If your Benefit Access Application is approved, the Illinois Secretary of State's office will allow you a license plate fee discount for one vehicle.
Answers provided to the following questions are meant only to give general guidance and not legal advice. The answers do not replace legal requirements set by applicable federal or state laws and regulations.
Note: Use of the word spouse also includes a civil union partner.
|What discount can I get for my vehicle's license plates? |
We will tell the Illinois Secretary of State if we have approved your Benefit Access Application. They will send you a notice about the discount. When you go to the Illinois Secretary of State to pay your license plate fee, present the notice; and you will be eligible for a $75 discount on the fee. If you do not receive a notice by mail for your discount, please contact the Secretary of State's office at 1-800-252-8980 to inquire about your discount and the control number.
NOTE: Please wait 10 business days from the date of your approval for your discount to be available.
|May I use the license plate discount for more than one vehicle? |
No. You may get the discount for the license plate fee for one vehicle per household. You will need your control number in order to obtain your discount.
|What if I want more information about the license plate discount? |
For further information,
- call toll-free: 1-800-252-8980, or
- visit: www.cyberdriveillinois.com/services and click on Services for Seniors.
|Do I qualify for Benefit Access benefits |
If your Benefit Access Application is approved, you qualify for the benefits you requested. To find out if you qualify for any of the benefits, link to Do I qualify?
|How do I apply? |
To apply for the Benefit Access Program, click on the "Benefit Access Application" button on the right side of this page.