The Illinois Historic Sites Advisory Council is the body that votes on new National Register Properties in Illinois. The Council meets three times a year and is comprised of 15 members. There are at a minimum, three historians, three architectural historians, or architects with a preservation background, and three archeologists. The remaining six members have to have a preservation interest and are drawn from supporting fields, such as, but not limited to planning, law, local government, and historical geography. All members are appointed by the Director of the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency and approved by IHPA's Board of Trustees.

​Ted Karamanski (CHAIRMAN) - Palos Park
James Brown - Chicago
Carla Bruni - Chicago
Peter Y. Bullock - Waukegan
Victoria Granacki - Chicago
David Hanser - Edwardsville
Paul Kapp - Champaign
​Paul Kraemer - Chicago
Douglas J. Kullen - Aurora
Norman Moline - Rock Island
Nora Pat Small - Charleston
Katherine Hamilton Smith - Libertyville​
Duff Stewart - Galena
Raymond Terry Tatum - Chicago
Janine Wilkosz - Plainfield


Angela Goebal Bain - Illinois State Museum​
Gary Stockton - Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library​

2015 IHSAC Meeting Schedule

February 27 (Springfield) - June 19 (Springfield) - October 30 (Springfield)

IHSAC By-Laws.pdfIHSAC By-Laws.pdf          Presentation Rules.pdfPresentation Rules.pdf

 Properties to be considered on February 27, 2015

Clay County Courthouse - Louisville.pdfClay County Courthouse - Louisville.pdf

Peck and Hills Furniture Company Warehouse - Chicago.pdfPeck and Hills Furniture Company Warehouse - Chicago.pdf

Central Springfield Historic District.pdfCentral Springfield Historic District.pdf

Strawbridge-Shepherd-Sangamon County.pdfStrawbridge-Shepherd-Sangamon County.pdf

Arcade Building-Cook County.pdfArcade Building-Cook County.pdf


 Supporting Meeting Material

Meeting Location.pdfMeeting Location.pdf