proposed amendments will impact those seeking contracting opportunities with
The Illinois Gaming Board proposed amendments to Riverboat
Gambling (86 IAC 3000; 38 Ill. Reg. 21267) implementing Public Act 98-490. A new section establishes contracting
guidelines for holders of riverboat casino owners’ licenses. The definitions of minority, minority owned
business, female owned business and business owned by a person with a disability
from the Business Enterprise for Minorities, Females and persons with
Disabilities Act are also applied to these rules. IGB will set contracting goals for businesses
owned by minorities, females and persons with disabilities. Owners licensees must submit their proposed
contracting goals by 12/1 of each calendar year and must submit an annual
report by 3/31 of each calendar year to IGB.
Owners licensees must make a good faith effort, as defined in the
rulemaking, to give consideration to qualified businesses owned by minorities,
females and persons with disabilities that are located in Illinois.
Line: Small businesses owned
by minorities, females and persons with disabilities may gain increased
contracting opportunities with Illinois riverboat casinos as a result of this
rulemaking. For questions or to submit
comments, contact Emily Mattison, General Counsel, Illinois Gaming Board at Emily.Mattison@igb.illinois.gov,
or call (312) 814-7137. Click here to submit comments.
following proposed regulation will impact drycleaners:
The Drycleaners Environmental Response Trust Fund Council of
Illinois proposed amendments to General Program (35 IAC 1500; 38 Ill. Reg.
21259) implementing PA 98-327. The Act
and the rulemaking require cancellation notices of DERTFC-issued insurance
policies to be sent at least 30 days (currently 10 days) before the effective
date of termination if cancellation is due to non-payment of premiums. Notices must also contain instructions for
seeking reinstatement of coverage, information concerning premiums or penalties
that must be paid to reinstate coverage, and a copy of the Council’s appeal
procedures. The same contents must also
be included in notices of cancellation due to failure to meet underwriting
standards; however, the required notice period for these cancellation notices
and those for other causes remains 60 days.
Line: The proposed rulemaking
requires the Drycleaner Environmental Response Trust Fund Council to provide
written notice of cancellation at least 30 days before the cancellation date
for non-payment of premium. The proposed
rulemaking also requires the Council to provide instructions on how to seek
reinstatement of coverage that has been terminated. All of these proposed changes are prescribed
by PA 98-327. For questions or to submit
comments, contact Patrick Ericksen, Drycleaner Environmental Response Trust
Fund Council of Illinois, at (630) 741-0022.
Click here to submit comments.
following proposed regulation will impact transportation companies in Illinois:
The Department of Revenue proposed an amendment to Income Tax
(86 IAC 100; 38 Ill. Reg. 21758) changing the formula for transportation
companies to calculate the amount of their income that is attributable to Illinois
and subject to Illinois tax. For the tax
year 2009 and later, the formula for transportation services other than
airlines is the sum of all receipts from movement/shipment of persons or goods
entirely within Illinois, plus gross receipts from the Illinois portion of
interstate movements/shipments, divided by total revenue from all
transportation services. (Prior to 2009,
Illinois income was determined by dividing total revenue miles by the number of
revenue miles earned in Illinois.)
“Revenue mile” is defined as transporting for one mile any of the
following: one net ton of freight, one
passenger, one barrel of oil, 1,000 cubic feet of natural gas, or any other
specified quantity of a substance other than oil or gasoline. Airline revenue does not include flyovers of
flights not departing or arriving in Illinois.
For flights originating or ending in Illinois, mileage between the
airport and the Illinois border is considered.
For vessels that operate on waters not entirely inside or outside of
Illinois, 50% of total miles on that water shall be attributed to Illinois.
Line: The rulemaking provides guidance for
transportation companies on the application of the formula they are required to
use in apportioning their business income to Illinois. For questions or to submit comments, contact
Paul Caselton at Paul.Caselton@Illinois.gov,
or call (217) 524-3951. Click here to submit comments.