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How many reports of elder
abuse were received?
During the period of July 1, 2008, through June 30, 2009,
there were 10,848 reports of elder abuse received by
the program (includes case transfers). The city of
Chicago received the largest number of reports, 2,028,
followed by Suburban Cook County with 1,707.

What is elder abuse?  

Elder abuse refers to the following types of mistreatment
of any Illinois resident 60 years of age or older who
lives in the community and is abused by another person. 

Physical Abuse — causing the infliction of physical
pain or injury to an older adult.

Sexual Abuse — touching, fondling, or any other
sexual activity with an older adult when the older adult
is unable to understand, unwilling to consent, threatened,
or physically forced.

Emotional Abuse — verbal assaults, threats of
abuse, harassment, or intimidation so as to compel
the older adult to engage in conduct from which s/he
has a right to abstain or to refrain.

Confinement — restraining or isolating an older
adult for other than medical reasons.

Passive Neglect — the failure by a caregiver to
provide an older adult with the necessities of life
including, but not limited to, food, clothing, shelter, or
medical care, because of failure to understand the
older adult’s needs, lack of awareness of services to
help meet needs, or lack of capacity to care for the
older adult.

Willful Deprivation — willfully denying assistance
to an older adult who requires medication, medical care,
shelter, food, therapeutic device, or other physical assis-
tance, thereby exposing that person to the risk of harm.

Financial Exploitation — the misuse or 

withholding of an older adult’s resources to their

disadvantage and/or the profit or advantage of 

another person.

Illinois Law

The Illinois Department on Aging (IDoA) administers

the statewide Elder Abuse and Neglect Program

(EANP), under the authority of the Elder Abuse and

Neglect Act (320ILCS 20/1 et seq.) to respond to

reports of alleged mistreatment of any Illinois citizen

60 years of age or older who lives in the community. 

The Elder Abuse and Neglect Program is locally 

coordinated through 42 provider agencies, which are

designated by the Regional Administrative Agencies

(RAAs) and IDoA. All Elder Abuse Caseworkers are

trained and certified by IDoA, which promulgates the

program’s policies and procedures and oversees the

monitoring of services through the RAAs.

Depending on the nature and seriousness of the 

allegations, a trained caseworker will make a face-to-

face contact with the victim within the following time

frames: 24 hours for life threatening situations, 72

hours for most neglect and non life threatening physical

abuse reports, and 7 calendar days for most financial

exploitation and emotional abuse reports.

The caseworker has 30 days to do a comprehensive

assessment, both to determine if the client has been

mistreated and to determine his/her need for services

and interventions. If the abuse is substantiated the

caseworker involves the older adult in the development

of a case plan to alleviate the situation. The caseworker

always attempts to utilize the least restrictive alternatives

that will allow the older adult to remain independent to

the degree possible.

Limited Mandatory Reporting. This applies to
persons delivering professional services to older adults
in the following fields: social services, adult day service,
law enforcement, education, medicine, state service to
seniors, and social work. The requirements for limited
mandatory reporting apply when the reporter believes
that the older adult is not capable of reporting the abuse
himself /herself. The law also encourages any person
to report voluntarily for an older adult, and provides
immunity from liability and professional disciplinary
action for anyone making such an elder abuse report
in good faith.

Self-Neglect. Effective January 1, 2007, the Elder
Abuse and Neglect Act was amended to include self-
neglect. The amendment established that responding
to such cases would be contingent upon sufficient
funding. In the absence of sufficient funding for statewide
implementation, elder abuse provider agencies began
receiving reports of self-neglect and referred the reports
to the appropriate agency(ies) for follow-up. The EANP
received 1,298 self-neglect reports in Fiscal Year 2009.

Self-neglect means a condition that is the result of an
eligible adult’s inability, due to physical or mental
impairments, or both, or a diminished capacity, to
perform essential self-care tasks that substantially
threaten his or her own health, including: providing
essential food, clothing, shelter, and health care; and
obtaining goods and services necessary to maintain
physical health, mental health, emotional well-being,
and general safety. 

24 Hour Response. In the case of a report of
alleged or suspected abuse or neglect that places an
eligible adult at risk of injury or death, a provider agency
shall be available to respond 24 hours per day, seven
days per week. The amendment was signed into law
August 13, 2007, and will become effective when the
rules and procedures are finalized.

Elder Abuse Fatality Review Team.

Effective June 1, 2008, the EAN Act was amended to
include provisions for the Department, or any other
State or county agency with Department approval, the
right to establish regional interagency Elder Abuse
Fatality Review Teams.  The purpose of an Elder
Abuse Fatality Review Team (EAFRT) is to review
suspicious deaths of persons 60 years of age or older
who reside in a domestic living situation.  The counties
of Kane, DuPage and Madison each have a EAFRT.

FY 2009 Accomplishments

B*SAFE (Bankers and Seniors Against

Financial Exploitation). Twenty-three trainings
were conducted by elder abuse caseworkers to bank
personnel and senior groups throughout the state on
how to identify financial exploitation, scams and other
types of abuse. The training included how to follow
simple guidelines for reporting suspicious circumstances
to the Department’s Elder Abuse and Neglect Program
and to law enforcement. 

22nd Annual Elder Rights Conference. The
Department sponsored its 22nd annual Elder Rights
Conference (ERC) in conjunction with the National
Adult Protective Services Association’s (NAPSA)
Annual Conference August 26-29, 2008 in Chicago.
This was the first time the ERC included topics to
enhance attendees’ knowledge and preparedness in
addressing violence committed against persons with
disabilities who are 18 years of age and older.  Dr.
Bertice Berry, the keynote speaker, enlightened and
motivated attendees, which started the conference off
on a very high and successful note. Over 500 people
throughout the country attended the conference.

Compulsive Hoarding. Dr. Christiana Bratiotis
presented a pre-conference intensive entitled
“Compulsive Hoarding: Understanding, Assessing and
Intervening” December 10, 2008, at the Governor’s
Conference on Aging in Chicago. The session provided
attendees with a better understanding of compulsive
hoarding including mental health diagnostic criteria,
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demographics, prevalence, behavioral, emotional,

and belief/meaning of the problem.  Strategies for

intervening and successful community models were

also discussed. Elder abuse caseworkers and

supervisors who attended were provided with 5.5

hours toward re-certification training.

Break the Silence Campaign. In support of

Elder Abuse Awareness month in Illinois, the

Department continued its public awareness efforts

with the “Break the Silence” campaign. Elder Abuse

Provider Agencies and the Regional Administrative

Agencies were provided with funding and updated

toolkits to assist in outreach efforts.
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