergency referrals for nursing consultation services involving children with special 
health care needs include protective custody situations, as well as any emergency 
situation involving a child that the Child Protection Specialist suspects may have unmet 
health care needs. Emergency referrals may be made in the same way as non-emergency 
referrals during business hours by checking Emergency in the Reason for Referral section 
of the CFS 531. Emergency referrals may be made after business hours and on 
weekends by contacting the Chief of Nursing Services (312-718-6657).  

 
The Chief of Nursing Services has the sole authority to evaluate referrals and authorize 
nursing consultation services.  Written or verbal notification authorizing or denying 
nursing consultation services for an emergency referral shall be provided to the 
referring Child Protection Specialist within 12 hours after receipt of the referral by the 
Chief of Nursing Services.  For all non-emergency referrals, notification shall occur 
within five days of receipt of the referral by the Chief of Nursing Services. 
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Section 300.120  Taking Children into Protective Custody 

a) Who May Take Protective Custody 

Authorized Department staff, law enforcement and treating physicians are empowered to 

take temporary protective custody under the authority of the Abused and Neglected Child 

Reporting Act (ANCRA) [325 ILCS 5/5].  Law enforcement officers have much broader 

powers of custody under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 [705 ILCS 405/205]. 
 

b) When Protective Custody Can Be Taken 

 
1) Legal Requirements To Consider When Determining Whether to Take Protective 

Custody 

 
Before taking protective custody, the Child Protection Specialist must have reason 

to believe that: 

 
A) Urgent and immediate necessity to remove the child from the home exists;  

 

B) Reasonable efforts have been made or no reasonable efforts can be made 

to prevent or eliminate the necessity of removal of the minor from his or 

her home (705 ILCS 40512-10); and  

 
C) There is insufficient time to obtain a juvenile court order under the Juvenile 

Court Act authorizing protective custody. 

 
2) Safety Plans 

 
A) The Child Protective Specialist may determine/assess whether a safety 

plan can protect the alleged child victim.  In such circumstances, the Child 

Protective Specialist may choose to develop a safety plan with the 

custodial caregiver(s) in lieu of taking protective custody. 
 

B) All safety plans must be developed and monitored in accordance with the 

requirements of Procedures 300, Appendix G, Child Endangerment 

Risk Assessment Protocol. 

 

C) When a parent or safety plan monitor fails to comply with the safety plan, 

the Child Protective Specialist must make an immediate re-assessment of 

the safety of the child(ren).  In many cases, the violation of a safety plan 

should warrant protective custody.  The supervisor and Area Administrator 

shall immediately be alerted to any violations of a safety plan. 
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3) Evaluating Services 
 

The Child Protection Specialist contemplating taking a child into protective 

custody (PC) must evaluate the services available to the family.  If the family has 

an open service case with the Department (e.g., Intact Family, independent living, 

residential, etc.), the Child Protection Specialist must also consider the degree of 

parental cooperation with services and the extent to which the provided services 

address the current allegation. 
 

Before the Child Protection Specialist considers taking the child into protective 

custody, the Child Protection Specialist and the Child Protection Supervisor must 

consult with the in-home provider(s) and their supervisors and conclude that in-

home services would not protect the child from real and significant harm.  The 

Child Protection Supervisor must document the consultation in a supervisory note; 

the Child Protection Specialist shall document the consultation in a contact note. 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall consider offering services to the family 

that include, but are not limited to: 

 
• Assistance in locating and securing housing; 

 
• Cash assistance; 

 
• Food, clothing, furniture and other goods and services; 

 
• Child care; 

 
• Emergency caretakers; 

 
• Advocacy with public and community agencies that provide social services; 

 
• Homemaker services; and/or 

 
• Referral to DHS, including the Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) program. 

  



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

September 9, 2022 – PT 2022.07 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.120 – (3) 

 
4) Documenting the Reasons for Protective Custody 

 
If the Child Protection Specialist determines that protective custody should be 

taken, the Child Protection Specialist shall document the following in a contact 

note: 

 
• the reasons for removing the child; 

 
• the reasons why services that were offered or rendered were not successful 

in preventing placement; or if services were not offered, why such 

services would not be successful in preventing placement; and 

 
• the supervisory consultation of the decision to take protective 

custody. 

 
Note: The Supervisory consultation of the decision to take protective 

custody should also be documented by the supervisor on a supervisory 

note 

 
Note: The Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor 

should not base their decision to take protective custody or recommend 

a final finding determination based on whether non-Department 

professionals did or did not take protective custody of the involved 

children. 

 
c) When Absence of the Parent is a Factor in the Decision to Take Protective Custody 

 
When the absence of a parent is a factor in determining to take PC, the Child Protection 

Specialist or Permanency Worker shall, after ensuring the safety of the child, make 

reasonable attempts to locate the absent parent.  Such efforts shall be in accordance with 

Administrative Procedure #22, Diligent Search. 

 
d) Protective Custody When Poverty is a Factor 

 
The Department shall make reasonable efforts to prevent the removal of any child because 

of the family’s living conditions, inability to provide for their child’s subsistence needs 

(e.g., lack of income, shelter, utility services, food, clothing, furniture) or any other safety 

concern with respect to the family’s physical environment that the Department has 

considered in the decision to remove the child. 

 
Reasonable efforts to prevent the removal of the child when poverty is a factor include 

providing assistance, as noted in (b)(2) of this section, in locating and securing temporary 

shelter, permanent housing, cash assistance, food, clothing, child care, emergency 

caretakers or advocacy with public and community agencies providing such services. 
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The Department shall serve those DCFS-referred families who have been certified as 

members of the Norman class and for whom housing services are appropriate, as 

confirmed by the Norman Liaison or designee. 

 
1) Certification of Norman Class Members 

 
When Child Protection Specialists and Child Protection Supervisors identify 

families who are subjects of pending or indicated child abuse and neglect reports 

in which the family is at risk of having a child taken into custody due to one or 

more of the allegations listed below, the Child Protection Specialist shall complete 

the Norman Certification questions in the investigation decisions tab and submit 

it to the Child Protection Supervisor.  It is the Child Protection Supervisor’s 

responsibility to approve and certify the case as a member of the Norman class. 
 

#76, Inadequate Food 
 

#77, Inadequate Shelter 
 

#78, Inadequate Clothing 
 

#82, Environmental Neglect 

 
2) Notice of Class Membership 

 
Following Norman certification, a CFS 370-4, Notice to Class Members, shall 

be sent to the family informing the family of the Department's policy.  The notice 

also informs the family of the available services, their right to request services and 

how to appeal the Department's decision. 
 

3) Accessing Housing, Cash Assistance or Other Hard Services 

 
When a Child Protection Specialist determines that the provision of housing 

advocacy, cash assistance or other hard services (e.g., food, clothing, furniture) 

will decrease the risk of  putting a child into placement and that the services 

required by the family can only be provided through Norman housing advocacy or 

cash assistance, the Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor 

shall complete the CFS 370-5, Request for Cash Assistance and/or Housing 

Advocacy and forward the request to an authorized Department supervisor or 

Norman Program Coordinator for approval.  If the request is approved, the 

Coordinator will fax the CFS 370-5 to the appropriate housing advocacy provider. 

 
A) Housing Advocacy 

 
Housing advocacy providers are community-based organizations located 

throughout the state that the Department has contracted with to provide 

services to Norman class members.  The services that Housing Advocacy 

providers should be expected to offer include: 
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i) When needed, a referral to an emergency or domestic violence 

shelter will allow a parent to stay together with the children, 

especially in situations where the parent is fleeing a domestic 

violence situation; 

 
ii) Assistance in securing affordable housing that may include 

providing the family: 
 

• Consumer education on how to locate suitable housing; 
 

• Current listings of known housing vacancies or 

assistance in identifying vacant units; 
 

• Help in applying for housing, including subsidized housing; 
 

• Help with transportation to obtain housing or shelter, 

when necessary; and 
 

• Help when negotiating with a landlord. 
 

iii) Assistance in applying for income assistance to meet initial or 

ongoing rental obligations; 
 

iv) Linkages to community resources to meet subsistence needs such 

as food, clothing, or utilities assistance; and 
 

v) Follow-up with the family to identify housing concerns before they 

reach the crisis stage. 
 

B) Cash Assistance 

 

Information concerning the purpose, amount and type of cash assistance 

needed by the family must be included on the CFS 370-5 submitted to an 

authorized Department supervisor or DCFS Norman Program Coordinator 

for approval. Information concerning payment instructions for Norman 

services is located in Procedures 359.57, Payment for Norman Services. 

 
i) Amount of Cash Assistance 

 
Depending on need, an authorized DCFS supervisor may approve a 

total of $800 in cash assistance during a 12-month period to a 

family that is certified as a member of the Norman class.  These 

funds may be provided in addition to DHS funds, other Department 

cash funds or funds provided by local community resources. The 

total amount of the cash assistance approved for the family may be 

disbursed to the family in a single payment or multiple payments 

over a 12-month period. 
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When a family’s need exceeds $800, a DCFS Norman Liaison may 

approve cash assistance requests up to $1,200. A DCFS Regional 

Norman Liaison may approve requests up to $2,000. The Norman 

Program Coordinator or designee may approve requests up to 

$2,400. The Deputy of Placement and Community Services or 

designee’s approval is required for any request over $2,400. 

 
ii) Appropriate Use of Norman Cash Assistance 

 
Norman cash assistance provided to Norman-certified families may 

be used by the family to purchase services or goods that will 

decrease the risk of placement of their children or remove barriers 

preventing the return home of their children. 

 
The Child Protection Supervisor should direct questions concerning 

the appropriateness of an item to be purchased with Norman cash 

assistance to the Regional Norman Liaison.  An authorized DCFS 

supervisor can approve cash assistance for any of the following 

items, when appropriate to the needs of the family: 

 
• Security deposit 

 
• First month’s rent 

 
• Rent arrears 

 
• Housing repairs 

 
• Utility arrears 

 
• Utility start-up costs 

 
• Food 

 
• Clothing 

 
• Beds for the children 

 
• Transportation 

 
• Stoves and refrigerators 

 
• Extermination services and house-cleaning 
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iii) Notice of Decision Regarding Request for Cash Assistance 

 
When a decision has been made to grant, delay, reduce or deny a 

request for cash assistance, the Department shall notify the 

applicant via the CFS 370-6, Notice of Determination of Norman 

Cash Assistance Request, of the action to be taken.   The CFS 

370-6 will also inform the family of their right to appeal the 

Department’s decision and how to file a service appeal.  A copy of 

the CFS 370-6 shall be placed in the case record. 

 
4) Department of Human Services (DHS) Norman Temporary Assistance to Needy 

Families (TANF) Application Program (DHS-NAP) 

 
DHS-NAP allows families with children in Department care to apply for TANF 

benefits and food stamps within 90 days of the expected date that their children 

will be returned home.  DHS-NAP also allows families receiving TANF benefits 

to retain those benefits if their children are in care, but are expected to be in care 

less than 90 days. DHS-NAP is only for Norman-certified families who are 

currently receiving or would otherwise be eligible to receive TANF, if their 

children were with them. 

 
To apply for this program, the Child Protection Specialist must complete a CFS 

370-8, DCFS Referral to the Illinois Department of Human Services for the 

Norman TANF Application Program and submit the form to the Child 

Protection Supervisor. An authorized Department supervisor or a Norman Liaison 

must make the final approval and forward the form to the DHS-NAP Liaison. The 

following information must be entered on the form for cases involving children 

taken into protective custody: 
 

• Parent/guardian’s name and birth date; 
 

• Names and birth dates of the children taken into protective custody; 
 

• The address where the family resides or will be residing; and 
 

• The DHS case number. 
 

The Norman Liaison or authorized Department supervisor will then inform the 

Norman Program Coordinator of the intent to refer a family for the program and 

forward the CFS 370-8 to the client’s local DHS caseworker.  The liaison or 

supervisor will also write “Norman” on the top of the CFS 1868, Notice of 

Foster Care Placement or at the top of the client’s CFS 930-C, Notice of 

Medicaid Coverage for DCFS Clients, and forward it to the local DHS office. 

The supervisor or liaison shall then inform the family that the child will be 

removed from the TANF grant, but an adult-only grant should continue for up to 

90 days, and notify the local DHS office of the court’s decision to return the 

children no later than three working days following the court date. 
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Note: If a court date is scheduled within the fourth month of the child’s removal, 

the Child Protection Specialist or Child Protection Supervisor shall contact 

the local DHS office for a 90-day extension and inform DHS that a court 

hearing will be held within 90 days.  Each family may receive only one 

90-day extension. 

 
e) Special Factors to be Considered 

 
The Child Protection Specialist should determine, based on a review and consideration of all 

the evidence gathered during the investigation, whether protective custody should be taken in 

the following circumstances, which involve special circumstances.   Even if the special 

circumstances exist, the Child Protection Specialist must ensure that the legal requirements 

for taking protective custody have been satisfied. 

 
1) Immediately Dangerous Situation 

 

The Child Protection Specialist should consult with their supervisor to determine if 
police assistance is needed.  Immediately dangerous situations could include those 
situations where the alleged perpetrator has access to the: 

 

A) alleged child victim;  

 

B) alleged child victim who is non-verbal or unable to protect themselves; or 

 

C) alleged child victim and the parent or guardian is not willing to believe or 

protect the child. 

 
2) Injury to an Infant Age 6 Months or Younger 

 
The Child Protection Specialist must consider the evidence gathered during the 

investigation, including: 
 

• Direct observation of the infant to determine the infant’s mobility; 

 

• Any professional’s direct observation of the infant’s mobility; 

 

• Any collateral’s direct observation of the infant’s mobility; 

 

• All possible times when the infant could have received the injury and who 

was providing supervision of the infant during all possible times when the 

infant could have received the injury; and 

 

• Any medical opinion regarding the cause of injury. 
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In all investigations involving allegations of abuse and/or neglect in which the issue of 

protective custody is considered, the Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection 

Supervisor must assess all of the evidence gathered during the investigation, including all 

inculpatory and exculpatory evidence, the ability to take other measures to maintain the 

alleged child victim’s safety and the legal requirements for taking protective custody. 

 
f) How to Take Protective Custody 

 
If the Child Protection Specialist determines that a child should be taken into protective 

custody, the Child Protection Specialist shall: 

 
• Seek prior supervisory approval, except in emergency situations. In an emergency 

situation, approval must be sought immediately after protective custody is taken 

and the child is no longer in immediate danger of being harmed; 
 

 

• Contact the local law enforcement agency for assistance, if necessary to assure the 

safety of the Child Protection Specialist and the child; 

 
• Make every reasonable attempt to notify the child's parent, guardian or legal 

custodian, including the use of interpreters for limited/non-English speaking or 

hearing impaired persons. If the parent/guardian is in the home when the child is 

taken into protective custody, the parent/guardian shall be given the Parent 

Handbook, CFS 1050-73, Substitute Care and Your Child.  The date the Parent 

Handbook was given and precisely whom it was given to shall be documented in 

a contact note; 

 
• If the child taken into protective custody is age 10 or older, the Child Protection 

Specialist must provide the child with a copy of the Youth Handbook that is written 

in the child’s language of preference.   The child shall be encouraged to keep 

the handbook to help them while living apart from their parent/guardian. The 

Child Protection Specialist must document in a contact note the date and place 

the handbook is given to each child. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall document Protective Custody/Legal Status 

in the investigative file and enter in the Decision Tab within 24 hours of taking 

protective custody; and. 

 
Help the child deal with the effects of separation and loss. See Appendix F, 

Casework Responsibilities in Minimizing the Effects of Separation and Loss 

in Substitute Care. 
 

 

• Take photographs of all children and upload the photographs within 24 hours into 

the electronic file 
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g) Sibling Groups 

 
The following procedures address the importance of encouraging and maintaining 

relationships among siblings, whether siblings are now or have ever been involved with 

the Department. 

 
1) Siblings Defined 

 
“Siblings” are children who have at least one parent in common.   Children are 

still considered siblings after parental rights have been terminated, after one or 

more siblings have been adopted, or after one or more siblings have been placed 

in guardianship, when the sibling(s) were in DCFS care under Article II of the 

Juvenile Court Act immediately prior to the adoption or guardianship. 

 
Step-siblings may be considered siblings when the children enter into substitute 

care together and have a positive relationship.  For placement purposes, step- 

siblings who enter care together shall be placed together initially, and continued 

joint placement shall be re-evaluated after the Integrated Assessment. 

 
All efforts are to be made to place siblings together, however, in some instances 

the members of a sibling group may be in several different living arrangements. 

The Child Protection Specialist shall include all siblings in the Visitation and 

Contact Plan, regardless of their living arrangements, if the siblings become known 

to the Child Protection Specialist before handoff to the Permanency Worker.  

Living arrangements may include a child: 

 
• living in an intact family; 

 

• living in substitute care, including out of state placement; 
 

• in an ILO/TLP, Youth in College, or Placement Alternative Contract living 

arrangement; 
 

• long-term hospitalization; 
 

• residing in a group home or residential placement; 
 

• who has been adopted (even when birth siblings are not adopted together, 

or when one or more siblings remain in care*); 
 

• who is under legal guardianship (even when birth siblings are not in 

guardianship together or when one or more siblings remain in care*) 
 

• who is emancipated; or 
 

• who has attained adulthood. 
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2) Maintaining Sibling Relationships 

 
The Department recognizes the importance of maintaining sibling relationships in 

those situations when children must be placed away from their parents. For many 

children, separation from their siblings causes stress, separation anxiety and loss 

comparable to that caused by separation from parents. In families where parental 

functioning has broken down, siblings often compensate by relying on one another, 

meeting each other's dependency needs and providing emotional support. When 

placed together or, at the very minimum, allowed frequent contact and visitation, 

siblings can provide at least one predictable element in a stressful situation, as well 

as providing an important link with the past.  For additional information and 

instruction, staff should reference Procedures 300.Appendix F, Casework 

Responsibilities in Minimizing the Effects of Separation and Loss in 

Substitute Care. 

 
The initial placement decision can prove to be critical in the life of a case.  When 

a sibling group must be removed from their home, the Department should do 

everything in its power to place the children together in substitute care.  The 

Child Protection Specialist shall place siblings together whenever possible unless 

it is in their best interests to place them apart pursuant to Procedures 301.70, a 

court has ordered that the children be placed apart, or after a diligent search, the 

Child Protection Specialist is unable to locate a joint placement for the siblings. 

The Child Protection Specialist shall: 
 

• Select a foster family or relative caregiver (licensed or unlicensed) or 

fictive kin who can accept all the children for placement.  This may 

require the Child Protection Specialist to initiate a diligent search for 

family members or a licensed foster family home that will accept all the 

children. Staff should reference Procedures 301.70(c) Diligent Search 

Upon Initial Placement for information and instruction for diligent search 

requirements when placing sibling groups; 
 

• The Child Protection Specialist shall ask the parents, other caregivers, 

relatives, and children to identify placement resources and positive 

supports for the child.  The Child Protection Specialist shall document all 

relatives identified by the family on the CFS 458-B, PART I: Family 

Composition/Initial Family Finding/Household Income and PART II: 

Relative Resources and Positive Supports Worksheet. (See Procedures 

301.80, Relative Home Placement) 
 

• Place step-siblings together when they initially enter care together (the 

assigned Permanency Worker will re-evaluate continued joint placement 

after the Integrated Assessment); and 
 

• Identify relative caregivers or foster family homes who will support 

frequent sibling contact and visitation, when siblings or step-siblings must 

be separated. 
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An unrelated foster home that will accept the entire sibling group shall be 

given higher priority over a relative who wants to care for only part of the 

sibling group, unless extraordinary circumstances exist.  Example: If prior to 

entering care, a sibling group had informally been cared for by two maternal aunts 

and the children had regular and frequent contact at family functions, church, etc., 

it may be in the children’s best interest to continue living with the two aunts than 

to be moved to a non-relative home. 

 
Deciding whether children shall be placed apart from siblings who are also placed 

in substitute care is a critical decision.  The Child Protection Specialist must play 

an active role in the placement decision-making process.  Supervisory consultation 

and approval is required for a decision to place siblings apart.  The Child 

Protection Specialist shall document in a contact note and in the Visitation and 

Contact Plan the efforts made to find a joint placement and, if the siblings are 

placed apart, the basis of the decision to do so.  The Child Protection Supervisor 

shall document the basis for that decision in a supervision note.  If the basis for 

separation is pursuant to subsection (e)(1) or (e)(2) of Rule 301.70 Sibling 

Placement, the Child Protection Specialist shall obtain input from the 

Department’s Clinical Services division within one business day of the placement 

decision. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall ensure that each member of the sibling group 

receives the DCFS publication CFS 1050-95, How to Connect With Your 

Brothers and Sisters. 

 
3) Add-Ons 

 
Efforts to place siblings together shall apply even when children come into the 

Department’s care after other siblings have been adopted or placed in private 

guardianship.  The Child Protection Specialist shall determine, in consultation 

with the child's parents, whether it would be in the child's best interests to explore 

placement with the adopted sibling, sibling in guardianship, or emancipated sibling 

who is at least 21 years of age.  If the Child Protection Specialist determines it is 

in the child's best interest to explore the placement, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall contact the adoptive parent or guardian of the sibling or emancipated sibling 

to determine whether they are willing and able to be considered as a placement 

resource for the child and to determine whether it is in the best interests of the child 

to be placed in the home with the sibling. 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall request a waiver of home capacity for the 

purpose of bringing additional siblings into the home of a sibling already in 

placement, when such a request is in the child’s best interests. 
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Note: Placement of a child with his/her sibling who has been adopted or in 

subsidized guardianship is considered a relative placement.  The family 

home is not required to be licensed to accept immediate placement of 

these children.  If the family is licensed and the license has expired, they 

should be encouraged to apply for licensure after the additional children 

have been placed. 
 

For children who were adopted and have been subsequently returned to 

the temporary custody or guardianship of the Department, a "relative" may 

include any person who would have qualified as a relative under this 

definition prior to the adoption.  The Child Protection Specialist and Child 

Protection Supervisor must determine that it would be in the best interests 

of the child to consider such person as a relative. 
 

h) Protective Custody in Special Cases 
 

1) Custody of Substance Exposed Newborns 
 

Child Protection Specialists shall not request that hospitals postpone 

discharge of infants who are medically ready for discharge.  Child Protection 

Specialists are to advise hospitals that if they keep a baby beyond the number of 

medically-needed days allowed by DHS, that DCFS will not pay for the extra 

days of care unless the Child Protection Specialist takes the child into protective 

custody and the child remains hospitalized for medically required care.  The Child 

Protection Specialist shall not take substance exposed infants into protective 

custody or accept a voluntary placement agreement just because the mother used 

illegal drugs during her pregnancy. 
 

For protective custody of a substance exposed infant to be taken there must be 

other circumstances present that clearly demonstrate that leaving the infant in the 

care and custody of the mother presents an imminent danger to the infant’s life or 

well-being. The decision to take protective custody in this situation must be 

determined by a complete safety assessment when there is not enough time to take 

the matter before the juvenile court. 
 

2) Disabled Infants 
 

Newborn infants (not more than 28 days old) taken into protective custody, whose 

life or development may be threatened by a developmental disability or a 

handicapping condition, may need to be referred to a perinatal center for 

evaluation and treatment.  The Child Protection Specialist shall contact the 

designated perinatal center in the area where the infant resides for consultation. 

Procedures 300, Appendix C, List of Perinatal Centers and Community 

Hospitals They Serve, identifies the appropriate perinatal center for each 

community hospital. 
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Note: "Developmental disability" means intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, 

epilepsy, or other neurological handicapping conditions found to be closely 

related to intellectual disability, that are expected to continue indefinitely, 

that interrupts or delays the sequence and rate of normal growth, 

development and maturation, and that constitutes a substantial impairment 

to the individual. 
 

3) Families Residing in Shelters 

 
A child shall not be removed from a parent or guardian living in a shelter, unless 

the Child Protection Specialist determines that the circumstances or conditions are 

such that continuing in the shelter or in the care and custody of the parent or 

guardian presents a real and substantial risk of harm to the child's life or health. 

 
If protective custody is ruled out, the Child Protection Specialist must determine 

whether the child should remain in the shelter and that an appropriate and safe 

sleeping arrangement is provided. 

 
4) Domestic Violence 

 
When a child is at risk of placement because the caregiver is unable to protect the 

child or themselves from the violence of another person in the household, attempts 

must be made to prevent placement through the provision of hard services. Other 

alternatives for victims of domestic violence may include referrals to obtain orders 

of protection, exploring alternative housing with friends or relatives, requiring the 

violent person in the household to leave or locating and transporting the family to 

a domestic violence shelter. 

 
5) Children with Special Health Care Needs 

 
When information obtained from the child’s primary care physician and other 

health-related resources indicate that a child with special health care needs is at 

substantial risk of harm and that the harm cannot be managed through a safety 

plan, Child Protection Specialists shall consult with their supervisors to determine 

if the child should be taken into protective custody.  Area Administrators may 

waive taking the child into protective custody after reviewing all documentation 

and discussing the child’s health condition with the child’s primary care physician 

or the Department’s Regional Nurse. 

 
When protective custody is determined to be the only option to ensure the safety 

of a child with special health care needs, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

involve the DCFS Regional Nurse in the planning and preparation for safely 

taking the child into protective custody.  When there is an urgent and immediate 

necessity to take a child with special health care needs into protective custody, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall not delay the course of action until a DCFS 

Regional Nurse can become involved. 
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Preparation and planning for the protective custody shall include the following: 

A) Health Care Plan 

The child’s health care plan must be documented in the investigative file 

and a copy of the plan must accompany the child to a medical facility 

and/or placement.  The health care plan shall include: 

 
• the child’s medical diagnosis; 

 

• known allergies; 

 

• current medication list (dosages and schedules); 

 

• therapies (appointment schedules, names, addresses, and telephone 

numbers of providers); 

 

• name address, and telephone number of the child’s primary 

physician, specialists and other medical providers; 

 

• scheduled appointments with the primary physician and specialists; 

 

• transportation plans for the child’s medical appointments; and 

 

• all other relevant healthcare information. 

 
The child’s medical devices (e.g., apnea monitors, glucose monitors, 

and nebulizers) and medications shall accompany the child, when 

available.  If these are not available, the Child Protection Specialist 

must work with the DCFS Nurse and other medical providers to secure 

these items as soon as possible. 

 
B) Children with Compromised Breathing Conditions 

 
i) When protective custody is determined to be the only option to 

ensure the safety of a child with compromised breathing conditions, 

the Child Protection Specialist shall involve the DCFS Regional 

Nurse in the planning and preparation for safely taking the child 

into protective custody.   

 

ii) If anyone in the family identified for placement smokes and the 

child is known at the time of placement to be officially diagnosed 

with: premature birth, wheezing due to environmental allergens, 

chronic colds, recurring pneumonia, asthma, cystic fibrosis, chronic 
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lung disease of infancy,  hypoventilation  syndrome,  interstitial  

lung disease, lung transplant, lung problems when 

immunocompromised, lung problems associated with 

neuromuscular disorders, respiratory control and sleep disorders, or 

respiratory failure, placement is not possible and shall be denied by 

the Placement Clearance Desk (PCD).  

 

iii) If the family smokes and these health conditions are found to exist 

after placement, the worker shall assess each situation individually, 

looking at both the medical and emotional issues related to moving 

a child and consult with the Medical Director for direction. 

 

iv) If the child has asthma, the worker must immediately seek to secure 

their asthma action plan from the parent or doctor, along with any 

medicines or devices. 
 

C) Specialized Foster Care Review 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall complete the CFS 418-J, Checklist 

for Children at Initial Placement, and email the completed form to the 

DCFS Specialized Foster Care Unit at “Spec Foster Care” in Outlook, 

along with all supporting documentation of the child’s needs prior to 

protective custody being taken.  After receiving approval from the DCFS 

gatekeeper, the Child Protection Specialist shall contact the Placement 

Clearance Desk to receive authorization to place a child with a specific 

licensed provider in accordance with Procedures 301, Appendix E.  The 

Child Protection Specialist should review Rule 301.90, Foster Family 

Home Care for detailed information concerning assessment of specialized 

foster care cases. 
 

D) Transportation of Technology Dependent Children 
 

A child with a tracheostomy or who is ventilator dependent must be 

transported by advanced life support ambulance to the nearest acute care 

facility for evaluation and treatment.  When a DCFS Regional Nurse is 

providing nursing consultation services to the case, the nurse shall call 911 

to arrange for the child’s specialized transportation.   The child’s health 

care plan must accompany the child to the facility. 
 

E) Transportation of Children Who Are Not Technology Dependent 
 

If a DCFS Regional Nurse is providing nursing consultation services to 

the case, the Child Protection Specialist and the DCFS Regional Nurse 

must jointly arrange for transportation that is appropriate for the specific 

health care needs of the child.  The child’s health care plan must 

accompany the child to his or her placement and the child must receive an 

initial health screen. 
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 

 

POLICY GUIDE 2020.13 

 

MEXICAN CONSULATE NOTIFICATION OF MEXICAN OR MEXICAN AMERICAN 

MINORS IN THE CUSTODY/GUARDIANSHIP OF THE DEPARTMENT 

 

 

 

DATE: October 2, 2020 

 

TO: DCFS Child Protection Staff and Supervisors and all DCFS and POS Intact 

Family Services Workers, their Supervisors, Managers and Administrators 

 

FROM: Marc D. Smith, Acting Director 

 

EFFECTIVE: Immediately 

 

 

I. PURPOSE 

 

This Policy Guide replaces Policy Guide 2008.02, Mexican Consulate Notification of 

Mexican or Mexican American minors in the Custody of the Department. The 

Memorandum of Understanding between the State of Illinois, Department of Children 

and Family Services and the Consulate General of Mexico in Chicago, provides for early 

identification of Mexican or Mexican American minors taken into protective custody by 

the Department. The child welfare practice issues inherent in the Memorandum of 

Understanding are directed toward ensuring that the needs of Mexican or Mexican 

American minors are met when their families are temporarily or permanently unavailable. 

This revised policy addresses procedures that will facilitate the early coordination of legal 

and social services to children and their relatives that may be necessary to achieve 

permanency for the child, including providing the least restrictive placement and 

supportive services to maintain family ties, ensure appropriate visitation and maintain the 

child’s ethnic, religious and cultural identity. 

 

The Memorandum of Understanding between the Department of Children and Family 

Services and the Consulate General of Mexico requires DCFS to notify the Mexican 

Consulate when a child is determined to be of Mexican ancestry. In order to comply with 

this requirement DCFS child protection and child welfare and POS workers are to notify 

the Office of Latino Services which is responsible for notification to the Mexican 

Consulate. 

 

II. PRIMARY USERS 

 

DCFS Child Protection Staff and Supervisors and all DCFS and POS Intact Family 

Services Workers, their Supervisors, Managers and Administrators. 
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III. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY 
 

The Consular Convention between the United States of America and the United Mexican 

States (Bilateral Convention) and the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations (Vienna 

Convention) provide for consular notification and access in cases where foreign nationals 

are involved in legal proceedings. These treaties establish the right of representatives or 

agents of any embassy or consulate of a foreign government to freely communicate with, 

and have access to, its nationals without interference from the host state. 
 

The Department recognizes the importance of early identification of Mexican or Mexican 

American minors taken into protective custody in order to protect the fundamental rights 

of Mexican Nationals and, to the extent possible, provide all of the protections afforded 

to them by the Vienna Convention, the Bilateral Convention and all other applicable 

treaties and laws. 

 

IV. DEFINITIONS 
 

“Mexican” means any person who is a national of Mexico, regardless of immigration 

status in the United States. For consular notification purposes, a minor reported as born 

in Mexico will be assumed to be a Mexican national. 
 

“Mexican minor” means any unmarried person who is under the age of eighteen and was 

born in Mexico. 
 

“Mexican American minor” means any unmarried person who is under the age of 

eighteen, was born in the United States, and who is eligible for Mexican nationality as the 

biological child of at least one Mexican national. 
 

“Mexican custodian” means the non-parental caretaker of a Mexican minor, who has 

been entrusted by a parent(s) with the day-to-day care of the minor for any period of 

time. 
 

“DIF” means the Agency for Integral Family Development. This is the agency in 

Mexico charged with ensuring the welfare of minors. 
 

V.  DETERMINATION OF MEXICAN LINEAGE 
 

Child protection workers are required to establish ancestry of every child taken into 

protective custody. At the beginning of an investigation, child protection workers will 

distribute the pamphlet CFS 1050-26, Guide for Parents who are Mexican 

Nationals, to all Hispanic subjects of reports. In addition, the Memorandum of 

Understanding between the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services and 

the Consulate General of Mexico requires the Department to notify the Mexican Consulate 

in writing within ten working days of the decision to take protective custody of a 

Mexican or Mexican American minor or at any time one of the following occurs: 
 

• A child for whom the Department is legally responsible (including protective 

custody) is identified as having Mexican ancestry. 

• A parent or custodian of a Mexican or Mexican American minor requests that the 

consulate be notified. 

• The Department learns that a non-custodial parent resides in Mexico. 
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VI.  RIGHTS OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES OF MEXICAN ANCESTRY 
 

The DCFS Office of Latino Services is notified of every case that has been opened for a 

Hispanic child. Children who are determined to be of Mexican ancestry and who are 

age appropriate, and their parents or custodians shall be advised that: 
 

• They have the right to freely communicate with consular officers of their country. 

• The Mexican Consular Representatives may interview Mexican or Mexican 

American minors in the custody of the Department. 

• The Mexican Consulate can receive specific information, otherwise confidential 

regarding the reason protective custody of the Mexican minor was taken. 

• The Mexican Consulate can assist the Mexican child, parents or custodians in 

legal proceedings. 
 

VII.  INFORMATION PROVIDED TO THE MEXICAN CONSULATE 
 

The DCFS Office of Latino Services is responsible for the notification to the Mexican 

Consulate and to the Guardianship Administrator that a Mexican or Mexican American 

minor is in the custody/guardianship of the Department. The initial notification provided 

to the Mexican Consulate by the Office of Latino Services shall include the name of the 

minor; the minor’s date of birth, if known; the names, emails, address and telephone 

number of the parents or custodians, if known; the consent of the parents or custodian 

to the disclosure; and the name, email and telephone number of the assigned Department 

caseworker and the caseworker’s supervisor. Workers are to complete the CFS 1000-6, 

Notification to Mexican Consulate (attached) and submit it to the Office of Latino 

Services as indicated in section XI of this Policy Guide. 
 

VIII. CONSULATE ACCESS TO MEXICAN OR MEXICAN AMERICAN MINORS IN 

THE CUSTODY OF THE DEPARTMENT 
 

Although Consular Representatives have the right to interview Mexican minors in the 

custody of the Department, they must first obtain the approval of the Office of the 

Guardianship Administrator to interview Department children in care who are of 

Mexican American ancestry. All interview requests must be submitted to the Guardianship 

Administrator or designee. 
 

IX. SPECIAL IMMIGRANT JUVENILE STATUS FOR MEXICAN MINORS 
 

The Mexican Consulate will assist the Department in obtaining the necessary 

documentation from Mexico for Mexican minors in the Department’s custody who are 

eligible for Special Immigrant Juvenile status. 
 

X. ASSISTANCE PROVIDED BY MEXICAN CONSULATE REGARDING DIF 
 

The Mexican Consulate can assist DCFS and POS caseworkers in obtaining appropriate 

home studies of families in Mexico who may be resources for these Mexican minors by 

contacting the DIF. The Mexican Consulate will also ensure that the DIF provides 

appropriate and necessary services to Mexican minors for whom the Department is 

legally responsible when they are placed in Mexico, including having monitoring reports 

forwarded to DCFS and POS caseworkers. 
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XI. INSTRUCTIONS TO DCFS AND POS STAFF 

 

A. Identification of Children of Mexican Ancestry 

 

DCFS and POS child protection workers and permanency workers are required to 

notify the Office of Latino Services within five working days of: 

 

• Taking protective custody of a Mexican or Mexican American minor; 

• Identifying a child for whom the Department is legally 

responsible as having Mexican ancestry; 

• Receiving a request from the parent or custodian of a Mexican or 

Mexican American minor to notify the consulate; or 

• Learning that a non-custodial parent lives in Mexico. 

 

B. Required Consent to Release Information 

 

In order for the Department to notify the Mexican Consulate of a child(ren) of 

Mexican ancestry, the child protective services worker or the permanency worker 

must obtain the written consent of the parent(s) or custodians using the CFS 600- 

3 Consent for the Release of Information. If the parent(s) or custodian(s) refuse 

to sign the consent, the worker shall document the refusal in the space provided 

on the CFS 1000-6. While information cannot be released to the Mexican 

Consulate without the consent of the parent or custodian, workers are still 

required to submit the CFS 1000-6 to the Office of Latino Services. 

 

C. Notification to the Office of Latino Services 

 

When a child is determined to be of Mexican ancestry, the DCFS or POS worker 

is required to: 

 

1. Complete the CFS 1000-6; 

 

2. Obtain the written consent of the parent or custodian to notify the Mexican 

Consulate by completing the CFS 600-3; and 

 

3. Submit the CFS 1000-6 and CFS 600-3 (when signed) by fax to; Chief, 

DCFS Office of Latino Services at (312) 808-5134. 

 

4. Provide the Office of Latino Services with updates on the case when 

requested by the Mexican Consulate staff.  

 

The Office of Latino Services is responsible for informing the Mexican Consulate 

of Mexican or Mexican American minors protected by the Memorandum of 

Understanding between the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

and the Consulate General of Mexico. 
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XII. RELATED POLICIES 

 

A. Procedures 327, Appendix F Immigration/Legalization Services for 

Foreign-Born DCFS Children in Care describes the application process 

for attaining legal (citizenship) status for a child born outside of the United 

States. Attachment 1, Immigration Services Alert, informs DCFS and POS 

workers of the requirement to determine a child’s legal (citizenship) status 

and explains the benefits and services that may be unavailable to a child 

who does not become a legal permanent resident of the United States. 

Attachment 2, Emergency Care Plan for Children with Undocumented 

Caregivers, describes the DCFS or POS worker’s responsibility to develop 

an emergency care plan for children in the event that their caregiver is 

detained due to his or her undocumented legal status in the United States. 

Attachment 2 also includes a list of resources and advocates for immigrants 

and the consulates in Illinois. 

 

B. Procedures 301.80 (i) Placement of Children with Undocumented Relatives 

provides DCFS and POS staff with step-by-step instructions on the 

placement of children with undocumented relatives; the procedures that must 

be followed for the caregiver to receive reimbursement for the child’s care 

and on the single change in the licensing application when the caregiver’s legal 

status is undocumented.  

 

XIII. NEW, REVISED AND/OR OBSOLETE FORMS 

 

CFS 1000-6, Notification to Mexican Consulate has been updated and is available on the 

DCFS Website and “T” Drive 

 

IX. QUESTIONS 

 

Questions concerning this Policy Guide should be directed to the Office of Child and 

Family Policy by emailing the DCFS.Policy on Outlook.  Persons and agencies not on 

Outlook can e-mail questions to DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov. 

 

X. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 

 

File this Policy Guide behind Page 16 of Procedures 300.120. 

 

Remove and recycle Policy Guide 2008.02 found behind Procedures 301.60 and replace 

with this Policy Guide. 

 

Remove and recycle Procedures 327 Appendix F Attachment 2 and replace with the newly 

attached updated Attachment 2.  The list of resources, advocates and consulates in 

Illinois have been updated with current contact information.   

  

mailto:DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov
mailto:DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov
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6) Mexican or Mexican American Minors in the Custody of the Department 

 
Child Protection Specialists are required to establish ancestry of every child taken 

into protective custody.  At the beginning of an investigation, Child Protection 

Specialists will distribute the pamphlet CFS 1050-26, Guide for Parents who 

are Mexican Nationals, to all Hispanic subjects of reports.  The Child Protection 

Specialist is to notify the DCFS Office of Latino Services when a child of Mexican 

ancestry is taken into protective custody.  In addition, the Department is required 

to notify the Mexican Consulate in writing within ten working days of the 

decision to take protective custody of a Mexican or Mexican American 

minor or at any time one of the following occurs: 

 
• A child for whom the Department is legally responsible, including 

protective custody, is identified as having Mexican ancestry; 

 
• A parent or custodian of a Mexican or Mexican American minor requests 

that the consulate be notified; or 

 

• The Department learns that a non-custodial parent resides in Mexico. 

 
A) Required Consent to Release Information 

 
In order for the Department to notify the Mexican Consulate of a child in 

protective custody who is of Mexican ancestry, the Child Protection 

Specialist must obtain the written consent of the parent/guardian with the 

CFS 600-3, Consent for the Release of Information.  If the 

parent/guardian refuses to sign the consent, the worker shall document the 

refusal in the space provided on the CFS 1000-6, Notification to Mexican 

Consulate. 
 

Note: While information cannot be released to the Mexican Consulate 

without the consent of the parent or custodian, workers are still 

required to submit the CFS 1000-6 to the Office of Latino 

Services. 

 
B) Notification to the Office of Latino Services 

 
Child Protection Specialists and Permanency Workers are required to 

notify the Office of Latino Services within five working days of taking 

protective custody of a child who is a Mexican or Mexican American 

minor.  Once the child is determined to be of Mexican ancestry, the Child 

Protection Specialist must submit the completed and signed CFS 1000-6 

and CFS 600-3 by fax to:  Chief, DCFS Office of Latino Services. 
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i) Obtaining Placement Services 
 

If the Child Protection Specialist places a child, the Child Protection Specialist shall: 
 

• Follow the placement guidelines contained in Procedures 301.70, Sibling 

Placement; Procedures 301, Appendix E, Placement Clearance Process; 

Administrative Procedures #6.5(d), Use of LEADS for Child Protection and 

Child Welfare Purposes, and 6.10, Applying LEADS Information for 

Placement; 
 

• Ensure the child receives an initial health screening; 
 

• Complete the CFS 418-J, Checklist for Children at Initial Placement; 
 

• Complete the 906-1/E, Placement/Payment Authorization, as appropriate; and 
 

• Update appropriate investigation screens, including entry of subject identifications 

for all children of a child case and for the Head of Household of a family case, 

when the subject identifications are not present.  If a head of household is not the 

subject of the investigation, a perpetrator must be designated using the perpetrator 

code (P). 

 
The Child Protection Specialist making the placement shall forward the original CFS 906 

or 906-1 and Handoff document to Data Processing.  A copy of the documents shall be 

sent to the appropriate Permanency Worker. 
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POLICY GUIDE 2016.01 
 

PROCEDURES 300 REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT  
PROCEDURES 301 PLACEMENT AND VISITATION SERVICES 

 
 

DATE:  February 8, 2016 
 
TO: Child Protection Specialists/Supervisors and Permanency 

Workers/Supervisors 
 
FROM:  George H. Sheldon, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE: Immediately 
 
I. PURPOSE 
 

The purpose of this Policy Guide is to provide Child Protection and Permanency staff 
with information and instruction regarding OIG Report #13-1567, Recommendation #2.  
This recommendation addresses the responsibilities of Child Protection and Permanency 
staff in the temporary custody screening process for high risk cases where a parent has 
demonstrated such dangerous behaviors as abduction; torture; threats to kill with a plan; 
taking a child hostage; and severe mental illness, and the Department has made the 
Critical Decision to substantially restrict visitation.  This recommendation will be added 
in a pending revision of Procedures 300.120, Taking Children into Protective 
Custody, Procedures 301.210, Family-Child Visiting and Procedures 301 Appendix 
A, Family Visit Planning-Critical Decisions and Documentation Protocol.    
 
This Policy Guide is effective immediately. 

 
II. PRIMARY USERS  
 

Primary users of this Policy Guide are Child Protection Specialists/Supervisors and 
Permanency Workers/Supervisors.  
 

III. SUMMARY  
 
OIG recommendation #2 of report #13-1567 seeks to ensure that for such high risk cases 
as when a parent has demonstrated dangerous behavior and the Department has made the 
Critical Decision to substantially restrict visitation, that the Visitation Plan be filed with 
the court and parties within 10 days of the Department being named Temporary 
Custodian; that the Visitation Plan clearly state the reasons for such restriction; that the 
Visitation Plan include all supporting documentation; and that the Department intends to 
share information regarding the restriction with necessary persons.     
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V.  INSTRUCTIONS 
 

As part of the temporary custody screening process for such high risk cases as when a 
parent has demonstrated dangerous behavior, such as abduction; torture; threats to kill 
with plan; taking children hostage; and cases involving severe mental illness, and the 
Department has made the Critical Decision to substantially restrict visitation, the Child 
Protection Specialist or the assigned Permanency Worker shall be responsible for filing a 
Visitation Plan with the Court and Parties within 10 days of the Department being named 
Temporary Custodian in accordance with 705 ILCS 405/2-10(2).  The Visitation Plan 
must comply with the requirements of Procedures 301, Appendix A, Family Visit 
Planning-Critical Decisions and Documentation Protocol and shall include: 
 
1. Supporting documentation such as police reports, psychological or psychiatric 

reports or case notes documenting observations; and 
2. A statement that the Department intends to share information on the restriction 

with necessary persons, such as school or daycare staff and the child’s 
pediatrician.   

 
VI. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

File this Policy Guide immediately after Procedures 300.120, Taking Children into 
Protective Custody, after Procedures 301.210, Family-Child Visiting and after 
Procedures 301 Appendix A, Family Visit Planning-Critical Decisions and 
Documentation Protocol.   

 
VII. QUESTIONS 
 

Questions concerning these revisions may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 
Policy at 217/524-1983 or e-mail through Outlook at OCFP-Mailbox or for non-Outlook 
users at cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us 

mailto:cfpolicy@idcfs.state.il.us
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Section 300.130 Referral for Services  

 

a) Identification of Families Appropriate for Child Welfare Services  

 

Timely case openings and accurate identification of service needs and appropriate available 

services enable the Department to assist families in the development of their protective 

capacities and decrease child safety and risk concerns. The decision to open a case shall be 

made by the Child Protection Specialist in consultation with his or her immediate supervisor 

or can be court-ordered; however acceptance of services by the family is voluntary. No matter 

the recommended final finding of a report of abuse or neglect, if the Child Protection Specialist 

has identified a need for services they shall make every effort to engage the family in services 

appropriate for them.  

 

1) Service Referrals When a Report has an Unfounded Recommended Finding (No 

Child Placed)  

 

When the Child Protection Specialist identifies a need for the family and the 

investigation is unfounded then the Child Protection Specialist shall consult with the 

Child Protection Supervisor and discuss a community service referral with the family. 

The family shall be informed on what service need is identified and how to access that 

service. Services include but are not limited to: substance abuse assessment/treatment, 

Family Advocacy Centers, Safe Families, mental health assessment/treatment, and 

domestic violence services. These referrals must be documented in a case note.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor may request an Intact 

Family Service case opening on an unfounded investigation if the service needs are 

significant and cannot be met via community resources. Such requests require approval 

of the Area Administrator and the Statewide Intact Family Services Administrator. (See 

Procedures 302.388, Intact Family Services)  

 

No further action is required of the Child Protection Specialist when a child abuse or 

neglect report is unfounded and the family has not requested child welfare services. 

The hand-off document and the investigative file will be destroyed upon receipt of the 

notice to expunge.  

 

2) Service Referrals When a Report has a Recommended Finding of Indicated No 

Child Placed)  

 

A) Opening the Service Case  

 

Child Protection Specialists are required to comprehensively discuss with the 

family all concerns impacting the safety and well-being of their children. The 

Child Protection Specialist has responsibility to discuss and offer the family 

intact family services if the final finding of indicated has been recommended. 

The family should also be informed of community services. If the family agrees 

to accept Intact Family Services, the Child Protection Specialist will complete 

all case opening activities in accordance with the Case Opening Protocol 
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(Procedures 302, Appendix R), which will include up-to-date documentation 

of all investigative activities.  

 

B) Services Declined by the Family  

 

In the event service needs are identified and the family refuses services, the 

Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor shall consult to 

determine whether the case should be screened with the State’s Attorney for 

court ordered services. If a case is screened with the State’s Attorney for court 

ordered services but the State’s Attorney declines to file a petition for court 

ordered services or consideration of a shelter care hearing, then the Child 

Protection Specialist and Supervisor shall consult with the DCFS Office of 

Legal Services. In addition, if consultation with another Department division 

(e.g., the Division of Clinical Practice and Development) is desired, the Child 

Protection Specialist and Supervisor shall make a request for such consultation 

thru the Area Administrator. The Area Administrator shall determine if the 

additional consultation is necessary.  

 

C) When an Intact Family Service Case is Already Open  

 

If there is already an open Intact Family Service case, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall ensure that investigative information is communicated to the 

assigned Intact Family Service Worker.  

 

2) Service Referrals during a Pending Investigation  

 

Child Protection Specialists may offer services or refer the child and family for services 

while an investigation is still pending. Services may consist of community-based 

services, Intact Family Services, or placement of the child. If warranted, the Child 

Protection Specialist may consult with the Child Protection Supervisor about 

completing a referral for Intact Family Services (IFS) for a specific identified service 

need. The family's willingness to accept services while the investigation is pending is 

voluntary and shall not be considered in making a determination to indicate or 

unfound. (See Procedures 302.388, Intact Family Services)  

 

b) Types of Service  

 

The Department shall provide families with the type of service that best meets the health and 

safety needs of the child.  

 

1) No Services Needed  

 

This type of service intervention is indicated when children have been assessed to be 

at no or low risk and the family is capable of managing risk issues using their own 

strengths and resources.  
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Selection Criteria  

 

•  The children have been assessed “safe” in accordance with the CERAP.  

 

•  The risk assessment indicates no significant risks such as domestic violence, 

substance abuse, mental illness, sex abuse or developmental delays.  

 

•  Minimum parenting standards are being met.  

 

•  The family has many strengths and resources and is capable of resolving family 

issues without referral to community resources.  

 

•  If there has been an indicated finding of abuse or neglect, the incident was 

isolated and not severe or the perpetrator no longer has access to the children.  

 

•  There is no juvenile court involvement.  

 

•  Safety and service plans are not required.  

 

2) Referral for Community-Based Services  

 

This type of service intervention is appropriate when children have been assessed to be 

at low to medium risk and the family is capable of using support services provided 

through community resources without further Department intervention. The purpose of 

Department involvement is to actively link the family with those services and resources 

that effectively address their needs. The Child Protection Specialist shall actively be 

involved in the referral/linkage process and shall document this involvement in a 

contact note. 

 

Referral/linkage activities include, but are not limited to:  

 

•  Initiating contact with providers;  

 

•  Advocating on the family’s behalf;  

 

•  Documentation of the frequency of and duration of services recommended for 

the specific members of the family and the conditions/circumstances that the 

services are designed to mitigate; 

 

•  Documentation of the date and time of the intake session;  

 

•  Assistance with the family’s transportation issues;  

 

•  Participation in the intake process when necessary; and  

 

•  Verification that the family is following through and utilizing the services 

provided.  
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Selection Criteria  

 

•  The children have been assessed “safe” in accordance with the CERAP.  

 

•  The family has sufficient strengths, extended family resources and community 

resources to address any identified needs or problems such as domestic 

violence, substance abuse, mental illness or developmental delays. The 

presence of any of these issues, in and of itself, does not threaten the immediate 

safety of the children.  

 

•  Minimum parenting standards are being met.  

 

•  If there has been an indicated finding of abuse or neglect, the incident was 

isolated and not severe, or the perpetrator no longer has access to the children, 

and the family displays remorse and accepts responsibility for the incident and 

is willing and capable of resolving the issue with community support.  

 

•  The family does not have a history of serious or chronic harm of a child.  

 

•  There is no past or current juvenile court involvement.  

 

•  There is the presence of a protective and reliable parent.  

 

•  The services and resources needed by the family are available and accessible 

in the community.  

 

•  The family has demonstrated that they are capable and willing to follow 

through with all needed services.  

 

•  The family is capable and willing to make necessary changes to assure the 

safety, permanency and well-being of the children.  

 

•  A safety plan is not required.  

 

A perpetrator’s access to a child shall be measured by the caretaker’s willingness and 

ability to protect the child in the future, the level of involvement of the perpetrator in 

the child’s life, and whether the perpetrator is incarcerated. If a perpetrator’s 

incarceration is relied upon to determine access, the worker shall consider the length 

of incarceration and shall reassess risk whenever the situation changes.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist will remain involved with the family long enough to 

ensure that the family is receiving appropriate community resources. A case may be 

opened for Department services when services are not available to the family through 

community resources. It is expected that these types of investigations will be resolved 

within 60 days.  
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3) Intact Family Services (IFS) 

 

Short-term intact services are indicated when children in the family are at risk and 

services could successfully mitigate the risk factors in an average of 6-12 months.  

 

“Intact Family Services (IFS)” are services provided to a family with the family’s 

consent:  

 

•  As the result of a referral from an indicated report of child abuse or neglect;  

 

•  Pursuant to an order of supervision from a court of competent jurisdiction as 

the result of a referral from an indicated child abuse or neglect investigation;  

 

•  During a pending investigation of a report of child abuse or neglect when the 

assigned Child Protection Specialist determines that a family needs Department 

services to ensure the safety of a child(ren) in the family and the Child 

Protection Specialist’s Supervisor approves the recommendation; or  

 

•  As the result of a child(ren) who was in placement less than 30 days being 

returned home to parent(s)/guardian(s) without a legal relationship with the 

Department pursuant to a court decision or lapse in protective custody.  

 

Selection Criteria  

 

•  Family has agreed to voluntarily accept services;  

 

•  Department has no current legal relationship with any children in the 

family/household;  

 

•  Minimum parenting standards are being met and/or the parents are capable of 

meeting the standards after short-term intervention by the Department;  

 

•  The children have been assessed safe or unsafe and can be made safe with a 

safety plan, in accordance with the CERAP;  

 

•  The risk assessment indicates that the family is facing problems such as 

domestic violence, substance abuse, mental illness or developmental issues. 

The family is also likely to have multiple and complex child welfare needs. The 

family has sufficient strengths and resources to address identified issues with 

the assistance of Department interventions;  

 

•  The family may have a history of chronic or serious harm to a child and the 

current incident of abuse or neglect has been assessed to be of low to moderate 

severity or a situational crisis has led to the behaviors or conduct that threatens 

the safety of the children;  

 

•  Children with Failure to Thrive allegations;  
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•  The family has little or no support system; and  

 

•  The family may not have accepted responsibility for the incident of harm and 

may be resistive/unmotivated to change or accept Department involvement. 

However, there are indications that the family is likely to be able to change 

with Department support.  

 

Refer to Procedures 302.388, Intact Family Services, for additional information.  

 

4) Substitute Care  

 

This type of care is appropriate for families where there are safety threats that cannot 

be controlled or mitigated through the service provision and it is necessary for the 

removal of the children from the children’s caregiver via a juvenile court order. 

Substitute care cases shall receive permanency services.  

 

Note:  Child and family service cases must be opened whenever a child is taken into 

protective custody.  

 

Refer to Procedures 301, Placement and Visitation Services, for additional 

information.  

 

c) Processing the IFS Referral  

 

When the assigned investigator of a pending investigation determines that a family needs IFS 

in order to ensure the safety of a child and the Child Protection Supervisor approves the 

recommended services the family has agreed to accept, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

complete a CFS 2040, Intact Family Services Case Referral and Assignment Form within 

48 hours. The Child Protection Supervisor shall then forward the CFS 2040, and if applicable, 

a CFS 1441-A, Safety Plan as an email attachment to the Area Administrator for approval. 

(See Procedures 302.388, Intact Family Services)  

 

If the Child Protection Supervisor declines the service referral, the Child Protection Supervisor 

shall promptly inform the Child Protection Specialist of the reasons the referral was declined 

and to provide explicit directions for any actions necessary for child safety and the ongoing 

investigation. The Supervisor shall document the decision and subsequent communication with 

the Child Protection Specialist in a supervisory note.  

 

1) The Area Administrator Decision  

 

The Area Administrator shall approve or disapprove the service referral within two (2) 

working days of receipt. Pending the Area Administrator’s decision, the assigned Child 

Protection Specialist remains responsible for the safety of each child in the family and 

shall review each referral to determine if it is appropriate for services and that all 

documentation is included. 
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When the Area Administrator declines the referral, the Area Administrator shall 

promptly notify the assigned Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection 

Supervisor of the reasons the referral was declined and provide explicit directions 

regarding any actions the Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor 

are to take regarding child safety and the ongoing investigation.  

 

When the Area Administrator approves a referral for prevention/placement services, 

the Child Protection Supervisor shall complete case opening requirements in 

accordance with the Case Opening Protocol (Procedures 302, Appendix R) which 

will include up-to-date documentation of all investigative activities and send the 

approved case via email “DCFS.Intact Referral” to the Intact Family Services unit to 

be assigned to the appropriate agency. Once assigned, the Intact Family Services unit 

shall send back to the Area Administrator and Child Protection Supervisor the name 

and contact information of the assigned agency and their contact person.  

 

2) Additional Requirements for Opening an Intact Family Services Case:  

 

A) Consent to Obtain Mental Health Records  

 

Obtaining the mental health records of the family members is required when 

the case is opened. Records may be obtained by consent of the parent or 

through pursuit of records via an administrative subpoena. Mental health 

records are required as the information they contain may determine the course 

of service delivery and need for juvenile court intervention.  

 

B) Subpoena of Mental Health Records  

 

When subpoenaed documents and information have not been forwarded to the 

Child Protection Specialist within 10 days of the date of issuance of the 

subpoena, the Child Protection Specialist must immediately contact the Keeper 

of Records at the medical/mental health facility to determine if there is a valid 

reason for the delay. All contacts with the Keeper of Records regarding 

subpoenaed files must be documented on a contact note. If the Keeper of 

Records fails or refuses to comply with the subpoena, the Child Protection 

Supervisor shall immediately notify the DCFS Regional Counsel and the 

Office of the Inspector General and provide documentation explaining why the 

information is important to the investigation. Consultation with the Regional 

Counsel and the OIG regarding subpoenaed records/information shall be 

documented on a contact note.  

 

Area Administrators shall take into consideration any identified safety and risk 

issues and determine whether it is appropriate to open an IFS case before 

receipt of requested mental health records, when consents have been obtained 

or subpoenas issued.  

 

At the case hand-off meeting, the Child Protection Specialist shall share all 

parent/caregiver mental health information and records with the IFS specialist.  
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If mental health records are received by the Child Protection Specialist after 

the case hand-off meeting, a conference including the Child Protection and IFS 

Supervisors shall occur immediately to address safety and risk implications 

noted in subpoenaed records and required protective action, up to and including 

involvement of juvenile court. The Child Protection Supervisor shall note in a 

supervisory note if any specific safety decisions were shared with the IFS 

Supervisor.  

 

During the case hand-off meeting, the Child Protection and IFS Supervisors 

shall use the CFS 440-12 Investigation/Intact Parental Mental Health Case 

Matrix to determine urgent service planning needs for the family. The 

supervisors shall document, in the investigation and IFS files, the topics on the 

Matrix checklist reviewed at the meeting, as well as any other relevant topics 

not listed in the Matrix.  

 

d) Case Transition  

 

1) Hand-Off Conference/Staffing 

 

Within one (1) business day of case assignment notification from the DCFS Area 

Administrator, the Child Protection Supervisor will contact the appropriate DCFS/POS 

Intact Family Services Supervisor and have a complete case hand-off discussion about 

the safety needs of the child(ren), the dynamics of the case, the strengths of the family, 

and the service needs of the family. Whenever possible the case hand-off staffing shall 

involve the Child Protection Specialist and the assigned Intact Family Services Worker. 

At the case hand-off conference, the Child Protection Supervisor and IFS Supervisor 

shall agree on a tentative date when the assigned Child Protection Specialist and the 

assigned IFS Worker will conduct the transitional visit with the family at the family’s 

primary residence. The tentative date must be confirmed with the family before being 

set.  

 

The following documents will be provided by the Child Protection Specialist or their 

Supervisor for the Case Hand-off Staffing:  

 

•  SACWIS Hand-off Document;  

 

•  All available applicable records (e.g., medical, school, etc.);  

 

•  CFS 2025 - Home Safety Check List;  

 

•  CANTS 18DV - Domestic Violence Screen;  

 

•  CFS 440-5 Adult Substance Abuse Screen;  

 

•  CFS 600-3 Signed consent(s) for release of information;  
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•  CFS 1000-1 or CFS 1000-1/S, copies of completed Hispanic Client Language 

Determination Form (if applicable);  

 

•  CFS 370-1, Norman certification (if applicable);  

 

•  DCP/Intact Parental Mental Health Case Checklist (if applicable);  

 

•  CFS 2040, Intact Family Services Case Referral and Assignment Form;  

 

•  CFS 1441, CERAP Safety Determination Form; and  

 

•  CFS 1441-A, Safety Plan, (if applicable)  

 

During the case hand-off staffing the following will occur (if applicable):  

 

A)  The safety needs of the child(ren), the dynamics of the case, the strengths of 

the family, and the service needs of the family will be discussed;  

 

B)  The Child Protection Specialist will discuss any safety decisions. The Child 

Protection Supervisor shall note in the investigation file if any specific safety 

decisions were shared with the Intact Family Services Supervisor at the hand-

off staffing;  

 

C)  The Child Protection Specialist shall share all parent/caregiver mental health 

information and records with the Intact Family Services Worker;  

 

D)  The Child Protection Supervisor and Intact Family Services Supervisor will 

use the CFS 440-12, Investigation/Intact Parental Mental Health Case 

Matrix to determine urgent service planning needs for the family. The Child 

Protection Supervisor and Intact Family Services Supervisor shall document in 

the investigation and Intact Family Services files, the topics on the Matrix 

checklist reviewed at the case hand-off staffing as well as any other relevant 

topics not listed in the Matrix; and  

 

E) The Child Protection Specialist will bring dates and times when it is possible 

for the family and Child Protection Specialist to meet for the Transitional visit 

within the next 48 hours. 

 

It is the responsibility of the Child Protection Specialist and Intact Family Services 

teams to ensure continuity of intervention and oversight of services during the transfer 

process to ensure that children’s safety is not jeopardized or placed at risk. Assessment 

of safety threats shall be comprehensive and ongoing during case transfer. If child(ren) 

are deemed unsafe but protective custody is ruled out, a supervisor-approved CFS 

1441-A, Safety Plan must be implemented as specified in Department Procedures 

300. Appendix G, Child Endangerment Risk Assessment Protocol (see in these 

procedures Section g),4) CERAP Safety Plan Process).  
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The Child Protection Specialist transferring the case maintains the responsibility 

for monitoring the Safety Plan until the Investigation is closed. The Child 

Protection Specialist shall notify the Intact Family Services Worker if the Safety 

Plan is still in effect when the case is closed, if the Safety Plan is modified or if the 

Safety Plan is terminated prior to the investigation closing.  

 

If the indicated investigation is appealed and overturned then the Child 

Protection Specialist shall notify the Intact Family Services Worker  

 

The Child Protection Specialist transferring the case maintains the responsibility 

for delivery of services to the family until the transitional visit occurs.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist transferring the case shall notify the Intact Family 

Services Worker of the outcome and completion date of the investigation. If the 

investigation on the Intact Family Case is unfounded the Child Protection 

Specialist shall also notify the Statewide Intact Family Administrator within 24 

hours of closing the investigation.  

 

The Intact Family Services Worker assigned to the case shall assume 

responsibility for service planning, and service delivery at the transitional visit 

with the family.  

 

2) Transitional Visit  

 

A Contact note documenting the transitional visit will be recorded by the Child 

Protection Specialist in the investigation record and also by the DCFS/POS Intact 

Family Services Worker in the family case record.  

 

A face-to-face Transitional Visit involving the Child Protection Specialist, the Intact 

Family Services Worker and all of the parent(s) and caregiver(s) must occur within two 

(2) business days of the intact case referral. The Child Protection Specialist and Intact 

Family Services Worker will conduct the Transitional Visit at the family’s primary 

residence. This is required for all cases. If the first attempt to meet with the family is 

unsuccessful, then a second Transitional Visit must be made no later than 48 hours 

after the unsuccessful visit. If the second attempt is unsuccessful then the Intact Family 

Services Worker shall make daily in-person attempts to meet with the family through 

the first five (5) business days of case assignment. If the Intact Family Services Worker 

has not met with the family within the first five (5) business days of case assignment 

then the Intact Family Services Supervisor will immediately email the Area 

Administrator and Office of Intact Family Services so that a resolution to the situation 

can be determined.  

 

If the Child Protection Specialist has difficulty scheduling/attending the Transitional 

Visit within the requirements of these procedures, the Child Protection Supervisor shall 

facilitate the Transitional Visit for the Child Protection Specialist.  
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The Transitional Visit shall be held for the purpose of introducing the Intact Family 

Services Worker to the family and to review the following with parents/caregivers:  

 

•  Final finding determination(s) or presenting issue(s) that led to the 

Department’s initial involvement and continued involvement;  

 

•  CFS 600-3, Consent for Release of Information forms (as needed);  

 

•  CFS 1441, CERAP Safety Determination Form;  

 

•  CFS 1441-A, Safety Plan (if applicable);  

 

•  Risk Assessment;  

 

•  CANTS 18DV, Domestic Violence Screen, (if applicable);  

 

•  CANTS 18-Paramour, Paramour Assessment Checklist, (if applicable);  

 

•  CFS 440-5 Adult Substance Abuse Screen, (if applicable);  

 

•  Family’s strengths and resources available to them;  

 

•  Family’s perception of the problem;  

 

•  Family’s expectations of the Department;  

 

•  Department’s expectations of the family;  

 

•  Parental Protective Factors;  

 

•  Recommended services;  

 

•  Service referrals;  

 

•  Interim service agreement;  

 

•  Full disclosure of agreed upon outcomes that need to be achieved and the 

consequences of failing to achieve said outcomes;  

 

•  CFS 496, Client Rights and Responsibilities form;  

 

•  CFS 1050-32, Service Appeal Process brochure;  

 

•  Infant Safe Sleep Information verified for all children under 1 year old; and  

 

•  All parent/caregiver mental health information and records including the CFS 

440-12, (if applicable).  
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If mental health records are received by the Child Protection Specialist after the case 

hand-off meeting, a conference including the Child Protection Supervisor and Intact 

Family Services Supervisor shall occur immediately to address safety and risk 

implications noted in subpoenaed records and required protective action, up to and 

including involvement of juvenile court. The Intact Family Worker shall reassess the 

initial services put into place by the Child Protection Specialist. The Intact Family 

Specialist shall meet with the family and determine the continued appropriateness of 

the services and/or need for revised and/or additional services. If in the judgment of 

the Intact Family Services Worker safety threats identified by the Child Protection 

Specialist have been resolved, it is the responsibility of the Intact Family Services 

Worker to document how they arrived at this assessment. Resolution of safety and/or 

risk factors shall be documented through the life of the case.  

 

The Child Protection Specialist and the Intact Family Services Worker shall each enter 

a Contact note documenting the Transitional Visit.  

 

e) Referrals to Comprehensive Community Based Youth Service Agencies (CCBYS)  

 

1) Youth/Situations Appropriate for Referral  

 

This section applies to situations involving youth who are ages 11-17 and who meet 

one or both of the following criteria:  

 

A) The youth is absent from home without parental consent; or  

 

B)  The youth is beyond the control of his/her parents and is involved in 

circumstances, which pose a substantial or immediate danger to the youth's 

physical safety.  

 

2) General Guidelines  

 

Most often the calls to SCR regarding the youth, as described above, are received from 

law enforcement officers who have a youth in limited police custody under the auspices 

of 705 ILCS 405/3-7 or 405/4-4 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, as amended. The 

Call Floor Worker (CFW) may refer the caller to a local CCBYS crisis intervention 

agency only when there are no allegations of suspected child abuse or neglect.  

 

3)  Types of Calls  

 

A) Calls with No Abuse or Neglect Allegations (Youth in Limited Police Custody)  

 

If the CFW determines that the information presented by the caller does not 

meet the criteria for a report, and the youth is in limited police custody, the 

CFW shall advise the caller to contact the appropriate CCBYS crisis 

intervention agency, if the following conditions are met:  
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i) The youth meets one or more of the criteria identified in (e)(1) above; 

and  

 

ii) The law enforcement officer has been unable to obtain an agreement 

between the youth and his/her family for family reunification.  

 

B) Calls with No Abuse or Neglect Allegations (Youth Not in Limited Police 

Custody)  

 

If the CFW determines that the information presented by the caller does not 

meet the criteria for a report, and the youth is not in limited police custody but 

meets one or more of the criteria identified in (e)(1) above, the CFW shall refer 

the caller to the appropriate law enforcement agency so that law enforcement 

can contact the appropriate CCBYS crisis intervention agency on behalf of the 

adolescent. A crisis intervention agency may take custody of an adolescent 

referred by a law enforcement agency for up to 48-hours excluding Saturdays, 

Sundays and court-designated holidays.  

 

If both of the following conditions exist and the crisis intervention agency is 

not able to resolve the matter, the crisis worker shall immediately call SCR to 

report suspected neglect (Allegation #84, Lockout) of the child. The 

conditions required to qualify as a Lockout are:  

 

i) The adolescent's parent/guardian refuses to take the child home; and  

 

ii) The adolescent's parent/guardian refuses to agree to an alternative 

placement.  

 

4) Referrals to Community-Based Counseling Agencies  

 

If the caller resides in the same home as the referenced adolescent and does not allege 

abuse or neglect, but indicates that he/she or another household member requires 

counseling or other supportive services in order to resolve problems a family and 

adolescent may be having, the CFW shall document the information provided by the 

caller in the narrative of a CWS intake and then transmit to the local field office.  

 

5)  Procedures for Handling Lock-Outs (Allegation #84) with No Prior Crisis Intervention 

Services  

 

A)  All initial reports of lock-outs shall be taken at SCR as neglect reports and 

transmitted to the local investigation unit. SCR shall direct that the alleged 

victim go, or be transported to, the nearest police station. The police will then 

contact the crisis intervention agency.  

 

B)  The crisis intervention agency worker shall respond to the police station and 

provide crisis intervention services to all youth ages 11 through 17 and their 

families for up to 48 hours excluding weekends and holidays. Placement by 

crisis intervention agencies of children who have been locked out requires 
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parental consent. If the parents refuse to consent to the crisis intervention 

agency placement, the procedures in subsection (E) below shall be immediately 

implemented.  

 

C)  The Child Protection Specialist shall initiate the report within 24 hours of 

receipt of the report. If the lockout cannot be resolved within 48 hours from the 

time the report was taken, the Child Protection Specialist shall take protective 

custody of the child.  

 

C) If, after the provision of crisis intervention services, the parents agree to take 

the child home or make provisions for an alternative living arrangement for the 

child, the Child Protection Specialist shall unfound the initial investigation.  

 

E)  If, after the provision of crisis intervention services, the parents still deny the 

child access to the home and refuse or fail to make provisions for another living 

arrangement, the crisis intervention worker should contact and notify SCR to 

file a report.  

 

f)  Refusal of Child Welfare Services Referrals During a Pending Investigation  

 

If the parents/caregivers/guardians are unwilling to cooperate with an assessment of service 

needs, the Child Protection Specialist shall consult with the Child Protection Supervisor to 

determine if the CWS services referral needs:  

 

1) To be changed to a report of suspected abuse or neglect;  

 

2) Additional attempts to be made to engage the family or to screen the situation with 

service providers already involved with the family;  

 

3) The family to be referred to the local State’s Attorney for a court order to services; or  

 

4) To close the referral with no other attempts to engage the family.  

 

g)  Extended Family Support Program (EFSP)  

 

The Extended Family Support Program (EFSP) provides short term services to a child residing 

in the care of a relative for the foreseeable future for which short-term interventions will 

stabilize the relative household and allow for continued care of the child in the household. 

Children served by this program must not have a legal relationship with the Department and 

must be referred for EFSP services by the State Central Register, Child Protection, the Post 

Adoption Unit, or the Intact Family Worker.  

 

EFSP services may consist of assistance obtaining guardianship, assistance obtaining hard 

goods such as beds for the child, counseling services, benefits advocacy, educational advocacy, 

medical advocacy, housing advocacy, mediation, and referrals for legal services.  

 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

September 9, 2022 – PT 2022.07 
 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.130 – (15) 

To qualify for EFSP, the caller must be a relative with whom the child has resided for 

more than 14 days prior to the date of the EFSP referral.  

 

Refer to Procedures 302.389, Extended Family Support Program, for further information.  

 

Note:  When considering a referral for any type of services, the Child Protection Specialist 

should never utilize a Short Term Guardianship form when it appears that the problem 

requiring guardianship will not be resolved within one year. 
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Section 300.140  Consultations 

 

a) Purpose 

 

The purpose of this section is to provide guidelines and expectations for consultations 

with other disciplines within the Department and the community. In addition to 

collaboration regarding safety concerns, the purpose of consultation is to ensure there is 

no redundancy in, or conflict with, service provision. It is imperative that Child Protection 

Specialists and Child Protection Supervisors engage fully in the exchange of ideas and 

information sharing. 

 
Note: The Child Protection Specialist must document efforts to consult with an involved 

professional within two business days of being informed of their involvement 

with the family in a contact note. There must be a request for a 

multidisciplinary consultation when three or more agencies or disciplines are 

involved with the family. 
 
b) Definition 
 

Consultation, for DCFS purposes, means a supportive clinical activity where cases are 

reviewed and analyzed to provide guidance and insight.  Multidisciplinary consultations 

are collaborations with all stakeholders involved in decisions that ultimately affect child 

safety.  Consultation is not meant to replace supervisory decision making or existing 

clinical processes of the Department or POS agencies.   Consultation may consist of, but 

is not limited to: 
 

• Client advocacy and empowerment; 
 

• Diagnostic clarification and treatment/service recommendations; 
 

• Procedural and policy clarification; 
 

• Resource and service linkage; 
 

• Education in clinical specialty areas; and/or 
 

• Systems facilitation and coordination of collateral providers. 
 
c) Consultation with Law Enforcement 
 

When contacting law enforcement to obtain a police report or information about a pending 

investigation, the Child Protection Specialist shall also inquire about the availability of 

other reports, including calls for service, involving the family.  If available, the Child 

Protection Specialist must request a copy of all reports and review them with the 

supervisor in order to make informed safety and service referral decisions. Supervisors 

must ensure Child Protection Specialists reconcile any difference in household 

composition between the SCR report and police reports. All consultations must be 

documented in a contact note. 
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1) Reports Involving Methamphetamine 

 
The DCFS/Law Enforcement/Illinois State Board of Education Drug Endangered 

Child (DEC) Statewide Protocol must be followed for all investigations 

involving methamphetamine (METH). Attempts for consultation with involved 

law enforcement should occur immediately upon assignment and be on-going 

throughout the life of the investigation, as needed.  The Child Protection Specialist 

shall consult with law enforcement and the local State’s Attorney’ Office in 

a pre-finding conference to discuss plans for pending criminal charges. All 

consultations or other contact with law enforcement and the State’s Attorney’ 

Office shall be documented in a contact note. 
 

Note: Per the DEC: 
 

• When a Child Protection Specialist discovers an apparent 

methamphetamine lab in a home where a child resides or frequents, the 

Child Protection Specialist must leave the premises immediately.  After 

leaving the premises, the Child Protection Specialist must immediately 

contact local law enforcement and, where applicable, the clandestine lab 

team.  If there is not a pending investigation of the family residing in the 

home, the Child Protection Specialist shall then contact SCR to make a 

report. 
 
• If law enforcement reports to SCR that they have located a 

methamphetamine lab with children present, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall travel immediately to the scene once the report is taken and 

assigned. 
 
• The Child Protection Specialist shall work with law enforcement in 

identifying evidence that would support the child protection investigation 

and substantiate the criminal investigation. 
 
• Law enforcement and the Child Protection Specialist shall complete their 

investigation in a manner that will enhance both criminal prosecution and 

juvenile court adjudication.  This will include courtroom testimony in each 

other’s proceedings and the exchange of appropriate DCFS and Law 

Enforcement reports. 
 
• If children are present at the scene, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

assess the safety of the children.  The Child Protection Specialist shall 

determine whether protective custody of the children is required and assure 

that the children are in a safe environment.  If the clandestine lab team, 

law enforcement officers, or other appropriate first responders 

determine that the children were exposed to METH lab chemicals and 

require decontamination, the Child Protection Specialist shall arrange 

for a medical evaluation of the children in accordance with the medical 
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protocol. If there is a child who has been to the scene of the METH lab 

who meets the criteria for a hotline report, but that child is not present 

during the time the Child Protection Specialist is there, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall make a report to SCR on behalf of that child and then 

locate the child to determine safety as well as the need for medical 

assessment. 
 

• The Child Protection Specialist shall follow the medical protocol for 

children found at METH lab sites (see Medical Protocol).  The Child 

Protection Specialist will request assistance from law enforcement, as 

needed, to meet the requirements of the medical protocol.  If there is any 

indication that the children may not or will not be enrolled in school, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall notify ISBE as soon as possible and 

request assistance as needed from ISBE to ensure that the children are 

enrolled in school. Drug Endangered Children shall be enrolled in school 

under applicable laws which may include (a) federal and state homelessness 

laws and/or (b) any appropriate residency provision included in the Illinois 

School Code (such as 105 ILCS 5/10-20.12b, 105 ILCS 5/14-1.11 or 105 

ILCS 5/14-1.11a. 
 
• The Child Protection Specialist shall, with supervisory consultation, 

forward any case determined to be appropriate to the State’s Attorney’s 

Office for a neglect/abuse petition. If Law Enforcement determines that 

criminal charges will be filed, law enforcement should refer the case to the 

State’s Attorney’s Office for that purpose. 
 
• If a child who has been exposed to METH lab chemicals is taken into 

custody, the Department or POS worker who makes the placement shall 

provide a copy of the medical protocol to the foster parent/relative home 

caregiver and advise them of the special follow-up needs of the child and 

that the caregiver should contact ISBE if he or she requires assistance in 

enrolling the child in school.   The Child Protection Specialist shall staff 

the case with the child welfare worker who will receive the case and 

provide him/her with a copy of the medical protocol and provide advice 

for the special follow-up needs of the child. 
 

2) Reports Involving Domestic Violence 
 

For cases involving domestic violence, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

consult with law enforcement and request all reports, including calls for service, 

conditions of bail, involving any subjects of the investigation.  All consultations 

with law enforcement must be documented in a contact note. 
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3) Reports Involving the Department of Juvenile Justice 

 
For cases involving youth who have a probation officer or after care specialist, 

the Child Protection Specialist must consult with the assigned probation officer 

and/or the after care specialist within 24 hours of investigation assignment. 

 
Note: If the minor is 10 years of age or older, he/she may have Juvenile Justice 

Involvement that can be determined through the Clerk of the Court or the police 

department where they reside. 

 
d) DCFS Regional Nurses 

 
1) Required Referrals 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall make a referral to the DCFS Regional Nurse 

within 48 hours of case assignment, when a child is identified as having a chronic 

or acute health condition requiring medical supervision or intervention beyond 

normal medical care.  A listing of such conditions is included in Procedures 302, 

Appendix O, Referral for Nursing Consultation Services.  All consultations 

must be documented in a contact note. 

 
2) Requested Services 

 
DCFS Regional Nurses may provide the following consultation/assistance services 

when a referral for services is approved by the Chief of Nursing Services: 
 

• Assessment of presenting medical conditions to determine if a child has 

special health care needs; 
 

• Identification of a child’s specific health care needs that must be fulfilled 

by his or her caregiver/parent; 
 

• Act as a liaison with health care professionals to obtain required medical 

information; 
 

• Act as a liaison with the child’s medical providers; 
 

• Review the child’s treatments and medications, and interpret the effects on 

the child’s condition when such medications, treatments or medical 

appointments are altered without medical consent; 
 

• Identification of safety issues linked to the child’s medical condition 

that should be explored with health professionals in order to make an 

informed safety assessment; 
 

• Consultation regarding the effects of medication and medication 

compliance issues; and/or 
 

• Identification of the need for medical consultation services. 
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3) Assessing the Caregivers and the Home 

 
Upon the Chief of Nursing Services’ consent of the referral, the DCFS Regional 

Nurse may conduct a concurrent visit with the Child Protection Specialist in the 

home of the child. The DCFS Regional Nurse may assess the home for the 

following: 
 

• To assess the knowledge and/or ability of the parent/guardian or other 

caregiver to provide for the child’s special health care needs; and 
 

• To assess the child’s home to determine if it is safely equipped and 

configured to meet the special health care needs of the child. 

 
4) Children with Special Health Care Needs 

 
A) When nursing consultation services are provided to a child with special 

health care needs, the Child Protection Specialist is required to consult 

with the assigned DCFS Regional Nurse prior to making a 

recommended final finding to unfound. The DCFS Regional Nurse 

may make recommendations concerning the need to review the child’s 

health information, the need to interview additional health related sources 

or the need to initiate a staffing. The DCFS Regional Nurse’s 

recommendations must be followed prior to completion of the 

investigation. 

 
B) Protective Custody of a Child with Special Health Care Needs: When 

protective custody is determined to be the only option to ensure the safety 

of a child with special health care needs, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall involve the DCFS Regional Nurse in the planning and preparation 

for safely taking the child into protective custody, if time permits (e.g., the 

child is hospitalized). When there is an urgent and immediate necessity to 

take a child with special health care needs into protective custody, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall not delay the course of action until a 

DCFS Regional Nurse can become involved. 

 
Note: Child Protection staff should reference Procedures 300.100, Medical 

Requirements for Reports of Child Abuse and Neglect, for additional 

information concerning required medical consultations. 
 
e) Division of Clinical Services 

 
The Division of Clinical Practice’s Specialty Services Programs is responsible for 

supporting the field through the provision of expert clinical consultations on specialty 

service issues.  The Specialty Services Program Consultants accomplish this mission 

through direct consultation with workers.  All consultations must be documented in a 

contact note. 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

September 9, 2022 – PT 2022.07 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.140 – (6) 

 
1) The Division of Clinical Practice Specialty Services Unit offers an array of 

services to all DCFS/POS staff for the following types of case situations: 

 
• Investigations involving Allegation #17/#67 Mental Injury; 

 

• Addictions; 
 

• Appropriate drug testing screens, including those for anabolic steroids, 

opioids, and designer drugs; 
 

• Chronic Blood Disorder; 
 

• Deaf and Hard of Hearing; 
 

• Developmental Disabilities; 
 

• Domestic Violence; 
 

• Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning Youth; and 
 

• Mental Health. 

 
2) The Referral Process 

 
Specialty Services clinical consultations may be requested by DCFS/POS staff 

and court personnel acting on behalf of DCFS youth in care. To request a 

consultation, the requesting staff shall complete a CFS 399-1, Clinical Referral 

Form and send via DNET email to “DCFS.Clinicalref” mailbox. 

 
3) Worker and Supervisor Responsibility 

 
The caseworker and supervisor will be responsible for providing all requested 

supporting documentation to the Specialty Services Consultant. If all 

documentation requested by the Specialty Services Consultant is not provided 

within 10 business days of the Consultant’s request for information, the referral 

will be closed. 

 
Note: Involved Clinical Division staff must be made aware of and invited to 

participate in any multi-disciplinary consultations.  For additional 

information, refer to Procedures 302.320, Counseling or Casework 

Services. 
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f) Legal 

 
The DCFS Office of Legal Services must be consulted and/or notified when an 

investigation involves the concerns listed below. All consultations must be documented 

in a contact note. 

 
The following list of examples of how the Office of Legal Services provides support for 

direct service includes, but is not limited to: 
 

• Answering questions about membership in the DuPuy class of child welfare 

workers; 
 

• Handling contact from attorneys representing subjects of investigation (information 

regarding pending investigations shall remain confidential); 
 

• Answering case specific legal questions; 
 

• Handling GAL unfounded reviews; 
 

• Answering questions about eligibility of perpetrators; 
 

• Answering questions about the issue and receipt of documents regarding 

administrative subpoenas; 
 

• Handling the receipt of subpoenas naming “DCFS” as the respondent; 
 

• Handling subpoenas for records or depositions; 
 

• Providing guidance for the servicing or processing of complaints; and 
 

• Advising on questionable court orders. 

 
g) Coroner/Medical Examiner 

 
When investigating a report involving the death of a child, the Child Protection Specialist 

is required to consult with the Coroner or Medical Examiner regarding the cause and 

manner of child death. Consultation shall include, but not be limited to, what is known 

about the child’s death, the caregiver at time of death, the scene investigation, explanations 

provided by report subjects/collaterals, as well as the likelihood of the explanations 

provided.  All consultations must be documented in a contact note. 

 
h) Licensing 

 
When investigating a home or facility licensed by DCFS, the Child Protection Specialist 

must consult and collaborate with the Licensing Representative regarding any safety 

issues, plans concerning the home, concurrent investigation with the Licensing 

Representative (if any) and the recommended final finding. All consultations must be 

documented in a contact note. 
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i) Human Trafficking Program Manager 

 
When investigating a report involving the human trafficking of a child, the Child 

Protection Specialist may consult and collaborate with the Human Trafficking Program 

Manager regarding the provision of services, clarification on elements of the investigation, 

or for any ongoing assistance as needed while investigating the case. All consultations 

must be documented in a contact note. 
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Section 300.150  Child Abuse and Neglect Investigative File  

a) The Investigative File 

All investigative files shall include those documents applicable to the case that are listed 

in subsection (1) below. When the investigative file is released to those persons 

authorized to receive information, in accordance Procedures 431, Confidentiality of 

Personal  Information of Persons Serviced by the Department of Children and 

Family Services those documents in subsection (2) that are applicable to the case shall 

also be included in the file. 
 

1) Case specific documents maintained in investigative files include, but are 

not limited to: 
 

• Copies of all correspondence related to the investigation, including required 

notifications; 

• CANTS 2A and/or 2B, Suspected Abuse/Injury Note sheet; 

• Notice of Right to an Interpreter; 

• CANTS 4/5, Written Confirmation from Mandated Reporter; 

• CANTS 8, 9, 10 & 11; 

• CANTS 14; 

• CANTS 21, Notification of CA/N Investigation in a Licensed Foster 

Home or Facility; 

• CANTS 21A, 21B and/or 21C, Notification of Results of 

Investigation/Initial Protective Plan; 

• CANTS 33; 

• CANTS 65A, Referral Form for Medical Evaluation of a Physical Injury 

to a Child 

• CANTS 65B, Referral Form for Evaluation of Medical Neglect of a Child 

• CFS 370-4, Notice to Class Members; 

• CFS 370-5, Request for Cash and/or Housing Assistance; 

• CFS 370-6, Notice of Determination of Norman Cash Assistance Request; 

• CFS 418-J, Checklist for Children at Initial Placement; 

• CFS 444, Voluntary Placement Agreement; 

• CFS 906, Placement/Payment Authorization Form; 

• CFS 458, Relative Caregiver Placement Agreement; 

• CFS 854, Disclosure of LEADS Information; 

• CFS 2027, Home Safety Checklist; 

• CFS 2040, Intact Family Services Case Referral and Registration Form; 

• CANTS 18-Paramour, Paramour Assessment Checklist; 

• CANTS 19, Data Check; 

• CFS 600-3, Consent for Release of Information; 

• CANTS 2F, SCR Notification Form; 

• CANTS 23, Acknowledgement of Nondisclosure of Information; 

• CFS 1000-1, Hispanic Client Language Determination Form; 

• Copies of all written confirmations sent to law enforcement, the State's 

Attorney, etc.; 

• Coroner or Medical Examiner’s Report; 
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• Copies of all medical, police, emergency response and other relevant reports; 

• Copies of all relevant court documents (i.e., juvenile and other court 

orders, petitions, etc.); 

• Other documents relevant to the completion of an investigation; 

• Color copies of photographs, videotapes, audiotapes (not if contained in 

the electronic file); 

• CFS 1441, Child Endangerment Risk Assessment Protocol; and 
• Copies of all signed CFS 1441-A and B, Safety Plans Form/Safety Plan 

Termination Agreement. 

 
Note: Video recording of CAC interviews shall not be filed in the investigative 

file. 
 

2) If the investigative file is to be released to persons authorized to receive the 

information, in accordance with Procedures 431, the following case specific 

documents, in addition to those listed in subsection (1), shall be maintained in the 

investigative file: 
 

• SCR hotline report; 

• Electronic file documents; 

• CANTS 13, Police Report Redaction Notice (only if the file is released); 

• Person Search/LEADS check printouts; 

• Other office specific forms; 

• Shelter Care Notifications; 

• CFS 462-1, Cook County Temporary Custody Hearing Results Form; 

• CFS 680, Child Identification Form; 

• Healthworks; 

• Healthworks Information Sheet; 

• Medical Cards; 

• Placement Clearance Verification; 

• CFS 2010, Placement Clearance Agreement; 

• Family Service Plan Visitation and Contact Plan (to give to the family) 

• CFS 2017, Child-Caregiver Matching Tool; 

• Other placement materials; 

• CFS 454, HMR Placement Safety Checklist (relative placement cases); 

And 

• CFS 458A, Affidavit of Relationship (relative placement cases) 
 

3) Redacted Police Reports, LEADS and Criminal History Printouts 
 

When the subject of a report requests a copy of his/her file from the local field 

office, all police reports, LEADS and criminal history printouts (rap sheet) shall 

be redacted from the file.   The CANTS 13, Police Report Redaction Notice, 

shall be completed to either document the removal of police reports, LEADS and 

criminal history printouts or that the investigative file did not include police 

reports, LEADS and criminal history printouts. The redacted report shall be sent 

to the requestor and a copy of the report, CANTS 13 and CFS 600-3A shall be 

placed in the investigative file. 
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b) Child Endangerment and Risk Assessments 
 

All Investigations 
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall complete the Child Endangerment Risk 

Assessment Protocol (CERAP) via a CFS 1441, Safety Determination Form, in 

accordance with Procedures 300 Appendix G, Child Endangerment Risk Assessment 

Protocol (CERAP). Completed CERAP forms and agreements shall be documented in a 

contact note and retained in the investigative file. 
 
c) Retention Schedule 
 

When completing the investigation, the Child Protection Specialist shall also derive from 

the lists below the appropriate case retention schedule for indicated cases. The assignment 

of retention codes is applied using the following guidelines derived from Rule 431.30 

Maintenance of Records: 
 

1) 50 Years 
 

All indicated reports that are indicated for the following allegations shall be 

retained for 50 years: 
 

#1/51 Death 

#16 Torture 

#18 Sexually Transmitted Diseases 

#19 Sexual Penetration 

#20 Sexual Exploitation 

#21 Sexual Molestation 
 

2) 20 Years 
 

All indicated reports for the serious physical injury of the child subject shall 

be retained for 20 years. 
 

A) The following allegations shall be retained for 20 years: 
 

#2/52 Head Injuries 

#4/54 Internal Injuries 

#5/55 Burns/Scalding (Third/Fourth Degree Only) 

#7/57 Wounds 

#9/59 Bone Fractures (Multiple or Spiral Fractures Only) 

#40/90 Human Trafficking of Children 

#81 Failure to Thrive 

#83 Malnutrition 

#85 Medical Neglect of Disabled Infants 
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B) The following allegations may be retained for 20 years after the report is 

indicated or for 20 years after a subsequent case or report is closed 

depending on the seriousness of the injury: 
 

#5/55  Burns/Scalding (First/Second degree only) 

#6/56  Poison/Noxious Substances 

#9/59  Bone Fractures (Other than Multiple or Spiral) 

#11/61  Cuts, Bruises, Welts, Abrasions and Oral Injuries 

#12/62  Human Bites 

#13/63  Sprains, Dislocations 

#14  Tying/Close Confinement 

#15/65  Substance Misuse 

#75  Abandonment/Desertion 

#79  Medical Neglect 
 

To determine whether to retain the above allegations for 20 years complete 

the severity screen application and identify: 
 

• Extent of the injuries.  Are the injuries limited to one spot on the 

child's body or are there multiple injuries on many parts of the 

child's body? 
 

• Long-term effects of the injuries.  Will the child be left with scars, 

deformities or permanent disabilities? 
 

• Medical treatment required. Does the child require hospitalization, 

surgery, emergency medical treatment or other major medical 

treatment as a result of the injuries? 
 

• Pattern or chronicity of injuries.   Is there an ongoing history or 

pattern of harsh punishment or neglect that resulted in injury? Are 

there severe injuries at different stages of healing? 
 

• Criminal charges have been filed and are either pending or have 

resulted in a conviction. 
 

If none of the above factors are applicable, the allegations listed in (B) above 

shall be retained for 5 years, in accordance with the instructions below.  If 

any of the above factors are applicable, the allegations in (B) shall be 

retained for 20 years, in accordance with the instructions below. 
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3) 5 Years 

 
All indicated reports that are not being retained for 50 or 20 years shall be 

retained for 5 years. 
 

The following allegations shall be retained for five years only: 
 

#17/67 Mental Injury 

#10 Substantial Risk of Physical Injury 

#22 Substantial Risk of Sexual Injury 

#60 Environment Injurious to Health and Welfare 

#74 Inadequate Supervision 

#76 Inadequate Food 

#77 Inadequate Shelter 

#78 Inadequate Clothing 

#82 Environmental Neglect 

#84 Lock-Out 

#86 Neglect by Agency 

 
4) Subsequent Indicated Reports 

 

All subsequent indicated reports involving any of the same subjects or the sibling 

or offspring shall be maintained after the last report was indicated in accordance 

with retention periods specified in this subsection. 
 

5) Unfounded Allegations 
 

A) All identifying information concerning records of any and all unfounded 

reports shall be maintained in the State Center Register for a minimum of 

5 years after the date the final finding report is entered. 
 

B) Within 10 days of the date of notification, the alleged perpetrator of a 

report that has an unfounded final finding may request a record of an 

unfounded report be retained as intentionally false. The intentional false 

report shall be maintained in the SCR database for a period of five years, 

as well as the SCR hard file, the field office’s child abuse and neglect 

investigative file and the local index.  The Department is not obligated to 

honor written requests for unfounded reports to be retained as intentionally 

false postmarked more than 10 days after the date on the SCR notice. 

SCR shall notify the local Child Protection unit when to destroy records of 

reports retained as intentionally false. For additional information, please 

reference Rule 431.30(b)(5), Unfounded Allegations. 
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d) Supervisory Review and Approval of the Completed Investigative File 

 
1) Child Protection Specialist Review 

 
Upon submitting the electronic file to the Child Protection Supervisor, the system 

will check whether required activities have been completed or waived.  The Child 

Protection Specialist shall review the completed investigation to make certain 

that: 
 

• The file contains all of the required forms and reports; and 
 

• All of the forms/reports contained in the file have been accurately and 

thoroughly completed, including verification of subjects address for 

notification purposes. 

 
2) Investigative File to Supervisor 

 
The Child Protection Specialist shall submit the completed investigation to the 

Child Protection Supervisor for review and approval.  The completed 

investigative file shall include both the electronic investigative documents 

and any hard-copy documents listed in section (a). 

 
3) Supervisory Review and Approval 

 
A) The Child Protection Specialist and Child Protection Supervisor shall meet 

for a final supervisory conference prior to issuing a final finding in order 

to review the completed investigative file.  The Supervisor MUST review 

both the SACWIS and hard copy file.  The final supervisory conference 

shall ensure that: 
 

• All investigative requirements have been met or waived: 
 

• The file contains all of the required forms and reports; 
 

• All of the forms/reports contained in the file have been accurately 

and thoroughly completed; 
 

• There is discussion of any law enforcement involvement and 

concurrent investigations; 
 

Note: If there is a concurrent criminal investigation, Child 

Protection staff shall not disclose a recommended final 

finding to unfound a report before conferring with law 

enforcement. 
 

 

• The recommended determination is consistent with the information 

contained in the file; 
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• Discuss the family’s need for services or referrals to community 

based services; and 
 

• The recommended final finding is consistent with the allegation 

definition, criteria (where applicable), and factors. 
 

If all of the above requirements have been met, the Child Protection 

Supervisor shall approve and forward the completed investigative file with 

duplicates of any hard copy documents to the appropriate Intact Family or 

Permanency Worker.  A hard copy of the investigative file shall be 

forwarded to the appropriate Intact Family or Permanency Worker if the 

investigation was indicated and the worker does not have access to the 

investigative file. 
 

Note: Supervisory approval or the last required management approval for 

the investigation type shall populate the final finding date on the 

decision tab of the investigation. 
 

B) If the investigation is subject to Area Administrator approval, no 

information concerning the finding shall be released until the Area 

Administrator gives approval to do so. 
 

C) If the investigation involved a child in Department custody, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall forward a copy of the completed investigative 

file to the Division of Program Monitoring. 
 

e) Records of Child Abuse and Neglect Investigations 
 

1) Electronic Investigative File 
 

The electronic investigative file is created when the report is electronically 

transmitted from SCR to the responsible Child Protection unit. Investigative 

activities are documented by making selections and entering information in the 

various computer screens. 
 

2) Hard-Copy File 
 

The hard-copy file shall contain all paper/hard copy documents associated with 

the investigation, as outlined in section (a) of these procedures. 
 

Note When completing approval of the electronic file, an attestation is presented 

indicating that in completing and approving this investigation all 

information has been reviewed, which includes review of both the 

electronic AND hard copy file.  If in accepting the attestation both these 

actions have not been completed, this could be considered an act of 

falsification. 
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Section 300.160  Notifications  
 

During the course of a child abuse and neglect investigation, the Child Protection Specialist is 

required to provide certain notifications to the child’s family, the alleged perpetrator and others.   
 

a) Notifications During an Investigation 
 

1) Initial contact with the child victim and child victim’s family:  
 

A) The CANTS 8 
 

The CANTS 8, Notification of a Report of Suspected Child Abuse 

and/or Neglect contains information that explains:  
 

• the Department’s legal mandate to investigate all reports of 

suspected abuse and neglect;  

• the Department’s legal mandate to maintain a State Central 

Register (SCR) of all reports of suspected abuse and neglect, as 

well as the final finding determination of those reports;  

• information about persons investigated by the Department is 

confidential; certain persons identified in Procedures 300 Reports 

of Child Abuse and Neglect have the right to access information 

contained in their investigative file with the exception of 

information that would identify the reporter; and  

• the right to appeal a final finding determination and how to request 

and receive an administrative hearing to appeal the final finding.  
 

B) The Parent/Guardian of the Child 
 

During the initial in-person contact with the parent/guardian of the alleged 

child victim and the parent/guardian of any other child who resides in the 

same household as the child victim, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

provide a copy of the CANTS 8 and the CFS 1050-54, What You Need 

To Know About A Child Abuse And Neglect Investigation.  
 

The CANTS 8 must be dated and completed by the Child Protection 

Specialist prior to handing it off to the parent/guardian of the alleged child 

victim and should include the names of the children involved in the 

alleged incident and the specific allegations made.  The Child Protection 

Specialist shall discuss the contents of the letter with the parent/guardian 

of the alleged child victim.  A contact note shall be used to document the 

delivery of the CANTS 8 and any additional discussion.  

 

Note: When child victims are added to the investigation at a later date, 

their parent/guardian must be notified of the pending investigation. 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

June 11, 2019 – PT 2019.09 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.160 – (2) 

 

C) Extended Family 

 

An extended family member interviewed by a Child Protection Specialist 

for information relevant to a pending report may, during the course of an 

investigation, request and receive the following information regarding the 

findings and actions taken by the Department to ensure the safety of the 

children who are subjects of the investigation: 
 

• Name of the child victim of the report; 

• The final finding determination; 

• Whether the Department took protective custody; 

• Whether a child welfare services case was opened for the family or 

children;  

• What Department services are being provided the family or 

children; and  

• Whether a safety plan has been established and is in force.    

 

D) The Alleged Perpetrator 

 

The Child Protection Specialist must also provide the CANTS 8 and the 

CFS 1050-54 to the alleged perpetrator at the time of the initial interview.  

The Child Protection Specialist shall date the CANTS 8 and complete the 

additional information required by including the names of the alleged 

child victims and the allegations of the report.  The Child Protection 

Specialist shall discuss the contents of the CANTS 8 letter with alleged 

perpetrator.  A contact note shall be used to document the delivery of the 

CANTS 8 and any additional discussion.  

 

At the initial interview with the alleged perpetrator, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall discuss whether the alleged perpetrator is a child care 

worker.  The Child Protection Specialist shall review with the alleged 

perpetrator the definition of a child care worker, including whether the 

alleged perpetrator is actively engaged in the job seeking process for a 

child care position, currently enrolled or soon to be enrolled in an 

academic program which leads to a position as a child care worker or a 

current applicant for a license for a child care worker position.   

 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

June 11, 2019 – PT 2019.09 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.160 – (3) 

 

2) Notification to Employers 

 

A) Facilities 

 

Child Protection Specialists shall, upon commencement of the 

investigation, notify the appropriate supervisor or administrator of an 

alleged perpetrator who is identified as a child care worker that an 

investigation has begun that may result in an indicated report.  This 

notification may be waived if the Department Director determines the 

notification would be detrimental to the investigation.  If the alleged 

perpetrator is employed in a child care facility, the facility administrator or 

licensee shall be advised that the alleged perpetrator is to have restricted 

contact with children.  For additional information and instruction 

regarding the investigation of reports involving child care workers, staff 

should reference Procedures 300.110 Special Types of Reports.   

 

At the conclusion of the investigation, The Child Protection Specialist 

shall notify the child care worker’s employer in writing of the final finding 

of the investigation.  If the final finding is to unfound the report, the 

employer shall be instructed to expunge any record of the investigation 

from the employee file.  The Child Protection Specialist shall also inform 

the unfounded perpetrator that their employer has been notified that the 

investigation resulted in an unfounded final finding and that the employee 

has the right to take the notice to the employer to ensure any record of the 

investigation is expunged from the employee’s personnel file.   

 

B) Department Employees 

 

When the alleged perpetrator is a Department or POS employee, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall verbally notify the employee that he/she is 

required to notify their immediate supervisor of the pending investigation.  

These activities are to be documented on a contact note.  When the alleged 

perpetrator holds a Direct Child Welfare Services Employee license, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall notify the Office of Employee Licensure.   

 

C) School Employees 

 

Prior to the closure of an investigation of a school employee that has a 

recommended indicated final finding, the alleged victim is to be notified 

of the recommended finding and allowed an opportunity to review the 

facts of the case and provide any additional information to be considered.  

See Procedures 300.110 for additional information and instruction.  For 

all facility reports involving school employees, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall send a copy of their final finding to the general 

superintendent of that school district.   
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D) Foster Homes and Relative Placement Settings 

 

When a child abuse and neglect investigation of a foster home or approved 

relative placement is unfounded, the Child Protection Specialist shall, with 

the consent of the foster parent, inform any collaterals who were contacted 

during the course of the investigation that the report was unfounded.  The 

Child Protection Specialist must document in a contact note their 

discussion with the foster parent regarding the notification.  The 

notification to collaterals should be sent by letter immediately after the 

decision of the Child Protection Supervisor to unfound the report and the 

foster parent’s decision to consent to the notification.   

 

E) Regarding Interviews of Children Who Are Not Victims 

 

During the course of a facility investigation where it is necessary to 

interview a random sampling of children who are not identified as child 

victims, notification and a request to interview the parents of such children 

shall be completed by the Child Protection Specialist and documented in a 

contact note prior to the interview.  No interviews should take place 

without parental consent. 

 

F) Department of Defense Family Advocacy Program 

 

Per ANCRA (325 ILCS 5/4.4b) it is the Department’s duty to notify the 

geographically closest Department of Defense Family Advocacy Program 

whenever the Department receives a report of suspected abuse or neglect 

of a child and the child’s parent or guardian is a service member who is 

named in the report as the alleged perpetrator.  It is the Department’s 

responsibility to determine the military status of a parent or guardian.  

 

If the Department determines that the parent/guardian is a member of the 

Illinois National Guard, the Department shall also notify the office of the 

Adjutant General that there is a pending report of alleged abuse or neglect 

against the parent/guardian who is a service member.      

 

3) Investigations Involving DCFS Youths in Care 

 

If the alleged victim of an investigation is a DCFS youth in care, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall determine whether the child named in the report is the 

subject of an abuse and/or neglect petition pending in Juvenile Court.   

 

When a youth in care is reported to have been abused or neglected while in a 

foster home or relative foster home (whether by the foster parent, caregiver, or 

any person residing in the home), the Child Protection Specialist shall promptly 

notify the following persons when the report was accepted and that the 

investigation is pending and later inform them of the final finding determination:   
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• Parent/guardian of the alleged victim;  
 

• all Department or POS Permanency Workers responsible for the alleged 

victim and for any other children residing in the placement;  
 

• those designated by the Director as responsible for evaluating the 

investigation and disposition of the report; and  
 

• Department staff responsible for licensing and making placement with the 

facility. 
 

• When the alleged perpetrator is the prospective adoptive parent of a child 

in the custody or guardianship of the Department, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall contact the child’s Permanency Specialist or Adoption 

Worker supervising the adoptive placement to discuss the pending 

allegations.  The Child Protection Specialist shall also provide any 

information obtained during the investigation that is relevant to 

determining the prospective adoptive parent’s suitability to adopt the 

child.   
 

• When the alleged victim resides in a residential facility or group home, the 

same notifications are to be made, however the case managers of all other 

children in the facility shall not be notified.  Only Permanency Workers 

of the victim, alleged perpetrator, and witness to the incident are to be 

notified. 
 

The Department shall also notify the following when a report involving a youth in 

care is indicated:   
 

• The involved Juvenile Court, including the name and location of the office 

serving the child; and 
 

• The Department Administrative Case Reviewer responsible for reviewing 

the case; and  
 

• The youth in care’s guardian ad litem, regardless of the final finding 

determination of the investigation. 
 

4) GAL Notification  
 

When the alleged child victim is a DCFS youth in care, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall notify the youth in care’s guardian ad litem early in the course of 

the investigation.   
 

A) When a Report is Indicated 
 

If the final finding determination is to indicate, the Department shall 

transmit a copy of the completed report to the guardian ad litem appointed 

for the child under Section 2-17 of the Juvenile Court Act.  ANCRA 

5/7.14 
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B) When a Report is Unfounded 
 

i) GAL Notification and Right to Review  
 

If the Child Protection Specialist recommends an unfounded final 

finding determination, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

verbally notify the guardian ad litem (GAL) of the recommended 

unfounded determination, after the recommended finding has been 

reviewed by the Child Protection Supervisor and Area 

Administrator, and discuss the recommended determination with 

the GAL. If the GAL disagrees with the recommended 

determination, the Child Protection Specialist shall immediately 

notify the Child Protection Supervisor of the concerns raised by the 

GAL.  The Child Protection Supervisor shall contact the GAL to 

attempt to resolve his/her concerns and to determine if there are 

additional investigation activities that need to be completed. If a 

resolution cannot be reached, the Child Protection Supervisor shall 

inform the GAL of his/her right to request a review of the intent to 

unfound the investigation.  The Child Protection Supervisor and 

Child Protection Specialist shall document the notification of the 

recommended determination and all attempts to resolve any 

concerns identified by the GAL in a contact note.   
 

The Department is required to verbally notify a child’s GAL of any 

recommended final finding determination involving a child the 

GAL represents, including those cases where the child is named as 

a perpetrator in the report.  The GAL has the right to review an 

investigation when the recommended final finding 

determination is to unfound.  Should a GAL request a review of 

the intent to unfound an investigation, such review shall take place 

prior to the final determination being entered and shall be 

conducted by the Division of Child Protection Statewide 

Compliance Administrator or designee.   
 

In order to ensure that the required notification takes place, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall add the child’s GAL to the 

investigation as a collateral contact. Child Protection Specialists 

must confirm or obtain the name of the GAL representing the child 

from the juvenile court in the county where the child resides. 
 

• The Child Protection Specialist shall enter interviews with 

a GAL into a contact note, including the GAL’s mail 

address.  (Adding the mail address into a note will generate 

the address into the final finding letter sent to the GAL.)   
 

• Once the Child Protection Specialist has completed all 

required investigative tasks and intends to unfound an 
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investigation involving a youth in care, the case must be 

reviewed by the Child Protection Supervisor and Area 

Administrator, who will verify documented discussions 

with the GAL regarding the recommended finding and 

efforts to resolve any issues of contention.   
 

• The Child Protection Specialist shall enter the 

recommended final finding determination to unfound in the 

allegation tab, however the case will remain in pending 

status until the final finding is entered. 
 

• The Child Protection Specialist shall verify that the GAL’s 

address is correct and then complete the CANTS 9A, 

Notification of Intent to Unfound a Report of Child 

Abuse and/or Neglect Involving a Youth-in-Care. 
 

• If a mandated reporter requests a review after an 

unfounded final finding, SCR shall notify the Division of 

Child Protection Statewide Compliance Administrator to 

conduct the review. If the Statewide Compliance 

Administrator already conducted a GAL review or DUPUY 

Administrative Conference on the investigation, the 

mandated reporter review will be assigned to an Associate 

Deputy of Child Protection or an Area Administrator to 

conduct the mandated reporter review. 
 

ii) Processing the CANTS 9A, Notification of Intent to Unfound a 

Report of Child Abuse and/or Neglect Involving a Youth-in-

Care 
 

The CANTS 9A and all hard copy documents not stored 

electronically shall be scanned and emailed to designated DCFS 

staff within 48 hours (two business days) of the Area 

Administrator’s review.  The contact persons responsible for 

processing the CANTS 9A and all hard copy documents are in: 
 

• Cook County: Office of Legal Services; and  
 

• Downstate: SCR.   
 

Note: The SCR contact person shall be copied on all emails of the 

CANTS 9A and hard copy documents.  
 

For Cook County: The Office of Legal Services contact person 

shall deliver the redacted investigation and hard copy documents, 

including a completed CANTS 13, Police Report Redaction 

Notice when a police report is part of the file, with the CANTS 9A 

to the Office of the Public Guardian, notifying them of intent to 
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unfound, and request a signed acknowledgment of receipt of the 

investigative file/documents.  For cases a GAL requests for a 

review, once the signed acknowledgment of receipt is obtained, the 

file must be emailed to the SCR contact person.   
 

Downstate: After the Child Protection Supervisor and Area 

Administrator have reviewed a recommended finding to unfound a 

report, the Child Protection Specialist shall complete the CANTS 

9A and then print and redact the file and all hard copy documents.  

The Child Protection Specialist shall scan and email the redacted 

documents, including a completed CANTS 13 when a police 

report is part of the file, to the SCR contact person.   

 

5) Unfounded Reports of Alleged Abuse Involving Members of the Clergy 
 

When an investigation involves a member of the clergy as an alleged perpetrator, 

the Child Protection Specialist must determine if the cleric has access to or 

contact with children.  If the cleric has access to or contact with children, the 

Child Protection Specialist shall notify the religious institution or religious official 

or hierarchical authority over the cleric of the investigation.   

 

The Child Protection Supervisor shall send written notification of an unfounded 

final finding determination (only) to the same religious institution or religious 

official or hierarchical authority notified of the investigation.  The Child 

Protection Supervisor shall also provide written documentation of this notification 

to the alleged perpetrator.   

 

6) Mandated Reporters  

 

A) CANTS 4 or CANTS 5, Written Confirmations of Suspected Child 

Abuse/Neglect Report 

 

The SCR Call Floor Worker shall remind mandated reporters to follow up 

their report in writing by using the appropriate CANTS form provided by 

the Child Protection Specialist.   

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall provide the mandated reporter with a 

CANTS 4, Written Confirmation of Suspected Child Abuse/Neglect 

Report: Medical Professionals or CANTS 5, Written Confirmation of 

Suspected Child Abuse/Neglect Report: Mandated Reporters when a 

report is called in by the respective mandated reporter and shall remind the 

mandated reporter of the need to complete the form and submit it to the 

local Child Protection unit. If necessary, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall help the mandated reporter complete their form by indicating what 

information is required.  The original CANTS 4 or CANTS 5 shall be 

placed in the investigative file. 
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B) Information Provided to the Mandated Reporter  

 

Prior to completion of the investigation, the Child Protection Specialist 

shall verbally notify the mandated reporter of the recommended final 

finding determination and the actions taken to ensure child safety.   

 

Whenever the Child Protection Specialist makes a recommended final 

finding determination to unfound, the mandated reporter will receive 

notification from SCR of the final finding and the mandated reporter may 

request a review of the investigation within 10 days of notification.   This 

review shall be conducted by Statewide Compliance Administrator.  

 

Mandated reporters may also receive additional information from SCR by 

submitting a written request to know whether a child or family services 

case has been opened for the reported family or children and what services 

are being provided.  The mandated reporter’s request to SCR must be in 

writing and include:  
 

• the requestor’s identify;  
 

•  notary attestation of the identity of the requestor; 
 

• the subject name for whom the record is requested; and  
 

• the purpose of the request. 

 

b) Notifications by the Child Protection Specialist 
 

1) Subjects of the Report 
 

Within 5 calendar days of the Child Protection Supervisor approving the 

recommended final finding, the Child Protection Specialist shall make reasonable 

efforts to verbally notify the custodial and/or non-custodial parents, personal 

guardians or legal custodians of child subjects who have been added to the report 

by the Child Protection Specialist and the alleged perpetrator of the final finding 

and that the allegations were either: 
 

• Unfounded, and that the investigative files will be retained in accordance 

with Rule 431 Confidentiality of Personal Information of Persons 

Served by the Department of Children and Family Services; or  
 

• Indicated, and all Department records will be retained intact in 

accordance with Rule 431 Confidentiality of Personal Information of 

Persons Served by the Department of Children and Family Services.   
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The Child Protection Specialist shall communicate with limited/non-English 

speaking or hearing impaired persons as well as persons with other disabilities, 

using a method by which they can understand the notice (e.g., interpreters, 

TDD/TTYs, etc.).  The Child Protection Specialist shall document all efforts to 

make such verbal notification and the method used in a contact note. 

 

2) Mandated Reporters 
 

After the Child Protection Supervisor has approved the recommended final 

finding, the Child Protection Specialists shall verbally notify the mandated 

reporter and Guardian Ad Litem (GAL), if applicable, of the recommended 

finding.  If either the mandated reporter or the GAL disagrees with the 

recommended determination, the Child Protection Specialist shall immediately 

notify the Child Protection Supervisor of the concerns raised.  The Child 

Protection Supervisor shall contact the reporter or guardian to resolve their issues 

and/or to determine if there are additional investigation activities that need to be 

completed.  When a resolution cannot be reached, the Child Protection Supervisor 

shall inform the reporter or guardian of their right to appeal the recommended 

finding.  The Child Protection Supervisor and Child Protection Specialist shall use 

contact notes to document the notification of the recommended determination and 

all attempts to resolve any issues identified by the reporter or guardian. 
 

3) Collaterals 
 

After supervisory approval of a recommended final finding to unfound a report, 

the Child Protection Specialist shall, with the consent of the adult subjects of the 

investigation, inform any collaterals who were contacted during the investigation 

that the report was unfounded.  As approval of the parents, foster parents/relative 

caretakers is required, the Child Protection Specialist shall ask the parents, foster 

parents/relative caretakers during the course of the investigation whether they 

wish collaterals to be notified in writing if the report is unfounded.  The Child 

Protection Specialist must document in a contact note his or her interview with 

the adult subject and the decision of the parents, foster parents/relative caretakers. 
 

The notification to the collaterals shall be sent by letter on the CFS 459, Child 

Investigator Letter.  Provided the parents, foster parents or relative caretakers, 

have consented to the notification, the CFS 459 should be sent to collaterals 

immediately after the decision is made by the Child Protection Supervisor to 

unfound the report.  Notification to limited/ non-English speaking persons as well 

as persons with disabilities shall be given in a manner in which they prefer, e.g., 

the notification shall be translated into the language of non-English speaking 

persons, notification to visually impaired persons shall be read to them or typed in 

Braille. 
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4) Extended Family 
 

Once the Child Protection Supervisor has approved the recommended final 

finding, any extended family member interviewed by the Child Protection 

Specialist for relevant information during the course of the investigation may 

request and receive the following information about the findings and actions taken 

to ensure the safety of the child or children who were the subjects of the 

investigation: 
 

• Name of the child who was the subject of the abuse or neglect report; 
 

• The final finding of the investigation;  
 

• Whether the Department took protective custody; 
 

• Whether a child or family service case has been opened;  
 

• What services are being provided to the family or child; and 
 

• Whether a safety plan has been established. 

 

5) School Notifications 

 

The Child Protection Specialist shall inform the school the child is currently 

attending when protective custody has been taken and whether or not temporary 

custody is granted.  School personnel to be included in this notification shall 

include the school nurse and counselor.  

 

c) State Central Register (SCR) Notifications of the Final Finding 
 

1) Notification to Subjects of a Report 
 

Upon completion and closure of every investigation, SCR sends notification 

letters.  The letters include official notifications to:  
 

• alleged perpetrators regarding the final finding determination of the report;   
 

• a non-involved parent/guardian regarding the final finding determination of 

the report;   
 

• the non-custodial parent regarding the final finding determination of the 

report;  
 

• the guardian ad litem regarding the final finding determination of the report; 
 

• the mandated reporter regarding a recommended final finding; and 
 

• the alleged perpetrator and parent/guardian, of the recommendation to unfound 

an unqualified report.  
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2) Activity Required of the Child Protection Specialist   
 

While notification letters are sent by SCR, they require activity by the Child 

Protection Specialist prior to closure.  The Child Protection Specialist shall ensure 

the address for all parties and subjects is correct by identifying the primary 

MAILING address and checking the address verification box in the person 

management screen.   Child Protection Specialists must also list non-custodial 

parents who are not subjects of the report.  This can be done by going to the 

Decision tab in the report and listing the name and address of all parent/guardians.   
 

Note: Notification letters will not be printed and sent without verifying the 

addresses and listing non-custodial parent/guardians.  
 

3) Notification to Schools of Indicated Child Victims 
 

When a child who attends a public school is an indicated victim of physical or 

sexual abuse, the Child Protection Specialist shall enter the name and address of 

the child’s school in the investigation summary.  The Child Protection Specialist 

shall notify SCR of the school’s contact information using the CANTS 2F, SCR 

Notification Request Form.  SCR will order a special print of the investigation 

summary that will be sent to the child’s school where it will be maintained in 

accordance with the Illinois School Student Records Act.  SCR shall provide 

instructions to the school that the investigation summary is to be returned to the 

Department when the child turns 18 years of age or five years after the final 

finding date, whichever occurs first.  The school will also receive notification 

from SCR to return the investigation summary if the finding is overturned on 

appeal by the Administrative Hearings Unit.  The child’s parents will receive SCR 

notification of the Department’s legal requirement to notify the school of the 

indicated finding.   
 

4) Notification to Department of Professional Regulations/State Board of Education 
 

A) Notification to the Illinois Department of Professional Regulations 
 

SCR is required to notify the Illinois Department of Professional 

Regulations of any indicated perpetrator (whether indicated with respect to 

their professional or personal life) who holds a certificate or licensure for 

further assessment.   
 

The Child Protection Specialist shall inquire during the interview with the 

alleged perpetrator, if he/she holds any type of licensure.  Such inquiry 

shall be made whether the incident of abuse or neglect occurred within the 

private or professional life of the alleged perpetrator.  SCR is required to 

notify the Illinois Department of Professional Regulations of any indicated 

perpetrator who holds a certificate or licensure for further assessment, 

regardless of whether the perpetrator’s involvement was in their 

professional capacity or private life.   
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B) Notification to the Illinois State Board of Education 
 

SCR sends notification to the Illinois State Board of Education regarding 

any indicated perpetrator employed by a school system.  If the perpetrator 

is employed by a school system, the Child Protection Specialist shall 

complete a CANTS 2F and fax it to the State Central Register for 

notification to the Illinois State Board of Education, regardless of whether 

the report involved the employee’s professional capacity or private life. 
 

When a Call Floor Worker receives a call stating a child is not enrolled 

and attending school, notification is made by SCR to the local District 

Superintendent where the child resides. 
 

5) Special Notifications 
 

A) Reports of Animal Abuse or Neglect 
 

During the course of an investigation, if the Child Protection Specialist 

observes or reasonably believes an animal is being abused or neglected in 

violation of the Humane Care for Animals Act, the Child Protection 

Specialist shall contact the Department of Agriculture’s Bureau of Animal 

Health and Welfare (217-782-6657 or 217-524-3006) to make a report.  

Such calls must be documented in a contact note 
 

B) Notifications to the Mexican Consulate 
 

i) Notification of the Mexican Consulate 
 

The Memorandum of Understanding between the Illinois 

Department of Children and Family Services and the Consulate 

General of Mexico requires the Department to notify the Mexican 

Consulate in writing within ten working days of the decision to 

take protective custody of a Mexican or Mexican American minor 

or at any time one of the following occurs: 
 

• A child for whom the Department is legally responsible 

(including protective custody) is identified as having 

Mexican ancestry; 

• A parent or custodian of a Mexican or Mexican American 

minor requests that the consulate be notified; or  

• The Department learns that a non-custodial parent resides 

in Mexico. 
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ii) Required Consent to Release Information  
 

In order for the Department to notify the Mexican Consulate of a 

child in protective custody who is of Mexican ancestry, the Child 

Protection Specialist must obtain the written consent of the 

parent/guardian with the CFS 600-3, Consent for the Release of 

Information.  If the parent/guardian refuses to sign the consent, 

the Child Protection Specialist shall document the refusal in the 

space provided on the CFS 1000-6, Notification to Mexican 

Consulate.   
 

Note: While information cannot be released to the Mexican 

Consulate without the consent of the parent or custodian, 

workers are still required to submit the CFS 1000-6 to the 

Office of Latino Services. 
 

iii) Notification to the Office of Latino Services 
 

Child Protection Specialists and Permanency Workers are required 

to notify the Office of Latino Services within five working days 

of taking protective custody of a child who is a Mexican or 

Mexican American minor.  Once the child is determined to be of 

Mexican ancestry, the Child Protection Specialist must submit the 

completed CFS 1000-6 and CFS 600-3 (when signed) by fax to:  

Chief, DCFS Office of Latino Services at (312) 808-5134. 
 

6) Notification to Law Enforcement 
 

A) Upon the Child Protection Specialist’s verbal notification to law 

enforcement, a CANTS 14, Child Abuse Law Enforcement Notification 

shall be completed for all reports alleging the death or serious injury of a 

child.  Allegations of serious injury include, but are not limited to: 
 

✓ Head injuries 

✓ Skull fracture 

✓ Subdural hematoma 

✓ Second degree burns 

✓ Internal injuries 

✓ Torture of a child 

✓ Malnutrition of a child 

✓ Sexual abuse to a child 
 

Note:  The CANTS 14 may also be utilized to notify the local State’s 

Attorney office. 

 

B) When quantities of illegal drugs are observed during the course of an 

investigation or are noted within the narrative report from the State 

Central Register, the Child Protection Specialist shall notify local law 

enforcement and document the notification in a contact note. 
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7) Notification To State’s Attorney Of A Second Indicated Child Abuse Report  

 

Within 48 hours after indicating the second report of child abuse on a family, 

regardless of severity and regardless of whether the same person was indicated, 

the Child Protection Specialist shall send to the State's Attorney a redacted and 

completed investigative report along with a completed CANTS 12 Notification 

To State’s Attorney Of A Second Indicated Child Abuse Report. 

 

8) Other Notifications 
 

There are other notifications required during the course of an investigation that 

are allegation specific and can be referenced in Procedures 300, Appendix B 

The Allegations System or Procedures 300.110, Special Types of Reports.  It 

is necessary to refer to those sections for individual, specific notifications required 

under those circumstances.  Notifications made by the Child Protection Specialist 

should always be documented in a contact note. 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

June 11, 2019 – PT 2019.09 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.160 – (16) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This page intentionally left blank. 



REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

January 18, 2023 – PT 2023.01 

 

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services 

Procedures 300 Section 300.170 – (1) 

Section 300.170  Oleoresin Capsicum (OC) Spray Certification, Use, and Reporting by Staff 

Conducting Investigations 

 

The Children and Family Services Act allows any DCFS employee certified and trained to carry 

Oleoresin Capsicum (“OC spray”), provided by the Department while in the process of 

investigating a report of child abuse or neglect.  DCFS employees may use OC spray to protect 

against physical harm while in the act of removing themselves from that harm.  

 

a) Certification 

 

Prior to carrying and/or using OC spray during work, DCFS employees must be OC Spray 

certified by completing a Department approved training.  DCFS employees must be 

retrained on an annual basis to maintain their certification.   

 

b) Reporting Requirements 

 

Anytime an employee discharges an OC Spray, the employee must complete the CFS 119-

OC, Oleoresin Capsicum (OC) Spray Incident Reporting Form, and notify their 

immediate supervisor as soon as it is safe to do so. 

 

The employee shall call 911 as soon as feasible after discharge. 

 

c) Control and Storage 

 

Do not store your issued OC Spray in your vehicle. OC spray shall not be stored in any 

area that may exceed 120°F (48.88°C) or drop below 32°F (0°C). Excessive heat or cold 

may cause the device to leak or burst. 

 

d) Disposal 

 

When OC spray reaches expiration noted on the device, or the device has been discharged 

or is damaged, it shall be returned to the Chief Security Officer, or their designee and a 

new device will be issued.   

 

e) OC Spray Use 

 

OC spray may only be used by a DCFS employee during an investigation if: 

 

• They are certified by the Department on proper use of OC spray, de-

escalation techniques, pre-contact cues, and situational awareness; 

• The DCFS employee reasonably believes that use is necessary to protect 

from an imminent physical harm posed by another person; 
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• The OC spray is used to incapacitate a person attempting a physical harm 

in order to avoid imminent physical harm and to facilitate escape from 

danger when there is no other alternative available to the employee; 

• Using authorized and approved OC spray issued by the Department;  

• Where feasible the employee shall make reasonable efforts to issue a 

verbal warning of “spray, spray, spray,” to those in close proximity to the 

spray area.  [20 ILCS 505/21.6 (c)] 
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DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 

 

POLICY GUIDE 2020.03 

 

RULES AND PROCEDURES 300, REPORTS OF CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

 

 

DATE: January 6, 2020 

 

TO: DCFS AND POS Agencies 

 

FROM: Marc D. Smith, Acting Director 

 

EFFECTIVE: Immediately 

 

 

I. PURPOSE 

 

The purpose of this policy guide is to advise staff of changes pursuant to Public Act 101-

0043 and Public Act 101-0583 that amend the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, 

which therefore require amendments to Department Rules and Procedures 300, Reports of 

Child Abuse and Neglect. 

 

II. PRIMARY USERS 

 

The primary users of this Policy Guide will be State Central Register and Child Protection 

Staff, Supervisors and Administrators. 

 

III. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY 

 

Public Act 101-0043 amends the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act (ANCRA) 

[325 ILCS 7.4, 7.8, 11.1 and by adding 4.4c] by requiring the Department, upon receipt of 

a report of suspected abuse or neglect of a child and the child is alleged to have been abused 

or neglected while receiving care in a hospital, including a freestanding psychiatric 

hospital licensed by the Department of Public Health, to notify the Directors of Public 

Health and Healthcare and Family Services of the report, and to send them a copy of the 

final finding. The Department of Public Health shall receive information from such reports, 

including when the reports are unfounded, to conduct its own licensing investigation. 

 

Public Act 101-0583 amends ANCRA [325 ILCS 7, 7.3] by requiring that any report 

received by the Department alleging the abuse or neglect of a child by a person who is not 

the child’s parent, a member of the child’s immediate family, a person responsible for the 

child’s welfare, an individual residing in the same home as the child, or a paramour of the 

child’s parent shall immediately be referred to the appropriate local law enforcement 

agency for consideration of  criminal investigation or other action. 
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IV. STATUTORY CHANGES  

 

➢ Pursuant to Public Act 101-0043: 

 

A new section will be added into Rule 300 Section 300.130, Notices Whether 

Child Abuse or Neglect Occurred. 

 

Duty to Notify Director of Public Health and Director of Healthcare and 

Family Services  

 

• Whenever the Department receives, by means of its statewide toll-free 

telephone number, for the purpose of reporting suspected child abuse or 

neglect or by any other means or from any mandated reporter, a report of 

suspected abuse or neglect of a child and the child is alleged to have been 

abused or neglected while receiving care in a hospital, including a 

freestanding psychiatric hospital licensed by the Department of Public 

Health, the Department shall notify the Director of Public Health and the 

Director of Healthcare and Family Services of the report. [325 ILCS 5/4] 

 

• Whenever a report alleges that a child was abused or neglected while 

receiving care in a hospital, including a freestanding psychiatric hospital 

licensed by the Department of Public Health, the Department shall send a 

copy of its final finding to the Director of Public Health and the Director of 

Healthcare and Family Services. [325 ILCS 5/4] 

 

• The Department of Public Health shall receive information from unfounded 

reports involving children alleged to have been abused or neglected while 

hospitalized, including while hospitalized in freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals licensed by the Department of Public Health, as necessary for the 

Department of Public Health to conduct its licensing investigation. [325 

ILCS 5/7.8] 

 

 

A new section will be added to Procedures 300 Section 300.160, Notifications.  

 

Notification to Public Health and Healthcare and Family Services 

 

• SCR sends notification to the Director of Public Health and to the Director 

of Healthcare and Family Services any time a report is received alleging a 

child has been abused or neglected while receiving care in a hospital, 

including a freestanding psychiatric hospital licensed by the Department of 

Public Health. 

 

• SCR sends notification of final findings to the Director of Public Health and 

to the Director of Healthcare and Family Services upon receipt of 

notification from the assigned Child Protection Specialist via the CANTS 

2F, SCR Notification Request Form. 
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➢ Pursuant to Public Act 101-0583 

 

Rules 300 Section 300.70, Referrals to the Local Law Enforcement Agency and 

State's Attorney, will be revised to include the following subsection 
 

• report received by the Department alleging the abuse or neglect of a child 

by a person who is not the child's parent, a member of the child's immediate 

family, a person responsible for the child's welfare, an individual residing 

in the same home as the child, or a paramour of the child's parent shall 

immediately be referred to the appropriate local law enforcement agency 

for consideration of criminal investigation or other action.[325 ILCS 5/7] 
 

Procedures 300.160,  Notification to Law Enforcement, will be revised to 

include the new language: 
 

When a Call Floor Worker receives information from a Non-Law Enforcement 

Reporter where a child is alleged to have been abused or neglected but the alleged 

perpetrator of the abuse or neglect does not meet the criteria as an eligible 

perpetrator under ANCRA, the information reported to the Hotline meets the 

requirement for the Hotline to complete an immediate referral to Local Law 

Enforcement.  A perpetrator is ineligible when he/she is: 
 

• Not the child’s parent 

• Not an immediate family member 

• Not a person responsible for the child’s welfare 

• Not an individual residing in the same home as the child 

• Not a paramour of the child’s parent  
 

Per the assessment, the Call Floor Worker will complete a No Report Taken Intake 

(NRT) and complete a CANTS 25A, SCR Other Law Enforcement Notification 

Form.  The Call Floor Worker will document at the end of the NRT narrative that 

a CANTS 25A was completed and name the Local Law Enforcement Agency 

notified.  
 

Special Note:  If a child is assessed with immediate safety concerns and the caller 

is not a Law Enforcement professional, the Call Floor Worker will contact local 

law enforcement for assistance and request an immediate Child Welfare Check to 

the child’s reported location.  
 

During the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, the Call Floor 

Worker will complete the CANTS 25A and e-mail it to the DCFS IO Processing 

Mailbox.  The subject line of the e-mail will read “Law Enforcement Notification: 

(Name of Local Law Enforcement Agency to be Notified)”. 
 

During the hours of 4:30 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. Monday through Friday (as well as all 

hours on Holidays and Weekends), the Call Floor Worker will refer to the Law 

Enforcement Agency list on the SCR Rolodex to locate a fax number for the 

appropriate Local Law Enforcement Agency and the Call Floor worker will fax the 

CANTS 25A notification form. 
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Procedures 300.160, Other Notifications, will be revised to include new 

language: 
 

Upon receipt of the Child Abuse/Neglect Intake marked Other Law Enforcement 

Notification (CANTS 25A), Production Control staff at SCR will be responsible 

to print and fax the intake to the Local Law Enforcement Agency in the subject line 

of the e-mail. The fax shall be recorded on the Other Law Enforcement Notification 

Fax log and the hard copy shredded.  

 

V. INSTRUCTIONS/PROCEDURES FOR STAFF 

 

The following are instructions/procedures for workers, supervisors and administrators. 

Rules and Procedures 300 will be updated in the near future. A Policy Transmittal and D-

Net Announcement will notify staff when these statutory changes have been adopted into 

Rules and Procedures 300.  

 

When required to report to Public Health and Health & Human Services. 

 

A. Child Welfare Specialists at SCR 

 

Upon the completion of a Child Abuse/Neglect Investigation intake where a child 

is alleged to have been abused or neglected while receiving care in a hospital, 

including a freestanding psychiatric hospital licensed by the Department of Public 

Health, the SCR Child Welfare Specialist shall copy and paste the CA/N intake into 

an Outlook message and e-mail it to the DCFS IO Processing Mailbox.  The In 

subject line of the e-mail will read “Public Health Notification: SCR Number”. 

 

B. Office Associates in Production Control Unit at SCR 

Upon receipt of the Child Abuse/Neglect Investigation marked for Public Health 

Notification, Production Control staff at SCR will be responsible to redact the 

reporter information from the intake and email the intake to both of the following: 
 

Director of Public Health Director of Healthcare & Family Services 

dph.dcfsreporting@illinois.gov HFS.Director@illinois.gov 

 

Production Control Staff at SCR will record the information on the Public Health 

Notification Fax log and the hard copy will be shredded. 

 

C. Child Protection Specialist in the field 

 

At the conclusion of the investigation on the hospital, including a freestanding 

psychiatric hospital licensed by the Department of Public Health, the Child 

Protection Specialist shall make notification by using the CANTS 2F, SCR 

Notification Request Form.  Child Protection Specialists are required to make this 

notification regardless of the final finding (indicated or unfounded) and must return 

the CANTS 2F to SCR. 

 

  

mailto:dph.dcfsreporting@illinois.gov
mailto:dph.dcfsreporting@illinois.gov
mailto:HFS.Director@illinois.gov
mailto:HFS.Director@illinois.gov
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When required to report to Local Law Enforcement: 

 

A. Call Floor Procedures: 

 

When a Call Floor Worker receives information from a Non-Law Enforcement 

Reporter where a child is alleged to have been abused or neglected but the alleged 

perpetrator of the abuse or neglect does not meet the criteria as an eligible 

perpetrator under ANCRA, the information reported to the Hotline meets the 

requirement for the Hotline to complete an immediate referral to Local Law 

Enforcement.  A perpetrator is ineligible when he/she is: 

• Not the child’s parent 

• Not an immediate family member 

• Not a persona responsible for the child’s welfare 

• Not an individual residing in the same home as the child 

• Not a paramour of the child’s parent  

 

Per the assessment, the Call Floor Worker will write up a No Report Taken Intake 

(NRT) and complete a CANTS 25A form.  The Call Floor Worker will document 

at the end of the NRT narrative that a CANTS 25A was completed and name the 

Local Law Enforcement Agency notified.  

 

Special Note:  If a child is assessed with immediate safety concerns and the caller 

is not a Law Enforcement professional, the Call Floor Worker will contact local 

law enforcement for assistance and request an immediate Child Welfare Check to 

the child’s reported location.  

 

During the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, the Call Floor 

Worker will complete the CANTS 25A and e-mail it to the DCFS IO Processing 

Mailbox.  The subject line of the e-mail will read “Law Enforcement Notification: 

(Name of Local Law Enforcement Agency to be Notified)”. 

 

During the hours of 4:30 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. Monday through Friday (as well as all 

hours on Holidays and Weekends), the Call Floor Worker will refer to the Law 

Enforcement Agency list on the SCR Rolodex to locate a fax number for the 

appropriate Local Law Enforcement Agency and the Call Floor worker will fax the 

CANTS 25A notification form. 

  

B. Production Control Unit Procedures: 

 

Upon receipt of the Child Abuse/Neglect Intake marked Other Law Enforcement 

Notification (CANTS 25A), Production Control staff at SCR will be responsible 

to print and fax the intake to the Local Law Enforcement Agency in the subject line 

of the e-mail. The fax shall be recorded on the Other Law Enforcement Notification 

Fax log and the hard copy shredded.  
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VI. NEW, REVISED AND/OR OBSOLETE FORMS 

 

CANTS 2-F, Notification Request Form (Rev 1/2020) 

CANTS 25A, SCR Law Enforcement Notification (New 1/2020) 

 

VII. QUESTIONS 

 

Questions regarding this Policy Guide may be directed to the Office of Child and Family 

Policy at 217-524-1983 or via Outlook at DCFS.Policy.  Non-Outlook users may e-mail 

questions to DCFS.Policy@illinois.gov. 

 

VIII. FILING INSTRUCTIONS 

 

File this Policy Guide behind Rules 300 Section 300.70 and Rules 300 Section 300.130 

and also behind Procedures 300, Section 300.160. 
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